Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne 4 stars

2 - 8 Carlisle Street, 3182 Melbourne, Australia

#79 of 169 hotels in Melbourne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1408 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Would stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived for a one night stay and liked it so much we stayed 3 nights instead. Excellent location - very easy to access Melbourne city via the tram system. Lots of places to eat. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, and the room was very quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Comfortable, spacesous and very modern
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was comfortable and spacouse than the pictures had shown. The carpet was like new, lots of room and the heater worked great. The location of the hotel was in walking distance of the main eating area of St Kilda and luna park. Would defiantly stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.0
    An experience I'd rather not relive.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heating in the room didn't work. and the frame to the balcony door had not been sealed and therefor there was a draft of ice cold air blowing through the room the whole evening.

    Loved the fact that the room had a balcony.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Location was fantastic.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My Single room did lack a wardrobe and turning on the shower resulted in it spurting out of the door as the head didn’t turn another direction but this is a very minor issue.

    Location was fantastic. The added bonus of free secure parking is fantastic. The staff are friendly and helpful. Second stay here within three weeks for work and would stay again and again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.1
    Okay value for price-location excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dirty curtains and carpet Old hard to work shower cubicle No weekend breakfasts-crazy!

    Excellent Continental breakfast Comfortable beds and good linen Plenty of hot water

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location being close to Barkly Street and the beach but a little overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was just too small and pokey. Any hotel where you have to step into the bath to shower is an instant turn-off, and the shower head is always mounted much too low. A slight odour of cigarette smoke was noticed when we first entered the room.

    The room was very comfortable and clean, with a small outdoor balcony, I assume for smokers, as it was surrounded by opaque glass and had an ashtray on the table.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    The bathroom was much nicer than expected, great location,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Power points far from bed, water temperature really sensitive, no toothpaste.

    The bathroom was much nicer than expected, great location, staff were very responsive, parking available, tram stop to Melbourne CBD is close.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have loved a biscuit or something with our coffee.

    The location was great and the staff were more than eager to help. There were many restaurants just across the road and up the next street. Beaches, Sunday markets and Luna Park were a short walk away. There were trams running near the hotel to get you into the city and not too noisy of a night. We stayed there as we wanted to be near to the Spirit of Tasmania terminal without having to go through the city again. We walked into the Cafes and DFO factory outlets which were about a 4 km walk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.4
    Was disappointed, really needs a good clean, luckily we only stayed one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was dated and really in need of a good clean. The other girls I was staying with chose not to shower there as the shower was so gross (black mould all in the grout and around the base of the shower), luckily we only stayed one night.

    Bed was comfy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location, easy location to restaurants.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very hard. Very noisy room and the cutlery wasn't changed every day. Room a little dated and old.

    Great location, easy location to restaurants. Great hot water and heating system.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Good location with car park for car, friendly and helpful front desk staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the second day the bathroom was not cleaned - the basin had not been touched at all - just towels changed.

    Good location for access to Palais Theatre, tram etc

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.5
    OK but very NOISY
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    VERY NOISY , Needs double glazing the noise from Parties all around , trams and people talking on the streets and block out curtains to prevent the street lights from lighting up the from ans also the taps in the shower are placed in a very dangerous position a accident waiting gto happen

    Comfortable beds friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    Clean Comfortable and Great Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tram noise would disturb my sleep and the bathroom was clean, but in need of some paint. To be honest the value for money completely outweighs this.

    The location was perfect. Steps to excellent restaurants, Luna Park, and the bay. Room was clean and well appointed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    4.2
    Room was disappointing and noise issues internally and externally made for a poor experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initial room was nothing like pictures, so we asked for options and were moved to a 2 bedroom which was better. However in the second night half the apartment and in particular bedroom was experiencing a vibration and significant noise from something that could not be fixed, we couldn’t be moved so had to put up with it all evening meaning terrible sleep, massive party at house next door also created noise compliant. Overall was not a great experience, expected better, unlikely to book again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.7
    Location is pretty nice, mear by the beach and a street full...
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was pretty small and narrow, and my room had no wardrob (the first time I experience such thing!!).

    Location is pretty nice, mear by the beach and a street full of nice bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    4.6
    Return clients, such as me, will cease to return if everything continues to deteriorate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are becoming seriously run down & urgently need refurbishment. My deluxe with terrace was spacious, but fittings such as carpet, floor surfaces, benches & walls are now marked & damaged. The room, by contemporary standards, is ill-designed - main room too big; bathroom too small; power points nowhere near kettle; no shelving or hangers in the bathroom, so everything topples around the sink. Close some rooms & gradually upgrade please.

    The location is excellent & staff do their best in a cheerful manner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.9
    Room was comfy and big enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You can hear EVERYTHING happening in the rooms above and next to you. I didn't get to sleep until 3am one morning because all I could hear was people talking in the floors above us.

    Room was comfy and big enough

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.1
    Overall good location parking and comfortable beds. Should spruce up walls w pictures
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Glitching of TV -pantry light not working - staff should have checked before handing over room -Am/fm clock radio intermittent operation - toilet bowl too close to wall had to sit an angle

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    5.0
    Poor won’t book it sgsin
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It didn’t look like the room which I saw on the sight which I booked from . We had no wi fi there was no internet connection once you opened our door, the tv was hard to watch because the pixels were all over the place we were told it was because of the rain. Our shower leaked from the bottom which created a pool when shiwering. On leaving my kids witnessed another guest letting his prostitutie out WOW

    It was somewhere to sleep and the door locked and secure parking and staff we’re beautiful .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    Really nice, affordable and modern hotel in a great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallways were not the cleanest.

    The decor is nice and modern in the rooms and around the hotel itself which I liked. There was a large window in the room to allow lots of natural light. The room is fairly spacious. The location is fantastic only a few minutes walk to the beach and to dining and take away restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable stay with friendly, helpful staff. Will certainly stay there next trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was happy with everything (except the weather)

    Very comfortable room, quiet and clean. Friendly and helpful staff. Proximity to tram and easy access to city. Safe, free parking. I really appreciated the fact that we had a quiet room this time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    2 double beds and 1 singe bed in a family room is suitable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    main light in the room doesn't work but no one can repaire it until next morning.

    2 double beds and 1 singe bed in a family room is suitable for parents with 2 kinds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.7
    Wil not come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet is not classified as 4* it is more 2*. The room is closed to main road and window is not noise reduction should be doubled glazed to be 4*

    The picture in the booking.com does not match with reality and certainly not 4* at all

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Great place and location. Great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We checked in late staff were friendly and helpful especially Judith I couldn’t recommend the place more highly based on Judith’s service alone thanks

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic location within walking distance to shops, cafes, bars and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was tiny and there was no vanity for putting toiletries on. Also the bathroom looked very tired and in need of an upgrade.G

    Room was big enough for 4 people and quite spacious. The beds were very comfortable. Hotel had secure parking which was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Cosmopolitan Hotel, would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Wi-Fi was not good, it kept cutting out and I would have to disconnect and re-connect again. It worked the best early in the morning, and in the breakfast room.

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and comfortable, the bed being extremely so! On hot days, the aircon worked well. Everything was as stated in the booking listing. Also, the hotel is in an excellent spot; the airport bus stop is right outside, and it is a 2 minute walk from Acland Street, which has excellent food and drink places.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.8
    The staff were so pleasant and helpful, nothing was too much...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could do with a little more updating also lack of lounge/bar was bit of a drawback when the weather was bad, not a problem when the sun shone due to fabulous location

    The staff were so pleasant and helpful, nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    2.5
    Very poor management follow up to my valid complaints. I've never had to write a bad hotel review.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Noise from nightclub on corner. No double glazing. Room was musty and damp. Like the smell of old carpet that had been washed and left to dry slowly, leaving a musty smell. Woke up everyday with blocked sinuses and breathing. No response from staff, only rude denials upon departure.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed my stay and if I were in StKilda again this is in a great location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I put a "walk on by" sign on the door for cleaning service not to bother. However this was ignored. I rang reception to ask why my room had been entered against my request, no answer but I did get an apology and a bottle of wine.

    Clean comfortable room right next to the beach. All the restaraunts you could ever want. Secure parking. Nice little bistro downstairs. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Room was excellent but aircon wasn't working so we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was excellent but aircon wasn't working so we were moved. A less superior room but complimentary bottle of champagne was great. Staff were so lovely

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.0
    Carpet was stained and looked very worn and needed replacing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet was stained and looked very worn and needed replacing. Bed spread had dirty stain on it. Nothing in mini bar. Breakfast was very poor. Place was very loud with lots of banging.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.1
    - Nice location with many options to go out.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - The breakfast is poor, don't go for it. There is an amazing place just across the street. - The balcony has no view. Looks like a great thing but it isn't. - The room need a refreshment. It's not so fresh as it looks on the pictures.

    - Nice location with many options to go out. - The room is spacious. - The staff is friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    3.8
    Seriously Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are NOTHING like web page. We paid for a 2 bedroom and was put into a family room. Room was filthy, dust everywhere. We paid $100 a night more than our friend who was in a Deluxe King & her room was far more modern & nicer! Definately not value for $$. We travel to Melbourne often & will not stay again.

    The staff that we spoke to were lovely & tried to their best an5iluty to help.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.3
    Overnight stay at the Cosmopolitian Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything we didn't like except for the taps in the bathroom, scalded myself whilst in the shower as I turned tap in wrong direction, no heat regulator

    Within walking distance of the beach,shops,parks.Public transport on the doorstep. Close to Melbourne CBD

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    5.0
    would not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    too expensive for the room we received. no view placed over the service area - very noisy - no sleep ins - very disappointing

    position was convenient for what we needed - but i did not feel that i received value for money. Reception staff very lovely on arrival

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.9
    Was good. Not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First couple of nights was in a room close to street where garbage truck in morning woke us up. Extremely loud. People outside loud. Not a good room to stay

    Staff were really nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.2
    It was a cute little room, good for one or two nights max, could consider double glazing the windows
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even with the windows closed, the street noise kept me awake all night. Definitely need new pillows and some basic maintenance in the rooms, ie. toilet seat wouldn’t stay up whilst using it, bulbs were blown in the bedroom and bathroom, TV reception was poor.

    The king size bed was very comfortable, shower was a good size!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.2
    Cosy, clean, convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to dislike. Was a bit small in size and doesn't have a pool but there is a salt water pool and beach we walked to nearby.

    Easy to catch tram and Skybus from hotel and walk to beach, cafes and shops. Was promptly serviced each day and staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.2
    St Kilda is a lovely town and this hotel was the ideal base for our holiday. I would recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Studio
    • Stayed 12 nights

    only negatives would be not having a pool or somewhere to sit in the sun, but we knew this when we booked. Our apartment would have been perfect if it had a terrace to sit out. The lack of bar facilities also a negative but considering there are loads of bars etc right across the road it wasn't really a problem

    Location was absolutely fantastic. A short walk to shops, bars, restaurants and the beach. We had an apartment which was adequate. Beds were really comfortable and room was so quiet as we were at the back. It might have been different if we had a front room facing the road as the trams run every few minutes. We chose this hotel as we were visiting our son, daughter in law and new baby grandson who stayed on the same road so it was ideal for us being so close to them. We had a lovely stay and the reception staff were so helpful especially when our lights fused in the flat one night. They sorted it out straight away. Clean towels and free toiletries every day. Can't fault this hotel and would definitely stay again when we come back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent bonus of outside terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price

    We booked a king size bedroom turned out to have lounge kitchen and outside terrace. We have booked again. Bit pricey but everything here is so much more expensive than England

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.1
    Great location and staff but needs a bit of a makeover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As noted above, the bathroom was extremely small and very poorly designed. The room was a "family room"with a queen bed and two single beds. Even though there are three beds, it would be very difficult to accommodate a family of 4 people. The cleaning leaves a bit to be desired as well.

    The location of the property is great. It is close to everything in St Kilda. The room we stayed in just needs a makeover and it would be great. The staff are lovely and very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    The rooms were a good size, comfy bed, clean, great view of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were a good size, comfy bed, clean, great view of St-kilda and and fantastic location walking distance to everything! highly recommend this hotel. Staff were super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.6
    Ticketed all the St Kilda boxes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we only had 1 night!

    Perfect location in St Kilda to access all it has to offer. Nice and quiet but 5 min walk to all the action. Boutique hotel with super friendly staff, spacious room with plenty of natural light. Stairs if you don’t like lifts!! And the $10 breakfast was excellent..... oh did I mention the free off street secure parking?!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.9
    Very nice but noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only trouble we had was at night. The bedroom was located at the front of the hotel which made it pretty noisy with trams and the local yahoos passing by all night. Admittedly there's not much the hotel can do about that, but you should probably keep it in mind.

    The hotel is very well located close to the heart of St Kilda with tram stops, Luna Park and the beach all an easy few minutes walk away. Our room was clean, comfortable and spacious. We stayed in a terrace room which gave us a nice covered balcony at the front door. No view, but it was pleasant sitting there in the evenings.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    5.0
    Conveniently located but very poor cleanliness standard.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very unclean. Cigarette butts on the balcony floor as we walked in. Sliding doors were filthy. Cupboards had grease marks all over them. We even had to wash the knives before use, as there was dirty dried food on them. I would hate to think the last time under the couch cushions were vacuumed. Very dissapointed. Walls had dirty food marks over them. Cleaners certainly need to take way more pride in their presentation for your guests.

    The staff and location were fabulous.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Altogether a very pleasant interlude.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    rowdy guests partying in the smoking area outside until late

    Great location, great breakfasts in the cafe, lovely staff, secure parking, comfy beds, altogether a very pleasant interlude.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    5.8
    Sorry, I will not stay here again. Sad to say, because a travel to Melbourne often.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was not aware that bed linen would not be changed during stay because of type of room I book. I wish I was told this at check-in. The carpet in the room did not seem clean.

    How Convenient to everything it was.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    4.6
    Wouldn't chose to stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were like rock and very uncomfortable, bathroom was too small (had to stand in the corner near the basin to close the door) you can hear the neighbors making any noise as the walls a paper thin

    Staff were friendly, location was close to all amenities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.5
    Location and cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They took ages to refund my deposit .. it should be as instant as they hold it and release it . Do yourself a favour and pay the deposit in cash

    Location and cleanliness

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.3
    Only there for one night but it was a great location & also fair value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two things not great were the noise from outside - in particular, the trams throughout the night. The bed was lumpy in some areas.

    Everything required was there & the room layout was excellent for that amount of space. Good bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.9
    I liked the convenient location, I would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom wasn't the best. The shower was small and didn't drain well, it also had some rust.

    Good location, easy walk to shops, restaurants, parks and the beach. The room was comfy and sufficient and met our needs. The bus stop was conveniently located just across the street.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    The best place to stay for all that St Kilda offers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both being tall there wasn't enough leg room on the toilet so we had to sit sideways!

    The position was brilliant. Right on the Skybus service, next to Acland Street and the next street to where our friends live.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    5.4
    have stayed at the hotel many times, will stay again, but it wasn't up to it's usual standards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom wasn't clean, the rooms was worn and needed an upgrade, very noisy during the night,

    The parking is great, the staff friendly and the location is great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    Always a good stay. Clean and close to everything. Great staff.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Always a little noisy especially during a holiday weekend...need to expect this. The room we had this time had an extra window shutter that did a good job at closing off some of the noise from the late night revellers. As I'v said before...I hate the bedside lights that were installed a few years ago...bring back the standard one's :-)

    Always love coming back to the Cosmo. The staff are always really nice and very efficient. The rooms are good...with good air con :-) Close to the beach and the great cafe's on Ackland Street

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.3
    Not luxury but great value with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not enough bench space in bathroom. Trams a bit noisy at night and early morning.

    Wonderful coffee and excellent value breakfast. Super helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.1
    Palais Alanis Concert
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window didn't close and blinds weren't fully blocked out.

    Property was convenient, a great position for The Palais. Great to have parking 😃

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.5
    The location is FANTASTIC
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise from the trams was a little concerning in the room we had. They start early in the morning. I realise the hotel cant help that but it was something that I didnt like. Also, they need to have microwaves in the room. They have coffee facilities but no knives, forks or microwave. Would be good for people to prepare a snack

    The room was very large and spacious. Very clean and the location is FANTASTIC. Very accessible by public transport. The Skybus stops right across the road. St Kilda Beach and Luna Park are a very short walk down the road. EXCELLENT

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    6.3
    Great location but very old and noisy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was outside - old, mould in bathroom, no towel holders and room was tiny, also very very noisy. Could hear cleaners trolley and laundry bins early in the morning right beside our window, cars and people coming and going. No water in fridges - arrived at room at almost 1am from flight, called receiption and were told to walk back to desk to purchase cold water.

    Location - so close to Palais Theatre & the beach, also easy to catch public transport to/from. Friendly & helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.2
    Nice clean, modern room with the usual amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived in 45c heat and it would have been nice to have some complimentary water in the room - opened the fridge to find it was completely empty.

    Nice clean, modern room with the usual amenities. Stayed overnight in a king executive room which had a nice big bed. Fantastic location, literally less than 5 minutes walk to the main area with bars, restaurants, shops etc and the beach is close by also.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.8
    The stay was comfortable and the hotel allowed easy access to all functions we attended on the eveni
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and bathroom were smaller/pokier than I as expecting for the money I paid.

    Bed was very comfortable and the room was quite dark so sleeping was easy. People at reception were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    5.0
    I would never go back or tell anyone to go there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise and the the fact no one wanted to help even though we were not the only ones complaining.

    They cleaned our room on Xmas day. That wasn't expectef

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    7.9
    Would return if I had to go back to Melbourne.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to get to by car, on site parking, walking distance to just about all attractions. Large rooms, able to open the window as I love fresh air. Tram to city 2 minutes walk.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    Great location, comfortable room, free parking: our preferred motel when we stay in St Kilda.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location great. Staff are friendly and helpful. Always plenty of free secure parking. Room is quiet and comfortable. All in all , this is a great place to stay and great value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    5.0
    Avoid at all cost a room in the older section of the hotel. Especially room 222
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Older section of the hotel is in desperate need of renovation. Old, dirty, smallest bathroom I have ever seen. My elbow was touching the wall whilst on the toilet. Worse 4 star hotel I have been in. New section not bad.

    Good manager. Willing to hear my feedback regarding my room in the older section and offered us a room in the newer section of the hotel which was overall good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have access to a microwave or a toaster as well as plates/bowls As I have small children eating out for breakfast/lunch/dinner can be very costly

    Bed was very comfortable Staff were lovely Great parking facilities

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.8
    A most enjoyable stay at the Cosmopolitan, where we have stayed many times previously.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room would be improved with a table on which to have coffee or breakfast and also a microwave.

    A comfortable motel in an excellent location close to shops, restaurants, light rail, the beach and Luna Park.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.8
    Generally happy with our experience.
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom cupboard had a bit of a musty smell and mould in shower recess

    Very comfortable bed, friendly staff, room with a view, even though a little noisy at night. Much cleaner than the last time we stayed. Safe off-street parking, proximity to trams for travelling away from hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.3
    A great place to stay in St Kilda - we will stay there again without any hesitation.
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to mention. The cafe was closed during the period we were there, but there are plenty of other options very close by.

    Location and staff - both excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a mix up in communication between my reservation on Booking.com & the hotel. My booking had been cancelled & I was allocated a different type of room. That room was poorly designed, with a barely functional bathroom, no view and damaged and deteriorating amenities. My visit this time was therefore very disappointing.

    The staff are always pleasant and the location is excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.2
    A great location, excellent staff and the single room was adequate for my needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress needs an upgrade. It was quite lumpy.

    Lovely staff... I couldn't fault them. Location is awesome. Parking included with my room was a bonus.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    7.1
    Good vale for money if you find an offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little bit dated. Our room was on an open hallway, seemed like the least mantained part in the hotel.

    Spacy room with beds for a whole family that we didn’t need, but was the cheaper at the moment we booked.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    Amazing stay minutes from St Kilda Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It can be a bit noisy at night because of young people returning from the beach but you cannot blame the hotel for this

    Amazing room - super comfy bed- 5 min to the beach The bathroom beauty products -amazing St Kilda Beach its a lovely area with many restaurants and places to drink

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    5.0
    Close to theatre. Wouldn't stay again after payment issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilets were dirty. Property took an extra $100 bond instead of a imprint of card like every other place you stay at. Then when I got home noticed that not only did I not get refunded the bond but had the room payment taken out of account twice had to ring motel and argue to get this fixed.

    Very close to the palais theatre

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable and quiet 1 night stay in a hotel that is close to city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nil

    Simple and basic hotel that is reasonably clean and close to convenient facilities such as shopping and restuarants. The staffs were friendly and helpful .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    4.2
    Disgusted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Completely disgusted that this room was rented out. When we checked in they took another $100 holding deposit after I’d paid for the room in full - there is nothing on any information to say that would happen, leaving me $100 short for my weekend. The staff didn’t care. The carpet smelt like old champagne. We had a window in our room that wouldn’t close and so had to be duct taped to stop the wind coming in. The toilet was blocked for a whole day with no other options open to us at the hotel, and the car parking area is tiny. We tried to ask the staff to help us move one persons car so we weren’t blocking anyone in and we were told they would call the owner. After repeated attempts to get the car moved the staff did nothing, and consequently we had to come back to the hotel to move our car for another person the next day - interrupting what we were doing. Don’t waste your money.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: