Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney – MGallery by Sofitel 5 stars

34 Harrington Street, Sydney CBD, 2000 Sydney, Australia

#89 of 316 hotels in Sydney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 671 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    10
    Another fantastic stay in a lovely historic building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was disappointed restaurant renovations were not yet completed. Had enjoyed dinner in Scarlet restaurant on previous visits.

    Due to renovations being undertaken in restaurant, hot breakfast was provided in alternate adjoining cafe. Saved having to search for other options. 👍

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location all within walking distance to attractions,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too warm and needed the air con on at all times

    Perfect location all within walking distance to attractions, restaurants and public transport.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    6.3
    Adequate - I will go elsewhere in future
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel restaurant not open due to renovation so no breakfast available on site.Restaurant next door for breakfast as organized by hotel was below par and should not have been used.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.5
    Great, loved it!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom size (small) in room 216!!!

    Loved everything other than the super small bathroom in room 216. Otherwise absolutely no complaints. Super area, great staff who are all helpful and friendly. In general a great place to stay!!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    4.2
    The location is the only saving grace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very disappointing. Be aware, the pictures of the property's Heritage Superior Queen rooms are not representative of the rooms to be expected. We were initially placed in a small, dank room on the ground floor at street level (the air-conditioning was clogged with dust and due to the nature of the street-level room, we couldn't open the window for ventilation). The bathrooms are tiny, with minimal room to shower. When we approached management about the room they agreed to move us to what they termed an 'upgrade', we were then placed in a room pictured in our initial booking (Heritage Superior Queen). Management subsequently argued that it wasn't the original room we'd booked for but an upgrade. Having viewed previous reviews and upon confirmation with management, it appears that this is an ongoing issue and has been problematic for other guests in the past. MGallery urgently needs to reconsider the labelling and price structure of their rooms as it is misleading and misrepresentative of rooms. If you insist on staying at the Harbour Rocks, ensure that the rooms match the ones you've booked for. In short, highly misleading and poor value for money.

    The location The complimentary wine

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.1
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were renovating the restaurant and the noise was horrible I wanted an relaxing day in the room But the jack hammer was going on for hours I wasn’t informed until I checked in

    Great Location Clean/friendly

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    4.2
    A very disappointing stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The level of noise in this hotel is beyond acceptable levels. My stay was truly awful and the hotel's ability to manage the issue was non existent. I would not recommend this hotel based on my own stay. Too many errors and oversights.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.2
    Excellent boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife and I got married at the MCA and chose to stay at Harbour Rocks before and after the wedding. Excellent small hotel with great interiors and lovely staff. Had a great wedding after party at the cafe.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    5.0
    Disappointed and would not stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Upgraded from a ground level street front room to a larger but very noisy room. I needed earplugs to sleep. Old and very small bathroom, terrible breakfast which I assume is because the restaurant is closed. Not a great stay. I will not return.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unsecured Wi-Fi but it seems to be the norm in Australia

    Location is amazing, right next to the Quay and fantastic restaurants in the Rocks. Staff were very helpful and room was great

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    9.2
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a room on level one just near bar and breakfast area. This meant we heard noise until bar closed and first thing in morning. I wouldn’t stay on the ground level if staying again.

    Very helpful staff. So central to major attractions and transportation. Loved being able to go to the crepe cafe as part of breakfast. Coffee great too that was included in breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.1
    A bit disappointing - probably wouldn't recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel breakfast was 'included' in the rate but the restaurant was closed for renovations so the alternatives were a limited menu from the crepe place next door or food that was set out in the reception area - not so appetizing! Room was noisy with mechanical noise from the refrigerator in the cupboard - had to leave the cupboard door open to minimise the noise and that meant the cupboard light was turned on all night. NO ELEVATOR - be warned! You will have to walk up at least one flight of stairs to your room and possibly 2. That said, reception was proactive in lugging my luggage for me. No free WiFi unless you sign up for the hotel loyalty program - not a biggie but these days most hotels offer some form of free WiFi. For a boutique hotel in a historical area the room I was in was pretty bog standard accommodation. Dark brown painted brick walls, dirty carpet, stained protector on the bed, inadequate lighting, and an overall slightly dingy feel to the room. Room safe in the cupboard was at floor level so you have to kneel on the (unsavory) carpet to operate it and it is only small tablet size. It wouldn't hold my 11" Mac or my dSLR (which most hotel safes elsewhere do easily). Lobby has couches covered with throws and which sag in 'interesting' ways - one wonders what they look like under the covers? Overall, it's an 'interesting' design aesthetic which tries to look cool but which fails and just looks 'creepy and old'. (As a side note - what Accor is trying to do here is a look and feel that the CitizenM hotels achieve with ease - so it can be done). The combination bar and reception is a bit weird too and the seating in the bar area is cramped especially considering you're effectively drinking just feet from where others are checking in.

    The hotel is in a great location on the Rocks and is pretty easy to get to - I walked from Circular Quay which was easily doable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    6.7
    Get a room in the main building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a very small room this time in the side corridor. The room smelt damp as did the bathroom and above the basin there was a shelf so low that washing my face became a hazardous exercise in not smashing my head/ face/ nose against the shelf .. simply bad design.

    Location location location Lobby is lovely with free coffee and iced water and staff friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.1
    Expensive, small but great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are so incredibly small, couldnt even open up your suitcase. No fresh air not even an exhaust fan in bathroom, made room very stuffy given how small it was. Dont use mini bar- know that there is always a mark up but $12 for a packet of crisps seems excessive. Overall very pricey for what you got, even for Sydney.

    Location was fantastic right in heart of rocks. Beautiful old building

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    Position, Cleanliness, Staaa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was nothing like the pictures on the site I book the room on (Booking.com). The room was small, at street level and right on the street. There was no bath (as described on booking.com) and was very noisy

    Position, Cleanliness, Staaa

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    Intimate feel in the bar area and convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms and small bathroom. Toilet seat was worn. Quite noisy in the outdoor terrace which was directly below our room. Noise continued till midnight.

    Intimate feel in the bar area and convenient location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Girls weekend in Sydney
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there were some works being done so we couldn’t enjoy the restaurant but nouse was a minimum so that was a plus. The only negative was the position of the T.V’s. I banged my head twice. 😳

    Perfect location right in the rocks. Great places to eat and close to great walks in both directions. We took in a show at the Opera house and Ferry to Manly. All walking distance

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.3
    Clean and comfortable and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were 2 steps in the room which could very easily not be seen and cause tripping and injury. Bathroom door on a spring close which was very annoying. Cost wise and considering the room i think a little over priced even for central Sydney.

    Clean and comfortable and good location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.5
    the staff recommendations, reception lounge area, and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet was only free if an accor member, renovations were underway regarding kitchen, gym small and no windows but had good equipment for the size of hotel

    the staff recommendations, reception lounge area, and outdoor lounge area, location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.1
    Great location and Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were amazing - friendly and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. The location fabulous. Right amongst the Rocks market and loads of bars and restaurants and a short walk to Circular Quay. Rooms were small which may be normal for the area, and there are obvious constrictions with the conversion of such an old building. nowhere to put things away and virtually no surfaces in the bathroom to put things. The bed was comfortable however, and appreciated the feather and down pillow ordered from the pillow menu. The restaurant was closed for extensive renovations, which is a pity on two counts. 1. no food available within the hotel. 2. jack hammers starting at 8.00am right under our room. Would not be an issue on a work holiday though. While the foyer and bar was charming, homely and welcoming, I found the rooms quite small and stark. Blinds did not adequately block out light and everything was just 'surface clean'. I received free WIFI as an Accor member, but would be pretty disappointed in this day and age to have had to pay the $10 per day normally charged.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic , friendly, clean & comfy .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! This was our second stay here & it was it was just as good as our first stay. Complementary bottle of wine in our room for my birthday. Fantastic little hotel.. staff friendly, clean & bed super comfy I wanted to take it home with me 😊👍.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Location is very good, staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio King Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room safe didn’t work. Wifi connection limited to 3 devices even though we had suite for 2 adults and 2 kids

    Location is very good, staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable room, friendly and helpful staff, great lounge area and brilliant location. An easy walk to the Opera House, MCA, Manly Ferry, gardens etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    Staying in historical building in the Rocks
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast is good but too expensive.

    Hotel is in a beautiful old building which is very nice styled. Location is very good in the Rocks, few minutes walk from the harbour with amazing views. Good value for money; this time of year for ASD 230. Very nice bed and comfortable room with strong shower

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Best location, stay here with no worries despite it's imperfections.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While I recommend staying here, I can't say the value was fully there as a complete experience. It felt more like an adequate place to sleep, but missing the excitement and extras of places you love. The reception/lobby area has a very night-porterish feel to it. This was winter so it could be more that it isnt peak tourist season. Rooms and tv service could use some upgrading as well.

    Best location for first time visitors. You are near so many attractions and points of transport to reach others. I definitely recommend staying here if you don't want to break the bank on a really expensive hotel in Sydney.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Nice Hotel, andThe Rocks is a beautiful area to explore
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Staff were very friendly and obliging. Excellent position. Received an upgraded room which was a nice surprise. Lovely old building. Good coffee next door at Crepe Suzett.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic Harbour Rocks location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast offer was average, very small portions, disappointing taste, average attention from wait staff.

    Fantastic Harbour Rocks location! Excellent staff welcome and service. Boutique ambience. Eclectic library bar / relaxation area. Surprise welcome with chocolate covered strawberries and free breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit noisy the windows were not very well sound proofed. But it was quiet through the night

    Room was comfortable and hotel is in a great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    5.4
    Very disappointing quality for the best room in the house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed at the best room in the hotel, which is Harbour View Suite. It is the most expensive room, totally over our budget but we thought we could indulge ourselves. We arrived in the evening to find the suite's light colored carpet to be dirty with stains all over the room and the main AC in the living area making wheezing noises. Since the kids had to sleep in the living area, it really did not make our sleep comfortable at all, and there was nothing that the hotel could do to fix it for the 3 nights that we were there but to give us 50 dollars off per night.

    We loved the area. There were so many things to do within only a few hundred meters. The neighborhood is really happening with so many good places to eat and nearby stores for all our needs. The staff were trying to be helpful with our problems with the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    Great location, too noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noisy. We were on the first floor which backed onto a laneway. It was noisy at night, busy walkway. I was woken at 6.15am by someone using power tools, moving bins over the cobblestone lane and emptying bottles into the bins.

    It smelt nice!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    Would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chose this property for its position as we were going on a cruise The international terminal is an easy walk and The Rocks area lovely to place to stroll around. Looks of places to eat. We were lucky enough to have enjoyed Vivid at the same time! Could see Opera House and Harbour Bridge from our room even though s little obscured!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    Needs a substantial refit
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first night was in a room with a bathroom that was so small it was physically dangerous. Drying oneself outside the room is not something I would have expected in an M Gallery standard hotel.

    the Staff and the general atmosphere were excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Be careful what kind of room you get!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Heritage Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first nights I got room 102, near the restaurant. I asked after an hour an other room because of the noice. They didn't have another room. So the first night I hardly slept. The other two night I got another room but the damage was already made.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.3
    A perfect location for exploring the Rocks and our beautiful Harbour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioner was noisy and extremely dirty. The toilet seat was broken and the room was claustrophobic and airless.

    Location was outstanding and staff were friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.4
    Fortunately Sydney is so beautiful that has helped me and my wife to forget our accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -From a boutique hotel we were expecting a better warm welcoming. -Very poor service: just arrived, room downstair, no lift (this should be mentioned when people are booking their stay) with two luggages to carry, I had to ask if someone could give us a little help!! -Room: too small -Minimal wardrobe -Bathroom with shelf close to the ceiling and no one hook for to hang anything -In 5 days we have walked several times in front of the reception without receiving the "HELLO" from the people working at the front desk, too busy "working" at their computers. Definitely we will never go back.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.5
    Overvalued. With appropriate management could be great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator. Dinner served in room was not well cooked and the salad snd fries so salty that was impossible to eat. Furniture of the room not in goo condition

    Hotel is on great location. Room was spacious and staff friendly. The old building has been renovated in retro style but kept its original and cozy industrial character.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.5
    Loved the location, but a bit disappointed with some of the aspects of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Powerpoints above bench Chains on blinds easily reachable and secured for safety. 2 chairs in the room Free wifi

    the wifi was not free. it came up with a fee which surprised me. Would have liked more areas to lounge at, as only one chair in room. Powerpoint to use kettle very difficult to find. I couldn't reach the chain to pull the blind down, having to get on chair as an older person.. not ideal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    The staff were friendly and very attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room wasn’t the best in terms of where it was located (noisy and no window, just a door without a screen so difficult to leave open in order to air the room) and it was quite dark.

    The staff were friendly and very attentive. The location is also fabulous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location. Friendly and professional staff. Lousy sleep.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, the room location was very noisy caused by 'nightclub' noise and a very irritating 'fanlike' clicking coming from inside the ceiling area. Upon checking in, I requested a quiet location because of an early start. The noise from the nightclub did not stop until well after midnight and the clicking noise kept going on and off all night. I will be mindful of your hotel's limitations in the future when booking for important business engagements.

    The location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    Would have been ok for shorter stay but location brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Office agreed to one price and got charged more.

    Bathroom far too small - and we're not large people. Anyone bigger than average would have no chance of getting into the shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.0
    doubtful I'd go back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Housekeeping had not cleaned my room from the previous guest...when I went to make a cup of tea in the morning previous guests cup and teabag were still in the tea facility...I then noticed the bin had food scraps from previous guest...

    no breakfast required

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    An overall excellent experience but the bathroom was small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Heritage Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In relation to the bedroom size, the Ensuite bathroom was extremely small. The bathroom was also missing a much needed hand towel rail and the discoloured tile grout was off-putting to say the least.

    The location was incredible and the hotel's heritage façade and interior design exceeded expectations. The fresh ice tea in the lobby was a welcoming touch and the toiletries were of a high standard.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location. Bathroom needs renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact I brought to the Manager’s attention that the shelving in the bathroom was coming away from its foundations to which he was genuinely surprised! Obvious to us that the cleaners don’t communicate effectively with management. I’d stupidly left my laptop in the top drawer of bedside table and it took the person at reception to have to interrupt the next nights guests to locate it. Again, the cleaners don’t check the drawers!! Which maybe was a stroke of good luck for me!? We were overcharged for an $18 bottle of wine! But this was rectified.

    The staff are very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Great long weekend away for my partner’s birthday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was a charge - should be free in that standard of room - I travel for work and stay in motels for $85 sometimes in the country and I get free wifi there so not sure why we had to pay for it

    Location location location and ambiance of hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.3
    Great location but not worth the money for a stay there. Will not return.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room smelt like it was suffering from bad mould or dampness which permeated the whole room. Advised it was 24 Hour Reception when I checked (had a very early flight next morning). When I went to check out it was devoid of any staff and ended up having to leave a note with my room key and locate my own taxi. All this for $519/night - definitely not work it despite the great location.

    Location was excellent, close to a range of sites, plenty of eating options and pubs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.1
    Good location. Easy walk to markets and CBD and Circular Quay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twice staff had entered our room whilst we had a “do not make up room sign” on the door. They serviced our room and did not respect our privacy. We were not happy about this. The room was quite dark with insufficient lighting.

    The location was great. Reception staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.8
    The Rocks area is the best place to stay and convenient to all the ferries. You never have to go far
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were small, but ok for one person. Bathroom door had to be propped open, otherwise it closed and made me feel claustrophobic.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Fun happy hour in lobby! Liked the garden terrace where you could sit out and have tea or a drink and read. The Creperie next door had the best coffee!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    6.3
    The staff was nice and friendly, the location was great but overall I would not recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price we paid I was very UNDER-whelmed. Very old and the rooms need upgrading, specially the bathrooms. For the same price per night, I could have stayed at the Four Seasons (believe me, I checked as soon as I got to my room).

    The location was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful weekend away and perfect in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The location was perfect and the overall feel of the hotel was just what we wanted. Character and old world charm. Comfortable beds, great views, amazing breakfast. Friendly staff and service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    It was pleasant but not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some towels were stained. Sheets were clean, but did not have a very pleasant smell. Room and corridor a bit humid. It needs to be refreshed.

    Great location and very quirky look

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    6.7
    Lovely old hotel, friendly staff central to everything, small facilities poor airconditioning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The day was very humid and the hotel seemed to have no central air conditioning, room and bathroom were very small, room air conditioner was insufficient to cool the room and situated to cool the tv and cabinet not the bed or full room. Hotel has no lift, we were on the third floor.

    Great location, friendly helpful staff, lovely ambience and comfy bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    5.8
    Great location but room poor and overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room being small and dark. Tiny bathroom nowhere to place anything. Although the shower was good in terms of water presssure.

    Location and breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.0
    Nice location, no rest, no service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are rather small, mine had a terrible noise from the freight elevators till 3 AM that was right next to my room. The view on Sydney opera is blocked by cruise ships most of the time. This hotel has no elevators (only freight). Booked my taxi the night before, it never arrived and the staff didn't really do anything about it. At +$400 an night that's unacceptable.

    Friendly staff, very nice breakfast. Nicely restored old building. Realy closeby everything. The room offers what you need.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.6
    Historical building in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Junior King Suite is roomy, however a little more storage in the room and bathroom would have been appreciated, especially for guests staying more than one night.

    The location was perfect and the rooms were quiet in an otherwise busy area on a weekend. A number of attractions and good restaurants are within walking distance. The historic aspects of the building are showcased beautifully and integrated into the rooms. The "lobby" with its library and seating area is delightful with a bar for coffee or happy hour. There are no lifts but the staff can organise for your luggage to be brought to your room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Beautiful boutique hotel in walkable distance to all major attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What's not to like?

    Very friendly staff who were super helpful whenever we needed them. Excellent room service (I would stay there again just to eat the hamburger). Walkable to all major attractions. Beautiful interiors and a super comfy bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    5.4
    Great location, but rooms need improvement.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    1) My room was small, very dark and had very little closet space or surface area to unpack my things, so I essentially lived out of my suitcase for the duration of my stay (5 nights). 2) The bathroom had a smelly drain odour, and the bathroom sink was inexplicably located immediately in front of the toilet, such that anyone needing to sit on the toilet would have to shimmy sideways between the sink and the toilet to get onto it. There was ample space to the left of the toilet where it probably should have been installed instead. (Poor planning/design!) 3) My room was a few metres away from the lobby, so there was quite a bit of ambient noise from people coming in and out of the hotel and milling about the reception area. Thankfully, I had earplugs to help with this.

    Location was great; well-situated for touring the many highlights of Sydney.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    6.7
    Perfect location but expensive for small room with no seating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The building is looking a bit tired. The room was very small with one chair and no where to sit except for the seating area in reception area which was always occupied.

    Location and restaurant were fabulous.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.6
    Hotel is in a great location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym could do with some love albeit adequate. Super minor annoyance, not all the staff would make coffee in the bar area in the morning.

    Hotel is in a great location. Rooms were comfortable. Coffee was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.8
    One of my favourite hotel in Sydney - depending on which room you book asthey are all different
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    would have been nice to know that it was on the street not at the back of the hotel overlooking the harbour - was noisy

    Ver comfortable bed . Great size room - Lovely staff and bar and atmosphere heoughout hotel .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    4.2
    poor value for money: to be avoided
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Heritage Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room on the ground floor was tiny, had a very strong humidity smell, cockroaches were roaming around, carpet was worn out, windows were sealed...

    Location is great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.1
    Location is prefect!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom doesn’t fit the standard of the room. Air-conditioning could be more silent.

    Location is prefect! Nice and very convenient, right in je middle of the town. The design of the room is top!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    5.0
    The location was greasy but the room was disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was small, the bathroom door would not shut. There was a large stain on the carpet, light fittings were damaged,there wasn't a fan in the bathroom, charge of $10 a day for wifi and it should be made clear there is no lift for guests in the building.

    We loved the feel of the building on entry. It was obvious it had been a warehouse in another time. The historic location and history of the area was fabulous. The proximity to the wharf, railway station and ferries was ideal. There were many restaurants and cafes within easy reach.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    An amazing experience that I would like to relive every time I visit Sydney!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved the decor of the common area and room! Hotel management and staff went up and beyond to make me feel welcomed and the hotel's location is in the heart of The Rocks.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.8
    found what I was looking for the last day of a long business, wind down and feel the Rocks
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great style, might feel a bit dark and small in case of long stay, but this is a personal feeling. Feel the history of the place, love the blend of the original and the modern, I can see the challenge for the facilities manager to try and maintain an old building to the best standard, it might require a dedicated person(s) to maintenance as there were various small issues, i.e. the shelf in my bathroom was a bit wobbly, heard guests complaining about air-con & jammed door - I though it adds character but it might not be everybody cup or tea....

    I liked the warm welcome and the friendly management, homey feeling, charm and character of the hotel vs. plane perfection of the big names in the area, found what I was looking for. dinner restaurant worth the shot!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.3
    A very pleasant return after many years between visits.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Problem with toilet cistern operating inconsistently. TV pixelated from time to time.

    Great location and comfortable facilities (a very small bathroom notwithstanding). Very pleasant and helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    Great hotel, great staff and service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel, great staff and service! The room was spotlessly clean , the bed was super comfy , The breakfast was amazing. The staff really went out of there way to make our anniversary & husbands birthday treat special . The hotel is situated in the Beautiful Rocks area of Sydney, which makes it prefect to catch a late show at the Opera house etc. Cannot recommend it highly enough, we hope to stay again soon.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.8
    Great location and hotel for weekend get away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great except there were a number of mosquitoes constantly in the room, we left the A/C on in the room and they remained docile and didn't bother us.

    Room was very comfy. Loved the heritage building. Great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous five days in Sydney
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room a little small. Noisy in the night with deliveries to the many cafes etc in the area.

    Fabulous period building in a superb part of Sydney, a four night stay seemed perfect. Happy hour 17.00-19.00, very useful with the high price of drinks in Australia. Staff excellent. No passenger lift, so porters take bags to room via a smaller goods lift. Very good steak and pudding in the restaurant. Attached Creperie good for breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    The staff were fabulous. The hotel is in a great location and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We used the sofa bed & wih 3 in the room we had to watch we didn’t hit our head on the tv. It would be safer on the wall. We couldn’t open the fridge with the sofa bed there- had to fold sofa bed up to get into fridge and for 3 people, the bathroom was too small.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    The Perfect Sydney Getaway at The Rocks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location just off the busy harbour frontage in Sydney's premier location of The Rocks. Walking distance to everything on the south harbour front. Quite secluded and incredible value. Recommended highly!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    6.7
    Interesting and close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, heritage building.

    Our initial room was disappointingly small so we paid extra for an upgraded room. The location was exceptional. The mood of the hotel and its heritage was a great experience however it was a little expensive and had I only had the option of staying in the first smaller room I would have been disappointed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed and ended up moving to another hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is noisy. No double glazing. Rooms dingy due to dark brown wall paint. Small bathrooms Lots of Mosquitoes in public areas Breakfast area too small to accommodate enough guests. Food was excellent but the restaurant is very cramped. We would not stay there again

    Location and staff were first rate

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.9
    A small intimate hotel in a great location in the Rocks area .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift..could be a problem for some. Very small bathroom in Heritage Queen Room.

    Surprisingly quiet room considering the location. Comfortable bed . Entry Foyer cosy and welcoming. This heritage building has been fitted out sympathetically.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic - thankyou for your hospitality :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite squeezy.

    Location was absolutely excellent. Great atmosphere - library downstairs is excellent. Nice lighting. Love the complimentary iced tea downstairs before we left. Staff member bringing bag to room was great. Awesome view of ooera house from window and also git to see part of firework display at Darling Harbour from our window :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.3
    The location is excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too expensive for just a room i.e. no other inclusions No free wi-fi No lift - luggage had to be carried up and down stairs and we were on the second floor

    The location is excellent Beautiful building The room was comfortable and clean

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: