Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

8-10 Palmer Street, 4810 Townsville, Australia

#13 of 75 hotels in Townsville

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1182 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    8.8
    The area was great and plenty of restaurants to visit so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Was unable to get on the wifi system. When you did extremely slow, so with that I just used my hot spot and it was 100 times faster and more secure. So if you rely on wifi you missed the spot here make sure you have plenty of data available. Cheers

    The area was great and plenty of restaurants to visit so that you didn't have to eat at the same place twice if you didn't want to. Easy 2 min walk into the shops and just a few more mins and your down on the water front

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    9.2
    Great spot for a longer stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom exhaust fan didn't work(or doesn't exist?) so it got uncomfortably hot/steamy during a shower. Also the water spray from shower ends up pooling around the toilet after a few successive showers. The TVs and the in house system they use were small (by my standards) and a little outdated. Pool isn't heated.

    Great staff, location, generous room size and comfortable beds. Sofa bed meant no one had to sleep next to each other (4 adults). Everything was clean and in generally good to great condition. Would happily stay here again for a long trip.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    8.8
    Location, Location, Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Entry to 1BR apartment is combined with a common entry to a standard room. This requires accessing two swipe locked doors close to one another, just to enter one room or the other. Clumsy set up, particularly when carrying luggage etc. Clearly designed to convert to a two BR unit when both inner doors are propped open, but our outer door malfunctioned locking both us and our neighbour out of our respective rooms. Staff fixed the door lock immediately but it did leave us feeling a little like we were staying in a "secure lockup facility". Poor architectural design. Noisy roller door across the road during the daylight hours but otherwise an enjoyable stay.

    Apartment had all necessary kitchen items for an eat-in or alternatively, we chose a great steak house right next door. Lots of pubs and other eateries nearby and conveniently located near Townsville's marine precinct. Free on site car parking was available nearby, but for $15 extra, secure lockup was located at the rear entrance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    8.3
    Very good apart from excessive aircon noise from adjacent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise if the aircon units and compressors if the next door hotel When lying by the pool. Unacceptable . And had to keep balcony door closed during day fir same reason

    The Staff and its location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    10
    Great rooms, excellent location. Would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found nothing to complain about.

    The staff were very friendly, check in was seamless and the rooms are very well appointed. We found the beds to be extremely comfortable too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    7.5
    We booked into a room for one night and was requested to lay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked into a room for one night and was requested to lay $100 deposit which we did. A week later we are still waiting for the deposit back... we ring the hotel to which they state they forgot to refund the deposit!!!! Unbelievable!! No one rang us, no one checked their accounts.... if we hadn’t chased this up they would’ve had $100 free!! This is NOT good customer service.. we were very pleased with the location and accommodation but this has certainly left a sour taste... if you take peoples money make sure to give it back as quickly as you took it 😡

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    10
    Our stay was very central, room so clean, staff happy to help. Very happy would stay again. ,
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sofa be was really uncomfortable for the 2 kids. Could not get a park inside the hotel our whole stay had to park on the road.

    Bed super comfy. So clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    10
    Room was fantastic, very spacious and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was fantastic, very spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable. The layout of the room made it very convenient to live in. Great location. I would definitely stay here again if in Townsville.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    10
    A Swanky Place in Townsville
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was swanky. It was located in a great area not far from a craft beer house. It was very clean, comfortable, and the staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    7.9
    Overall it was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lighting in the room was not great at all. The shower head sprayed water over the entirety of the bathroom and there was no fan in the bathroom which made it very foggy and steamy.

    The location of the venue was excellent as were the staff. Onsite parking was extremely convenient also

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    9.2
    Nice stay but let down by housekeeping / admin errors.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was charged for Coke from Minibar and Movies on Demand even though I didn't use any minibar item or watched any movie. However, after contacting the Hotel directly, they did refund the erroneously charged amount.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    5.8
    Was a decent size room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pillows were horrid. Mould in the shower. No view from balcony. Sofa bed old, hard, squeaky, lumpy, no sheets and had something that looked like blood splattered on it. 'King bed' is 2 singles pushed together. No ipod dock. NOISE from neighboring rooms ridiculous, didn't sleep at all. Over charged for room. Abused and spoken to terribly and hung up on by staff and management when querying my money being refunded.

    Was a decent size room. Had what we needed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    9.6
    A Delightful Hotel with Amazing Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Just the amount the hotel charged for using our credit card.

    We had an apartment with a balcony. If there was such a thing as a downside, it was that the balcony overlooked the street, to be exact, the bottle shop so we were very conveniently located! The apartment was very spacious, nicely decorated with TVs in both the living room and the bedroom. The bed was a king size and was very comfortable. The bathroom was huge with a washer/dryer and lots of amenities which were replenished daily. The rooms were cleaned daily and bins emptied. As for the front desk staff, they were amazing. Every one of them bent over backwards to be accommodating and helpful eg organising taxis, connecting the WiFi and suggesting dining venues etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    10
    Love, the place so much
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shopping centre was some minutes away.

    The hotel was convinient and suits me when i was there for three days. It was amazing for me to see the facilities ...Eveything was Perfect..love the place. Recommend families to stay and spend the holiday.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    10
    Excellent location, walking distance to some great restaurants! Value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location in Palmer St, walking distance to some great restaurants! Large one bedroom apartment with all facilities you need with a view to the river. Super comfy beds and pillows! Staff were very accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    7.9
    Great Reception Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Connecting to wifi was confusing because we didn't book directly with the hotel. Two apartments share a common entry which makes it noisy when occupants of the other apartment enter late at night.

    Ros at reception was extremely helpful and accommodating. She upgraded us to an apartment due to a mix up with our booking. She also gave us a complimentary bottle of wine as it was my birthday. Polly was also helpful helping to sort out the wifi connection.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    8.8
    Good short stay in centrally located apartment, clean and well appointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sofa bed not very big for 12 and 10 year olds to share.

    Convenient location, clean rooms with reasonable cooking facilities. Spacious balcony attached to the room. When room was locked up, complete quiet from external road noise - wouldn't even know you were in Palmer St.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    10
    Brilliant place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing at all to dislike

    Brilliant place to stay. Loved everything about it. Have booked to stay here again on our way home. Refreshing to have such lovely staff in reception.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    9.6
    Close to city centre and dining
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The LED lighting in the room was 'cold white' not 'warm white' and a bit harsh.

    The property is just a few minutes walk from the city centre and on a street with plenty of dining options, but is still in a quiet location. The room was well-appointed and comfortable. Check in was very quick and friendly, and the staff helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The washer dryer took a rediculus amount of time

    The staff were fantastic and went to great lengths to make sure our stay was enjoyable The room was great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    6.3
    Grand Hotel not so Grand
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't like paying a 250 deposit and not being warned about it upfront especially as locals and especially no thanks to booking.com

    The bed was like a cloud and room layout was fantastic

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant stay, suitable for our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dining setting was very outdated. Carpet throughout could do with an upgrade. Batteries in remote for stereo unit were old (acid leaked). Unit very dated, could be replaced by something with USB ports. Remote for TV in the lounge did not work. Tried the bedroom remote (TV models same) but without success. Fuzzy screen at all times. Could not get TV to work manually. Batteries for any remotes should be regularly checked.

    The bed was very comfortable. The staff, very friendly. Location was excellent. Quiet. Upgrade was affordable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    9.2
    The young lady working at reception had a great bubbly...
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn’t stay long enough.

    The young lady working at reception had a great bubbly personality. Excellent customer service. She went above and beyond for us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    10
    Awesome stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were greeted very warming at reception by the staff & selected to be VIP for the weekend which was a very nice surprise. What I really liked most about this property was the additional security door to our room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    10
    Central location to The Strand and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Were not told we had to leave a $200 bond on the room at time of checkin. Apparently it could take up to seven days to be recreated the money.

    Room was clean. Bed was comfortable. Central location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    9.6
    The property was well presented.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My only fault with the apartment was the washer / dryer. I don't have this at home . I think seperate washer dryer is better.

    The property was well presented. Plenty of room in the apartment. And secure car parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    10
    Great location Great accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great. No complaints at all.

    Very clean, beds comfortable. Location excellent. only stayed one night but would stay there again and also recommend it to friends.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    10
    Great weekend away with my wife - great location for bars and restaurants and a lovely walk along te
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The remote for the stereo did not work- the batteries were completely corroded, so it had been like this for some time.

    The shower and bath were great! I hate it when the water pressure is mediocre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    10
    Brief but comfortable, quiet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Business during the day & evening, back to room during the night & gone at 5.45am next morning. So didn’t have time to enjoy the comforts of your hotel, But staff were great & bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    5.8
    it was an ok stay, not worth the value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    blinds hard to close, carpet in bedroom cleaned great, sliding door to bedroom wouldn't close, shower head faulty.

    the bed and pillows good, A/C good, kitchen good. staff service great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    10
    The hotel was full so was unable to park our car on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was full so was unable to park our car on the property, however they do give you notice and there is an option of paid secure parking so wasn’t a massive issue.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    10
    Excellent Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to pay extra for undercover parking

    Liked the layout of the apartment very much, spacious and clean. Had everthing you would want in an apartment. Close to restaurants in Palmer Street and close to the city mall.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    10
    Great place to stay and central to all eateries
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free outer carpark gets busy at night and sometimes hard to get parkin, however that is expected given the popularity of this place.

    Great overall experience, I've been to Townsville 3 times in the last month and have stayed there all 3 times.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    10
    The property was nice and close to restaurants and town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could have used a jug for water in the fridge as mini bar was the only option if you got thirsty

    The property was nice and close to restaurants and town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    10
    Overall, great. Thank you
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I really dont appreciate the $250 freeze on my credit card, it still hasn’t gone back into my account & it’s been 5 days.

    Scored the VIP guest of the day! Yahoo!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    9.6
    Frielndly staff and amazing place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could not think of anything we didn’t like... amazing hotel

    Staff were amazing, had a small issue that got resolved within minutes! We will be back for sure next time we are in town!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    6.3
    For the amount of money that I paid I expected more at lets it could have been clean .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rm to small . No facility to make your own meals , sheets had stains on them and bathroom was mouldy.

    Staff was friendly some and didn’t know what they where talking about .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    9.6
    Good option for a stay with the family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good!

    Good option for a stay with the family. Comfortably located in the city center. Well equipped room - sofabed only acceptable for children. FOC parking next to hotel and friendly helpful staff! Would stay again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    4.6
    Please DO NOT Book This Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you do not wish to read the entire review just read this paragraph. If you're searching for a hotel to stay in Townsville during an event weekend such as groovin the moo, I cannot stress to you enough, DO NOT book this hotel. The rules are incredibly restricting and invasive, they make every guest wear wristbands and they thought my mothers' wristband was not tight so they invaded her personal space and made her let them put another wrist-band on her wrist. There are so many better options for hotels in Townsville for much more affordable prices WITHOUT the absurd restrictions and insincere staff treatment. DON'T BOOK THIS HOTEL, JUST DONT DO IT. Firstly, I had sent out a specific email to the hotel 2 months prior to the check in date asking if the bond was $100 per person. I did this in order for everybody staying to be prepared by depositing the correct amount of money into one persons' account to which they replied by ensured me that the bond was merely $200 for the whole room. Upon arrival, I was met with a $600 bond (as it was a 6 person room) meaning that the hotel staff had blatantly lied to me in the previous email exchange. Thankfully I had the available funds to place a deposit down however if I had not it would've been of great inconvenience to me as well as the 5 other people I was staying with due to the deceit of the staff. When we dared to question any of this hotels' unreasonable rules, we were met by condescending and passive aggressive receptionists that explained that at check in we signed a document that agreed to this bond. However, my issue with this is, forgive me for being so extremely critical but, upon booking a non refundable room and being ill-informed about the bond requirements, it seems a bit unprincipled to spring a $600 bond upon check-in of a non-refundable room AFTER being put under the impression BY THE HOTEL STAFF that the bond would only be $200.

    the beds were comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable, great location. Staff very helpful. Room very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I thought the rate on Saturday night was really expensive through booking.com and also believed it was going to be self contained. However when I rang direct on Friday I was given a great rate for the night,

    Staff helpful, close and easy for travel to shops and the city

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    10
    Everything the executive suite was amazing on level 18 and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything the executive suite was amazing on level 18 and had an awesome river, ocean and mountain view! I’ll be sure to stay here again on my travels back up north !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    8.3
    The cleaner banging on our door, when we opened it up she...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cleaner banging on our door, when we opened it up she stated “what are you guys doing check out was at 11”. We had planned ans organised to check out at 12. She was rude.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    10
    Great polite service nice and quiet always relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mattress where the bed joins in the middle needs a mattress topper But that is being picky

    Got upgraded with security parking Free Movies and Wifi Close to restaurants

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    8.8
    Clean and comfortable. Friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For a three night stay, 2 desert spoons are not enough. I don’t like eating my breakfast with a soup spoon and when a dishwasher is in place it is ridiculous to only have cutlery for one meal.

    We had an apartment because we like to do our own thing for breakfast. It was spotless and comfortable except for the lounge. It was extremely hard and very uncomfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    7.1
    Great location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were given the disabled persons room, great if you're disabled though. Bathroom had no cupboards/bench to put our toiletries, just a small sink. Not much bench space in room either. Pillows were flat & uncomfortable. We don't believe we should have to pay extra $ for decent pillows as you advertise.

    Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air-conditioning needs servicing

    Everything it is perfect. I have stayed at most the hotels in Townsville and this is definitely the one I will be staying at from now on.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    9.6
    Great spot close to everything but nice and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Balcony was tiny and not very good because the wall was so high and solid - when I sat on the chair I was looking at wall.

    Lovely big shower. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    8.8
    Great and clean apartment (apart from the uncomfortable sofa bed), close to eateries and CBD
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We slept on the fold out sofa as our children are young and go to bed early so we gave them the bedroom. Unfortunately the sofa mattress was really uncomfortable as the springs dug into our backs. Luckily we only stayed a couple of nights. Would have liked the full kitchen and bath included in the room description / amenities as I would have bought more prepared meals for my toddler.

    Very clean and apartment looked 'new'. The full kitchen and bath were an extra surprise as only expecting a fridge and shower in the ensuite. Great location as close to the eateries in Palmer street and a short walk to the CBD. The strand close by also. Staff were friendly and helpful. Option of free outside parking was good as we didn't want to pay for undercover parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    10
    Great value in excellent location, nice hotel
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, room was very large , very clean. Location is excellent, parking was great. Arrival and check-in was well handled and I will be booking again when I travel to Townsville.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    10
    Very comfortable and enjoyable, and were made to feel welcome.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The WiFi was a little slow and unreliable.

    The staff were extremely helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The car window wash was a very pleasant surprise!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    9.2
    A good and central located hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is central located with great restaurants and bars just around. The room was spacious as well as the bathroom. There was also a secured parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    8.8
    I loved how close it is to food places.
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn’t like however that the doors were so hard to open and navigate a pram through the double locking door system... the elevators were quite small for a pram and three adults... the room we stayed in had a broken futon which we were ok with as it was just our daughter sleeping on it and they gave us a refund for that bed... the curtains are a pain to open and close to get to the door to the balcony... unfortunately I do believe the rooms need a bit of work the general wear and tear is starting to show now... I have stayed at this property about 2 years ago and had high hopes they had kept the standard up but I wasn’t as near impressed as my first stay... but all in all it was a great stay regardless of those few minor issues

    I loved how close it is to food places... and loved how convenient it was... the staff were amazing!!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    10
    bed was excellent - extremely comfortable and soft
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    faceplate on double gpo in main area was loose, shower rose needed replacing (worn out and water sprayed everywhere) and water ran over the lip of the shower area

    bed was excellent - extremely comfortable and soft

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    10
    Great night’s sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only suggestion I would give is to put some shade over or around the pool

    The room was super clean and spacious and the bed was the most comfortable bed I have slept in in years.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    9.6
    Townsville -- the little town worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fold out bed was not very comfy to lie on

    Great location; quite quiet Surprised to have a one-bedroom unit rather than a typical 'hotel room' layout.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was always clean and looked presentable. The room was above my expectation and the location is great. Will definitely be staying there more often!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    5.4
    The lady at reception was not very helpful or friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lady at reception was not very helpful or friendly. Car parking was supposed to be included however as there was no parks left we had the option of parking at another motel or paying for a park in the secure lock up. The apartment was not clean and the blankets in the cupboards had been used and were back in the cupboard unfolded. The bed was unconfortable and we were woken at 2am by people staying in the next room having sex in the hallway and then again at 7am on a sunday morning from blasting music. Overall our stay was horrible.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    7.5
    Will not stay again because of deposit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It says FREE WIFI on website but it's not. I paid $22.50 for 1 day and after 2 hours it was gone . Ripped ! The $200 deposit actually hurts when your on Holidays and booking over Easter with public holidays I don't get that back till we home. $258 + $200 for 1 night stay 😣

    Close to Food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    10
    perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the price of the food etc in the mini bar...way too expensive.

    very friendly professional staff, perfect hotel to stay on a short term or long term basis. will definitely be coming back and recommending this hotel to others!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    9.6
    Bed was a little uncomfortable as it was two singles joined...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was a little uncomfortable as it was two singles joined together. Stayed here several times and this was the first time the bed was uncomfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    10
    Great location, view of the river, restaurants close by.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    door stop not able to keep door open when entering and exiting.

    Great location, view of the river, restaurants close by. Big comfy bed, nice linen and pillows. Spacious room, free wifi, onsite free parking. Easy check-in and check out, friendly staff. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2018

    10
    Excellent, well priced stay right in Palmer Street
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small wall mounted television made picture and sound quality poor when we wanted to watch a film in the evening

    Big spacious room, immaculately clean, lovely reception staff, great location, big shower, room was quiet

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    8.8
    Since my last stay they have stepped up the small things.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No room service. Nothing huge, but always nice.

    Since my last stay they have stepped up the small things. Comp water, well stocked mini bar. Its the small things when you travel alot that set you apart.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2018

    10
    Department of clean very comfortable very well serviced and we'll appointed to cafes and restaurants
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing that I didn't like I was very happy especially when there was no parking outside they let me park undercover without charge

    It was all good all around very happy thank you

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    6.7
    Prob wouldn't stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booking.com told me the room bond would be $200 cash. When i got there the older lady at the counter told me it would be $500 cash bond or $250 on my card.. wish was money I didn't really plan for. Also they had a Tradie in the pool area an it sounded like some one was knocking on more door for an hour straight at 6am.. would have liked a sleep in since I'm traveling

    The room was huge for the price

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms were very clean, the bed super comfy. Loved the friendly staff and it was in an awesome location. I would definitely recommend the Grand to my family and friends.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2018

    5.8
    Location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisey doors slamming all hours of the night. Parking not available on site which needs to be booked prior to arrival which we were not advised of.

    Location is great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    7.1
    Average
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When advertise spa it needs to be working apparently the button keeps breaking so now they are just leaving it. Our room had the smallest tv in it. Also I didn't like that if you had something from the mini bar it wasn't replaced the next morning you had to ask reception if you want the same drink again!! There was one staff member that was rude I came across her twice and most hotels have complimentary bottled water now not this one.

    Great Location and majority of staff were friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    9.6
    A quality place. It is obvious thatmanagement know what they are doing. Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lighting could be better. Although we didn't. use it, the TV seemed out of sync with the quality & size of the room (room 451) - a bit small on a large wall.

    Comfortable bed, quality shampoo/soap etc, Nespresso machine, good shower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    9.6
    Easy weekend getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our first room on third floor (right) didn’t have a very appealing room, but the second room on fourth floor (left) had a wonderful view over the river and the city.

    The staff was really really helpful at all times. The wifi stopped working in our room and they offered us to move room, excellent service!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    7.5
    Nice room but I won’t stay here again.
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The ridiculous damage deposit, parking hassles and abrupt reception staff who gave me attitude when I queried the pre-authorisation amount.

    Bed was comfortable, shower was awesome, view from the small balcony was lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2018

    10
    Great place, great view, will stay again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The clothes washer / dryer all in one system was not a very good device, however when I asked the staff for assistance they did and they used there dryer to speed up the drying time of clothes

    Great location in town

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2018

    10
    We will only stay here from now on when we go to Townsville
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We travel regularly to Townsville for work and we've stayed at many places. We won't be staying anywhere else now. The Grand was so clean, comfortable, quiet and felt like a little holiday for us (when we weren't working). Staff were friendly and helpful and we had no complaints at all.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2018

    9.6
    Great staff, great place, would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very kind and upgraded my room when I mentioned I was there for an anniversary with my partner. Room was nice and clean, great location, good facilities. All-round great experience

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2018

    10
    You HAVE to stay here!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were so friendly upon arrival even at 9pm at night. The place was easy to find, and parking was just out the front of check in. The location is perfect with shops and food places around. The room themselves were spacious, clean and comfortable with free on demand movies!

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: