Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Chancellor on Currie 4 stars

18 Currie Street, Adelaide CBD, 5000 Adelaide, Australia

#37 of 93 hotels in Adelaide

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1192 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air Conditioner needs work. The one in room 511 is very noisy 50% of the time when the vent blade moves to the down position.

    Staff, Location and food great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets of the room while clean were quite stained. Parking is not on site and is situated in a nearby car park for $18 a day. This however is a heavily reduced rate for parking on that car park.

    This hotel is situated just off Hindley street so accessible to many food options. A bus stop is situated at its front door. The restaurant provides good quality meals. The room was comfortable and roomy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was hair and dirt in the corner of the shower. I was laying in the bed when I was scratched and realised not only was the quilt cover just laying on top of the quilt, but it still had a pin attached from the laundry. the air conditioner was better off not being there. it was very loud and didn't give out any air, even on high making the room super hot. when I tried to move the vent part all I got was dust all over me.

    the bed was comfy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    • Bed great cleanliness excellent • reception staff very helpful allowing me early room access to have a shower before I changed to attend a funeral (this fact alone will ensure I return)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was a bit slow.

    The location was great for being out and about in the CBD. The beds were very comfortable and the room was spacious and clean. No parking, but there is a parking garage nearby. Lovely restaurants in the area, but be sure to make reservations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit noisy from the air conditioners in the room and nearby lifts. The breakfast was ordinary.

    The bed and staff were excellent and the location very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were a little too hard but other than that no complaints.

    It was in the best location. Very close to everything in the CBD. Only a minutes walk from where I had a dinner reservation. Good sized room for the night and very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was welcoming- great location and the bed was really comfortable !! There was no outside noise to disturb a good nights sleep 😁 Reception staff were very friendly too - which is always a nice surprise - as customer service seems to be lacking these days 😁

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff, they said I could park in lane way to unload, came out $77 parking ticket guy at reception said bad luck not his problem access cards did not work 5 times. He did not even apologise rudest I've ever had.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was unavailable for the first night or two. The pool water was freezing and not heated when we went there on the last night and the spa was not in working order when we attempted to go in. It is an expensive hotel but convenient to most city places.

    The staff had perfect customer service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cutlery in room but tea/coffee making facilities. Shower kept going cold. Parking was a nightmare but that's not their fault..just the perils of CBD parking. Restaurant on site is TERRIBLE. Gave me the wrong meal and then tried to tell me that it was what I ordered... I'm a cealiac so can't have gluten - didn't order a burger!! Waitress was rude and couldn't be bothered serving at all. All 3 guests at my table received meals at different times over 50 minutes!! Eat elsewhere.

    Location was great - close to rundle mall. Room was huge and well appointed. Super comfy bed and pillows

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel is nice, but needs refurbishment. Spa right in the bedroom didn't work, and everything looks a little old. Kettle & tea but no biscuits! Worst of all was the totally unreliable wifi. A real pain when you're there on business.

    The room was very big as the spa bathtub was right in the room. Service was variable (Michelle & Nitin brilliant) Very well situated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the king room was very small it was more like a single room very cramped you had to put the chair in the bathroom to watch t/v

    nice clean rooms close to every thing and tram stop

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No croissants ... would be nice to have some sort of breakfast included with the room.

    Staff was helpful, including loaning us two umbrellas one rainy day. Bathroom was very basic, but also very clean. Nice teas selection in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet should be included in the price.

    Have stayed here a few times now, such a great location - handy to restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Good value, always clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much down sides to our stay at all. Everything was to our liking.

    Very close to the best bars and resteraunts in Adelaide. Very comfortable and easy to access after hours.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wi-Fi service was not good - inconsistent in it's connection

    Central location to some great restaurants, attractions and business needs. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A view to the street from our room.

    Complimentary bottle of wine for our 40th Wedding Anniversary! Terrific, friendly staff. Great central location. Value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A lovely hotel, very clean. Friendly, helpful staff. Room was spacious and well-furnished with wardrobe and a chest of drawers for clothes, great for a stay of a week. Location, location, location; cafés, restaurants, buses, trams, taxis, all within 2 or 3 minutes walk. The transport info centre is almost next door.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a room with a spa and a jet came off flooding the room, to which the hotel staff just gave us extra towels to dry up the carpet, said they would move rooms in the morning but didn't want to as our room had the bigger bathroom? Double charged us for coffee paid cash and then also room charged

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioner was a bit noisy, could do with an upgrade.

    Bed was sooooo comfy, we face the road onto currie St but street noise didn't worry us. Nice hot water showers. Our 2nd time staying, very happy with hotel would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed and pillows a bit too soft and lacked supported sleep.

    Staff were Helpful and considerate. Room was lovely and quiet. Room service menu good with efficient timeframe.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tissues ran out Day 1 of our 5 day stay and were not replaced. Husband sat dark jumper on top of wardrobe, very dusty! Plugged in phone charger behind bed dude table, again it was dusty and had rubbish behind there.

    The bed was super comfy and the location was excellent!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We enjoyed our stay and was welcomed back on our return. Unfortunately our friend got sick and Michele on reception was excellent giving us care and attention. She also cared for us over the next few days. Would return to the hotel if we went back. Very central - bus stop outside handy to all places.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location of the hotel is fantastic! Very friendly staff who were most helpful in providing suggestions of where to visit and which buses to catch. Very responsive to any enquiries and always approachable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Excellent location just round the corner from Rundle Mall and North Terrace. Lovely room, quality hotel with friendly and helpful staff and good food. I’d definitely stay there again if I returned to Adelaide, no question.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very high bath to navigate to get to shower. Time to remove the baths.

    Perfect location for any travellers who don't have a vehicle. Car parking is off site, but the property pays for the parking fees which would normal be approx. $40 for one night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was far too noisy double glazing would fix this Then I would have given a 10

    The bed was super comfy the room was clean they even had the aircon on when we arrived spa room was huge good value

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was not working. I would have thought that housekeeping would check these things when turning over the room. Also the bed was a bit soft for my liking.

    The staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way in assisting me to retrieve my luggage that my airline left behind. They did it without question to ensure I got my luggage prior to my departure the next day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Request for late checkout by one hour was denied. Even with 2 rooms for 4 days they said there would be an extra charge even to stay one hour past checkout.

    Michelle on front desk was exceptionally helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are so close together that we could hear the person next door conversation. And when they got 'busy' we heard it all and it wasn't relaxing.

    Pool and spa were lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel generally needs renovation Staff in restaurant do their best but need training I always had difficulty entering my room because the lock was temperamental

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The décor in room was way dated. Fridge was noisy, door let in a lot of light, curtains were faulty, shower was very small, lack of one side table to the bed and a no casual or coffee table; and the phone rang at 2am!!!

    The bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean and modern.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good

    So close to the city, but felt safe and was quiet. Staff were lovely and helpful. Great place to base an Adelaide visit or night out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no microwave and there was an odour in the room and the aircon was making sound

    Other than it was in cbd there is nothing to like about it coz i used to stay here pretty much most of the time but this time there was no microwave and there was an odour in the room and the aircon was making sound

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    :Entrance to hotel included a few big steps to get your bags up. This was quite difficult and no help on offer. Disabled entrance was there but was always locked so couldn’t use that. :The shower over the bath was dangerous, had to ask for non slip mat. :Restaurant was rubbish, standard of food was awful and the cost was top dollar. The restaurant was not always open, couldn’t buy a coffee even. :Room needs to be refurbished as very old and tired looking. Shabby furniture, bathroom needs to be modernised.

    Two king size beds in the room. Location was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of the T.V

    The bed was amazing, as soon as i laid down it was like the matress was sucking me into it hugging me. The pillows were perfect. Housekeepers do an amazing job, very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi, had to use my phone as a hotspot to do my work emails.

    Great bed, very comfortable. Iron in the room was useful and fresh towels daily was nice. Excellent location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First room appalling. Second option a little better, but still not great.

    Extremely disappointed. I was initially given a room that was completely at odds with expectations. The paint on the walls was chipped, the carpet threadbare and the furniture looked like it had been beaten with chains. To be fair, the staff did change my room to one that was a bit better when I requested this. However, I won't be staying at this hotel again. Very tired property.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was for someone in a wheelchair and made impractical for anyone else. No where to hang clothes and the floor was flat so the water from the shower went everywhere, we had to use a barricade of towels to stop it from going out into the living room. The view from the room was just a brick wall, it was quiet though.

    Bed was comfortable and the location was great, very convenient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The booking.com app booked our family of 4 into a room with only one bed. The rest of hotel was booked out so we had to squeeze into one bed to sleep.

    Location, friendly staff & great value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Arrived much earlier than anticipated, and the staff were fantastic as they tried to arrange for my room to be ready earlier. Big thank you to both reception and housekeeping :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked 3 night accomodation and parking too. They provided us with tickets that are not working. So we have to pay our nights parking at the car park itself. Then at the hotel they still asked us to pay the nights parking even if we have already paid and didnt use their ticket. Watch out for these scam. Will never go back and never will recommend this place... Arrogant receptionist too...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NO COMMENT

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was excellent. The breakfast was just right for our needs. The hotel is centrally situated within easy reach of good restaurants and public transport. In other words if fulfilled our basic needs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The window in my room was permanently open and covered with 2 sheets of Perspex which had a cm gap between them. There was a constant breeze and considering I was on the first floor - lots of street noise.

    Great location for the course I was attending - right across the road.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning in one room was noisy and had to be switched off at night. Elderly people would not be able to access bath/shower combination.

    The location, the comfy beds, the spacious rooms. The fireplace and lounges in reception area were very welcoming. Kimberley at reception was exceptionally good and very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a bit of noise from some bars in the side street but didn't bother us too much.

    The location was excellent - in easy walking distance to all sights. The room was comfortable and very well maintained. The cafe on the ground floor was quite big, sunny and pleasant. The selection of food was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Standard rooms are just that so don't expect too much, needing upgrading. Very old timber furniture, the room we had didn't have windows that were worth calling a window. A great hotel for travellers without a vehicle.

    Location is the great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air Conditioner was set to ‘winter’ so it blew hot air. And the control for this was at reception. As it was 37 degrees outside - it made my room very uncomfortable for first 12 hrs until it was fixed. Room service was very late in the day.

    Staff friendly. Bed comfortable. Spa in basement great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of staff took along time to check in and out. Only one person on reception. It was a labour day weekend bar not open on the sunday and only short time on monday. Room not very clean dust everywhere. next door left their breakfast tray outside room in morning not collected till at least 7 o clock in the evening. Housekeeping knocking on door at 9am when checkout not till 11. All very shoddy

    Pool, Jacuzzi, comfortable bed good room size.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were expecting 24 hour room service. On arrival, room service menu stated availability 11am-9.30pm. After 3 attempts to call for room service, we finally were put through to Reception to be told room service would only start at 5.30pm. If you're not going to provide a service, don't advertise that you do.

    Staff were lovely and very helpful. Room was great! Enjoyed the indoor pool & spa. Value for money would have been higher if prices weren't hugely inflated for event.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost everything else. Overpriced (339.00) for dingy little room with not enough space for a luggage rack and shoddy and scratched furniture. Not what I consider "Deluxe" as described by Booking.com paper work. Felt I had been taken

    Bed though not queen was comfortable and staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought the room rate we paid was pretty excessive but needed the location. Don’t eat breakfast downstairs unless it’s included in your rate. They got my order wrong twice and the food was very average. The hairdryer in the room was really slow and old.

    Comfortable room with big bed, TV, small sitting area and view of Currie st. Basement spa and the little pool was a lovely little touch.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Taking the price of the room into account the shower/bath system seems a little dated and a more modern airconditoner with a remote control would be nice.

    Excellent location and the bed was very comfortable. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly and really helpful. The room was spacious and comfortable, the bed was fabulous and location excellent for city centre and Fringe visits. Would highly recommend

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    our room cards did not work once. every time we had to have them reset or have the cleaner let us in. these issues can be really annoying and spoiled our trip to some extent. 'freshly squeezed' orange juice was reconstituted. why can't hotels provide bedding that is not going to make you too hot without having the aircon set to 12 degrees?

    good clean room and reasonably priced breakfast. location slightly away from busiest part of town but still an easy walk to most attractions. 100 meters to Rundle Mall. would stay there again if prices were ok

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there for two nights and nobody came to make up our room, replenish towels etc. we only had someone knock on the door to ask if we needed the minibar replenished. Didn't like climbing in and out of the bath to have a shower, quite dangerous. The bath is so tiny it's pointless really, so would rather just have a proper shower alcove

    We enjoyed the pool and spa area. The spaciousness of the room was great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv couldve been bigger, they also limites volume to just 21 which i thought was insulting. They also limited aircon to 19, and it seemed too far away from the bed to be effective. We paid $180ish and didnt include breakfast. For that price i think couldve included it. It was an okay room, if you arent going for spa get a smaller room so the tv doesnt seem so small and aircon so crap.

    Had a king sized room with spa. Loved the size of room as it was big (but then this was a negative as aircon didnt seem to reach well and the tv seemed too small), loved big large bed - on the softer side. The spa was awesome though it might have been why we thought aircon wasnt working great as the heat may have stayed in room for a while after spa. Free wifi was simple to connect seemed to get a bit slow later. Great CBD location near chinatown, near rundle mall and also hinley st for partying and train station to venture out.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The airconditioning was alright, but it was still rather warm with the temperature of 38 degrees outside.

    The kids were really exited when they entered the room. They were impressed with how luxurious it looked. The room was very spacious and the beds very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The air conditioner was not very efficient and was quite noisy. The tap in the bathroom was very low and so was hard to fill the kettle.

    Nice comfortable bed. Good wardrobe and fridge.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not able to use the spa in our room. We were also not told about the requirements of restarting the spa using the keycard after speaking to staff about the issue. Furthermore, we asked for a honeymoon style if possible as we were celebrating our aniversay however did not have the room at all more romantic and did not have any feedback from the staff either that they were not going to provide any.

    Good value for a spa king room in the city

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My aircon was not working, they couldn’t fix it or offer a different room as they were fully booked. This was unacceptable on one of the hottest days. I thought that they should have offered some kind of compensation instead of just apologising especially considering I was 7 months pregnant too.

    My room was very spacious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon was noisy and had to be on all night to hide the sound of the traffic. The fridge rattled too, so we pulled the plug on it. The swimming pool had a tissue in it. The spa had grit in the bottom of it. The windows weren’t double glazed; in fact they would not close properly at all.

    The location is good!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon was so loud. Yet with out it was real stuffy. Daily room cleans could have been better, would have taken 2 min to run a cloth over bason and shower glass or general areas . Really handy they where able to hold bags after check in .

    Bed was great , pillows and blankets. Swimming pool and spa. Staff where always pleasent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could be a bit darker the curtains didn’t quite do the job

    Room was a good size really comfortable bed close to festival theatre and Rundle Mall restaurant was good value for dinner and breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cafe / bar / dining area within the hotel complex is run and operated by a separate company to the hotel so this is not a reflection on the hotel's customer service which was good. Breakfast offerings in the cafe/dining room was good if you wanted cereal, fruit, tea, coffee toast and a hot cooked breakfast - all for $15. However if you wanted just tea and toast as we did, service was dismal to the point we nearly walked out. All orders are placed at the bar and maybe charged to the room account. Our order for 2 cups of tea and one flat white and three serves of toast were placed at 7.40am (the cafe was full but most people were already eating their hot breakfast). This was a Tuesday morning. However as we soon discovered, only one person waiting on tables for the entire cafe ! The items came out in pairs which meant one in our party had to wait an additional 10 mins for their cup of tea and a further 10 mins for their toast after the other two received their toast - some 30 mins after placing our order. Not good enough. The wait staff had no idea about table service either. Eg, when advised who ordered what after being asked, the wait staff left it all on the corner of the table and walked off. Why bother asking if they aren't going to place the food / drink in front of who ordered it? For the remainder of our stay, we at at the cafe across the corner - better service, all food and drinks delivered in a timely manner at the same time and placed in front of the person who ordered it.

    Check in was very easy and very nice staff. Our room was a good size and confortable but a little smaller than expected for a King room, but it did not worry us at all. The bathroom was very clean, water was hot and plentiful. Facilities in the room such as the bar fridge / tea and coffee making facilities were there but we didn't use them. The location was easy walking distance to Rundle Mall with a Cafe diagonally across from the hotel. Access to trams to Glenelg or the suburban rail services was on King William Street which was more or less on the corner. Day trips with services such as Grayline do a pick up from this hotel so that was a bonus. Would recommend and stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar/restaurant a bit dated and service not very good.

    Friendly & helpful staff. Laundry facility was handy as we’d been travelling for over a week and needed to do some washing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small things to improve: noisy A/C, toilet paper, bathroom lighting fixtures and dusty curtains.

    Nice, spacious, clean and quiet room. Great location, close to shops, restaurants and transport to the airport. Staff kindly offered us early check in.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    friendliness of the staff shampoos and conditioners not too many of them and also wish there was a bit more coffee and sugar.

    was a bit disappointed that there was no microwave and they could have allowed a little bit more tea and coffee I thought besides that it was all good. disappointed about the closing time of the swimming pool. I also thought that the hotel card should have been allowing you into the motel room no matter what time it was whether it was 1 o'clock in the morning or 2 in the afternoon.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spa in room filled with nail polish stains and was dirty. Bathroom smelt very bad - seemed like it was the pipes. Only seemed to be one staff member on - they were rude Airconditioning was very poor and it was 42/43 that weekend

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv was tiny! All of the days we were there the aircon was hardly working and when we were in the elevator there was at least eight other people complaining about how hot it was will never be coming back

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some issues with the parking.

    The location was amazing. Right in the heart of BDC, we could walk everywhere. Food and shopping all around.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The wait staff in the dining room were very friendly and helpful. There was a good range on the menu and the food was good. The location is excellent, particularly if you do not have transport.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from roadway, but it was generally quiet for most of the night (hint ask for a room away from road)

    The room was well layed out and had all the basics for a short stay. The bed was large and very comfy. The wifi service worked well and the water was really hot when having a shower.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The arrangement with Wilson Parking is the only option if you have a car but totally unreliable in its operation. We purchased a 72 hour card which was supposed to replace the need for a credit swipe card and guaranteed parking in the complex for the entire three days of our stay. However, Wilson claim that they are having some problems with the new digitized system and our card worked only once. Thereafter, every time we went to leave the parking building had to press then help button and explain to the assistant the problem. This did not make us very popular with the 10 - 15 cars lined up behind us and was irritating to say the least especially when one of the assistants told me that the problem was not with the card or the system but was because I wasn't able to follow the instructions on the screen!!!

    Rooms are spacious and the beds comfortable. Double glazing is amazingly effective

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Chancellor on Currie traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: