Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of High Cross Park Lodge 3 stars

7-9 Cuthill Street, Randwick, 2031 Sydney, Australia

#218 of 306 hotels in Sydney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 362 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.3
    Place was clean and functional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a funky/mouldy smell in the bathroom when I got there. Left the fan on for a couple of hours and it was gone.

    Place was clean and functional. Bed was comfortable. Convenient location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room only good for short stay & bathroom door very heavy and loud to keep opening & closing.

    Great location. Updated comfortable clean rooms. Great for short stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    Week stay while husband having heart surgery.
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good.

    I stayed due to my husband having heart surgery the staff were supportive giving me a flexible booking as I did not know how long I needed to stay. The staff were friendly the rooms clean and comfortable and the location was close to the hospital and shopping.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    How close to the Prince of Wales Hospital as I have a nephew...
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You don’t have Foxtel, my husband wanted to watch the football 🏈

    How close to the Prince of Wales Hospital as I have a nephew who is in the spinal ward

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    4.6
    I stayed here with my 10week old baby while my daughter had...
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed here with my 10week old baby while my daughter had an operation across the road. Despite having a broken foot and newborn the not so polite receptionist made me pay for an up grade so I could be on the ground floor even though there’s nothing on the website to say there’s no lift. Very disappointed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    It suited well, located just where we wanted to be, and helpful staff to ensure our comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Issue with shower screen meant floor prone to flooding but staff provided extra towels to alleviate the problem until maintenance could remedy. Staff also helpful with taxi-ordering and general info

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.8
    Ok if you don’t mind loud traffic all night.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely noisy location. Also the morning staff refused to help me book a taxi for later unless I was leaving from the hotel. Apparently they couldn’t pick up the phone.

    Clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    6.3
    Location, cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They will treat you horribly, poor management, stupid policies, liars, overpriced, unprofessional, they will lock you out of your room and charge your credit card. They will fight you and never admit they’re wrong. It was the worst experience I have ever had. The beautiful city of Sydney don’t deserve to have a place like that. Shameful!

    Location, cleanliness

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    4.2
    Can't remember
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We booked a twin bed and they said that that was their basic double room configuration . but we went through 3 rooms all double beds and ended up having to separate the bed into twins and make them ourselves with the duty manager. Then we were short of basic items such as towels and tea bags and had to keep asking for them fro reception, which was closed at 7 pm so we had to fend for ourselves most of the time.

    Can't remember

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    6.3
    Good laundry facilities and comfy bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very bright. Check out occurred earlier than expected - I had packed my bags in preparation for check out and went for a quick breakfast - when I returned the cleaner had cleaned everything and placed my bags outside the door. Occurred at 0930 (half hour prior to check-out) which was annoying as I couldn't freshen up prior to flying out .

    Good laundry facilities and comfy bed. Good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    I stayed at your accommodation as I was having surgery on...
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed at your accommodation as I was having surgery on Prince of Wales Hospital, I found the door into the bathroom too heavy to open so we propped it ajar with my husbands shoe. The air conditioner in room 102 was very dusty. And would benefit from a door hook or stop to open the room door to allow fresh air into the room, unable to open room window as walk way leading towards room window.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Fabulous venue
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very compact- but we did know that we were getting a small room when we booked.

    Beautiful historic building very clean excellent location walking distance to beautiful Coogee beach and good food. The receptionist was so lovely too!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.5
    Rooms were nice and clean, good quality beds, traffic noise was the only downside to our stay here,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had 2 rooms booked for 2 nights, both were at front of building so was awakened at 5:30 both mornings with loud traffic noise.. not ideal with kids.

    rooms were nice and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Location was great and close to bus stops, restaurants and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    House cleaning was only once a week and there was no toilet brush in the bathroom. The bathroom fan didn’t work very well so the bathroom always felt a bit swampy despite leaving the window open all day.

    Location was great and close to bus stops, restaurants and shops. The room itself was lovely and bed was comfy. Staff were friendly as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    5.8
    Be aware of all road works happening in the area as the Motel does not tell you this!
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    At 8:30pm, night works (flood light, jack hammer, cement cutter) for the Light Rail commenced. I contacted reception and they said that they weren't aware of night works and they would get back to me about room change. At 9:20pm, after no reply from reception, I phoned again and was told they would look into a room change. At 9:33pm the receptionist phoned to say that there was no other rooms available. I requested a refund and was told that I would need to speak with the manager. We had to move motel rooms. After travelling 6 hours for my daughter's brain tumour check up at Hospital, this is not what we needed. I returned to reception the next morning and was told that they did not have the authority to issue a refund. The motel has denied all claim about knowing the night works however Light Rail advised that they were in weekly contact with the Motel.

    Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    4.2
    Good location, disappointing standard for Queen Room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was staying in a Queen Room which was small and poky and poorly laid out. The worst part though was the noise from the thumping of footsteps every time a fellow guest went up or down the stairs, clearly the room I was staying in (Room 7) was right underneath stairs or very near. I'm not 100% sure, but it felt like there may have been bed bugs too.

    The location of this property is really good, close to good restaurants at The Spot on nearby Perouse Road.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.0
    Handy location, but unhelpful staff and maintenance issues in the room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It took several phone calls to arrange an after-hours check-in, with staff having poor communication skills. I also injured myself due to the room being poorly maintained: The handle on the bathroom door came off in my hand as I tried to open the heavy door, this caused me to fall back and cut open my foot on the metal door stop opposite and smash the glass I was holding. When I explained this to staff at check-out they were not interested and just told me to send a letter to the management. I got no response to my email to Management.

    Convenient to the university

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.9
    Great location near UNSW and coogee beach. Comfortable beds.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom light switch operates the fan automatically, the fan is very loud and noisy. The bathroom door can't be kept open, so you need to keep opening and closing the door as you go in and out, which can become annoying during getting dressed and make-up. But other than this it is a great place to stay and would stay there again.

    Comfortable bed, nice layout, good size bathroom. Good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    6.7
    I would come back again. Room 201 was quite fine and close to my car.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hand towels or washers and only 1 smallish towel. No plug for hand basin to have a shave. Room was a little small compared to what I usually stay in at another nearby Sydney Lodges property but really, you are only there to sleep.

    Comfy bed, location worked for me and was relatively quiet. I was able to park in one of 3 car spaces at the rear of the site without cost and this was right outside my room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable stay,easy public transport connections and a number of cafes and restaurants in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Reception staff seemed sometimes inexperienced, however always polite. The room was cleaned only once in a 4 nights stay.

    Nice position with many restaurants, cafes and bars within a couple of minutes walk. Good connections with public transport to the city are avilable next door. The room was nice and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    6.3
    Lovely room and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hand towels were given. There were no kitchen facilities, not even bowls, spoons, knives. For the amount of people staying at the lodge you’d think you would accomodate for all rooms. Room was cleaned the day before we left, rather unnecessary. Night road works were on which we could have been warned about.

    Location for me was great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    6.7
    The room was tiny but clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no bedside table or lamp. There was no breakfast facility, not even an arrangement with a nearby cafe. There were stairs to my room and I didn't know.

    The room was tiny but clean. Bed comfy. Wifi easily accessible.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is in a great location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The advertisement stated the reception was open from 8am until 10pm. However when I arrived the reception was closed. I called the number and left a message, no return call was received. I waited around 1 1/2 hours for the reception to open.

    The hotel is in a great location. Transport and services close and convenient. Plenty of dining choices. Close to Coogee beach for some calm time needed fro my visit.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    4.2
    Disappointed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even after I prepaid and booked on Booking.com they took - photo copy of licence - manual entry of my credit card and CVV onto their computer .... I asked if this would be deleted and told it was safe ..... not happy Room is too small, but the worst was the wet smell in the Self closing door bathroom and no room natural ventilation

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    Very happy with our stay. Good location. Clean and comfortable. Very reasonably priced .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was extremely difficult to contact them to inform them that my flight had been cancelled and I would be arriving on a much later flight. I needed to make alternative arrangements to get access to the accomodations as the reception closed at 7pm. I called many many times and only got the answering machine. I did leave a message that was not returned within a reasonable time frame. I kept calling until finally someone picked up. This did cause further stress to an already stressful situation.

    Lovely accomodation, very reasonably priced. Beautifully maintained and quite a characterful building. Neat, clean, functional and pretty room. One of the most comfortable beds that I have ever slept in. They were able to accommodate my late arrival due to a cancelled flight. The morning reception staff was a very helpful , pleasant and knowledgeable young lady.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.9
    My biggest disappointment was there were only three parking...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whoops read previous box. Good...comfy bed and quiet room with air conditioning.

    My biggest disappointment was there were only three parking spaces onsite and I could not book. The reason I chose it was because they offered parking! The street parking was residence only so I had to pay $28 for secure parking in the nearby hospital grounds 10 minutes walk away. Not so great on my own in the dark.....

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.9
    The Lodge was what we wanted for an overnight stay - close to our family members.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small and the bathroom was hard to access with 2 people in the room.

    Everything was clean and obviously recently refurbished. The location was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    8.3
    Convenient,quiet, transport very close by
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A, lot of stairs if you have been to the hospital, so this is one thing to consider, ask for a downstairs room, which we did when I had surgery & the room was much bigger also which made it a bit easier to get around when you are a bit disabled from any ops.

    Property has had a lot of reno's done since we were there last, the rooms are "cosy", just a tad on the smaller size for 2 people, bed, desk, 1 chair, but as it was for a hospital visit it was fine for 3 nights. convenient to the hospital & transport is very convenient, from the airport a cab is about $40 but on the return if going early in the morning we have found cab back is about $27, you can get a bus if you want. Shops & eateries close by. Very quiet of a night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.1
    It was ok, probably would stay again but ask for a quiter room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We are older and the bathroom door was very hard to open, very heavy. It was also very noisy.

    The staff very friendly and a great location for what we were doing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.6
    Extremely comfortable, excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom and sink were a little small. Parking was a little hard to find st times.

    Beds were comfortable. The rooms and building looked very swish. Cute and private courtyard. Simple but good quality.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.5
    Good location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Street noise was very loud, had to buy earplugs to get through the night. Windows were not properly sealed, so when it was windy they would rattle and a draft would come through. Shower was a bit mouldy, but not that bad.

    Good location. Close to restaurants, hospital and university. Lovely bed, clean room, good staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.5
    Nice place
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many supplies in the room. Staff didn't really seem confident and took awhile to do simple things.

    The bed was very comfortable and the room very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.9
    comfortable
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no phone in rooms for overseas guests to call on. Especially if they have not bought a new sim or delay in sim activation

    The bed. Extra comfy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    6.3
    Small and clean over priced but close to hospital.
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are small and for the price of room cost high. Although very clean. For visiting the hospital very close. I would not go there for hoildays.

    It was close to hospital. And cafe's.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.3
    Clean place and value money for a weekend. Wouldn’t stay there a whole week.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet was a bit untidy and dusty. The room was a little to small. The wifi was limited to 1GB for 2 days. To less and don’t know why there is a limit.

    The Bed was really comfy. The room and the bathroom were clean and tidy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.1
    quiet and not to far from Bondi Junction on public transport when its not rush hour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we arrived the reception was closed for lunch so had to hang about with our cases. Our towel rail fell down and although reported this it was not put back up resulting in towels not drying.

    Good value for money and clean enough.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    5.4
    Toilet paper wasn't full when we arrived, had to buy our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet paper wasn't full when we arrived, had to buy our own as there was no one at reception There weren't sufficient blanks - bed was also uncomfortable Shower floors were dirty

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.3
    Good place to say if you have business in Randwick
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a bit noisy but this is the city, so what do you expect. Slight smell in the bathroom was a bit off putting.

    Location close to POW Hospital and SCH, easy access to restaurants and good cafes. Lovely old building with character retained. Balcony was a great bonus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyable. Was only overnight
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My rooms only window backed onto a walk way so had to keep it closed and blind shut for privacy. Room on the small side

    Friendly staff, comfortable bed and clean room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    Ideally located, close to transport and restaurants,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Still undergoing renovations some facilities not available and only thing missing was a face washer.

    Ideally located, close to transport and restaurants, friendly and accommodating staff. Rooms recently renovated and very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.7
    Convenient to hospital and shops
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No access to laundry or kitchen as they were renovating. Really annoying with no daily room cleaning and had to go and ask for clean towels. Free wifi didn't work either

    close to prince of wales hospital and pretty quiet

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.3
    average
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    renovations meant some faciilities e.g. kitchen were unavailable. There was nothing on their website which indicated this . Also there were no handtowels, facecloths nor any hair conditioner.

    bed was good and the receptionist was very helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    It was a great place for our purposes ( a wedding in nearby maroubra).
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only issue was parking for 'out of towners " like us, however we did find parking nearby on the street.

    the room was excellent, the staff helpful. Parking was the only issue, we are from out of Sydney but we found parking nearby. It was close to buses though. It was close to great restaurants and cafes where we had lunch and breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.5
    The staff were friendly on arrival and informed me that due...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovations made a bit of noise during the day if I was in but nothing major.

    The staff were friendly on arrival and informed me that due to the ongoing renovations my single room had been upgraded to a queen room which was fine. The room and bathroom were very clean and housekeeping came twice a week to clean. Unfortunately the laundry and kitchen services were unavailable again due to the renovations, however the staff were very accommodating and directed me to two of the other very close by lodges to use their facilities at no extra cost. The location of the lodge is great as it is very close to coogee beach and the spot where their are lots of restaurants. The bus stop is also just around the corner so very accessible.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Great experience! I will recommend it to my friends.
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    shower room is a little cold.

    the air conditioner made the room really warm, that's a comfort for a person coming from summer~ with 6 pillows on the bed, i had a cosy sleep.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    Clean & convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Planes a bit noisy. Everything else perfect. Bring earplugs. But I still would stay again. So convenient and nicely decorated for a small space. Great value compared to other accommodation.

    Nice room, decorated great with everything we needed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    I had initially booked High Cross Lodge but due to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was small

    I had initially booked High Cross Lodge but due to unforeseen circumstances my booking was changed to Perouse Lodge. The Location was fantastic, the hospitality was great & it was very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.9
    SUPER LOCATION. RIGHT NEXT DOOR TO RANDWICK HOTEL FOR A FABULOUS MEAL AND ENTERTAINMENT
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Considering lodge is in the process of renovations, the rooms that are on offer are spacious and clean. Only thing would be to lower the bathroom mirrors.

    Great location to eat streets, hospital & university. Quiet clean room, excellent hot showers and very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.3
    excellent last minute stay.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just found it hard to sleep with people yelling from the hall way at 3am.

    The location was super convenient and the staff were helpful and kind, great value for a last minute booking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.3
    A good choice if you have an early check in at the hospital - easy to get street parking too
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had a balcony (nice) but desperately needed curtains to shut out the street lights. We woke up several times thinking it might be morning already.

    It was convenient to the Prince of Wales Hospital

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    9.6
    Location was awesome to the hospital which we attended...
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Greeting from reception upon arrival was pretty ordinary. Next day different person similar greeting. Different persons on 3rd and 4th days and greetings were exceptional.

    Location was awesome to the hospital which we attended morning, afternoon and night on each day of our stay. Rooms are kept clean and are comfortable. Bathroom lovely. Has kitchen facilities in room and a larger kitchen and laundry area if required. Off street parking. We were on a tight budget and this fitted our budget beautifully.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    6.3
    An ok bed for the night in reasonable location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No public area (eg toilet) if you wanted to get changed before checkin or after checkout

    Basic bed for the night. Reasonable value for money. Not a venue to spend any time in, just sleep. Could leave bags there before checkin and after checkout Walking distance to Randwick race track and good solid walk to centennial park. A couple of good cafes on Avoca st

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    7.9
    Close and handy to visit my nephew at the hospital. Comfortable bed. Bring binoculars to watch tv 📺
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Television was extremely small.

    I liked the proximity of the hotel to Randwick Children's Hospital. All within walking distance which was great as would have to go to and fro a couple of times a day. Great meals at the next door pub.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    2.9
    Stay away!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pictures of the place on booking.com where photoshopped. It was not at all ambient and cosy as it looked initially. The room smelled very heavily, we had the door open all the time to let it breathe. The kitchen appliances were dated, old and stained. We even had a cockroach visit one night. It's far away from the center and overpriced for what we got.

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    3.8
    Only book if desperate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos are completely misleading. Super small bed, we did not fit either in length or width (we are average height and thin!). The room was so small that it was hard to sleep with the noise of the fridge, which was right next to the bed. We didn't even have enough space to open our luggage! There was noise from the road. There was a massive gap under the door. The door lock was loose and didn't feel secure at all, which was a problem as there was no safe. The rooms were not serviced during our stay (3 nights). Most staff we dealt with were not very friendly or helpful. The free wifi is limited to 500 mb/day.

    Shower was good, powerful and hot.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    7.9
    1. Staff at Reception are courteous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 8 nights

    1. Poor car-parking and no shade cover or canopy for pick-up and drop off when it rains 2. No lift 3. Lights in the bathroom had to be replaced

    1. Staff at Reception are courteous. 2. Location near to bus stops, shops and restaurants at Randwick and at the Spot

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    5.4
    I would not recommend this place to stay in b
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff I found had an unpleasant aurora I felt very uncomfortable with her demeanor felt she didn't want to be there

    Bed comfortable shower floor was higher than the room when I had a shower all the water ran into the bedroom had cock roches and spiders running around the walls and sealing was scared to go to sleep as the spiders were big and scary didn't have a phone number to get in touch with a manager the only good thing to say that it was close to my

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    7.1
    a LONE TRAVELLER WHO FELT 'AT HOME' AT THE lODGE.rUTH
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 28 nights

    A SLIGHTLY LARGER ROOM WOULD HAVE BEEN GOOD, ESPECIALLY AS i WA THERE FOR A MONTH. BUT IT WAS OK.

    I requested a quiet room and I certainly got one. It wa excellent. tHE BATHROOM (APART FROM A FRIENDLY COCKROACH) WAS GOOD. vERY HOT SHOWER AND CLEAN.fRIENDLY GIRLS AT RECEPTION. vERY PLEASANT.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    5.8
    The room smelt of old cigarette smoke and was generally...
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt of old cigarette smoke and was generally musty. When you open the door to the balcony it is shared with the room next door so this posed a security issue while trying to air the room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    6.3
    Last minute availability
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room said small and it certainly was! Sewage smell in bathroom- we only reported on exit as we weren't in the room much as we had busy itinerary. Receptionist said she would report it and seemed genuinely concerned.

    Easy to get buses into the city. Good for local shops and mall. Great pub right next door.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    6.7
    It was convenient for the purpose of being near the Prince of Wales hospital.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed too small, (not good for 6ft men), door to bathroom to heavy, felt cramped, railings to high in bathroom, toilet roll behind you (not good for older people).

    Location for our purposes

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    9.2
    Great value and convenient for the attractions of Sydney
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The double room and bed are small. We tended to roll into the middle of the bed.

    The staff were pleasant and helpful and the venue close to the facilities of Sydney.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    6.3
    Nice view of the park from balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge was iced up & television had rather small screen.

    The balcony was pleasant to use with opening doors. Also the fan & air conditioning was very useful as we couldn't open the doors during sleeping.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    6.3
    Lovely building but not very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there for two nights and it was the only place in 10 weeks without a room clean after the first day. This was particularly disappointing as there was a dead cockroach in the room. It was a lot smaller than it looked in the picture.

    Lovely old building close to the shops and beach. Good to have a kitchen to use, although not great facilities.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    6.3
    The position is very good for the airport and also for going...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was to much night rumors and the room isn't soundproof and I haven't slept fot two night.

    The position is very good for the airport and also for going to Coogee beach

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    6.3
    Good accomodation if you are out for most of your stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was dusty, drapes were stained, there were bugs in our room including a cocroach. This could have been because the gap under the door was quite big. The fire alarm is positioned directly above the roof and had a bright green light which was hard to sleep with.

    The location was great. We walked to coogee beach, coles, restaurants and shops quite easily. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    10
    Comfy, clean, affordable with friendly staff and easy access...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms aren't soundproof but that is to be expected with the age of the building. Honestly, though, it is very hard to fault.

    Comfy, clean, affordable with friendly staff and easy access to buses leading back to the city. Local shops were close and handy as was the pub and the university. I would stay there again if I was ever in the area once more.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    7.5
    Pleasant weekend stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The morning staff at the counter was very rude and she was not a happy person at all.

    The old architect in the building, it has character and history. The area is very good and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    2.9
    Don't stay. It's a waste of money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like anything!!!

    Everything was extremely dirty. There were spider webs everywhere as well as spiders and other bugs. They did a pest control and didn't even clean up the dead bugs and intact had more insects everywhere. Room was dirty linens weren't fresh and a strong bad smell in the room. We even tried using air fresheners which failed as well. We had to check out the night before cause it was just unbearable to stay there.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    9.2
    Basic, comfortable, clean
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking is a major concern, they have three parking spaces out the back and i was lucky that i got one. So make sure you check out other places to park. Also I drove for 5 hours and arrived about 1.40pm i asked if i could use my room to use the bathroom and was told no, as the room wasnt ready and to go to the pub next door, not happy with that, i think if you have an interstate visitor travelling hours and hours in a car and they want to use the bathroom you should let them (whether the room is ready or not). I think the room should have been ready at 1.40 anyway.

    The room was basic, but the bed was comfortable, there is air conditioning and kitchen facilities, the room was old but clean

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    7.5
    Clean, Pleasant staff, good location to Hospitals and Medical Suites.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower curtain was mouldy and needed replacing.

    Location was close to Medical Suites which was why we were in Sydney. Plenty of places to eat close by, and not far from Coogee Beach.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    7.1
    The owner was very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's quiet expensive compering with other countries but I believe that it is typical for Australia in general.

    The owner was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    5.0
    Overrated
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms and small size of double bed quite different from the photos shown on website.Go for the hotel next door for better facilities and accommodation.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    7.1
    High Cross Park Lodge Review.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was very uncomfortable. I also went to the front desk to ask a question and noticed one team member ( female, possibly manager) reprimanding a younger male staff member. This was very awkward, and the female staff member was very rude to the male staff member. I really felt for the male staff member. Not very professional at all.

    Great location and mostly friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    7.5
    Staff very efficient - room was great size
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to manoeuvre to location with one way cross streets with a car and minimal parking and street parking minimal also - but a great location none the less

    Staff very efficient - room was great size

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: