Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Australia hotel reviews
  3. Victoria hotel reviews
  4. Melbourne hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Greenhouse Backpackers Melbourne

Reviews of Greenhouse Backpackers Melbourne 4 stars

228 Flinders Lane, 3000 Melbourne, Australia

#118 of 176 hotels in Melbourne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2043 hostel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2019

    9.2
    Excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom are cleaned once a day but are really dirty in the morning before cleaner gets in. Breakfast is included but it pretty basic toasts and cereals.

    Excellent location! This was my second time staying here in Melbourne and I would come back again. Trams are just around the corner and there's plenty of restaurants nearby along with cheaper eats.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2019

    6.3
    Great location, average accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen was a bit on the cramped side The showers were filthy every time I used them Lack of power outlets in the room Lack of air conditioning Also completely not the hostels fault, just luck of the draw but a few of my room mates were incredibly inconsiderate and clearly never stayed in shared accommodation before. That ruined my stay quite a bit.

    Location Working lift The staff The wi-fi actually worked well in the common area

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2018

    9.2
    Convenient and a good base for the city. Nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad WiFi in private room.

    It was good place to base myself but I paid a lot for a private room and WiFi wasn't good in my room which was disappointing. Also there was a lot of noise from guests.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2018

    9.6
    A great nights sleep within a comfortable clean room.
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The free breakfast was great that it was available but didn't offer any fresh produce and the only choice was jam toast or cornflakes.

    Very clean rooms and bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2018

    10
    Par excellence
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    6 story deco building with lift. Free guided walks. Pool table. Air conditioning. Rooftop with striking view. Situated close by River Yarra, downtown Melbourne, groovey cafes, Coles, great architecture, close all shopping.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2018

    5.4
    Very good central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The counter staff were quite rude, especially on one occasion. I don't get upset easily, but I was quite annoyed afterwards. The cleaning staff are lovely though.

    The location is great! The bed was quite comfy. The bathroom was relatively clean. Checking out was quick and easy.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2018

    7.5
    The price worth it for a temporary stay.
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't power socket close to beds!

    It worth for the temporary stay! It was affordable for me for a night. Such these places are suitable for Groups of friends in traveling. I suggest this place to those groups are traveling around Australia, and also for some people like myself that are looking for a temporary stay in an affordable place.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2018

    9.6
    Very clean, perfect location and great kitchen!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was right beside the bathrooms which meant we were kept awake most of the time with the noise of showers, squeaking toilet roll dispensers and people slamming the door.

    Very clean, perfect location and great kitchen!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2018

    5.0
    Good location, but facilities should be reviewed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - The facilities are pretty old, especially bathrooms. An update would really be nice, although perhaps not so easy considering how big the hostel is. - No plugs next to the bed, it is quite challenging to charge 4/5 phones at once with only 2 plugs available at room entrance. - Many long stayers - it is quite challenging to blend in when big groups of long stayers are already formed.

    The free city tour on Monday mornings is very cool, Shannon definitely knows Melbourne well, and it was a fun way to discover the city and meet new people :) Location is also very good at the heart of Melbourme within Free Tram Zone

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2018

    6.7
    Good Facilities and Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When finally check in the room, having my make up and hair, a cleaner lady with spanyol accent ask me not to doing it in the room because she doesn't want to clean my hair, which I think is very rude.

    The location is all about, minutes walk to TownHall tram station which is including in the free tram city circle and so near to other city attraction. I booked for 2 nights but only stay for 1 night because I have an issue and not feeling comfortable to stay longer. Arrive here early morning and need to wait until 10 am to check in, it' nice they let me using the bathroom at 6th floor, but so sorry to say, it's dirty. I got a room in 4th floor with a view and lower large bedroom. Wifi, breakfast and hot water are good. All staffs are nice and helpful except for 1 rude cleaner lady.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2018

    7.5
    Generally fine hostel, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathrooms were not too clean, could be cleaned more regularly or more precisely. No lamp and electric outlets by the bed. Wi-fi works only in common area.

    Excellent location. Free basic breakfast (toasts, jam, cereals, milk) and coffee / tea. Common area is quite nice and it is very big. 24-hours reception (I arrived around 2 AM, but there was no problem wich checking in at such late hour).

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2018

    6.3
    Great location but extremely lacking
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was more like a prison cell. There were no windows, no fan or way for the air to move around so it felt very stuffy, and ONE communal power outlet that had to be shared between the 6 different beds. It's absurd that people can't even charge their phones at night.

    The only positive parts were the people, the location, and the overall cleanliness.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2018

    9.2
    Great location, comfy and clean, would deffo recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there was no windows in the dorm so it felt a little stuffy with no air circulation but still comfy and clean.

    Lots of space and places to chill out, its good to be able to find a corner and just find some peace sometimes outside of your room. This place has a big dining area, large tv room, lots of sofas and a big rooftop. I didnt find it intimidating like a lot of places can be, there is always a place to go to be alone if you need to be. The location is just perfect aswell right smack bang in the middle of it all.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2018

    7.1
    Close to the railway station & could walk to the city...
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was a bit basic. Muesli & a bit more variety with the spreads eg. vegemite It was slippery in the bathroom after people had showers. Maybe some mats would help.

    Close to the railway station & could walk to the city centre & not far from South Bank. The rooms, beds & linen was good.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2018

    7.1
    Good location, not very social guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room did not have seperate plug sockets and the people were not very friendly. It's not a very social hostel.

    I really liked the location as it is very central and walking distance to everything. The free breakfast is also a bonus!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2018

    7.9
    Great location, beds were comfortable and good prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Didn't like the fact that there were no windows and the rooms were in perpetual darkness had to keep very quiet and fumble around in the dark a lot. Bathrooms could be cleaned regularly.

    Excellent location, very near Flinder's Station and trams are easily accessible.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2018

    8.3
    The matrasses were nice, location was perfect and it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I started in a dorm (5th floor) what was too small for all the beds and the stuff of everyone. We didn't had a window in the second room I slept in

    The matrasses were nice, location was perfect and it was clean

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2018

    10
    Best hostel I’ve ever stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not believe how professional the booking/check in process was and how nice the rooms were. This place is great value for the price and I felt so safe. Will definitely stay here again

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2018

    7.1
    All right
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like, the smell at the urinals in the shower room, the breakfast was poor, just corn flakes (one type), bread, jam and butter (no salt), tea and coffee (I wish that disclosing the breakfast contents would be an obligation on booking.com). I also didn't like not having free Wi-Fi in the room. Another thing that's annoying is having to share the room with someone who's using the hostel as a residence while he's working in AUS, having all his stuff spread across the room (that's common in Australia, I think).

    Location, safety, free internet (but not in the room), nice socializing area with big TV, great kitchen with amenities. A lot of informational leaflets.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2018

    4.2
    Easily the worst accomodation ive ever stayed in and worst 3...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easily the worst accomodation ive ever stayed in and worst 3 nights sleep (or lack or) ever. Private rooms are not rooms, theyre cubicals, meaning the walls do not connect with the ceiling. This means you hear everything happening on the whole floor. In a youth hostel, this is a problem if you plan on sleeping. also the beds are extremely squeeky so when someone rolls over down the hall you get to wake up again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2018

    5.4
    average
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No breakfast available for those leaving early morning. Said good morning to reception staff twice when checking out early morning - still waiting for response! Could be cleaner. Noisy.

    Locality

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    10
    The staff and facilities are next to none.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and facilities are next to none. Great common areas and kitchen. The staff were super friendly and going out of their way to ensure you had an exceptional stay! Best hostel I’ve been to in Melbourne. Great location too

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    8.3
    Amazing location very close to Flinders street station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are paper thin. So be prepared to hear everyone else’s alarms going off in the morning.

    Amazing location very close to Flinders street station. In free tram zone. Good way to meet new people. Walking distance to most attractions in CBD. My first time in a backpackers, I stayed in a private room and I enjoyed my experience.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    5.8
    Go elsewhere if you want to socialise
    • Family with young children
    • Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff weren’t very welcoming and seemed to look through you, not a very sociable hostel so if you’re looking to make friends it’s not the best (not many British), rooms were dusty and didn’t see a cleaner in the rooms once, you had to walk down the corridor to the bathroom which was shut for an hour for cleaning which wasn’t great when you needed a wee at 10.30am, one of our roommates told us to go elsewhere if we wanted to read with our reading lights on in bed as he had work the next day, stayed for a week and couldn’t wait to leave!!!!!

    Location was really central, floors were quiet at night

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    6.7
    Great location but purely for people who don't need sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a private room as we needed decent sleep to run the marathon. Unfortunately other guests talking loudly in the corridor all night. Did not sleep well. Also needs a significant update.

    Great location Simple check in and check out

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    6.3
    Cheap, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom not very clean, especially showers. Internet not very good, only really in the common room, even then very slow. Only plug sockets at one side of the room so couldn't charge phone and have an alarm on.

    Cheap, good location. Early check in.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    5.4
    It is very well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room without any window. WiFi it never worked well for me (so spend a lot of roaming) and I try to ask 3 times and they didn’t fix it. Breakfast is very basic. They used to have a travel agency within premises (this is mentioned as a good info in their page but does not exists anymore) but they don’t now, and when I tried to ask for a travel agency they replied like we don’t know any close by.

    It is very well located. Close to free tram and walking distance of everything.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    6.3
    Just fine
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not windows or natural light in the place. Walls were too thin, so you can hear clearly what was happening in the next room. Kitchen small and diaorganized.

    The location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed my stay. Really elevated my Melbourne experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a little more ventilation in the rooms and maybe more noise cancelling walls. But that's nit picking!

    Really friendly staff, location was perfect! The whole place is neat and clean. Kitchen was great. I would definitely stay here and recommend others to stay here! Absolutely Value for money to a tee!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    5.0
    The location is decent.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi sucks.. the room wasn’t worth $100, its like an old office with no windows and the room is real hot, anyone over 6ft will find the beds uncomfortable..there is no personality to the rooms at all.. People banged on my door 3 times and people where talking all night in the corridors.. I’m too old for hostels..

    The location is decent.. I didn’t use the common areas but they look a good place to meet people if your looking to meet people.. I only dealt with 2 staff and they where nice enough. If this is your first time to Melbourne, the location is the best thing about the place. Being from Melbourne myself, it’s very central and there is a money exchange downstairs and the police right next door.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    6.7
    Union experience
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    stolen food & lot ppl didn't wash their own used those equipments at Kitchen & those knive didn't sharpen, found pick pocket at toilet, complaining who snored in dorm since known this risk is high for share dorm, no parking provided.

    location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    6.3
    Good location, poor wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Very poor wifi, and a disappointing public area.

    Excellent location, near to the Flinder station and other tram stations. A plenty of good restaurants situated nearby.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    6.7
    Good location, mediocre everything else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was quite crowded and felt a lot like a dorm. Not enough plug points for charging inside the room, and even in common area The ceiling is a little dusty. Not good if sleeping in the top bunk. Beds are a little old as well

    The location was perfect for food and walking in the city. Very close to Flinders train station and federation square.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.5
    Location is the best in town, the public areas are relaxing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long staying customers tend to take up the room and stole my top sheet!

    Location is the best in town, the public areas are relaxing and comfortable, and breakfast you have to get out of bed for!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.3
    Location, comfort.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When I checked out the attitude of the man that checked me out was disappointing. He was rude.

    The bed was comfortable. The first worker was excellent amazing and very helpful. Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Very nice location, just on Flinders Lane near St Paul's...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very nice location, just on Flinders Lane near St Paul's Cathedral. Walking distance to Chinatown and Greek street with many nice restaurants there. I really like Melbourne because every spots are close to each other and it's very easy to get to them. And Greenhouse is also in the free tram area so that visitors can travel there easily and conveniently. Moreover, they provide free breakfast every day, free dinner every Tuesday, and free half day Melbourne tour every Monday. I like the kitchen and fridge as well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.8
    Best backpacker I've ever stayed with
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More space for luggages

    The room was clean and quite a broad space for each of guests. Bathroom was clean. Toilets too. Not noisy which was good. Common space was also very spacious

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sofa in public area is dirty No WiFi in bedroom or bathroom maybe because there are too many rooms on one floor

    It’s close to almost everything,flinders street station,federation square,7-11,souvenir shops,Brunetti,coles,bookshops etc.Every direction you go has something for you to explore. Some of the staff are really nice,but not every of them. Public bathroom is clean Respond quickly to my request before I got there

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Awesome place in an incredible city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a superb location right in the heart of the cbd everything was easy to get too! They also do a very informative and free walking tour every Monday morning which is great to get out and get your bearings on this fabulous city!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Nice backpacking hostel in Melbourne - very central!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only thing I found a bit inconvenient was the lack of plugs next to the beds. In most of hostels, every bunk bed has a plug next to it so you can charge the phone during night time, not in this hostel (at least in my room).

    My stay at Greenhouse Backpackers was really confortable. I only stayed one night in one of the female dorms, everything was comfortable and clean, the shared showers and toilets were also clean. The staff was very helpful and the location was very central and convenient - lots of restaurants and cafes around.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    5.0
    Except for the location, everything else sucks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are so thin and you can litterally hear everything going on next door or along the corridor. Luckily we were not light sleepers and combined with the tiredness, we managed to fall asleep but it was so so noisy and some people were talking at the wee hours or playing music loudly and every time someone opened or closed the door, you can hear it! We paid for double room, so by right it’s for two persons but the WiFi acc and password we were given can be only used with one device at a time. The friendliness of the staff are average. The sofas in the common area are so dirty and stained to point where it’s actually disgusting to even sit on it! When we booked, it said breakfast is included in the room but nope! We didn’t find any breakfast in the morning at all. It’s just a hostel-like kitchen style where you have to cook and serve yourself with your own grocery of course. And we have to remove and bring up the bedsheets and towels to the reception upon checkout! Overall, I wouldn’t go back there at all cost! Don’t visit this place unless you are really tight on budget. But even then you can probably find a better place or an Airbnb in a not-so-central area of town with a cheaper price!

    The location is exactly in the CBD and very convenient to go anywhere.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.9
    This hostel is in the city center and not far from the big...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decoration of the hotel lobby needs to be upgraded

    This hostel is in the city center and not far from the big church . It's very safe the down floor is the Police station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.9
    Cheap & good location, good for staying less than a week. Wouldn’t stay more than that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was too stuffy and kinda small for 4 people. No individuality in showers: one girl was peeing in her space and her pee went to my space.🤮

    Big living room, great location, cheap, friendly staff, quiet people.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.3
    It is within walking distance to a lot of places!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could at least empty the trash in the room daily?

    It is within walking distance to a lot of places! Wonderful location. Feel safe because level 1, is the police station

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no window in the room at all. I stayed to nights so it was ok for me.

    Location is great and there is police statiom on the ground floor. security seemed to be great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.2
    A very nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was squeaky.

    I had my own room which was very comfortable with lots of space. The bathrooms were big and always clean. Breakfast was great and the common room has lots of seating, so you can alwas find a place to sit. I would definitely stay here again if I ever come back to Melbourne.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    The best location in Melbourne
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room didn’t have a window to look outside but not a problem for a quick stay.

    Right smack in the middle of everything. Couldn’t ask for a better location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    Location Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room configurations didn't have external windows so there were large vents in the doors for air circulation - this with the thin walls made noise travel a bit too easily. Mattress was a bit too firm for me but the room had enough space and storage for my needs.

    Location was fantastic and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    Location was great, beds were comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is just a bucket of butter and a bucket of jam with toast or cornflakes with milk. No coffee, no tea.

    Location was great, beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.1
    Nice place for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mens toilet cleanliness could be better. No hook inside shower.Have to put clothes and other things outside while showering.Floors slippery even when its dry in the showers and toilets.

    Safe.Next to police station.Easy to get food and drinks as 7eleven is just beside (24hrs) and everything else is so near.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Awesome location and good facilities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need to always bring your room key even when you go to the toilet. It was a little annoying.

    Awesome location and good facilities!!! The room condition was great. It was clear and large enough for luggages. It also offers breakfast from 7am to 9am, 24 hour reception and looftop.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.3
    value for money hostel if you can live with some inconveniences
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    only 2 power points for a room of 4, beds are creaky, the knob on the lockers are loose, a lock does not do any good, some of the staff are not very helpful, way to room is like a maze

    toilets are clean, clean bedsheets, somewhat well organized kitchen, great location, safe (police station in the same building)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    3.8
    It was cheap, your really only paying for location, not comfort ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was lame, you got a choice of cheap cornflakes and toast, with strawberry jam, that’s it...every morning.... The shower and toilets were not kept clean enough, no room in the fridges to store food, all the furniture was old n dirty, entertainment within hostel was limited, and they only supplied towels at extra charge, no fash washers..

    I’ve stayed, in cleaner, and more comfortable backpackers...the beds aren’t ideal, I guess it’s ok if your two minutes old, or weigh 50 kilos,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location directly in the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi not available in rooms, just in public facilities on the 6th floor.

    Perfect location directly in the city center. Very easy to find and close to public transport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    3.3
    Disgusting and offensive. Less privacy than a shared filthy jail cell
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every morning before 10am an announcement is shouted across all living areas to get out before 10am if its your check out day. Its filthy. Its rediculously loud all the time day or night. There is zero privacy even in private rooms which are bunk beds a rip off and uncomfortable. Every day twice a day I experienced the cleaning people just opening my private room door without any notice. They were coming in to check the very large and filthy bin in my room. I was getting dressed on one occasion. I left brand new pants in my room by accident. Came back the next day to find out propertly left behind is just immediately thrown into a bin in the common area and people are welcome to help themselves to whatever is in there. Shared bathrooms are a nightmare with only 2 toilets and one single urinal to a floor! I git sick from all surfaces being just a petri dish for germs it was a nightmare. I actually checked out early it was so bad. Worst plqce Ive stayed at in many years. Disgusting.

    The location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location and staffs.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel staffs are really nice and helpful. They helped me to call for a taxi and I left hostel already. However, the driver called back for picking me up on another road. They came down for telling me because I left wrong mobile number and they couldn’t reach me. Really appreciated their helping.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location! Decent sized double room in the heart of the CBD for a great rate! No window in the room but not really a big deal! Shared bathrooms etc were really clean! Common area and rooftop were pretty cool!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    Great spot for a quick city stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Supremely convenient location for a quick stopover in the city. The location couldn't be much better if you're arriving or departing via Flinders Station. 24-hour reception made check in and check out a breeze. There was ample storage in the room, both a locker (bring your own lock) and shelves. Best yet, there is locker storage for FREE after you check out if you don't want to carry all your belongings around the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.1
    Excellent position, clean bathrooms, friendly staff, overall...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the rooms could be improved and the kitchen is generally dirtier than in other hostels I have been to.

    Excellent position, clean bathrooms, friendly staff, overall nice place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    It has a perfect location, close to a lot of nice places to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only problem was that in our room (5 beds) there were only two power connections in the wall. So, we always had to wait someone to finish using it. Beside that, everything was amazing.

    It has a perfect location, close to a lot of nice places to visit and of easy access.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    Would definitely stay again as the location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic central location. Facilities were clean. Friendly staff, large common area. Only downsides were that the room was a little too warm (central heating) and "breakfast" was very basic (jam on toast).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    3.3
    Don’t do it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude unhelpful staff , dirty, expensive for what I got, bed uncomfortable, noisy room opposite bathroom, paper thin walls, old decor, stained mattress protector, would not stay there even if it was free.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Overall the accomodations provided is excellent, and i wish to stay there again in future
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you could provide a bathroom slipper / shoe. The floor in the ladies room a bit slippery.

    The light thats turn off every 5 min / 1 hour.. it really saving the electricity.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bring your own padlock and hope that it will work on the keylocker

    Very close to tramway station and city center, roof access, large shared bathrooms, very cheap currency exchange office on floor (so good that some currencies are in shortage sometimes)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    The location was super great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    just a little steps at first floor, hard to carry big luggage alone.

    The location was super great! easy to walk to federation square, flinders station and many places. Hostel Facilities have everything you need and include breakfast (bread , cereal and milk)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Cheapest accomodation I could find. More $ then to spend elsewhere. Would stay elsewhere next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise from people walking past our room. Room was small. Not much ventilation. For another $50 a night, could have had much nicer accommodation.

    Location, security, friendly and helpful staff. Board games available to borrow from reception free of charge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    4.2
    Dirty old hostel nothing like pics
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very grimy dirty old hostel (although I hear that is normal in AUS) - nothing like pictures. Free breakfast consist of dry bread and butter/jam and one selection of corn flake cereal. Internet HORRIBLE! Only works in commons area (not in your room) and cuts in and out making you login again with a special username/password...

    Great location and lots of good restaurants nearby

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.2
    Location and cleanness
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed in private room on the 5th floor just right where ppl have to push the button to unlock the door so we could hear banging sound on our wall all night. Very thin wall that we could hear people next room talking. So please prepare your earplugs. Staffs were nice for Melbourne standard (East coast people was better at hospitality) but one at night-shift (plus size guy with gray hair) was rude. We are hostel owners and this attitude is extremely unacceptable in our hostel.

    Location is the best, just near everything. We stayed in 7 cities in Australia, this place's cleanness is superb. Cleaning lady was very nice and kind. Our room was inner side of the building so it has no window which is typical Victorian building and perfect for winter. Though I noticed there's no heater nor AC.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.4
    Just in to city and closed to stations, closed to Colse
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear next door peoples talking. Shower head was too low always hit my head. Night time always messy mostly toilets, not enough hot water. And small room.

    Just in to city and closed to stations, closed to Colse

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.3
    Okay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Male Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-Fi needs to log in before connected and there is no reception inside the room. Also, there is no power socket on the bed, you need to charge at common socket in the room.

    Good location, huge locker and storage as well the common room. Also, the security as it is located above the police station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    was ok for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Male Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room was so dark ( didn't have a window ) , but was ok anyway

    the place was nice for the price, has a good location , very close to the downtown of the city ,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    Staff were friendly throughout our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Blood-stained bed protector which I only saw when I took off the sheets as I was leaving. Wifi didn't work in rooms, only common area on 6th floor.

    Staff were friendly throughout our stay. Rooms were relatively clean with ample luggage space and beds were comfy. Perfect location, very accessible to food, bars and train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Private room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room didn’t have a window

    Staff friendly, room and facilities clean, bed comfortable. Shared bathrooms are the nicest I’ve had from hostels. Large common room/eating area which is the only place you can get WiFi. Kitchen is really big with all the equipment you need. Reasonably clean but need to sort the utensils tray out! Breakfast is a bonus. Rooftop would be pretty cool in warmer weather and it’s located in a great place 2 minutes from the train station and loads of shops and restaurants around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great location, staff, facilities - bathrooms were lovely and cleaned regularly, beds comfy, great kitchen facilities (free coffee and tea 24 hours round!)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.7
    Other than location nothing is ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff kept talking even though I was standing at the counter for few minutes. Dirty kitchen. Super dirty. Room very stuffy without windows.

    Perfect location in the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Greenhouse Backpackers Melbourne traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: