Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Desert Palms Alice Springs 3.5 stars

74 Barrett Drive, 0870 Alice Springs, Australia

#13 of 25 hotels in Alice Springs

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1181 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didnt like the room we were in, no screens on windows, outdated unclean kitchen, very old utentils, grimey linen

    the price of a room is reasonable & good for overnight travellers. Good AC & shower ok

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish it had more of a Desert feel rather than trying to pretend to be tropical. The bed just in front of the door was a little annoying.

    Large open accomodation, very neat and clean. Great shower; as well as good kitchenette options for looking after yourself.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady that booked us in was abrupt to bordering on rude. We've just booked in for another stay though, and that office lady was very pleasant. Initially, on tonight's stay, they wouldn't match Booking.com prices (even though it was our 4th night this week) but in the end they did. They charge 1.8% surcharge on all cards, including debit.

    Very good value. Cleaning staff very efficient and friendly. Both driers didn't work the first day but they had them fixed by the next day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's basic but clean and comfy. I like the location. Close to town but away from noise. Good stay over self catering , very friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not have a car which limited us a little. Walking to shops for provisions a bit of a schlep. Restaurants near by so-so. Golf club nearest but food rates as adequate. Next hotel has restaurant specialising in Asian foods. Well presented but lacking flavour. Not there long enough to try the casino a little further along.

    The rooms are spacious, clean and well equipped. The staff are helpful. Excellent airport shuttle drops off and picks up.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location was a bit far from town centre if you didn't have a car. There was an Ant problem in the kitchen!

    Safe relaxed environment for kids. Great pool area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bbq area could have been cleaner/better

    The pool was amazing and kids had a ball. Room was very tight for a family. No sitting room inside, only on veranda. But otherwise was good basic accomodation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the fact that you could not open a window at night for fresh air. Aircon fan was very strong.

    Location great - easy access to the town centre. Pool complex very relaxing and the laundry very well set up.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little bleak and the beds were awfully close to the door/sliding windows. The pillows could use changing as they seemed a little old.

    The beds were made well and the kitchenette was well equipped. Each villa had a cute little porch to relax on.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quad Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly our room was quite dirty. We wiped the floor after spilling some water upon arrival and the cloth came back filthy. There was numerous cockroaches found both alive and dead throughout the room. The room was cheap, but still we left pretty disappointed.

    Location and outer room facilities are good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen was a little on the small side with limited cooking facilities.

    Location allowed great access to Golf course that served evening meals. Reception was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked the whole package.

    We were very pleased on our arrival at the Desert Palms. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The accomodation was very good. The privacy that it offered was great and also the cleanliness was excellent. We could not have asked for more as they had everything covered right down to the kitchen, ensuite, bed comfort and a balcony with out door seating. We would highly recommend the Desert Palms. We thank the staff and management for a delightful stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was much further out of town than I expected - a good 35 minute walk each way. As a single traveller I didn’t feel that safe at night due to the layout of the apartments and the fact that the reception is only open 06.00-20.00. My apartment was along a driveway facing a barbed wire fence so I felt very isolated.

    Only had a one night stay in Alice Springs. Property was clean and functional. Good for long term travellers with transport. Had a lovely meal at the golf club next door.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool was brilliant, including an ingenious solar warming setup where a thin layer of water ran down a slate wall, and where the shallow end got much sunlight during the day. Pool was clean and inviting. The tiny kitchenette was very useful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds only have a sheet and a very stiff rough bed cover. We were extremely uncomfortable and only stayed one night moving to other accommodation. If you need a comfy bed for a good nights sleep suggest you stay elsewhere unless you are a traveller who has a 4WD and extra bed linen or blankets. Otherwise everything else about the place was great.

    Location and car access

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are a little dated and the kitchen and bathroom were tiny. Serious tiny ant problem. They were in all our food, and we had to throw things out.

    Great pool! Helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could do with a revamp.

    Motel style accommodation but better. Each room (hut) has a verandah, table and chairs. Priced well, space to park a car and camper trailer, cold aircon and comfy beds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the TV remote was disgusting and the people next door decided to unpack and pack their car a few times in the middle of the night (rooms aren't very sound proof) .

    Great pool for the kids and decent sized cabin..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our first Villa was in need of some repairs still comfortable and clean did not have the information about Alice Springs or info about the resort as would be expected.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a barking dog in the hotel next to Desert Palms that was very annoying.

    The staff was great. The available ifood items for purchase was very convenient. The grounds were well maintained. The chalets were quiet. I like the “no pets allowed”. I travel a lot and always choose places where I don’t have to listen to someone’s barking dog or sleep in a room that smells like a dog. Not all dog owners are considerate. The rooms were clean. Comfortable bed and pillows. The fridge and microwave were very nice to have. Kitchen area and bathroom were both clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    I used to like it better when they offered a discount for Territorians.

    I have stayed here several times before and I am always happy with everything in general.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all good

    Very lovely self contained cabins with parking straight out the front of each one. Comfortable, and everything you need. I thought they were great value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had room 113 and the smell from the bathroom was quite strong. I believe it smelled of sulphur which may be related to the water they use - it was manageable with the bathroom door closed but a bit of a “hit in the face” when I first came into the room.

    Clean area. I liked the little Veranda that each room has. Spacious rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a 20 min walk from the centre, and taxis are expensive. It is advised not to walk at night.

    Very comfortable hotel, nice veranda, small but useful kitchen. Great pool, and good guest laundry. There are restaurants nearby in two other hotels.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is as it is advertised. It did the job for us. If you are looking for 5 star comforts, look elsewhere. Otherwise, we found it fine for our purposes. We had dinner in the Golf Club and enjoyed it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No window. One glass front. If you open the curtain everybody can see all inside, if you don't it is dark.

    Basic but everything there and the place was impecable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    4 car loads of inconsiderate Tradies staying next door to our villa and parked outside our villa talking loudly and revving their cars at 6.20am Sunday morning. Maybe put working guys away from others. Not the hotels fault but we were put right next to them.

    Comfortable villa, great pool, friendly, helpful reception staff went over and above. Short walk (next door) to Hanumans and deck bar with great cocktails.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • People with friends
    • Triple Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Photos of property are decieving. I was surprised at how small the cabins and swimming pool are upon my arrival.

    Good location, quiet and comfortable. Reasonably priced for Alice Springs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We write this comment after a few weeks have past, and the Resort really is worth recommending to anyone planing to stay in Alice Springs. That’s the second time for this trip we stayed here. The pool is a jewel in the dessert if you are traveling with kids.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only stayed 1 night, no negatives on our short stay.

    Nice resort, room clean and comfy. Only stayed 1 night on way back to Darwin. Pool looked great. Free wifi which was fast. Wished we were staying longer. Would come back again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were some serious noise /bad behaviour issues from other guests during our stay which impacted on our comfort. Staff were aware & very apologetic.

    The pool was lovely in extremely hot conditions. Staff were very helpful & friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's not "that" close to Alice Springs. It's a 30 minutes walk from the hotel. But other than that, nothing to complain.

    Clean and air-conditioned room, kitchen in room available. Very comfy bed!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. All good

    Lovely setting just outside main town. Bus service 500 bus stop just outside for €3 but not too frequent. All trip organisers pick up and drop off here. Very helpful, approachable staff. Mini shop and lovely pool on site. Close to casino which has three restaurants. Shower was best yet on our trip.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Please know that restaurants seem to close at dark in this area. Each restaurant we tried to eat at around 9 pm were closed or closed. BUT - the grocery store - COLE'S - was open - so we were great. The only thing was the rooms were HOT - it was very hard for us to cool them down since we had to use the key to run the air - and we needed to go out. I do not know how to work around this. EVERYTHING ELSE was great!

    WOW - after driving TWO 12 hour plus days from Cairnes, we were in heaven when we arrived at this location. WE LOVED the little A-frame structures for the hotel guests. They were perfect! The pool was what made the location truly PERFECT for us! It was wonderful! The water in the pool was nice and cool. And since I requested to be near the pool - a shorter than short walk! The plants within the hotel property was beautiful. Additionally, it was so nice to have a convenient laundry service!!! THANK YOU!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is nothing like the photos or description, but it was still nice. Very squashy to sit around pool, only 3 lounge chairs on offer and where is the garden in the description?

    Great rooms

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I mentioned to the cleaning staff that the "outside" bins at our Villa were full, however, they did not empty it. I had to inform Reception who ensured they got emptied.

    Helpful Reception, well maintained facilities. Kids enjoyed the Pool.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Clean tidy great place after a long drive. Awesome pool and really nice staff. Excellent value for money ,quiet at night sage off street parking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was smaller than expected, the photos on the web site certainly show it at it’s best.In the high season I think it would be very full. Self catering facilities were more basic than we would have liked.

    Good location, convenient for golf club which has a good bar and food,decent sized room,helpful staff.Fairly quiet when we were there- New Year.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchenette needs to be renovated - getting a bit old. It would have been nice to have security screen door.

    The pool is really nice and is very family friendly. The resort is near the golf course and as a guest we had access to the course and the restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cabin next door had a large family staying, with multiple cars, made parking in our allocated spot inconvenient. Was eventually sorted.

    Excellent customer service. Especially when it looked like we were going to arrive late in the night. Love that the property is pet friendly too. It's a place where it has everything you need.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, staff are great, stay there every time we travel through Alice Spring, at least twice a year some times more. Booked in there tomorrow. Property is secure with lock up gates at night. Close to casino and located in a really good part of town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpark was too far from the room & not pleasant in 42degree heat to be getting luggage to the room at the other end of the property. The airconditioner was extremely noisy which made sleeping virtually impossible. There was a wasp's nest outside the sliding door with wasps hovering at the door.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not walking distance from town centre.

    Friendly staff. Air conditioning is powerful and working well. Free parking near to the room. Room was clean and beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels were old and stiff, rough on your skin.

    Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, the entire resort was kept so clean and tidy and the pool was absolutely beautiful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    No bar or restaurant in the hotel (but the next hotel is 1 min walking distance and has a bar and restaurants).

    The staff was nice and its not far from city center (15 min walking)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We've stayed here before and we love it. The rooms aren't enormous but the staff, location, cleanliness and maintenance is first class. The pool is just "to die" for. We were sorry to leave and we will be back!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel does not have a bar or restaurant. I didn't feel safe to walk alone during the night time from the hotel to the town (15 min sailing).

    The shuttle from airport to hotel is very convenient. Next to Double tree by Hilton (1min walking) so you can have a drink or meal in the bar or restaurant. Staff is very nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Television screen is small. Airconditioning was a little noisy. Fortunately did not need it on at night.

    Great, convenient location. Kitchenette is very handy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would love it if there were windows to let in a bit of air, but this may be good in summer/winter when you would use air conditioner as primary means of air.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit basic so don’t get inspired by the name ‘villa’. Pool is on the small side with no space around to hang out.

    Close to airport , good size room, Individual villas

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Easy going friendly staff. Rooms were spacious, new, good kitchenette, and bathroom. Useful items at site shop. Walking distance from cafes and restaurants. Excellent free wifi. Good swimming pool. Well maintained.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having the cook pots checked. Mould growing in a pot from some useless guest previously but obviously not checked for some weeks by housekeeping staff.

    Breakfast on verandah under sunshine and amidst palm trees. Watching the lightning during the night from the comfort of the chalet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom area although satsfactory was a little too compact. The pool area is very good although some more shading would be good around the perimiter.

    Very easy access to the adjoining golf course for evening meals and refreshments. The property had good security and privacy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Selling ice by the bag would be a great addition. As well as selling eggs in bulk instead of individually

    Very comfortable beds. The villas looked wonderful inside and out. Facilities clean and plentiful. Pool was lovely and family friendly. Security was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Plumbing was noisy, seemed to cut in and out during night. Parking was a bit awkward, especially if busy. The pool was freezing.....shame it isn't solar heated during cooler months. Beware of credit card surcharge for payment at check in. Not impressed! The adjacent golf club was not a pleasant atmosphere for a couple....might be OK for families/large groups

    Comfortable roomy bed. Handy kitchenette and laundry on site. The rooms being masonry were quiet, without usual adjacent neighbour noise. Well equipped comfortable rooms for money. Hanuman at Doubletree Hilton (next door) was amazing, and a highlight of our stay. Great location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    No ventilation as only door (no windows) has no fly screens so everything has to be closed up. I mentioned this to receptionist and she said everyone says that. However owners choose not to install fly screens.

    Not much

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dead cockroach in the bed; bathroom not cleaned entire stay (3days); lots of dirt on bottom of pool; housekeeping staff had poor English and didn't understand requests for more towels. Reception staff good.

    Separate cabins with comfortable beds and functional kitchenette. Nice grounds and pool.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet is terrible, shame they have spent so much on the buildings then skimped on the internet. In 2017 it's as important to me as the TV and Bed. They also charge a fee to use your credit card, I would rather they just charge a couple of $ more for the rooms. But other than that I would highly recommend staying here.

    The room was clean and modern. The staff were extremely helpful and very nice, could not do more for us. The pool is great for kids and very clean. The grounds are very nice and well maintained. The locations close to town, but very quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was beautiful and perfect for our three children. Facilities well within walking distance. The cabin was comfortable and clean. We had a two night stopover here and was just what we needed to relax after some very long days in the car!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No one could help us with transport and there was a bus stop out the front we did get a taxis the first day $27.00 we had to walked 2ks into Alice to get the bus we wanted to the Transport Hall of Fame one did come back into the town and it was free

    Bed was comfy very quiet the property was very clean and tidy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms were not made up each day and excuse was fairly weak/not entirely accurate. Main manager was helpful but other staff did not appear to care or wish to be helpful. Rooms were smaller than the photos on the website would have you believe. Would be nice to have some shaded play equipment for children.

    The pool was OK for small children (graded depth) but ice cold. Washing room was well set up. Balcony on the rooms was nice but we were facing the back of the next hotel so fairly ugly view. Right on the Todd River which is quite a unique spot. Quiet and secure.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Group
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sliding door to bathroom didn't slide easily, kitchen sink in an awkward position, bare minimum of utensils, lack of barbeque implements.

    Value for money, gate through to golf club.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A good value motel just 1.5 km from the town centre that was comfortable, and with a kitchenette for those who like to self-cater. Ample sized pool a special feature but at this time of the year ( September), the water was cold.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Group
    • Triple Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have stayed at this venue previously and always enjoyed the stay. In this instance it was right next door to the venue where my friend was staying with a tour group so did not have to drive. Also within walking distance to the casino.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Some maintenance needed on the villas, looking a little tired.

    Self contained separate villas, spacious clean and comfortable. Lots of info available at reception.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was filled with spiderwebs and the door to my room was not all that secure. It would have been nice if there was a security screen fitted to the villa for extra security and to also allow the door to be left open for fresh air etc. Also a sheer/lace curtain on the windows so that you can actually open the curtains but still have some privacy.

    Easy walking distance to town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 15 nights

    From the moment we walked in to Reception, the staff were friendly, courteous and willing to assist whenever possible. The room was very comfortable and well equipped. We ended up having to extend our stay and the front office staff were fantastic in organising the extension with minimal issues. A great team effort from all at the Desert Palms. Thank you.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Swimming pool was cold (lol).

    Good location for the reason I was in Alice Springs, across the road from the town centre which was only a short walk to get to. The size of the room with the accompanying balcony were great for that I needed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little better walking access to the city center. It was suggested it was not safe to walk at night.

    Desk receptionist was extremely helpful. We needed two beds, but there was a misunderstanding and only one double bed in the cottage. She arranged and delivered a rollaway bed and made sure it was adequate for our needs. Handy very good restaurant a short walk to the golf course next door.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny TV, hard bed, missing wine glasses ( needed to ask for some), cooking equipment dirty, one day towels taken but not replaced.

    Peaceful, relaxed park. Nice little verandah to watch the world go by. Good laundry facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    All ok!

    Perfect place to stay in Alice Springs, across from the Todd River (dry) with nice shady garden and close to the excellent Pink Botanical Garden. Quiet, and perfect for a clean quiet stay. This is our second time here, after 2 years.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Villas are smaller than I thought. Booked triple villa but having all the beds in the one room with little space for luggage was not what I expected.

    Villas were amazing! (even though lacking space) a short walk to town and tours that picked up at the front door.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Quad Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Girl at reception wasn't very friendly, got angry and showed her anger when people were asking her questions near closing time Tourisim is about hospitality! And catering for the guest whose paid to stay there not to feel like you've inconvenienced the worker at reception, especially when you've travelled long distances to get to your location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The first day we didn't have a car so the walk into town was a bit far. once we got our hire car - no problems.

    A great location for a winter stay. the palm trees and sunshine were great even if it was too cold to swim in the pool. Loved sitting on our sunny balcony of an afternoon and gazing at the McDonnell Ranges (Heavitree Gap). Great meals at the Golf Club next door

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plumbing problems that luckily were solved within 45 minutes.

    This motel is a good first stop before a road trip across the red desert. A stone throw from the airport, it is clean and convenient for families - our room accommodated 4 ppl comfortably. Kitchenette equipped with minimum necessary to make breakfast, the small pool is very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Desert Palms Alice Springs traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: