Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hilton Cairns 5 stars

34 Esplanade, 4870 Cairns, Australia

#23 of 73 hotels in Cairns

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 670 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Paid WiFi

    5.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Very nice hotel and location in Cairns
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a bit of a hassle. I don't like valet, and the only other option is a self park in an underground park which has limited spaces and you have to buy a $10 token each time you want to get out. Par for the course I guess, but it was very expensive for the room, and the room service prices matched.

    Everything was great. Nice staff, nice room, nice building and grounds, nice location, comfy bed, great shower head, good view from the balcony.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.5
    yes comfy bed nicely located on the water and enjoyed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loud noise of rubbish/bottles being collected directly down from our room @ 5am on Monday morning.

    yes comfy bed nicely located on the water and enjoyed freshly shucked oysters on Sun afternoon a bonus!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.9
    The bed was huge!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The airconditioning didnt do much cooling down during the day and night

    The bed was huge!!! Staff were lovely and helpful. The location was fantastic and everywhere was within walking distance which is important when every time you leave in your own car out of the garage it costs $10.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.9
    stay was good, i would recommend to others
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked a room over looking the inlet and maybe for my partner would be to have the make up mirror working.

    service from start to finish of our stay was excellent, you do train the staff well, breakfast was great , again staff were very helpful, friendly and happy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.2
    Location is very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and the balcony needs some refurbished. A bit noisy at night when the DJ is playing music outdoor at Mando Restaurant downstairs.

    Location is very good! Great view and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    5.8
    Expected a lot better based on what you charge and the fact that this is an international chain
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Paid over $400 a night and there is no mini bar. Really pathetic for an international hotel - I travel extensively and have worked in the industry for years Housekeeping was really late in the day Safe was broken

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Best hotel I’ve ever stayed in!!
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Access to Executive Lounge
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the bath and the fact that it was not a jacuzzi like it states in the booking

    The bed was comfortable. The room service food was beyond exceptional! Couldn’t of spent our anniversary any other way! Staff were excellent and the location was perfect. Had a beautiful view of the city - looked amazing at night time!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    6.7
    The staff were friendly and attentive and the beds were...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t quiet live up to the Hilton reputation and you could get the same service and room quality at a much cheaper hotel

    The staff were friendly and attentive and the beds were comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.8
    Great view. Great service and close to everything. Within walking distance to all necessities. No ne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great view. Great service and close to everything. Within walking distance to all necessities. No need for a car at all. And the spa was fantastic! Could be a little bigger but overall amazing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Great location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think the car parking should be free for guests for the price you pay.

    The staff were so friendly and helpful. The facilities were great, especially the pool. Our room was large and clean with a great balcony view across the city to the mountains and sunset. The location was great, lots of bars and restaurants close by. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    The lobby smelt divine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wished we'd booked a room on the other side, one with a view of the inlet. Not the hotels problem. Didnt much like the dead plants on our balcony

    The lobby smelt divine. The staff were lovely. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Great customer service, clean room and great views from the balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had bad service from one of the porters but after we "complained" , it was handled very professionally.

    Rooms were very clean. Beds were comfy. Staff were friendly too, we did not realize the internet was free only for members , the staff waived the charges after we explained it was honest mistake.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite with Spa Bath and Access to Executive Lounge
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent

    Location, view from room, comfortable beds, excellent service, excellent room service. Also in executive room think of small touches like having yoga mat and bag with towels ready for day trips to reef

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.8
    Staff were fantastic- very responsive & helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel no longer 5 Star. Beds saggy & uncomfortable due to age, room furniture & cabinets chipped, carpet old, room had unpleasant odour. Only reception in good shape. Breakfast also very ordinary.

    Staff were fantastic- very responsive & helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location. Friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only odd thing was 3 times staff walked into the room at different times without knocking and trying to deliver things. .... which I had not ordered. Luck for me I was decent! :( Be good to have wine glasses in the room?!

    Overall good stay. PERFECT location. Room had a deck which was great. Staff on reception. VERY friendly and very helpful!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location & views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, helpful staff Fabulous buffet breakfast Beautiful views from room & balcony Convenient location in city & easy walking distance to railway station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    Ok for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was looking tired and dated. The people in the next room were smoking cigars on their balcony so we couldn’t sit on ours and the smell was also horrible in our room. Would suggest the management have non smoking floors which is common in some other hotels.

    It was a spacious hotel room. The check in and out staff were excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    Location & Staff were fantastic.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall the hotel appeared very tired and in need of renovation/updating. Not what i was expecting from the Hilton Group.

    Location & Staff were fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Great hotel with a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very clean, beds were comfortable, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was close to everything from the wharf to woolies to the art gallery it was just Central to anything you wanted

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Best place to unwind after my Ironman...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.

    I had just complete the 70.3 Ironman and it was just a little walk from the race.The staff were absolutely wonderful.The room and facilities were wonderful.I will be staying at the Hilton everytime i do the race from now on and will recommend the hotel to everyone.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Short and sweet ( make sure you jump in the spa )
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    we could not stay longer

    Lovely room, great view. We had a plug issue, mentioned it to front desk and they fixed it while we had a drink at the bar. Staff were so friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.8
    Location was great and walking distance to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelt of smoke. Very dated externally and internally. Room was clean but smelt and it’s very dated. Only impressive part of this hotel is the lobby.

    Location was great and walking distance to everything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Location comfy bed
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs to be upgraded badly showing its age. The gardens are in a terrible state from the rooms and thus is a lovely feature of this hotel

    Location comfy bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.4
    Didn't experience much of Cairns.Interactions with staff was all we had so they could've been better
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We finished most evenings at an event at 2am and returned to the room around 3am and to bed by 3:30/4 To find we had a staff fire drill at 9am one morning was annoying. Also our door broke and we couldn't get into out room at this early hour and then the second night it happened again. They wouldn't send someone to our room with a new key so we had to go all the way to reception again. Then they worked out the door was broken and we had to wait for security to come up and let us in and they fixed the door the next day. So with this issue above there wa a cranky staff member on night shift.

    i loved that i ran into a friend i knew working at the tour desk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.0
    The beds were comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled musty and mouldy. The carpet was disgusting...dirty and stained. Casino was across the street so extremely noisy . Meal at the mondo was terrible with some items we ordered not being delivered and food that we did get was cold.

    The beds were comfortable. Pool area was nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    4.2
    This hotel should be a 3 star, definitely NO value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is outdated n carpet smelt and beds were old n very uncomfortable Even the cover of the chair in the corner of the room was all peeling and color was all faded The basin in the bathroom smelt like sewerage n water wasn’t draining properly

    The location of the hotel was great n very central

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Hooray for Hilton
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was almost ready to be replaced.

    The service, position and cleanliness all great. Loved the little touch of text message night before checkout asking if we needed a taxi booked. Unnecessary in our case but lovely gesture.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    We would stay at the Hilton again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room we were initially allocated was clean but it was shabby and worn in places. I spoke to the assistant manager Blair Morton about it and he arranged to have us moved to another very nice room and the rest of our stay was extremely pleasant.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Great food at the buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Our first visit to Cairns and glad we chose to stay at The Hilton. Loved the view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A table and a light on the balcony would be a good idea.

    Beautiful views. Lovely comfy bed. Convenient to town centre. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Access to Executive Lounge
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in the executive lounge was poor at night. Breakfast service is great. Long wait times for top up of alcoholic beverages. We feel they are under staffed or under trained in the evening.

    Location, friendly staff, clean room and great facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    We had a great time in Cain’s but our next trip we won’t be staying at the Hilton
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a window set and one was not available at the time, but as we were coming back with our breakfast I saw a free table and I asked another staff member if we could move he said yes sure, so we did and as I took our set of cutlery from our other table another staff (lady) approach me and said great you just stole someone’s Cutlery I told her no I didn’t it was for us we are just moving to another table, what I was really annoyed about the hole situation was she kept staring at us and we felt very uncomfortable, I felt that we didn’t get the customers service that the Hilton provid..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.5
    Great location, hotel interior could do with an upgrade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress was extremely uncomfortable so made the stay less enjoyable. The bathroom although very clean was dated. The mirror appeared to be misty all the time but this was just through age and the toilet had a large crack on it.

    The location was excellent - right at the side of the river and riverside restaurants. The bars, restaurants and casino were all only a short walk away. Having a room with a river view was awesome.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is clean, efficient, professional and the staff are very friendly, genuine and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above.

    Overall very good and very good value for money, the gardens of the hotel could do with a little work though - not as Schlick as to be expected of an iconic tropical location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    Good except for the aircon and bedding
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The airconditioning was governed at too high a temperature at night and this combined with a dune on the bed as opposed to sheets and blanket, made it uncomfortable, we did not sleep well as a result

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.5
    Not overwhelming but it’s ok. The staff were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the hotel was a little tired and my room had obviously been used for a family and the fold down bed had not been put away and my bed when sitting up in it kept moved no from the wall.

    The choice of gins!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    Overall very pleased with the hotel and will definitely stay there next time I’m in cairns.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite with Spa Bath and Access to Executive Lounge
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I actually found it difficult to find the hotel at first as the address did not match google directions. Also getting from the car park to the hotel lift was a guessing game as the were no signs to give direction.

    The room was excellent, the staff were amazing. From small notes from the cleaning staff wishing us a nice day to a gift from the front desk staff to my partner for her birthday; little things that made our stay more pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.9
    Ok for four stay hotel but we paid too much and lounge facilities not worth extra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Access to Executive Lounge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked on booking.com with the belief this was a five star hotel which it clearly wasn't. Accommodation tired, rooms furniture repainted, carpets worn, pillows soft and lumpy, bathroom just dated. Hilton lounge food in evening tasteless and served tepid or cold. Breakfast upstairs actually much better with large selection. Music in lounge in eve being played on portable old CD player.

    Hotel position, cheap parking, Watching the flying foxes in the evening- fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.9
    Good overall, just a few issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Access to Executive Lounge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lot of maintenance going on which was very annoying at times, bar not open until 4 was disappointing also, people knocking on my door st 8.40 am to fit a modem , woke me up from a late night!

    Executive lounge was great,staff very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.8
    All Round ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much parking to choose from. Place is nice and clean, now is becoming outdated. My remote batteries were flat. Rang lobby, took over 30mins to be replaced upon arrival to room. Obviously not checked along with Radio... No chords from Radio to power to work. Called lobby again, lovely Porter attended and found for us.

    The bed was super comfy and loved the 12pm check out.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.1
    Apart from the car park charge comfortable and well situated hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    $10 cost for parking every time in and out is outrageous for hotel guests especially when my wife and I were in separate vehicles needing our cars during the day!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    5.4
    Not to Hilton standards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very outdated! Food in hotel was horrible! Our door was broken so got locked out! Had to call to get room cleaned every day! Huge let down!!!

    Good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like I said for the price meals standards and we don't get our eggs for breakfast plus croissants were from little town.

    Room was great spa needs to be bigger room service good meals we could get better from the pud..in addition we are born and breed qld. But I would come again thanks

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.3
    Lovely for a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the cleaners came into our room without knocking and came into the bathroom whiles my partner and I were in the bath, this was out of order. It was also 6PM so I am not sure why the cleaners are cleaning at this time. Felt a little unsafe. The spa pool outside was cold which I was not expecting.

    Our room had a lovely view of the mountains and the water. Really clean room with a super comfortable bed. The spa bath was definitely worth the extra money!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.9
    Great! We had a lot of fun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking comes at an additional charge of $10 and the hotel charges an additional $10 for every time you leave the hotel. I think a car park should be complementary. The cost to watch a movie in the hotel room is exorbitant and not keeping up with current trends (Netflix, Stan, iTunes etc). It did feel like I had to keep an eye on additional charges to make sure the evening did not get out of control financially.

    Hotel pool is awesome and so is the heated spa. Staff are so friendly and the rainforest growing up through the centre of the hotel is magnificent. Food from the two restaurants is top notch.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    6.3
    NOT HORRIBLE BUT FAR FROM GREAT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    FOOD NOT WORTH THE PRICE OVER $60 FOR CHICKEN WRAP AND 2 MILKSHAKES WAITING FOR TV TO BE REPAIRED, COULD UNDRESS OR RELAX AS STAFF HAD TO COME BACK SEVERAL TIMES

    ACCESS TO OTHER ATTRACTIONS. STAFF WERE VERY FRIENDLY

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice facility but poor attitude of staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Attitude of staff is slightly poor as a five star hotel, parking too complicated!!!

    Facilities are good, comfortable with the room, good location, free drinks

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.3
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toiletries and milk were not refilled every day. Spa bath could have been bigger (only fits one). Breakfast buffet was embarassing for Hilton Hotel and i have seen Hilton breakfast buffet before! What buffet has no proper coffee machine and charges for coffee? It's Cairns not sure why there was so much Asian food - 3 types of rice, noodles and miso soup for breakfasts? I understand that there are a lot of Asian visitors there, but aren't they there to discover Australian Culture not find their own? Swimming pool was lacking life, maybe music would be nice and sunscreen dispenser was empty.

    View was amazing! The spa room was nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    8.8
    This was a lovely hotel with great facilities in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no free parking or WiFi. There was free WiFi in the lobby but it wasn't very good.

    This was a lovely hotel with great facilities in the room. We traveled for my partners 30th birthday and the hotel were kind enough to give us a complimentary bottle of bubbly. The staff were friendly and helpful. We borrowed some towels from concierge and didn't know there was a charge, the hotel were kind enough to weaver the cost. Jenni at the tour desk was amazing and really helpful in booking our tours.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.5
    Definetly do the exec lounge option
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Access to Executive Lounge
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel looked a little dated and rooms were not quite as good as they looked on the pictures - it’s a little tired decor wise but it works well for a place to stay

    Location was good and we had an executive suite with lounge access - the room service and lounge were awesome

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    5.8
    Overall not happy would not stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was disgusting held the blanket up to the light and the stains and marks on it was enough to make me sick feel like it’s the same blanket they bought when they opened the place

    The area was nice the view and staff were very friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    This hotel lives up to an expectation of sheer luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. It was all perfect.

    Loved the massage chairs we used in the lobby whilst killing time after checkout! The lady at the desk (Lucy) took the time to send a personal text message after we had checked in and checked out to check on our satisfaction and it's the little touches like this that made our overnight stay so special.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    6.3
    Do not be carried away by the brand and the ratings of this property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the Hilton tag to this property is misleading and the 4* rating is not fit for the property. We did not get the feeling that you are staying in a 4* hotel.

    The location is the only usp of the hotel. It is very close to the ferry wharf. Also the promenade is just outside the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.5
    I'll take my money elsewhere next time to place where I am treated as a guest not a potential vandal
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower easily overflowed and would wet the entire bathroom floor and then into the corridor. The parking arrangements were pathetic. It took a long while to find one only then to discover that I needed to pay $10 to exit after paying $395 for a room under the impression a park was included as it stated on the website. On principle I argued the point. They take $100 out of your account as bond and then you have to wait 4-5days after you checkout for it to be returned into your account. It really makes you feel like a potential criminal. They are expecting you are going to do something wrong.

    The view was great. The room was comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    6.3
    expected a lot better than what i saw
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a little tired, stain's in the carpet, no mini bar, breakfast finished too early , bird muck on the chairs on balcony, old fittings on the fridge the hotel needs an upgrade apart from reception.

    The position of the hotel and the friendly informed staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.6
    Good as always
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having stayed at a a few hotels in Cairns it amazes me that there is not a complimentary bottle of water in your room refrigerator. Were in the tropics, its stinking hot and you get to your room and all you want is a drink of water,and there is none. For what it would cost i think it would be an excellent way to show you actually care.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay in a good area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one shampoo and one shower gel were provided for a double room for two persons.

    View from the room, balcony, friendliness of the staff. The waterfront coffee place and the breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive parking and not dedicated to hotel. Rooms were not very soundproof. Couldn't get hold of reception after multiple attempts.

    Good location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Access to Executive Lounge
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The misses The room was not in great repair, the headboard and desk etc was scratched up. The mini bar fridge door you could barely open as it scraped and dragged along the carpet. I would of expected foxtel for a five star hotel but no, just a billion news channels and not much else. The complimentary shampoo and conditioner , shower gel were absolutely tiny and only one bar of soap, two would of been good so you could put one in the shower and one at the basin to wash your hands. The bed was very hard , not very comfortable. Breakfast downstairs was only average , we only ate there once, everything kept running out and no-one was replenishing anything, a lot of the hot food was cold... And whatever you do, if you are there as a couple , don't both get up to get breakfast otherwise they clear your table ready for the next person! We made that mistake, went to get seconds, we both got up and as we were returning with our plates and drinks, they had already cleared our table and were getting it ready for the next lot of customers so we had to stand and eat out food at the buffet tables...awkward .... For a five star hotel and nearly $350 a night it was lacking, I expected more for that amount of money, I would rate it as more like 3.5 stars, it looks rather tired and old in general but the wonderful staff and location made up for its short comings. Thank you for pleasant stay and well done to all your staff, they were definitely 5 star worthy!

    We stayed here for 3 nights in an executive room, top floor with views over the water. I'll start with all the hits and there were many. As we walked up the steps to the entrance the doorman ran to open the door for us, once inside we were checked in super fast and friendly (I booked through booking.com for the first time) the porter took our bags up to our room and up we went. Our room wasn't as big as it looked on the website but was definitely big enough for the two of us. The bathroom looked renovated and was very nice. Fabulous views. Breakfast in the executive lounge was fabulous and we were greeted and served by a wonderful lady (who's name I unfortunately I have forgotten, sorry) she couldn't do enough for us and gave us some great info about Cairns etc. Within walking distance to the town/shopping and food and we could see the cruise ships come in and out of port. Housekeeping was impeccable . The lady at the tour desk was very helpful and friendly as were all the staff we encountered, cannot fault them.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    6.3
    Average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room looked dated and pretty average considering it wasn’t that cheap and it is a Hilton. Also, it was advertised as having 2 Queen sized beds, but they were only doubles. I was quite disappointed.

    The staff were lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    5.0
    If think about the price, I think the experience was not good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decorations and appliances in the room were old. The sound insulation was not that good when in the room. The water was easily spilt out from the washstand and bath and got a very wet and messy bathroom although we tried very carefully.

    The breakfast is good. Nice car park service. The location is convenient and quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant enough in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast only goes to 9.30 and they do mean 9.30. That's when the buffet gets packed up and taken away. Even if you just arrived. Pretty poor for a holiday destination hotel. Their car park is a shared public space so you need to use valet parking if you want to ensure a space.

    Pleasant well located hotel. Friendly staff and a relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    We enjoyed our stay and Breakfast was very nice :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only down was the in house menu. I can only eat gluten free, and when we wanted a quick bite before going out. The 'kitchen' seemed to have no idea of what I could eat safely, and the physical Menu in our room wasn't saying what the staff were?? So we had to go and find some quick food along the Boardwalk. The Boatshed accommodated us nicely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Good.staff was friendly. Michael at concierge and sarah who tidy my room
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little change in breakfast menu.lol.being diabetic.i had a little challenge.but didnt make it an issue

    Brandon and staff at breakfat were very helpful I had a fractured foot before coming and i felt so comfotable.i really appreciated my fresley brewed coffee being brought to my table

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Memorable holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Access to Executive Lounge
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel was excellent, couldnt fault the staff. Everyone went out of their way to make sure our stay was fantastic especially Anne in the executive lounge. Would recommend the hotel to friends and family.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.9
    Amazing view, close to the harbour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy at the reception did what he was supposed to do but wasn't really friendly at all. We felt a bit like he was in a rush and really tried to hurry to tell us everything. He did not even smile at us! And to connect to the wifi is really stupid instead of providing a code or like in other hotels signing in with room number and surname they sent us an email and we had to create an account which is obviously difficult to do when you have no internet. At the end an other lady who was working at the repection as well gave us a code to connect as we couldn't find out how to connect with that account thing and we just heard that the guy told her that the code is not for foreign guests. What a stupidity!

    The view was amazing. We had a great lookout over the sea.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    6.7
    Not value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely overpriced for what you got. It was clean, and a good room but for the money I paid I was expecting a bit more luxury.

    Central, good room, good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not ready at check in. We were told we'd receive a text when ready. Did not receive text. Checked in and Had to move rooms as there were no lights in our room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.3
    Really good apart from shouting noise early hours morning. And cockroach in room on last morning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room received a lot of noisefrom the Cassino opposite. This was in the early hours of the morning was very annoying.

    Customer service was outstanding. As were the facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.9
    Convenient but pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking situation is poor, happy to pay $10 on exit but the parking facilities are way below standard for a Hilton. When you pay so much parking should really be included.

    Great location, staff very friendly, room service very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.1
    For a Hilton property, I don't think this was value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lady at the tour desk was busy gossiping on the phone, and looked annoyed that she had to talk to me. I found her rude and very irritated so instead I went to the tour desk at the hotel across the road who was more than delighted to help me book my tours.

    The hotel staff were friendly enough and happy to assist with my queries. Location wasn't bad, short walk to restaurants, the esplanade, shops, supermarket.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.3
    Staff attitude needs improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room with Access to Executive Lounge
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant/ dining services are disappointing. We had 3 issues in our 5 night stay. First,during breakfast, we ordered omelette. It didn't arrive. Upon reminder we were informed that the chef forgot. Second time, we tried calling inroom dining, nobody replied for over 2 hours. Front office also could not help. Third was the most serious issue. On our last day, we requested all vegetarian breakfast inroom. But they sent us omelette with ham. This was a big disappointment for us Muslim travelers as pork is totally forbidden for us.

    Location is excellent - very close to the main activities areas. Room views are also so good. Early morning chirping of different birds visiting our balconies gives excellent start of the day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.7
    Great location and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bare room...... no extra pillows, blanket, no water, bin liners, balcony planter box very dirty. Felt like the decision was made to cut costs and therefore the little touches were gone. There is a difference between simplifying and cutting costs. Not what you would expect from a Hilton.

    Lobby well presented, location on the water

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    Friendly staff, comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cocktail bar staff were a little aloof - friendlier to those who were more dressed up than us. Mondo the restaurant below the hotel was terrible. The food was below average which was not reflected in the prices charged. Better food and prices along the Esplanade.

    Staff were great - very friendly. Lovely note left on our bed by the person who serviced our room which was a nice touch. The breakfast buffet was good - but hold off on getting the hot food if the containers are beeping or nearly empty as the food will be cold and will be refilled with fresh hot food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.9
    excellent location but not one of the best Hilton's .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sauna. Breakfast not quite as good as Hiltons usually are. Coffee was very very poor unless ypu paid extra for a barrista one...this should be standard if its a world class hotel as Hiltons usually are. Parking was $10 per exit not per day as stated.

    Very helpfull staff. Decent drawer space in the room. Location is excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    3.8
    Many problems.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many problems. You know when you put the DO NOT DISTURB sign outside and early in the morning an employee comes knocking on the door while I was sleeping to put the suitcase of the next guest in my room. Another thing was that when I went to eat my snack in the room, it was full of ants. There are other better hotels around. It's not good value for money.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: