Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hides Hotel 3.5 stars

87 Lake Street, 4870 Cairns, Australia

#55 of 73 hotels in Cairns

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1061 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The surroundings are a little noisy at night, but it did not keep me from sleeping well.

    Excellent location, very close to the sea side, restaurants, shops, conference centre, etc. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is OK, served in a nice balcony.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Double with Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rim was in dire need of refurbishing. Took ages for hot water to get to the shower. Couldn't find the air conditioning port for the key. The lady the checked us in was not very helpful.

    The location if the hotel was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very helpful and welcoming. The room was clean and tidy. It was surprisingly quiet considering the location of the hotel. Was a very pleasant stay. Location is excellent, only a few blocks walk to Cairns Central.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Double with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having my own toilet and bathroom and not having to use that old double door lift..(Scary)

    The location was excellent and reception was very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One let down. Ceiling fans which are high, need to be cleaned. Quite an accumulation or dust on the blades. In my workplace we were always meticulous about keeping the fan blades clean once a month because of allergies and other circulating air virus or bacteria that can accumulate in the dust.

    I stayed in the old section of the hotel. Quaint with shared bathroom . Affordable and comfortable for myself with enough essentials to cater. Cleaners, very efficient, on time,and always have a smile. The historical pictures on the walls are important. The pictures honour the hotel’s past history and it is with pride to have maintained the old building which gives a sense to the imagination of life in the eras gone by. The modern add ons also provide a good choice of affordable selections of rooms for the cross section of travellers of all age groups that I have met here. I have stayed in a few other and reasonably modern buildings in Cairns, but unlike this hotel,they do not have lifts for the convenience of carrying heavy luggage/equipment upstairs to rooms. It is a quiet and pleasant building. The wide veranda is a good spot for free breakfast with the friendly but cheeky pigeons, or just to sit and watch the entertaining life on the streets outside. I like the idea of boiled eggs included. All this is an extremely good spot to stay in Cairns as well as for short distance on foot access to most things, which suited me fine. The fact that General McArthur stayed here in the 1940s should bring the status of the hotel up a bit more if it was added to the advertising, unless already done so?

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They said there was undercover parking but only a few Has to go to a parking station several blocks away also $10 a night to park at the hotel

    central to ahopping

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no water in the fridge in whole time of our staying. And breakfast, what was almost the mail reason why we choose this hotel was minimal and very basic and same every morning.

    The location of hotel is very good, right in the centre. We appreciated the option to wash our clothes and dry them in the laundry room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Double with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    $100 charge put on when arrived was not told about it ... room noisy from pub below ... had share bathroom and toilet for $70 per night ... aircon noisy

    Central to everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The TV was a bit small for my liking. There was no balcony off the room or a view out the window (window was frosted/textured).

    The location was great. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and always happy to help. Loved the free breakfast on the balcony - really nice way to start the day. Breakfast started at 6:30am so we could still eat before we went out on a lot of the early trips. Rooms and building were always kept clean. Suited our budget.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Double with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms are very noisy, ask before you check in for a quiet room or you won't sleep.

    Got a free upgrade to a better room. Very nice place for breakfast. Near the places to go out, like the woodshed or Gilligans.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Heritage Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One thing... I could not connect with the wifi, but as we just stayed for one night, I Did not mind.

    It’s a great old place and if you stay in one of the old rooms, you’ll have a glims of what it use to be like. There is this amazingly old looking lift that’s is still working great! It’s right in the town Centre, with lots of shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Double with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff, hygien, amenities.

    Quality of a hostel with the prices of a hotel. Shared bathroom, not very clean. Upgrade was possible but for a serious price. Shared showers, old.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Heritage Double with Ensuite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very poor!! Hardly can be called breakfast. Rooms weren’t cleaned proper hair everywhere. Aircon filter was horrendous!!

    Staff was friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Double with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there were 2 large carpet stains on the floor

    close to where my conference was. A good basic breakfast, clean rooms, character of teh building, good staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is actually not private as should, there’s some toilets that the staff from the business around can use, all the time people cross the area! The breakfast is pretty basic, some breads, boiled eggs, cereals and milk, no fruits or yogurts, milk always cold, but most of properties doesn’t offer breakfast, so if you’re ok to have a average breakfast it’s fine!

    The location was pretty good, in 5 minutes you’re on the restaurants and bars! You have a supermarket across the road and all the agency tours around!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was expecting a nice queen bed for my partner and I to sleep on, however we were given two singles beds pushed together, which was very disappointing. Also the air con was terrible. When we first checked in it was rediculously hot in that room and it took forever for the aircon to cool down. Wasn't happy at all.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not aware that we have to pay $100 bond for the key would have liked to know beforehand

    Clean room, large shower,quite even though we were sitting over a pub

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Double with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was either very cold or very hot, could be a bit cleaner. Many rooms are not quite, just ask for a quite room.

    Beautiful breakfast room, friendly and helpful stuff. Perfect location for going out!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Double with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cheaper rooms at the road side are noisy and smelly. Loud street bars at that side and I experienced young travelers making noise after coming home at night.

    Location. Prize. Great balcony for breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Double with Ensuite
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location of the hotel was excellent. We stayed in the new part and everything was very comfortable. The staff were helpful and the simple breakfast was useful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Double with Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is dated but has character, our bed could have used a new mattress. Check in required a charge of our credit card, then a refund which I did'nt like! No reason for this!

    Hotel is directly downtown within easy walking distance to port or day trips, restaurants, casino, etc.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Double with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con in my room and there was a cockroach in the cupboard under the sink. Quite a walk to the bathroom and the pillows were disintegrating. Time for a refurb as everything looks and feels very old.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Double with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taps would be better to have inside bath))) Some rooms are noise, but another not.

    Perfect, very friendly and supportive staff. Old fashioned, but clean and large rooms. Great location, awesome old balcony for breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy room, near night clubs. You can clearly even even hear people just talking down the street. The building didn’t have any upgrading since 1930’s! From the window, Our view was a filthy disgusting air conditioner box, full of bird poo

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room overlooked a very noisy street, people, cars, motorbikes and then street sweeper trucks at 4.30am. They need to double glaze windows. Avoid rooms over Grafton St

    Bed and pillows were super comfy. Very central

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! Air con was appalling, (we were sweating whilst it was on) the filters hadn't been cleaned in years along with unit outside. Flat out seeing through the windows, at least a year without a clean. The bar fridge and kettle where located in the bathroom and toilet, very hygenic! Walls and floors stained with dirt marks. Basically the place is filthy, certainly not worthy of $245 per night.

    Nothing the pictures on website very deceiving

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Heritage Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entire building is so hot, no cooling system outside the main lobby and the room itself.

    Very centered position, room is clean and amenities are good enough

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Double with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I felt mislead by the add of what room I was getting. The old hotel room area is smelly and cramped. Definitely recommend going to the newer hotel part.

    The free continental breakfast on the balcony is really good. You could eat as much as you wanted. The location being right in town is perfect for shops, food and free lagoon/pool on esplanade. The air con and size of hotel room is good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Double with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that confused me was that I didn't get a towel and my information sheet didn't say I needed to go to reception. Also, if you get a room like me and your trying to find a slot to put your key in, the information sheet says beside the door but mine was behind the curtains.

    This property is great for an overnight stay but probably not longer. The location is awesome and central. However, I didn't get a towel and had to dry myself using a hand towel provided and the rooms have an odd smell. The lifts are very heritage and quite charming. The staff are so so lovely!! Honestly, air out your room and you'll be fine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Double with Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no underground parking.So that meant I had to park in the street and with so many car thefts in cairns it was a worrying night,It was terrible noisy and the noise continued until early morning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Double with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy at night time due to music from club and also noisy air conditioning. Internet was not working well unfortunately. Breakfast could include some yoghurt or fruit

    Central location, close to everything

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 30 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building was old, but tidy and cleaned up well. And staffs are very friendly! My room doesn’t have own bathroom but when I get used to it, there is no problem or inconvenience. So it was good choice!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't leave our baggage in the room even though the hotel was notified of our earaly arrival.

    Perfect location, nice terrace where we had breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Double with Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was right above the bar, which meant noisy until 3 AM, but if you turn on the Air Conditioning, it makes so much noise it will go over the one of the bar! I had a room with private bathroom and toilet, but there was no hot water in the morning...

    The hotel is right in the center of Cairns, right where I needed to be for a short night. Rooms are big enough if you don't have too much with you. I had a huge private terrace, and the bed was comfortable. Wifi was fast and reliable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The swimming pool location. However we realize the space constraints that you have

    All you need is easy access to the town. The breakfast offered was most welcome. Simple, straight forward, quick, and enough to start your day properly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    External Air conditioner noise; I altered my mode to soften the noise ok but there was still noise coming from outside/next door.

    Breakfast was very well serviced and staff all helpful and happy; rooms very clean and great shower recess.i found the room very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Double with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the summer the common rooms were hotter than outside, but the room air conditioning really helped.

    Location is ideal - the Pier is a 5 minute walk, and a Woolworth's is across the street. This is a great value if you want a step up from a backpackers/hostel accommodation.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Double with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for parking and breakfast gets a bit boring as only limited and same every day

    The location is the best about this hotel in the heart of the city Walking distance to many restaurants and bars

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Double with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The pool, dont mension it... its in a garage...

    Very central location. Big room. Clean shared toilets and showers. The included breakfastbuffet was ok, better than expected. The house is amasing, love these old buildings, the old carpet comes with it...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Heritage Double with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Only problem was a bond of $100 was requested and my daughter was told it would be re-imbursed immediately on checking out....3 days later, still waiting.Sad when I had paid for her stay as a gift..not happy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Double with Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the rate we paid we weren't too fussy. It's a charming old property with lovely staff so we are very satisfied. For those who prefer updated rooms, they provide those too.

    Hides is a very old, heritage listed property very close to the waterfront. We chose to stay in a room that opened out onto the veranda so we could watch the New years Eve fireworks which was spectacular. That part of the hotel has not been renovated but the bed was comfortable, good quality towels provided and the water was hot.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The long walk through the very hot corridor to reach the room and the lack of fresh fruit at breakfast.

    Great central location in Cairns, very friendly and helpful staff at reception, clean and comfortable bed and a powerful shower and breakfast on the wide veranda . There's a supermarket right across the road (I used it to supplement the limited breakfast options).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Double with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room a bit Small. A/c not very powerfull.

    Quiet place. Breakfast simple but Nice served on the balcony. Nice staff. Shared bathroom.very clean. Good wifi Old and beautifull hotel. Fridge and sink in the room. Far away from the ambiance in backpack

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Double with Ensuite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were very thin so we could hear all the noise from the street. The internet was inconsistent.

    The location was great - close to all the shops, restaurants, and 5 min walk to the boardwalk. The terrace was great, a nice place for breakfast!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Double with Ensuite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms A/C system took a while to cool off the room.

    The reason I checked NO to the hotel not being a romantic hotel,is that you make the most of the location you are in.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Double with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I like to sleep under a ceiling fan in the tropics but mine only had two speeds, OFF or FULL. (Not an institutional problem). I did'nt like sharing my breakfast with pigeons. They should be in a pie or a tree. I appreciate the almost impossibility of resolving that but I much prefer to share my breakfast table with an attractive lady. :)

    Bed was comfy, room was of adequate size and it had a wash basin. I liked to sit on the veranda and watch the world go by. I was in Cairns for a short stay (funeral) so I appreciated the location to food, drink and relaxation. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Double with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hallways were not air-conditioned.

    We liked where it was located, it was easy to get to the places we wanted to visit. We liked the Architecture of the building. The staff was very helpful when we had questions. Room was clean and air-conditioned.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked more options for a hot breakfast. eg. Bacon and Scrambled Eggs :)

    I really enjoyed my stay at Hides Hotel. Absolutely loved the view from the balcony at night and really loved how everything was close and walking distance.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stained, dirty curtains; steamy hot room on arrival; cheap linen; dated and worn room and bathroom; terrible quality toilet paper with only a few squares left on the roll without a replacement roll; the list goes on.

    Central location, friendly receptionist.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    The breakfast was basic but nutritious The only negative was that I would have preferred the older style rooms As it's an historic hotel I would prefer the older style rooms They weren't available during our stay Overall very good staff and facilities Thanks 🙂

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner leaked all over the floor the light switch was dangerous no signage as to location of car park no where to park to check in would not recommend arriving by car

    It was in the middle of the city

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Double with Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -it was loud from the streets outside and the birds came so close to the window

    -very good location, central -very friendly people at the reception. a nice receptionist talked in german -nice room, enough space for the baggage -good service about things to do in cairns -wifi worked very well in the room and lobby

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Double with Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They said our room was ready when in fact we had to wait an extra hour for it in the stairwell...

    The staff were helpfull in recommending a breakfast facility for us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very central location with lovely view from breakfast balcony. Woolworths and food outlets straight across road so very convenient. Short walk to Esplanade.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building needs a refurbishment. Can be a bit noisy at night (you can hear the other guests in the corridors and there is a pub downstairs).

    The location is perfect (5 min to the center 10 min to fleet terminal); the staff is lovely. Breakfast is basic but ok.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Double with Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A renovation would be great A bit of more options for breakfast would be nice.

    The reception staff is lovely and always ready to assist. The room was clean, same for the bathroom. Really good size. Located almost in the center, 5 min walk to the Lagoon, 10 min to the Terminal for day trips.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not ready on our arrival and we were made to wait till cleaners had finished. Not acceptable when I clearly stated what time I was arriving. Also a very cumbersome and slow system of checking in requiring photocopies of ID and bonds for room. Photocopier wouldn't work so the queue got longer and longer!

    Central location within walking distance to everything including central train station. Very convenient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints to think of.

    The rooms were a good size and very comfy. Surprisingly very quiet in the rooms, you don't even realise you are right in the middle of the city, it's great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 option for gluten free breakfast, boiled eggs. Nothing else on offer for someone with coeliac disease. According to website catering to a gf diet was an option which was why we choose this hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Double with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff pathetic, could not answer simple questions and never resolved the issue of remote control not working for TV (prob. because different brand from TV) for the entire duration of stay.

    Breakfast included ok

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wanted to stay in a historic hotel and we knew the rooms would be small and very basic. Loved eating breakfast on the the veranda. Very close to the marina shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived ahead of check in (early flight) and needed to store luggage before the room being available; no luggage room and I have a dislike for coin operated baggage lockers. They were painting the kick panel inside the one and only lift, and the lift was out of action for a few hours, and no alternate solution for heavy bags up the internal stairs (or for mobility impaired people either), so had no choice but to wait for the lift to eventually be available.

    We were in Cairns to link up with a 10 night cruise. We hose this hotel as it is in the middle of town, and an easy enough walk to the cruise terminal. Easy walk to the esplanade and other features in the city area. We had a room in the newer wing, and had no street noise. However if you get a room in the old "traditional" section of the hotel, it will be very noisy being right above the Irish pub. Its a good pub by the way.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Impossible to sleep. Room to noisy. There are many doves in the roof and in the window. During the night it is to noisy, people speaking, street service machines working during hours and a lot of doves in the window.

    The location was great. Complementary breakfast is great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Front desk staff super unfriendly and not helpful, very bad experience with them. No luggage storage service, you have to pay for lockers. Hot water supply not stable, it switched itself from very hot and very cold water during your shower. Air con is weak but the wind blow towards your head when you are sleeping. Simple breakfast with coffee, juice, bread, egg and cereals, which is reasonable for the cheap price.

    Cheap price and reasonable location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's an old building, they keep it as clean and up to date as possible so there is nothing I didn't like

    Very clean, friendly staff, perfect location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows and outside had bird poo everywhere I told reception it let it down. They are aware of the problem however said maintenance could not keep on top of it.

    Location was excellent and staff were very helpful and friendly. It was only an overnight stay and would of been comfortable for longer however stayed with family and friends so not necessary.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All the above.

    There were no croissants. Good selection of bread for toast & sufficient toasters . Boiled eggs {lots} in dish to have with toast. Range of cereals & light & regular milk. Juice and instant coffee & tea. Beds were bad. Bed bases were collapsing, causing mattresses to slide off. Ceiling fan speed control did not work, Fan was at very slow speed. The Two glass doors to large verandah could not be left open for fresh air because of security and loss of privicy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Double with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room felt very claustrophobic, and unpleasant to look forward to at the end of the day. I did not feel secure in my room with the type of locks used, and open window into a concrete 'abyss'. I felt the staff were very dismissive of my concerns as well. Although a great location, very noisy with night life til late in the night.

    Having breakfast on the shared balcony was a nice way to start the day, and good location, but that's all the good I have to say.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Heritage Double with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room was filthy, facilities in the room did not work for example the fridge, there were no power points in the room to charge mobile phones, the shared bathroom was filthy, staff were very unhelpful when attempting to discuss this with them.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the louver windows in my room wouldn't close properly.i was kept awake by the noise of the night club underneath and then woken at 4am by the street cleaners shouting.. not my best stay here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked four single beds, they were made up as two doubles. Expected cooked breakfast for the price of accommodation but was cold breakfast and toast

    24hr reception

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds were a little hard, and there was some street noise, though after being busy all day did not hear it after awhile.

    Location was excellent, could walk to everything, supermarket and food court, restaurants very handy. Accommodation very basic, but hey we were only there to sleep and we had everything we needed breakfast was lovely, especially on the veranda . Staff excellent. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The single bed is pretty small, and the mattress keeps falling off!

    The place is superbly located, and an old style hotel which was only $80 a night. I like the rooms on the terrace.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like the room as it was hot and no view from window - the curtain had to be drawn all the time to keep out the heat. Not very comfy.Complimentary breakfast was poor.

    The balcony around the hotel was great to sit on when not out. Very good location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel does not offer wifi and the city wifi does not work in the room -> big dislike

    The location is great, the room is spacious. The breakfast consists of toast and cornflakes.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hides Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: