Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Devere Hotel 3.5 stars

44-46 Macleay Street, Potts Point, 2011 Sydney, Australia

#233 of 306 hotels in Sydney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1187 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Paid WiFi

    4.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    Perfunctory
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At 8.30 each morning a pervasive thumping heavy base music reverberated through the room/ floor/ wing of hotel. Staff claimed it was from the cleaners at neighbouring restaurant, however I went to investigate and it wasn’t. I think they use this like drums to remove bats... make people get up and leave. Weaponised music in Potts Point ... what next!

    Rudimentary. Great value however and my room each stay was freshly decorated. The horrid smoke impregnated fug has gone.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money and we will definately stay again
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have like comfortable chair to sit in to watch TV. The balcony and the doors leading to it could have done with a clean. Air conditioner unit was noisy and didn't seem to be working too well, otherwise all good

    Convenient location, large room, Good bathroom facilities and cleanliness of the room, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    if it's cheap then book it - check which room you're getting.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    strange maze internally - huge place with many weird corridors paid wifi - git it away - it's cheap iron and ironing board were no good could hear people in the next room in the bathroom

    Location good, view (of some rooms) really good, heaps of space in the room I was in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.5
    Happy with stay in 2nd room. Would have been different I’m stuck in initial room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - Internal Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The initial noice and floor of hotel, decor v different on 3rd floor to 1st

    Initially in room 329, but requested to move, noise from lift all night was horrendous. Moved straight away to room 102, a MUCH nicer room!!! Much happier

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    All in all a good ezperience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Internal Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building Feels a bit old but has character

    Value for money,the location and staff. The person on counter was helpful in pgoning shuttle company when they were runningba bit late for my pick up

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Regularly stay at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Internal Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Regularly stay at this hotel. Staff are friendly and very efficient making my stay even more pleasurable. Transport availability is excellent, together with the variety of nearby restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.3
    Pretty good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Internal Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not super close to train station. Wifi should be included, not an extra expense.

    Bed very comfortable, nice to have own en-suite. Staff very nice. Free Luggage storage for the day a nice feature.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.1
    We both enjoyed our stay. Good breakfast, comfy bed, good location. will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Floor was a bit creaky - and the room smelt of cigarette smoke. (on a no-smoking floor).

    Good value for money. We had a lovely harbor view. Quiet room. Nice staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Good value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Internal Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom smell a bit like old, but nothing horrible. The windowns dont have mozzie protection/screen, so it made impossible to sleep without the aircon even in the cold weather.

    The bed was comfortable and the extra pillows handy. Shower was hot. Near the train station, variety of food stores close as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.7
    Overall good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Internal Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was always a creeking sound due to wooden flooring in room and hallway.... Entrance of Hotel has few stairs going down and you have to carry luggage down.

    Overall comfortable Close to King Cross statio

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.5
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Internal Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a very poor room to start with & after 2 nights we both ended up with a bad back & had to ask to change it.

    Metro near to hotel & access to city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.3
    Location and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Internal Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fluctuating hot water pressure. Shower head location (along the length of the bathtub!) Location of air-conditioning unit. Doesn’t cool the room evenly. Blasts cold air on one bed while it’s quite warm near the other bed.

    Location and value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.1
    It was okay but not completely satisfied. Awesome location and friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not super tidy compared to other hotels. Switch boards are not handy and very minimal. Table under the switchboards didn't fit my macbook adapter for charging. Lift sounds are bit annoying during nights. Lift switches are not illuminating to show whether they were clicked or not.

    Staff and location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.5
    Short but sweet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good

    I have stayed here a few times now and find it very central to everything. Trains and buses are very close along with a wide variety of food choices and with a woolworths Metro across the road it really has everything you need at your doorstep with out the huge prices. The rooms are neat and tidy you have your own bathroom there is nothing else you could need.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    4.2
    Not pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Above: sorry

    Nothing to like about an outdated hotel with impolite staff... in this day and age you expect a room that’s advertised as having WiFi to actually have free WiFi access and not as a separate charge.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.9
    Good location, no WiFi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The least expensive rooms are very basic. The hotel does not have free wi-fi which can be a major negative in checking out places to go out to.

    The DeVere has a great location in Potts Point which is a very comfortable Sydney neighborhood close to everything with good buses. Gave us good restaurant advice. The neighborhood is a little like one in San Francisco, young, professional, great places to eat and quiet at night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Perfect place to stay in Sydney!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really pleased with everything. Can't believe the price per night for such a great location.Bus top was right outside.

    Fantastic hotel,brilliant VFM. Great views,comfortable bed,spacious room. Staff were excellent too;very helpful with different requests etc. Would definitely stay here again. Location was awesome! Can't wait to go back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    5.8
    Good location, beds and breakfast, but shabby and needs a face lift.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Internal Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel was shabby, it really needs a face lift. We booked a shuffle bus to the airport. The hotel was rung by the bus company to confirm our booking and one of the hotel staff said there wasn't a booking! We ended up having to book an expensive taxi at the last minute to get to our plane. Not impressed! The rest of the staff were helpful and friendly.

    Good breakfast with lots of choice. Comfortable beds. Good room service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Devere Hotel is in a excellent location with shops, Coles, Kings Cross Station. Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one, our toilet flush at 235 links after repair

    Lobby staffs were great and helpful The day I checked in on 13th March afternoon, the lobby staff was excellent. She guided us with a map where to go out and look out for great places. She, the room cleaning lady for 235 and morning breakfast staffs has to be rewarded Thank you

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    5.0
    A mediocre and cheap hotel. You pay cheap you get cheap. Not My idea of a comfortable getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The facilities, Dirty property, No room facilities(microwave), The building smells. Not easy to carry bags in and out. Creaky floors. Beds too small.

    Close to Kings cross

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    5.4
    Frustrated
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I arrived they had overbooked .so I went from a queen room to the single matchbox..not happy!

    Female Staff at desk..she tried her best in a bad situation ..offered free wifi&breakfast! Took money off ..really I should have been given a free night .it was so small.....

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    The location and atmosphere of the hotel was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There are many little stair cases to access the floors eventhough there is an elevator.

    The location and atmosphere of the hotel was excellent. Very vibrant and great shopping amenities such as groceries and reasonably priced eating options.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    6.3
    No frills but hotel was adequate, room & linens were clean. Fridge & tea making in room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Corridors could do with re-decoration. Excessively high charge of Aud 10. per day for WiFi

    Very clean room. Soft white towels. Sydney is an expensive city so room is priced well . Found free WiFi near German restaurant around corner to hotel. Also in Customs House , by Circular Quay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.1
    Great spot and fine if you don't want to spend much time in your room.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are small. The air conditioner seemed very old and didn't work well. No glasses in the room.

    I like the foyer. The bed was comfy and we had a nice aspect out our window.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were polite, friendly and very accomodating. Willing to assist and provided input for places to go to make our stay in Melbourne memorable and more enjoyable. Location of the hotel is perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    4.6
    Not happy
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot Breakfast was unappealing, eggs were sloppy, bed was not comfortable could feel the springs. There is no parking. Parked in Wilsons car park and got slugged $65

    Bath was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.3
    We'll be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cramped toilet facing the shower. My tall husband who has had knee and hip replacements in the past found it difficult to access the seat because of the narrow leg space.

    The room No 403 was spacious and very comfortable - the views were a bonus and the included breakfast delicious .A convenient position for the Metro, restaurants and supermarket. A pleasant place to stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    4.2
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Internal Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only stayed a night and wanted somewhere cheap but this wasn’t worth the money. Room next to lift shaft so all we heard was the lift all night. VERY noisy and couldn’t sleep. No air con!!!! Uncomfortable and very soft bed Decor out of the 80s

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.9
    The room was clean, comfortable with tea making facilities...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms could do with some re-decoration, there are some areas where the paint work is getting tired. The elevators are slow. The air conditioning was not working.

    The room was clean, comfortable with tea making facilities and a microwave. There was plenty of space in the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.2
    I would like to come again but in another room !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Internal Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not like my room because there was no window and it was quite noisy : Lift, and I suppose the climatisation...

    The hotel is very well situated, very practical. The bus station " Hop on, Hop off " ist quite near. There are a lot of good retaurants in the surroundings, shops as well. I have felt very well in King'Cross.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    3.8
    There's a reason it's cheap.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - Internal Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room and the room used by one of my colleagues were dirty, the refrigerator fell out of the nook it was mounted in, I had no functioning air-conditioning and the whole facility has a very strange smell throughout the whole building that we found almost intolerable.

    The staff are pleasant and efficient. Access to taxis is good as the hotel is on a significant road. The desk operates 24 hours which was handy for the late night check in we needed. The floor layout is fascinating with stairs and level changes that come from it's retrofit nature which will keep you guessing about how you get to the lobby (go up a flight of stairs and then take the second staircase on the right to the ground floor).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    5.0
    hotel needs renovations and plumbing work done
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Internal Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mould in the fridge Taps constantly dripping from hand basin and shower 🚿 (Big waste of our precious resource of water) Windows didn't open far enough Small bath 🛀

    That I wasn't homeless for the nights. It was close to Kings X

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    6.7
    Well when i booked they told me it came with breakfast when...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well when i booked they told me it came with breakfast when i booked in they did not mention anything about the breakfast so i went and brought me own

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.9
    Was ok but would not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room the iron board was broken and could not be used (we had it changed ) the iron itself needed cleaned to stop you marking your clothes The cupboard was off its runners and the air conditioning remote did not work you had to adjust manually Why are these things not check daily by the cleaners not what you would expect from a so called superior room

    The staff were excellent always ready to answer any Questions

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.1
    Great location but not much more
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not very friendly and certainly not empathic When I arrived I thought I had lost my license (my only photo ID) and the attitude was not kind. I had a sense that if I couldn’t find something acceptable I’d be sleeping in the street. Fortunately I found my licence but there was no sense from the staff that they understood my panic and that they could help me problem solve BTW I had fully paid I had a range of other ID items and I was in a work uniform but I was treated as highly suspicious

    Location is great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.8
    Quiet spacious room in central location. Easy access to City and harbour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Internal Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything I didn't like.

    It is a small central hotel. Not one of an international chain. This is good. Staff were helpful and the room was kept spotless.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.5
    Good basic facility to sleep and shower - not for a romantic stay :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator is crap and some staff clearly don’t want to work there but most were very nice

    Room was adequate as husband put it. Nothing fancy but it met requirements of being able to sleep and have a shower. Did have to ask to change room as our first one was close to elevator and the noise was horrible. But they did very nicely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    3.3
    I could have stayed at a better hotel at the heart of Sindey for a lesser price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the hotel floor in encarpeted and it smells like dirty and powder... seems like you were smelling powder since the moment you enter into the hotel until you are inside the bed... beds are old... you don’t have wifi... you would have to pay 4 AUSD per hour..

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    5.8
    The personnel were very nice but the hotel needs updating and no smoking needs to be monitored.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Internal Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The three rooms we were in had various electric or plumbing issues. People were smoking in the rooms the hallway reeked of smoke.

    The maintenance person was very nice and got our room changed right away. The hotel moved me right away the last night when cigarette smoke was coming into my room so that I could sleep.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel with all the necesssities for an enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floors in our room and in the room above were squeaky. There must be wooden floorboards under the carpet. It did wake me up on two occasions when the person/people above went to the bathroom in the middle of the night and early morning.

    The beds were very comfortable an extra pillows were supplied in the cupboard. The air-con worked well and the shower had consistent heat/water pressure.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.1
    Affordable and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Internal Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed quite small and too firm. Shower head also didn’t function properly (kept falling down and water temperature kept changing by itself)

    Very spacious rooms, very well equipped.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    5.4
    Passable but not the best experience, if you have time choose another option
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I know was a high season ( new year eve) so I decide stay somewhere near to the city but was the most expensive hotel. Facilities wasn't good and you have to pay for the Wi-Fi. The air conditional wasn't good and the beds aren't comfy. I'm not a picky person but if you pay a $1250 for 4 nights you expected something good.

    Staff so friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    5.5
    I dont find any other hotel, so I have to stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfort of bed, the mattress was a disaster . Air conditional does not work , we call tho the reception and nobody answer. So expensive for a bad experience

    Staff so friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    This place was so cheap to stay at!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room - Internal Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place was so cheap to stay at! Best location, good pricing, affordable!!! You can check in earlier without a request if it is available! Cheap considering it had a fridge, microwave, TV! Appropriate Walking distance to kings cross train station (5-10 min walk)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    7.5
    Value for money in an excellent central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room - Internal Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small and facilities are a little tired, eg noisy air-con, although it was effective. The bathroom was tiny but, again, the shower was clean with good water pressure.

    Excellent location and very helpful staff. Everything is clean and works. Beds were comfortable. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.1
    Overall it was okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food expensive None of the dishes appealed to me Bay view room? Window was 3 feet off the floor I could only see the bay if standing up or kneeling on the bed Lovely views from the bathroom but window was over the toilet?

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    2.5
    Stay any where else but here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just about everything about this hotel could have been better.

    This is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in! I would not recommend this hotel to anyone! The beds were like sleeping on the floor. The hair dryer didn't work at all. The food at the buffet in the morning was totally subpar.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    Spacious room, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You have to pay for WiFi separately, it's not included.

    Fun location, in Potts Pot, surrounded by cafes, restaurants, VIP clubs, and yet quiet at night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.9
    Very comfortable but it was hot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The airconditioner was broken told staff but maintenance never got around to fixing it we stayed for two nights. Also the parking was a bit of a walk too far to get to.

    Room was nice and spacious. And the bath was big also the location was close to major city attractions by foot.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    4.2
    Not a place to recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room - Internal Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The deveres hotel is a world wide hotel company.my wife and myself were disgusted at the way the staff treated us whilst we were stopping there ,our room was never hoovered and beds partly made in the five nights we stopped there,.The staff that were in the restaurant were rude in the way they were clearing our table whilst we were still eating (i.e reaching across me whilst eating)and the food was cold ,In fact one one of the staff was more intrested in getting her own breakfast then seeing to her guest.we were put in a room that had 2 windows that were painted over so we were unable to see out of them and made the room very dark .the sink in our room would never let the water go down you had to fiddle about with the plug to make it release the water.when we asked about wi-fi we were told it was $15 for 24 hours which we were totally shocked about due to the fact the other 5 hotels we stopped at whilst in australia were totally free.Not a place to recommend!!!!

    NOTHING

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.9
    A great value stay. Reasonable rates in an ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor is dated and some visible wear and tear (e.g. bathroom sink drain was very slow to drain) but absolutely meets expectations for a three star hotel.

    Clean, decent sized balcony room with kitchenette prior to Christmas in Potts Point for $99 and $129 on a Friday and Saturday night respectively - just great!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    4.6
    Bloody dreadful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Internal Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room backed onto the noisiest elevator its ever been our misfortune to encounter. Price paid was at least 300% over its value. We have been fairly regular guests at this establishment BUT NEVER AGAIN.

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.1
    Good location but breakfast and facilities a let down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive considering poor breakfast and tired decor in our room. $4 an hour/15 a day for unreliable Wi-fi extortionate.

    Great location on bus route to centre, the Rocks, harbour and to get to Bondi and Coogee

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.9
    Rundown property, but serves the purpose - an overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room - Internal Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rundown property, but serves the purpose - an overnight stay. Great area though, loved the stroll down to the shops, cafes, market. And walking distance to the station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    9.6
    Inexpensive, but with all that really matters
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that really matters.

    The staff. Excellent mood, friendly and helpfull. With a few words they made us feel relaxed: “you don’t have breakfast included, it is x$, you can go and see if you like to take it”. The excellent shower, with bathtub. Our room had a view to the bay!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    6.7
    Comfortable bed, good size room, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The carpets in both hallways and room was old and dirty, made the room smell. Also other surfaces gave expression of been not to clean and/or old. We had expected WiFi to be included.

    Comfortable bed, good size room, good location. They gave us a bigger room then we had booked because we stayed for several nights.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    7.9
    Nice location, near most necessary conveniences (train station; bus stop; supermarket; waterfront)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The configuration of the rooms is quite complicated with different lifts for different rooms though when one gets used to the place it's OK. Too many steps even going to or coming from the lift. With luggage some ordeal but tolerable.

    In as much as my requested twin bed was not available the hotel unilaterally upgraded us to a family room with a kitchenette which is laudable (but won't know if we stayed for shorter days). Front desk helpful cleaning responsive; breakfast good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    Really good value, clean and near amenities. I would book again.☺
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Internal Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are an unexpected number of stairs one has to hoist their luggage up or down and there is only someone around to help on a random basis. Also, no facecloths- bring your own. WiFi isn't included.

    They have decent coffee and tea in the rooms. The kitchenette facility was good.The staff are very accommodating for your requests.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.7
    It's a good, simple hotel in a pricey part of town and not nearly as expensive as the CDB.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really.

    Trendy location with good, but pricey, places to eat. Hotel is European in terms of room and bathroom size, and overpriced by US standards - but this is trendy Sydney!!! Breakfast had plenty of choice and everything was available right up to the cut off time. Internet was fine in terms of speed and we bought an "all in" package with a room rate + breakfast + internet. Front desk staff were helpful and informed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    4.6
    Wouldn't stay there again. Wouldn't use your website again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Internal Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't have our booking when we got there. Which had been paid and confirmed the night before. Our room was down graded as a result as they didn't have any other rooms available. The room we ended up in had mould all around the fridge and it had an awful smell to it - I was looking for off food or a dead mouse thinking it was in the room somewhere

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    3.3
    Frustrating and not a pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv didn’t work Clock radio broken Hot water no presser dribbled out Very dusty room Bed creeked Room key failed twice in the same night Complimentary breakfast cold dry eggs slimy backne eneatable was dry and hard Was told the shuttle bus drive would come into the lobby he didn’t

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    8.3
    Great location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Internal Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a single room not realising this meant a small room with one single bed. The room was very small and borderline claustrophobic however it was my booking error. It was my mistake expecting a normal size room for a single person.

    Desk staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    4.2
    Devere Hotel Kings Cross Sydney
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Internal Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be careful when booking a standard room as they are all inwardly facing with little if any natural light and so very depressing to be in.

    The location of the hotel is good for cafes and restaurants and there is a good vibrant atmosphere around the Kings Cross area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.1
    All expectations met. I would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being made to sign the credit card receipt was unnecessary.

    The location was excellent. Ease of booking was amazing given the late booking on the actual day of stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    8.3
    Satisfactory apart from stairs and bathroom mirror location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Internal Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    [1] The number of stairs I was required to negotiate for a Ground floor room. [2] The configuration of the bathroom totally unsatisfactory, use of mirror very difficult with toilet bowl location.

    Location for someone dependent upon public transport was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    3.8
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Internal Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking at hotel had to walk nearly a km to a parking station then you had to pay an additional $40 . Was very old and outdated and had a musty old smell. We were put on a ground level that you could hear everything that was going on in the street I felt like I was in a clostrophic dungeon. Would not recommend.

    Location was pretty good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.8
    Need to clean their blankets properly: a bit disgusted finding hairs on the cupboard blanket.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Internal Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blankets were not cleaned (long human hairs over them in the cupboard). Taps need re-fitting in bathroom. Bed not particularly comfortable.

    Good location & friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.3
    Convenient location - walking distance from city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Internal Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was stuffy - no fresh air. Guests inconsiderate of people sleeping, talking loudly along passageway late at night. Clothes line above bath didn't reach opposite wall.

    Convenient location - walking distance from city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    8.3
    It had everything you would need especially for a single...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to pay for wifi which was slightly irritating. Went to ask for a converter because they were supposed to be available at reception but there weren't.

    It had everything you would need especially for a single occupant. View was nice enough from room. Cleaners were attentive.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    4.6
    Noisy, old fashioned, over priced, disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our toilet was running all night. The only channel we could get on the TV was SBS...the Tv antenna was literally duct taped to the wall. Very noisy premises could every step and word of every customer surrounding us. The lift should be put in a museum somewhere as it's basically an antique - the buttons didn't light up with you pressed them and it would ghost floors on the way up and down. Slightly concerning. And for $119 for a midweek stay we would have been better off choosing a hostel as would have had a similar feel but without the regret. Last cheap hotel I stay in.

    The girl on reception was very nice and welcoming.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.9
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room 110 was noisy as it was right beside lift.

    At this price I expected less. Whilst the decor was tired the room was immaculately clean and staff efficient.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    A very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room - Internal Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nitpicking to complain.

    The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was very nice. The location was perfect for us. We are both over 80 and were able to walk the short distance to the metro to travel where we wanted. It was also lovely and quiet at night so we slept well. We found the small cafes and takeaways nearby very convenient and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    4.6
    Convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Internal Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor layout - hard to find the room in a rabbit warren of corridors. The rooms themselves are old and the furniture is like a student dorm room. Even the mattress was lumpy. Not good value for the price.

    Convenient location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    3.3
    A hotel which makes you want to explore the city rather than be inside it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Internal Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We got given a room at the bottom of the hotel, it felt like a dungeon. No light, right against the street, it was very noisy, bed was terribly hard. Very poor quality for how much it cost

    staff were happy to hold our bags for the afternoon when checking out

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    4.2
    uncomfortable and dissapointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Internal Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the rooms and bathrooms are in serious need of an upgrade There is no window with a bit of a view outside bed had springs coming out and my husband and i were rolling into the middle. that mattress is very old and uncomfortable.

    the location.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: