Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Australia hotel reviews
  3. Tasmania hotel reviews
  4. Launceston hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Commodore Regent

Reviews of Commodore Regent This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

13 Brisbane Street, 7250 Launceston, Australia

#17 of 36 hotels in Launceston

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1104 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2019

    6.7
    Ok stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stairs area and balcony unswept and unkempt .. shabby. Awkward and difficult walk to room from vehicle with heavy bags and stairs to tackle (no lifts.) Curtains heavy and clumsy covering a beautiful view of city park. Room big and bare ... and furnishings slightly ageing. A little noisy, room was situated in front block, facing traffic so noise was mostly from traffic (I am a light sleeper.) Noisy plumbing in room next door and my room. I have stayed here in the past, upstairs in the back block and the stay was perfect. Not so impressed this time.

    Clean. Opposite city park.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2019

    9.2
    Comfy, but breakfast was a letdown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No spoons or glasses when we arrived for breakfast and only a little juice in each jug. Staff seemed a bit put out when we asked for more. Then they brought out 3 spoons and glasses. Then the milk ran out and we had to ask the receptionist for more milk. It felt like we were being demanding, but we would have expected the basics to be kept topped up.

    Comfy beds, handy for the town.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2019

    8.3
    Been coming here for years, rooms have been renovated which...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Been coming here for years, rooms have been renovated which is terrific. Much improved, short walk into town & great gardens across the street to relax.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    10
    The best accommadation we had in Tasmania in our trip and the best value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't fault the service or accommodation facilities

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble Excellent restaurant meal Comfortable bed, nice clean fresh room and excellent shower and bathroom facilities in general Excellent value for money

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    4.2
    Adequate but will not stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I requested a ground floor room and did not get one and did not get any explanation as to why I did not get what I requested. The room was dirty with the bedside lamp incredibly dusty.

    The location to where I needed to be for business and other facilities on Brisbane Street

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2019

    7.9
    Walking distance to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No lift-we were last block and top floor so the hike up the hill was beginning to wear a little thin after 3 days. Only a kettle-no toaster or microwave.

    Walking distance to everything. Room sufficient-shower awesome!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2019

    6.3
    Great location, disappointing service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no room service which was disappointing. On arrival back to our room late in the day, when it was evident our room had not been cleaned, we read the fine print on a slip of paper given to us on arrival which stated there would be no room service as it was a weekend. The restaurant also was not open, once again very disappointing. The bed was hard and consequently we did not have a very good night's sleep and there was dust quite apparent on the wall above and and around the bed which for anyone with allergies is a health risk, once again disappointing.

    The location was good as we wanted to be close to Festivale which was held in the local park just across the road. The bathroom had been updated and was quite useable. The main room was spacious.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2019

    10
    Close walking to everything in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cooked buffet breakfast or similar available and we would have definitely eaten there.

    Close walking to everything in the city. Beautiful clean comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2019

    6.7
    Clean and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable bed, fantastic pillows. Bathrooms looked recently re-done. Had microwave, plates & cutlery, plenty of tea & coffee sachets. Although it was a few blocks to walk to most things, the beautiful Launceston Park is across the road.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2019

    9.6
    Beautiful and really clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful and really clean rooms. The exterior seemed dated but inside was great with comfy beds. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location is right opposite City Park which was great for out little boy.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2019

    5.4
    Will not return or recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Queen Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perhaps servicing the room during our 3 night stay would have been nice. No top up of the milks etc. Had to put our own rubbish out. Internet was on a voucher system... every other motel/hotel has free unlimited internet. A/C unit was dirty.

    Shower.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2019

    6.3
    Just very basic and not up to much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just very basic and not up to much. The room was on a very sleep slope with lots of stairs. The housekeeping staff were quite rude and would only service the room early!!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    7.5
    The receptionist in the next morning was very arrogant when we complained, wouldn't stay there again
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom door did not shut properly. No soap in the shower dispenser. No water holder in fridge and fridge was old and rusty.

    the room was very clean, beds comfortable and air-conditioning good

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    10
    Fantastic Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were very helpful, they booked our airport shuttle while we enjoyed our last day and were more than happy for us to leave our luggage there too. Room was great value for money and fantastic location.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    7.1
    Good average accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the complex is built on a hill. I wish this had been specified in the advertising as it was difficult to negotiate the slope by walking. Bed not that comfortable.

    Everything was OK. An old establishment but adequate facilities. Bathroom was excellent. Good TV but had problems with the WiFi.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    8.8
    Will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room to our door didn’t shut flush ( room 1 ) also being next to the kitchen the air vent outside smelt while walking past or sitting outside. But wasn’t to bad as we were only there one night. Next time we would request a different room for a longer stay

    I liked how close it was and clean also staff was nice and accommodating. Also liked the shuttle buses for the airport made it so much easier to arrange than a taxi

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2019

    7.5
    I have stayed here before & chose to stay again so clearly satisfied with r
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There are issues with the WiFi that the management is aware of & has plans to deal with. The bathroom door wouldn’t stay closed & the lock was tricky to engage.

    The room was comfortable & well presented. Quite spacious for the price.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    7.5
    Clean, friendly staff, reasonably central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant closed on Sunday and Monday nights, which were the nights we stayed there. No pool. Rooms fairly cramped for a family.

    Clean, friendly staff, reasonably central location.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    8.3
    Staff were kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not so keen on louvres in the bathroom with smokers the level below. That said we just closed the bathroom door and it was fine.

    Staff were kind and helpful. The park is amazing and it was great to be able to walk around it of an evening.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    10
    Very friendly front desk lady who took the time to tell us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Outside / look of the buildings is a bit dull

    Very friendly front desk lady who took the time to tell us sights to see. Giant window in room Giant comfy bed

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    8.3
    Comfortable and clean with a holiday surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stay there during christmas and boxing day. For the duration of our stay our room was not cleaned up as the staff was on a holiday.

    Comfortable and spacious. Very clean room.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The drive way to walk up would have preferred a room on ground floor re a disability made if bit hard with stairs as well but apart from that all great

    The room attendant for cleaning room was brillant best we have seen yet. Reception staff lovely

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    7.9
    Rescued when other motel messed up! Relaxed End to lovely holiday,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I hope Management invest in a new cot mattress and linen not found for us. We used a single bed doona but that is not safe for most kids under 3years!

    The shower was great, location was close to lots of food and park

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    8.8
    The room is a bit small for a family of 4.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No free laundry washing a breakfast, which generally may not cost a lot.

    The room is a bit small for a family of 4. location is good. free laundry washing will be good as now there are charges. The room rates is a bit high. should come with complimentary breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2018

    10
    Ideal for overnight stop, easy to park the car, walk down to the city & back through the park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Layout of the accommodation was excellent giving a feeling of spaciousness. Chairs & coffee table along with the sink made it stand out from other places.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2018

    9.6
    Easy safe place to stay, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Definitely a dislike for soap dispenser in shower, it actually ran out during shower on 2nd morning.

    Clean, modern & easy access to City. Slept very well both nights.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2018

    7.5
    Good, relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TV unit is set for viewing from the bed and is rather skewed if one wishes to watch TV from the sofa. Perhaps a solution may be to have a 'swivel' type anchor of the TV set on the wall.

    The reasonably central location of the hotel. The parking area within the hotel ground. The room size, though not overly big, is adequate with a sofa. The supply of beverage and equipment in the room, e.g. iron and ironing board, water jug and power points The wifi service.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2018

    3.3
    Hotel not recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was dirty, there were bugs and bedbugs, the internet connection was horrible, the hotel only has stairs and large ramps, the staff could be more friendly. It was a terrible stay.

    the hotel does not have anything good to highlight

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2018

    10
    Easy to get around. Love being so close to the lovely park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Queen Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I did not like the fact that I had to drag my suit case up two flights of stairs. Otherwise was very happy with my stay.

    Bed was a bit too soft. Not enough back support

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    7.5
    The room is clean, the receptionist when I checked in was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is clean, the receptionist when I checked in was friendly & professional. The location is great, across the road from the City Park & within walking distance to the malls.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    9.6
    Would stay again. Very hospitable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor WiFi. At best, could only get dial-up speeds, which isn't useful when you're on a business trip.

    Friendly staff on arrival. Bathroom was really nice, and bed was comfy.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    8.8
    The hotel has onsite free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has onsite free parking. My mom and my grandma enjoyed staying here as we can walk around the town, 10-15 minutes walk to centre; 5 minutes walk to the city park; 15 minutes walk crossing the river to the University.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    7.9
    It is very central, just across from the park and not far...
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is very central, just across from the park and not far from main the shopping area. It was just dissappointing it was raining and we could not make the most of our night stay.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    7.5
    Would not stay again if the same issues with the internet were to occur.
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff did not seem all that knowledgeable and not too helpful. The wifi was the poorest I have experienced at a hotel, with repeated dropout and a new code required after each incident. The steep walk four times down to reception and walk back was not useful. Having internet service was a must have for us.

    Very clean room. Beds large and very comfortable. Sufficient space for two people. The location adjacent to the park and close to the city was very pleasing

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    7.5
    Great view
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    50 dollar deposit I don't think its required no other place that I have stayed at in Launceston does that.

    Quick check in and out. View from the dining room. Friendly room cleaning staff.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    7.9
    value for money , clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    taking a bond, although small , i feel that at our age , were not going to be a problem. the stairs, we werent asked if we could negotiate 3 flights and with bags it was difficult for my husband with injured knees, otherwise we would recommend ..

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    7.9
    I have family and close friends in Launceston, I always return to the copmmodore regent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hill in which the motel is located. Without the hill, there would be no fabulous view over the city park .

    Idealy located. Safe and friendly atmosphere. Restaurant on premises is a must! The food and service is outstanding.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    10
    Convenient, comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent front desk service, the lady was very helpful and informative regarding local information. She even changed our room number to give us a better view of the park. The hotel (more of a motel) is perfectly located so you can walk into town - it was a five minute walk from the Princess Theatre! The bed was comfortable and the large, clean bathroom/shower well appreciated.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable, I enjoyed it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only criticism really was reception opened at 8am and a lot of people including me leave early for work.

    Really nice place, good location clean, tidy and quiet!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    8.8
    Affordable Motel across from Park, Steep Drive, within Walking Distance of CBD
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Lighting in main area of room was a bit dim. I enjoyed walking up and down the steep drive -- but others might not. CBD did not have many options to walk to for evening meal, but I found Chinese and Indian restaurants within walking distance (takeaway one night; dined in the restaurant the other night). Nearest supermarket not particularly close, so I needed to plan ahead when and where to purchase milk, etc.

    Great location next to park, easy walk to CBD hotels and shops. Just 1.5 blocks from a gym that I could visit. Spacious room, plenty of electricity outlets, lots of counter space for working. Good access to daylight when wanted. Warning: steep walk or drive up/down the driveway. Need to be fit to walk up and down the drive. No problem when driving -- providing you find a park on the same level as your room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A staff member was condescending, rude and inconsiderate towards us at dinner. No refund of meals or discount was offered. Poor.

    The location and rooms were comfortable and handy

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    8.5
    Not the fault of the property, but the guests staying above...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not the fault of the property, but the guests staying above my room had a party with loud music (he’s y bass beating through the floor) and jumping around until well after 2am which was so loud they might as well have been in my room. Maybe some reinforcement of noise rules to guests upon arrival would assist.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    7.9
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. Maybe a couple of other hotel stayers werent the best. Not the motels fault

    The staff were fantastic nothing was too much trouble. The room girls were friendly as was the receptionist. I have stayed there 2 or 3 times and do so in the future . My neighbors stayed there on my recommendation and were very happy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    7.1
    Good value for location and view of park, maybe not breakfast though
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    reception could be a little more friendly breakfast was not worth the money, coffee was not good. A decent pod coffee machine would be far better room next door was very noisy with tv on loud volume until around 11:30pm, couldn't sleep! bed not very comfortable and pillows uncomfortable and noisy

    room itself was nice and spacious easy walking distance to city room quiet as far as traffic noise lovely view of park from our room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    9.2
    Helloooo Launceston
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to do with the Motel, or sympathetic staff - the rowdy boys who raced around and around the balconies, yelling out, playing ‘knock and run’, peering through the windows etc.

    The view of the night lights of Launceston- The size of the bathroom, the Restaurant ‘13’, The location right beside City Park.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    10
    Great location, close to the CBD , clean, great shower...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to report

    Great location, close to the CBD , clean, great shower (which is important) . Really lovely staff. Coffee, tea, biscuits, kettle, glasses and mugs all provided. I would choose to stay again..

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    6.7
    It was a convenient location, felt safe and easy to find.
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was very hard. The exhaust fan fumes from restaurant wasn’t at all enjoyed. There were no instructions for heater,simple request I know but we come from wood heating. Could hear and was woken by neighboring guests.

    It was a convenient location, felt safe and easy to find. Check in and out was a breeze. Linen was clean and fresh feeling. In all, house keeping was gold star.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    7.5
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One of the single bed dipped a little in the middle but was ok room 18

    We stay here the last 4 times when we have launceston and will keep coming back. Great location. Friendly staff, nice clean rooms.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    9.2
    Could have been better- staff should check fridge working-not up to clients-no restaurant is poor.
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Did not inform at time of booking - restaurant closed for renovations- we had to get food - fridge froze all our milk and supplies - wasted.

    Clean - well priced- good location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2018

    6.7
    Need to look into exterminators
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything in that hotel was great until a mass of ants come out of no where.. we did have food in the room but was not exposed... as a hotel I think ants in a room wasn't something pleasant.. otherwise is all good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2018

    7.9
    I'll be back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be great to see the breakfast with less waste generated. So much packaging for every little item. For a little inconvenience, they could make a massive difference. And be a point of difference from all the other hotel/motel continental breakfast of packet cereal, packet spreads, small containers of yogurt, etc etc. In the long run it would probably cost the hotel less to buy in bulk and have resealable containers. Also, bit of a shame that the resturant isn't open on Sunday and Mondays but understanidable during the quite months.

    Nice, cosy heating in the room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2018

    7.1
    Unimpressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We understand that a card number is held in case of damage or theft etc but why is it necessary to put a hold of $50 on our account (in addition to full payment of our room) and I've been advised it will not be removed for 3 to 4 days?!

    Spacious, good bed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    5.8
    The bed had electric blankets and the shower was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was really dirty and the lady on reception wasn’t rude but acted like she couldn’t be bothered either

    The bed had electric blankets and the shower was amazing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Good value for money, good location, we only stayed one night and had to catch an early flight so didn't have the opportunity to try out the restaurant etc.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    8.3
    Staff were friendly and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are quite dated and very cold even with the heater on.

    Staff were friendly and accommodating. Went over and above expectations stating back to check us in after hours when our flight was delayed and organizing a porta cot last minute.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    10
    Comfortable nights sleep & great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Right across the road from City Park and walking distance to cafes & shops. Having a comfortable bed with an electric blanket was fantastic. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    6.3
    Fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The first room we were given had not been checked and was still unmade/dirty Thankfully we received an upgrade!!

    The views from upstairs and the electric blankets on the bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    5.4
    We booked two rooms, both were covered with ants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked two rooms, both were covered with ants. Any food/drinks we would leave out the ants would be all over them. Resulting in us throwing the food and drinks out. They ended up in our bags and makeup bags. It’s really disgusting. Some even in the bed. Really really disappointed with our stay, and more disappointed as the staff never offered some sort of refund or anything once we told them of our problem.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    7.9
    Staff were great - our room had ants in it and they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a bit small Could hear other people very easily

    Staff were great - our room had ants in it and they immediately changed our rooms. Bathroom larger than expected

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    9.2
    warm and comfy, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a room with a double bed and got one with 2 single beds pushed together which wasn't comfortable for me and my partner and only 1 electric blanket worked as other was not plugged in.

    I left something in my room they rang me up to say they had found it and wrapped it to post and took to post office for me all I had to do was pay postage when it got to me. Great location close to shops easy to find.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    9.2
    Great customer service, handy to town
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room up steepish driveway, top of the building, would hsve liked to have been informed due to bsck issues, wet day, etc

    I was very happy with the chsnge of dates, a low fee, no cancellation policy. They were very accommodating to my plsns.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    9.6
    A most enjoyable stay.Close to city & Park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cold breeze coming under the door.

    Comfortable bed.Clean room .Modern spacious bathroom. Very close to town & restuurants. The lovely city park over the road.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    6.3
    wouldnt stay again !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ants requested to be moved from room, was attended to I believe but still reappeared. Unable to access steep entrance to property on crutches, as steps didn't commence until a third of the way up the driveway/walkway.Ok but didn't meet expectations as frontage showed in images are of restaurant which looks great but rear accommodation only fair.

    location opposite park entertaining for kids, easy walk around CBD

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    9.2
    I would stay here again if I got the same view from the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Queen Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The downside was the number of stairs I had to take to get to my room - carrying my luggage. A lift would have been great.

    The location of the Commodore and the view from my room were the best. Very handy to the centre of town and the places I wanted to visit. The view over the city was the highlight.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not being told about the $50 credit card charge which was added in case damage was done. This is a payment not mentioned untill check in and not given back until the day after checkout.

    Clean large room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Requested a complimentary late checkout, but was told that it would cost me an extra $40. A toaster in the room would have been useful.

    Room was very comfortable, and the location is very central to the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    10
    Great accommodation, perfect location and good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a pity the restaurant wasn’t open as I was there Sunday - Tuesday.

    Lovely comfortable accommodation. Very close to CBD - walking distance. Lovely helpful staff who kindly booked me a taxi. Free parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    9.6
    Good location, lovely parking and very helpful staff.
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spaciousness of both room and bathroom was great. Vouchers included for wifi were good, lovely sized milks (not those tiny dots), and excellent shower too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant stay, nice location, managed to walk to the football satisfactorily
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were appalled at the price of the room which wasn't what you'd expect for the price, TV could have been a larger size for the size of the room and without Foxtel as well, light beside the bed needed a new globe, the catch/opener in the bedroom window is about to fall off (sorry I forgot to report that - room 25), no toiletries, and I expected a daily newspaper, and no lift, although it was only one floor, but my mobility isn't excellent.

    The bed was excellent, the bathroom was adequate, (good shower), meal was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    7.5
    The bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fridge was noisy and woke us up. The room was very warm so we had to sleep with air conditioning on even though it was less than 20° outside.

    The bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    10
    Affordable, relaxing, very comfortable, exceptionally clean and all important - top water pressure
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That we only stayed one night.

    The room was exceptionally clean, well payed out, beautiful clean bathroom with excellent water pressure and luxurious towels and decent toilet paper. Staff friendly. Check-in very easy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    5.4
    Will not stay here again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Property insisted on a $50 pre-auth payment on top of the room fee and does NOT accept pay pass to do this. Parking for large vehicles is VERY tight and be careful of damage to your car from others.

    Location was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    8.8
    A bit outdated, but adequate, good value,very clean and nice and close to shops etc.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant wasn't open on a Monday night which I thought was pretty strange although this forced me to walk into town to find somewhere to eat which was not an unpleasant experience. I think , in the Tasmanian winter though, this would definitely be a hindrance to business travelers like me after a long day.

    Close to the CBD

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    6.3
    This place could be so much better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Flat-screen TVs mounted on paper-thin walls - we could hear everything from the rooms either side of us. Air-conditioning that did not work. The combination of both meant that we slept very poorly - particularly on the Saturday night. A TV remote control with flat batteries. A tour bus that seemed to reverse in every morning sometime around 7am - the beeping as it reversed up the steep slope would have woken everybody in the hotel. Facilities in the room were very sparse - OK for one-night stays, but very poor for those of us staying multiple nights. No toaster, no microwave, no plates, no cutlery, no bottle-opener. We'd been in Tasmania holidaying for 2 weeks and every other place we stayed had most of these.

    Within walking distance of the CBD. The restaurant is nice - reasonably priced too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    9.2
    Great location. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff always kept things clean and tidy. Ample parking spots were available. We arrived in the morning on a public holiday and thought that we would have to wait for hours before we could check in, but they let us check in before 11am. That gave us much more time to travel around.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: