Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne 4 stars

131 Lonsdale Street, 3000 Melbourne, Australia

#120 of 169 hotels in Melbourne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3417 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    5.4
    Comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light on in the hall way all night was annoying. The bathroom has permanent mould and no exhaust fan and the quilt on the bed didn’t have a cover just 2 sheets, one top and one bottom which the bottom one was dirty

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable bedding, lovely big breakfast & late check out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to get secure parking at venue. Perking was a small distance away over the road

    Perfect location for our visit to Melbourne. Staff extremely friendly & helpful, lovely clean room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    We’ll be back !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very old, shower made a funny noise if you had cold & hot water on. Our room was facing the Main Street so we heard everything, construction early weekdays & ambulances throughout the night.Also hallway lights are left on throughout the night which shines through doors lighting up the room. Be careful, they will charge you a $50 hold just for borrowing scales, this happened to us without being told.

    Excellent hotel, great value for money. Rooms are small but you get what you pay for. Great location & only a short walk from Bourke st etc. 24 hour reception was very convenient for our early checkout. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    4.6
    Will no return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Will not come back again The layout of some rooms are inconvenient, and some staff are not very nice. Bathroon is extremely awful, and the water tem is too hot.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    3.8
    Terrible
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was toilet paper and obvious waste in our toilet on arrival. There was dust and particules everywhere as we came out of the lift that extended to our room due to renovations I am told which caused asthma symptoms. I stayed there as I was having surgery and needed to return to my room afterwards as I was not permitted to fly straight home. The renovations were noisy and there were items to walk around in the hallway. We did not see anyone else on the floor we stayed and felt we were the only ones staying in that mess. Value was certainly not for what we paid. Will never return.

    Location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    Good overall stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was construction noise for the four nights we stayed at the hotel.

    The staff were very friendly. Bed was comfortable and the buffet breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Only there for the one night while attending the stage show Mamma Mia at the Princess theatre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much not to like, the only issue would be the noise from across the street during the normal working day

    Accommodation was modern, very comfortable, bathroom modern and well appointed. small balcony on Lonsdale Street, noise from the large building project over the road (working hours only though). In house dining dishes were exceptional (1 - 2 hat status), service impeccable Vehicle valet parking was easy with internal access to the hotel lobby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.3
    Charged for water!! Big setback
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was unhappy that even the water was on charge, you don’t expect that when you spend $164 a night for a hotel room, the hotel can at least provide a water jug and 2 glasses, and anything above that consumption can be charged, I paid $7 for a 1.5L water bottle, and I was sincerely unhappy with this, probably because I have never come across a good hotel charging for water

    The property is in the heart of the city, which makes it a convenient location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    Great overnighter!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was clean, basic, comfortable and convenient... all staff were amazing and I would stay there again. The breakfast was great too! I would recommend this to friends...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    The location was perfect for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy King Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff who cleaned our room forgot to top up the bathroom items and the plug for the bath we asked for each day finally came to our room on our 7th day of asking

    The location was perfect for us

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Good hotel, very good value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wash basin was badly cracked, not a big issue but did lower whar was otherwise an impression of quality about the room.

    Bed was very comfortable, everything else as it should be. Restaurant staff were good and food generous, well cooked and good value. Havent stayed near Chinatown before but proved very handy to most things.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.9
    Awesome time in Melbourne CBD, with a comfy home base and friendly and helpful concierge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike! Bed was comfortable, shower was good, room facilities were all that we needed (tea, coffee etc).

    clean and comfortable room with awesome concierge. Good location if you're taking in the city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Thoroughly enjoyed the ease and comfort of this lovely Hotel and would highly recommend.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bag trolley

    My room got upgraded apron arrival. It was spacious, clean and had an amazing view. I ordered room service, it was fast and delicious. The bed was very comfortable and the bath room was very clean. I left my toothpaste at home, when I checked out the bath there was toothpaste in the room . This saved me a trip and being exhausted I was very grateful. Highly recommend the Grand Chancellor to anyone.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.8
    We were shown the first room which was great but had a king...
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were shown the first room which was great but had a king bed which was not what we ask for ... requested twin beds. The second room was much smaller with very small single beds. Extremely disappointing. Bathroom was very ordinary. No robes in second room like there was in first room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location, staff were lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price we paid we expected breakfast to be included! And the room was extremely hot! We kept turning the heater off but cleaners would turn it back on

    Great location, staff were lovely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    Excellent breakfast spread.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lighting in room is white light, doesn't put me in a relaxed mode. The tap, to control the water temperature for the shower head, is ineffective and loose. There is no ramp at the front of hotel lobby, which makes it very tiring for hotel guests to carry heavy luggages up the flight of 6 or 7 steps.

    Excellent breakfast spread.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location, noisy guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Multiple Inconsiderate guests who stumbled out of the lift and into the hallway with loud voices and slamming doors. This happened at least at least 8 times over 2 nights between 2.30am - 5.30 am,waking my wife and I on every occasion. Mindfulness, it's not difficult!

    Great location, easy walking distance to the Theatres, eateries and great shopping at Melbourne Central and the Emporium etc

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.7
    Good location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    House keeping not very good as both lamps on the table beds had dust on for the whole week of the accomodation. Can hear the traffic from level 15 and wouldn’t want a room near the elevator as you can hear people going up and down.

    The comfortable bed and warm room since it is winter season. Within walking range to Chinatown where it offers so many options for dining. Shopping is around 10mins walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Comfy, clean, quiet, great staff, fabulous pool and an unbeatable location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to get the balance between hot and cold right in our shower and the water pressure could be better, but I've experienced far worse and it wouldn't stop me from staying again.

    the rooftop pool was fantastic, nice view down Lonsdale street from our room, staff are so good-professional, courteous and helpful. The nice woman on the front desk came up straight away to fix a problem I was having with the TV remote. We stayed in an executive queen room on the top floor, without the rollaway bed we had to have for our daughter it would have been less poky, but was still perfectly comfortable. No noise was apparent on our visit, we slept like babies. The balcony is small but fun. Lastly, the location is unbeatable, backs on to Chinatown, the Greek precinct with its awesome cakes is a short walk away, literally surrounded by fabulous restaurants, cafes etc.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    We would return and highly recommend the Grand Chancellor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No one available to help us up the front steps with our luggage as the man on reception unable to leave the desk. We understood this. However, by walking down the side of the building, could access lift in basement.

    Service was professional and our first impression of our room was most favourable. Bed was very comfortable and everything we needed was provided. Were able to have a late checkout which was much appreciated.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Overall, the room was great to stay in, the location was perfect, and the staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that could have been better, was the balcony was quite small and there was a small issue in the bathroom with the toilet flushing sound constantly staying on for some reason!

    The room was great for me and my partner because we went for a short stay! The bed was great and comfortable and it would be cleaned and made everyday by staff which was a bonus! The location is perfect as it backed right onto china town and was within walking distance of flinders street station and plenty of amazing restaurants and shops! If you were planning to stay for more than 5 days I’d definitely recommend a larger room! The staff were very friendly and helpful with whatever we needed! 10/10 would recommend for anybody travelling to Melbourne!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Good for the price and the location as it’s close to everything
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t like how they don’t have microwave and charge you with loads of small things (eg) water, drinks and snacks except coffee and milk

    Like the room and facilities except doesn’t have a good balcony as I requested but overall it’s good for the price and location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable & a very central location. Ni
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fitness Room was locked on afternoon Friday 29 June..not sure why. Card would not work to get through the door. Hard to find from main part of hotel. Felt Signage to the area could be improved. i.e from inside lift and outside of it to Fitness Room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Good room for a cheap price in the middle of Melbourne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was probably a little smaller than I expected but was okay because we weren't in the room much - good if you don't plan on spending time in the room! Also you could hear people out on the hallway and they could probably hear us, so felt like we had to be quiet.

    Lovely service, room was nice. Breakfast was great and the value for money was great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.8
    Overall wasn't happy with stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like upgrade, woke up to construction at 8 am, if had known construction was going on, wouldn't of upgraded room.!!!! Water leak from window, carpet was wet in morning !!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Overall great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel provided an upgrade however that meant no bath in the bathroom. I'm not a gan of only showers. No door on the shower meant water running onto the floor making a slip hazard.

    Great staff. Breakfast had a great variety. Room was well presented.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    5 minutes from room to theatre seat !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not their fault but a lot of major building work going on all about them and it was quite noisy. . The very clean new bathroom's shower seemed to have some sort of design fault and a lot of water ended up on the bathroom floor.

    The hotel was in a great location within walking distance of all the major theatres . The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly.The later than most check out of 11am was much appreciated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    Staff were fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In comparison to other 4 star properties for the same price, the facilities were not as great. The hotel car park was full, the room was tiny & the TV was too small so when watching the football as an example, the screen looked stretched & was cut off

    Staff were fantastic

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.3
    Clean and great cbd position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for a high floor for our anniversary, but we where on a middle level floor, beside the construction next door. But overall we where still happy with our experience.

    Nice clean and well positioned hotel. Breakfast and room service was great food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    A comfortable Hotel ideally located for a show and family dinner in Melbourne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lack of a nice view from window and balcony; air conditioning blew directly over the bed; bedside lamp switches not on lamps but inconveniently on power points; the worst complaint was really a safety issue - the shower floor tiles were extremely slippery when wet and there were NO safety rails within reach.

    The central location; the Hotel amenities; welcoming bar and restaurant area; the well appointed and cosy room; the comfortable bed and pillows; the newly renovated ensuite bathroom; windows that open.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.0
    Nice room, central location and quality food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was offered to pay for an upgrade but not advise that this would move me closer to loud construction works which began at 8am and when I brought it up with reception they were unable to give me a refund or reimbursement for this inconvenience.

    Nice room, central location and quality food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    Good central location just moments from China Town and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the car park were a bit funny. I was allocated a room next to a laundry cupboard with linen thrown all over the place. Not a good view to open your door to!

    Good central location just moments from China Town and shopping district. The heated rooftop pool was great. Good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    5.4
    Convenient location.. and that’s about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed sheets and doona had big yellow stains. No hot water when we tried to shower around 10pm. The fridge and heater were very noisy, making a constant loud humming sound all night, turned the heater off but the fridge was still very loud. Bath was a lot Smaller than expected, didn’t show photos of the bath when booking. Lights in the bathroom flickered and never really turned on properly, not that we could shower anyway due to no hot water. Was told on checkout we should have called about all of the above but we figured it was too late in the night for staff to do much and we were only staying until the morning. Wouldn’t go back for the price I paid!

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable-ish hotel. Good location, average room but good for short term stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no parking on site - you have to park at the Wilson across the road. I paid for my parking at the hotel which was $28 for the night - thinking it was discounted - however when I put my first ticket in the machine (you get given a second paid ticket) it was only $20!!!! Whaaaaaat why did the hotel charge me $8 more - it was meant to be cheaper!

    Comfortable room and bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    Nice bottle of bubbly to enjoy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our 28th Wedding Anniversary, happy that staff were able to tell me the previous name of the Hotel -Chateaux Commodore. I could not believe we had the same aspect as our wedding night . Awesome !! Thank you for making it special.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    3.3
    Not what was advertised on booking.com - disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything - keys didn't work for the first room appointed to us, 2nd room was disgusting and in need of a thorough clean as well as refurbishing, vents were covered in thick dust, curtains felt and spelt dusty and mouldy, carpets were worn and patchy, shower was mouldy. I would rate this motel as a 1 star rating not what it is rated at presently.

    Proximity to city centre and other areas of interest.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.8
    Top location, great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel overall is a little tired, but those things don’t concern us if it’s clean & in a great area.

    Great location. Breakfast was lovely & consistent and the coffee machine was surprisingly good. Room had a verandah & windows to allow fresh air, we really appreciated that. Staff were helpful & happy. Would stay again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    4.2
    Overall a good stay but hotel should show the place some TLC and do a bit of work on the place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the place is a little run down and needs a bit of sprucing up. It also did not feel very clean. However, in saying that the room was fine. But I say that it didn’t meet my expectations as I have definitely stayed at better 3 star hotels then this.

    Good location. And the staff were friendly. One in particular but I didn’t get her name - she is from Rarotonga, Cook Islands and she helped us and brought a first aid kit up when I cut my leg one night. She was very professional and super nice! I feel bad I didn’t ask for her name.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    Great stay. Will return for sure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Public toilet in the foyer were disgusting. Very grotty on our arrival and both male and female were the same. First impression was not good but staff were excellent.

    Great stay. Thanks for the experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Balcony is not a balcony - it was as big as a matchbox - the rest of the rooms are a bit pokey - I had to ask for an upgrade to get a better room

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    not great but not bad either
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    you get what you pay for..it was comfortable but not 5 star luxury. Perfect if you dont stay in the room much, great location, clean, abit noisy but overall I would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    we had a great stay
    • Group
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was a little small but was ok

    parking was easy beds were good pillows were good staff were very greeting had good chat with them pool area was lovely and at night the view was beautiful very close in the city would stay again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.5
    Handy location to shops and dining.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on floor 3. Took a long time for hot water in the shower. Waste precious water waiting for it. Might be quicker on other floors.

    Bed comfy. Economy room exceeded expectations. Clean bright shower bathroom. Lovely night view from the top of the hotel. Swimming Pool area looked inviting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    6.3
    Staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is too much on the hard side. We were in the queen executive room and The shower is terrible and poky. It's inside a narrow bath and once standing up I had to tilt my head because it touched the ceiling. The exhaust fan is loud and does not switch off. No actual hotel parking. Have to park next door which was another $28. Overall not bad for a cheap hotel

    Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.0
    Bed was comfortable ,breakfast was great , staff were lovely.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very dirty, furniture needs updating , bathroom needs updating, shower pressure and taps and control was disgusting would never recommend it to friends or family very disappointed.😥

    Bed was comfortable ,breakfast was great , staff were lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.7
    Comfy bed , clean and presentable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower temp was boiling hot , or freezing , water pressure was terrible , could not have a nice shower even with staff attempting to run my water . Everything else was fine but simply because of this I would stay somewhere else next time , need to shower on my holidays 😬

    Comfy bed , clean and presentable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    Had a good time, only thing really thought wasn't great was having to pay extra for parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could of been updated. Had trouble a few times with cards not opening room but reception helped us. No car parking had to pay extra $28 to park in car park attached to hotel

    The room was great very nice. Bathroom though not very up to date compared to room but still clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    If you want an excellent restaurant nearby go to Sally's Kitchen in Exhibition St
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a very noise fan in the bathroom which went continuously; it it the only hotel we have ever been asked to pay $ 100 extra on check-in even though we had prepaid

    Bed was very spacious and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    I always enjoy my stays at the Grand Chancellor because of the service, comfort, and meals.
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing it was great.

    It was very comfortable, warm and welcoming. The room was spacious and bathroom was a delight. a great shower.The bar staff gave top service and drinks. The breakfast was excellent and the staff were courteous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have used the gowns if there were in the bathroom. The mattress was horrible to sleep on and for that reason I'd find it hard to go back again.

    The fact there was a bath. Reception was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Great for the night and price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small but workable, we chose to keep the king size bed and old bathroom but were offered an upgrade to the newly finished bathroom but queen bed.

    The bed was really comfortable and the breakfast was lovely. The staff were friendly and helpful. Great location and room was quiet. A door you could open for fresh air a real bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    A good stay, value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bath was small (which was not really a problem) but also took forever to fill up (I gave up after only a few centimetres of water))... imagine my disappointment when I then realised it also had a slow leak lol!

    Large room, new bathroom, nice rain shower head. Great location. Nice heated roof-top pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.7
    Was reasonable, did the job and can’t complain for the price paid. Probably wouldn’t stay again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise of construction, room right by a rubbish shoot which smelt, older than pictures made look.

    Handy location in the city, pleasant staff, good housekeeping, tea and coffee selection, good value for inner city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Nice set up room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No screen on shower always worrying if water was running all over the bathroom floor.

    Nice set up room. Good blockout curtains ideal if you feel like a laze around. Quiet room for a lower floor and with all the construction noise in that oart of the city

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.8
    it was an ok hotel, but only 3 star quality
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bathroom had chewing gum squished into the corner. there was really loud motor/fan noise (not the a/c) on and off throughout the night. the keycard to the door had to be swiped a min 3 times before it would work.

    the staff were friendly and helpful. the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Facilities were very good, but check the other costs to pay on top of your booking cost!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren’t aware there was a cost for parking on the site, nor that there was a $100 security deposit to pay upon arrival. Was a bit shocked but all sorted out.

    The room was very cozy for a young couple!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    Underwhelmed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise and vibration from the lift kept me awake on both nights I stayed. The outside noise was also louder than in other motels I have stayed at in the area. It took greater than 5 minutes for the hot water to come through which resulted in a phone call to reception, they were helpful. I wasn't asked on checkout how my stay was so didn't mention the lift noise.

    The location and ease of parking The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    Good location and value for money overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room Key cards quite unreliable, failing several times. The shower would be ice cold or scorching hot at different times, seemingly having a mind of it's own whichever way you turned the fawcett! The room door was a struggle to open and close and made loud noises when doing so.

    Great location. Friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble. Rooms good size and bathrooms nice decor. Room service food good and efficient. Housekeeping made great effort to come back and service the room every time if I slept late and didn't venture out until late.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.0
    It was disaster and totally different to what the pics looked like. Ver disappointed
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    heaps of dust on the walls, have picture for your satisfactions, bathroom tiles were dirty and stained, outside areas was unsafe and have heat pump right there, no chair to sit on, only one towel and had to ask for more and pool towels instead, asked for late check out as I had to work till late, but horrible construction noise and someone making some work in the room next door definitely kept me awake.

    Location, Pool

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    4.6
    The Thursday before check in we were called and offered an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Thursday before check in we were called and offered an upgrade to a King suite.. for $25.. bargain we thought. But turns out our room was tiny, 2 single beda pushed together and a balcony that could only fit one of us at a time that looked straight into a concrete wall. The bathroom door was made of glass and because it was only 30cms away from our bed, any time someone went to the toilet it immediately woke the other up because of the light. This was in no way an upgrade. The foyer toilets on arrival were disgusting as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.8
    The location was central and the buffet breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn’t very comfy carpet was stained in our room. Would have been nice to have known about the construction work right outside our widow . Staff in check in didn’t want to be there we missed out the couple next to us had Jessica checking them in and she was amazing we didn’t get offered anything or told about anything from our guy

    The location was central and the buffet breakfast was delicious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    I realy enjoyed my stay and would be inclined to book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was the view from the window but you win sime you lose some

    I liked how friendly the staff were, we were Upgraded for no reason, the rooms were clean and spacious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.5
    Convenient Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had asked for a phone call when the room would be ready, unfortunately I did not receive one. I also spoke to a lady the day prior to our arrival about an upgrade, she said the receptionist will inform me of all options when we check in, this did not happen.. Had working in hotels myself, I expected or at least assumed our bags would had been placed in the rooms when ready, however when we were checking in our bags were handed to us to do ourselves..

    Bed was super comfortable & the room was a great size for the two of us

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    5.8
    Bed is soft and good to sleep
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff with poker face and all the furniture need to be refebnished. They arrange me the room just beside the lift so I can not fall to sleep because so much nosie from the old lift!!! Jesus

    Bed is soft and good to sleep

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Centre of the city value with a roof top pool and free wifi... Yay!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room service food was ok, but not amazing and at times it was a little slow, the counter service at the front desk was slow at times, but this was not that much of a problem due to the infreqeuncy that we needed to liaise with the front desk.

    The staff were friendly and polite, and the room was clean, and I loved the location and the rooftop pool. It is an older hotel but is comfortable and great value for money, I would definately stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Over all a good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only down full was the food, the mains were average for the price, I would have expected more flavor and feel like I could have made something better (I'm not the best cook), However, the desert was good just needed more of it.

    Overall was a good place to stay and in a good spot, close to most things and the staff was friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.3
    Close proximity to china town and good restaurants and bars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms is tiny, shower was either HOT or cold, and not sound proof could hear someone on other side of adjoining room door.

    Close proximity to china town and good restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head was the only annoying thing, it would spray little bits of water in different direction, on the ground.

    The size of the room was good for the price, bed was comfortable and big, good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    The Staff were so very helpful and the room was warm.
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels had a strange smell & the room was a bit too warm during the night... otherwise all was well.

    The Staff were so very helpful and the room was warm.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    great, will definitely use this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    renovations on the floor below us got a little irritating with the noise but they did warn us beforehand and they had strict start/finish times. Hotel holds $100 on check-in just in case there is room damage, but this is released after a few days once you check out.

    Very convenient location, we walked from the hotel to flinders street to catch a tram to Hisense arena, also an easy walk to watch the ANZAC Day march. Chinatown is very close and also the QV shopping centre, I forgot to pack swim wear so a quick trip to the Big W in the basement of the QV and we were sorted :) The swimming pool was really pleasant and very warm, travelling with a teenager and she loved the experience of swimming at night on the roof. Lots of options for restaurants close by, and easy access to the trams.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.7
    Great, helpful and really friendly stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated bathrooms Rather poor breakfast

    Great, helpful and really friendly stuff We had to change the room due to technical issues and got an upgrade, the new room was nice and modern Nice pool

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.7
    Will never stay there again purely because staff are not trustworthy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Once I unpacked back at home I realised I had left an expensive eyeshadow pallet behind in my hotel room. I rang the hotel up and they had said that nothing had been handed in from housekeeping. If housekeeping hadn’t handed it in they had obviously kept it for themselves because in my bathroom was the only place I used my eyeshadow pallet and if it didn’t come home with me there is no where else it could possibly be!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    room was a good size bed comfy great shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bit noisy out in the street at night....cars. Was in the middle of China Town which was not indicated by booking.com.

    room was a good size bed comfy great shower. Very central location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Room was extra close to the elevator.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t any cold water in the shower, so that made it difficult to shower. Pillows were terrible.

    Room was extra close to the elevator. Had a nice view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.9
    The room was very warm and inviting and the facilities were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very warm and inviting and the facilities were great! The rooftop swimming pool is particularly outstanding swimming with the city all around you

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: