Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston 4.5 stars

29 Cameron Street, 7250 Launceston, Australia

#19 of 33 hotels in Launceston

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1546 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fridge in our room was switched off and the room smelt like something had died in there. There was no exhaust fan in the bathroom, hardly any powerpoints, the bed was so uncomfortable, no main light in the room only lamps??? The restaurant downstairs was terrible. We had to complain about our food because it was virtually inedible to which they gave us our drinks for free and a voucher to come back? No thanks!

    There’s not much we liked about this place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too hard for me, had to request extra pillows, had difficulty getting through to reception. Found an older male receptionist (telephone conversation) to be rude and unwelcoming as have found in the past.

    Really has everything in close proximity. I just love the restaurant dinner and breakfast service. There is a bar area for meeting with friends and the veg pizza was incredible.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Twin Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating was a bit dodgy. Finally found a switch on the wall that said heating. Turned it on but no way of controlling temp. Too hot. Had to turn off then got cold.

    Very clean and plenty of space. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed here 3 separate times in the month of May out of convenience. The rooms on the first floor are in desperate need of some TLC, especially the bathrooms. The amount of dust on the bathroom grid above the shower head, in all 3 different rooms we stayed in, was disgusting. The bathrooms all looked so dirty despite being clean (see photos). This might have been a 4 star hotel at one time, but it definitely is not now based on staying in the rooms on the first floor. It's the little touches in this hotel that are missing, no extra towel in the bathroom, no shower cap in the bathroom, TV reception was fuzzy at times, the mini bar was not stocked with what would be expected from a 4 star property.

    Great location for exploring Launceston. Spacious rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being charged for parking!! I was provided with a parking slip to put in my car, when I registered on my arrival. No explanation was given that it was an extra charge, unfortunately I assumed it was provided as a gratuity from the motel... and was surprised to be charged from parking when I left early the next day.... Not happy about that!! May reconsider staying here.... I travel to Launceston weekly for business....

    Relaxing,clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bath rooms need a revamp & could have vacumn a bit better than what they did & the bed were a tad to hard for us

    Close to where we needed to go nice meal but prices were a bit high staff were friendly & helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was still dirty and the sinks leaked, not enough lighting in rooms, very old fashioned not worth the $ spend to stay when for the same price you can get something else without hidden charges and modern and clean, curtains had holes, very noisy and heaps of random furniture just chucked in the room making it cluttered

    Good location , staff reasonably polite

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are clean and comfortable but a bit dated, in particular with regards to heating (very effective but you can’t adjust the temperature) and cooling (portable air conditioner unit only).

    Location is excellent. Hotel facilities are excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The street noise was loud and the town clock was very loud, every hour on the hour.

    It was a charming place to stay. We had a lovely spacious room. The street noise was a little unexpected and the town clock did let us know what time it was every hour on the hour. Overall great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had an issue with my TV, which did get fixed. Then my bathroom lights started flickering late in the evening. After reporting to staff in the morning, waited half an hour for someone to fix. Didnt show, so used a lamp so I was able to shower. The room was very clean and warm. Nice spacious room and bathroom. In room dining was great. The fromt office staff were very friendly. Would recommend and stay there again :)

    Clean, comfortable and warm. Was very easy to flick a switch to control the heating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hidden costs ie: $4 surcharge when using credit card. Too many snacks/drinks in room.

    The spacious room, seating, good sized TV, comfortable beds, good heating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No main light in centre of room so was annoying to turn off 6 lamps before going to sleep, room very dark, bath and shower leaked all over the bathroom floor very old facilities, shared public car park so limited spaces available

    Good location, easy to get to and from work in the morning

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's only a small thing, but it would be nice to be greeted by friendlier staff. We had three rooms and were checked in by a manager yet it was not overly welcoming.

    We did not use the restaurant, bar or other facilities but the hotel was good - lovely historic building with a very nice foyer and entry. The price was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a roll away bed that was as hard as a rock! my young child couldn't sleep on it. The floor would have been softer than the roll away. On the other hand the main bed was comfortable and room was clean

    The location was very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating is WAY too hot, and the location next to nightclub and town hall clock chiming meant that I had no sleep for my two night stay

    Beautifully appointed rooms with spacious bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows!. To flat for me always gives me neck aches I needed to food mine over to have it more thicker for comfort. But other than that everything was great!.

    It’s close to CBD and is comfy and friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have bern a nice touch to have a ice tray in fridge / freezer and a few plates and cutlery for personal in room dining.

    The prpoerty was very well located. Quiet and comfotable. Easy to get around and staff were very friendly and helpful. Myself and My Fiancee stayed for the weekend. I am a Professional Drummer and was playing with my Band (Fast Train) next to the Hotel and the use of a hotel trolley to cart my gear over and back from the venue was much Appreciated. As a Drummer i have stayed in many hotels for both leasure and Work in Tasmania, Australia and overseas and The Grand Chancellor is up there with some top names. It is within walking distance to the city and casual walk to places such as the Launceston Gorge, City park, Shops etc. It is good value for money which is always a bonus. For us it was well worth it and the deluxe king room was very spacious and accommodated all my gear and our personal baggage after the show and for the weekend. Great place. Great value. Great staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a door stop right in front of the toilet. Weird. Kept kicking it

    Perfect location. Have stayed here before and have come back. Beautiful rooms. Close to everything. Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in room was poor - hard to read in that lighting. Pillows were a bit hard but bed was otherwise comfortable.

    Location and spacious room. Bar and restaurant were good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have to pay for parkin and public use the same car park so sometimes I had to wait around for a park, room was a bit dirty with hair in the bath\sink and only lamps to light the room which was annoying

    Close to shops and food, easy drive to where my business meetings were and the rooms were nice and quiet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    After the football we came back to the hotel to have a quiet drink however there were so many people and just one poor girl behind the bar who had to do everything on her own from coffee to beers etc we felt soooo sorry for her that we left our hotel and went to a bar down the rode to take so pressure of her.

    The location was excellent as were the staff and the cocktails delicious

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that wasn’t perfect is that the soap holder in the shower is placed right where your elbow is,

    This is a modern, comfortable building in a great location that Is staffed with caring, friendly professionals.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room run down.Air conditioning noisy and didn’t work.Could not hear the tv.Mouldy smell coming from in and around fridge.Bathroom in poor condition.Grout areas black.

    Position in town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't clean the carpet wAs old and worn dust everywhere. The coffee table had food stuck under the glass and shower curtain was worn and discoloured. The room service was terrible fresh towels was all the did and make the bed. They didn't restock the mini bar for the second night. The in room dinning took approximately 45 mins on the first night and arrived cold.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no comment, everything was more than expected.

    Room was spacious as was the bathroom, helpful we could control the heating, beds large & very comfortable, all in all extremely satisfied. Breakfast & evening meal were more than expected.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No central a/c. Bulky noisy replacement room air vent in the corner. Not impressed . We had to turn it off to sleep. We were able to open window to a narrow opening. This is a not so smart very obvious cost saving as this is my second trip in 13 months and the air con problem has still not been rectified

    Bed comfy. Nice breakfast. Room well appointed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Portable air-conditioning it was loud & not what we expected when the room said air condition. We set the timer for the maximum and woke up hot as it had turned itself off. The furniture was dated. Lounge was ripped/worn.

    Bed was comfortable. Staff were lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are paper thin. You can hear people in the next room! Having to explain what certain noises were to a 6 year old wasn’t fun!!!

    Was close to things we were doing in Launceston

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had difficulty adjusting the room temperature to a comfortable level.

    An excellent hotel, in a great location that offers good value for many. Very friendly & efficient staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was barely any car parking spots at all also there is no light in the middle of the room. Internet didn’t work and room was so noisy with fire exit and being on the first floor could hear everything going on in the car park

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is nearly 30 years old and looks it, windows didn’t close properly, can hear wind/noise. Can hear people from the next room when they use toilet, shower. Beds weren’t made properly, portable air conditioner. Expensive considering breakfast wasn’t included. Expected better for the price.

    Good location for city park

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is located centrally, walking distance to restaurants and shops, very friendly and helpful staff, rooms are clean and tidy, beds are very comfortable. Recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a farce, since the hotel carpark is also open to the public and was full of all-day parkers. A number of rooms were being fitted with new carpets, leading to a blocked corridor and strong solvent smell - all temporary except for the smell. Fortunately we were able to open the windows for fresh air. The room's facilities were dated. Having to step into, and out of, a bathtub to shower is potentially dangerous for less-nimble guests.

    The bed was large and comfortable (as advertised), and the room was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few more facilities in bathroom would have been nice eg hand lotion , extra towel/bath mat. I always think it’s necessary to provide a bottle of free water in each room.

    Staff and hotel facilities, eg: breakfast and willingness of staff to assist .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A spacious, clean and comfortable room and bathroom. Slightly faded glory (curtains were disintegrating). I appreciated the front facing room with afternoon sun and an outlook over lower Launceston.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpark could have been a bit bigger. The noise from the pub just outside was a bit annoying and the view was of an alley and pub.

    Loved how close it was to everything in Launceston. Only stated one night as it was on the way to Hobart but everyone loved the rooms. 3 x Double rooms, all next to other which was very convenient, on-site parking was a plus and the beds, all kings were lovely and felt like luxury.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet was leaking water, so the pump went on and on whole night. The air-con/heater was a unit sits at the corner of the room instead of wall. It made loud noises so we couldn't leave it on over night. Not mentioning there was a big patch of wet carpet at one side of the wall, that we had to put a towel over it.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It has the charm of Launceston, yes it needs a bit of an update but that is what makes it feel like home not just another hotel, loved it, will stay again and again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything we didn't like. It was all great

    When we ealked thru the front doors my husband said 'this is a bit fancy'. It was a really lovely hotel and the staff are SO lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very lovely place to say the room was very clean and spacious and no outside noise during the night from other guests. Best night sleep ever when staying at hotels. (First time visitor). The Buffet breakfast was delicious with plenty of variety and cooked to perfection.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hair on the bathroom floor, and it wasn't mine!

    Front desk was not welcoming on both my arrival & my departure! Unlucky for the hotel it was the same person on each occasion!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows are horrid but this applies to 95% of hotels I've stayed in. The T.V quality is a little blurry.

    Drinks were fairly priced with a nice variety. Rooms were larger than expected and very clean. All staff encountered were lovely and exceedingly helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of information in regard to parking. Miscommunication of billing procedure from front service staff and confusion over the check out procedure and staff who were unable to explain what they were doing and then made a mistake and didn't correct it.

    The beds were clean and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our main frustration was that all bar facilities in Hotel closed at 10pm - on a Saturday night and even for house guests. We found this very backward and not catering to your guests - would have assumed it would be 11.30 at least. Rooms and Hotel are getting a bit tired and need a good paint.

    Location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For what we paid, it was very underwhelming. Bathrooms are out dated, there were stains on the floors throughout the room and hallways.

    Close to the CBD

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very out dated and not enough towels, tea and coffee condiments, or no comforts. I don't think this place is value for money.

    The beds were comfortable and clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom has the shower in the bathtub. Are they ready to be sued when someone falls and hurts themselves badly? Room lighting is very poor. The coffee is truly awful and the breakfast buffet is fairly awful: stale bread, overcooked and tasteless eggs, dry and overcooked bacon, cardboard croissants, elderly and flavourless Bircher muesli,dreadful jam... Need I go on? The decor of the foyer is a bordello owner’s dream.

    The beds were pretty good and the bedside reading light was good. The armchairs were fine. Location is fine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a portable air conditioning unit which we chose not to use and had the open window instead as we prefer fresh air. Unfortunately the noise from a nearby nightclub disturbed us until 3.30 am. It was a Friday night and maybe this is not an issue on weeknights. Would make me think twice before booking again.. Apart from this the hotel is very nice.

    The room was clean and the beds comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bags were left with reception who advised they would be placed in the room once it became available, this didn't occur! Hallway was arctic cold yet the room was terrible hot with the only form of cooling being a portable AC unit that sounded like a jet engine (ALL NIGHT) and didn't do much to cool the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed an extra night and price bumped up considerably. Pillows flat and hard, extremely uncomfortable.

    Lovely large comfortable room. Great location, very quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor lighting in rooms, room was really warm. Portable air conditioner was present and turned on when we arrived but too noisy to sleep With on

    Central, clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough car parks in their car park, had purple spotlights shining through my window unless curtains were closed, one big flaw is the room is missing a light in the middle of the room so all light comes from opening curtains or a small lamp but as soon as it starts to get dark the purple lights flood in so minimal lighting in room. Staff mucked a few things up with my booking so check in and breakfast was problematic, coffee and tea sachets hadn’t been refilled and didn’t end up being delivered when I called down.

    Breakfast food was good, good wifi connection and good location, room was old but had everything you need

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The advertised price on booking.com was not honored. No porter was available to assist with luggage. The shower leaked water all over the floor due to faulty renovations.

    The room was well appointed. Parking was convenient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness. Surface peeling on the toilet seat (unhygienic), shabby, broken tiles in bathroom, portable air conditioner that didn’t work very well, noisy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking should be free for house guests in my opinion

    Room was clean and spacious, barely heard any noise and was close to everything in town. Breakfast in the morning was good also

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from my room wasn’t very interesting - have previously had rooms at front of hotel. Limited toiletries provided - only shampoo & conditioner, neither of which I used - shower gel & body lotion would have been good.

    Generous size rooms. Comfortable bed. Bath. Couldn’t hear noise from hallway.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problem although shower curtains make a mess and shower over bath can be a problem mobility wise; parking on site was restricted.

    Central, accessible

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The inefficient and noisy air con in the rooms. Window did not open. The huge fluctuations in room rates.

    The bathroom offerings covered everything you might need in a living away from home environ. Great service in the restaurant, not so much with reception staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The portable air conditioner, in the room, was noisy & could not be left on over night. Which impacted on sleeping conditions.

    Great bathroom. Room was a good size.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Laundry facilities! There was one laundry room containing two household washing machines and household dryers. Industrial machines would have been better. We had to wait 4 hours to use the dryer for one wash and overnight for the other. On the plus side, washing powder and use if the dryers was free.

    Comfortable rooms in a good location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was noisy due to the main road .

    The breakfast selection was fantastic. We dined two evenings and the food was outstanding. The views were superb.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner was a stand-alone unit in corner of the room and the room was warm so we needed to leave on all night but Very Noisy unfortunately

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy air conditioning unit.

    Very central location. We stayed one night in an older room which was a bit tired, had a bed that was a bit firm for my liking, and the room could do with more power points and lighting. Though the layout was great, with plenty of space for luggage. We returned a day later and this time our new room is better and bed more comfortable and the bathroom has obviously been renovated more recently. Love being able to walk to the nearby park, shops, restaurants and river.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel were lovely enough to store out luggage whilst we hiked the overland track. Such amazing service to offer this. Kitchen didnt mind us arriving early for breakie as we had an early start.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was incredibly dated and in need of renovations. Carpet in hallways putridly stained, stale smell in room itself, half the lights wouldn’t turn on, bathroom was dirty (particularly the toilet). The worst thing however was the temperature of the room..... far too hot and the little portable air con didn’t work well enough.... we spent the night with the window open.

    The location of the hotel was good. Easy to walk to restaurants and bars etc.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired,we’ll worn room and bathroom. No valet service to unload car or take ports to room. Desk staff,two only,expected to do everything.

    Good location. Very good bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor air conditioner, noisy, not very effective and instructions not for model fitted

    The rooms are large and the staff are friendly and professional.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The aircon in the rooms was with portable air-conditioning units - they're VERY loud and it would be impossible to sleep with them on. Luckily, windows could be opened but during the day, aircon was needed and it was not very pleasant to have it on.

    The man who checked us in, Luke, was very patient and professional - and rescued me on a later occasion. I needed some help with my rental car and he was very helpful. Thanks Luke! Breakfast also very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy inefficient air conditioner. Portable electric fan was much better! Why do hotels all put woollen doonas on beds in height of Summer? I always take this off.

    Good location. Comfortable bed. Very pleasant helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con in the room was horrendous. The quilt had a few old stains on it (blood) We were only offered FREE parking on checkout. Disgraceful

    The breakfast stage where amazing. MARY was fantastic. Went above and beyond. Definitely an asset.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner is only a portable and really noisy. You can't sleep with it on. Very skimpy on the tea making facilities unless you like herbal tea. Hotel Grand chancellor should take a tip from the Beach Hotel at Burnie there room facilities are fantastic. Not worth the price especially when it didn't include breakfast, that was $20 extra. Probably won't stay there again. But in saying that, its better than the Mercure.

    The hotel is very convenient to the main shopping district.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband was very put off by black hair pile that he found on the bathroom floor when we walked in and little bits of hair that were sitting on bath and a couple of walls. Was a bit odd. Otherwise the room was clean. The aircon was not very effective.

    Beds were comfy and staff very helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel room not of quality expected for the price. Noisy floor air conditioner, shower difficult to adjust (temperature was constantly chaging during the shower), dreary decor. Not what would be expected for a four star hotel.

    Location near shopping and activities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above

    Upon arrival we were greeted by two unsmiling uncooperative receptionists, check in not told which way to lifts nor anything about amenities, etc. The only friendly girl was.... yePP!!! The Trainee !! Extremely dear breakfast, not good value at all. No parking, take your chances with the public car park next door that anyone can meander through during the night. Why? Coz they lease their underground secure carpark to Avis Rental for a pretty buck I suspect ! Typical. Anyways, Ive stayred here twice now. The first time and the last TIME !!!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the money spent I thought we were getting a two bedroom but instead had two beds in one room. When I asked for a parking permit I was told that finding a spot was difficult and if i was lucky enough then to run back in for a discount voucher but hotel facilities stated car parking available! We were then woken at least half a dozen times during the night with guests walking the corridors laughing and talking either extremely loudly or the doors are thin and allow no privacy. My daughter had a sport competition that weekend and was so tired the next day after having an interrupted sleep. I’m sorry but we will not stay here again as it was certainly not value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: