Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Grand Chancellor Hobart 4.5 stars

1 Davey Street, 7000 Hobart, Australia

#7 of 51 hotels in Hobart

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2212 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very little, I would prefer a separate shower, not over the bath.

    Fabulous staff who are attentive and go out of their way to be helpful. Perfect location for walks around Constitution Dock and Salamanca Facilities are great, the atrium is so lovely. The rooms are clean and well appointed. Wifi is reliable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ordered a burger from the restaurant to be delivered to my room. The burger was a bit dry which made the burger not to taste good.

    The staff were very friendly :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had the buffet breakfast twice. Lots to choose from. Eggs made fresh to order. Loved the pancakes. Disappointed with the hot selections. Bacon (too salty and hard). Sausages were hard and bland. Mushrooms were not at all appealing to look at or eat. The scrambled eggs were lumpy. Not up to the hotels usual standard.

    Love this hotel. Return visit. Best hotel position in Hobart. The view from the hotel is spectacular of Constitution Dock. Nice large comfortable room. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping didnt clean up very thoroughly day to day other than making the bed and adding towels. Eg dirty glasses and a cutting board from the kitchen were left behind. Also not many chicken options on the restaurant menu. And very inconvenient having only stairs from the car park to the lobby.

    Very comfortable bed, great pillows. Beautiful view, reasonable mini bar prices. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Couple
    • King Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives

    The staff on the front desk were so welcoming and helpful. The location was perfect and the room was generous in size and well appointed. Everything you needed was there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little disappointed at only one towel per person in the room, I often use two towels with one for my hair

    Spectacular view, the staff were really friendly and the room exactly what we wanted with a large bathroom

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone attempted to hack my device whilst I was using the hotel wifi - which I know is unsecured, but just thought I’d give a heaps up to anyone thinking of using it.

    The bar manager Claire was amazing. She gave great tourism advice and was always incredibly helpful, and she makes a fantastic drink too. Ask for the claire special :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on level 17 but could easily hear the band playing in the atrium until about 1:00am on Saturday night - doof doof doof.......

    Great customer service considering the 1 in 100 year flood

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staffs are not professional with bad customer service. Called prior I made the booking thru booking.com, front desk confirmed only need to pay during check in. Few days later, got direct debited and phone the hotel again. They told me its a T&C to have it prepaid, which is different from what front desk told me before. They were like oh, I don't know who told you this, but its the policy blah blah blah... never apologise! Sounds like we got paid anyway, we don't care. So, regardless of how great this hotel looks and how good its location is, I will not recommend it.

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower over bath water splashes all over floor. Due to location lots of traffic noise so interrupted sleep. Loud closing of room doors all hours of the day and night.

    Location and waterfront view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pleasant and comfortable stay. Provided us with an early check in and appreciated the complimentary champagne to celebrate my husbands birthday. Thank you :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Concerned regarding the gym equipment. The treadmills in particular, I feel are dangerous. No gradual slow down, very sudden. Also bikes could not be adjusted.

    The location and the view. Staff are fantastic. Very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was very little I did not like from our stay. If I had to choose something I would perhaps say that breakfast was great but a bit expensive.

    The staff were wonderful! They were very friendly and accommodating. Traveling with an infant was made easy. The extra little touches around the room were fantastic, for example the complimentary mineral water, chocolates on the bed and the friendly note from the lady who cleaned our room, who by the way had done a fantastic job! A hassle free stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location. Walk to CBD, Salamanca Market, restaurants, cafes. High standard of accomodation. Our room was spacious with views overlooking the Derwent. Nice bar for a coffee/beer after a day of sightseeing. All the staff were great. My wife left some items behind and the hotel staff contacted us straight away to arrange sending them home.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower cubicle had cheap bouncy plastic floor that was misaligned with all other quality inclusions. Bedside clock was an enigma/paradox/riddle. Sanitarily - where for art thou spare roll on days 1 & 2? The belated emergence of a sparey following day 3 cleaners left me thinking: "this hotel has an inconsistent toilet paper policy". But rather than focus on this (thankfully) and other minor negatives, I encourage all to focus on the postives attached to this fine establishment.

    Spacious spacious spacious. Bed, pillow options, friendly smiling staff from cleaners to front counter

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room with Mountain Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn’t like

    It was a great place to stay - clean, tidy, staff were friendly & efficient. Great location. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was a bit cold but probably warmer in the day when the sun is on the glass roof.

    The location and the views were amazing. The staff were so friendly and arranged a corporate taxi to take us to the airport. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No. We were satisfied in every way.

    The staff are fantastic. They are friendly, professional and eager to assist, and that is across all levels in the staff. The Hotel has a great culture and feel - it is a good place to be within. We have stayed many times and this was the best one so far.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could feel the springs in the mattress. We had an accessible room, so the shower and toilet were awkward and got water all over the bathroom.

    The location was great, right in the port! Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very hard. Could not sleep in it. The street noise was excessive. The car park is open to public therefore could not park one night. The tv station choices are terrible and the tv does not have a guide so you can't even see what is on at a glance.

    The location was great. The staff were also good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the bath. The shower screen was too short and there was always a pool of water on the floor. The small curved bottom baths were awkward to stand in.

    View.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't increase the temperature in my room but that could have just been my lack of technical skills.

    The staff were very helpful and the little touches made a difference eg. Message from reception letting me know the soy milk I requested was in the fridge. Location was perfect as it was close to various restaurants, easy walk to Salamanca and the city centre and close to a number of tourist destinations such as the wharf where you catch the MONA ferry. I also found the 24 hour taxi bay outside the motel very convenient. The views from waterfront rooms were great. The bar was also very nice place to relax.The shower was nice and hot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps the addition of small safes for safekeeping of jewellery, passports etc.?I believe GC offers a secure arrangement at reception but this isn’t always practical when you are storing your jewellery late at night! Just a small suggestion.

    Hi light was Tasman dinner experience. Exquisite!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to leave.

    One of the few hotels that gets10 out of 10 in all categories. The view from our room was spectacular if the entire Hobart Harbor. Not a better location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cocktail menu was limited. There were no pins coladas

    It was my 50th birthday and I was presented with a bottle of champagne. So much thanks for your thoughts and efforts

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only disappointment was with the restaurant. I had my dinner there and to be honest, it was less than average and really poor value for money. Service was not up to the standard I have had on previous visits.

    Room was very good and reception staff were friendly and efficient. Well equipped and the free wifi worked very well for my needs. Good location for my business in town as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The was no lift from the carpark so I had to carry bags up to the reception area, even though they say there will be staff to do that for you, I didn't see any.

    It was worth it for the view over the harbour, and location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Update of slepping arrangements required. The bed. Felt like a trampoline whem partner moved and neither of us could avoid waking up or disturbing the other. Split king is the answer.

    Location and view above all else. Staff fantastic. Spacious classic airy hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The continental breakfast seems to be too simple. Would be nice to have boiled eggs to start a day.

    Swimming pool and pool table which are great for my family. Also like the daily cake prepared for guest in the living room which made me feel home.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tap in the hand basin in the bathroom squirted. The curtain should have had a privacy curtain which let in light - eg some kind of netting. As it was we had to keep the curtain fully drawn until we were dressed, so the room was completely dark.

    I liked being able to use the computer in the lobby - did not travel with computer eg laptop

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Traffic noise, especially early in the morning when wanting to sleep in.....

    Fabulous location and loved the harbour views. Staff were super friendly and attentive. Comfy beds and spacious room. Gym and pool were in great condition.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inability to adjust air conditioning and no option of fresh air. No microwave.

    Ability to leave car in car park for the following day and the location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room with a stunning view over Constitution dock, the bed was comfortable, the room spacious and a lovely bar downstairs stocking Tasmanian brands. Staff were friendly and polite.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Way too pricey for what it is. Everything is very dated (bathroom, electronics in the room, facilities). We stayed during the Easter weekend and I understand it's a bit more expensive but $300 a night is outrageous!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom was smaller than anticipated (we had a lot of carry bags and suitcases) and bathroom was an unusual shape and layout (disabled access).

    Fantastic location close to all tourist attractions. Staff were super friendly and helpful. One staff member carried our bags to the car park as there was no lift to/from the basement. Fabulous view from our window.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were not a lot of food options for snacks like chocolate, cake or sandwiches if you are packing a picnic for a big day of exploring.

    The location was excellent. Right in the heart of everything that Hobart has to offer. Hotel parking was easy to access so the hotel was an excellent base to explore Hobart, the Huon valley wine trail, Richmond and Port Arthur.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    .looking out of the window into the port of Hobart was very charming...Great location...big rooms and a huge bed...great location... we had little walk

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff were very friendly and helpful pool area was great for our 16yr old son loved the relaxed bar area central to everything and a beautiful view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room with Mountain Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The traffic noise in my room was bad. I live right in the Melbourne CBD but this was much worse

    Spacious and well equipped room. Lifts arrived quickly. Very well located to walking every where for restaurants, the city itself, docks, MONA ferry, Salamanca Place and Battery Point

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was clean, comfortable and had a great harbour view, staff were very helpful and friendly, it was raining and we were offered umbrellas, close to restaurants, city and markets, we walked everywhere we needed to go easily

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely noisy. We have been told we had one of the most quiet room yet we have not slept at all. Close to a noisy end of high way. The bathrooms are very ugly (hospital style) and not functional at all. Not worth the cost. At all.

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all. It was wonderful

    Location was amazing. The view was incredible. Room was clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Highly recommend staying here.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Put us on the 10th floor wich is actually effectively 2nd which is actually lowest of room floors

    Location and water views. Staff friendly and helpful. Facilites very good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is an old hotel, with old furniture but very well maintained. Need a rejuvenation!!!. Although everything was super clean

    The staff was very nice, tried to do their best. The young guy acting as concierge was very accurate and helpful. Suggested really the best options

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When me & my disabled girlfriend arrived i carried in a large backpack, medium sized carry bag & a pillow. We booked in & no one even offered to take our bags up to our room. Room service woman went into our room the first morning & made everything up & replaced items even though we left the signs on the door handle not to. What kind of place has a sauna shared with change rooms accessible by either sides by male & female. Bit more privacy wouldn't hurt. Having to go so far for a cigarette

    Breakfast was great. The pool & sauna. Our view was amazing over the harbour watching the cruise ships coming and going

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of adjustment with the shower head. It was a shower to cater for disabled guests and there was no adjustment to aim the water at the top height level

    The bed was extremely comfortable and the pillow menu covered everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We didn't like leaving.

    The suite was very spacious, the bedroom enormous, the windows throughout the suite were huge with a magnificent outlook. The room was very clean, functional, relaxing. The hotel was in a prime position on the harbour and close to restaurants and great shopping.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spotlessly clean, well maintained, light and airy public spaces. The room was a great size overlooking the marina. The position of the hotel was fantastic, near to the city centre and the harbour with its many restaurants aswell as 10 minute walk to Salamanca and it’s great market and eateries.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked last minute and said it was for a special occasion- being such a large hotel thought that they would try and get us a nice room. But the room was over priced for what it was. No nice view as we were on lowest floor level, it was too close to the ground people could’ve definitely seen in! Marks on the wall in bedroom and hair on bathroom floor before we had even used it.

    People at the concierge were nice and friendly. Offering to help with bags and sort our car out for parking. Even though there was a $9 fee for that.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was surprised by how much I liked this hotel considering my husband & I usually stay at small boutique/ B&Bs. This was booked at the last minute and I had a lot of trepidation before arriving. However, the view makes up for it - a harbour view room is well worth it. The location is perfect - very central for everything and the rooms large & comfy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Continental breakfast should be included in room tariff.

    The gym and pool facilities were very clean and modern equipment - well maintained. Good water pressure in the shower Comfy bed and pillows. Two twin beds in a room is a bonus with a family booking

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On check out there was the smallest issue, On their screens said I had only paid half of the accomodation but I paid in full and had the paperwork to prove it, it was just an issue between the agencie and the supplier, I understand these things happen just didn't want to hear about it as it had nothing really to do with me I just wanted to check out and get my bond back.

    The location and the views

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator up from the car park (difficult entry with baggage) but staff were helpful on departure

    Excellent location, very large room and super comfortable. Reception staff were exceptional on arrival and went above the norm to provide special welcome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one little problem....the cold water from the bathroom basin could be quite warm.

    My room was warm and friendly..great atmosphere. Most staff were very friendly and I loved the mainly green gardens.. The continental breakfast was just right. The connection to the Concert Hall...just lovely

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Mountain Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had asked for a room with an ocean view but had a view overlooking a roof and unexciting office buildings - that was a real let-down.

    Staff excellent, fabulous location, good food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The staff were very friendly, quick and efficient. The room was spacious with a nice harbour view. The hotel restaurant was attractive and the meals delicious. Overall a pleasant place to stay in a superb location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were upgraded to a river view room with wonderful views over Constitution Dock. Room was spacious, comfortable and quiet. Well set up with fridge, tea and coffee etc. Many thanks to the staff who rang me after check out about a shaver left in the room - very prompt and attentive service. Cannot fault and will stay here again when visiting family in Hobart.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The dinner in the restaurant was very ordinary, we had to pour our own wine all through the dinner, the lamb was tough, the pork was dry, at the end of the meal we had coffees that were placed on the table rather rudly, my husband had to call the waitress back to ask for sugar, she then grabbed some from another table dumped it on the table without a backward glance, it was a very disappointing experience, it was my birthday and was meant to be a special occasion Note we ate at Mures upper deck the day before and found it to be a great experience, and then the chinese restaurant across the road and again found it to be a great expereince

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the breakfast was extremely low qality,the usual fatty english style breakfst,great if you want a fatty, low fibre and sloppy breakfast,certainly does not suit international or health conscious travellers.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service menu and food we ordered was inedible. We ordered the seafood platter, chicken burger and children's stake and chips

    Love the room and really appreciated the friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom too cramped. Couldn't open the door properly without hitting the wall. Room too small for a spa.

    Breakfast good, especially self serve juicer

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We enjoyed the corner superior room with harbour view.. definitely worth it. We dined at the hotel big tick, and enjoyed the close proximity of Henry Jones Art Hotel and Macq1 well worth a visit

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we were told we were on the 11th floor we thought we had a perfect view over the city. Our expectations were quickly dashed when getting in the elevator only to find floors were numbered from 10 upwards. We had a view alright...a very disappointing one.

    Everything. Our first time at a Grand Chancellor Hotel and we were more than pleased with the facilities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for parking

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Beautiful room and harbour view and great coffee! Swimming pool and gym a bonus. Excellent location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The restaurant, bar and in-room menus do not offer a broad range of dishes, and in particular the range of vegetarian options. But there are plenty of other restaurants and bars in the surrounding area so not a significant issue.

    The views are wonderful as we had chosen a harbour view room. Luckily we had an end room with windows that faced both the harbour and the east. We had a wonderful view of the 'super moon eclipse'.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hanger steak. Need to get rid of this on menu. So many French fries and was very unappealing.

    Room was great bed comfortable and the view was wonderful. The bar at this hotel is good with great staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could not really fault it. I needed to leave at 7am, so if breakfast was available from 6am, that would have helped me.

    Really good location. Great view and a much appreciated upgrade. Good breakfast. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room with Mountain Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was dirty and the flooring around the pool very unsafe. Tiles that were absolutely flooded with water. Our daughter slipped over twice despite walking very slowly and holding our hands. Also don’t believe guests should have to pay $9 a night to park at the hotel.

    Clean, beautiful room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We chose not to have the breakfast as it was just too expensive. instead we went to Mures across the road and had a great breakfast for half the price.

    We were only staying overnight and booked this room just for the view. It did not disappoint. not only was the room incredibly comfortable but the view was so amazing we just couldn't tear ourselves away from it and ended up sitting in chairs by the window sipping wine and watching the lights of the harbour until well after midnight.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We had a harbour view room and it was fantastic, as soon as we walked in we could see all the boats and ships in the harbour. The room was very comfortable and spacious, quiet, and all the staff members we encountered were very friendly and provided excellent service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Why is the cappuccino extra surely $31 or $24 covers this Further we got to breakfast and come 10am we were hurried up to leave don’t say between 7-10 if you mean get out at 10am on dot to me it indicated seated by this time

    Staff on front desk were excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool water was cloudy. Sauna location in the shower area and not close to swimming pool. Sauna not turned on. No water in gym

    Nice rooms - spacious for 3. Friendly and helpful staff Hotel location close to centre

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Mountain Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charge for room service.

    The location is fantastic. The staff extra friendly and the pool was refreshing and not crowded even though hotel was fully booked.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Mountain Side
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location to all the museums and harbour. Also the ease of walking to restaurants and sight seeing. The swimming pool and gym. The bar and meals at the hotel. The ease of parking of vehicle. Cleanliness of the room and building. The friendly staff and guests. The views of the harbour/Dickson mountains and river.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff very pleasant and keen to help. excellent location and easy access to everything - beautiful views. no safes in rooms, but mini bar and other extras very pleasing

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Grand Chancellor Hobart traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: