Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Australia hotel reviews
  3. Northern Territory hotel reviews
  4. Jabiru hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Mercure Kakadu Crocodile

Reviews of Mercure Kakadu Crocodile This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Flinders Street, 0886 Jabiru, Australia

#2 of 3 hotels in Jabiru

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 744 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    5.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2019

    5.0
    Wouldn't stay again...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was awful, quilt so old and pillows lumpy, the place smelt like mould and it was terribly dated! Housekeeping didn't come until 3:30pm. Overpriced! The room was also split from the one next door by a locked door... we were lucky enough to listen to the person next door cough and snore all night :(

    The staff were so friendly and welcoming and the food in the restaurant was tasty!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2019

    3.3
    Not good, unlikely to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms- dated, wet and smelly Cigarette smoking outside of smoking area Poor staff interaction- more interested in my money rather than providing service

    Location

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    9.6
    Magnificent food, great staff and clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - loved the stay!!

    Breakfast was fantastic - we were worried that being wet season the quality of the food may have not been up to standard but we were shocked, amazed and completely satisfied each time - we ate at the Croc for breakfast lunch and dinner and we were not disappointed at any meal - we had the bonus that breakfast was freshly cooked each morning and still able to have fresh fruit. The service was amazing, not intrusive but caring and every request was met quickly and with a smile. Josh on reception was informative and helpful - organising tours etc for us - nothing was too much. You have a great crew who are completely engaged even in the quiet time - we couldn't have been happier with our stay. Keep up the great work, we will be coming back!!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2019

    9.6
    Great Stay at a Unique Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One way the hotel is showing its age is in the bathrooms, which were small and dated.

    The Croc remains a charming place to stay even decades after it was built. The wet season rates were reasonable, the food at the escarpment restaurant quality and the room comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2019

    7.5
    Could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fridge was really really loud and kept making noises all night . Didn't get much sleep at all.

    Good restaurant. . Check in was really good. Room was good but the bathroom was old .

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    6.7
    A neccesity if visiting areas around Jabiru. Book for dinner, worth dining in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A dispute over the booking.com booking resulting in a stubborn and non winnable dispute with the reception person. Booking a room with 2 double beds, for 2 people including breakfast, but the system said only 1 person breakfast. Was told an extra $20 per day for the extra breakfast...had no choice but to pay being this location. In the end was charged $25 for each day. ....for a luke warm basic breakfast. We know it is off season, but the front entrance could do with a sweep each morning. Bathrooms very tired

    The pool was a great relief. The location very good in order to see local areas. The young waiter who served us both nights was terrific, and on second night fitted us in when restaurant really busy. The dinner above expectations.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    5.8
    This hotel could be so much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hotel could be so much better. Being wet season they bring the staff right down but when we stayed it was almost at capacity with very little staff. It was always a very long wait to be served or get anything done as it seems the staff are doing so much that it is too much for them. What I can say though is that the staff were great with the burden placed on them. 2 biggest let downs was that we had to go through a whole bunch of rigmarole to get a simple bottle opener which I have never had in any other hotel worldwide or the many cigarette butts that littered the outside of our room that weren’t cleaned over 2 days. The saving grace of this hotel is that it is well located to the experiences of Kakadu and probably the best hotel in a small town. Can be so much better if they are better prepared for the wet season which the NT Govt is promoting more as a great time to visit the NT.

    This hotel could be so much better. Being wet season they bring the staff right down but when we stayed it was almost at capacity with very little staff. It was always a very long wait to be served or get anything done as it seems the staff are doing so much that it is too much for them. What I can say though is that the staff were great with the burden placed on them. 2 biggest let downs was that we had to go through a whole bunch of rigmarole to get a simple bottle opener which I have never had in any other hotel worldwide or the many cigarette butts that littered the outside of our room that weren’t cleaned over 2 days. The saving grace of this hotel is that it is well located to the experiences of Kakadu and probably the best hotel in a small town. Can be so much better if they are better prepared for the wet season which the NT Govt is promoting more as a great time to visit the NT.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    5.8
    Not happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Door would not lock contacted reception someone came and looked but did not fix it .aircon had loud banging.needless to say not much sleep .was very worried all night not being able to lock door.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    4.2
    Location was good and that’s about it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are very outdated and badly maintained. The bathrooms have mold and mildue and are completely outdated. Cannot recommend this hotel and the rating should be 1 star.

    Location was good and that’s about it!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    9.2
    Location is perfect + the restaurant was v good for dinner...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could hear a little bit of noise from the room next door but not too bad

    Location is perfect + the restaurant was v good for dinner and lunch. I’ve stayed here multiple times over thirty years and it appears to be in better condition now than it was 7 years ago

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2018

    9.6
    Old but nice hotel. Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Airconditioning at restaurant was so strong you needed jacket. During our stay it became a little warmer inside, so no need for jacket anymore

    Good location, old but nice hotel. Great staff and good food.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2018

    8.8
    good breakfast, nice clean and spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant a bit pricy.

    good breakfast, nice clean and spacious rooms. Perfect location to visit Kakadu, and the pool is a nice treat. Crocodile shape is fun from far away but does not look so good from the outside.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2018

    8.8
    Surprising and beautiful architecture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is a bit old. Could benefit from a face lift. But overall very enjoyable hotel.

    Inspired architecture, comfortable large room, Excellent restaurant on location, nice garden and pool.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2018

    7.5
    Comfort in the croc
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast. At $25 per head, this was overpriced for a very unimaginative and mediocre quality breakfast buffet. The hot food was also on the cold side. Very poor show. There is nowhere else in Jabiru to get breakfast, so the hotel has a monopoly here which it exploits.

    Amazing building...only in Australia would they have the audacity to build a hotel in the shape of a giant crocodile! Very comfortable rooms and very clean and well maintained. Central garden area is very attractive.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    3.5
    When we were having breakfast a cleaner was cleaning a public toilet and she was on the phone the wh
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sheets and pillow cases were crumpled like they hadn’t been changed The bath was dirty and the tiles had grime on them The taps had not been cleaned The floor had not been cleaned properly in a long time Blood on the door Finger prints on the tiles above the toilet One chair in the room Leaking ceiling and frame around the window/sliding door The phone didn’t work Dirty walls We dont mind staying in old accommodation so long as it’s clean

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel for middle of Kakadu.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is starting to look outdated but is very clean.

    Clean big rooms, comfortable bed. Staff friendly and helpful stayed in low season November. Pool is protected from direct sun and rain but is outdoors. Did not try restaurant. The art gallery of local indigenous art was a bonus. Good aircon!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    5.8
    Food in the restaurant was good but hotel is really run down...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food in the restaurant was good but hotel is really run down and needs a full make over. Receptionist was great on arrival and bartender at the restaurant was also good

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel in need of a bit of TLC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is a bit tired round the edges. The ceiling in our room could do with a lick of paint. We had also a problem with tiny ants in the area of the safety box. Also, the state of the carpet in the main part of the restaurant was rather shameful.

    The room was spacious and comfortable, good level of cleanliness. Outdoor table and chairs allowed us to relax in our little private outdoor space. Staff was friendly and helpful. Clean, good size swimming pool located in a peaceful, lovely inner courtyard of the hotel. Great location. The restaurant served good food. Free wifi throughout the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    8.8
    Aircon was great in the rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee machine at breakfast was not working very well but was a little better the second day. Some staff during the first night at dinner were a little slow in serving - likely due to number on the floor. Second night was better (i.e. weekday).

    Aircon was great in the rooms. Facilities were good and quick access to the car park was very handy.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    10
    Terrific welcoming clean and fabulous food unexpected oasis in the Kakadu park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom was a little tired but spotlessly clean

    The staff were amazing especially Josh. from the moment we drove in we felt at home, welcomed. josh was helpful and anticipatory. we had booked your restaurant for 7pm but when we told josh we were heading to the sunset viewing he immediately said you guys will need more time enjoy and we will move the reservation to 745pm giving you lots of time. fantastic food was as we had been told to expect delicious. the wine list was comprehensive we really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    5.4
    Poor value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cobwebs on architrave near window. Room was not serviced between the two nights. Television did not work (no channels on any of the modes). WiFi connected okay but no internet signal (it was like this on a previous visit). I do understand that there are staff issues at the interface between wet and dry seasons (and the staff that I dealt with were pleasant enough) but at least two of the above issues were not staff dependant. I travel a lot; overall not very acceptable.

    Location. Design. Staff pleasant.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    4.6
    Worst Mercure I have ever stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The services was absolutely disgusting, there were hardly any guests and staff ignored you standing at the bar while they had a chat with other staff. When you ordered or spoke to them, they rolled their eyes and didn’t say anything to you - even in response to questions or small chat. The guy at the desk on check in didn’t even look at me once and said minimal words like “checking in” “sign” “card”. The staff didn’t even wear their uniforms, just the shirts. The room was gross, lamp shades covered in mould, hair dryer full of gunk, general dust, curtains broken with parts falling off it and the guest book was empty - the phone in the room didn’t even work and had to use my mobile to call reception. Food and empty drink cups by the pool were left there for 14 hours in the sun and was covered in bugs and ants.

    The restaurant food was good

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    9.2
    The hotel was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was little to hard and the price for a brekfast was to high. In everything else was the room perfect.

    The bed was little to hard and the price for a brekfast was to high. In everything else was the room perfect.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    8.3
    It seems that only ‘work travel’ people are doing the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It seems that only ‘work travel’ people are doing the service. The bar keepers were not trained and/or managed correctly. The same for the restaurant as everything took a very long time to get ordered. The staff were friendly but not qualified.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    5.4
    Very old Hotel with horrible rooms in Jabiru
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms of the Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel strongly need to be renovated. This hotel looks like an old hotel that has not been renovated since a wild. The cleanness of the room is also not very good. We were very disappointed when we arrived. This Hotel does not deserve to be part of the Accor group

    The Mercure Kakadu crocodile Hotel is well located in the Kakadu National Park. You can access quickly to the Yellow river Tour, Nabab Lookout or the falls of the park. The staff is friendly and will help you to book activities

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    8.3
    Good location and base for the northern end of the park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant was pricey and average quality (tough meat), wine also came out after main meals, and entree never arrived.

    Easy check in and out, lovely staff, clean cool rooms and nice pool.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    9.2
    The staff were friendly and helpful and gave use good advice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lifts to 2nd floor rooms - if I stayed again I would specify a ground floor room. Places that have no lifts to the second floor should inform customers ahead of time.

    The staff were friendly and helpful and gave use good advice about how to get the information we needed to plan our very brief visit to Kakadu - I hope to come back.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    7.5
    Lovely shady pool and comfy beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bar service was a little slow, but busy and new employees. My mother-in-law had people sitting on her chairs at 1am having a chat, not the hotels fault however no privacy.

    Lovely shady pool and comfy beds

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It needs some attention to the condition of the bathroom.

    The rooms are very spacious The pool area is excellent and the restaurant has pleasant atmosphere with a good menu

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    7.5
    Restaurant was outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms need a complete make over as they are old and drab. The breakfast area was always missing items such as dessert spoons, sugar etc. No one seemed interested in keeping things stocked up.

    Restaurant was outstanding. Great food, friendly staff (particularly Clare). She gave us great advice regarding local facilities.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    2.5
    Staff were nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very old and run down. Bathroom was dirty and chips out of the bath. Air con leaking dirty water stains running down the wall. Very noisy. Restaurant unorganised but food was nice.

    Staff were nice

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    7.1
    Our family of 4 adults stayed 1 night at the Mercure...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Superior Family Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Price of the room

    Our family of 4 adults stayed 1 night at the Mercure Crocodile, sharing 1 room. Staff were very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our dinner at the restaurant. Room was comfortable but the bathroom was dated and needed a makeover. Very expensive for what you get but unfortunately that's the location. Building is very unique!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    5.0
    Great location. Hotel worn down, desperately needs cleaning, esp. bathroom. Poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Superior Family Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is worn down. Paint comes off from doors etc. It desperately needs cleaning, especially the bathroom, but also the bedroom Unidentifiable stains on bathroom tiles, garnished with foreign hair The high price level can only be explained by a lack of alternatives

    The location is great for tours in Kakadu national park

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    8.3
    Comfy bed, nice spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathrooms are obviously original to the hotel and in need of refurbishment.

    Comfy bed, nice spacious room. Pool was also nice but on the small side. Staff were all helpful. Also liked the board games available in the bar!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    7.5
    Just ok for an overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is very old and could do with a bit of a makeover. The beds are way to soft and make it uncomfortable to sleep. The air con was not working well and was very hot.

    The staff at check in are fantastic and the restaurant food was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    4.2
    A total waste of my money. I WILL NOT BOOK THROUGH BOOKING .COM AGAIN,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TOO EXPENSIVE for a run down building. Needs repairs and for the price you charged I was told i could get a better rate if I had gone direct to the hotel. only worth $170 per night not what I paid. The bathroom needs demolishing and start again. The restaurant is like a BARN with no character or warmth.

    Staff in the restaurant were great

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    4.6
    The meal at dinner was good, well cooked
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms were very dirty, there were groups of people tgere to use the bar and their cigarette smoke and yelling was intrusive in ghe rooms. The pool water was mirky. To get peanuts to have with a drink at the bar you had to walk to over the other side of ghe hotel and line up while others checked in, not sure why peanuts needed a check in status. Very poor management overall.

    The meal at dinner was good, well cooked

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    5.4
    Food was good, although restaurant level of cosines is like...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Riding a line between not modern and not old enough to be charming. In a need of a refresh or a bulldozer. Not a good value for money. Lady at reception freaked out hearing our accent. No points for Accor card because we’ve used booking.com.

    Food was good, although restaurant level of cosines is like a school canteen.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    8.8
    Awesome restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small bathroom desperately needs updating. Mould on the bathroom ceiling.

    Good location with a small shopping centre across the road. Friendly staff. Great restaurant and yummy buffet breakfast. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    10
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For dinner we had the wine and dine and I found the lamb at the buffet was a bit tough

    There was three of us and we were all very impressed with the place and the staff were extremely helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    5.0
    The best place that we could find in Jabiru.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Decor is old and tired. Seventies. Bath has black around the grouting. Old dirt on walls around the toilet. This place needs the guy from 'Hotel Impossible' to pay a visit. The staff try to make things better but it seems that management doesn't care.

    The towels smelled lovely and the linen was clean. The hotel is in a good position.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    7.5
    Convenient and pleasant 1 night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Looking a little tired but really no major problems.

    Good location in the small town of Jabiru. Spacious room , clean and had all I expected. Staff pleasant.Restaurant had great Baramundi.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    6.3
    Ok for a day or two but take your own needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fridge was too small and didnt work efficiently. Lunch at the restaurant on site was very poor in quality. The wait to be seated was also very long. Considering the cost of the property i thought it was not such good value for money. Mote suited to tour groups than individuals.

    The room was clean but the fridge was useless as it didnt keeo things cold. Staff nice but at times seemed overworked.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    9.6
    Very nice place to relax after a day of exploring
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are on the pricey side for what they are but I guess that comes with the isolation. The real highlight of the stay was the food, top quality and excellent service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    6.3
    Good location good coffee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was small and shower over bath was old and filthy. Could barely shut bathroom door unless sat on toilet

    Good location good coffee. pool area was relaxing. Room was a good size.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    9.2
    The pool was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the facilities were a bit tired and there was no lift (only one level up though). Lots of ants and insects but that's to be expected!

    The pool was beautiful. The program run in the hotel (croc talk), art gallery and restaurant were all outstanding too. The beds were very comfortable in a spacious room. Hotel is close to the supermarket and a nice walk to Bowali.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    3.8
    Would stay at caravan park with better facilities than a Mercure hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was expensive and range of food was poor . No variety of fresh fruit . Only ends of toast available in basket . Rooms were dirty . Lots of ants and spider webs in corners of ceeling. Cutlery and glass wear where dirty . Pretty disgusting rooms over all considering this isn’t a family run caravan park but a Mercure Hotel. Would your CEO be happy with the standards of your rooms if they came to stay for the night ????

    Location was convinient

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool lounge chairs were terribly uncomfortable and threw my back out. Also the time lapse between taking the deposit on arrival and crediting it back over a week later is disgraceful!

    The room was very spacious.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    8.3
    Our room was very comfortable with everything you could need...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom a little dated.

    Our room was very comfortable with everything you could need, overlooking the pool. Dinng room facilities were very good. All staff helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    5.4
    Needs Overhaul
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old tired bathroom. Pool freezing due to giant tarp right over it. Poor service in night time restaurant due to lack of staff. Overpriced on rooms and food

    Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    7.9
    Some staff were excellent room size was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some staff were not good as example the female staff on the reception on departure could not explain the account the details were not clearly set out and we left uncertain that the correct payment had been made.

    Some staff were excellent room size was great

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    7.5
    Very expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very expensive . Got put in the tail of the crocodile when the hotel was not busy . Only one bedside light .

    The location of the hotel itself was great. Nice food at the restaurant .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    3.8
    Run down and in need of maintenance overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fridge in the room was so tiny and didn't even have a freezer compartment absolutely useless when staying in a hot place as you can't freeze an ice brick for the next days travel let alone fit any of our food into it the facilities were very old and not particularly clean could have done with a good scrub let alone an upgrade everything was knocked about and needed maintenance not a good impression for showcasing this area to overseas guests especially for the price being paid over 250 dollars for a night the pool was refreshing but again tiles had come off and needed maintaining all just a bit scruffy and run down not what you expect for the brand of hotel and price

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    8.3
    Expensive, but probably the best way to stay in Kakadu without a tent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi-fi is just *bad*. No other way to say it. I only got it to turn on once or twice in the room, and then it immediately "logged out" with "no connection". I got it to work intermittently in the lobby, but it was frustrating. No elevators, but this wasn't an issue for us.

    The hotel was very easy to find, very quiet, and the room was very large. Mind you, I'm used to Japanese rooms so most rooms feel large to me. The outdoor pool was convenient and fun. Parking was easy. Staff was helpful and were quick with all of the little questions we had (i.e. making change for the washing machines, how to get here and there, etc...)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2018

    4.6
    Not very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Found a cockroach in my coffee and no apology for it No information on what is available locally Very expensive for dated hotel

    Beds were clean and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    7.1
    Fabulous time in Kakadu National Park
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel facilities are tired, particularly the bathrooms.

    The internal garden is very beautiful and calming. The provision of tables and chairs in this area is a real bonus. The garden attracts a wide range of beautiful birds from honeyeaters to parrots. The pool is refreshing, well sited in the garden and well maintained. Room access to the car park is very good. Staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    6.3
    It was ok, but could of been alot better experience in the resturant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff in the dining area didn't listen to the order when taking. I do not like rocket and I asked for the kipler chips and brocchilini. When I made the comment I didn't get what I ordered, as I know I do not like rocket and asked for the vegetables, the response was "oh, sorry about that". I feel this is not good enough.

    I feel the rooms are a let down maintence wise. The ants were annoying, the bathroom was run down, it appears to have rust at the bottom of the bath/door area. There was only a couple of equal in the sugar area. The reception staff were outstanding, extremely polite and inviting. I was honest and said I was disappointed with dinner, and there was no hesitiation to making my concern heard, I really appreciated this.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2018

    6.7
    Room very roomy, staff really lovely and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately the condition of the room for what we paid was awful, dreadful stained carpets,coffee table with two big iron marks on it. Generally everything is worn out and needs an overhaul. As we had no other choice it was the only one we could find it was an exorbitant price to pay for sorry to say a worn out, grotty room. Very disappointed and would never recommend friends to stay there.

    Room very roomy, staff really lovely and helpful. Restaurant was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2018

    6.3
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was not clean and the kettle was of poor quality for the price they charge for the room.

    Staff were great, buffet in the restaurant was awesome. The pool was nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    4.2
    never be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything. the place is old and out of date and way over priced. the food was disgusting and got food poisoning from the so called fresh prawns...??? never stay again or recommend to anyone.

    the staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    10
    Very nice clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very nice clean rooms. The balcony led us straight to the pool. Kakadu is a very nice place which you must visit if you are visiting Darwin, and this place is the place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    9.2
    A really nice national park hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast coffee was awful. C'mon - "Nescafe" machine - serves instant coffee with sweetner added whether you want it or not??? There was "pay extra" coffee at the bar, but there is no excuse for not serving decent coffee... Overall, the breakfast buffet was fine.

    Really nice property in a National Park. Room was spacious, updated, and comfortable. Room was comfortable with both a desk and table with chairs. Bath tile had been nicely updated. Bath fixtures looked "original" (why not change them out too with all the other updates???) A pleasant surprise. So many "national park hotels" come with very tired very minimal rooms and high prices. Location was a great base for exploring a lot of the areas in the park.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    5.8
    You're in Kakadu!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very expensive for what you get - obviously, there isn't a lot of choice for you within Kakadu. Hotel / staff / pool / restaurant were fine, we just wish it was more affordable!

    Great location - you're in Kakadu!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    9.2
    Nicely updated national Park hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom fixtures we're "original" with updated tile. The tile gave it a fresh clean look, but with all the other renovations, why skimp on the baths?

    Nicely updated national Park hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Room was large, nicely decorated and comfortable. Good breakfast in restaurant. Wonderful displays of local art.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    9.2
    Kakadu Visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The way our steaks were so poorly cooked as we had expected a high quality chef to be overseeing the kitchen staff, but that was the only issue we faced.

    The location was excellent for our Kakadu visit. We did have issues with the kitchen during dinner one evening, but the Supervisor on duty named John resolved the problem to our satisfaction. Sadly we heard a couple of other guests we'd come to know also had issues with the quality of their meal from the kitchen. Other than that issue we enjoyed the friendliness of the staff and great selection of drinks and easy attitude at the Mercure made for a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2018

    9.6
    Quirky Kakadu comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Totally reasonable not to allow glass inside the swimming pool fence, but a nice spot to drink a beer outside would be great! The table we found was by a generator room - a bit noisy.

    This is a very comfortable place to stay on a trip around Kakadu - an oasis! The Wine and Dine restaurant deal is good value and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. Quirky crocodile design provides great indoor and outdoor space.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location, nice shady pool, good service at front...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wait staff at the restaurant didn’t appear to be well trained. Expensive for what you got but not too many options for this location!

    Excellent location, nice shady pool, good service at front desk with recommendations for walks and activities, good buffet breakfast but expensive (everything is expensive in the park)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2018

    9.2
    Everything you need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having to walk through the pool area to get to the restaurant or reception.

    Great location. Close enough to Urbirr to safely drive to and from the sunset viewing. Rooms and large and comfortable. The dining room offers a range of options.e.g. Buffet, menu or more casual options such as pizza ( eat in or take away). I enjoyed a swim in the pool after a day of touring too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    7.5
    Good convenient hotel if visiting Kakadu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is looking tired - just needs brightening up really.

    A convenient place to stop in Jabiru. Bed was comfy, room was clean and breakfast was good. Staff were friendly and loads of parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    7.9
    Food was nice in restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s extremely expensive and is the most I’ve paid for accommodation yet. The hotel is nice but very tired and needs update, you would not call it luxurious by any means. Paid less for 5 star in Greece over looking the sites. Had good amenities, pool, restaurant no free wifi. Average accommodation. No real complaints other than cost.

    Food was nice in restaurant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    10
    Staff were excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were excellent! Professional and superb! Front desk helped with reservations and suggested itineraries. The bar restaurant was great and relaxing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    9.2
    Expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bit expensive for what you got. They took a security deposit of $50 a day. Not sure why as there wasn't even a shower cap one might be tempted to take home!!

    Nice gardens, pool etc

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2018

    8.8
    Good location, modern and clean, friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have stayed here previously and my perception was that something was missing from my previous experience. I thought all rooms were the same or similar but I noted armchairs in some rooms which I did not have.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2018

    10
    It was clean and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was clean and spacious. The rooms all look out onto the inviting pool! The atmosphere was cool and relaxed after a long days driving! Not to forget the novelty of staying in a crocodile shaped resort 😜

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    5.0
    Great Location, ordinary Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hotel is old and very tired. Staff were friendly. Our room was at the tail of the facility and wireless was woeful Staffs attitude was yes we know it’s tired but we are unsure as to what ERA is doing so no upgrade I think my advice would be to go to Yellow Creek and stay there as opposed to staying at the Mercure I felt for international visitors who might think this is the normal level of hotel accommodation in Australia Food as very expensive as is to be expected. The local supermarket has prepared salads at reasonable prices as an alternative Safety as a concern, the switchboard door near our room was adjar and a power point in our room was was loose. We had a problem with the air conditioning and despite having an iron we had to ask for an ironing board

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: