Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide 4 stars

125 North Terrace, Adelaide CBD, 5000 Adelaide, Australia

#65 of 93 hotels in Adelaide

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 735 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7

  • Paid WiFi

    4.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no complaints

    location great; ease of parking;very helpful staff;bar service and quality/flavour of food good;very reasonable pricing for good hotel in city area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Back room, lacked light, pidgeons nesting. Lacked soul, hoping for more art deco decor being how iconic Grosvenor used to be - take leaf out of The Washington Hotel, Washington Sq, New York.

    Convenience of location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were in need of upgrading. I stayed with my daughter and her friend and the room was small, particularly the bathroom. There was no room to put your toiletries, the bathroom was worn and did not look clean and the flush button on the toilet is in need of repair. The carpet by the bathroom door was water stained. For a 4 star hotel I expected a higher standard of room particularly for the money paid.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Location was good. Breakfast was plentiful and value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water in the shower didn't get hot enough for my wife but she has really hot showers. It was fine for the rest of us The windows are up high so you can only look out of them by standing. Not a huge issue as we valued the space of the Superior Room over the view Only one lift working

    Clean and spacious room Great location Friendly and helpful staff Excellent buffet breakfast included with one of the room rate options Kids stay and eat free if using unoccupied beds in the booked room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no lifts from or to the carpark working- we had to pull our luggage up and down the ramp in the carpark and then up a flight of stairs to check in. The rooms smelt musty. Airconditioning was noisy and the view from the room was atrocious - looking out at rubbish on a roof. There was not even a toilet brush in the bathroom. Would not recommend this place to anyone. Even mentioned the musty smell in the room to the staff at the desk and they were uninterested.

    The location is really the only good point - but there are plenty of other options located in exactly the same location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one lift in use which didnt feel that safe. When inside it kept bouncing just before the doors opened.

    Easy access to shopping areas, sporting facilities & restaurants etc

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have never been so dissapointed walking into a hotel room in my life. it was extremely small, the bed was tiny and rock hard, everything was old and the big clunky old window faced a dirty old wall. there are no decent facilities and staff were unhelpful. To top it off i paid decent money and therefore was angry that they could charge people so much for something that felt like a prison cell. never been this unhappy or ripped off with a hotel before. if it was half the price i paid i would have been ok because you get what you paid for but in tthis case i did not get what i paid for. i feel ripped off and very disapointed with the entire experience. lucky the breakfast was good tho. the only positive i havre.

    the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I believe you are addressing the issue of slow & non working elevators.

    We appreciated the always attentive & professionally staff. They are the most important feature of this hotel. We were also given the lovely surprise gift of Champagne & Strawberries & beautiful personal card for our 60 th Wedding Anniversary. We had a special & very happy time at the Mercure Grosvenor as we did 60 years ago. Thank you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise from a motor was very load and gave the room a slight vibration at times. A lot of loud banging from the cleaning staff as the room was situated at the back of the building in between utility rooms.

    Lovely Heritage building, passage carpets a bit worn but the rooms are modern and the beds are very comfortable. Excellent location in walking distance to the CBD and entertainment venues. A taxi rank is close by across the road.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My dad who was the guest is an elderly gentleman (87 years) who has limited mobility. I explained that on the reservation. He was allocated a room that had a step down from the bathroom. Although there is signage he did not see the sign and fell. Luckily he did not break anything but he was in pain and this ruined his visit. I realise it is not the Hotels fault that he fell but knowing about his mobility issues, could you not have put him into a room that had not steps or different levels? Dad commented on the carpet in the foyer as being of poor standard (not like the pictures on the website)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park lift not working. Lifts didn't work on second day. Bathroom door handle broke Tv remote did not work after day 1. Room was not serviced for three people

    The menu at the resteraunt was good though overpriced. The breakfast price and options did not cater for small eaters

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could be better as all was great. Very pleased with everything.

    The staff were great. The room was great and spotlessly clean. The bed was comfortable and overall excellent. I would recommend the Mercure Adelaide to those looking for a great venue and close to the Casino and all that Adelaide offers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very run down, dirty, unloved and tired. Not inexpensive, either. Asked for adjoining rooms when reservation was made. But got rooms separated with an empty room in between!? WiFi didn't work. A bottle of water really can be complimentary... Cannot recommend and would not return.

    The location is great. Bed was comfortable. Staff were pleasant. Good secure parking. Hotel was quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Supposed to be twin beds but it was twin beds made to be a double. After great discussion at the front desk it was supposed to be rectified. But when we went out in the evening it still had not been done.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Tiny fridge; fairly small room; tiny ensuite/wc no good for a big person but refurbished;paid wifi-everywhere else is free; small cupboard, one drawer; stained hall carpets and scuffed walls and lift doors -whole hotel looks shabby; carpark floor filthy and uneven & car park spaces not suited for 4wd cars - easily blocked in & poor access from street-dangerous exit for passing pedestrians; failure to advise us at Check-in that breakfast was included in out price so we missed 3 days that we had paid for; accounting glitches which debited an extra $2000 odd from our credit card which took a week to reverse; In short an expensive hotel that need a total refurbishment. If this is a typical Mercure hotel I will never book with them again.

    Staff were very friendly and helpfull. Restaurant smallish but bright and clean; meals were very good. Handy location to North Terrace attractions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the local pub next door keeping us awake until the early hours. (2.30am). Not happy.

    Friendly staff. Room clean and comfortable. Breakfast well provided for all. Our only complaint being the music noise from the local pub next door keepng us await until the early hours, 2.30am. Not good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was a lot of noise in the morning, not sure what it was - we were in room 242 the decor just looked a bit dated the room was a bit smaller than what I am used to

    Value for money great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In my opinion, Basically hotel is dated and grubby, bathroom is not big enough for two people, but worst aspect is air conditioning is terrible, the room was hot and stuffy in fact the hotel lobby doors were left open to get air from outside in, extremely disappointed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were really hot due to broken ac. Bathroom was very small. Difficult to park and unload luggage especially traveling solo with a 13 week old baby. Parking was close by, but not really ideal due to my situation.

    Locstion

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only booked here because my usual Holiday Inn around the corner was full. No aircon in the corridors - windows open on a super hot day. Tired old room, aircon noisy and no controls other than a fan. Old flat screen on wall a mile from the bed so couldn't see. No USB charge points - have to pull furniture out just to find a power point next to the bed. PAID wifi, $10 a day - it's 2018, get with the program! Horrible hot food breakfast, you wouldn't have thought you could stuff up cooked mushrooms but they did. Massive queue for breakfast and everyone has to squeeze up a narrow staircase, coming and going. Only 2 small lifts so had to wait because lift was full. Oh and the 'no steal' hangers. Tip - the last thing I'm going to nick are the hangers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is a very old hotel and has interminable narrow corridors with small rooms. Ours opened onto a narrow light well, but since all the windows are frosted and only open about 10cm we couldn't look out anyway. Very dark and pokey. And because the Adelaide Festival was on they doubled the tariff - definitely not worth the $200+ per night.

    The location on Adelaide's North Terrace was very convenient for our purpose.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with 2 single beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view wasn't great (looking out to a wall) - but I am aware of the older building and it really didn't matter for a short stay and being out and about!

    Clean, comfortable and convenient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    air conditioning not effective at all did not reduce temperature. plus we could hear a motor switching on and off all night which made it hard to sleep.volume on tv not adjustable.need to turn down on some chanells .did not mind max volume being contorlled.step into ensuite dangerous and door hits shower area .car parking very tight

    location in the city.staff were good .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is looking very tired. Carpets were stained, paint and plaster scuffed and surely paying for WiFi is a thing of the past

    Staff were very friendly and the hotel is in a good position

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs to eating areas Room very cramped. Bathroom small Shower floor slippery and water leaked under the door.

    The location was good. The food was good and waiters helpful but the location for breakfast too many stairs for older folk as we are.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be nice to have the newspaper at breakfast.

    My room felt very inviting when I arrived. Air conditioner on and lighting also. Very welcoming and pleasant. Very nice to see a famliar, cheerful face at the reception counter(man with red beard). Very nice breakfast menu and room to eat it in and friendly staff. Cold drink at hotel entrance was appreciated.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    carpark across from room was noisy & too many arguments in the alley way below from night clubs in Hindley St. If staying again though but will request a room on the other side of the Building. In store movies were too expensive.

    easy access to City. Bed & pillows need an up grade but were not uncomfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised as modern and contemporary- read this as dated and shabby. Beds uncomfortable with old fashioned feather pillows, one sheet and a duvet without a cover and a further sheet on top - why?? Duvet cover would feel more hygienic. Stained carpet and hole in curtain. Hairdryer very slow. Shower door repeatedly came off runners. Shower screen not cleaned at any time during 5 day stay as still had shampoo and shower gel which had spilled onto screen. Noise from adjoining rooms very audible in early hours and early mornings. Have stayed in other hotels in Adelaide and this is most definitely bottom of list.

    Location ideal for station and city

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The airconditioning is appalling, the rooms are like sweat boxes (at least on the 5th floor) Obviously a common issue as a pedestal fan is already avaipable in the room !

    Proximity to Adelaide Oval. Great breakfast. Front office and bar staff were great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking at hotel was not practical - no available car parks as corner car parks have a concrete pole half way in the carpark. The carpet in the hallway of hotel rooms is old and worn.

    Central Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to update hallway carpet, old .. Doesn't have a good feeling when walking along hallway.. Hotel needs an update , even a nicer Reception area ..

    Location great..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel could certainly do with some updating carpets were terribly worn and needs a lot of painting to bring it up to standard.

    Fantastic customer service staff were so friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep stairs to get to the foyer; only windows were high so the room felt like a box; air conditioning was centrally controlled with no adjustment panel in the room; water backed up in the sink and shower; We weren’t impressed by the wildlife that crawled out of the bathroom drain in the middle of the night. The carpark smelled worse than Hindley Street on a Saturday night, goodness knows how many decades it’s been since it’s been cleaned!

    Our room was newly renovated and very clean. The beds were comfortable with lots of pillows.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Adelaide was over 40 degrees when we arrived and we couldn’t control the thermostat so it was super uncomfortable in the room. We had to pay $20 a day for underground parking that we weren’t guaranteed a park and we weren’t told we would have to pay for parking until we checked in.

    Easy check in, friendly staff, good location, on site parking

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lack of storage draws for clothing and the intermittent WiFi.

    Our room was spacious and comfortable. The receptionist kindly upgraded us to the "Bridal Suit" which had its own balcony overlooking the North Terrace. Botanical Gardens & Anzac Memorial are within a short walking distance. Good free bus service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking should be allocated based on vehicle size.

    Comfy bed. Fantastic location -close to city shopping, restaurants and entertainment. Tram to Glenelg beach at the front door. Staff friendly and efficient

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had arranged and paid for late checkout but was disturbed on 2 occasions. Once by phone call then a porter entered room whilst under shower.

    Convenient to city. Room was neat and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower cubicle screens flimsy, came off tracks whilst closing. Could do with some maintenance and maybe some upgrading. Curtain coverage over windows - at sunrise the gap let all the light in which due to the placement of the bed meant it hit you right in the face

    Close proximity to Adelaide oval and main shopping precinct

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a nightmare, only 1 of our room keys worked, the shower screen had to be fixed by my husband and the room was small and dark. I was really disappointed as we had our wedding reception there and all our guests stayed and it was above average. Not sure id come back

    Great location and friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay for WiFi.......that's a thing from the past for me. It shares the location with Ibis......so might be cheaper to book Ibis don't know what the difference is

    Great location and great room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Plumbing ---the water took a long time to run away. Bed was a bit hard for my liking. I was probably expecting more now that the hotel is in the Mercure banner

    The accommodation was adequate for the price & it was only somewhere to sleep after attended our Grand-daughters 21st in the city --so location was great. We have stayed there before Mercure took over the hotel so expected small rooms

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy and relaxing

    Close to riverbank and cbd within walking distance of adelaide oval and the river precinct bars and casino across the road. Close to hindley street and all cafes

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1 The wifi in the room is unusable 2. The gym only has two machines, and the aircon isn't working. 3. The room was very small and had a view of a brick wall from the window 4. The used towels weren't replaced one day 5. No bottle opener in the room, when asked for one at the bar initially refsed on the grounds they only had 1!

    The staff were very friendly and helpful within the limits of the facilities provided

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of the floors looked the same as you stepped out of the elevator. A nice artwork or color code would spruce things up.

    Quaint little room that was quiet. Bar and small dining area. Staff were helpful. Walking distance to Rundle Mall. Bank St had a few 'hole in the wall' eateries and a great coffee spot, Bonobo.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was definitely not a queen bed as feet hung over the end. The air conditioning did not work in our room. Bathroom had no room to stand and dry yourself, had to walk out of bathroom area to dry. Pulled a tissue out of the tissue box and 10 tissues came out all stuck together which was gross. Room was nothing like the picture online from which we booked.

    The breakfast was really great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was dated and for what we paid, I wasn't that impressed. It was great that they had parking but the parking spaces were really close together.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very small bench space in bathroom. a/c adjustment. no toilet brush. limited dining menu.

    proximity to shopping. hotel underground parking. friendly staff. cost of hotel parking..comfortable bedding and large room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were celebrating at a nearby venue and did not want to drive home that night and found the comfort of your hotel a better idea . This is approx. the fourth time we have decided to do it this way and will continue to do so thank you again for your great sevice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loo paper!

    On returning to our room on the evening of 4/11 there was an overpowering smell of cigarettes. The staff reacted promptly. Also there was a rather distressing altercation between some guests further down the hallway (? the Ibis style rooms). Sorry to say the toilet paper was less than tops! Parking and staff great as was the location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The $20 parking fee was a little bit rich given it was only for one night. The carpet was not in good nick looked dirty and hadn't been cleaned properly. The bathroom was hot and the shower was terrible.

    The reception area and location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with 2 single beds
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The room was disappointing. The lighting was poor. Not enough storage for clothing. The décor of room was dull, could do with some pictures and more modern colour scheme. The same can be said of hall ways.

    The staff at reception were very helpful in booking trips and taxi for us, and very polite. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cockroach parking was difficult for larger cars

    The room was big and nice but there was a massive cockroach in our room and very little bench space in bathroom

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking arrangements then to be told to park in the next block !!! It's our carpark too after driving around for 1and a half hours . There war a Wedding on the lower floor the room was shaking not much sleep that night

    Location helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found the room to lack sound proofing and the air conditioner was quite noisy. Room was adequate. We had one evening meal which was very good but the wait of over one hour from time of order was poor.

    The location is this hotel's best feature. The evening meal was very good although the service time was not.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is obviously an older property and we were disturbed by outside noise quite a bit. The central air con was also quite noisy.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Location to trams and buses very good. Location to many tourist attraction also very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very little. The shower was small but very enjoyable with plenty of hot water immediately. The facilities were all that we required.

    The facilities, were clean, the food was good, the staff were friendly and very helpful. The hotel was very close to all the things we wanted to visit, including the wedding we were attending. We were very comfortable and well looked after. Thank you.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with 2 single beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service given by some of the staff members was not good. There was strange noise coming from the roof of my room which was very very disturbing.

    Bathroom and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was outdated, lot of noise from the elevator although we were positioned on the opposite side of the floor, away from the lifts. No possibility for fresh air in the room. (Window's can't open) , not possible to adjust temperature in the room, only fan speed for aircon can be adjusted.

    room was large, comfortable beds. Enough room to store clothes in wardrobe if needed, large size desk to do some work on laptop. Small fridge.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were small but ok and ours overlooked a noisy bar. Needs revamp. Breakfast was not nice at all. Toaster in corner was hard to get to. Luke warm food and had been sitting there for a while. Did not enjoy at all.

    We were greeted with a smile and we were close to our event.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very dated. I got a sale for the room which i was happy to pay but i wouldn't want to pay full price for it. The rooms are like a maze to get through and once found the rooms were very very basic.

    In was convenient

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no heating in the room, only cooling, but I did ring house keeping and they brought at heater to my room immediately. so that was good. I also thought breakfast for $27 per head was a bit steep for what it was, modest selection..

    Location. room was a good size and well presented, clean and tidy, all that was required.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    False fire alarm at 4:30am in the morning !!! Just told us to stay in the home. After the Grenfell Tower fire, this is a totally inappropriate advice. Time to upgrade the exercise room !!

    Location is the best. The safe with an actual key, instead of digital lock. Loved it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with 2 single beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ALL the showers (we stay in several rooms over a period of 10 days) were "weak", water was dripping out of the shower heads...very annoying

    Friendly staff, good size room and comfortable beds, excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plumbing issue forced us to switch rooms new room was missing amenities 2nd new room had a spike in the tile by the toilet and broken cabinets. Houae keeping nevwr changed sheets during the week. Very small bath tubs.

    Great location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All rooms are centrally heated but because the temperature was high outside the rooms were stifling and we were told we could not adjust our room temperature.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room AC is not good ,& the facilities in the room were fairly basic .

    The staff sre exceptional ,Grant , & the day manager on sunday 18/9 ( didn t get hs name) So helpful re parking , my mum who was with me has mobility issues. We found our room hot , & it only had a single chair. The beds were great . Breakfast was simple but good. The conference facilities were very good . But all the staff we rncountered we just fantastic , absolutely nothing was too much trouble & all went the xtra mile

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a room with a disability access bathroom and when we arrived they had given our room to someone else. We tried several other rooms with no walk in shower. They did give us a shower seat but it barely fitted in the shower, we could not close the door and had trouble getting my son into the shower as the toilet was very close to the door. When we went to go to breakfast the next morning there was no disabled access to the restaurant so we had to sit downstairs. Our breakfast was brought to us but by the time we got it it was cold. A very disappointing stay, doubt that we will be back again.

    The location of the hotel was great, and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was excellent! The staff were professional and helpful. The beds were very comfortable and rooms were clean and quiet. The hotel was very central and could walk to many attractions. We ordered room service and it came very quickly and was delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Convenience I was attending a convention and the hotel was opposite the convention centre as well as only half a block from Rundle Mall. Plenty of places to eat nearby and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was one of the worst business accommodation I've had. While a renovation to the bathroom is fine, the room itself was uncomfortable with limited light and the bed on casters rolling the bed from the wall with every movement. The room was incredibly stuffy. It has an archaic air con system with the settings low, medium, high. High presumably for an aircon system was high fan? but apparently it was high heat. Worst of all you're on an alley way with rubbish trucks coming in and reversing out literally ALL NIGHT. I counted 5-7 trucks each of the two nights I stayed, throughout the night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with 2 single beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one small chair to sit on so you are forced to sit on bed a bit too much but otherwise fine.

    We return to this lovely hotel regularly to celebrate our anniversary. Quite little hotel close to transport and lots of the city sights. Enjoyed a special cheese and wine event at the markets one night and Glenelg for part of the day the next and with the tram right out front you can get there so easily. Staff are so lovely friendly and helpful. We will be back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisy in laneway. People yelling and yahooing at night. Noisy rubbish trucks early morning Had to go up and down stairs for buffet breakfast as no room to sit in upstairs dining area.

    Bed comfy. Nice shower. great location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were woken at 4:30am to loud noises from the street below including trucks reversing and the noise continued on and off until construction started at 7am. I'd have appreciated being advised that this was happening or put on the opposite side of the hotel. Also, the corridors smelled really musty.

    The room was warm, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A four star hotel maybe not. There was no heating control to adjust the heating in your room, it was cold. The hotel was cold no central heating. Lucky there was an extra blanket in the room.No help with luggage, no help with parking to get out your car get wet to swipe your key to open parking door. Room service food Luke warm, not covered very ordinary. Breakfast was ok although staff not helpful no seat upstairs so said go down stairs but no offer to help with your food. Not enough information on what the hotel offers.

    Foxtel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    N/A

    The staff member Grant was always so lovely when we saw him even after we had checked in and went out of his way throughout our stay to say hello which I thought was lovely!

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Mercure Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: