Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hunter Valley Resort 4 stars

Hermitage Road, 2320 Pokolbin, Australia

#18 of 22 hotels in Pokolbin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 283 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Paid WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.1
    I loved the balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the balcony. Such a great place to sit and relax. Bed was comfortable. Reception was polite and friendly. Had everything in the one place.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.1
    Wouldn't rush back.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tired accommodation - in need of refurb. Continental breakfast - limited choice for price. No room service

    the waiter in the restaurant. Quiet location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.9
    The property was in a great location close to wineries,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hunter Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs updating. The restaurant was nice, the food good but we were only ever offered 1 drink the entire time we were there which is a little disappointing. we would have easily ordered half a dozen more.

    The property was in a great location close to wineries, hunter valley gardens etc. it was clean and comfortable but probably does need to be updated. Offered a few activities as part of your stay which is great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    6.7
    It was a surprise wedding so the venue was not our choice, the location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hunter Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet breakfast was not good, not enough choice, the cost of this should be deducted from an a la Carte breakfast as this was much better.

    Staff were friendly & helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    The room was a good spot to rest your head.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very basic and could do with an updated.

    The room was a good spot to rest your head. Segway tours and horse riding where near by! The restaurant and brewery was near by and lovely!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    Staff very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and furniture very dated. Door locked behind me when I went outside to the outdoor area (lucky it was during reception hours!). No teaspoon provided so couldn’t stir coffee in morning.

    Staff very good. Great location. Close to number of activities such as horse riding

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Lovely location, beautiful countryside escape
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hunter Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One recommendation is for the rooms country furniture along with the bathrooms & outside verandah area could do with a little revamping. Needs a little TLC.

    Absolutely lovely location, restaurant has nice food, staff very pleasant and the rooms and bed were very comfy. Ideal base for bike riding around the wineries.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.8
    Only one night. But over all very disappointed seeing that it was a resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hunter Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heater didn't work well. Unsafe with the bath tab when having a shower. Furniture was very out dated. Notice that the ice cube tray in the freezer hasn't been washed.. the area that you make the coffee is in the wrong spot and needs to larger.

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hunter Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really outdated room. Bathroom window blinds that backs off the corridor don’t work. Requires updating. For the price paid it was below par quality

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.7
    Short break away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking.com details did not get to the hotel and misrepresented the room. 2 adults and child confirmed, but hotel only received 2 adults. No 2nd bed for daughter in booking.

    Bed was comfortable and warm rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.1
    Clean and the staff member we dealt with was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hunter Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive for what you get. I understand the location is beautiful but definitely not worth the money.

    Clean and the staff member we dealt with was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.4
    Very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hunter Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rundown nature of the rooms in particular. The place really needs a renovation with the bathroom most in need of attention. The air conditioner, while it was efficient, was very noisy.

    The position with outstanding views was very good. The staff were most helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Was a lovely room with views. Wish we had more time to explore
    • Family with young children
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the silly process of charging my credit card "ahain" on arrival to verify me, but didn't ask to see my licence as verification of who I am. Very annoyed at this process!!!!!!!

    Bed was huge and so comfy. We slept with our 18 month old in the bed with room to spare!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    3.8
    Not plesant
    • Couple
    • Hunter Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at the reception-not competent. It took about 10 min to check in because they couldn’t find the booking. Shifty bed. You are unable to turn without disturbing the other bed occupant. Smelly room Lack of communication which resulted in double charge for breakfast. We were also charged for shop bevrage? Something we never bought or used in the room. Must have been some other room. We didn’t like this place at all. We will not recommend it to anyone.

    Location, breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    The accommodation was comfortable, clean and well equipped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was below par. Basic breakfast buffet options. Head somewhere else. The eating experience let the place down. I wouldn't eat there until they get an experienced chef. The barista made coffee was very good though.

    The accommodation was comfortable, clean and well equipped.The vine tour and wine tasting/making lesson was very informative, excellent! I would highly recommend that you go here but eat somewhere else.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    A good base for accommodation close to wineries and tours
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not overly impressed with the restaurant menu selection and unfortunately when we did order the quality of food didn’t match the price.

    The resort was central to all wineries, horse riding, Segway tours etc and the reception/restaurant staff were really friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    The staff Terry was very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Hunter Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi fi so bad, I paid, but didn’t work properly

    The staff Terry was very good! Gave me a great explanation about wines and grapes and in the end suggested and great places to see around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    Was ok for a one night stay. Staff were friendly and there is adequate parking. Brew house on sig
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hunter Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is dated and sparse. Lighting is very poor. Curtains are tattered and dirty. Security screen door does not lock. Flies and mosquitos in the room. Breakfast was basic with toast not toasted. Bed was uncomfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay and would come back. It was peaceful and close to nature.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hunter Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar service was uninspired in the evening. The bar lacked atmosphere and enthusiasm. The evening meal was adequate. The waiter was friendly but pizza was cool by the time it was served.

    Chris gave us a very warm welcome and excellent breakfast experience. Reception and grounds staff were also very friendly. The vine talk was informative and well presented. Horse riding was well organised. Peaceful setting. Beautiful area and ample wildlife.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    5.4
    We had a lovely time in the hunter region but would select a different resort next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hunter Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were shabby and dated, the pillows were worn thin. The rremote didnt work properly and generally the room standard was equal to a cheap motel. The walls were not well insulated and we could hear the people in the next room in normal conversation.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    Quiet, clean, value for rooms, pricey restaraunt and no machine made coffee before 7.30 :-(
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Hunter Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were advised that the breakfast started "around" 7.30am. Unfortunately there was no facility on the premises to get a nice fresh, hot latte or short black for the morning heart starter. As we needed to be on the road by no later than 7am, disappointing that we had to commute 25 minutes to get a decent made coffee. As for the night before, went to have a nice dinner in the restaurant. Wonderful, friendly staff, menu looked ok. We were recommended the lamb.....all three of us had the same. Flavour was amazing, cut of lamb was well below par for the $36.00 main and the portion size had us ordering more food to take back to the room. Nice atmosphere, but the $256.00 bill fro 3 people including 1 bottle of wine...............mmmm.....not what I call equal to the food....but hey, it is out in the boonies and we didn't send anything back. (Too hungry after a 3 hour drive to check in at 7pm) Next time I would bring some Moconna and some late night snacks with me. If the rooms were on special again I would most likely go there on the way to Singleton.

    Breakfast did not apply as we departed early.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not good and the breakfast service was awful, and the buffet just cold

    Good location and nice activity arrangement, free Vineyard and theater expericence, and the reception front desk service, Emily is very helpful and nice to us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    Good place for a weekend escape
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tennis court in a bad shape The rooms and toilets are a bit old. There were no curtains on the bath, so there was water everywhere after a shower

    Great location Friendly staff Great wine and beer options Excellent food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.9
    Good wine
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hunter Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chalets were old and run down (maybe to keep the outback character??) WiFi was very poor kept dipping in/out

    Good location for an overnight at Hunter Valley. Brilliant wine tasting. Good food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.8
    EXCELLENT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THE TV NEEDS TO BE UP HIGHER ON THE WALL TO ENABLE YOU TO WATCH IT FROM THE BED

    THE BED WAS COMFORTABLE THE ROOM WAS A GOOD SIZE THE VIEW WAS GOOD,THE STAFF IN THE BAR AND RESTAURANT WERE FANTASTIC BRAD ,MATT, DILLON SERVICE 10 OUT 10 THE FOOD AND DRINKS 10 OUT 10 WOULD RECOMMENED TO ANYONE

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.8
    Cabin great! Restaurant not so great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Spa Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was a bit subpar. The pasta was very oily and the ginger beer tasted slightly flat. For breakfast my partner ordered the eggs benedict and it was brought out without salmon. The coffee at the restaurant is also very weak and just tastes like milk, which is sad for an avid coffee drinker.

    The cabin was great with the inclusion of a spa bath and Nespresso machine

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.2
    Peaceful, fun and comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ok! so our 2 bdrm cottage was a little bit tatty and worn for the price Although very comfortable with a lovely outlook I could have been staying in a caravan park. Fridge shelving was broken, bath a little crusty and old. Light furnishings were tattered and worn. did not look like the photographs on this sight. Which was probably why there was not very many of them. A little overpriced . I am thinking reception could be a little more informed and helpful on car hire, drivers and private tours!

    Breakfast and dinner menu was a treat with excellent service and delicious food. The view and seclusion from our 2 bdrm cottage was peaceful and very pretty. I loved the privacy and comfort from a mid week stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    Altogether we enjoyed our stay very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hunter Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some really burnt bread in the breakfast roll. Coffee wasn't hot and the free table water tasted terrible and they ran out of still water from the bottle. The pool could have opened an hour earlier ...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    6.7
    Price over the internet with the discoun is fair, but I would not pay the full price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Hunter Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As usual picture on the internet did not match the reality. Hunter rooms do not have view over the vineyards. Our bathroom would need some TLC, there were cracks in the bath tub and washing basin.

    Our beds and pillows were comfy, it was a chilly night and blankets were also in the room. It is in a quiet location and convenient to do things very close by, ie. walking distance.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.9
    Great place to stay with family while enjoying the sights the hunter valley has to offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shade over the pool.

    The pool was a great asset on the 40+ degree day. All the rooms booked were together as requested. Beautiful views. The ability to borrow dvds for the room was invaluable with kids.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.8
    Stunning backdrop to a lovely resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hunter Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wine tasting & shop was very busy than expected

    Tranquil location, wine tasting included, large rooms with veranda. Try the Segway tour of the vineyard - great fun!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.1
    Nevertheless, we had a great time with our friends on New Year's Eve!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hunter Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room and the restaurant are looking a little tired in decor. In the room, the mini refrigerator easily pulls out of position and the "galley" was inconveniently small. The hand wash basin in the bathroom was delaminated. It was definitely not worth the room price. The quality of the food for the money did not meet our expectations.

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating since our friends decided to stay with us after we arrived. Location was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.9
    New Years & birthday stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hunter Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was a little haphazard with not much room to get past larger cars. Also there was a van constantly parked outside of reception making it a little difficult to check in & out. Also having a beer to taste & then not selling it was not a great experience.

    It was located within an easy drive of the Gardens. It was also an easy drive to the highway to go home.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable and easy to locate
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walkway to the rooms should have a hand rail. Someone is sure to slip and fall.

    Good bar facilities. Good location and easy to find.. wifi worked near reception. Rooms are old.. queen bed wa two single beds placed together. Breakfast expensive for this place but okay

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.5
    Overall a beautiful venue for a wedding
    • Couple
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need a little brightening up. The decor is a little dated !! but overall it was a beautiful venue for my sons wedding !

    Beautiful rustic location. very peaceful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    8.3
    We stayed there to go to a wedding in another location in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hunter Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed there to go to a wedding in another location in Hunter valley because it was pretty good price for the area. Accomodation facility is slightly old but it was clean and comfortable. Cafe with beer and cheese tasting was a pleasant surprise. Lovely staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.5
    The bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hunter Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is in need of renovations. Bathroom is very old & damaged. Furniture is very old & needs replacing. The walls between the rooms need sound proofing. You can hear general conversation & other sounds from the next room.

    The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.1
    Good value for money accommodation right in the heart of the Hunter Valley.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hunter Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms definitely in need of an upgrade.

    Good value for money. Although the room was showing its age & years of use it was clean & comfortable. Staff were friendly & efficient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    6.3
    It was just ok. The word 'Resort' should be removed as it's not
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.Water pressure 2.the shower glass didn't cover the whole bathtub water goes everywhere, 3.no handwash, 4.not enough parking near rooms parking on a 45 degree angle made it difficult as other cars didn't do it and maybe have lines painted and at least 1 car per room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful, quiet and away from noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is so serene and out of all the traffic area. It is a beautiful place to stay and has so much to offer onsite. Would highly recommend this property to stay at. The staff in every area are very friendly and approachable. Nothing is ever too much for them.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    A very pleasant afternoon and overnight stay. Staff were friendly and efficient, recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi wasn't included which was surprising. Have my own data but if the principle really.

    Relaxing place to stay. Very peaceful. A couple of beers in the brewery in the afternoon and a pleasant meal of an evening at the resort restaurant. It suited us very nicely

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Relaxing happy will return,good value and very clean.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we could only stay one night ,however will be back for a longer stay.😀

    The friendliness overall with staff especially wait staff in Restaurant and bar . Whish I knew The young mans name that was our waiter on Fri night,exceptional service ,cheerful and happy. Young female waitress,who was learning was absolutely delightful,both came back on at 11am in the morning. Reception was also very helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.3
    good value for a quick trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom was a little dated and shower a bit temperamental with the temperature adjustments

    very spacious room, good value for money for a peak ish time in the hunter valley - nice and close to lots of wineries excellent air con - bet a little soft but still comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    The resort was lovely, the service and food was excellent, the room very big comfortable and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a first time to Hunter Valley The resort was lovely the service and food was excellent the room very big comfortable and clean, enjoyed the stay we like to go back next year for a longer stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    6.3
    Nice quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We borrowed dvds from their outdated dvd options.. very pricy at $4 a dvd n one wasnt even in cover... Also got charged in my visa to pay account , they offer an ATM but its accross the road in another location.. found that a bit rude..

    Nice quiet location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.6
    meals were good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the toilet.

    meals were good. we found the bathroom was old, toilet did not flush too well. over all we enjoyed our stay. p.s. batteries in both remotes (a.c & t.v ) were flat

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.6
    We saw kangaroos outside our room in the morning which was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pizza take away from the restaurant was disappointing as it was small and little toppings

    We saw kangaroos outside our room in the morning which was a great sight!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    8.3
    Overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked this accommodation as it was close to the function we were attending. The staff were friendly and informative. The king room was quite spacious. The outlook to the vineyard was picturesque.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    6.7
    Ok - nice and clean but basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hunter Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting there late and not really being able to stay a bit longer and see how the resort operated as a whole

    We didn't get there until late - room was very clean - but the decore is a bit dated. The bathroom is definitely old and needs a renovation. It was nice and tidy and comfortable. It's not that I didn't like it or found it horrible, but I probably would not however rush back to stay if there was another option. It's basic and that's ok but just needs a few more updates to help it's overall experience

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    6.3
    Nice location, generally great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Cottage
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was one day time receptionist who was not at all interested in assisting us with telling us about services offered on the property eg horseriding and when we asked about things to do in the area she just gave us a map and said there you go. Didn't show us where we were on the map or tell us what was nearby. It was a good thing Dave in the cellar was there to pick up her slack. We checked out the night before as we were leaving early the next morning. Was not happy to receive a phone call advising staff had tried to call my room and required payment for another night. The throw cushions on the bed were stained, clearly hadn't been cleaned in some time. The mattress was far too soft and very uncomfortable.

    Location on a hill had great views. Cellar staff were great. Very friendly and knowledgeable. Dave took the time to not only educate us on wines but also things to see and do in the area. Restaurant staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    3.8
    Not sure why this is called a resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Highly overpriced accomodation for what was offered. Very average run down accomodation. Could here noise from both adjoining rooms. Not likely to stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    5.4
    Disappointed in Hunter Valley Resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maintenance of the property would be helpful, and the bed wasn't comfortable.

    The room looked NOTHING like the photo on line, the furniture in our room was quite outdated and unkempt, the vanity door in the bathroom didn't close, so one was in danger of tripping over the door, and the beds weren't to the standard one would expect, paying $ 300.00 per night. We were disappointed in Hunter Valley Resort and I would not recommend it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound proofing poor. Could hear snoring from next room. Cellar door experience very disappointing. Had to wait till 3 coach loads of tourists had left. Then no conversation or explanations at all as they were busy clearing up. Not able to access wifi in room, though this was advertised. Charged a fee for use of credit card

    Attractive surroundings. Meals in restaurant good and restaurant staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.2
    Great spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was two singles pushed together with one spread, not very comfortable if you end up in the middle.

    Great location, friendly staff good food and nice views.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    7.1
    A pleasantly quiet and relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Hunter Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The address on booking.com is quite vague. Hermitage Street is very long and after a long journey I didn't appreciate having to search for the location.

    The view from the room was very pleasant, out over the countryside. The pool, though not huge, was very convenient and refreshing.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    10
    Excellent value for money great customer service and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not long enough stay.

    The cabin was very clean and had everything you needed. Rooms were great size and the bed was so comfortable. Meals were excellent. Would recommend it to friends and family. Value for money.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    9.2
    Thanks for a great first trip to the hunter, see you soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only little things, seen free WiFi but was only in the libary and that the toilet roll was on the towel railing not the toilet roll holder.

    Bed was sooo comphy, they turn the air con on before you check in so the room was nice and cool for when you arrive which was great as it was 46 degrees when we arrived.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    9.2
    Nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hunter Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The viineyard tour only showed a little of vines and no cellar however the presentation was interesting just more walking time would make it better.

    Proximity and view of The vines is good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    6.3
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We checked in on Tuesday night and checked out on Thursday morning. During our stay, housekeeping did not make our bed nor change our soiled towels. Disappointed.

    Scenery was pleasant. Close proximity to various wineries and the HV Gardens. Matilda Bay Brewhouse was good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    9.6
    Enjoyed the pool, location is excellent, very close to all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of spider webs on the balcony, a few cockroaches inside the room.

    Enjoyed the pool, location is excellent, very close to all the wineries and pubs hunter valley has to offer. Very nice to have the matilda bay brewery on site. Great value for money. Perfect views of the country side.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    7.5
    Rural and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hunter Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi only in the library, a separate building and very slow loading.

    The room was clean and comfortable. Tea making facilities in room . There was a flock of parrots in the trees outside our room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    7.1
    good location but needs work
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hunter Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    initial checkin with front desk not good. not happy to see us. as if we got such a good deal didnt deserve to stay. also big gap under front door. big cock roach and big spider too.swamp by dining room disgusting.

    pub...location...some of the staff were great

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    7.5
    the room was great and clean and what I would expect for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Hunter Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to pay for a coffee on top of the $15 breakfast price. Also think surcharges on credit cards are pointless and offensive, if your profit margins are so tight that you need to charge this you need to review your price structures!

    the room was great and clean and what I would expect for what I paid. Service and food was all great.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    7.5
    An enjoyable stay for excellent price,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View of a road. In vineyard room with views to vineyard was description. Dirt road!! Extra towel or 2 needed in room. Dessert bar was described and pictured like it was a little shop, with many offerings. It was found to b a shelf at the drinks bar.

    Comfy bed and clean room. Good things to do Friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls were a little thin, I could hear the people next door snoring and coughing and no doubt they could hear our tv.

    The view from our double glass sliders was beautiful. Grape vines and mountains in the distance. The location with the restaurant// winery/ brewery adjacent was beaut. We could eat dinner and walk home.Good staff. extra comfortable king bed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    7.5
    Comfortable overnight stay in the Hunter Valley
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are all joined , more like motel style and you could hear people talking / snoring in the next room !

    Nice quiet picturesque location . Friendly staff , comfortable bed with good sized rooms .breakfast basic but nice .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    3.3
    Nice grounds but villas need some attention
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had the two bedroom villa - was very excited to try something different as my cousin was visiting from San Fransisco. Was 5 of us; two friends, my husband and I and my cousin. The pics in the website were not very aligned to the actual villa. Upon entry, the villa seemed as if it was unoccupied for months - lacking freshness. Cobwebs and bugs in windows, chairs at dining table had crumbs all over them. The door handle was broken in one of the rooms. Needed basic things in kitchen - bread knife; cutting board etc. we had a wine and cheese night in; but it was difficult without the basics. Overal, the concept is good and waking up with the stunning grounds & vineyards is breath taking but they need to upscale the place as they are charging market rate for a room which is ok. Beds were comfy; bathrooms clean but dated.

    Beautiful nature and picture perfect surroundings.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    5.0
    A bit too noise for a country get away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitos in the room, Tv remote wasn't working on arrival and on Our first morning there were lots of noise of a tractor working just behind our room (before 9am) plus people working and guest noisily setting up for a wedding that just happened around 3pm. We were not warned of all these noise in a apparently serene country accomodation. We left the noise in Sydney hopping to have some tranquil and relaxing get away.

    The premises were good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    7.1
    Surcharge frustration 😖
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hunter Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Once again you are forced to pay a surcharge for using a debit card. Really!!!!!!!! We are basically a cashless society and we are continually being charged for it. There was no surcharge when I booked and paid online, why is there one when I check out???? Myself and many others are well and truly over this underhanded way of taking money for nothing. Individually it is a small amount, but add them all together!!!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Love it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Spa Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and very well trained

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.1
    Easy to find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hunter Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much use if you don’t like wine

    Easy to find

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.5
    Short stop over, quite location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs an update

    Nice property, spacious room, quite location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    lovely place to stay, will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hunter Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower curtain

    Great bed, quite, no noise around

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.1
    No Foxtel and very poor internet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hunter Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Foxtel and very poor internet

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.5
    Staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Hunter Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough time, should have stayed longer.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: