Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Great Southern Hotel Sydney 4 stars

717 George Street, Sydney CBD, 2000 Sydney, Australia

#150 of 306 hotels in Sydney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 5178 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Paid WiFi

    4.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Our preferred hotel for our visits to Sydney.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing to do with the Great Southern but George Street is a mess - most inconvenient and unattractive!

    Our preferred hotel for our visits to Sydney.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.5
    Close to Central Station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room (Unserviced)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything that I didn't like. The room was clean & comfy. Breaky was great. Good value.

    Close to Central Station. Great for catching Air train to Airport.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.5
    Great stay close to city and transport & comfortable facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need a shelf or cupboard for toiletry bags / had to leave mine on the floor

    Beds comfy Pillows soft Location great Restaurant good Staff friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.8
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lights went out in the lift when you used it. Scared the crap out of me as i was on the top floor.

    Very clean, staff at reception were very welcoming, location was great for my needs.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.5
    WE WERE FORTUNATE TO BE UPGRADED TO A DOUBLE ROOM, WHICH...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WE WERE FORTUNATE TO BE UPGRADED TO A DOUBLE ROOM, WHICH MADE OUR STAY ALL THE MORE COMFORTABLE! Room was clean and very cozy and the location of the hotel was very convenient and centrally located.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.8
    It was good value for money, nice, clean and very close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise that comes from george st isn't too great but thats not much fault of the hotels except maybe requesting a room that doesn't face the street.

    It was good value for money, nice, clean and very close to central station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Great stay.
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small so could be a problem if travelling with lots of luggage. Renovations are troublesome but will be short lived.

    Room was very comfortable and clean. Staff friendly. Close to transport, shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Pretty darn good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was two mattresses which didn't line up with each other. The blankets were slightly short (I'm quite tall). I didn't see a microwave which might have been cool. The shampoo was practically useless due to the size. The soap really dries out the skin. There wasn't any designated holder for spare key cards, so we almost lost one (we could have put it with the drink stuff like we did with the receipt though, so I wouldn't blame the hotel for our bad planning but a special spot would still be nice). The water saving tap's design was a bit annoying because it focussed all the water in a ring and it was hard to get an even amount of water on anything.

    The jug and provided drink stuff was awesome. The tricky switches were very interesting (lights and hair dryer). Air conditioning was appreciated. The hot water in the shower was prompt and reliable. The number of towels provided was on point. The USB charging point in the wall was a lifesaver.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    Clean comfortable but can be noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window view overlooked george street which wss fairly noisy throughout the night with street traffic and council vehicles cleaning the paths

    Good basic amenities an comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Will come back when have an outing in Sydney and make the most of my time in town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coffee brand could have been better than the sachet powder. The TV controls were not good as could not get the sound to increase and could not hear the program. There was a hole in the wall behind the TV but overall the recent renovation was great. Loved the old building and photos on the ground floor.

    The room was great with good bed and big shower. Plenty of power points and TV in the right spot so could watch from chair or bed. Location is great and quiet for a Saturday nite. Was expecting to hear traffic noise but didn't. Concierge held my bag the next day while I walked round the markets.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.5
    Loved the concept of having a fresh juice for breakfast but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no moisturiser in the bathrooms. I left mine at home and was hoping there would be at least something in the room, but there wasn't.

    Loved the concept of having a fresh juice for breakfast but carrot and celery wasn't very enticing. Suggest that a bit more variety would be good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    3.8
    The Great Southern?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room (Unserviced)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't consider the room good value for money. It was quite underwhelming - small and dowdy and my first impression was of an army barracks. The initial receptionists at the front desk were fine - but when I expressed disappointment with the room the "next in charge" was confronting and upsetting.

    I appreciated the crisp, clean white linen on the bed - hot water in the shower -electric kettle.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.3
    I was in Sydney for a week for work and this hotel is clean, tidy and central with helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room (1 Person)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only thing I didn't much like was the bed was a little soft but other than that.

    It was great having a decent bar in the same location. Staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. This was my second trip back to this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room (Unserviced)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was much smaller than the picture on website paid for two nights and only stayed one as no room between single beds so no room for friend to stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.1
    I will stay again due to the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room (Unserviced)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ironing collapsed over as you put it up it needs to be replaced There is a large gap under the door and it lets a lot of light under neath the door at night time

    Closeness. To the centre of Sydney

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.9
    it was good, all in all !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - need to pay for WIFI - No views

    - that our second stay was better and cheaper ! (Would't stay for $200 again , I think around $150 for a double room is OK for Sydney) - Comfortable, well run, Paddy's market just outside the back door. - Located on George St, superb location. Very close to Chinatown. - Central station 2 blocks away - It's quiet - like the design of the Hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.1
    First stay was not very good, but still OK (2nd stay was better room)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - need to pay for WIFI - No views - even on the second floor can't open the windows (smell was not good, but couldn't get a different room)

    - Comfortable, well run, Paddy's market just outside the back door. - Located on George St, superb location. Very close to Chinatown. - Central station 2 blocks away - It's quiet - like the design of the Hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    The convenience to Central Railway station, the meals, the...
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Each time we have stayed we are only given 3 tea bags and I have to ask for more which are never refused! We don't use the coffee or the sugar and we do like tea.

    The convenience to Central Railway station, the meals, the price and the friendliness of the staff. As a couple who regularly stay at the Great southern why would we go elsewhere?

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic central location at a great price!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NA

    Fantastic central location, so close to work and all the amenities that I needed. Rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. Staff are very helpful and friendly and a great price for CBD Acommodation.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.3
    Quick and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The current refurbishment is a necessary nuisance. Not nice but understandable.

    Location was the main reason for this choice. This was very good (for us).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.2
    Hotel excellent Qantas suck
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pity about Qantas though instead of arriving home to the Gold Coast at 10:00pm it was 4:00am via a trip to Brisbane which cost me twice the airfare to Brisbane would have been

    The staff were very helpful managing our luggage after we had booked out in the morning and catching a late night flight

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.8
    Great value in a great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room (Unserviced)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great price for a 4 star, would have booked up until Christmas but couldnt match the price so have gone elsewhere but the hotel was great for the week.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.3
    The location is excellent, close to the CBD, Central train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is excellent, close to the CBD, Central train station, Chinatown and Paddy Market. Comfortable rooms but certainly in the budget range but neat and tidy and served the purpose for our stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    A extremely comfortable hotel in an excellent location with out over the top price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room (Unserviced)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were completely satisfied.

    The room was tastefully decorated and very clean with a good hot shower and good quality towels. The location was excellent close to Central Railway Station and the Capitol Theatre and a short walk to the city or China Town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.1
    they had my room ready at 11am
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    price is a little bit exspensive for what it is can stay many hotels close by alot cheaper..which i will be doing next time..breakfast exspensive.

    they had my room ready at 11am

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable, great position, handy to trains, restaurants and entertainment. A great pub.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I understand that there are renovations being processed with the elevator. However, the mess around the entry to the elevator on my floor was rather disconcerting and the covers within the elevator a bit creepy.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. Liked being able to charge my phone at the bedside and it seemed to cover all varying devices if needed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    Concert night
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a thin small pillow . Room was boxed in for 2 people.

    The pub at the front is very good. Pub staff were friendly. The location was very good as well.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    I will stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like having to go into the bar to order my dinner.

    Th meal at the restaurant was very nice. I was able to leave my luggage at Reception in the morning free of charge.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    I had a very enjoyable stay and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The bed was lovely and comfortable and warm, the location of the hotel for the city centre was excellent and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Overall a very pleasant experience staying there.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.9
    Large comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower gel (only bar soap) in bathroom.

    Large comfortable room. Excellent breakfast. Good location near to central station, although not so easy to get to with the current road works.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.9
    Always stay here on our trips to Sydney
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was sagging in the middle - no it wasn't one of the single zip beds either.

    The price, the location, the feel of the old hotel. Absolutely love it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    Everything was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. Friendly front desk staff. Great food in the bar which had a great atmosphere. Will definitely be back next time we stay in Sydney

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Friendly staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Friendly staff; the general atmosphere of the hotel; central to transport and all CBD attractions; teapots used in the rooms for a cuppa; clean; lovely hot water in the shower. A good base for a stay in Sydney. Reasonable rates.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.7
    Not happy
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very cold. Air conditioner was set at this temperature 22 not adjustable at all.Very disappointed .Room on 2nd level very small.My friend also made same comments to me on their stay at same hotel.😟

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.9
    Elderly lady on her own
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room (Unserviced)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing as all good

    the location, staff and felt safe walking around by myself. I have recommended to friends n they have stayed also this is my second visit. Rooms are not big but that does me fine as on my own. I left something in my room and they sent it to me. Big thankyou for all concerned in cleaning my room, and staff in reception.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Comfortable and enjoyable, liked everything about it.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room (Unserviced)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything about the hotel. Especially the cleanliness and excellent staff. Bistro food was very good ,enjoyed the variety and the price was right.Definitely will stay there again.Highly recommend it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    Met needs completely........ very convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is old( my father, uncle and their mates used to stay there in the 50’s when they travelled to Sydney for footy) but then the cost balances the “age”.

    proximity to Central Railway Station and excellent tasty, value for money food

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    A Lovely Stay ~
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room (Unserviced)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent rooms as always. Perfect stay, enjoyed being close to everything in the city! Also enjoyed the facilities, very clean bathroom and comfortable bed. We were placed in a quiet corner which was perfect. Definitely recommending this hotel to friends amd family 😊

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room (Unserviced)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff who did the check in was horribly poor. The bath room was for disabled people. The basin, toilet seat height was not suitable to normal people. The shower curtain could not blocked the water which caused the bath room for wet after shower. The free WiFi was very very slow that I could not even open my email.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Excellent heritage ambiance with very modern room facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minor irritation of credit card deposit taken but very tardy refund.

    Excellent heritage ambiance with very modern room facilities. Everything for a comfortable room stay was provided in spacious surroundings and plenty of wardrobe space.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.1
    Satisfied
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room that I had was too far from the lift because I am disabled.

    It is closed to the main transport and main attraction. I stay in this hotel for over 26 years every time I went to sydney. But I prefer to have the room near the lift because I am disabled. Thank you.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There really isn’t much to say here. If I had to say anything it would be that the rooms are a little small, but they are adequate. I think it would also be a good thing if they could get information on the bus system. If you’re using public transport it’s a little hard to get around.

    The place was clean, the beds were comfortable, it was quiet, there was a small fridge and tea and coffee, the bathroom was a good size and it looked like it had been renovated. The staff were nice and helpful. The hotel also has somewhere to eat and a bar. It is situated near Chinatown so there are plenty of places to eat and you can get just about everything you would need close by. It’s a very short walk to a major train station. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely atmosphere
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room (Unserviced)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    I always feel safe at this hotel. They've managed to create a homely feel. I also love the location. The back door takes you Market City and all of the lovely Asian eateries.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.7
    WE WILL GIVE IT ANOTHER GO NEXT TIME AS WE HAVE HAD MORE ENJOYABLE STAYS THAN NOT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE ROOM WAS TOO HOT, THE AIR CON WOULD NOT REDUCE EVEN THOUGH WE TURNED THE DIAL TO THE LOWEST TEMPERATURE ON THE DIAL. VERY UNCOMFORTABLE. WE HAVE STAYED HERE MANY TIMES AND NOT BEEN SO HOT..MAYBE AN UNRENOVATED ROOM?

    GOOD LOCATION AND CLOSE TO STATION

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    6.7
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lady behind desk wasnt polite at all, didnt feel welcome at all. No hello, nothing. That disappointed me the most as we have stayed there plenty of times before

    Great location. Comfy good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.6
    Location was what I was looking for, and this was met.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location very close to Central Station. This is the reason I stayed here. As a solo traveller I did not venture out at night, not sure of the safety of such an area at night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room (Unserviced)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location of this hotel was great, we booked it for the location being very close to where we were working. It has an old pub feel, rooms are ok, good for the price that we paid.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    As a 79 year old i enjoyed the quite and closeness of the hotel to various places
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room (Unserviced)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    my room 711 was great could not ask for better.I have been at hotel a number of times and was pleased to have more room space most enjoyable after the city/surf run .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.3
    Great find but some limits
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room (Unserviced)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of any public guest areas. Awful dining facilities. Wobbly bed. Key system a bit vague. No view

    Clean, new rooms. Decor and history. Location close to all forms of transport but remarkably quiet. Lots of good eating close by.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.8
    Good location good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beware of night works on the light rail still continuing although this is not the hotels fault

    Stayed due to location near Central Station (150 m) Hotel has been renovated quite well in deco style

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.8
    great place to stay close to transport and China Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    very convenient to all the places we wanted to see, the hotel was great, food fantastic and not too expensive, we were upgraded to a family room which was great and gave us more room, close to station

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.1
    The cleaning staff were really helpful, and front counter...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room (Unserviced)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lifts didn't work up to our floor so we always had to go up two flights of fire escape stairs. We were told they would be fixed by the time we left but not so. In fact it didn't appear the problem was being seen to while we were there.

    The cleaning staff were really helpful, and front counter staff were professional.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.1
    A place where we return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room (Unserviced)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were out all day for the whole duration of the hotel stay, only coming back for showers and sleep, each night we noticed there were 3-4 midges flying around the room (despite getting rid of them each night).

    Excellant central location. Near China town and Chinese restaurants and light rail. Walking distance to Central train station and other Circular Quay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.7
    As we've stayed several times before, we expected better. We may shop around next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I admit we chose the cheapest category of room on this occasion, but we could barely move on Sunday morning because the beds and the pillows were so uncomfortable. We also had no window - only a skylight with a retractable blind.

    The location - proximity to Central Station and Darling Harbour.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    The room was a very good size and had a balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the toilet roll holder was very far away from the toilet seat. It was hard to get the toilet paper.

    The room was a very good size and had a balcony. it was very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    The fact that you could have a meal and a drink without even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding our room took time because the room numbers don't run in sequence. It was very confusing cos rooms aren't where you think they are. Took us about 10 minutes to find our room.

    The fact that you could have a meal and a drink without even leaving the hotel and the close proximity to everything.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.6
    The room was quiet, clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room (1 Person)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quiet, clean and comfortable. It was a better option to stay the night than to catch a late night train home on my own after a show at the Capitol Theatre (Stomp) just a short walk away.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.9
    Good for a city stay in Sydney!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room (Unserviced)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Second blanket that I found in my room was dirty, but quickly replaced by a clean one. It was a bit noisy (air condition running all day)

    I got a special offer, so just paid half of the usual price and therefor was very satisfied with my stay. Big room, great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Exceptional Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Highly recommend this Hotel. So convenient to all the attractions, transport and especially Darling Harbour. The staff were welcoming and offered service beyond what was expected. Will certainly stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for money, excellent location, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room (Unserviced)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other guests were very noisy at odd hours but this was not the fault of the staff Also the drain in the shower recess was blocked and I needed to dig out a ton of hair

    Excellent value for money, excellent location, very comfortable and clean Staff were amazing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    3.3
    Hotel from hell the won't many give you holiday nerve
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Queen Room (Unserviced)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ekstra pay for cleaning no free inter nothing l so angry you now l ben many hotels this is bulshit sorry l tell wot is in my heart reception no good not for the shower l have to ask for everything nada hotels supply everything l never see anything like this tails on the bottom not clean l not got help with my lager l no got words tel to them put say on front hotel before me stay you pay for everything list too long bed to old blankets dirty

    Inaf hot water for shower

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    How close it was to Central station and on George Street
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was perfect for what we needed. Shower and a bed for the night. However the breakfast was over priced

    How close it was to Central station and on George Street

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.5
    Cheap hotel in the right location for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room (Unserviced)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No views from windows but only there to sleep and shower.

    Great location for the Haymarket, Darling Harbour, light rail, walking distance with bags from the Central railway station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.1
    Fantastic value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room (Unserviced)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was extortionate. $25 for 24 hours of WiFi!

    Fantastic value for money. A basic hotel but very central. A 5 minute walk to central station. Everything you need except wifi.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    real value.. and great location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The hotel is refurbishing the rooms at the moment, floor by floor. There was a slight issue with our electricity supply when the people next door turned on their power. It needed a couple of visits from the reception staff to rectify the issue. As compensation for the slight inconvenience, they provided complementary full breakfast for two for our use the next morning.. a big thank you ..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    6.3
    Convenient environment
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet is very small, wash long hair to the schoolgirl very no-go, time of bath of water small become long water is used much ……

    Convenient environment

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    5.0
    Dissapointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed on wheels kept on moving with every move I made Very thin walls you can clearly hear conversations next door Pub in the lobby so it smells like cheap alcohol

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    6.3
    It was a pleasant stay at the Great Southern Hotel. The staff were friendly and generally helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room (Unserviced)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out time at 10am was a little too early. Thought the room rate of AUD128 per night was a little high

    I liked the heritage look and feel of the hotel. It is a cosy place in a very good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    5.4
    Good location, nice staff and clean bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby smelt of vomit the entire time we were there, the elevator was very dodgy and the lights went out in it when we were coming down in it. We were also given a room where the connecting door was not soundproof at all, with a gap underneath it, so when our very loud neighbours were talking until past midnight we could hear exactly what they were saying.

    Good location, nice staff and clean bathroom

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.1
    Not as good as previous stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed here several times however this time my bed and pillow were extremely uncomfortable. I am aware the hotel is undergoing a refurbishment program so perhaps that will be addressed

    The location and having a bar on site is excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Thoroughly refreshing
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about this time Nice room

    After a long drive you park your car in secure parking right next to GSH And less than two minutes you are at reception all hassle free . The bar out the front is A1 and the proximity to food clothes and grocery shops and transport is all too easy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.1
    Location good if travelling. But this particular room was not as good as room a few nights earlier
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was next to the area that was being renovated. Workers had the barrier door open and chatting away and using drill very early in the morning (was woken). The walls are very thin and disturbed by phone call from neighbouring room and the people waiting for the lift next to the room. Not great when trying for a sleep in.

    Location to Central Station is very good. Reasonable sized room. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.9
    Reasonably well appointed for short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could to with a comfortable chair in the room: only a desk and chair. No free wifi. No hot chocolate sachet or plunger coffee (only instant). Some herbal tea would also not go amiss (generally an option in other places I've stayed.

    Great location if you are using the train. Also easy to access the main tourist attractions. Reasonable sized room. Room was warm and bed comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.1
    I loved the vintage feel and general feel of the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room (Unserviced)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I made the booking for the rooms, and they were paid for on my credit card. Yet the hotel staff insisted that everything had to be done in my travel partner's name. When I raised the issue with the staff, I was told that if I had a problem with things being done in my husband's name, I should take it up with him! They just assumed we were partners - not so, just friends. And so unhelpful. Was told that was the way it was on the computer and couldn't be changed. Also was not keen on the smell of stale alcohol coming from the rather seedy bar at the front of the place.

    I loved the vintage feel and general feel of the place. Our rooms were spacious and comfortable. Great location, right in the heart of the city, next to Chinatown and moments from station. Airport shuttle service too...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room (Unserviced)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small room and the charging of $22 per day for internet. We were also advised by the reception staff our taxi to the airport would be $35 when in fact it was $55. Asked if they would arrange an UBER taxi and no the could not.

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: