Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mount Lofty House - MGallery by Sofitel 5 stars

74 Mount Lofty Summit Road, 5152 Adelaide, Australia

Review score

Based on 157 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful environment both inside and out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 7 is below the bar area so dragging of chairs etc could be heard clearly through the ceiling. Was loud enough to keep us awake. So opt not to have room 7.

    Warm and welcoming staff in beautiful setting. Bed extremely comfortable. Restaurants and bar delightful. Loved this hotel would recommend without hesitation.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Great place to unwind
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel is located in a fantastic position overlooking the Picadilley Valley with wonderful views from the breakfast room. The rooms are very comfortable and the staff knowledgeable and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful property with a history
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Piccadilly Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole experience was amazing, beautiful property, the staff were fantastic, couldn't do enough for us. The whole experience was more than we expected. Thank you to all the staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    A unique quality property that gives entree to the whole Adelaide Hills experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish I'd stayed longer.

    The last time I stayed at Mount Lofty House must have been back in 2014, five years after the current owner had bought it. It was enjoyable for the location, grounds and views and the old, sprawling house but had a sense of a work in progress. Four years further on it's come a long way. We had a small tour of the premises, which was very impressive. The room we had last time is now part of their signature restaurant and we were at the rear overlooking the pool, a much better arrangement. Originally I had no plans to stay in the Adelaide Hills this time but at the last minute decided to round off my trip to Adelaide with a stop because the Hills are a universe all of their own and worth time to enjoy. While it was tempting to loiter the next morning, we needed to be off early to head to Victoria. We'd also had a late lunch at the fabulous Crafers Hotel just down the road the day we arrived and were tired from a full week in Adelaide, so we didn't have the opportunity to enjoy the restaurants and bar that the place offers - even though they looked really good. Next time I'd stay longer and make the most of a quality property and an incomparable position.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    The service/staff was fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Piccadilly Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service/staff was fantastic! The accommodation is beautiful and the views and landscape around the property are amazing. The day spa was 2nd to none!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.3
    Beautiful location disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a wedding on with really loud music till midnight directly below our rooms (2 floors down). It was so loud there was no way we could relax and enjoy our room or get to sleep. We rang reception twice but they said there was nothing they could do. Whilst the manager did give us a discount to each room in our party when we checked out his approach to our complaint was initially disappointing and did not validate our issue. We had chosen this accommodation and deluxe room at a higher price to the other options we considered because we wanted luxury and it simply did not live up to our expectations. They told us they have 120 weddings a year...

    Beautiful location and building. Great fire places and bar. Great fun with friends.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable stay in a beautiful heritage hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs more to be in line with the luxury accommodation. It had mouldy silicone in shower and our wet towels hung directly over the toilet paper making it a tad damp. For such a cold location it needs at least heated towel rails, or under floor heating to meet my expectations of a luxury bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    5.4
    Far too expensive for what it was. A old and crummy 3 star hotel experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Piccadilly Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was like staying at a party hostel in Europe. People running and screaming in the hallways until 5am slamming doors ect. We were surprised that the hotel didn’t provide ear plugs. The beds were very worn out and I got a sore back from sleeping. The shower curtain could certainly do with being replaced as it was discoloured and tatty and the rooms could do with some artwork.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    5.8
    Disgraceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Piccadilly Valley View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed - firstly got our booking dates wrong and put us into a room in an area that was being renovated (but didn't let us know about the renovations). Woke up the following morning to unbearably loud construction noise. I'm not talking about mild noise here - this was full-on construction and we were worried our two year old son might get damage to his ears. After complaining three times, we were moved to a quiet room and then finally to the correct room. Ruined what was supposed to be a quiet and peaceful stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice stay but terribly located room (Room 8) with a view of concrete outside our only window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't like the location of our room which was outside the main building and down a set of steps with only part railing. Also there was four steps directly inside our front door.

    The Location of the hotel itself was lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    6.3
    Lovely old house with a beautiful view but underwhelming stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to sit and enjoy views unless u were using the fine dining restaurant which only opened at 6. The bar area had one table that u could enjoy a drink and the view. All other sitting u had no view. Breakfast was not great.

    Views

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    5.4
    Wedding night disaster!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Piccadilly Valley View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Choosing this hotel was a mistake for our wedding night. We are very easy going/humble people who never complain but just couldn't believe our experience at Mt Lofty House on the one night that meant the world to us. The night staff were rude and too few. A night menu was offered but nothing was available except meat pies. Twice we had rang to confirm our request that the room to be remade/configured for us as newlyweds, however, we walked into a messy room with two unmade single beds. We spent our wedding night trying to put the bed together, being hung up on multiple times, receiving meat pies that were frozen in the middle only to have the staff argue that he had heated it enough, despite the obviously still frozen pies. We are absolutely disgusted at the treatment from such a prestigious hotel. Our wedding night will be marred by this and it is a night we will never get back. The gorgeous view does not compensate for such poor service. What makes it worse is that we opted for the more expensive Picadilly suite in the hopes that it would be extra special. We were mistaken. The concierge did wave the cost of the frozen pies thankfully. But then simply apologised and said he hoped to see us again. We don't believe we got what we paid for and we're disappointed a discount was not offered. So at this rate we will never return and warn others to be cautious.

    The scenery and grounds were very impressive

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    5.8
    Average at best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough staff so had to go find staff for reception and the bar. The noise of maintenance staff at 7am was terrible and no staff available to rectify issue. Room was not cleaned properly, dirty glasses left in room, no water, no iron and no WiFi.

    The location and views are lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.3
    Very good, especially as this was a special occaision for my wife and myself.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioner was a little temperamental.

    Bed was very comfy but the friendliness of all the staff was outstanding. The staff were most helpful from check-in to departure. The Dining experience was tremendous with a great view over the valley as the sun went down.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.5
    Glad we stayed; it was in the right place for us. Doesn't quite hit the quality it seems to aim for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At check-in we were put off booking for dinner being told the dining room was 'formal' and had a 4 course or 7 course option. When we reached the empty bar that evening we found this wasn't true - no dress code for the dining room (and certainly not formal in the European sense) and you can chose 2, 3 or 4 courses from the menu. Of course by then the nice tables with the view out over the surrounding countryside had gone. Second day our room wasn't serviced, and although the receptionist leapt into action when we reported it these two things rather took the edge off our stay - given the price. 'Cheap' room at the back has opaque window overlooking external screen and a small terrace (nice) but onto which opens one of the hotel exits.

    For us this was all about location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.9
    Food fantastic wished I stayed somewhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Piccadilly Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the site booked a king suite to end up in the corner with 2 twin beds and a shower that needs a good service.To have a proper shower without being burnt .seem to be put in a category for using this service.

    Great food and wine

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    The stay was lovely for my wife's birthday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Piccadilly Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We knew that breakfast was extra at the time of booking but at the time in going to breakfast we where told and extra $10 for a cooked breakfast.. It was a bit of money grabbing at the end unsettling..

    The friendly environment and staff - views where spectacular

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.8
    A family in an idyllic setting and a relaxing stay afterwards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room - Piccadilly Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could find only one power point that was easily accessible and that was in the bathroom and so I had to plug my phone charger and the kettle into that one power point.

    I was attending a wedding at the venue and arrived a little late after a delay on my way there. The staff member at reception understood the situation straightaway, made the check-in process very fast, took my suitcase and escorted me to my room so that I could change quickly and get to the wedding on time. Excellent continental breakfast including smoked salmon and a variety of fresh fruit.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Piccadilly Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge in room didn't seem to work, left note for house keeping but still the same over second night. Found something left (from previous guest) in freezer section of fridge which wasn't frozen.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.8
    Well worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Of the three rooms we had 2 were lovely but one was on the back of the building and was very dark and cold.

    Stunning setting in the hills. It’s a lovely building and the views are beautiful. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    The location is perfect for the Mt Lofty-Waterfall Gully...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room is close to the library. When people are around, it gets really noisy.

    The location is perfect for the Mt Lofty-Waterfall Gully hike. And visiting the spa at the end of the hike was heaven!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Gorgeous place to stay. Great destination for any reason or just make one up
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Piccadilly Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The house is stunning and the views are truly amazing. A trip back in time to a more refined and elegant era. Breakfast looking out over the valleys below was an experience that I will remember for a long time. Expensive breakfast but worth it for the ambiance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    3.3
    Disgraceful "Sofitel" at Mt Lofty - Waste of $ and Time - Do NOT Stay
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As above, not repeating it.

    Nothing. This place was over rated. Never have we ever stayed at a Sofitel as poor as this one. Waste of money. Arrival: No greeting, just give credit card for $100 imprint and complete form (although we had already paid a month ago) - staff quite rude really No concierge - no offer of assistance up stairs Room 22 - cold, dust everywhere, pokey small room, pips from oranges (or something) underneath chairs - room has obviously not been vacuumed, public hairs on bathroom floor, cheap toilet paper and tissues, shower over a bath tub - with NO curtain or glass screen, mirror was filthy - not only dark and dingy but shaving or something on the mirror - I decided I would not have a shower there as there would be water all over the floor. The white towels were hard (something I would have washed my pets with) - dust on skirting boards disgraceful and wait for it - the BED - OMG - two singles put together - sank in the middle - both had a very restless night, lack of sleep and were pleased just to GET OUT of there. Ironing board - had to put a hand towel on it to iron a top to wear as it had ironing (steel) board marks on my top. It was cold in our room. I think when they rebuilt this etablishment in 1986 - they have not replaced the bed mattress since. Quality? Are you kidding. We had friends from Adelaide visit us - they were mortified with our room - absolutely disgraceful. No milk - no proper coffee - just asian tea bags. Give this place a big miss. Would not recommend to anyone. Extremely poor front counter customer service, rude staff and poor room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    Awesome location and views.. bathrooms need a little work
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathrooms in the rooms were really bad! Felt like you were in a hostel which was very disappointing considering everything else was so good. The dinner was far too over priced for what you get in terms of quality. Basically got 2 pub meals.

    The location was fantastic! Beautiful views and a botanical garden at the door step. The history was visible in the restoration of the building which was done really well! Also the smoked salmon at the breakfast was the best Ive ever had. Plenty of great places to take memorable photos

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.3
    From beginning to end the staff were helpful and went out of...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Piccadilly Valley View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    From beginning to end the staff were helpful and went out of their way to ensure you were comfortable and happy. The degustation dinner was a great and our waiter Ollie was entertaining and showed passion for this role.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    the possibility to be great but unfortunately didnt happen for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were given "the loft" (room 34). it was very disappointing. There was noise coming from beneath the room from about 7 in the morning till 7 at night. It sounded like a drier running permanently.

    had a meal in the bar area. the staff member who assisted us was amazing and the food was truly exceptional.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    3.8
    Big disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room without proper windows. Inadequate hardware inside room, not even tissue box or phone. Only one bedlamp for a double bed. Old and unclean carpets

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    The joy in Mt Lofty House is its old world charm. Settle into a sofa and enjoy its warmth.
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant and drink prices are pretentious. Very little can be done in a kitchen to make a breakfast taste like its worth $40.

    The hotel was just lovely. Next time we stay our plan is to spend our whole time at the hotel, near the fire in the library with wine and board games. That's how lovely the place is.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Overall we loved the accommodation and its totally worth staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Piccadilly Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We opted for dinner in our room as we had a huge day traveling and sightseeing. It did seem to take a long time (1 hour) it was a bit cold when it arrived.

    The views were breathtaking. Sunset and sunrise was so worth it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    5.4
    Great view BUT Hotel does not ALLOW access to it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    most of the access to the view is in the restaurant, the bar has only one side window. Even though I was booked in and staying there, the restaurant was full, and I was not informed about that, so could not eat there. The restaurant only opened AFTER the sun set and the tables were empty - so I asked if I could sit in the restaurant at the empty table before dinner started to enjoy the view and they said no. The whole reason I went there was to enjoy the view, alas, I got very little access to it. My room was small, noisy and not very comfortable with a view of the corridor! And I paid $250.00. Overall the experience was dissapointing. Even though the location is great.

    the view and location is amazing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.3
    Great getaway within easy reach of Adelaide
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Piccadilly Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were unable to book the spa

    The property is located within 15 mins of the Adelaide CBD yet is within the beautiful country of the Adelaide Hills surrounded by quality wineries and market gardens.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Our welcome was extremely gracious (thank you, Arlene).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really.

    Our welcome was extremely gracious (thank you, Arlene). The room was very spacious and well set up and the property a delightful surprise.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get dinner unless booked into Hardys Veranda Restaurant which was too expensive to eat there every night.

    Hardy's Veranda Restaurant for dinner was superb, the house baked bread was "to die for". Bed was great balcony overlooking Piccadilly Valley was fantastic. Gardens gorgeous.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.6
    Will come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were in room 31 and people kept coming in and out of the door to go outside and it kept banging. The light outside out room was on for most of the night and we could not turn it off.

    All the scenery was beautiful, the quietness, the freshness of the air. The staff were excellent. Could not fault manything

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    8.8
    Fabulous Views of Lofty Ranges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Piccadilly Valley View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hotel directory in room, no minibar price list in room. Only one dressing gown in room for 2 persons? It is a shame that the actual hotel does not have its own restaurant and going to Hardy's Veranda Restaurant every night of a multiple night stay is not feasible. Also disappointed that rates for 2 of our 4 nights accommodation which was not available through Booking.com had to be booked through hotel and were $80 per night more expensive. Continental breakfast was not good value for money even though charged at $26 per person so we both upgraded to full breakfast and told it was $10 per person more but were charged $80 for 2 breakfasts when we checked out?

    The comfy bed and beautiful views from a great balcony. Hardy's Veranda Restaurant meal was really outstanding. We ordered the Long Story. Parking for guests at Piccadilly rooms was ample. We would stay here again without a doubt. Positive points outweighed the negative.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Piccadilly Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff didn't seem to be available on more than one attempt to call them.

    Dinner are Hardy's Verandah Restaurant was absolutely wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    If you want to treat yourselves, minutes from CBD, this idyllic setting wont disappoint.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Piccadilly Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel directory in our room would've been helpful.

    The surrounding gardens were interesting to explore. The Hardy's Veranda Restaurant "Long Story" Menu exceeded our expectations.Views were breathtaking from Piccadilly Suite.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    6.3
    We loved the beautiful gardens and surroundings and a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Piccadilly Garden Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didnt like the fact you could hear all the corridor noise through the old wooden door (even though it is a beautiful door). There was no privacy on the balcony in our room. The bed was so uncomfortable due to the two single beds joined together to make a king we were basically sleeping on seperate beds and my side rolled into the middle. The bathroom needed a fair bit of maintenance and didnt think it was up to scratch for the price we paid per night.

    We loved the beautiful gardens and surroundings and a very spectacular building. The staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. Our view of the pool area from our room was fantastic! Room service steak was absolutely delicious.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    7.1
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the description of our room reservation, it was stated with balcony. On arrival we got first a room giving on an internal corridor with a milky glass window, second a room half in a cellar with carpenter construction work in front of the window and only after further discussion we got finally a room with daylight and balcony ! In the restaurant the only choice was either a four or a seven courses menu (with ox beef tongue in one course which does not correspond to everyone taste!). It was not possible to eat anything else or to have only parts of the menu. As we wanted only one main course we had to order room service and to eat our meal (which was good) in the bar on an unconfortable lounge table. This is not what we were expecting in such a nice place and therefore we do not recommend it.

    The location and buildings are beautiful but unfortunately this is not enough.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.1
    With a better room I'd definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was average, it was clean and quiet but it was cramped, I expected a little better for the rate. Would a shelf of some description in the shower be possible?

    The property itself is beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    8.8
    a short romantic get away in Adelaide
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Piccadilly Garden Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathrooms are looking a little worn/used. the toilet bowl had a big crack in it, the taps and faucets had green calcium build up. on them. Need to signage to the property a bit better as is was confusing were the entrance was.

    The building was stunning in its antique appearance and grace. The staff were very obliging and friendly with nothing being a problem for them. The meals we had there were amazing with the 7x coarse dinner being the highlight of our stay. The bed was very comfortable and with the heavy curtains drawn we slept right through breakfast twice. The ground are kept in wonderful conditions and the view over the valley from the property is brilliant..

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    8.3
    Perfect mini break close to home
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool wasn't heated, no a la carte dining, noisy from inconsiderable wedding guests

    close to the city, peaceful surrounds, large room with comfy bed and different 'nooks and crannies' eg the library

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    10
    For a relaxing night away I couldn't recommend Mount lofty House anymore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing, the stay was perfect!

    Amazing stay, amazing meal, amazing staff, the staff were absolutely incredible, so polite, they couldn't do enough for us. For a relaxing night away I couldn't recommend Mount lofty House anymore.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    8.8
    Dinner was extraordinary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Music from a wedding ceremony and reception filtered through to our room. I'm also highly allergic to dust mites, got rashes on the parts of my skin that touched the chair and table at the restaurant (backs of my thighs and lower arms)

    Dinner was extraordinary. We had some of the best tasting food that we've ever had. The grounds and building are beautiful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    6.7
    Tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We grabbed a cheap deal and that's what we got. Most rooms at Mt Lofty House have stunning views of the valley. The room we were given had an uninterrupted view of the side wall of the swimming pool in one direction and the roof of the transportable entertaining area in the other. The hotel did not seem full. How hard would it have been to give us a better room for our 46th wedding anniversary which I made it clear we were celebrating? The shower head dripped continuously. We asked for it to it to be fixed. They simply tightened the tap so that as soon as it was used it dripped again. The fitting was replaced on the second try and fixed it. We left our room at 8.30am to walk in the hills and returned at noon having left the "please make up my room" card on the door. Disappointingly, housekeeping had to be called to make it up before we could rest in the room. The SALife magazine in the room was dated 2014 - there have been a few editions since then. The room was a just a bit grubby around the edges. Avoid Room 012. "Tired" is a good word to describe the hotel overall. Continual maintenance is needed in a place like this to keep it top class and it would seem that costs are being cut and it is not being kept up unfortunately. It's a shame because it is an SA icon and just needs that bit extra effort (money) to make it a really excellent experience for it's patrons. If SA expects to compete with other states for the tourist dollar, Mt Lofty House should do it's bit.

    The bed was amazingly comfortable and the room was lovely and quiet.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    3.8
    No way st
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedding smelt disgusting, had not been changed. Room not cleaned the entire stay.Bathroom floor behind door hair from previous occupants Bath mat replaced on each 2nd day had to use hand towel on.Bathroom floor dirty shower head kept falling down. And dripping..products mucked up 2 shampoo 1 day no conditioner.carpet not vacced.windows dirty hand prints from children on inside.Wind gusts blew terracotta ashtray off table had to ask for it to be sweapt up after 2 days. No doormat into room from outdoor.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    7.9
    Overall, it's a pretty building in a lovely setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Piccadilly Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities lacked the Christmas spirit- a few basic decorations would have been appropriate for this time of year.

    Overall, it's a pretty building in a lovely setting

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    7.9
    ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room overlooked the roof to the reception & function area so we had no view of the valley or gardens and with no privacy on our balcony. King bed was two singles pushed together with very large divet in the middle. Quite a poor nights sleep for a luxury hotel.

    The lady who greeted us at reception was nice and friendly. Gardens were lovely.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    6.3
    shafted on the rooms we booked. food and wine was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we did not get the rooms we booked. got split up. one couple 100m away in a cottage they tried to call an upgrade and us in a cellar type room. this part was disappointing.

    food and wine was excellent

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    5.8
    Room without a view; 4th class citizens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Piccadilly Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionist quite rude once she found out we reserved through Booking.com. While rolling her eyes she loudly and slowly dragged out the words 'y o u r r o o m w I t h a v I e w.' The room actually had a view of the car park and a communications tower! NOT my idea of a view. At dinner the waiter tried to seat us behind a post despite being the second couple in the restaurant. We then waited 40 min for the menu and another half hour to order, when we found out they were out of many items on the menu. We definitely felt like 4th class citizens! They overcharged us for the dinner and even after 2 follow up phone calls and promises to refund we are still waiting! The experience which was to be the highlight of the trip was demoralising, humiliating and the lowest point of the trip. Would not go back.

    The bar person was the only helpful and friendly staff person who also took the time to show us some of the new renovations. He was the highlight of the stay. What little food we could actually order from the restaurant for dinner was reasonably good, but very long delivery times and unhelpful staff basically ignored us.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    9.2
    Welcoming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have been here at the beginning of the season and the spa did not function due to a storm damage. Also bar and restaurant were only oartly available.

    Excellent style, very welcoming rooms and service.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.8
    Great views, great weekend getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Piccadilly Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpark wasn't overly great, as there is a back carpark with more parks but then you still have to lug your luggage up the hill to the reception.

    Loved the views and the spa bath in our room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    I had an amazing time
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff both hotel and restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Great site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great site. Great facilities. Great staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Piccadilly Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night

    heating in the room as well heated floors in the bathroom

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Historic, welcoming, special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Piccadilly Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Historic, welcoming, special.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    A great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious and well appointed. The service was lovely with an extra treat of a tour of the hotel and mulled wine thrown in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Great staff, top location - food impeccable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Piccadilly Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, top location - food impeccable. Relaxing ambient feel throughout the place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location and lovely historic buildings with great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Piccadilly Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a bit tired! Very patchy TV reception .

    Great location and lovely historic buildings with great views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful historic building, fantastic service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Piccadilly Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gardens not quite as expansive as I thought.

    Beautiful historic building, fantastic service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.9
    Amazing views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our heating wasn’t working which was disappointing!

    Amazing views! Very comfortable bed & elegant room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.9
    The bathroom was very tired
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Piccadilly Valley View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very tired

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.1
    Couldn’t get into restaurant for dinner disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Piccadilly Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t get into restaurant for dinner disappointing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful place in Adelaide Hills
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything, beautiful property in beautiful location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Make sure you book in advance for restaraunt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Make sure you book in advance for restaraunt

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.0
    Not a lot
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.8
    Awsome
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Layout of the house

    Room are nice well cleaned

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.5
    Free upgrade to suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Piccadilly Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn’t comfy. Staff didn’t go out of their way to help (except garden manager)

    Free upgrade to suite. Board games. Amazing views

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    Relax and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant fully booked on 31st December

    Friendly staff, excellent view

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    9.6
    Rooms and views are beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drinks prices are extortionate and totally disproportionate to anywhere else i have visited

    Rooms and views are beautiful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    8.3
    Would definitely stay and Recommend again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room - Piccadilly Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quiet exclusive staff available however not seen. Everything was excellent the reception was pleasant but not overly friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    4.2
    bad experience for baby moon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very noisy staying down stair, the two room sit right under the bar. Shouldn't let any customer staying there.

    NA

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.3
    Availability of their restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Piccadilly Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Availability of their restaurant...was fully booked prior to arrival

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall good for a vegetarian

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    7.5
    Very quiet hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very quiet hotel. Stunning view.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: