Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5 stars

1 William Street, 3000 Melbourne, Australia

Review score

Based on 800 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.8
    Convenient stay down town, good facilities. Just take your breakfast elsewhere if you manage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Swimming pool is only 1 metre high, need to pay for any extra such as parking or washing powder.

    Our apartment was extremely quiet and we had an excellent night. Room's space was cleverly organised.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Excellent location, all staffs are so friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only offsite gym which is very inconvenient

    Excellent location, all staffs are so friendly and helpful. We stayed in an One bedroom suite with an open kitchen, which provides all necessary kitchenware. The apartment is so clean and tidy. Must stay again if come back.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    I loved the staff I will definitely be going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being able to cook own meals and do washing and service was outstanding

    It was awesome service and great facilities. Probably best hotel experience o have had.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    We only had a short stay but it was a good stay thanks to the friendly staff and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its only a small thing but the lifts are very slow to arrive

    Super friendly staff and a great location. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The view of the river was nice to watch the world go by.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent quality apartments ideal for longer stays
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s definitely time for a hair dryer upgrade! Also, the bed was short-sheeted, which meant my feet were on the mattress protector/got tangled in the bottom sheet. Very odd way of making the beds. These are minor quibbles in an otherwise excellent stay.

    This was my second stay at this venue and I liked it more this time because I really appreciated the space and amenities in my one-bedroom apartment during my five-night stay. Staff were welcoming, engaging and friendly. The location is excellent—half-way between Flinders Street and Southern Cross stations and a 10-minute walk from Southbank and the casino complex.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.7
    Very convenient location with wonderful staff and a good clean apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisy overnight with the train and road noise and the pool was a tad cool for us.

    The staff were really lovely. Especially those in the dining room when we had our free drinks. So lovely with our little granddaughter. Check in staff were also lovely and service was great as well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Great family friendly place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Riverview room was great for watching over the river and the flames at Crown, kids loved it. 2 bedroom was very spacious, kids had own studio apartment with a central entrance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Excellent overall. Easy access to trams to city and market. Extra friendly staff and great pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was good but not as interesting as the last time I stayed but never the less, very good. Once again, the staff were extremely friendly and the service was fast and efficient.

    The overwhelming feeling was one of being welcome. Every person at reception was friendly and genuinely so. The pool is great for lap swimming and the rooms comfortable and clean. Only two blocks from the main free tram .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.3
    A Great Place to Stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lounge room had no carpet and just enough furniture for 4 adults. The room echoed and felt a little impersonal.

    Super comfy pillows. The location was the best for exploring the city. Very friendly and helpful staff, especially Thomas at the front desk.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Everything was excellent and exceeded my expectations for food and service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Although the location is good for travel on trams into the city and beyond; I am always unsure about being at that end of town at night. Wasn't a problem for me though.

    The food was excellent. Even room service food was of the highest quality. Hot and well presented. The staff were friendly from front of house, to the cleaning staff. The pool was perfect for me. The shower was a good size and the room tem[temperature was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Clean comfortable and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with River View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bathroom was very small but adequate. Shower over the bath was a surprise.

    Our studio was exactly as we had anticipated. It was clean comfy and superb views and location. The staff were friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay there again when next in Melbourne.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.3
    nice location .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    dishwasher was missing even though it was mentioned in the facilities, utensils were not very clean... also apartment was not cleaned properly for couple of days...

    nice location ..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.7
    Location is excellent, especially if you're here on...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very average, nothing to write home about; slightly worn down, but comfortable enough. Inhouse restaurant is convenient, but food is below average for its pricepoint. Buffet is nothing special. Good for a quick coffee.

    Location is excellent, especially if you're here on business. Various corporate HQs and the Exhibition Centre are just a brisk walk away, 5-15mins depending on where you're headed. Staff are generally very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    Will be staying here again!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was on the small side, but I wasn't there much so it didn't really matter.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location was very convenient. The room was small but really clean. I'm a light sleeper so I really appreciated that the windows were double glazed & had thick curtains. It's one of the quietest city hotels I've ever stayed at so I had a good night's sleep. I'll be staying here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.1
    Good location with basics amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Additional charges, such as carpark and sofa bed sheets/pillows. Bathroom old and very small! Room was located behind lifts, so was very noisey throughout the night!

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Excellent location and staff were amazing.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at Clarion definitely made our stay the great experience that it was ! They were so friendly and polite, and nothing was a problem for them. As we were not from Melbourne they went out of their way to help us with any queries we had ie restaurants, directions and taxis. It will definitely be our go to when we travel to Melbourne for business in the future.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Classic Clarion Getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was very little to dislike. Maybe the bathroom could do with a makeover but that's nit picking

    Location. The apartment had everything to make a few days holiday a pleasure.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    Overall a great place to stay, good service and friendly staff :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had to do a litle cleaning when I first got to the apartment. The mirror above the study desk was filthy and in the kitchen I had to scrub " something" off the wall. The bath mat had dirt stains. This was a little disappointing as it made me look for other thing not clean.

    Great location to south bank and the central city. The yarra views from our balcony were great and the service was awesome. Very convenient to have Williams Bar & Cafe on site also. We enjoyed the indoor pool and our stay was pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic location, clean and comfortable. Poor wifi and noisy air-con units need attention.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi connection was poor, and the noise of the air conditioning unit, located outside on the main bedroom balcony.

    Location was everything - close to both Flinders and Southern Cross stations, and central Melbourne.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Amazing staff, tidy and on the budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't complain about anything.

    We loved how Ben (the concierge) was incredibly nice helping us without asking. He told us about the best locations to visit, places to have breakfast, drinks... It was like having a personal tourist guide. Give that man a raise!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    a good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If you are looking for an apartment with a kitchen and a washing machine (but you'll have to pay 2 AUD for a detergent for one load) - this is an excellent value for money. The staff are very nice. The kitchen is under stuff - make sure you call the front desk and ask for what you need. There is no dishwasher machine, but they wash the dishes for you daily. The side of the hotel facing the Yaara river is noisy - ask to stay on the opposite side. The room is not 55 m2, it is more like 35 m2, but still for a couple it is a good size. At the end of the day, there is not much to see in Melbourne - go to Sydney.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    It's a place with great location and ideal for business travellers.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The toilet was small in my opinion. And it's too near the bed.... They could have provided a bit more amenities such as vanity kit because those of us who are staying for more than a week may need it. The WiFi was down at the very last day of my stay for about 4 hours or so. But the reception was able to give me good explanation and assured that it will be back up with a clear time frame.

    The location of the hotel was great. Very near to the tram stops and accessible to the major railway stations - Flinders Street Station and Southern Cross Station which makes it easy for me to commute for business. The staff were attentive as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Dispite an unsatisfactory check-in & horrible parking, everything else was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in staff weren’t overly helpful. We interrupted them belittling other guests. Then our check in was rushed & not much information given. Parking was also horrible! No clear instructions given & signage was confusing.

    The view was amazing! The room was super clean & tidy & the bed was sooo comfy!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    Lovely views of the Yarra in this peaceful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park was a shocker. Very tight for a larger car & not very well sign posted.

    Lovely views of the Yarra & this is one of the quietest hotels in Melbourne we have stayed at.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Perfect location. A home away from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The buffet breakfast offered a nice range of choices, very friendly staff, perfect location. The room was comfortable, modern and tidy. The shower was divine. Bed was perfect. I also loved knowing there was room service available if required.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    Would have been a brilliant stay if given a room further from the street noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We where on the 5th floor so street noise like cars and trains was very loud. The amenities for the shower where kept outside the shower and the shower screen was to small so water went everywhere.

    Comfortable and clean room and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower over the bath

    Bed very comfortable received an up grade on arrival which was really lovely looking out over the yarra across from crown casino Lovely view with the lights .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.8
    Great value & location for business travellers
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great value for money. Central location, reasonably priced, nice rooms - very happy overall. Clean, tidy, effective check in, nice rooms, everything went well as expected. It's not the fanciest of hotels, but it's exactly what I needed when in town for business for a night or two.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location staff were wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only have a breakfast for $24 was a turnoff. Bacon & eggs & toast for $15 or something less tgan a buffet would be better. We cannot afford $48 for breakfast every day.

    The photos of the room were different to what we got. It was not as big as I expected so a little disappointed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    5.0
    It's good if you want to do a day trip.
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom hasn't been cleaned properly .. I can see soap scum everywhere . It's really noisy environments . I can hear next door , trains, ceiling cracking and doors ..

    The staffs are very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable, well located, not really value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV channels available were dreadful. While the room was touted as a studio and had all the necessary white goods for a kitchen, the actual cooking implements were absent. Did I mention that the TV was dreadful, no international channels, no movie channels just Australian footie and Australian news.

    Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was ‘touchy’ - it seemed too cool or too warm - but who stays in their room anyway?

    Location central to everything so could walk to main shopping precincts, cafes, DFO, theatre, casino, football stadiums (all between 1-1.5 kms. Fantastic shower. Very roomy suite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent position for Southbank restaurants and close to public transport( trains included)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some noise from the trains overnight and people in the street.

    The opportunity for a slightly later checkout. An apparent up grade to a river view room. It was pretty at night. The chance for fresh air if you get a quiet night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    I'll definateley be staying here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly staff, great apartment with a nice view over the river. Apartment is very clean & comfy. Big screen TV. The noise from the train line, across the road, might affect a light sleeper.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Excellent stay would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    carpark was very tight we have a Toyota prado and found it quite difficult to get in and out

    Bed was comfy staff were very friendly and great location, very clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    A very comfortable stay, with everything we wanted. A very central location for our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were initially not very helpful with providing advice and assistance with unloading our baggage from our car, whilst having our daughter with us

    We were thrilled to be upgraded to a river view studio. Great stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    we loved our stay at Clarion Suites. the apartment was modern and generous in size. bed fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    suggest a combination sponge scourer in the kitchen.

    The staff were amazing, the food excellent. When i needed a doctor reception organised an appointment within the hour. later in the day i asked about a chemist shop and the lady on the desk offered to run 3 blocks uphill for me. that is service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    My stays here are always enjoyable. Great staff, amenities, rooms, location etc
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I've never bot had a view of the river before so that was a little disappointing for me but certainly doesn't put me off staying in the future.

    I often stay herw. It's my favorite pick for its position and facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Amazing, thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room service times were confusing. On one page it said ‘room service available from 10am to 10pm’ then at the bottom it said room service available 24 hours

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and because or room was not ready in time we were up graded to one of the luxury rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    Very pleased with the friendly staff. The location was in walking distance to lots of places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The aircon. The noise of the fan/blower vent in the bedroom was quite loud. The fan/blower speed could not be adjusted. The printed material in the room asked that the aircon be turned off when we were not in the room. By turning the aircon to off did not shut the aircon down.

    The staff were very friendly and willing to assist with our requests.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    6.7
    Reasonable apartment style hotel for a stay in Melbourne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    On the room description it lists a sofa bed but if you actually want to use it, there is additional charge. This needs to be clarified up front.

    Very central location, good if you plan on walking around the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    Well positioned and comfortable accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location with excellent, they were able to check us in early which was much appreciated. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff at reception were very helpful and so were the housekeepers who cleaned the room and changed towels daily.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Best location in Melbourne
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were charged for kids linen - 20 AUD for a night. Maybe not much but we were not informed about it during reservation.

    We had River View suite and had amazing view on Southbank and Crown Complex. I think it is best location in Melbourne.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.2
    I would recommend staying here. Good value for money. Small walk or tram ride to downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floor 15 had a strong curry smell but they quickly changed our room to floor 13 without any dramas. We would have liked a view but apparently this does not come with a standard studio or apartment. The location is a few blocks from Federation Square and the restaurant area which meant we stayed downtown to have dinner instead of coming back to drop of our parcels and change.

    We liked the helpful and friendly staff. They are a plus, even the discreet room cleaning staff and efficient waitresses. Comfortable bed and cleanliness of the apartment was excellent. Coffee and tea making facilities and bathroom were generously restocked and refeeshed every day. Parking very convenient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathrooms need a re-vamp and they are very small.

    We had a room that overlooked The Yarra which was so nice and bright. The bed was really comfy and the room was nice and modern. My favourite part would have been the staff, they upgraded us and also sent a bottle of champagne to the room as we were celebrating a birthday. Had a really nice stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.9
    Great location for shopping, restaurants and the casino.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very loud on the balcony either from the air conditioning unit on the balcony next to our room or the street noise (eg. Trams, Trains and cars)

    If I had an issue during my stay it was resolved quickly and I was given a drink card for my girlfriend and I. I enjoyed my time at the hotel our room was very clean and a great view from our room looking over the Yarra to the casino, we where able to see the fire show at night which was get.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    Comfy bed, spacious room, great river view, great having...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy bed, spacious room, great river view, great having dishes, friendly helpful staff in the restaurant and hotel, free bar voucher, good location one block from a tram stop, easy walk to southbank.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.3
    Central location and very good staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At first the bedding but the reception staff had that quickly rectified

    The view across the river. The location for access to restaurants the helpful staff with regard to bedding and also allowing us an extension as we had a night flightCentral location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    Great location, brilliant hospitality! :)
    • Couple
    • Studio with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows were a little lumpy. Need a bigger shower screen as water gets everywhere. The light switch for the sink area needs to be clearly marked.

    The staff were friendly and very welcoming. Great location. Loved that we could park our car on site. Room was awesome with a wonderful view of the City. Food was delicious. Hospitality was brilliant from the bar, front desk, and room service. Front desk can call you a taxi and it pulls up out the front for you. Wonderful location, watched the flames from the Casino. The best part was being able to open up the door and stand on the balcony!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    A great place to stay for tennis fans
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not much to dislike at all. A very comfy, clean and lovely hotel.

    Very comfy king size bed with great views of the city at night. Friendly and attentive staff that greeted you when leaving and then again on returning. Great bar that has some awesome cocktails to start the experience.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    The room was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was amazing. The staff were just so friendly and nothing was to hard for them. I have stayed here a few times. Its my only choice in melbourne

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    Excellent location, amenities and view
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower over the bath was awkward and water got all over the floor

    The location was excellent. Loved watching the flame show at the casino just across the water and all the activity up and down the river. Loved having a balcony and tv in both lounge and bedroom. The room was very quiet when the balcony doors were closed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.8
    View was great the layout of apartment was great for a family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit loud could hear streeet preformer late at night and right beside train tracks as to be expected it was a bit loud we slept with the tv on

    View was great the layout of apartment was great for a family

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.7
    Would like to receive something a little extra for being a repeat guest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard & as it was my 3rd visit to the hotel I thought maybe our 1br suite could have been located to give a better view. Wasn't happy with the fact that after Booking on line I was contacted to say parking fee would be double for the night as NYE. No mention of this online.

    Hotel in great location. Staff very pleasant during stay. Room clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    very happy with my stay, staff friendly and helpful, very easy location to events and trams.
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing really to complain about, minor things like one elevator being repaired but that really didn't impact me in any way.

    My bed was very comfortable, kitchen was great to have but no dishwasher. The room was on the small side but still easy enough for us to do what we needed to. Staff members were lovely, especially in the bar and breakfast area, I would come back just on that alone. I used my deliver app for some of my meals and that was too easy otherwise I cooked.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    7.5
    Friendly ,clean, great loc ,we enjoyed ourselves and would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for later checkout but could not be accomadated at that time, understand very busy this time of year so didnt worry us too much.

    Close to all attractions ,friendly staff who were very helpful with directions and recomendations.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    Great stay, great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the room overlooking the river was fantastic. Stayed there on the weekend for my birthday and they left a sparkling wine in my room as a gift, service from all staff was amazing. You've made my day. Thank you.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.2
    Location location location!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is rather small, shower was leaking on the floor.

    Right by the Yarra river, walking distance to public transport and sights. River view room has a fantastic view of the river and southbank. Double doors make sure there is almost no disturbance from traffic and music outside. Comfortable beds. Very nice and friendly staff. We arrived early, they provided us with drinks, pool access and called when the room was ready.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning played up on final night & we couldn't turn it off. Upon reporting it, staff were very proactive.

    The staff were fantastic. Location was terrific for great places to eat (Flinders Lane) & Southbank. The room size was great with wonderful views across the river. Very comfortable for a longer stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel; great staff and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bit of noise from the trams when you stay in a room with a river view but not loud enough that it will keep you from sleeping.

    Bed was very comfy and staff were very friendly. Rooms are clean and location is excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.7
    Okay for the amount of money paid. A bit noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet was dirty

    Asked for a late checkout but was told it was not available. Came back an hour and a half later to get something I left in the room and no cleaning had been done. I could have had a later checkout

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.2
    Very good value for money!
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The halls and foyer were quite warm, better A/C on the hot days would have been much more welcoming. The view wasn't very pleasant as it looked straight into offices in a high rise building, so the curtains had to be kept drawn most of the time. The pool was very cold as it was not heated and therefore did not get used as much as we would have liked.

    The apartment was extremely clean and spacious for 2 people. The location was perfect, as we needed to be at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre and it was only a short walk across the river. The apartment overall was excellent value for money and I would definitely recommend it and would stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Staff were so friendly and attentive, would I stay here again Yes of course.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our stay at the Clarion was fantastic we were upgraded to the penthouse on arrival and wow the space was amazing, so big the view looking over the Yarra was beautiful, nothing was a problem, early checkin and late checkout. We also left our baggage in the storage room for the day that we checkout as our flights were later that evening. Staff were friendly and attentive, would I stay here again yes of course.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable stay, fantastic service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room service 'service' and the food were both pretty dreadful. A long wait followed by the wrong meal followed by the right meal but extremely poor quality food. The concierge staff were extremely polite about it on giving feedback - possibly just a bad night in the kitchen!

    Lovely apartments, a really fabulous stay, spacious apartment, great service, comfy bed and well located in the city.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.3
    Convienient, comrotable and stressfree.
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Shower over the bathtub is difficult for people with mobility issues. No change or toilet at the pool.

    Location very convenient. Good choice of breakfast options. Loved the pool on the 5th.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    6.7
    The room ac was too noisy and we could not switch off via...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room ac was too noisy and we could not switch off via controller. Has to climb on bed and reach out to unit to manually switch off in the middle of the night. Did not get a goods night sleep.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    Awesome view, great room and very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing i didnt like was The bed was a bit hard to sleep on.

    We were celebrating my partners birthday, after a day of shopping we come back to our room to find a bottle of wine and letter to say Happy birthday 😊

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    We love staying at this hotel, friendly ,helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fault of hotel but we often struggle with air conditioning and wish for a open window 😏

    With short notice we enquires about an early check in as we were travelling with a young grandchild and reception made a note on our file and endeavoured to do what they could !! On arrival the next day , reception staff were very friendly and it was possible to have our room early!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.2
    Very practical, and economical place in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only real negative is that the walls are rather thin so you can hear even light conversations in neighbouring rooms.

    Stayed overnight with my Mum. Requested 2 x single beds and request was granted. Was upgraded to river view room at no cost. Reception staff were most helpful and polite. Car parking on site is very handy but only suitable for small cars.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Perfect, central locatiom
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor things.... Some train noise. Shower head had no pressure otherwise perfect.

    Great location, very comfortable bed. Staff were fantastic. Special mention to Ben, happy, friendly and super helpful - amazing customer service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.3
    Big suite
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was facing directly to a massive office building. I could see everything inside which means the people in the building could see me as well. Worth paying extra to get a room facing the river. The decor is quite outdated. Bathroom is small.

    Stayed here for a conference. Very large one bedroom suite, has a full kitchen although I didn't use it

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    Location was great, breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a very dated and could use a renovation.

    Location was great, breakfast was great. Staff very polite and welcoming and willing to help with anything.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    8.5/10 - would stay again but shower needs to be redesigned
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. I had a riverview room and the noise from the trains could be heard in the room. It wasn't loud enough to stop me from sleeping but it was sometimes annoying. 2. Shower was poorly designed. Very narrow , hard to get in and out of and the screen didn't stop water from going onto the floor. 3. Housekeeping didn't come on one of the days during my stay.

    The staff were very friendly and welcoming; room was clean with great views; great location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    5.0
    Adequate for a brief stay or just one person.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Advertised as Foxtel channels however very limited and NO MOVIES which was very disappointing when travelling with a teenager. Studio room is quite small. Some staff were very friendly others were quite offhand. The gym is offsite which is not stated in the advertising. The shower over bath was poorly designed as the water saturates the floor of the bathroom.

    Beds were comfortable. Room was clean. Supplied toiletries were nice. Shower pressure was good. Linen was clean. Air conditioning was very good and easily controlled. Room service food was of a good quality.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.1
    Convenient and clean but noisy trains were very disruptive over night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise of the trains kept me awake all night. There was no mention of the train noise in the info about the hotel online. Additionally, the wifi wouldn't connect and the clerk in reception was dismissive.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: