Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane 4 stars

321 Flinders Lane, 3000 Melbourne, Australia

#42 of 169 hotels in Melbourne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 99 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Paid WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 67

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Three attempts to get a keycard that worked. Booked a twin room, ended up with a king bed. Really really noisy people in the room next door at 2:30am.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    My partner thought the water pressure in the shower was a little soft ;)

    The bed was super comfortable! All the staff were amazing from our phone calls to in person. We were able to check in early which suited our plans. Overall amazing!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very comfortable, but my pillow was a bit firmer than I like. (There may have be alternatives but I was too tired to investigate.)

    The room we stayed in was huge, but still felt warm and cosy. It has been stylishly modernised while still retaining all the beautiful character of the original building. It was amazingly quiet, especially considering the hotel is located right in the busy heart of the city. The staff were friendly, efficient and helpful at all times. Staying here felt like a luxurious treat and I definitely plan to come back here again in the future.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff do not appear to fully trained. No cups at coffee machine. Dirty cups there the next day. The quality of bathroom tissues very poor.

    Self upgraded to Level 6 Courtyard Level. Excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were only two towels available for two people for the entire duration of our trip and nobody came to refresh our room at any point during the stay.

    The room was enormous and very nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was definitely the most spacious room I have stayed in so far in Melbourne and I have spent equal $$ on other appartments. It has a separate lounge kitchenette and bedroom completely. Definitely would recommend!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    One bedside light didn't have a bulb but that's it.

    Bed and lounge were comfy, very modern, exceptionally clean, quality TV's, amazing bathroom (perfect mirror for makeup artists!).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WIFI throughout the hotel was so slow it was not useable and tethering to my phone not much better as it was only a 3G connection - eliminates this hotel as a choice for the business traveller

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed, Pillows both hard. No servicing included and we weren't notified until we checked in. Cost of initial night was inflated each other night. Not shown on website and not impressed.

    Location only

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A wonderful Hotel with a old world charm. Very central and right near Flinders St Station. You can walk to everywhere. The apartment was a great size and perfect for a weekend away. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was not given access to wifi even tho I am a member of ACCOR. I requested a 1pm check in but was told that my room may not be ready as it is a 2pm checkin.. I checked in at 2 pm and my room was still not ready. I had to attend a meeting without being able to freshen up in my room..

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't even think being in the city with a street room about the noise on a Saturday night however it wasn't too bad

    Absolutely LOVED the room decore! Bed was delightful!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A simple hotel run room service would have been an asset. We didn't try the link with a nearby restaurant. It seemed an unknown.

    Very pleasant helpful staff. Very comfortable room. Great bathroom. Near Melbourne lanes and good dining.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was a let down, it is too small and should really have a second sink and the lighting in the whole apartment is terrrible. There was no where I could get enough light to put on my makeup. There was no a cofee making machine and no complimentary water.

    Its location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent room, very comfortable and well laid out. Lovely bathroom and all the soap and shampoos were a cut above the usual. An easy walk to a vast choice of cafes and bars. 100m to Elizabeth St trams and the same to the City Circle service. Also the staff we came in contact with were happy and helpful. Ripper place to stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Facilities starting to show their age (Oct 2016) In the process of some renovation when I stayed

    Central location in Melbourne City Close to numerous restaurants, shops, and transport Friendly, professional staff Room kept clean

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Immediate vicinity felt a little unsafe at night. The picture is misleading as the hotel is in a little narrow lane. Cleaning could be a lot better.

    Roomy apartment in an inner city location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is unfortunately no pool facility and you have to pay to use the gym. We didn't get our room cleaned the whole 3 nights that we stayed there.

    The location is PERFECT. A short walk from the main shopping centres. Food places and pubs seconds from the door. And a 5 minute walk from Yarra River and crown. The suite was perfect, so spacious and clean. With a full kitchen and lounge room. Would 100% stay here again!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendlier staff member on the front counter. Nothing overall wrong with her, but could have been more fioendly.

    The great size suite that we had with the tasteful decor. Room was very large and had an outside access area. Beautiful and centrally located for us.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room service on a weekend! Housekeeping didn't want to give extra towels, I needed them as the shower floor is extremely slippery and with a disability if I slipped there was nothing to grab onto, beds were extremely uncomfortable, for $400 for the night I would expect to at least be comfortable

    Great location, friendly staff, spacious room, parking is valet, loved the lounge in the lobby with the extra large chairs and the Nespresso coffee machine

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No room service cleaning of the room) each day was a bit of a surprise.

    Room was comfortable, location was very central and good. Car parking was tight and I prefer to do it myself.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Spacious rooms and location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room is small, not spacious, felt very squashy.

    Excellent LOCATION, clean room, lovely staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great friendly service, comfy beds, hot shower, fabulous location and an awesome vibe

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was very convenient, good size bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and the room was really nice and spacious. Staff really helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no instructions on how to work things and ended up sleeping without any air con.

    Fancy, clean, great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very central good walking distance to basically everywhere

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for a check out 1 hour later than normal check out and was declined

    Spacious modern room, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So much room and nicely furnished

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good - can't complain about anything.

    Overall - Super Service by staff, clean and convenient location. Excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very well equipped accommodation, comfortable and close to Melbourne centre. Laundry facility especially appreciated.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Large room, excellent bed and ripper shower. All staff were very happy and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A longer stay.

    Very nice hotel. Large rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a maxi taxi at reception to take us to a wedding....the staff member failed to order it and we were late to the wedding. Not very happy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Inner City convenience

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All great

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet down

    Location styoe

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room were a little small. No mini bar drinks. No Bar in hotel.

    Staff and parking were excellent. Beautiful small hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was a bit smaller than we're used to.

    Location of the hotel & comfort of accomodation.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely boutique hotel, close to everything 😊

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pictures showed bar and there was no bar

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Inner city boutique hotel with friendly staff and comfortable accommodation.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows

    Great room layout

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location excellent, very quiet, bed extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service from staff, not enough glasses in room, different sized glasses (not matched), could not control air conditioning

    Shower, decor, bed

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful bathroom and spacious room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and very quiet. Air con needs clearer markings and instructions Found it difficult to change temp

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything about our suite and would definitely stay again, much better than a hotel room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything that wasn't great.

    Everything was fantastic it help make an amazing trip that much more comfortable & relaxing

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little hard

    Location was great

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very spacious clean modern rooms with great cooking/dining areas. extremely friendly staff willing to help with anything and great location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and room Will defiantly stay again!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, comfort and decor. All staff encountered at the desk were exceptionally good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ver comfortable bed

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Overall feel of the common areas/ foyer were not overly appealing lacked atmosphere. No privacy from opposite buildings once curtains were opened . Not enough natural light . Overpriced for what it was compared to other stays elsewhere

    The concierge was very helpful in organising us a hire car.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very limited extras. Extremely limited free wifi (30 minutes per day and only available in lobby) and no newspapers in the lobby. Some staff were not very interactive with guests and we're not easily visible or easy to find at the front desk.

    Central location, large accommodations and (free) coffee machine in lobby.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The lack of free wi-fi in rooms was very disappointing for a traveller halfway across the world staying in the Sebel for a week. I'm interested to know whether The Sebel advertises itself as business friendly. The prices to pay for access were nothing short of extortionate (27AUD / 24hr). On the plus side there is 30 mins free per day in the lobby areas and most cafes and public areas nearby offer it for free too. However that's not really the point, because I should be able to work out journeys, keep in contact with others for free in the convenience and comfort of my room and I wasn't able to do that in the Sebel. Next time, I would personally prefer to stay somewhere cheaper that offers complimentary Internet.

    Let's start off with the location. For travellers/visitors to Melbourne, The Sebel offers a virtually unbeatable location. The location on Flinders Lane is very central and close to many amenities including free trams, shops, cafés, tourist attractions and many more. The apartment building itself was well kept and clean. The room I stayed in was very spacious and had some good amenities. In fact, it was arguably too spacious for a single traveller! As it was an apartment and it is serviced 4 days a week, it is very welcome to have a lie in and not fear for a knock on the door from housekeeping.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complimentary wifi for guests.

    Location very central but still very quiet. We stayed on Level 9. Room layout was fantastic and ambience great.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi was appalling. ... free 30mins in one go was not explained and it didn't stay connected. ..very frustrating

    The location

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was superb - in the midst of cafe district and short walk to all main features.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location is good.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Paid WiFi

    Location & staff professionalism & friendliness

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Paid gym Leather lounge

    Small intimate feel Functional apartment

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Location was great and very central, nice to be on a quiet street, room was very nicely appointed, no complaints here!

There are also 35 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 67

Guests also reviewed these properties: