Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Melbourne - Little Bourke Street 3 stars

600 Little Bourke Street, 3000 Melbourne, Australia

#84 of 168 hotels in Melbourne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1426 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    7.5
    Good for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The showers were awful. No water pressure and temperature fluctuated constantly.

    The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were clean. Also a great central location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    9.6
    Back again in three weeks.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The corridors on the accommodation floors are starting to look tired. A coat of paint would make the world of difference.

    I have stayed at this hotel on a number occasions when visiting Melbourne. Never disappointed.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    9.2
    Would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower even though it had a big head only a little bit of water came out of the middle. And weirdly no hand towel just a flannel.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. Great location with easy walk to skybus terminal. Room clean and tidy and I like the seats with table so you could sit and have a coffee

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    10
    Friendly staff, and well priced accommodation, at a location close to major facilities.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location just a short distance from Spencer Street station, Woolworths Metro and Spencer Outlet Centre. Friendly staff, free wi-fi, clean premises with easy access to on-site luggage storage facilities.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    The hotel was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was great. Nothing to complain about.

    Hotel in easy walking distant of public transport, shopping and dining. The hotel was clean and tidy. Couldn't hear the street noise.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.2
    The property was very clean and comfortable - the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is a little dated

    The property was very clean and comfortable - the staff were very friendly and helpful. It was in a very convenient location close to bus station and trams Plenty of places to eat within a few minutes walk And breakfast was lovely We would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    It was the best experience, can't wait to visit again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Nothing it was great!

    We were very happy with the Ibis on Little Bourke Street, Super clean, super friendly staff and helpful, very good breakfast with a nice variety, great location, with definitely stay there again, just loved it...!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.5
    Close to central train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 18 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few small problems with shower facilities - was moved to another room due to faulty shower door and water pressure was quite bad in new room but wasn’t keen to move again. Older style tvs.

    Close to central train station. Felt safe and easy to find. Friendly staff and clean and tidy rooms. Quiet hotel and well priced for the location. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.2
    Great easy transportation close by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Could have used a microwave.

    Very convenient location. One half block to the Southern Cross train station and the express bus to/from the Melbourne airport. Very easy walk to both. Room (#906) was bright and very quiet. Central to major tram and trolley lines.making it very easy to get around greater Melbourne.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    I am very happy about staying at Ibis at little burke street, and will book again at next visit.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    If have 1 or 2 parking space available that would be better.

    Location is very good, close to the transportation to AIRPORT and also local tram and train station. Facility -coin laundry and wifi internet were very good. Staff at reception very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.5
    Good value as a base to explore Melbourne CBD
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room quite small and had very dim lighting making it difficult to read - window view of a building wall next door.

    Central location and close to Skybus terminal, good value

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.2
    Clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean room Location was good and can go everywhere with tram and just behind the hotel is southern cross station and spencer outlet The staff was very helpful 👍

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.8
    it was worth the money as i didn't expect much out of the charge i paid to the hotel.
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    my pillows were too flat though. they did provide double pillows but both were not fluffy so they were both quite unsatisfying. i checked in in a group but there were a couple of rooms which were smaller than the others. it will be quite hard to move around if you get the smaller rooms.

    staff were extremely friendly and helpful even though my group were quite demanding. cleaning service was great and always refilled toilet paper and other toiletries. my bedroom was quite okay as it was at the end of the alley. choose rooms at the end of the alley as they are more spacious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    5.8
    I can feel the movement of next room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel need mention to customers what’s they supply and what they’re not supply to guests. So customer can prepare before to travel. I think that’s most important things for the hotel. Otherwise the service are good.

    I can feel the movement of next room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.1
    Great room and locations but would of liked to be notified of the room availability.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately we arrived early and did not get the room then. We had to pay for our bags to be held in a machine as the free storage area did not appear safe. We were also told we would be phoned when our room was available and did not receive this call.

    We have stayed at this Ibus Hotel a number of times and appeared clean and tidy. We like the location a lot.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.8
    You know what to expect with Ibis
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Overall there're little to no wow factor, the room was small and sort of dark, out the floor to ceiling window the view was the solid wall of the opposite building. Breakfast was a little pricey if you didn't plan on going all out on the 'all you can eat' aspect

    staff were lovely, incredibly friendly and very accommodating. Location was great, short walk to a lot of fun places, or to local transport if that's your preference. Really easy for a taxi or Uber to find and park up outside, even ordered UberEats to the hotel without issue. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.8
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and the photos didn't really show that. It was quite a surprise when we arrived.

    Good location. The staff were amazing. Nothing was a problem and they were very helpful. Always smiling and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints, was pretty pleased with my stay.

    Excellent location, close to the station and not too noisy. Staff are obviously very well trained and are extremely friendly. I would stay here again. Don’t doubt.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    Convenient location and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    While the location is convenient, there was no view to speak of if that is important to you. It didn't bother me though. WiFi access was free but it was a nuisance having to get a new access code when my data ran out.

    Convenient location. Close to Spencer Street and Southern Cross Station. Staff were friendly and helpful when I needed them. Good to have a guest laundry if needed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.9
    Great staff and location, dated rooms but a perfect base to explore Melbourne
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are pretty dated and small but as a crash pad to explore Melbourne, it's perfect

    The staff were EXTREMELY helpful and friendly. And the location is excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location, good room will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room service menu could be better. It's not hard. Buffet breakfast is always better for men than women cost wise.

    The room was good and the bed was great. The hotel is one block away from SkyBus, bus from airport, which is a great location. Basic room service but that's ok because when I arrived there was a gale force wind down the street and I didn't want to go out again. Buffet breakfast $25 which was expensive but the breakfast was very good. Will stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.1
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some other staff's attitude. The TV.

    A staff named Cherie was extremely professional in the way she handled a complaint regarding the wifi functionality.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    good choice, great staff, quiet adn comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    excellent staff service and attitude, couldn't have been more helpful Location close to Spencer St Station is good although a little bit away from main shopping and Chinatown.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    very convenient, pretty quiet, friendly, value for money, close to all transport, easy taxi pick up
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The tv was very small and some stations were fuzzy to watch, but we just watched it at night.

    Cosy and warm, clean bed and towels, staff friendly. Great areas to store luggage etc, such a convenient location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.9
    The location of the hotel is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed by the reception received when checking in. My husband and I didn't arrive until after 9.30 pm. We had paid in advance for the room, but were told we needed to pay a $50 deposit. This is no problem, but we were told that if we put it on our card it would take 2 months for the return to come through as it is a card with a bank from outside Australia. We weren't too impressed by this so we were going to pay cash. We asked if we could pay this after we had been out to get dinner, but the staff member said only it we came back before 11pm. This didn't give us much time to eat, so we said we would get cash out. My husband then offered to go to a nearby atm. The staff member then made me wait in the lobby and said "I cant give you the keys until you pay the deposit", so I'm left in the lobby with the luggage after a late arrival with my husband out finding an atm machine all so the hotel could have a $50 deposit. I just really thought this was pretty inflexible and fairly poor customer service considering it was late night, we were hungry, we had paid in advance for the room and it is such a small amount of money.

    The location of the hotel is excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Good location, good connections
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Look from the window (into other bulidings). Two options for luggage storage (pay, no pay-no responsibility)

    Convinient to reach from Southern Cross station. In the free tram zone, plenty of dining / shopping oppourunities nearby

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Overall ok experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    If only they could fix the temperature of the water of the shower as the hot water kept changing into cold water at random intervals vice versa, which I have made a note with the hotel. The gym facilities were very poor and very outdated.

    The hotel is at a great location, next to the Southern Cross Station, so it's easy to travel to and worry-free when wanting to take the skybus back to the airport. The rooms itself were very neat and tidy and spacious which I liked.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    The Hotel is just 2 minutes walking from Southern Cross...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was small and short

    The Hotel is just 2 minutes walking from Southern Cross station and it is very close to the Skybus to the airport. In the same street you can find many restaurants and pubs. The room was small and essential, but clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    Good but the luggage problem put a taint on the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charge to leave your luggage in a store room after checking out. Only wanted to leave it for an hour but it would have cost $16 to do that.

    Good location, clean comfortable rooms and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    5.4
    A great location but the Melbourne Ibis building is oviously much Older than the Adelaide Ibis hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lighting was extremely poor. one could barely read a newspaper in the room even during the day. because the window on the (western side ) opened out on to a very run down building that reflected very little light. The 2 bed lights flicker annoyingly when turned up to full voltage . The tea making facilities were hidden away in the wardrobe. The TV was had an bad scratch at the bottom of the screen.

    The range of the in - house breakfast was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    always get value for money
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I cannot see how you can improve it but trying to get into and out of the shower,we are pretty fit being 76 but it would be impossible for unfit people even in their twenties

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    The locker and luggage facilities are handy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no bright light in the room. And the key cards failed to work on the second day and had to be reset.

    The locker and luggage facilities are handy. Staff were friendly and the room was clean, quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    Location good but you get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were small bathroom needs more shelves or something to make up for it’s size T V is not in type best spot

    The location is good but property needs a bit of a revamp

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Lovely people on front desk. Always a welcoming word as I came and went.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing, really. I was exploring Melbourne and surrounds and central location was ideal.

    Proximity to Southern Cross Railway station. Clean, comfortable room. Couldn't fault it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Great location, affordable, staff were very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn’t like about the room

    Great location, affordable, staff were very helpful and polite, walking distance to so many attractions, and shopping just down the road

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is good value for money and is conveniently...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The TV is very small

    The hotel is good value for money and is conveniently located close to Southern Cross Station. The staff were very pleasant and helpful as we needed to store two bicycles. We would be happy to stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    A fantastic week in Melbourne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of decent lighting in the room and minimal natural light. Pillows not very comfortable.

    Convenience to public transport. Southern Cross station close by and Edihad stadium.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    The proximity to Southern Cross Railway Station makes the location of this hotel ideal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room service menu needs more options but overall the quality of the room service meal was good.

    I requested a quiet room away from the lift lobby and I was delighted to be given a room at the end of the corridor so I wasn't disturbed by noise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.8
    The staff was helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Luggage storage services were not provided on check out and extra cost was incurred on locker rental. Breakfast was costly for the limited variety of food offered.

    The staff was helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Excellent stop for people in transit needing a bed near Southern Cross Station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Short transit stop... in at 2000 ex Tullamarine via Skybus to Southern Cross...out at 0500 next morning to Southern Cross.... about a 5 minute walk Comfy bed.....

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    3.8
    Very
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast , the gym , no ammunities, the room is too small , it is very old hotel with outdated fixtures, forget the fake photos on booking.com.

    The cleaners of the room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location, friendly staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A microwave in my room would’ve been great, when you stay longer than a week it’s nice to not have to eat out every night.

    The bed was super comfy, the staff were very accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.4
    Large comfortable bed and spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The blinds need to stay shut as the view is opposite a car park, which makes the room very dark and the lighting is bad. Location is a long walk from city centre. The bath is a death trap and in desperate need of renovations.

    The bed was large and comfortable and the room was spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    This is not a glamorous hotel, but we stayed in a very clean...
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is not a glamorous hotel, but we stayed in a very clean and quiet room, with a comfy bed and perfect pillows. The location gave us easy access to the airport bus link, and the staff were lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    For comfort ,convieniance and value for money .I would recomend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A walk in shower would have been preferable to a shower over bath.

    The location was great,the room was clean and comfortable and the staff were extremely helpfull.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    On edge of CBD and area a little seedy. We had no problems

    Two reception staff. names unknown, were very helpful trying to sort out a Cathay Pacific flight.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only the concrete wall next door

    Beds were excellent, unfortunatly the view of the concrete wall next door was not good however the blinds were a good touch to disguise

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    Great value, comfy bed & pillows, close to Southern Cross train station
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should be asked at check in if we wanted a free newspaper. Should be delivered to room, not have to collect from reception & make a donation. When I returned to hotel from my walk at 8am on Sunday morning there were no papers left. Got the last paper at 715am on Monday morning.

    Bed & pillows were very comfortable, some of the best I’ve slept on.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    I did not partake in the food.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As I am in my seventies the ONLY downside was the shower over the bath, having said that the shower itself was the absolute best.Peaceful and enjoyable

    I did not partake in the food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    Location in CBD near Southern cross.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing critical. Shower mixer probably has to be fixed as no proper balance hot and cold water. Breakfast is not worth money paid.

    Location in CBD near Southern cross. Very nice helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    Location perfect - really near Southern Cross station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window in our room was roof to floor and looked across to a multi-storey carpark and a Main Street. Generally wouldn’t have been a problem if there had been a net curtain or similar, but it was roller blinds, so they stayed closed for the duration of our stay

    Location perfect - really near Southern Cross station. Staff couldn’t have been more helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.7
    I wouldn't stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was awful and quite expensive. We ordered a jaffle with cheese and tomato must have waved the cheese and tomato over the bread because it was basically toast and it was expensive!! We were questioned upon arrival as to why my granddaughters and my surname were different after being asked for ID for a room paid and booked in my name

    Proximity to trams and shopping

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Perfect go-to hotel for central location and very clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. When the heating failed, they fixed that up right away and while they were getting it fixed (only took them a couple of hours to get someone to fix it) I was given a nice portable heater which was fantastic. So really nothing negative at all.

    The bed is so comfortable! The sheets and pillows are very clean, everything is perfectly clean. The staff are wonderful especially the young guy who helped me sort out the issue with the heating and made sure I was comfortable. This is my second time visiting the hotel and he has always made sure I am ok. The staff are really lovely and friendly. They have great breakfast menu. I had a lovely view of the city this time, from the top floor (9th floor). The shower is lovely and big, and bathroom was very clean. The wifi is excellent too. This is the best hotel in Melbourne, comfortable, affordable and very very close to the Southern Cross Station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    Convenient CBD Location with Transport Links
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are pretty close together and you can hear the neighbors if they are loud. I had a room on the back side with little to no natural light. Not a problem given I only slept in the room and was not there much at other times.

    Great location walking distance from Southern Cross Station. Traveling for work so convenient location in the CBD. Friendly staff. Quick and easy check-in. Fridge in room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    would recommend as good value for money and good location for easy access around Melbourne CBD
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was an odd smell/odour on our floor when you came out of the elevator, and there were some issues with one of our key cards not always working.

    Location meant easy access to lots of attractions and transport, staff were friendly, facilities within room worked will, good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Last minute book, cheapest we could find, in the centre of Melbourne CBD, and leaving with a smile !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have nothing bad to say , we didn't really have a veiw at all only of a neighbours window but for the price I wouldn't expect anything more of , and the blinds provided enough privacy for the night

    I accidently booked a week later than the date we were in Melbourne and the front desk staff were able to change it to the right date free of charge and they put myself and my partner at ease ,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.9
    Good for short-term stays, but not relaxation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    While the staff and room quality were great, the room was quite cramped and didn't leave much room for any relaxation. It's only designed as a simple place to sleep, so would suit short-term stays and business travel. While you can store bags if you check out early, there is a charge involved for secure storage, which seems excessive. Even though it was a busy weekend for the city, the price did not justify the room size or comfort of the hotel, in my opinion.

    Great location, simple check-in process, friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent, nothing really to improve upon although we never used the resteraunt or had breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Maybe the fact the electronic keys had to be updated very regularly as they kept failing, but the staff recoded them straight away so it was only a minor inconvenience.

    Location was perfect, close to everything. Rooms were comfortable and adequate, clean and well maintained. Any problems were fixed immediately.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.6
    Well worth the price we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a little on the small side but for the time you spend in your room it was okay. The prices are reasonable if you book well in advanced. As it was Grand Prix weekend the prices went through the roof?

    The bed was really comfortable. The price we paid was really reasonable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.5
    Good for short stays in the middle of CBD
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds could be softer and air on could be stronger as u can't open windows.

    Overall stay is good for short stays. Great location, right near Spencer st station and a short walk to the markets, bourke st shopping and casino. Mini golf right next door which was fun

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    This hotel served its purpose for me ie it was near Southern Cross station, was clean, comfortable a
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is what is expected for the price

    The hotel is very close to South Cross station for Skybuscor other transport. The staff are very helpful and competent. My room was what I expected for the price. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous clean comfortable affordable & perfect location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have had body wash jn a tube. I had to go out buy body wash. No kettle for a cup of tea.

    The staff were friendly and very helpful taking my suitcase up to my room with me when I checked in. The bed was lovely and comfortable. Air conditioner heating was very good. The room was very nice clean and very clean sheets. The location was superb! Perfect and close to southern cross station and everything close by restaurants supermarket etc. Loved this place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    Good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location! Walk from Southern Cross Station about 5mins. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The free 7GB wifi was the very fast connection!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.5
    Basic but good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv reception was atrocious on all channels.

    Basic but comfortable. We didn’t need bells and whistles so it was just right. Comfy beds, good shower. Small room for twin beds but ok.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.8
    OK if your not worried about the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checkin was slow and her English not the best. Room allocated was small and smelt damp with noisy air conditioning.

    Good central location. Breakfast was OK

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    Well placed hotel for a tourist. Easy access to Southern Cross railway station and the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting could have been better. Better luggage storage information would have been helpful. It was by chance we were told to leave cases in a metal cage rather than use the expensive lockers.

    Breakfast was comprehensive, situation of the hotel was ideal and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.5
    Given the location and price, this is definitely the best I’ve found in Melbourne
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One good thing they do is, when you check in, they ask you if you would like your room serviced between 9 and 12, or 12 and 3. They then stick to this, which means you don’t get people knocking on your door when you’re having a lie in, and you don’t get back at 10 pm to unmade beds and dirty towels. I wish more places would do this.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.3
    comfortable and location close to public transport -but would not recommend or return
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room v small but that was expected for the price - no view staring straight into brick wall -room was very dark and dingy even when sunny outside although you could never tell - lighting was terrible so bad you couldn't even read. Shower so low would be impossible to be used by a tall person

    room v clean and comfortable had fridge and complimentary tea coffee milk etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.3
    adequate for my purposes
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to do with the hotel management ,but intending travellers need to know that the hotel is in a concrete canyon with no views and little direct 'light'.

    For an international traveller the fact that the Hotel is less than 5 minutes walk (with luggage) from the air/bus terminal at Southern Cross railway station is the 'selling feature'.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    3.3
    Cringe worthy experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is in desperate need of an upgrade. It should be down graded to a motel status. There is a musty old carpet smell across the whole place. The lighting in the room flickers. The lighting is visibly poor. The bedding is uncomfortable, the soap feels cheap & the cupboards are old, not built in but standalone and feels like 1980's style. Just an absolute cringe worthy experience, I checked-out 1-day early & as I couldn't stomach another day there without damaging my health & well being. Do not go to this hotel if you are looking for a decent stay, especially on a business trip.

    They staff were pleasant & I know the cleaning staff try hard to keep the place clean but it is an old hotel & is in desperate need of an upgrade because it shouldn't t hold a hotel grade in its current situation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Good, excellent location in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good. Liked everything.

    The bed was comfortable nice and clean all round. The bathroom was set up nicely. For 2 adults it was small and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.3
    OK for an overnight visit for a specific reason.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The breakfast was disappointing to say the least. Although advertised as available to 10.30 on a Sunday, a number of the items had already run out by around 9.45 such as the pastries and fruit juices; these were not renewed even though there were still plenty of guests having their breakfast. Quality of some of the breakfast items was also poor; given the cost (advertised as $25) and description (a 'buffet'); a breakfast like this in the Melbourne CBD is really not acceptable. - The air conditioning cannot be set below 19 degrees; this is a little warm for my taste for sleeping and it might be for other people as well. - The bathroom contains a potential hazard as the shower has been erected within an existing bath; it requires a quite high step to get into shower and you have to be careful not to graze yourself on the lip where the metal strip for the shower screen has been installed. I imagine this is why they have had to install a grip next to the bath (and no it was not an 'accessible' room).

    The bed and pillows were quite comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noise throughout 2 weekend nights, basses from music from nightclub next door (several nightclubs are very close by) woke me up and kept me then awake. The aircon system is old and it felt like being in a plane when switched on.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.6
    Could have been perfect without that loud banging b
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The loud banging noise made by the pipes. First night it woke us up 4 times. It was really loud and before we figured out it was pipes it was rather scary.

    Clean and comfortable. Perfect location if you you need to be in the city and close to transport

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.9
    No problems.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is well stated but if disappoints me big hotel chains can’t offer free wifi. Tv is a bit old and crackly at times.

    It’s what it says on the box. Easy to find. Tea/coffee available in the room. Hot water for shower. Small bath.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: