Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Australia hotel reviews
  3. Victoria hotel reviews
  4. Melbourne hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Great Southern Hotel Melbourne

Reviews of Great Southern Hotel Melbourne This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

44 Spencer Street, 3000 Melbourne, Australia

#123 of 176 hotels in Melbourne

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 9424 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Paid WiFi

    4.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2019

    7.5
    Value for money and in an ideal position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with No Housekeeping Service
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room could have been bigger with more modern furniture. But bed was comfortable and suited our needs as only there for a couple of nights

    Accommodation was basic, but value for money. Hotel was in a handy location to the CBD and easy to get to from the airport - Skybus from the Airport to Southern Cross Station and only a five minute walk from there. Only a few minutes walk to the free tram which made it easier to get around as well.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    7.9
    Location was perfect for our needs, The Reception Staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was perfect for our needs, The Reception Staff were friendly and helpful. The Room was Clean and tidy, and the bed was comfortable enough but not great. There were no problems with any of the services that were offered and we enjoyed our brief stay

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    8.3
    Good enough to book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had no windows. Did not know this until I checked in.

    Location is perfect. The guy who checked me in was friendly and felt very nice and real. Not fake friendly. But real honest friendly encounter.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    5.0
    Bad, uncomfortable and ugly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Mini Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Terrible room. Small and unattractive. The hallway is literally like a prison and you can hear people walking around. Awfully decorated. I have never been to a worse and less comfortable 4star hotel. $224 is a fair amount of money for a nights stay and you are in a box room with a sliding door.

    Staff were polite

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    5.0
    In general I have stayed in far better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had to report the aircon twice, had a room with a nice view then was moved to room with no daylight just a wall for a view. Were told to be quiet one evening in reception, however it was so noisy from others that we could not make out what he was saying The breakfast was the same every day, fruit selection was terrible and the mushrooms are tinned, variety needed. Also made to queue daily for ticket amongst people checking out and not many staff on counter some days. No bar/lounge The bed was made daily but not professionally and pillows sometimes left as we left them.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2019

    6.3
    Looking on good eyes. Everithing ok
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room with No Housekeeping Service
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No clining in 8 days is too much .no shampoo and soap. I have to buy it. The wifi. Sometimes yes sometimes no. The rest ok

    Near the station. Stuff ok.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2019

    9.6
    Only stayed one night but had an enjoyable stay without having to go very far from the hotel at all.
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think that the shower could have been a bit cleaner, but the rest of the bathroom and room were spotless, so it may have just been that the Silastic was getting a bit old.

    The service at the counter was great, and half the price of most accomodation in the CBD area. The room had everything you need. It had a comfortable bed, airconditioning, tv,wardrobe with iron and ironing board, a safe,fridge and tea and coffee facilities. You had your own bathroom with soap, shampoo and towels supplied. The restaurant had excellent food at budget prices. It was close to Southern Cross station, which has a Safeway supermarket, plenty of take away venues and a DFO shopping centre. Plenty of other places to eat and pubs within 500 metres. Close to trams and anything else that you would want to do in the CBD area.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2019

    8.8
    The beds were comfy and the staff were really helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a light broken in the bathroom that didn’t work and some of the carpets had stains on them

    The beds were comfy and the staff were really helpful

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2019

    9.6
    The hotel is in a great location, I have stayed there previously and would definately stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There wasn't anything I didn't like.

    We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a bigger room and we were able to check in before 2pm. The room was spacious, clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff were very pleasant and helpfull.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2019

    7.1
    Great for overnights but not a long stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The air-conditioning system when turned on was so noisy and theb also being able to hear people walking around outside at 2am in the morning wasn't any help either.

    The bed was comfortable and the pillows were a dream so soft.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2019

    7.5
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Mini Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast. I prefer fresh rolls with cold meats & cheese, fresh fruit & yogurt

    Food wasn't really to my liking as I eat very healthy things. Mattress was ok but not as good as mine at home. Freezer needed defrosting Smell in bathroom 423. Don't know whether it was toilet or shower drain.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2019

    10
    The room we had was large and comfortable .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints

    The room we had was large and comfortable . It was also very quiet from street noise . We had lunch next door and it was friendly and meal was beautiful .

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2019

    6.7
    it was close to southern cross station.
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    single beds pushed together to make double, hard ridge up the middle at the join, most uncomfortable. no view! wasnt told until i received email conformation.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2019

    9.2
    Very good for people who are looking for clean and comfortafble place to stay for a night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room had no view - windows were inside the building (the was view was towards the hallway).

    The room was cleaned and had all the amenities you expect in a good hotel.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2019

    7.9
    Great Southern Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with No Housekeeping Service
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower was mouldy

    Location was great - convenient for V-line trains and trams - little fridge so we could keep some drinks and snacks cool - the hotel felt secure and safe for family or single woman

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2019

    7.1
    Decent
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with No Housekeeping Service
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rude staff, an uncomfortably loud noise would go off many times throughout the day, sounding like drills. Overall, made my experience less great than what it could’ve been

    Very clean and perfect location

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2019

    8.3
    Very good price and perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room with No Housekeeping Service
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a bit small and the power point to use the iron was a bit difficult and my room had no windows but for the price and location I will definitely stay there again.

    The price and location was excellent! Reception staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2019

    8.8
    Convenient and friendly staff on book in!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The upgrade was great and we were very thankful but the room was a bit unwelcoming, maybe a larger tv or a few prints on the wall, not sure exactly what was In the other rooms, but overall we were pleased with location and staff on arrival!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2019

    10
    very relaxing after a long trip to melbourne
    • Couple
    • Mini Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing I cannot think of

    a quiet room with a great view and windows that were easy to open; great value for money consiering how closely it is located to southern cross station; a terrific locale for exploring the city

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    6.7
    Affordable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air con was super noisy and we had to switch it off.The toilet wasn't that clean and there was dust everywhere in the room.

    This hotel looks like an old prison which makes it more interesting

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    9.2
    Comfortable stay, great location in relation to CBD and decent value for money
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room with No Housekeeping Service
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The ironing board was really small and the iron itself were really cheap - the iron didn't work all that well. The remote control for the TV was a bit temperamental and didn't always work when trying to even turn the TV on.

    The electronic "Do Not Disturb" sign/screen was cool - I hadn't seen anything like that before! The double-blinds on the windows were good too - being able to partially block out light and fully block out light was great.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    7.1
    Central, cheap and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room with No Housekeeping Service
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The luck of windows and the charge of $50 caution in case you break something on the property.

    The room was spacious and clean. Only bad aspect.. no windows, so you need to use aircon all the time. I read a lot of reviews complaining about the noise, my room was very quiet. I would definitely go back if I need to stay in Melbourne CBD.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    10
    Clean place & friendly& helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room with No Housekeeping Service
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Liked everything.

    The staff were friendly & went out of their way to be helpful. The location was very good. Very convenient for transport. The rooms were clean & comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    8.8
    Perfect for my needs. Will likely stay again next year.
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with No Housekeeping Service
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was the perfect place to stay for access to Southbank and South Melbourne - hop on a tram and you're there in no time. My friend and I were only looking for a place to crash at night and shower and we found the facilities just to our liking! The price was great too. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    8.8
    Good, you get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room with No Housekeeping Service
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not bad for solo travellers but two single beds don't make a double bed. And there was the start of mould in bathroom due to lack of effective fan.

    The hotel set up was nice with a classy lobby and common area, the room designs were good.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    9.2
    well organized staff and exceptional cleanliness made for a very pleasant birthday stay:))))))
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Mini Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    double glazing on the window facing the street!!!! Street noise was very evident, lucky I had earplugs.

    the amazing cleanliness of the room, comfortable bed, tasty restaurant food, location close to station and trams

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    9.2
    Great Southern Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Mini Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small details in the room not much to say except the TV did not work in the room not a huge disappointment.

    The location was perfect, close to everything. Right in the heart of the CBD. Food was excellent in the restaurant. Staff handled themselves with great professionalism.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2019

    10
    Great price, great location, great staff, great room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nil

    Great staff, friendly and helpful. Clean room. Great location. Got a good deal on accommodation. Easy access to CBD. Restaurant good and staff friendly.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2019

    10
    Vicinity to CBD and value for money .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with No Housekeeping Service
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hello I was very pleased with the staff,when booking in and storing my case for a while . I asked for a room close to the lift which I got . The room was very large and plenty of space to move and very clean and quiet .Everything worked properly and the restaurant was also very good , the food was excellent and the service was very good as well , I would have no hesitation in Recommending it to my friends , Thanks from Bryan.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2019

    6.7
    Ok for budget travel but not much else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was small. Bathroom encroached into the main room (sliding door separating the two which allowed the bathroom light to food into the sleeping area). Also noisy, could easily hear music in other rooms and people walking around upstairs or outside.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2019

    9.6
    lovely thank you and hope we can come back in the near future :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed a bit uncomfortable and it appears to be joined in the middle.

    efficient friendly welcoming and knowledgeable staff. It was an anniversary surprise and although a bottle of bubbles could not be available it was lovely to been surprised with an upgrade of room.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    9.2
    Happy with price and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I managed, but the approx. 10 steps down, then later up, with a heavy suitcase would have been difficult for someone less capable.

    Evening meal with wine

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    10
    Great location for reasonable money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location. Close to the airport bus and tram. Walking distance to Melbourne hot spots. Good place if you are alone or with family. Friendly staff. You can keep your bags in dedicated and locked room if you fly much later after check out.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    8.3
    Gratitude to hotel staff for being so caring and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The outside noise at night. Police sirens and people walking past.

    Loved that l could leave my car all day. Much neater and cleaner than l expected. Bath was a bonus. As was The Herald Sun. Cheap price.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    5.4
    2 star property with 4.5 star reviews
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room with No Housekeeping Service
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Property needs maintenance, elevator is faulty, air unit in room rattled constantly, for anyone used to nicer accommodation the property is intolerable

    Good location and very cheap

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    7.9
    The main reason I chose this hotel was its location and proximity to the Skybus depot.
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing major to complain about 😊

    The restaurant staff were very pleasant and lovely. The room and bathroom was clean and spacious. The bed was very comfy. My only qualm was that the aircon wasn't cooling enough but it wasn't uncomfortable - just not as chilled as I would like it to be.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    9.6
    Great Location, room was great size everything was handy and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room with No Housekeeping Service
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower Pressure wasn’t the best, and the mini fridge was a little loud at times but otherwise it was fine

    Great Location, room was great size everything was handy and close by

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    4.6
    Location close to Spencer Street Station and Tram stops
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was dirty Chairs not cleaned in however long,carpet thread bear stains on carpet and tiles in bathroom.

    Location close to Spencer Street Station and Tram stops

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    10
    Me and my husband had a great stay :) definitely recommend...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with No Housekeeping Service
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Me and my husband had a great stay :) definitely recommend Great Southern Hotel. The Great Southern Hotel Restaurant is absolutely amazing :) has to be one of the best places I have eaten at the food was so delicious.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    7.5
    OK for a night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Mini Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately no parking spot was free so had to take an expensive parking house. Also no windows in the room.

    Nice room for one or two nights. Small but enough. good location in the CBD

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    9.2
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Mini Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location cleanliness friendly service the fantastic reins done on the place only ever made this a one nite to connect with transport but now will make it my place to stay while in Melb for a few days

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    9.6
    Great location, close to southern cross station perfect for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room with No Housekeeping Service
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air conditioning broke on very hot day

    Great location, close to southern cross station perfect for getting to / from Melbourne airport. Room was very comfortable with large bathroom

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    4.2
    Very Poor service. Lodged a complaint about hotel as staff are not welcoming and rude.
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room with No Housekeeping Service
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staying at the hotel is not enjoyable at all.

    Very Poor service. Lodged a complaint about the hotel as staff are not welcoming and rude. Some defects in the facilities were not fixed.Safety issues as well.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    8.8
    It was super close to Southern Cross station and in the...
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was super close to Southern Cross station and in the middle of the city. Very good value for money. It was Clean and the staff were nice and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    9.6
    Spacious room, very clean, caring staff, great location,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    when we went to pick up luggage left in storeroom it was very busy and had to wait 10 minutes to be seen, just to be let in to grab bags (although it was New Years Eve). They had 4 staff on but somehow still took a long time Also the elevator is pretty small and slow

    Spacious room, very clean, caring staff, great location, easy to check in, nice to have a bath and large bathroom, tv easy to use. didn't use restaurant or other facilities

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    7.5
    Location, comfortable bed, great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom/shower very small and awkward. Smell in the room was very strong; from cleaning products. Almost unbearable when I first arrived.

    Location, comfortable bed, great price

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    8.8
    New year's Eve in Melbourne
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a bit stuffy without an air conditioner

    Location perfect,staff efficient and friendly, bed's comfy, easy check in and out, definitely stay again

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    10
    Fantastic Hotel!!
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outside corridors a bit noisy but nothing too bad.

    Received an expected upgrade which was great! Friendly staff, GREAT food in the restaurant, comfy beds with lush pillows! Fantastic location and excellent price.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    10
    The upgrade to a larger room .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The unfortunate homeless on the streets outside. Not really the hotels fault , more the Governments poor decisions.

    The upgrade to a larger room . Thankyou

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    7.5
    Easy walk to main shopping, trams, suited us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms were clean . We were on the inside no street noise, quiet suited our needs for the price close to crown casino. Railway station across the street. Free city circle tram around the corner. Car parking 25.00 per day

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    5.8
    The only and last stay in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room with No Housekeeping Service
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I got a room on 6rd floor and it has no window. No fresh air access. The only fan in bathroom was loud, as well as the fridge in closet, made me unable to sleep well. The blanket was awful dirty I even saw dry blood. Someone knocked on my door pretty loud at 6 am for no reason. A large bed was made up with two single beds and if you want to separate them, all linens would touch ground. Horrible experience.

    Great location, 3 mins walk to southern cross station. Convenient transportation(Skybus, train, tram...) Pretty good room size. Nice staff.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is very handy to the station and the free tram to the city.
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The abrupt nature of the desk staff.

    The hotel is just over the road from Southern Cross Railway Station - very handy for the Skybus, at the station, to the Airport.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    5.8
    It is located very close to Southern Cross Station.
    • Couple
    • Mini Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was too small. The pillows were not comfortable. The ac was noisy. The toilet seat wouldn’t stay up. The basin was tiny and not easily reachable because of the awkward position of the rack above it...

    It is located very close to Southern Cross Station. Within easy walkable distance from the CBD.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    9.2
    Convenient location, value for money, cleanliness and facilities in the room.
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room with No Housekeeping Service
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The check-in experience, and if some staff at reception desk could be courteous and flexible would have been better. At the check in I was told that room service was not provided, and toiletries need to be picked up from the reception. This was not mentioned in the advertisement when the bookings were done. Was quite a surprise. Had to pay additional $20 for room service. The room that was booked was not the room that I requested the day before when I made the reservation payment. The reception staff member agreed for a certain room to be reserved, but had booked a different room. The day of the check-out, I was having a shower between 8am and 8:30am. when I finished bathing and returned back to the room, was quite surprised to find that the padlock of one of the carry-on baggage with my laptop and other personal information was unlocked. I was definitely certain that I had locked it when I left the room to have a shower in the bathroom.

    Convenient location, value for money, cleanliness and facilities in the room.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    10
    overall a great place to stay in Melbourne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with No Housekeeping Service
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing is perfect, the beds should be a proper king bed, bot 2 over size singled joined together, as there was a lump in the centre where the 2 beds joined. Also, get rid of the old Sherpa blankets and put a quilt or doona on them, sherpa blankets are old school and are just a bother to sleep under with a sheet. The shower rose is silly, it should be on the end wall (the narrow wall) not on the long wall opposite the door, and the glass door is far to heavy and it should be sliding, not opening.

    Very happy with everything, except our aircon unit had a rattling sound in the fan which we reported on the first night after arrival, but we slept very well and on night 2 we barely noticed it, on night 3 it seemed to have gotten better so we left it. The room is so soundproof to outside noises, we never heard any other guests opening or closing doors, and as we was on the indide courtyard yoom we had no view nor any street noise, which was great.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2018

    8.3
    Clean, comfortable and perfect for a short stay, if you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some rooms are only accessible by stairs. Not great if you have heavy luggage.

    Clean, comfortable and perfect for a short stay, if you don’t want to spend much time in your room.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2018

    7.1
    Reasonable hotel. Nice big rooms.
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There are small flights if stairs so not great with a heavy suitcase. Rooms are a bit dated. Old style noisy window aircon. Bathroom was very tight given the large room.

    Staff were very good and friendly. Easy to find, very close to Spencer St train station.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2018

    8.8
    Close to transport, big room, very comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room with No Housekeeping Service
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ventilation would be great. The room looks onto a central atrium which is a bit stuffy. But cool space. Wifi is patchy & expensive.

    The size of the room and bathroom. Wonderful! Trams and train station right on the doorstep. Dark, cozy sleeping space. Great shower.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2018

    7.9
    It’s a reasonable budget hotel, close to the Southern cross station.
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was so-so, The TV was on a side wall, which made it difficult to watch from the bed. The Free Wifi was useless, and I question why they bother.

    I liked the en-suite bathroom, it was roomy and clean.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2018

    5.8
    only if you dont find anything else
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room needed more ventilation as it had a mouldy smell, Check out time at 10 am is way too early Night shift staff could be more customer oriented. When i did the checkin at 22.15h, the receptionist did not even look at my eyes once

    It´s conveniently loacated next to Southern Cross Train Station

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2018

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room cards didn’t work after 10am as we had a late check out

    Staff are always friendly, great location, it is my partner and I’s favourite place to stay in the city.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2018

    9.6
    Great location and quality updated rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When I entered the room it was quite stuffy which was unpleasant . Had to put the aircon on immediately to make it more comfortable. Also, the wiring for the TV was exposed and looked unsightly.

    Great location and quality updated rooms. Very clean and comfy.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2018

    7.5
    great location near Southern Cross Station
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked room through Booking.com for 2 people, then added the included breakfast, unfortunately the site defaulted back to breakfast for 1 person. Three times l went back to the start of booking to see l had booked room for 2 adults and each time when breakfast included it defaulted back to 1 adult. Not happy, why would you book a room for 2 people and not expect the breakfast to be for 2 people also. Will not be booking through this site again.

    room was good, but needs bedside lights

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2018

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The free wifi was very hit and miss. It kept disconnecting which got very annoying at times. The rooms only had natural light from the corridor which meant other guests could see into the rooms. That said the lighting in the rooms was excellent.

    It was well located and good value for money. The room was clean and had a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The restaurant offered a good range of food.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2018

    10
    Very close to everything plenty shops around tram outside...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no parking at the hotel cost 25 dollars per day at carpark

    Very close to everything plenty shops around tram outside the hotel a good restaurant at the hotel no need to get out or plenty around Southern station just a cross the road st kilda beach only 30 minute by tramp one day pass only 8.60 for hole day

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was made feel welcome from when i first arrive d. Its comfortable and quiet , the restaurant staff were all very polite and helpful the chef also gets a 10/10 my dinner was delious the steak was perfect im looking forward to going back 😀

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2018

    6.0
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I really, really don’t like rooms without a window - it will make me think twice before booking here again. I have stayed here before and the room had a window.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2018

    9.6
    I love the sheets and big shower head
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Mini Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    50$ up front. I didn't have it coz I lost bank card. I had to gamble with ladbrokes to raise the fee just to ensure I got my room coz they weren't budging. Not nice I would have been sitting in the foyer until midnight if I didn't bet. Maybe my driver licence would have sufficed in that desperate situation? But I still love u and will always stay at the GSH

    I liked the staff. I was very tired and needed my suitcase stored for a little longer and they et me. Thx

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    10
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms need fresh coat of paint. Mark's on the walls.

    Great value for money. Location was great. Not far from Southern Cross Station. Trams out the front. Walking distance to Crown Casino.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    10
    Good value and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    With no on site parking available it would have been nice to have some specific close by carparks referenced. Booking.com simply said "nearby" parking available @$25 but gave no direction to where. I found Casino multi level car park at $17 at a very short walk away

    Convenient location, well priced, easy check-in

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    9.2
    A great stay for a great weekend. Lovely food from the restaurant, clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with No Housekeeping Service
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only real thing that we did not like was that on the balcony people were smoking. When we used the air to freshen our room we had to turn it off every time someone was out there.

    The room was larger than we expected. The bed and pillows were wonderful. Nice quiet room requested and received. All staff that we encountered were friendly and helpful. The restaurant attached to the hotel was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    6.7
    Very ordinary
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We arrive at noon .room not ready till after 2pm, So we have to attend our bus n can only be back late . When I ask for later check out for the next day surprise to be told of extra cost apply.

    Location suit our needs.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    6.3
    OK for the one night alone, would not recommend for any other purpose and certainly not on business
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room with minimal facilities and it seemed extremely old

    Location was good as I used the Ballarat Melbourne train from the station across the road and attended a function at the convention centre also very close by

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2018

    5.4
    It was a ok room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Found reception rude when I wanted to book in earlier as I have young children and was told it would cost me $20!! Bathroom has mould. Also the shower was terrible - plumbing is bad. Also asked for two single beds & a double when I booked but got two double beds

    We liked the location We liked the restaurant

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2018

    4.6
    Room is sucks!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room way to small for a king size and the bed is absolutely sucked!!! 2 x single bed for a king bed? They must be joking!!!! Stuffs very rude and not friendly at all. Busy talking with each others at the receptions. Not even says Hello to the guests walk pass them!!!! While I’m checking the one of the stuffs just call me with their finger like calling a dogs. I’m suggesting the owner of the Hotel send your reception stuffs for a customer service corse.

    Close to the city and train terminal

    Stayed in December 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: