Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens 4.5 stars

Cnr Broke and Macdonald Road, 2320 Pokolbin, Australia

#14 of 22 hotels in Pokolbin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 773 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Relaxing and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a fabulous location in the Hunter Valley! We could walk to a few restaurants and wineries. Buffet breakfast was like other places but the staff running it were so friendly and helpful. It made waking up easy! Our room stayed warm through some very cold temperatures so we were comfortable all night. The bathtub was fabulous! Having the atrium window above was special and felt luxurious. We had a delicious cheese platter waiting for us when we arrived with a great selection of cheese and fruits. I was surprised how many families with small children were also staying as we didn’t hear them in our room at all. Parking was directly outside our room and very convenient. We didn’t use our courtyard but it was lovely to be able to walk out and wander around the resorts gardens from the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Bed was fairly comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tired - needs a revamp to justify what they charge. There was NO water pressure so shower was horrible - it just dribbled out. Breakfast was also a little lacklustre for 4 stars...

    Bed was fairly comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    Apart from bed size, it was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can never tell what “double” bed means. Sometimes it’s a king size and sometimes a king single size. This was actually a double and felt very small

    Good location and clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable and relaxed
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was appreciative they were able to give me a room with wheelchair access at short notice and that they were able to allow us into our rooms earlier to enable us to get ready for the wedding we attending. I would have liked to have stayed longer but was not able to. Will definitely consider returning to the Hunter Valley for a longer stay when I am more mobile and will definitely consider staying at the Mecure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable and beautiful weekend away at a Beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing really that we disliked about our stay!

    The location was excellent very close to everything. Room was quite spacious Also we were very glad that we booked the breakfast included package the breakfast was delicious!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.0
    Location was good, room was dirty and cleaners left the door open with belongings in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room (4 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit dirty and very dusty in the air conditioning vents and along the edges of the carpet. The shower floor looked as though it hadn't been cleaned properly in a while so we wore thongs in the shower. Also the morning we went to check out we went down for breakfast and the cleaners must have come past and realised we hadn't left yet so they left the door wide open with our belongings still in the room. My handbag and wallet were sitting on the bed in plain view of people walking past.

    The location was good and close to where we needed to be for a wedding. View from the fire place and the restaurant was nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.4
    Lovely staff but a ramshackle venue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A potentially beautiful establishment that has sadly been left to deteriorate. Desperately in need of a paint job and a tidy. The bed was very uncomfortable, breakfast average.

    The massages at Heavenly Hands were incredible although the facilities were not. The lovely ladies providing the wonderful 'spa' experience really deserve an actual day spa, not just the poky little shed they are crammed into. All the staff we encountered were extremely pleasant and accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our shower screen door didn't close properly and so water leaked all over the floor. We didn't have any bathmats provided on our 2nd day and so had to ring reception. They were delivered very quickly. Would have loved a bath in the bathroom - just part of what I like whenever I stay in a Hotel!

    The Hotel was in close proximity to most of the attractions up there, which was fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Friendly and warm. Great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel reception unavailable after 10pm. We were next door to some loud guests and nothing was done to settled them because staff were not around after 10pm

    The customer service was fantastic. Staff were very friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Great definitely plan to come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at restaurant were lovely. Cheese soufflé delicious, love it. Chicken was delicious, gnocchi looked lovely but was very rubbery and the waitress was so lovely didntbhavevthe heart to tell her

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.7
    Nice weekend but could have been better for the $$
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room showing wear and tear from age Breakfast average, some dishes lukewarm, bain maries empty, no cold meats & cheeses Lack of info in room about dining choices outside the property - not everyone want 2 or 3 courses set menu set price dining

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    Room upgraded, great staff, amazing food in the dining room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the bed and pillows were too hard and uncomfortable to sleep in.

    Room upgraded, great staff, amazing food in the dining room, buffet breakfast was great value, and a lovely area to sit by the fire after dinner!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    Highly recommend for a cheap and central hotel option
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room (2 adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior of the hotel room was a little worn / dated but you get what you pay for.

    Central location, affordable, friendly staff, quiet area, great facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Great loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Front office staff did not make eye contact. Not good.

    Cleaning staff excellent when I asked for help with air conditioner. Loved the room- great bed. Lovely sitting room with fire. Will be back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.9
    Really friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom has cobwebs and bugs living in the spa bath. The spa function did not work at all. Real mediocre considering that room costs more because of the spa bath. Everything else was totally fine

    Really friendly staff. Had a great 3 course dinner. They forgot about our booking but treated us really well so who cares. Location was excellent and I had a great weekend

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.5
    Overall very nice, disappointed with the restaurant, despite the food being very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the Hotel side of the resort was of a very high standard and the staff very professional, sadly I can't say the same for the Restaurant. We were a party of 7 with a 7.30pm booking for dinner. Bread and dips were offered as complimentary. Having ordered our 2course meal and drinks we then waited for the bread and dips. We had to ask for them, having not been able to attract the waitresses attention until one of our party got up and found the waitress. The food was a long time coming (40 minutes before entrees) and a similar if not longer wait in between the other courses. When we questioned the long wait the waitress told us that's how long it takes. We were never offered a proper explanation as to why it takes so long, but we did find out that the chef was working on her own that night. She did come out after the meals were delivered and apologised to us but the manner of the 2 wait staff I feel was less than professional. After the first drink we were not asked if we would like another drink at all. Such a let down for such a lovely resort. The food was very nice when we did get it but I could only recommend any body eats there if they are happy for a long wait for dinner and be prepared not to be offered a drink after the initial drink. Or was it just that a table of 7 is too many for the restaurant to cope with. I recommend the wait staff have better training in quality of customer service.

    The location, ambience and the standard of rooms were very good. Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. Plenty of parking. Easy walking to Hunter Valley gardens and local wineries.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.7
    Convenient location with great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dusty, the minibar had a half empty bottle of wine left in it and the room smelt unpleasant.

    The buffet breakfast was amazing and the location was great - walking distance to many places.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Stunning hotel hall with fireplace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room could be more updated, but overall was fine

    Very smart location in the heart of the valley. Walking distance from everything you could desire: Gardens, village with crafts shops and vineries! The hotel has a stunning hall, mountain lodge style with a oversize fireplace. Staff is professional and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    Property location is close to the HV sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room (4 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is a bit dated and the restaurant doesn’t accomodate casual dining.

    It’s a great property for families near the hunter valley sights i.e the hv gardens and Roche estate.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    The pillow was too soft and small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room (4 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillow was too soft and small. There were lots of leaves and mess on walkways around the property. 2 chairs on balcony for 4 guests was tricky (although the balcony was only small). Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Absolutely loved and enjoyed our stay.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room (4 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the room we stayed in to breakfast every morning was amazing. Comfortable clean beds to a wonderful range breakfast. The lady (Karen)who serviced our room did a wonderful job. Thank you. The reception staff to the restaurant staff was so nice friendly and helpful. Thank you. We will come back for more and this time enjoy dining at the restaurant. Thank you once again ✌🏻😁

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.9
    The location and service was very good for the hunter valley.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location and service was very good for the hunter valley. The room we had was looking a bit tired but nevertheless the hotel was good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.9
    Great atmosphere in bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    lack of staff in bar in the evening. We had to keep going to look for someone to serve. Also told we had to wait 20mins for a cocktail.

    Great atmosphere in bar. Love the old vinyl records & pool table. Great location for walking across to Tempus Two.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.8
    Expected more
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Given the price of roughly 731 Australian dollars for two nights, and a four star rating, we facilities and staff only 3 star max. Multiple front desk mishaps on separate occasions, haphazard and dated facilities in rooms.

    Location, breakfast and gardens next to pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.5
    Love the hunter winery experience and Mercure Resort is the perfect location to base yourself.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the bed was uncomfortable being two single beds zipped together. Investment in true king beds would be great.

    The location and facilities are fantastic and we didn’t use our car, having booked a wine tour that picked us up at the door. We walked to great restaurants, wine tastings and enjoyed brilliant good value breakfast onsite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    We really enjoyed our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the furniture in the Lounge area was a bit past it’s prime!

    We liked the Restaurant, the Lounge Area which was really nice and also the pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel restaurant did not have many vegetarian options

    Bed was very comfortable and the triple room size was just perfect for 3 adults. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    They stay was wonderful. The after exit charges very bitter tasting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathtub had mould in the spa spouts - yuk! It is ALWAYS annoying to find that extra charges are added to my credit card (2 days after we left) for things that I PERSONALLY told reception I had used, then when housekeeping tells reception, after our departure, they proceed to CHARGE IT AGAIN! Annoying and disrespectful!! Then I need to spend further resources claiming it back - which I will not. I just do not return!

    Room was impeccable presented. Staff very helpful and friendly. Easy to find. Quiet atmosphere

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing old school resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The resort is dated and a bit scruffy in places but it seemed to add to the relaxed atmosphere. A short walk into the village which is quite cute. Also visited the Hunter Valley Gardens- half price tickets from the resort. A very strange experience with a mix of formal gardens and kids rides. I was pleased we didn't pay the full price of $60 a couple to visit. A huge achievement to establish and maintain.

    The evening meal we had in the hotel restaurant was sensational, the chef is French and he came out to speak to guests. The food was perfectly cooked and very healthy, a real surprise. The buffet breakfast was great, lovely extra touches like Bloody Mary shooters (alcohol free) and bread and butter pudding. Also loved the little bar with a great collection of vinyl for guests to play and musical instruments.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is lovely but service is very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    While the food was outstanding, the service in the Hotel Restaurant was incredibly poor. The wait staff were unattentive and had no knowledge of the menu. The first bottle of wine ordered did not serve the whole table, but wait staff did not come back with the second bottle to finish serving the remaining guests. When we transitioned from white to red wine, they did not change the glasses and just dumpted the bottle down on the table unopened. Repeated attempts to get staff attention went unnoticed. Housekeeping staff did not make up our room for the three days we stayed, despite hanging the 'please make up room' sign on the door.

    The amenities at the Hotel were excellent and the location is superb, nice and close to the wineries. The food at the Hotel Restaurant was outstanding.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.2
    Great short stay - great location, great breakfast & friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room (4 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    New paint smell very strong on entering room. Beds could've been bigger & the option for 2 x singles for the teenagers rather than a double would've been more comfortable - but probably not enough space in room.

    Great breakfast included!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful place to stay to enjoy the Hunter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing except for the spider webs on the glass ceiling over the bath tub which detracted from the views whilst in the bath.

    The room was exceptional. Loved the courtyard, the pool. We were able to walk out of our room straight to the pool. Also loved the number of wineries within walking distance. The french restaurant was superb for dinner. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.5
    Great location, lovely facility, terrible dining service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room (2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good food but terrible service at the hotel restaurant. Friendly staff but they require more/better training. And couldn't Mercure absorb the transaction fee for credit card payments?!?

    A lovely resort, conveniently located. Nice room. Decent breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.6
    Great ambiance and position near the shopping village and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are getting a bit old but they’re still charging high rates. The desktop clock alarm is archaic. Curtains were off their hooks at the ends. Shower tap does not work anymore... can’t switch between overhead or hand nozzle. The hotel was quiet on the Sunday night so there was no hot buffet on the Monday morning.

    Great ambiance and position near the shopping village and gardens. Love the lounge area for some quiet time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.9
    Great location. Hayley has fantastic customer service! Few wineries in walking distance!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the unexpected additional cost of $50 when I checked out. (I asked if breakfast was included when I confirmed my booking the previous week and was told it was.) However two days after checking out I called back to enquire of the extra cost and was informed it was guest number 2’s breakfast for two days...!

    There were many options otherwise of hot and cold food for breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Great location in the Hunter, very peaceful and tranquil...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really many negative things to say, if any.

    Great location in the Hunter, very peaceful and tranquil grounds with a Tuscan feel. The pool area was lovely, just wasn’t hot enough to take advantage of. We were upgraded to a king suite, and the room was huge! We wish we could have used the fireplace. The bed was comfy, the bathroom was spacious and useful. Breakfast was nice, and the staff were always willing to assist us if needed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    3.3
    Crap
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    and nowhere near what we would expect from an Accor hotel. The small discount we were offed when we asked for a refund to be able stay somewhere with some class will not stop my wife from reviewing here experience and uploading the photos. Not Accor standard what so ever...Never again....

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    Awsome stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    N/A

    The Mercure is very central to every where you would like to travel in the Hunter Valley. The staff are polite and always willing to help you ,Facilities are very clean ,food is great at the Elements restaurant and it is just so relaxing and comfortable. As some people might say a home away from home.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    Long weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good selection of food available at breakfast, our dinner was delicious. Location was fantastic for visiting Hunter Valley Gardens and wineries. Staff were very accommodating and nothing was a problem.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    9.6
    We have been there a few times and would return there again with friends as well
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dead cockroach that was inside in front of the glass slider door

    Breakfast was lovely we were upgraded which was a lovely surprise to a king room with large bath

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    5.0
    The rooms must be fumigated to get rid of cockroaches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room (4 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price is too expensive for the quality of the room. In addition, we were disgusted to find 2 cockroaches on the floor and top of the sliding door to the balcony. That’s why insect spray was available inside the room! At more than $300 per night, we expect the room to be clean and free of insects or cockroaches!

    The location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.2
    Very nice, my family was happy to stay in this property
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room (4 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Due to location in the gardens there were insects and cockroaches around the place

    Location was very good, beautiful views and room location, staff very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    4.6
    Location was quite central to most of restaurants and winery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not pre-cleaned properly and during our stay. The outdoor Spa and its surroundings were dirty.

    Location was quite central to most of restaurants and winery

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    8.3
    Great beds, friendly staff, nice pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room (4 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No teaspoons in room, our room service order went missing between reception & kitchen waited hours for our food. Then only 2 plates came instead of 3.

    Great beds, friendly staff, nice pool

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.5
    Totally enjoyable and will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room (2 adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room is looking a little tired & hopefully is due for a refurbishment soon. Paint is chipped & scratched on walls, cupboards, skirting boards etc, mildew around shower recess & refrigerator damaged & water leaking into cupboard it's housed in.

    Overall the property was good, especially the location and the size of our room was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.3
    Good value and convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had an upgraded room on arrival which was much appreciated. Check-in was quick and helpful. Food in the restaurant was good accompanied by good local wine.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.1
    The resort was very satisfactory and provided everything we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs a refresh as the paintwork is peeling, the carpets are starting to look worn and the exterior is poor.

    Beds were very comfortable, breakfast was varied and well presented.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    5.8
    Lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room (2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At booking in we unfortunately were dealt with by the rudest receptionist ever. Was later told she was a manager!. She later phoned my mobile phone and said, I've been ringing your room! We were sat in our room. I told her that the phone had never rung and that we were in our room. Very curt answer from her and she was rather aggressive. I eventually passed the phone to my husband, who didn't like her tone either. Not good at customer service or giving a good impression of the hotel. Really spoilt things. Breakfast staff very miserable. Be aware of big spray in rooms. We had mossier and the biggest cockroach in the bedroom.

    Large comfy beds and good sized room. Swimming pool area was lovely. Very spacious and plenty of shade if required. Good location for exploring and right next door to McGuigans winery.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.9
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked the location and the veranda and chairs to sit outside and have a coffee. Bed was comfy and a great location to vineyards, restaurants and concert venues and hunter valley gardens. Great parking and walk to Cellar restaurant for beautiful food. Helpful girls at the front counter with maps for wineries etc.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant place to stay, especially fro a family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facilities are adequate but the rooms are looking a bit tired and old and need a bit of a revamp. Also the shower was terrible and didn't work properly.

    Pleasant place to stay, especially fro a family. Great location and the grounds are lovely . Excellent service from staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    Had a lovely stay. Great location next Hunter Valley Gardens where we all saw Christmas lights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only that the breakfast buffet should have replaced the food as it became low, not empty as was done Friday morning.

    Bed was comfy. Lovely size room plus large bathroom which was great as my elderly mother is disabled and has to use a walking frame inside even into the bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    6.3
    House keeping supervisor needs to be proactive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately while making a morning coffee the cups were dirty, that wasn't so bad because we had our own. While taking a shower I noticed the grate was full of hair(not mine). I decided to let reception know and they said they would order a VIP clean ??? On returning to our room later in the day, the cups were clean but shower grate still full of hair. We had a great stay in Pokolbin but just felt a bit let down. We have stayed at Mecure all over the world with excellent results.

    location was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyed our stay, although we did not spend much time in the hotel. Location was sensational.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went with three other couples and everyone commented on how tired looking the rooms were and how expensive it was for what we got. Breakfast was pretty ordinary and the layout of the food was all over the place. for example the main buffet was down one side of the dining room, but the bread and toaster were right up the other end of the room and the juices were in the middle of the room.

    Reception staff were very friendly and accommodating. Loved the informal lounge room / common area, with the big comfortable lounges and bookcases. Location and proximity to major attractions and wineries was outstanding.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    4.2
    Overrated and overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant is bad and highly overpriced. Rooms need fixing, curtains did not close properly. Room makeup only made bed and did not clean properly or vacuum carpet. Surcharge for paying with card offensive considering actual room rate

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    4.6
    Never stay there again i would like a full refund
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty Spiders on the walls Cockroaches in the room Lots of dirty marks on the walls Spider webs in the room Bathroom basin water wouldn't drain

    The only thing was the bed was comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    6.7
    Great location, pity about the cleaning staff!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness of the room was absolutely disgusting they never washed our glasses for 4 nights but protended they had by placing them back onto the shelf. They didn’t remove the rubbish bin lining with the rubbish in they left that in the room on top of a cupboard that had food packets sitting on the bench part of it.

    The location of the hotel and the beautiful gardens. The breakfast was good as you had a choice in how your eggs could be cooked.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    A very pleasant experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    I really couldn't fault anything. I ate in the restaurant one evening and the food was of exceptionally high standard. Staff were friendly and courteous at all times. Excellent!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    3.3
    would ot use this property again only value is that is very close to the gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    better service at front desk front door to unit untidy leaves and dirt piled up. not very welcoming.

    Breakfast cold on a sunday morning trays not replenished very unapertising.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing, interiors of building were old looking , need a recurs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Power went out. No Air con or restaurant facilities available. A facility like that should have a decent sized generator to cope!

    The gardens were well maintained! Unfortunately the bath room was grotty.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Great experience and would return in a minute.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Liked everything about this hotel and they gave us an upgrade which was good of them. Would happily recommend this hotel.

    it is a very comfortable place in a great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.2
    We enjoy staying here for Music in the Hunter and will return because of the convenience and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room (2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overhead lighting wasn't all that good.

    We loved the availability of Bloodly Mary shots for the weekend breakfasts. We would have liked them to be there every day! Even just having a tomato juice option would have been good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside sitting area needed a clean , there were cobwebs on the screen door & the roof needed painting

    Good location, beautiful garden, great breakfast & very comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    4.2
    Our stay was so disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was very poor. We arrived checked in and came to the library for lunch. We were given menus then nothing fir 20 minutes . We wentvforcdinnervand they had no moscato in the heart of the hunter valley . We were really disappointed with the standard of service and would not recommend this to our family and friends. A very disappointing stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    A fab girls' getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the beds in our triple room seemed to have a bit of a dip/was slightly uncomfortable & our in-room phone didn't work & the towels were only replaced for 2 people even though we had 3 staying. Small things.

    Proximity to shops, its own bar, the gorgeous grounds to take a stroll in, buffet breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    We will definately stay at the Mecure Hunter Valley Gardens again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't find fault really

    What a perfect stay! The location was outstanding, as was the staff. Everyone one of them was friendly, informative and helpful. It was such a relaxing place to stay. The food was lovely in the restaurant although a little pricy. An easy walk from at least three wineries, the Hunter Valley Gardens and the shops. The room was a great size too and very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.3
    Overall I rate the stay here favourably because room and hotel location were good, allbeit pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were a number of services which on reading the website information about the hotel you gained the impression they were complementary or included in the room, eg. fitness centre, DVD player - this was not the case at all, you had to pay extra for them and I believe this should have been stated in the advert.

    The room was comfortable and quite and the hotel in walking distance to several attractions including restaurants and wineries - this was a bonus as, amongst other things, it took away the need to have to drive to eat out at night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice, BUT!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room (2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet leaked all the time, even after having someone come to fix it. I was told it was not a leak!. A total waist of water twenty four seven.The room floor was not swept, and no vacuum cleaner for us to use. Food at restaurant was nice, however the service very poor. We were not asked if we required another drink, during the forty minutes we waited for our mains. The fridge had not been de-frosted, and therefor no ice cubes, and nothing would fit into it. Breakfast on each morning saw the bacon like leather, and unable to be eaten.

    Over all a lovely place. Great care of the gardens had been taken.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.8
    Quaint place to stay.... The Hunter Valley is a wonderful place to visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were given a spa suite upgrade, which was a really lovely gesture... Spa was fantastic too! We found this to be a nice place to stay & very close to most things in the valley.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.9
    Accommodating staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room (4 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom faucet is spilling the water outside the basin. No microwave oven.

    Accommodating staff. Nice and filling English breakfast. Discounted Hunter Valley Gardens tickets.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.8
    Excellent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Carpet stains, some lights not working(couple which didnt make a lot of difference)

    They wished birthday with a card and bottle of wine in fridge. Excellent customer service on reception and very nice location. Close to shops, restaurants, wineries and hunter gardens

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    5.8
    Location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was in desperate need of a paint and bedside tables were very dusty. The first thing I noticed was the pavers in the outside little courtyard had a large amount of bird droppings, leaves and twigs all coming from a tree that overhung. This put us off sitting out there.

    Location is excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    6.3
    Great but maintenence of facilities seems to be neglected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no bottle opener in the room (hunter valley is wine country)... The phone in room didn't work (couldn't dial reception etc) The bathroom basin was blocked, water didn't drain away We ordered room service one night and the food was cold (staff took off price following my complaint)

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.3
    Nothing to rave about..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room (4 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were uncomfortable and the cleanliness was average. The room we booked had an occupancy of four people however it was very squishy. We thought we'd try out the spa because we were lucky enough to have reasonably good weather however this wasn't working. We called to ask if someone could come and have a look and they said they'd send someone, we waited 30 minutes and no one came.

    The location is great, very close to everything. Parking and property were easy to navigate.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    relaxing great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    King bed was two beds pushed together but was big enough to avoid the join

    Great location. Helpful staff great breakfast handy to all locations required

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little hard. Bathroom had a beautiful rain shower head but half the jets didn't work.

    Comfortable nice sized room, great bathroom, good central location

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: