Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Crowne Plaza Canberra 4 stars

1 Binara Street, 2601 Canberra, Australia

#38 of 104 hotels in Canberra

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2658 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    6.7
    Very disappointed with the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was more like an office / bedsit than an expensive hotel room. On raising this we were informed by the Reception Manager that it was designed as a business hotel and that all the rooms were basically the same. Room had interconnecting door and there was very little soundproofing between the two. We were wakened up by noises and an alarm clock.

    Location Gym Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    8.8
    Lovely weekend getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sheets on the bed, every time we moved the sheets made a noise - like they were crisp not soft and comfy.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, dinner at the bar was beautiful - overall we loved our stay and will definitely be back.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    8.3
    Bed was very comfy, breakfast was excellent, stuff was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Interior design in the room was weird, bath in the bathroom was very old, had scratches all over it and paint chips, sink was very low. Also for that price I would expect some free movies, had to pay to watch something other than just normal tv.

    Bed was very comfy, breakfast was excellent, stuff was very nice and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Both young Lady's at the reception on checking in and out couldn't be more helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of the above, buffet breakfast was great. The young lady who attended us was really helpful and didn't stop looking after the needs of other people.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.2
    I had enjoyable time.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like waiting to be seated for breakfast. Check in for breakfast could be automated via screen where you put your room number and surname or similar.

    I loved freshly squeezed juice for breakfast (and the ability to choose your own veg and fruit for juicing), plenty of healthy options like fruit and nuts and chia seeds. Excellent barista coffee.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    7.9
    The stay was comfortable and met our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no toilet brush.The bathroom had a bath with a shower over the bath.A shower curtain decided which option to use.We have commented previously that we don't particularly like shower curtains and wonder how often they are changed.The bed did not have a top sheet and similarly how often would the doona cover be changed after each guest stays.We prefer a top sheet where we stay

    Good location,close to the main city area and close enough to major tourist attractions.The room was comfortable and quiet

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    7.5
    Great location for Floriade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food, room service meals where below average with food portions being very small. Room, the room itself was very basic for price

    Location for Floriade is perfect with it being only being a 15 minute walk.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    7.5
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hate those fluffy feather pillows. They do not make for a good sleep. No alternate pillows available in the cupboard. The room got uncomfortably hot between 3am and 6am even though the air was set on 19 degrees. I reckon the air switches off during this period to save power. Cooled off again by about 7am.

    convenient location and the staff were helpful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    4.6
    I would not be returning back to Crown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was old and dirty They made the bed each day by throwing the doona back on. They did not even straighten bottom sheet. Did not even puff or move pillows. Only way I could get them to make bed was to totally strip bed so they would remake. Originally there was one small couch in room where one person could sit. When we asked for an extra chair they were not sure one was available.

    Nice view over park from window but we paid for this.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.3
    Excellent location, spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Was advised a high floor room would be allocated for my family at the time of booking but was alllocated to ground floor at check-in. Receptionist advised fully booked regardless what was guaranteed at the time. Was a bit put off by that but I guess the instant check-in was good. - My little one dropped the pen onto the floor which rolled underneath the bed. Had to push the bed over and it was beyond filthy! The toilet was the same, corners were so dirty!

    Excellent location, spacious rooms.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    5.0
    First and last time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking out was shocking paid but system failed and took almost 2weeks to resolve from their end but was made like it was our fault

    bed were very comfy some area was not clean like window sill and bathroom sink other than that it was comfortable and breakfast was great if only I had hollandaise sauce with my poached eggs

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    6.3
    ok but wouldnt re book
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for adjoining rooms and discovered not an option fir our size party on arrival Dirty bathrroms with shower curtains Unable to have dinner in restaurant on 1st night as fully booked. Weren't advised paying quests had to book Food exoensive Decor and building outdated for cost

    The buffet breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.0
    Nice atrium area, but the service was terrible...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was fairly run down. The shower in the bathtub was ancient and needs to be replaced. Some lights were not working and the TV remote was playing up. The room seemed very crapped with furniture like an extra bed, table in the corner another bench space for a laptop.

    Breakfast was OK.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Loved the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ate at the restaurant. A table for 6. The service was woefully inadequate. We waited over 30 minutes for someone to take our drink order, and this was after my husband approached a staff member with this request. We waited over 90 minutes for water, also asking several times. The food was great and we enjoyed this very much. But, after service like that for dinner. Not again

    Loved the location. Friendly staff, lovely room with amenities. We loved breakfast. Food was plentiful, the service was amazing. Complete contrast from the night before.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    Great Hotel, Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of information provided at check in. No information about parking, where breakfast was, not much interaction. Found out on check out that we paid for parking at reception and not at the carpark pay terminal.

    It was our 10yr wedding anniversary and they had a bottle of wine and slice of cake in the room for us. Comfy bed and loved the block out blinds!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    4.2
    Location near park and shops
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a trip with friends booked same day and ended up paying more for while they got breakfast for their family and we did not.

    Location near park and shops

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.9
    Perfect staff highly recommend them, very friendly. They were ace and the MVP of my stay.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathrooms are very outdated and bit of damage that's been fixed. The whole building was very warm which was too much for me especially when sleeping you will need the air conditioning on. The computer system was slow for poor staff, update it.

    The staff are amazing, very friendly and super helpful. There is a good amount of services and rooms are large. The building is located in central Canberra and a quick stroll to the city. Very quick check-in and was helped throughout the night with an extra room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Clean room , comfy bed and pillows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could not move two beds together as there was bed side bolted in between, bath tub was missing sewerage cap ((

    Clean room , comfy bed and pillows. Breakfast ok and not crowded , stuff great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous! Location is the best in Canberra.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had to park outside the second night as there wasn't any room below, but was still charged the same rate.

    The bed was so comfortable, and the staff so accommodating. Breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    4.6
    We will not return to this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathrooms are extremely dated , dirty and poor layout. The food was expensive and not good at all . On the first night we stayed we voiced are concerns about the cleanliness of the room. We were booked in for a week later and even after voicing our concerns, the next room was still dirty and there wasn't even accessible soap in the bathroom.

    The staff were extremely lovely

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.8
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Need upgrade of the rooms old/ boring style for a prominent location . Its nice to stay because of the location just need uplift of all the rooms and bathrooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    beds were very comfortable, restaurant meals and buffet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise from people in the room next door was rather loud on one night.

    beds were very comfortable, restaurant meals and buffet breakfast was excellent. Very central.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    Easy walk to cbd and easy drive to tourist attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personal preference (not fault of hotel) - would've liked queen beds but will look more closely when booking in future

    Easy walk to cbd and easy drive to tourist attractions

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.9
    Bed was really comfortable, breakfast was delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think parking overnight is a bit expensive at $25.. as there is very very limited street parking.

    Bed was really comfortable, breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Excellent location & Price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom small for a family but clean and well stocked. Room service extremely pricey for value. Order in from elsewhere.

    Clean, staff very helpful, if you can breakfast included in price, works out very cheap stay in A great hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.6
    The location, the room was spacious, all the staff members...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, the pillows were a bit stiff but nothing to complain about

    The location, the room was spacious, all the staff members were lovely and breakfast was delicious

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    The friendly staff, location, room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was nice but the only complaint would be that there was no cover bed sheet. Was not comfortable with just being covered with a doona bedspread.

    The friendly staff, location, room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    Our stay here was average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is tired looking. Many fittings need to be updated and the blinds in our room badly frayed and damaged on the edges. Parking needs to be improved.

    Closeness to city. There was a disturbance in the dining room at breakfast and security handled it excellently.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.5
    Solid Choice in a Central setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of parking is outrageous ! 24.00 a night the first time we stayed and the car park is atrocious to navigate, pylons everywhere and very very tight spaces. Our second night the place was full to the brim. People parked outside and were still charged. The second time we stayed in a week the cost had risen to 25.00 a night! This is ten dollars more expensive than I paid to park in a hotel in the middle of Sydney. And parking is not stated in the cost of the room which I find quite misleading. Also, they double charged my credit card, and could not explain how it happened. It somehow takes 14 days to refund (business days) but no time at all to take. Go figure. Also beware if you stay twice in one week I found I couldn't connect to the wireless the second time ...

    The location is indeed great. Very central and the middle of Canberra is accessible on foot. There is a park next to the hotel. The rooms are spotlessly clean and should you need something like extra towels or room service the in house services are a button touch away and very obliging. We asked for a cot in each room and it was made up ready on arrival. When calling to discuss the double charge, once I managed to get someone in the phone they were very helpful to talk to and to their credit explained everything and refunded also the cost of our room service and parking in addition to the extra charge. The first time we stayed I was confused about the descrepancy in billing also and called to speak with someone and they also were very helpful in resolving my issue.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    We enjoyed the weekend staff were great , room was perfect,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Scenic King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We enjoyed the weekend staff were great , room was perfect, close to everything shops , restaurants, parks attractions will be staying there again for sure

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Highly recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like.

    Very friendly service, clean and quiet room and in a great location. Walking distance to shops, tourist attractions and great restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Overall .... totally excellent experience .... very helpful and friendly staff everywhere :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only complaint was with the bathroom facilities. There were four of us and only three towels. We also had no hand soap but made do with shower gel for hand washing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    5.4
    Memorable with issues .
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. There was drainage issue in the bathroom wash basin ,once it used water stuck on that . Called plumber next day and got fixed . But waisted my time . 2. Iron table had defective . 3. House keeping staff who attended seems Unhappy .required some king of training for him to be joyful and 😃especially if you are in service industry .

    architecture .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Excellent stay perfect spot, food and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was a little dated but I am a Bathroom designer so of course I am going to whine about it. Sorry

    The staff were fabulous, The breakfast was amazing with the pancake machine was a hit with our 5 year old.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    Location, amenities and overall the establishment is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed wasn't made and we complained to housekeeping, nevertheless one of them who took photos agreed .. but no one took responsibility at the time???

    Location, amenities and overall the establishment is nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.3
    Nice and close to everyone, needs to employ more Australian staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food costs at the hotels restaurant where through the roof and the portion sizes where through the floor. Also the lack of Australian staff employed by the hotel was disgusting. Most of the employees come from non Australian backgrounds and some had poor english skills which made communication in some instances frustrating. Most staff seemed to be from Indian or Asian decent. It shocked me how disproportionate the amount of foreign employees were to the amount of Australian employees (I saw only 1 Australian employee during my stay.) I suspect the hotel is foreignly owned or just has racist management.

    The central location was great. Very easy to get around and see the sights.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    Overall we enjoyed our stay & would definitely stay there again.
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a very long wait for dinner in the restaurant. They apologised & gave us a complimentary glass of wine. When we finally got our food it was excellent.

    Nice room & very comfy beds

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was pretty ordinary underneath the hotel. Very cramped spaces and hemmed in and spaces not available most of the time. The outside secure parking was much better.

    Location was good. Room was fine and had everything we needed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Excellent facilities , service and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lengthy wait at the omelette station Abd coffee. My advice is to have two staff serving during busy times.

    The facilities were great , convenient location very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    The staff are all beautiful and all work extremely hard as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The time it takes for a meal to be delivered to your table one night it took one hour in the main restaurant and the next night 1 hr and 46 minutes and this was after complaining to the management, they gave us two drinks free and are going to refund us our meal money, I was also very disappointed in the bathrooms very out dated and room quite small for the nightly rate of $300 a night. Have stayed in numerous hotels for much better value. The excuse for the delay in food was school holidays as far as I am aware these holidays fall the same time every year so the management need to be better prepared.

    The staff are all beautiful and all work extremely hard as they are so under staffed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.7
    We won't be staying here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would not book again. We only got a thin quilt on bed when the temperature was -4 degrees overnight. Asked for additional quilts, they had ran out so got some scratchy blankets. Buffet breakfast was very disappointing. Line up out the door to get in, and once you got in the selection was underwhelming. Not enough plates, crockery, bowls or staff. The cereal station ran out of milk, very disorganized. Bathrooms were tired.

    The staff were friendly, the beds comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.3
    Bedding was very comfy, staff were helpful overall a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Saturday morning was very unorganised, over crowded. We were put in a room out the back (which was cold and by the time you got your food back it was cold , food kept running out not enough cutlery coffee cold !!! The Sunday was a bit better

    Bedding was very comfy, staff were helpful overall a pleasant stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location, comfortable room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    You have to stand in the bathtub to shower, as there is no separate shower and this was made worse by the fact that the water pressure and water temperature is not great. The service was also hit and miss, with some great service, particularly in the restaurant and bar, but not always at the front of house. Upon arrival, no one came out to assist with my bags, even though there was no other guests in the lobby and even after I came in and got one of their trolleys and brought the bags in myself. The check-in staff didn't even apologise, even though they watched me do it. Also, across my week in the hotel, I tried to make use of the 'knowledge' of the concierge, however one of the concierges did not have a fluent command of English, which made it difficult to get information about the local area and the hotel facilities. Also, on my first night, a grabbed a drink from the minibar and began to drink it. Tasting it, I realised that it was expired and on checking the bottle, it was 14 months out of date. While the hotel replaced the bottle immediately, this could have been very dangerous.

    A very comfortable & spacious room, quality breakfast, great dinner deal in the bar (pizza and drink), excellent location. Overall, I really did enjoy my stay, despite the constructive feedback I have provided.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    The rooms the concierge staff, reception staff
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Restaurant was a disgrace waited for 1.40 hours for a pasta meal and had to repeatedly ask staff where our meals were, left the restaurant tired, hungry with my elderly parents

    The rooms the concierge staff, reception staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    It was an adequate stay, but we would not go back there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are a bit tired. My husband had difficulty because you have to climb into a bath to have a shower and he has mobility problems. Also we have been charged extra amounts since we left that are not explained, which I am following up. The food in the restaurant wasn't very appealing.

    The breakfast was quite good. The bed was extremely comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    I really enjoyed and intend to stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant had limited gluten free options in the Redsalt. Breakfast options were also limited but I ate out in the Canberra Centre and was still quite happy. Portion sizes of milk in the room fridge are quite small.

    The location to where I needed to go was great. The external noise to the room was well filtered. All staff were warm but unobtrusive. The gentleman serving in the bar was particularly courteous. The gentlemen when I checked out were very good. At the time I checked out another guest was doing so. This guest was rude and pompous and very sarcastic. Congratulations to the staff who managed him

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    5.0
    Convenient location but overpriced for amenities and accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor is tired. Bathrooms need to be overhauled and modernised. Room furniture is outdated. Room was not as clean as it could have been

    Proximity to city shops. Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.5
    Sterile
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The dinner menu was somewhat limited and for what you got it was over priced. Canberra hotels are very sterile. Every hotel I have stayed in Canberra had really bad vibes and I am not a vibes person. Perhaps it has to do with a casino in the same place and the despair leaching thru.

    Good breakfast buffet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Great location, comfortable beds, fantastic breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The on-site restaurant seemed to struggle with the dinner service as we waited an hour for our pasta dishes as did the table next to us. The manager was very apologetic and rectified the situation which was great.

    Great location, comfortable beds, fantastic breakfast. The twin rooms were ideal for a family of 4 with two young children.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay and great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent place to stay and great value for money. Rooms clean and tidy with all the comforts you need. The buffet breakfast was thoroughly enjoyed by the whole family. Will be recommending this hotel to our family and friends.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.8
    Staff were nice and location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasnt ready when we checked in. After 2 hours of waiting in the lobby with the family the room was ready. Walked into the room and there was dried blood on the bed sheets. Called housekeeping no answer. Called reception and was on hold for 15 minutes. Finally housekeeping returned and changed sheets. Day 2 and day 3 same issue. Out all day sightseeing with the family only to return to a not fixed room. Another issue is that charge $21 a day for parking.

    Staff were nice and location was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    I'll be happy to stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been nice to have complimentary parking as a hotel guest.

    The room was clean, modern, spacious and well appointed. The beds were comfortable and we enjoyed our brief stay. Breakfast was delicious, I particularly enjoyed my omelette and coffee.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    It is excellent place to stay in Canberra
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was booked in for a familyof 4. However up on arrival I was informed that Booking.com was not pass the info forward to Crown Plaza. There for we endedup in a room with a King Bed + Crown has to addin a portable single beds.

    Staff services was excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in starts at 2pm. We didnt get to the hotel until 3.30pm and was told the room was not ready. Was told they would ring when room was available. After 30mins we had to go to the reception and ask for an update. After pleading with the staff a room was finally given.

    Rooms were very clean. Beds were very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous hotel, will stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a bit too hot and we couldn't bring the temperature down for a comfortable sleep.

    We had a lovely stay, great walking distance to restaurants, shops, etc... The buffet breakfast was to die for, plenty of choice and very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    The $25 upgrade was also a disappointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a major disappointment for $29 each - its a ripoff ! We took breakfast approx 9.30 am. The buffet hot food was not hot - it was warm/cold therefore unpleasant to eat, The Barista made coffee was delivered cold to our table, There were no side plates for hot toast from the toast making machine to the table. Many breakfast buffet items were very low or out. It was a very ordinary experience.

    The cocktail bar was good and the staff excellent. The music piped was too loud.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    3.5
    Nice entry and reception area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was very busy and they didn't have to staff to cope with the breakfast rush, long waits, food ran out and coffee had to be ordered a few times before we got it. Always had to wait at reception due to number of people, again more staff would have helped. Pool not available. Very expensive for the service and facilities provided.

    Nice entry and reception area. Typical hotel room, bathroom showing wear.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    4.5
    Used to be great but now not so much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The car park is horrible to get around in and as the general public seemed to be able to park it was chock a block and very narrow carparks. We rang for an extra pillow no answer. We rang for room service no answer. We rang reception no answer. We rang back after waiting for another 10 minutes trying all three and finally got reception who took our order although the room service people had to call back and confirm our order. Queuing for breakfast for 10 minutes, not enough staff and waiting 20 minutes for a coffee. The staff were doing their best but overwhelmed and people were getting cranky. School holidays and they didnt put on extra staff. Dirty plates and tables stacked all over the place. In a word Chaos.

    In all honesty it is an average hotel and needs a face lift. At best three star. Well below what I expect of a Crowne Plaza property

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    Staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very disappointed that we had to pay for parking as guests. This should have been stated in your ad. Bathtub needed a thorough clean.

    Staff were friendly. Place was clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Good location, good facilities, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room wasn’t available till 1.5hours after the advertised availability at 2pm and we had to find somewhere to go and wait. The pillows were too thin and only had 3. Woke up with a sore neck. Gentleman on reception was very pleasant but spoke too fast and I struggled to follow what he was saying at times. Construction across the road started around 7:30am on the Sunday, which was not ideal.

    Room was good, i liked the way it was set up. internal connection to casino was very convenient seeing it is winter

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.3
    Won’t go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from a function at the casino that went on until midnight. Parking very tight. Breakfast buffet too crowded. Like sitting in a bingo hall.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    The check in was quick.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of just having coffee and dessert/ cake. A single scoop of ice cream was $5! Rather outrageous.

    The check in was quick. The staff from reception to restaurant to concierge were all friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and clean. There was car parking facility and to top it off, the property is in an excellent location. It’s walking distance to retail and external restaurants and access to it by car, is very easy. This meant if you need to get out of city by car, this was able to be done quickly without getting caught up in traffic jam.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not many options open nearby for food over the weekend. But the bar pub in the hotel is good value and has something for everyone's taste.

    Location is great. Value is great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Friendly and comfortable in a convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows were a bit flat. I wish I'd asked for another one - I'm sure they would've been happy to oblige. There was a little bit of noise coming through from the next room around 7am.

    The convenience and quality of the restaurant. There was a good variety of meal choices with more reasonably priced combinations. The bed time spray available to help you sleep.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    3.3
    Would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was dirty mold on the tiles, think the whole Hotel needs a face lift. Had a drink in the bar about 9 pm and it was freezing everyone sat around in coats. Went down for breakfast, waited for a table to be cleaned staff rushing around not organised buffet breakfast very poor mess everywhere on the buffet, staff we telling us how busy it was, surly they have done these numbers before.

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.1
    Late check out policy failure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Late check out policy failure. Was told one thing on check-in only to be harassed by concierge and cleaning staff on multiple occasions on leaving (at earlier agreed time).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Great location, close to large shopping centre and also easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom are a little dated and there were no vents but nevertheless they were very clean and tidy.

    Great location, close to large shopping centre and also easy to get to all the sites of interest. Check in was simple and the rooms were clean and very comfortable beds. Highly recommend as a stay destination if you are visiting Canberra.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.4
    Staff were nice, front desk arranged cake and champange for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    King size room was disappointing small, My wife was upset that she has to drink water from bathroom tap

    Staff were nice, front desk arranged cake and champange for our anniversary. It is a very nice gesture from front desk. Also lady who got our meal and works in restaurant was very nice and sweet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Glad I stayed - a few small changes would make this a heavenly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in on Friday afternoon took forever - I think they need to have more experienced staff on for busy times. Parking is also dreadful - they don't have enough sports but just keep giving out tickets - it was horrible - people were blocked in and reversing. This was very stressful and needs to be fixed. I expect better from a hotel with this rating.

    Room was small but had a lovely feel. Stay here if you want to be close to the theatre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Loved it. Will be back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't appear to get my room serviced, returned to an unmade bed and my toiletries were not replenished (I only really needed more body lotion!) Not sure if this was because I didn't put out my tag to inform the hotel staff to service the room though.

    Loved staying here! Nice spread for the included breakfast including pancakes and an omelette station. Bedding was super comfortable, and enjoyed the little extra touches (the room spray - lovely). Great set up with the work station particularly for business trips. WI-FI was great. Didn't drop out at all, super consistent even in the conference rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not one thing. Loved it.

    Staff were brilliant. Beds were out of this world, breakfast was everything you could wish for. Would definitely recommend. Got the best deal plus breakfast of all the deals in Canberra. Will stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.8
    ordinary
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bathroom was horrible, outdated, grungy, definitely needing refurbishment. my elderly mother had trouble getting in/out of the bath in order to have a shower, even with a handrail the sides of the bath were simply too high posing a danger of slipping/falling. uninteresting Room Service menu

    Greeting and check-in was excellent, bed was comfy, super convenient location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Comfortable stay very close to the shopping heart of Canberra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park is messy. We couldn’t get out because the computer was saying that we hadn’t paid the fee, which we had done. Couldn’t work out how to get help and people were queued up behind us.

    We had a very comfortable stay. Good value for money. Close to the CBD. Nice breakfasts.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.3
    OK for a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool facilities were out of order and I was not told about it at check in.

    The reception staff were excellent and the room was comfortable. However, they advertise a pool, however it was out of order. This information should have been given at check in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Crowne Plaza Luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb staff from Concierge to Reception. Nothing was a bother and made me feel welcome. I actually extended my stay by another 2 nights and Reception Staff were very accomodating in arranging that I remain in the same room. I had Room Service most nights because of fatigue from long hours doing tourist activities. The food was Divine and always delivered by happy staff. The Cleaning staff were honest, apparently I had dropped a one hundred dollar note, the cleaner left the cash and note on my pillow to ensure I saw it. Thoroughly impressed by the ambiance of the hotel, the state of the art features and an extremely comfortable bed. The hotel was recommended to me and I would happily recommend the hotel to anyone wanting top quality accommodation.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: