Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Home Backpackers 2 stars

238 Elizabeth Street, Sydney CBD, 2000 Sydney, Australia

#271 of 306 hotels in Sydney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 583 hostel reviews

6.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.8

  • Comfort

    5.6

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    5.7

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    5.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms are very small and I believe they could get crowded when there are more people around.

    The hostel is very close to central station, so it's easy to use public transport. I met a lot of nice people.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin or Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the showers need a bit of maintenance and so does the wifi system

    the staff were really friendly and helpful I had a really nice room will b returning back in the near future

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The full place was very run down. In our room we found a cockroach on the first night and the bedding wasn't clean either. The showers were pitiful and would only be scalding hot or freezing cold with no in between. The shower was also just a trickle of water so my advised to wash hair under it! A picture of the shower on full is shown below. I would only recommend going here if you were very short of cash and could only afford this. Not ideal for anymore than a night or two.

    Close to Central station which made it very easy to get to. Only 20 minute walk from opera house too!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilets and showers need upgrading. Some showers were so weak they could not be used. Very cramped toilets. Good hot water system though.

    Reception staff were always super friendly and helpful, especially Norman! Great location 3 minutes down the road from Central station. Rooms had large lockers so you can store your entire bag in it. You need to bring your own lock.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin or Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are not well maintained. One of the shower at the second floor not working properly good thing the other shower is working.

    Very close to Central station very convenient, 7-11 and food and grocery store just besides the place. Staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin or Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was clean and comfortable but noisy most of the night from the main road I could not get Wifi in my room

    The price and location were good. Interesting people to chat to and share pizza with.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed here two separate times and the first bed we had was okay, but you could feel the springs. The second time we had a slightly larger room but the bed was very noisy whenever you moved and it was a little bit dirty. It needs to be cleaned up a bit, we did find a cockroach in our room. Our room was at the front of the building and the traffic was very noisy.

    It was a nice quiet cheap hostel. It is what you expect it to be like. We liked the staff, they were friendly and made the effort to talk to us. There were free pancakes in the morning at the weekend and a roof top that you could go up to.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin or Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom horrible, no water pressure. Really bad. I can accept mediocre for the prive but it was bad. Also all the doors squeak loudly. 1 can of wd40 and 10 mins would fix that

    Room nice and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some lock of bathrooms and showers don't work.Wifi was not srong in the 4beds room.

    This was my second stay, every thing was comfortable. Stuffes were very friendly and free pancake and pizza were nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin or Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bunk bed frame shakey. Step rung Small diameter hurt tired feet. Should be flat not round. Had trouble finding kitchen. Need map in room.

    Location close to rail transport Quiet. No traffic noises Room was a good size

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 showers for the whole floor. There are hostels as cheap as that one in Sydney with but still with better facilities. It's a low price for a very low quality.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst hostel ever! Make a favor to yourselves and don’t book there. We found cockroach dead inside our room and the room was filthy. Never seen something like this. The rooms are extremely hot. No air conditioner only fans. The common area has rats. The kitchen is old and smells really bad. Not even had the courage to cook there. If I could rate this hostel less than 0, I would.

    .mExcellent location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin or Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 shower on the 2nd floor to share between multiple people, an extra 1 shower would have made a huge difference.

    The friendly staff and location of the property Close to public transport and ease to get around the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms had fans but in Sydney summertime air con is definitely needed. The toilets are also very small and there aren’t enough. The showers are dated and could do with a clean and a refurb.

    The double bedroom was nice and spacious with a comfy bed and it was a very quiet hostel with no loud neighbours. Very clean kitchen area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was one particular flag missing from the wall of flags ;D

    Big hangout room + young n friendly staff offering you free pancakes & pizza at times

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other than the shower doors that didn’t latch The poor water pressure and the squeaky doors, it was a very good backpackers

    Very central to everything we needed for our trip

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin or Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing i didn't like as long as your expectations are matched to what you are buying. The room was basic, no air-con, road noise was medium-level and the bed a bit squeaky. Shared facilities were adequate though a bit cramped and a bit run-down. Remember: it is a backpackers. As such it rates highly compared to other backpackers. And, again, the staff i dealt with were exceptionally welcoming and helpful.

    The staff were brilliant, much more than just helpful. The location and staff were brilliant. I was there for a function and a late night followed by a morning flight. All i needed was somewhere to sleep. If you need little soaps and having your ego pampered then go elsewhere. Otherwise, you will do much worse somewhere else for much greater cost.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin or Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi only being available in communal areas and only one shower per block

    For the price- it’s excellent. You get what you pay for. Central location and nice staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are incredible hot, even on a 28 degree day. Floors are sticky. Kitchen is really small in comparison with other hostels. Our glass window was broken already and broke even more when it fell down, pieces were on the ground. As a proud hostel owner you should fix basic things. It was even not catching up an asian hostel of $7 a night.

    The staf was friendly and helpful, the only thing that is good on this place. The bed is clean as well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Fan just blew the air that was in the room, which was usually warm. The room needs air conditioning.

    I couldn't get the wifi to work. There was no TV on the room, or tea/coffee facilities in the room either, so at times it was boring.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin or Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilets close to my room weren’t accessable and I always had to go into a different section. The kitchen door was also always closed, which I personally find intimidating.

    The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. While the room was bare, it was never too hot or noisy. There were also pancakes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin or Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were only 2 showers and toilets for the floor, which is not ideal, but I didn't have to wait long if I needed to use them. Would have like another sink/ place to brush my teeth.

    Bed was comfortable, and they had included a stand alone fan, for which I was very grateful as it was quite hot that week in Sydney. The staff was very accommodating and friendly, and gave us good tips on the public transport.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed here for our last few nights of Australia! Staff were lovely. Wifi was really good. Room was really comfy, had a bunk and 2 fans (luxury for cheap hostels in Australia). Close to main city and transport. Bathrooms were ok, open windows were a bit weird as there are windows opposite. But otherwise ok, would recommend cleaners to maybe pay more attention to bathrooms than changing our bedroom bin everyday which wasnt needed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fridge doesn't work and leaked on the carpet resulting in the room smelling. No air conditioning in the room but two fans provided. No fly screens on the windows.

    Good location and good price

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no lifts so if you are carrying heavy luggage it could be a problem, no air conditioning is available so it's crazy hot everywhere. Moreover there are just few showers and toilets for tons of people as well as kitchen tools.

    It is located in a very central position.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin or Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a real disappointment!! There was 2 very small toilets and 2 showers on each level. The shower had no shelf or hanging hooks so I had to put my towel and clothes on the toilet and my bottles on the floor of the shower (not ideal in a hostel bathroom) the sinks were small to brush your teeth and I just felt dirty the whole experience. Big let down unfortunately!

    The location is really good. Super close walk to central station and into the city shops. There is also buses that arrive right out the front.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fan blowing hot air in my face when it was already 38 degrees in the room, an oversized bit of tissue paper for a duvet and the fact reception closes at 8pm and 0 staff to be seen until the next morning. Base Backpackers is the way forward!

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not waste your money!!! I wish I could use expletives. The rooms are so hot! If you’re thinking about staying here, book yourself into a spa sauna instead - it’ll probably be cooler. Also a really unfriendly hostel, the atmosphere is dreadful (E.G. walk into the common room and no one says hi, or even says hello in return to you!) I think there’s a lot of ‘long-termers’ here - god knows why.

    Right next to Central Station and bus stop directly opposite. Easy to flee and book into another hostel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was about a thousand degrees. Felt like a sauna, there were two fans felt like they weren’t doing anything and no other way to cool it down. Not a great sleep.

    Bed was comfy, great location across from central, staff member upon check in was lovely, staff member upon checking out was really unhelpful with knowledge about the surrounding area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else!Dead bugs on the floor,no aircon, so in rooms was the smell of seating people(!!!),really,for that proce even, the conditions were terrible.

    Friendly and helpfull stuff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is too small for 6 persons,and the door lock doesn’t work.

    I’m really satisfied with unlimited wifi (if you finished your 2G, you can ask staff to get more)and the location of backpackers is really close to Central Station, just about 6 mins by walk, awesome!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ridiculously hot, with no airflow. Cockroaches in our room (next to the kitchen) Shared kitchen was small (only 4 chairs) & badly equipped - difficult to cook when anyone else was in there. Would not reccomend for the price

    Opposite the bus stop & 20 minute walk to darling harbour. Showers had hot water.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really hot rooms (but it was a very hot night) Confusing layout being two buildings that have kind of been merged into one.

    Bed was surprisingly comfortable. Bathrooms were clean and well maintained

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our first night here (after flying for around 26 hours) we were awoken by a leak in our room in the middle of the night. It was dripping quite rapidly on the floor next to our beds and onto the top bunk where my partner was sleeping! After calling the night manager they checked and said someone had left the shower on above us. It did eventually stop, however, the roof had a damp patch (photo attached) of where the leak had come from. On our last day it started leaking again so I don't think it's a one off thing, it seemed to be happening regularly. Rooms do not have air conditioning so they get VERY hot during the night and can get very uncomfortable. Also the wifi isn't very strong in any part of the hostel so we couldn't plan much of our East Coast trip or FaceTime back home. The kitchen area isn't big enough for the amount of people staying and not a lot of storage space for everyones food. Also there is just one table to eat on and during breakfast & dinner times, there won't be anywhere to eat your food which gets annoying. Long waits for showers in the mornings if don't get up early as only two showers on our floor (with around 6 rooms ranging in sizes).

    Hostel was nice and quiet, just what we needed for our first week in Australia after flying in from the UK for NYE. We stayed in the 'B' side and found it was quite chilled out and people weren't at all rowdy in the evenings. We stayed in a 4 bed dorm and found it OK. Beds were comfortable and were given clean sheets. We shared the room with two other single travellers who also liked peace and quite so that was a bonus. Bathrooms were cleaned every morning and was pretty clean throughout (except the odd cockroach). TV room has full Sky which is great for when chilling in there. Kitchen had the essential stuff so can cook a variety of things (if not already being used). Lockers are a good size, they fit in a lot of stuff and lock easily with your own padlock.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In general, the building was quite old I think. Our friends’ 4-bed dorm was quite small than our expectation. The wifi signal cannot reach our room as well.

    Our twin room was private and equipped with sufficient facilities. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Central station is just a few steps away (you can go anywhere from that station including airport), which is super convenient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin or Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A girl next door in 21b slamming slamming the bedroom door all night very very in Considerate for others obviously got a problem still no need to do that very little sleep wonder is there a night manager to call when situations call.The Bath room facilities were ok toilet room a bit small. The bedroom needs cleaning up altogether real d Required a room not near train line. Understand their were none left should try and cater for requirements their is reason why people request.

    Accessible by public transport the door a reasonable size. Staff friendly maybe a good idea to ask how their night went.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi works well but only in public areas, and you only get 1gb at a time (but can get more for free). The room had no a/c, just a fan. This was a major problem in 25/30 degree heat.

    Very close to central station which links you to the airport and the harbour. Supermarket and nice takeaway next door. Bed and pillow were adequate, and the hostel was fairly quiet at night times which is good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was simple and small. But everything else definitely made up for that!!

    I really liked the staff and people who stayed here! A very welcome feeling and really helpful! The rooftop is really chill and everyday the cleaner comes to clean all the facilities in a very good way! In weekends the staff provides for free breakfast (pancakes) thank you!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lady made me wait for hours to get into the room or even the hotel. The bed was with dots of blood

    The area was very convenient, good access to public transport and turistic places.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wi-Fi signal was extremely weak in our room. In addition, even though we clearly stated that we would arrive after 8 pm, nobody was there to check us in. There is a sign that says that you should use the pay phone around the corner if you don't have a mobile phone, but we didn't have coins, either. Luckily, another guest just came out of the building and notified staff for us.

    Beds were very comfortable and the room was big enough for two people! Staff was very helpful in organizing trips. Room was surprisingly quiet!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    absolutely nothing like the pictures showed quite run down and basic facilities. our stay was okay and we experienced no major problems but it definitely was nothing like the pictures on the booking site.

    good location great pancake breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit noisy... and dirty.

    The location is good, the staff managed to do activities every day (walk in beach, free food, movies together etc...). The staff is friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • People with friends
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was smelly, old, noisy, dirty. This is a hostel/home for long term residents/backpacker travellers so it's been used and abused pretty well. They also keep to tgeir own groups and dont make nre guest feel welcome unless you drink ALOT, smoke and will take part in there sex orgies (not even kidding!). There was some illegal activities going on (ie. Drug dealing for sure!) in the property too which made the place look and feel even worse with odd random people coming and going. If you want to stay in a place that's comfortable, clean with a good bed and nice facilities then avoid this place at all costs.

    it was in a good location. Nothing else.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt quite uncomfortable, as a woman, being placed in a room with only men, all of whom come from a different culture. Having been sexually assaulted before in a similar situation, I even considered trying to sleep in the tv room, and tried at 8pm, when I realised the situation, to find alternative accommodation but it was not possible considering my budget. As it was, nothing untoward happened but I felt I had to change my plans for the evening, and once the others had gone out, I just went to bed, read and then had a fairly uneasy sleep.

    The location was perfect for what I needed. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The bunk beds are quite comfortable (if a little squeaky every time you roll over). Clear outline of daily activities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 shower and 2 toilets for the floor. In the morning the shower was quite busy.

    Location and staff. Very quiet, no street noise, was great. The double room is quite comfortable and larger than expected.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was a little old, but value for money was excellent.

    The staff were excellent, Ashley and Anton were extremely helpful. A complimentary breakfast was also provided during the weekend. Great location and very easy to get to.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms was very cramped, too many beds in a tiny room, could barely open the door. In the bathrooms near my room, the showers didn't work and the toilet didn't flush, so I had to walk to another building for a shower. There was no blanket and the night was cold, so I was freezing. At around 3am, several guys partied near my room with horribly loud music and I couldn't sleep anymore. The hostel has many stairs and no lift, which is bad if you arrive with a heavy suitcase. There's also a curfew after 8pm, so if you arrive late you need to call a private cell phone number which is only written on the front door, not online.

    The breakfast was really awesome, got self-made pancakes with Nutella! The location is great, very close to Sydney Central.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Maybe just that week, but It was very noisy in every night because it is beside the main street and there were a lot of traffic noise from motorbike, police car, race car and let me get sleep late and wake up very early. Wifi was only available in public area, not in the room. Beds were light and shaken easily.

    Very close to central station from exit 4. Staffs are very nice and you could leave the luggage on check-out day which is very helpful. Provide Breakfast on weekend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kettle in my room....

    Very nice receptionist; organized for my heavy suitcase to be carried up to my room. Kitchen a nice surprise!! a GREAT place to stay, close to Central Station...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness in the common areas was not too bad, but could certainly be improved, especially the toilets. I have an issue with how small the toilets were, but what was more disappointing is the lock was damaged, one time a guy opened the door while I'm still doing my business in the toilet. That was not pleasant at all. Cleanliness in the room is a big issue, although I guess this is more on the people that stay in the room. However, to help with this, I suggest the hostel to give all guests a rulebook, so there is a sense of rule enforcement.

    The location was convenient, close to Central station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not sleep the sheets were not changed with clean ons. Blanket dirty the bed was left how the person used the day before. Itching all night long bed bugs. Do ya pay 70 dollars for itchy bedbugs.Got bites to prove it. Very unhygienic.

    In a good location close to transport,shops and restaurants the only advantage was it had a private shower and bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin or Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the security of the key deposits. My friend made off with my money and the room wasn't in her name. But it was only $20 so i dismissed it.

    Loved the free pancakes in the morning!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin or Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower.... I know it's a budget place to stay but that shower was useless.

    Good price to sleep two for the night, easy access and flexible staff. Close to central station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin or Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cheap, no frills accommodation, so got what I paid for. Noisy street frontage and doors to adjoining rooms were very noisy. so a night of peaceful sleep impossible Tiny toilets. Shower good. Clean though.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough showers, lots of stairs, quite small kitchen but good enough.

    Close to train station (central) and the cbd, super friendly staff, good roomy lockers in dormitory rooms, okay beds and comfy pillows!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin or Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I brought my own soap and tea/coffee/sugar just in case..... just as well... there was none in my room.

    Very clean room, and close proximity to Central Station. Kind receptionist arranged for my very heavy suitcase to be carried up to my room - much appreciated!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin or Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    location sucks for the noise. My room is facing the train and it was non-stopping at the night. I usually have no problem sleeping but jetlag with the noise, it was not good. the front desk is only availiable from 8am-8pm, so it's not as convenient than some YHA. Squeaking bed

    location rocks for convenience, close to central station. solid low prices rocks too. really fits budget travel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is not really comfy and I would suggest to provide more thick blanket especially during the winter.

    The staffs are incredibly great as they are friendly and helpful. The location is really near to the public transportations and nearby shops.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed squeaks badly when we sit on or turn our body.

    The location is wonderful! I just walked to Chinatown to eat lots of testy food and walked to wharf to catch a boat to see whales

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty rooms. Building fallen into disrepair, feels like it needs a lot of attention to be livable again. Black mould in the rooms. Window felt like it might fall out of the frame when opening. Floor didnt feel very secure, very uneven and creaky. Wi-Fi worked well when you were in the common area, not in the room.

    Good location. Bathrooms clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanlineness and maintenance very poor. Damp room. Kitchen far too small for all the guests. Only one person could cook at once. Only 1 washing machine and dryer for both 'A' and 'B' sides, which was pretty frustrating. Wifi very slow. Seems they've crammed in as many rooms as possible without thinking about basic facilities for all guests!

    Location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi wasn't too good

    Easy to meet new people. Had a kitchen to make food, basic place to stay, but good :) SO close to Central line so very easy to get to places like Bondi Beach Restaurants nearby and 7-11 just down the road

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen is small. The bathroom are old and the water go from hot to cold in a second. We have to go out from one day to the next (we were there for 10 days) because the gave our room to another people.

    The location is good. It is a good hostel for the worker (there is no noise at night).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers were old and not nice sometimes dirty and the room was noisy bc of the street and train. I usually have a light sleep but slept pretty good through the noise so it wasn't too bad. The room was big enough and the sheets were clean. All in all okay for the price and location :) other guests were really quiet and the stuff helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room smells like mould, few bathrooms looking bad, no heating, wifi not working in the rooms No coffee with breakfast

    Good location, free pancakes on Saturday and Sunday mornings only

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This time my bed was uncomfortable to the point where I couldn't sleep because of the springs digging into my back. These are apparently being replaced, but don't know when. Rooms also get very cold during winter - no insulation or thick sheets.

    Great location by central station, fantastic staff, and fairly clean facilities. Have stayed here a few times and usually been great - however we below.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hostel gives the feeling of a house and thats so lovely, the problem is the space and they should find creative solutions about it. Like what? Hangers on the wall. Or maybe something else. I already told this to the manager. Expecting her to take of it.

    I like the free pizza weds and free internet , just some staff at the reception can be less helpful sometimes.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise if you close the roomdoor is incredibly loud, that sucks during the night. Kitchen is so small and in the fridges is just to less space. As well they were no tables to seat and eat your food, never saw that

    Staff was really friedly, showers and toilets are clean, modern and nice! Location just perfect.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin or Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was horrendously dirty, even for a hostel. I didn't expect luxury but I also didn't expect blood stains, cockroaches and yellow sweat stained pillows

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was filthy. Pink mouldy growth all around. The staff at the desk were helpful but there was a rude Irish girl making pancakes that would rather be anywhere else. The whole building was very run down and dirty. People had their belongings strewn outside their rooms. Didn't avail of the free pancakes in the morning as it was a bit of a strange set up, there was noplace to sit?

    The sheets were clean and there were extra blankets if required. There was also a fan in the room. The receptionist that was there after hours was super friendly. Water was hot in the shower the next morning.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi reception is poor, get air conditioning, no towels provided??? If there's pancakes in the morning from staff at an allocated time, make sure there's pancakes at that allocated time. There was a fan but it was stuck facing one direction and because it was a wall mounted fan there was no way to fix this. Also; stains of white over the carpet- could you care any less about making money off this??

    Female staff member at the counter was lovely, laid back and understanding of the activities the location had to offer.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin or Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dirty and can't access wifi in the room. I booked a twin room and they gave me a shoebox sized room with a bunk bed and it squeaks and shakes every time you move.

    Good location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds squeak all night and felt like they were bout to fall apart any movement throughout the night the bathrooms had mould in the showers and weren't very clean

    Location of the hotel and the price were both good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of the room was so disgusting that we forced ourselves to do anything but sit in the room. The bed squeked every move we made. The shared bathrooms were dirty. The sinks are small can barely brush you teeth. The free wifi didn't actually reach our room so we got bo free wifi.

    The communal kitchen

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    showers could have been cleaned more. some noise from trains nearby but that can't be helped.

    Such a social hostel for people travelling on their own (lounge room). staff are very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Home Backpackers traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: