Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Australia hotel reviews
  3. New South Wales hotel reviews
  4. Forster hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Island Palms Motor Inn

Reviews of Island Palms Motor Inn This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

115 The Lakes Way, 2428 Forster, Australia

#22 of 32 hotels in Forster

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 651 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2019

    5.4
    as above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was old, uncomfortable and sagging to the edge which led to a bad nights sleep. The pillows were hard and uncomfortable. An alarm went off at around 0140hrs and made it nervous to sleep.

    Not Much.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    9.6
    Location extremely convenient, with Stocklands across the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nope, all good

    Location extremely convenient, with Stocklands across the road, so for late arrivals you can pop over to woolies for all your needs. Also very simple check in process.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    5.8
    It had ample off street parking
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I am fairly certain the spa bath is leaking, as there is a really terrible odour in the room. There is some wood rot or termite damage near the entrance to the tub which has been painted over. It is incredibly unsafe to sleep in areas containing mould or rot. Both my daughter and wife were awake through the night, and were unable to sleep until I opened the doors and window to allow ventilation. This is turn was unsafe as unit 32 is at the front, there was a circus set up 10 metres away, and a busy round-a-bout about 15 metres away. The rear screen door had been torn and the front door look like it had had had an attempt at a break in. The purpose of our stay was to rest, then continue the second leg of our trip home. Not much rest was had, and we left at 6:30am.

    It had ample off street parking

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    7.1
    Just stayed 2 nights, the pool looked inviting but had no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are dated and could do with a makeover. There was no DVD available but there was a couple of channels from Foxtel to view. A bit on the high price for what you get. ( I guess because of the school holidays.)

    Just stayed 2 nights, the pool looked inviting but had no time to use it. Location was very good just across the road the shopping centre.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room and furniture were dated and run down and felt very drab and dreary . The room smelt musty and whilst the toilet was clean it had a bad smell about it . The shower head was broken as was the toilet roll holder . The air vent was full of dust and extremely noisy . The back screen and sliding door were on their last legs and difficult to open and close . The bed near the front room had no air conditioner or fan and made it very difficult to sleep hence we had to buy a fan to circulate the air . We did not feel it was value for money , and whilst we don’t like to give negative feedback on this occasion we felt it was warranted . The property needs an injection of money and serious upgrade/renovation . Sorry but based on current conditions we wouldn’t ever come back .

    It was close to the shopping centre

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    7.9
    The location was really easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No toaster or microwave automatically in the room. Needed to request these. The power control switches on bedside tables were weird. My toddler thought it was great being able to stop the tv and turn out the lights

    The location was really easy. Close to shops and an easy drive to everything.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    6.7
    The staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms were very dated which was fine but maintenance on very noisy taps and sliding doors that don’t work is needed. I told reception so hopefully they’ll be repaired.

    The staff were very friendly. The pool was nice and clean. It was located outside of the busy part of Forster. Charge per room not per person. We had two extras turn up and the room was big enough to fit them in at no extra charge.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    8.3
    Great spot for a mini beach break en route from Brisbane to Sydney
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Walking distance to shops and restaurants were very handy. Only a short drive to get to the beach. Pool was a bonus for the kids. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    8.8
    We had a lovely stay & would definetly Come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room wasn't Cleaned at least every third day, Sheets were not changed in the week we were there at all. We got Toilet paper only on request" & same with Towels. Floor never got a vacuum at all.

    The room had lots of space, & a good size bathroom, with a walk in Shower, Private patio with tables & chairs at back door of your room. A guests laundry for washing your clothes. Ample Parking for your car.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    6.3
    Good. What we were expecting without disappointments
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our bed was broken and therefore a bit uncomfortable. The staff were nice and helpful but not overly friendly or easy to find at any time.

    The room was as expected. The air con was amazing. The room and bathroom was very clean. Quite venue. Pool was fun.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    7.5
    Pool for the kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Back sliding door didn’t lock securely. Decor was dated with a nude picture in the room. Not suitable for kids

    Pool for the kids. Air conditioning worked well

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    8.3
    OK, for my purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No allocated parking, so was difficult to park close to room at times, noisy neighbours, but expected at this time of year.

    Facilities were great, close to shopping centre.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    7.9
    Close to shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool was only 1m deep, but kids still had fun. Would have liked a microwave for convenience. Decor was dated but fine.

    Close to shops. Very affordable accommodation. Only a short drive to water.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2018

    10
    Hope to stay again next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could do with some updating in the accomodation but it wouldn’t stop me staying again.

    Pool good, air con good, parking good. Convenient to walk over to the shops and tavern next door.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    10
    Excellent. Recommend to my family and friends
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We would ve like a BBQ area around the pool. But we ar delighted with our stay

    Bed very comfy , Manager and staff made sure we had everything we needed. My family enjoyed the stay. We actually booked another two nights as well.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    8.3
    Up to expectations as advertised. Overall enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower screen door had mould on the bottom. Three teenage boys in the pool outside our window shouting obscenities until I had to speak to them. Office was closed and intercom diverted to staff member off site

    Extra spaceous room very comfortable. Well appointed with modern decor.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    10
    The room was spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was a little hard.

    The room was spacious. The pool was lovely and clean. A quick walk to shops and the tavern. A quick drive to some fishing spots. Easy check-in/check-out.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    5.8
    Close the shops 10Min drive to the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Need a fan very musty inside Tacky furniture -change the pink Spa feature didn’t work Sliding door to outdoor area was jammed spider webs all over. Old Undies found near the bed (not mine)

    The big bath Helpful staff Easy access to park Clean well kept rooms and landscape Great pool Aircon

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    6.7
    The beds were comfortable
    • Travelers with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Well there was no sink to wash yr cups had to go to bathroom ,no microwave to heat anything up, plus the breakfast was horrible that we could not eat it

    The beds were comfortable

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    7.1
    It is convenient to our business in forster and will use...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was hard and prob needed to be replaced.

    It is convenient to our business in forster and will use them from now on when we stay over night. Great late check in system that anyone can use when looking for that late night accommodation.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    10
    All made easy for us thanks
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing all good

    Room was a good size comfortable and very clean and quiet . Staff were very accommodating with our car trouble keeping our luggage safe until we could get back on the road thanks

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    9.2
    The bed was very comfy and the room was serviced daily which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have loved a swim in the morning but the pool had been visited by too many ducks and it did not look inviting at all.

    The bed was very comfy and the room was serviced daily which was nice.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    10
    It was in walking distance to Tavern for dinner, had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was in walking distance to Tavern for dinner, had a Dragon Boat Regatta at Elizabeth Reserve, Forster Keys, location was very near to Motel, Reception were very accommodating, as we needed Microwave & breakfast crockery & cutlery, gentleman was very prompt in bringing it to our room.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    6.0
    Not was advertised what we expected
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When booked said it had a restaurant but no.Also no Foxtel as said on sign.Also breakfast we went elsewhere as their prize was quiet high I thought $11 for 2 eggs?.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    10
    Beds were comfy, the bathroom was spotless, room was large...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing to fault about this accomodation

    Beds were comfy, the bathroom was spotless, room was large and clean, great for friends travelling together as the bathroom was between the beds creating a sense of 2 rooms and privacy and there was nice bedside lighting for reading

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No bikkies..was nothing in the room to tell me qbout their own on grounds restaurant..might of used it otherwise

    Comfortable clean room..main ahopping area just across the road..i got the spa suite was going to stay 1 night but decided to book another night.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    7.9
    It was a quiet area close to shops owners were very nice we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds were a little uncomfortable and the pool needed a clean also ur cleaners need to look under the beds etc for stuff left behind by guests like food we found

    It was a quiet area close to shops owners were very nice we enjoyed our night away

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    10
    Great location great room great price would definitely stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sliding door wasn’t securely locked. Lock was broken door was fixed with a piece of timber.

    Great location great room great price would definitely stay again

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    8.8
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Website indicated restaurant on site which was not the case. However there is a tavern close by.

    This is a really good value place to stay, staff were friendly and room was tidy. It was a good option for us passing through.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    10
    It was clean, well appointed room close to town & shops...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, this Motel served our needs well

    It was clean, well appointed room close to town & shops, quiet at night. Would stoop here again Clean rooms, comfortable beds near shops

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    7.1
    Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no foxtel as advertised & the airconditioner didn't work. Our 1st night after a long drive we couldn't get a car park in the Motel carpark. We had to park on the Highway to unpack our car. The car park was taken up with parked Large Speed Boat & visiting cars.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    6.3
    A good room, just needs a few adjustments
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sliding door had a broken lock and had a plank of wood behind the door instead, didn't make me feel like the room was secure. The fly screen door didn't fit right and had a gap at the top. No microwave or cutlery (besides tea spoons) in the room - Having these would be helpful.

    Overall it was a good room, neat and clean. The lady at the front desk was nice on check in. The location is a little far from town however there is a shopping centre close by which was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    7.9
    Staff were kind and efficient and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First breakfast did not come even though we had submitted the order in the box outside the office as directed. A phone call resolved the matter quickly. Financial reduction to charges was an excellent gesture.

    Staff were kind and efficient and helpful. The room was quite acceptable with plenty of room. Car parking was good at the door but the second night we found someone else parked in our spot. Suggest number of room painted on the ground would help.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    9.6
    Old fashioned clean comfortable with space to relax.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would have liked to have had a chain lock on the front door as push button door locks only never make me feel secure.

    It was an old style motel but was clean and the room was spacious and surprisingly had a shelf for both our suitcases plus a comfortable lounge chair and large table and 2 chairs to sit with ones partner and have a cuppa. Also good bathroom with hand rails in the shower and shower chair if needed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2018

    7.9
    Well set out property with good sized clean rooms and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We did not see anybody at reception over the 2 day stay. We think this is odd for an industry which is very much a customer focused business. To get our key, we had to use a machine which in our case did not work. On calling a given number, the machine could be activated remotely. However a customer who pulled up behind us drove off to another motel. Lost business at a quiet time!

    Well set out property with good sized clean rooms and good towels. While not pool season for us, it has a very good pool. It is within easy walking distance of Forster’s relatively new shopping plaza - which has almost everything- and a short drive from the centre of Forster and the various beaches and attractions of Forster. It is also located on the Lakes Way which leads to a number of great beaches to the south Blueys Beach, Seal Rocks.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2018

    6.3
    The room was clean, beds were comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower glass door was broken, so we had to actually slide it ourselves as there was no runner for it. So we could get into the shower and then we got stuck inside of it, as we had to push it to get out again. The taps in the shower were - hot tap was actually cold and cold tap was hot so that was annoying as well, and there wasn’t any milk in the fridge as it said in the book there was meant to be some in the fridge( I didn’t know that we didn’t have any milk till I was about to make a coffee that morning ) just a bit disappointed, at least we had a good nights sleep

    The room was clean, beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    6.3
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a funny smell in the room which I think was from the carpets and the shower was not that clean. Although the bed sheets were clean, I am not sure about the mattresses as we felt itchy during the night.

    The motel room was neat and decently priced and was close to where we needed to go in Forster

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    3.3
    Won't be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    From checking in the man behind the counter hardly said a word so not very welcoming . Very very dated our sheet had a ciggertte burn in it air con was noisy and had it set in 27 degrees but was cold . Our door latch was broken and the sliding door had a bit of timber in the track for for security !!!

    The bed was comfortable and the shower wS good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    5.8
    When i booked online i requested for a late check out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When i booked online i requested for a late check out. I then received confirmation that late check out was accepted til midday. Come sunday i had house keeping knocking on my door requesting to clean room. I advised cleaning staff that i had a late check out of midday she replied she wasnt told about it. Then came along the man from reception saying i had a to get out and that i did not remind him about the late checkout i requested that was confirmed by email. I find this offensive and highly unprofessional on his behalf. So basically i had to hurry and leave which mad me and my partner feel very uncomfortable which ruined our sunday plans. Im sure you would not appreciate this on the review page. I would appreciate if somekind of consideration of a refund takes place due to this wrong doing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    4.6
    Wont be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't know that it was next to a tavern that would play loud music all night. Modern bathroom, the rest of the room is still in the 80s.

    It was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    7.5
    The room was big and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower over the huge bath. It was very high to step over and out and no railing to hang on to. The bath was an unusable spa. The carpet was old and crinkled.

    The room was big and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    10
    Beds were comfy.
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds were comfy. Family room bigger than others. Massive bathroom. Loved the after hour kiosk. We arrived later and was so easy to pay and get keys on the spot. So convenient!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    5.4
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No kitchen facility - no kitchen sink, had to fill kettle in the bathroom. Bathroom had no heater and was freezing Staff not friendly Located next to a pub and the band music was so lound could not sleep until after 12.30. Horribly noisy

    Spacious room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    8.3
    Electric blankets would have been a helpful addition, as the night was cool and guests elderly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing I personally didn't like.

    very comfortable bed, however a couple of the elderly fellow travellers would have liked an electric blanket for the cooler nights..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    2.9
    very discusted. trying to make me pay again when i already paid online. never staying again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ants biting at you in the bed. Ants were all over in shower. Definitely not great for value. Who should pay to stay at that place just to be bitten by ants in bed. Cracks in the walls. $10 per night for a microwave (pathetic). Nobody should have to pay to stay there. Rip-off and pathetic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    6.7
    Staff were lovely, bed was pretty comfy and everything was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mould on the shower floor, shower exhaust fan looked as if it hadnt been cleaned for years and zero privacy on back deck. My partner and i both ordered from the breakfast menu and paid $20 each for our meal, was the worst omelette we have ever had and tasted like it had been reheated in a microwave, same with hash browns and bacon.

    Staff were lovely, bed was pretty comfy and everything was in working order.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    8.8
    Forster Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We could hear, very loudly, the shower being used in the room next to us or when the tap was turned on in the bathroom. Disappointing at 6.30am. A shame there is no Foxtel or DVD facility.

    The room was huge and the bed was very comfortable. Free Wifi a huge bonus. All on a single level too. There is a pool for summer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    10
    Would happily stay here again , great room , great staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would happily stay here again , great room , great staff . Could not have been happier with this place . Forster is such a laid back place to stay . LOVED IT !!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    9.6
    Cheerful and friendly with a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I dont have a negative comment

    Clean good facility amd convenient location desk staff helpful. Follow up by message regarding any late arrival acess.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    9.2
    Very well priced for the facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I wish there had been a softer pillow.

    The room was really spacious which is good for a 2 night stay. Owner sourced a toaster and bowls when asked. Also had an outdoor seating area. Simple late check in facility.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    9.6
    very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    maybe a toaster and knife and fork

    the spa in the room was terrific great to relax in hot spa wathing the rugby leauge after a long trip drivin g takes the kinks out of body

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    7.9
    Absolutely fine for a quick one night stop over to break up our long journey home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It would’ve been handy to have some basic plates and cutlery for our takeaway dinner. The fixtures and fittings were very dated and tired but it was clean.

    A spacious room and good bed configuration for a family

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing is what we wanted and that was what we got
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really quite a lovely experience

    The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean I quite enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    6.3
    Close to city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Sliding door very hard to open / close and extra security on sliding door, a piece of timber in door track, was a concern. Pool was only 1 metre deep. NO restaurant only breakfast available in room.

    Close to city centre. Usually quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    9.2
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was spotless and the large bed was very comfortable.Great shower.Nice private outside back area to sit.Only thing i would question is that there is no toaster in room.Spent alot of time in motels/hotels and this is the first without a toaster.It did say in the info book to ask reception if a toaster was needed but I still think one should be in the room anyway.All in all a great place to stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed our two nights except getting booked by police for not stopping at stop sign in town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All in all pretty good place to stay.

    Room was larger than expected. Bed was comfy. Appliances so-so. Toaster had to be asked for if required. Staff friendly. On site eating place would have been nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    10
    Quit comfy for a short stay, but miss shower. It was peaceful close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic TV stations 2&10 not available. TV limited. Quite disappointed. Lights couldn't leave 1 on to read, had to leave the lot on. Shower inside a very deep round bath couldn't climb in, old & tacky.

    Place was roomy, tidy, comfy with air conditioner & peaceful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    8.3
    Always enjoy staying at Island Palms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I suggest a courteous reminder be prominently displayed in every room to remind those less than considerate guests to keep noise levels down when arriving, leaving, partying etc. It's a communal space with shared walls and walk ways. Some respect needs to be encouraged.

    Staff are always friendly and helpful. Rooms have good space to move around. Access is very easy. Well located close to amenities. Price point is good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2018

    7.9
    Good place at a good price for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking is a little difficult and access to the room involved walking around shrubbery. Normally not an issue but we have some mobility issues. More direct access from car to room would be good. Hard to fill the water jug! Tap too short.

    Overall good with nice people and everything you would need except a hair dryer.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    3.3
    Average
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Coffee was terrible / Furnishings and furniture are old, outdated, broken / Landscaping requires some serious maintenance.. The guy who runs the motel isn’t inviting or welcoming, it’s as though he hates the place and doesn’t want to be there let alone be providing a service to anyone staying there? It seemed our stay was an effort for him ..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2018

    8.8
    relaxing and happy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Missing a couple of fly screens of window's and the glass sliding door didn't open properly. But the air-con worked well.

    The room was comfortable and clean , everything we needed. Room service was prompt and desert was yummy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    7.5
    I've stayed @ this motel for 23 years and will continue to do so.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The cleaning staff were very noisey outside my room every morning. I was in room 1 and they would meet @ 0700 to chat and make noise.

    Excellent aircon.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2018

    7.1
    Busy hotel at a busy time of the year but it was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -parking would be easier if all dividing plants/shrubs were removed and lines marked for cars. -family member had very noisy neighbours with babies and therefore did not sleep well on this occasion-but you can't blame the hotel for this. - mattresses could be a little thicker - not very comfortable.

    -the location of my room was excellent. -room size was good so was bathroom size. -good size TV

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2018

    10
    We enjoyed our stay, thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Simple, Clean and tidy, 2min walk to the big shopping centre, friendly housekeeper staff, bed sheets and underlays were clean, im a housekeeper my self and i was really impressed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    7.9
    It was a good, comfortable short stay. It was as expected based on other reviews.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very old and dated furniture, needs major upgrade. The drapes, carpet, and windows need a good wash/clean. There was mould within the glass door of shower.

    Comfortable beds, clean towels and basic toiletries provided.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2018

    9.6
    I like that it was affordable, clean & quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The air-con turned off when out due to taking the key..maybe supply two keys??

    I like that it was affordable, clean & quiet. It was also good that I was shown another room & asked if I wanted to change when initially given the wrong room number!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    7.5
    The sliding door was difficult to open & close as the...
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sliding door was difficult to open & close as the runners have not been oiled property & fly screen door was covered in dust. The air conditioning was new had poor circulation & couldn't cope with the humidity. Also the instruction for air conditioning in the room booklet didn't match the airconditioner fitted into the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2018

    3.3
    Will not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds were like cement, internet didn’t work, pub next door had a heavy metal band playing through the night which could be heard, shower had mould, Air conditioning was absolute rubbish, there was no where near enough milk or buscuits for that amount of guests, cigarette butts on our verandah/slightly, the soap supplied was open and used, the hairdryer once I found it was tiny and in need of replacing due to it zapping, not enough towels and pool was full of palm tree debris

    The staff were lovely

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2018

    6.7
    Ok for a last minute overnight stay if you want something clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room & bathroom are in need of a professional update. Cracks in walls & old carpet. Painted over tiles & no grate over drainage in shower ( could get toes caught & trip ) there’s been a basic attempt to update at some stage but not well executed.

    Cleanliness

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    8.8
    Value for money motel which meets or exceeds all reasonable expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a 10 minute plus drive to get to main area of town. But the drive was pleasant and only a drawback if you want to walk everywhere.

    This was a very good value for money motel which ticked all the boxes with regard to friendly staff, excellent in -house restaurant, cleanliness and comfort - as well as a really good pool and surrounding area. Feel comfortable recommending to families and couples as a good choice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    10
    Beautiful part of the NSW coast would love to stay longer to explore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The jug would not fit under the tap in bathroom to be filled, had to use the shower.

    The room was surprisingly large for a motel room, very clean and met our expectations for an overnight stay. Would love to stay longer and explore the coast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We went out everyday, and was extremely disappointed that the fridge turns off when the key is removed. Had to throw out some expensive cheeses.

    Room size was good and beds were comfortable. Neat and tidy. Bathroom average - a little outdated.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The towel rail was on one side of the bathroom and the shower was on the other side which made it awkward to have a towel in reach when showering. This is just a minor inconvenience and would not stop me returning to this motel.

    Onsite restaurant and bar

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    7.1
    Good place for holiday with families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIFI seems not working well and hard to connect

    the room is clean and comfortable, also at reception there are some helpful maps and booklets provided for surrounding tourist areas

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2017

    8.3
    ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    None

    Helpful and friendly staffs, only afew minutes walk to the Stockland mall and afew minutes drive to the city centre. We'll definitely come back again. Love it.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: