Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hatchers Richmond Manor 4 stars

73 Prossers Rd, 7025 Richmond, Australia

#13 of 14 hotels in Richmond

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 443 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    2.9
    Hatchers horror
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rundown. Overpriced. The room was gawdy outdated and tired. The door stuck. Threadbare towels. Lumpy pillows. Bed creaked at every move. Chairs had lost their webbing and we sunk through. Gas heater stunk and didn't work. The room was freezing. No plug for the bath. Mould in the shower screen. I have no idea how this place maintains a rating over 8. I was totally misled by the rating and reviews.

    The only good thing about this place was leaving and seeing the gawdy purple trim in the rear view mirror. We checked out as early as possible.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.4
    Wasn’t very clean the Bin had not been emptied from the last...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t very clean the Bin had not been emptied from the last people who stayed. The spa was not very clean. Everything in the room was very dated and worn out 🤔

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    we were made feel very welcome and happy to join the hatchers on my next visit to the apple isle.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we were both impressed with a hearty breakfast each morning and the kicker was the large jug of delicious apricot nectar.wow.

    a return visit as i enjoyed my last visit in richmond over a year and a half ago.great location on a apricot orchard just outside of richmond township.built to replicate an english manor with the cobblestone driveway and wonderfully furnished in english style antique furniture.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing , comfortable overnight stay , calm away from the city (but still close ) .
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was well equipt with a heat pump and electricity blankets, very warm for a cold tassie day . Plenty of towels and face washers . Cosy room that was value for money .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    4.2
    Hatchers accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that people were staying in a room above us which we were not aware of and we could hear them stomping around at night and early morning, We thought we would be staying in the main building advertised but rooms are away from the home.. very disappointed compared to other places we stayed at.. The heater wasnt working either , only given a tiny amount of milk so couldnt drink tea in the morning and struggled to put my makeup on in the morning due to very dim lighting in the bathroom The photo was very misleading if this was my anniversary I would have demanded money back...

    The farm animals

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    We had a nice relaxing stay. Would stay again if opportunity arises.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner at the restaurant was not particularly to our liking.

    The hosts were very friendly and accommodating. Lodging was very homely, with lots of space in rooms and living areas. Our daughter loved the animals.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Most enjoyable
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No shelf for shampoo etc in shower. Armchairs a bit hard.

    More than expected for the price included for accommodation. Breakfast was great, being pet friendly won us and facilities were good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Lovely old looking place food not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV only worked on one channel and due to rain we were limited inside. Meals were served cold and no salad option veg only. Kilpatrick scollops were done with ham steak cut up, didn't go well at all. Rice cold and old. Potatoes stone cold. Chicken was ok, not nice meals at all.

    Staff were friendly Was nice yard to wonder around in

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    We will be back :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hatchers Manor exceeded or expectations , our room was lovely the four posted bed just gorgeous , as were all the furnishings. We ate Dinner in the restaurant by the cosy fire our meals were cooked to perfection as my Husband is very fussy about his steak and he ate every bite no complaints :) , We will be returning for a longer stay next time :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    3.5
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Spa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds & pillows are not comfortable, cleanliness not good. I had rung beforehand & advised I would be staying with my elderly Mother, still given a room with shower over spa! She could not even access without assistance!! Overpriced for what u get. Facility needs upgrading, would not return. Disappointed overall.

    The location of the property was picturesque

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    We had a beautiful room with an amazing outlook!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners and staff were amazing, very informative about the property and area. Our room was overlooking the property and in the morning all the animals were right there for their food, which was great to see!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.5
    Great location just out of town friendly staff interesting decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place needs a update new bedding towels etc bathroom room updates but still keeping a charm and that goes with it restaurant needs the meals improved but still very comfortable place to stay

    Great location excellent wifi interesting decor everything you need here

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.3
    Good Position and prices also good. Stayed 3 nights and linen changed daily.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was rather Firm and the Bathroom was is need of a vacuum or sweep. My Husband and I had a meal on our first night but the meal was very average for the prices that you are charged.

    Hatchers Manor is close to Town. Room was of good size with Kitchnette.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.5
    Faulty towers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid extra for a spa room. Turned it on and had all brown sludge run out of holes that was meant to be bubbles. It Was Disgusting. Waitress couldn't tell me what wine I could buy by the glass in there restaurant. (maybe limited English) So I said that's OK I'll just have water. That never came out. She stayed out with chef whole time apart from bringing the food out. Do not ask for garlic bread with main as you'll get it as a entree and it's sliced white bread toasted with I'm not sure what on it. Was not garlic butter. Go to town to eat is my advice. The bed was like sleeping with a dip in it and the sheets had that old old feel. There's a weekly magazine to gaze through from 2015 on the table if your bored. Due to our sense of humor we found it hilarious and will remember it as our worst stopover ever. ( Feel we should of been offered a discount on room for the inconvenience of a spa you can't use when you pay extra for it.)

    The horses. The outside.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.5
    Bathroom was very spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom lighting was a bit dim. Also they could do with a bit of heating in it.

    Bathroom was very spacious. Nice location in the country with a farm around it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to leave

    The rooms were large, and comfy, four poster bed was a nice surprise. The bathroom was large and had a spa bath. Air conditioning worked. Very quite and peaceful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.6
    The room was old fashioned but perfectly suited the style of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was old fashioned but perfectly suited the style of the accommodation. It was very comfortable and the views from my room were beautiful. I especially liked that two horses dropped by in the morning. they really added to the atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Very comfortable stay in Richmond
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leaving

    Enchanting grounds and buildings; Large, clean and well decorated room; Super comfortable bed; Modern bathroom; Lovely furniture in room; Very good wifi;

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    Would definitely stay again!
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Lovely country accommodation, a working farm, animals, orchards, and delightful staff. The host even retrieved my glasses that I had left in the town and posted them back to me. How's that for service! Lovely bath, and food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    4.6
    Not worth the money paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property needs a makeover. It is dowdy. The bed was hard, the linen frayed with holes in both pillow and pillow slip. The tv room had awful, uncomfortable furniture. I don't think the fridge freezer section had ever been defrosted and there was an ice brick embedded in it. In the restaurant there was not one bottle of wine that I recognised let alone a Tasmanian wine. Food unappetising. Ladies toilet filthy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Peaceful.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was awesome

    Couldn't help us enough. We travel with our dogs. Plenty room for our dogs to go for a walk. Loved waking up and seeing the animals from the farm outside our window. So peaceful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Beautiful place to stay, with great hosts. I would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night

    The furniture in the room set an ambience of an old country manor. The grounds were beautiful and peaceful. The home cooked breakfast just topped it off and set us up for the day nicely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.8
    We loved the cottage, and its location within walking distance of Richmond.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were quite hard. There could have been more kitchen equipment, such as colander, baking dish, sharp knives. The fan and light in the bathroom come on at night uninvited.

    Lots of space. Lovely gardens.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.3
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was old and tired a little updating of items such as linen and pillows would go a long way to improving the quality and ambience

    History of the property, was clean and cosy, close to town but away from crowds and traffic, good value

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    2.5
    Won't be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had two skylights that had no blinds, then the sites exterior lighting was left on at night. So we were awake late and woken early by the brightness in the room.

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    5.4
    location is good, but our accommodation not so good
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the accommodation: for the honeymoon suite it was very disappointing. having to go up and down stairs for the toilet was not good. when the motion sensor light came on it lit up the whole room. the tea making and very limited food prep' area next to the toilet/shower is not very desirable and also there is no privacy whilst using the very confined "lounge". however we looked at another room and it was quite spacious. the honeymoon room was definitely not worth the extra fee charged. not to mention all the stairs climbed to access the room.

    the meals were good, but our accommodation left a lot to be desired

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.3
    Lovely room, much larger than we expected and it had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely room, much larger than we expected and it had a wonderful view of the paddocks below including the animals. Staff were very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.6
    Central to everything. Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure in the shower was a bit dodgy.

    Fantastic querky place to stay. Great hosts. If you are looking for A la Carte meals don't eat here. They serve really good tasty homestyle food. Had a great stay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.1
    Nice place however room what was not what we booked online.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Attitude of the lady manager.

    The room we had did not match what we booked and the lady who manages the property changed out room from an executive suite to a family room. The expectations of our holiday with a four poster bedroom was blown.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.9
    Great country style accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unsure of food and beverage pricing by staff. No receipts were provided, some facilities we were unaware of. Cheese plate on menu would have been nice.

    Pricing, closeness to town. Surroundings.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful, Relaxing Grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom vanity top in the attic was too small to place grooming items. The shower in the attic also lacked any type of shelf for grooming items.

    The grounds are beautiful and many different species of bird can be seen on the property. The owners are delightful!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.1
    Love the area and the quaint setting, but it feels a bit sad
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa did not work, when this was mentioned I received a sorry. The exhaust fan in the bathroom would come on whenever, even if it wasnt switched on. The cute lil mouse running through the room I do understand as the property is surrounded by farm land, though I doubt all would find that endearing. Theres quite a bit of maintenance required, but the feel from the owners/managers is that theyve had enough, this is reflecting on the property.

    Very comfy giant bed. The outlook is beautiful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    6.3
    Comfortable enough but needs a revamp
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is seriously tired and in need of some love. The towels look like they’ve been used for 10 years, the toilet paper is so thin it rips every time you go to use it and the hallway to our room was lined with bugs. The grounds also need some attention. Could be so much better.

    Rooms and bed were large. Location meant it was very peaceful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.6
    Quiet, pleasant, relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdoor furniture was soiled with birds droppings and could have been cleaned, but this was a minor thing.

    A gem on the edge of town. Very friendly hosts. Can highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Highly recommend this wonderful property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not allowing more time to stay

    This is a fantastic property. Very clean and well appointed rooms. Tranquil setting and the onsite restaurant was inexpensive for the quality and size of the meal

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    4.2
    Don't go here. Enter at own risk.
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was terrible, like sleeping on concrete. There was a huge gap underneath the front door which allowed insects to enter the room, the shower screen was not operational, the bathroom was not clean, there were cobwebs over the skylights and there was no way to block out the sun from entering the room early in the morning. Had a coffee at the restaurant, UHT milk was used instead of normal milk, the frother on the cappuccino machine looked like it hadn't been cleaned properly from the previous day.

    Leaving.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.1
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I rec'd a phone call on my mobile from the lady to ask when we were checking in because my credit card didn't go through and she had to go out so wouldn't be there when we arrived. We were about 1/2 an hour away and I couldn't understand why she had tried to run my card because it was not the card that we were going to be paying with anyway. She came across very abrupt and I had trouble trying to understand what the big problem was. Ended up we needed to see the chef to check in and get our room key. We were booked in for 2 nights so not like she wouldn't be able to catch up with us . Had dinner at the restaurant the first night just because it was easy. The food wasn't anything to write home about. I did enjoy my beef stroganoff but it was more like something I would cook myself with frozen veges on the side than restaurant quality. Our meal at the pub in town was much better the following night.

    It was a nice big room for 3 people with a queen bed and 2 singles named "The Attic" and it looked like an attic but was basically just a few steps from the ground. It was good enough for me. The chef was very friendly and got us sorted with our room key. It's a working farm so it was nice to be in the surrounding and one of the workers was very nice and had a chat with us one afternoon. Richmond is a great little town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    Absolutely fantastic - we hope to stay there again in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very sad to leave!

    The location and style of the property are fantastic - the room was lovely with cooking facilities, a spa, a very comfy bed and easy parking right outside the room. It was only a short drive to Hobart and Sorrell, and a short walk to the historic village of Richmond.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    3.3
    Will never stay again absolute waste of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything after driving up the driveway. The room needs a lot of tender loving cleaning and painting and redecorating. We have spent 10 days driving around Tasmania and stayed in the most gorgeous properties with style and cleanliness and so easy to converse with going out of there way to help their guest. Not so here The owner was obsessed with not knowing the computer system. Couldn’t be bothered to explain or show anything. We were shown the washing machine outside and behind a building. Lifting the lid to find bits of food and leaves etc nothing mentioned about a dryer. If I hadn’t needed to wash a couple of items I would not have washed. We ended going to the local caravan park who where fantastic and allowed us to use their laundry. Could not sleep as the use of showering the outside of the building with some flashing lights much like a disco ball lighting which flashed all night into our room. Worst accommodation worst Tasmania experience worst nights sleep.

    The look of the outside of the building unfortunately that’s where the nice things stopped. Run down property that still charges luxurious prices.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    8.3
    A unique experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility was dated and the entry to the property needs a clean up. It has potential but needs some love and care.

    The location was idyllic. It was quiet and bed was comfortable and facilities clean. Staff were warm and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.6
    Richmond is a lovely town to explore and experience. Hatcher’s was a great choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed was very firm and the pillows were quite flat. Just not what I am used to. My husband thought the bed was great.

    It was lovely to wander around the property like we owned the place, helping ourselves to fresh produce. The apricots were so sweet. The hosts were very friendly and helpful Dinner in the restaurant was so nice- and you could tell it was prepared on site using fresh farm produce. The apricot chicken was scrumptious!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    6.7
    Not too bad but the shower water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet is a bit old, cooking accessory not good and the hot water in the shower room is really bad, on and off make you feel cold.

    The horses in the farm are soooo cute. Nice garden and big rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    2.5
    Bearable,would not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture in the lounge room was just appalling,worn out fold our beds,poor lighting,a very smelly toilet off the lounge,the smell was coming from the shower drain,non existent water pressure, poorly presented,just run down over a long period of time,they should sell anD allow new owners to regain some sense of wow this is the place to stay.

    The location was fine but the photos depicted on the site were probably 20 plus years old,very deceiving and misleading as to the quality of the premises

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.1
    Quirky but stay away from restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant should be avoided. Flies caught in the webs in the windows at our table. Waitress cant hold a conversation which every traveler wants whether sharing experiences, wanting local info or just a question of the menu. Food was shockingly basic seemed like had no training at all...Steak is a basic skill. Frozen sara lee cheesecake was still partly frozen... Apricot crumble was good as Apricot orchard on property. .. A real let down on this lovely place..

    Lovely quirky manor. Very unique. Farm animals and beautiful gardens. Has been built with a lot of love.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Quiet comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighbours sitting outside our window, not hotels fault though. Trouble with wifi.

    Nice friendly staff with nice tips for exploring the area. Got a free upgrade. Large grounds.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    6.7
    Dreadful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything - place has great potential but currently tired, run-down and overpriced. Meant to have farm animals to see and interact with???

    First impression was wow! Property looked great on the outside if a little tired. Upgraded to a two bedroom cottage even though there were only two of us. Kitchen had no tea towel and the scoured/sponge was old and worn out yuk!!! Cobwebs and dust on windows especially in bathroom. Sheets and towels old. Whole place could do with a freshen up. Seperate 'restaurant' on premises. Very cold and dirty. Bird droppings on inside of window beside our table dead insects on window sill. Table hadn't been wiped. Food average and overpriced. Waitres didn't know what the menu items were. When asked what type/flavour cheesecake response was 'the usual kind'!!! Toilet acces to restaurant was through a door that wouldn't open properly and took you outside the restaurant in the howling wind when there was another access through another room within the building. Nothing appealing at all. Definitely don't recommend unless whole place gets a revamp

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think maybe the rooms could do with a little updating, but they were still very clean and comfortable.

    This property is located in a beautiful setting, we enjoyed it so much we stayed there again on return trip to Hobart. Could not fault the staff very friendly and excellent service. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone visiting that area. They have farm animals and gardens very well kept and a delight to walk around. Also a very good restaurant on the property too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.3
    Nice big well appointed rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The grounds were tidy in general but a full time groundsman could take this place from nice to amazing and the cost would be more than recovered in increased room charges, wedding bookings, etc. Please remove the broken down tractor from the driveway. It is one of the first things your guests see!

    Nice big well appointed rooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    6.7
    The owners were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property was clean but very dated as was the restaurant menu. We were encouraged to walk around the property, but it was a shame that they didn't promote that they were so close to town. You could walk to the Richmond Bridge from their front gate, but no one bothered to tell you.

    The owners were friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.2
    Large room with lounge area as well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa bath was a bit noisy so opted not to use it and the room took a while to warm up as we were early.

    Large room with lounge area as well. Very comfy setup. It is a large complex with a dedicated restaurant as well but as it's in the country the restaurant was empty. The food was ok. Apparently you can wander around the farm bit it was too wet. Good value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.2
    Great value and fun - will stay again if we come back to Tassie !
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not all the rooms were heated - but the lounge area was very cosy and there were electric blankets on all the beds - so sleeping was warm none the less...

    Fantastic for budget family accommodation! We were in a 7 bed accommodation unit with a spa with just the 3 of us (2 adults and a 6 yo). The host gave us a loaf of bread and we were able to walk freely around the property feeding sheep/ horses and playing with the dogs! She loved it! Close to zoo (zoodoo.com.au) and the Raymond Saturday markets... Great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    PERFECT PARADISE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole presentation as the drive down the driveway along with manor style building its amazing and mine host just wonderful people. the dining the night meals along with the breakfast just a perfect stay only one thing wrong our stay was to short

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    5.0
    Poor quality but cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sheets were threadbare. Lights in lounge room burnt out when lights in bathroom were turned on. Given this we weren't game enough to use the in room spa.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    Overall the stay was excellent and would definitely go again.
    • Couple
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little things in the room, like the plug not quite fitting in the bath (although good to have a bath option) and the couch a bit tired and sinking in the middle.

    The overall atmosphere was excellent. Food at the Restaurant was good and the owner superb.The bed was comfortable and had a great nights sleep. The place was very interesting with lots to look at including wonderful farm animals.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Very spacious and comfortable suite with good heating, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very spacious and comfortable suite with good heating, great views, farm animals and pleasant and accommodating staff. Really good place to stay with a toddler as there was plenty of room for her to play inside and watch a DVD whilst it was rainy, and then she got to explore the beautiful grounds and say hello to the animals outside when the weather cleared. The restaurant staff kindly did room service for us at short notice as our 2 year old decided that she was too over-tired to behave appropriately to dine out! The meals were nice & simple with fresh, well-cooked vegies. We would have liked to stay longer!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely place in the countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very hard

    Lovely place in the countryside. The kids loves the animals there. The rooms have Plenty of space to move around. Very friendly and accomodating owners. Would recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Loved everything about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good.

    Loved everything about it. Warm welcome, good dinner and well-priced. Would be wonderful for a family stay. The kids would love the horses and other animals.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    2.5
    Wouldn't recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Considering the price paid I expected a higher level of standard, I love antiques however the cottage was cluttered, bathroom freezing no heater and definitely requires updating, little things make the difference like matching crockery etc( maybe I am picky) but it does show owners want to impress! Sorry but wouldn't recommend

    Nil

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    What a joy to stay in accommodation with such a delightful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a joy to stay in accommodation with such a delightful story attached. The vision of Colin and Jeanette and their creativity to build such a place is admirable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.5
    Location, close to Richmond, far enough away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ventilation fan in room next to heater. Hot air went straight through ceiling.

    Location, close to Richmond, far enough away. Rural setting. Nice & quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    5.4
    Looks can be deceiving
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady owner was rude complaining about other guests to us. I booked a spa room especially for the spa and it didn't work. I have always wanted to stay here as it looks lovely. Total let down.

    The restaurant

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    8.8
    Good accommodation, good restaurant, good overall value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hooks in the bathroom to hang clothes on and no soap holder in the shower. Only small problems though.

    Plenty of room in the attic accommodation. Dinner at the restaurant was excellent and good value. Very convenient being able to park at the door.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.6
    relaxed and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family owned and run property in a semi-rural setting close to Hobart. Lovely owners were very helpfull. Huge room with king sized bed and spa bath. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    5.0
    Not Happy
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room wasn't clean, there was rubbish in the bin, on the floor and under the couch (we found this when looking for power points), the kitchen was equipped with enough crockery and cutlery for 10 but no cooking facilities, there was also no light fitting in the kitchenette so it was dark. The sofas where were so well loved that when you sat on them you sunk below the frame. The toilet leaked and the shower couldn't be regulated it was either too hot or too cold and the shower head was so low that only children fitted under it. We made our booking through Booking.com and was quoted $$$$ for our stay, Hatchers Manor advised Booking.com not to charge my card as they would upon arrival. Hatchers Manor then charged more for our stay.

    They allowed pets, it was close to the Richmond.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    6.3
    The Manor looks very majestic on the drive up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was like a concrete slab. Tv had no remote. The quality of linens didn't come close to that of other accommodation we have used. Towels, handtowel facewasher didnt match. Different colours, bleach stained and just weren't up to the standard expected.It just didnt feel professional. Toilet paper THIN and I am not a fan of pump pack shampoo and handwash that is all the rage these days.

    The Manor looks very majestic on the drive up. Has a great feel to it and you can see the owners love it. The room was warm and large. Good location for driving to Hobart.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    5.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very dated and misleading in description. Bed although comfortable, was very noisy the minute you moved. Room cold although gas heater kept on. No heating in bathroom. Looked forward to relaxing in spa bath until turned on. Dirty brown water was pumped into clean bath. No wasn't in it!!

    Staff friendly and willing to help. Lovely rural view from room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.2
    What a find
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed more menu choices at the restaurant. A little more expensive than I'd hoped

    Only ate at the restaurant once and the meal was delicious. I loved having a spa in the room!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    5.8
    Tidy room but uncomfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a little outdated and need a bit of TLC. There was an exposed outlet at a powerpoint and the bed and pillows were lumpy and uncomfortable.

    The location was just outside of town but on a very picturesque location. The owner was very welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    5.4
    The staff were friendly & meant well.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were very tired & worn out, our bed sheets had been darned/patched, the pillows were cheep & lumpy. Cob weds under the sink & above the bed. The gardens were very untidy & need maintenance, shame its could be such beautiful place if it was kept up. The spouting on the buildings was full of weeds. The room above use was private you could here a child running around & very noisy people going up & down the stairs we could hear them talking. The large green welcome mat in the front entrance was dirty not a good look, just very disappointed over all with the place, all overseas staff with little English. Poor restaurant service the girl had no idea about the menu or wine, cheep & nasty moscato wine not Australian still $6.00 a glass with top restaurant price for the meals. I was charge $3.50 to use my credit card & not told, never had that before & we travel 2-3 times a mouth around the state with our business.

    The staff were friendly & meant well.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    7.1
    Cute and friendly but needs a little TLC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was advertised as having a spa bath, this did not work as a spa at all and was generally in a state of disrepair - taps leaky and all nozzles broken off, certainly not the cleanest I have seen either, but not awful. Foul smell in bathroom on arrival but cleared eventually - a problem particularly when the kitchenette/mini bar and coffee facilities are located in the bathroom next to the toilet. The room was also advertised as 'pay when you stay' but the full amount was taken from my card before we arrived - we had not planned to pay with that card as we intended to pay on site as stipulated but was given no choice.

    The decoration was quaint and cute, over the top but enjoyably so. The owners were friendly and approachable, and we enjoyed the company of their little dogs. Great location and cooked breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    7.1
    Location was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Seating facilities in our two bedroom apartment. Would have been more comfortable

    Location was lovely. Having horses and sheep wandering close to rooms was really nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    5.4
    Very dissatisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not clean.. Dirty tissues in bedside drawer. Unwashed cups containing water. Dirty shower. Dirty carpets. Excecessivly hard bed

    Hot Shower

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    4.6
    The Last guests rubbish still in the bin in the room hence...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Last guests rubbish still in the bin in the room hence the bad smell which I did make mention of to the person who sourly showed me to my room but chose not to want to deal with the problem

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    3.3
    Disappointing, grubby & overpriced. Charged in advance without notice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Card was charged without notice before we arrived & whole group charged to one card instead of separately. This resulted in an argument on checkout & took a very long time to rectify. Op Shop decor very disappointing. Not at all clean. Some of the rooms had spiders and millipedes. Towels threadbare.

    Staff were helpful offering us a big table for meals for our large group & very friendly until checkout.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    6.3
    Cheap stay for something different.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor could use a bit of an update. Got the feeling the place is becoming more labour than love. The owners might need a holiday for a rest and to freshen up.

    Quiet.Only just minutes from town. Spacious in the attic room.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hatchers Richmond Manor traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: