Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fire Station Inn 4 stars

80 Tynte Street, North Adelaide, 5006 Adelaide, Australia

#9 of 13 B&Bs and Inns in Adelaide

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 14 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 19

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely one of a kind accomodation; a most enjoyable and fun stay!
    • Couple
    • Fire Engine Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely one of a kind accomodation! The heritage listed fire station, 1920's fire truck and accompanying themed furnishings made for a most enjoyable and fun stay. The incredible in-floor heating throughout & comfortable two person spa were just icing on the cake.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    All That's Missing Is the Dalmatian
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Penthouse Apartment - Residency
    • Stayed 1 night

    I suppose if we had packed more efficiently, we wouldn't have had such a struggle getting two monster suitcases up the stairs from the ground floor.

    The Fire Station Inn in North Adelaide couldn't have been more perfect. The second floor two-bedroom suite, the Residency, was ideal for the two of us. The neighborhood is congenial and within walking distance (somewhat of a hike) to the sites and sights in South Adelaide. I looked longing through the window at the ground floor one-bedroom, which has a firetruck in the room. It made me feel like a six year-old boy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    All That’s Missing Is the Dalmatian
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Penthouse Apartment - Residency
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs up to the flat is steep and narrowt, turning twice, so a heavy suitcase can be quite an effort.

    The Fire Station Residence is a spacious and comfy, grand and homey second-floor, two-bedroom flat in North Adelaide. There’’s a deck out back with a table that seats six. You will be a twenty-five minute walk from North Terrace and the museums, but right in the middle of the O’Connell Street restaurant scene. The ground flat let’s you sleep with the fire truck, which I saw with boyish longing every time we left the building.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Romantic and Comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Penthouse Apartment - Residency
    • Stayed 1 night

    It seemed like we had gone back in time. It allowed us to really communicate and get to know one another. Having the ability to cook really made it a special valentine's day

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    6.3
    Warm and cosy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Loggia Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge in the room very noisy , kept me awake...

    Loved the bathroom and spa, room was cosy....

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful place to stay just wish no one was staying upstairs
    • Couple
    • Fire Engine Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The upstairs neighbors walking around kept us up

    The history and the amenities

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.8
    Excellent, unique, well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Penthouse Apartment - Residency
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Local restaurant offers are not open early on Mondays

    It is completely unique, has loads of space and for small children is ideal

    Stayed in September 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    7.1
    Location was perfect, walking distance to a variety of pubs,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Uncomfortable bed No DVD player or free Wi-Fi

    Location was perfect, walking distance to a variety of pubs, restaurants and cafes. Loved the courtyard and spa.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    4.2
    Location convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Entry and exit through back door. Didn't seem affiliated with rest of hotel at all. No interaction with staff. Smell of chlorine, flooded courtyard because tap left on, uncomfortable bed and pillows, terrible shower, cluttered room.

    Location convenient

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    10
    We loved everything about the fire station suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved everything about the fire station suite. It was in a great location for restaurants. The suite was lots of fun. My partner was a voluntary fire fighter in his early years so it brought back some great memories for him. The facilities were excellent.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    6.5
    We were quite disappointed the spa didn't work properly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    See above

    We were quite disappointed the spa didn't work properly the umbrella didn't stay up the bed was quite uncomfortable and also it would have been nice if the fountain worked.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    8.3
    Good location, good kitchen facilities, nice space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom access is impractical. The stairs to access the apartment are steep. A lift access would help.

    Good location, good kitchen facilities, nice space.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    10
    This is real quirky accommodation of the highest standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is nothing not to like. Try it , have fun, shed a few years, make a few memories.

    This is real quirky accommodation of the highest standard. Not only do you get to sleep with a fire engine but also some of the best accommodation you could find in Australia for comfort, cleanliness, facilities and value for money.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2015

    7.9
    Loved the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had downstairs room and you could here the people on the 2nd floor move around above us. Luckily they weren't there the 2nd night. The room is a little cramped. Perhaps remove some furniture.

    Loved the location. We had a delicious Thai restaurant a few doors down and plenty of other choices for meals within walking distance. The owner was quite nice and she left us some goodies in the frig which was a nice touch!

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    10
    Ambience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Ambience

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    6.7
    Nice old building.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Beds in one of the bedrooms was very old, noisy and uncomfortable. No staff interaction at all.

    Nice old building. Lots of space

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    9.6
    The bed was super comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Street noise may be a problem on a busy night.

    The bed was super comfy.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    10
    Good fun atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good fun atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    The ambience of the room was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The ambience of the room was fantastic. The heated flooring was very effective.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 19

Guests also reviewed these properties: