Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Jacobs Creek Retreat at Moorooroo Park 4 stars

Nitschke Road, 5352 Tanunda, Australia

#3 of 5 hotels in Tanunda

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 128 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Paid WiFi

    5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.1
    Exquisite garden retreat.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was a little difficult as there seemed to be no one around or any obvious office or reception. You will need to make arrangements elsewhere for dinner as there’s nothing for dinner onsite. A tiny fridge in the bedroom which made a ridiculous amount of noise all night. Not good if you’re a light sleeper. Quite expensive for what you get.

    Set in a picturesque vintage style manicured garden, Jacobs Creek Retreat is all about the experience. Stone cottages with charming decor and luxurious bathrooms. A very quiet and peaceful hideaway ideal for a romantic weekend. The gardens must be amazing in Summer. Would love to go back to see them. The breakfast was lavish and delicious and the staff were lovely. Close to some very famous Vineyards. Youll be woken by the resident Kookaburras.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.7
    Expensive for what you actually get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately I was very disappointed about the room, to be more exact about the bathroom. I pretty much booked this place because I saw a very beautiful vintage looking bathroom on the photos, I knew we would arrive late in the evening and I would definitely soak in the bath, but the picture and the reality do not match:( Our room had an ugly bathroom with super cold floors amd with worms coming out of the jacuzzi (at least put some slippers for guests, I had to pull the towel around myself and jump from spot to spot because it was so freezing to stand barefoot). I never write bad reviews, but this spot was supposed to be a cherry on top of our stay in Australia. The price doesn’t match with what you get.

    The property is gorgeous! Even though we were visiting in winter, when nothing is in bloom it still looked amazing. I cannot even imagine how beautiful it is in summer.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.3
    Lovely tranquill place to stay the pool was the best I've ever seen and the gardens were spectacular
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv had bad reception because of the weather and we didn't have a radio or iPod port or anything else to listen.

    Coffee machine and facilities were good the gardens were spectacular and the best pool I've ever seen 🤗 Also breakfast was delicious

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Calming rejuvenating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV wasn’t working properly kept on showing no signal, seal the road to the resort otherwise all great

    Ambiance of the property absolutely seclusive surrounded by beautiful gardens

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.5
    Was so quiet and peaceful and the grounds were very pretty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing that was disappointing was how noisy the fridge in the room was. To the point that it was waking us up in the night.

    Was so quiet and peaceful and the grounds were very pretty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    5.0
    Nice few days and lovely winery experiences.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dark with nowhere to hang clothing apart from a hook. The room was not very clean and lots of millipedes inside. There was no wifi in the room. For nearly $800 for two nights I did expect better.

    The grounds are beautiful but in need of some care. The breakfast was nice. Nice quiet location apart from some animals at night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.8
    Didn’t meet my expectations for the price charged.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Retreat King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was too high for what it was. The rooms need major updating- made more comfortable and fresher. Trading on the old world charm will only get you so far if the facilities do not match the price tag. A 5-10minute drive into town. No food options at this accommodation except mini bar & breakfast offered between 9-10am on a Sunday.

    Beautiful cottage rambling gardens, pretty buildings & courtyards. Very quiet and serene, lovely to relax.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.8
    Romantic getaway location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a long drive away from any of the cellar door restaurants - so really not suited for taxi pickups / drop offs.

    It was charming, private and beautiful. Rustic country charm. Swimming pool and gardens were stunning!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.9
    A great relaxing environment with lovely comfortable and character rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of lights working in bathroom , two jets in spa didn’t work, Fridge vibration noise at night, sprinklers coming on woke us up at 5.30am

    Beautiful gardens and rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    The most beautiful BnB nestled in the most magnificent gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This excellent boutique BnB is one of the most delightful places we have stayed. They have thought of everything; from fresh flowers in our luxurious suite, the delicious breakfast in the beautiful Pavilion surrounded by birdsong & looking over the magnificent giant gumtrees on the banks of Jacobs Creek. The swimming pool is wonderful, staff were great and the gardens are a destination in itself - absolutely beautiful. We will be back!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    3.8
    Put it this way, we won’t be coming back to this place ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cellar door is virtually the only one that is only open 2 days a week - Friday and Saturday. So going during the week is a waste of time. There is no restaurant on site, so you have to go into town for everything. Also our room was accessed by staff, who knowingly left it unlocked when they left (they told us later that they just left it unlocked as they would be coming back an hour later). Our security and privacy was compromised. And then whilst we were relaxing in our room, we were told that a technician would be coming in and out at his convenience to fix the tv (which we weren’t watching anyway). Not happy.

    The gardens were lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    A secluded, relaxing retreat with stunning gardens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A secluded, relaxing retreat with stunning gardens. Steeped in character with historical buildings accommodating a select number of guests. A fantastic place to unwind. We loved it!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.5
    A lovely place to relax and enjoy all that the beautiful Barossa Valley has to offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of communication about check in. Would have been useful to have been gate code in advance. For the price charged a few touches would have been nice e.g complimentary water, milk that wasn’t off and even a half bottle of wine as next to a vineyard.

    A beautiful location in the heart of the Barossa vineyards. Enchanting gardens and lovely swimming pool. Great place to relax.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    The property is absolutely gorgeous, the garden amazing and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think it’s probably a little on the expensive side but it was very pretty.

    The property is absolutely gorgeous, the garden amazing and the pool a lovely addition in a hot day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.9
    Lovely place to stay but poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no staff to welcome us nor help, just a lady who served breakfast. Any help had to be asked by phone call with our own mobile phone (which is not nice when your cell phone is a foreign one). no wifi in room.

    Lovely place, beautiful garden, great room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.1
    Sweet little cottage getaway. Very private
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot more secluded then I thought. Be prepared and bring food because there isn’t any room service available and only a bag of chips from the mini bar

    Beautiful grounds and staff are friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    4.2
    This accomodation is overpriced. The Cedars Suite is small and bathroom outdated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could not access property when we first arrived.Finally contacted owner by phone and we were given instructions to find our room. Had to get in and out of a deep spa bath to shower. This could be difficult for older clients.We were unhappy no separate shower. Bin not emptied when room serviced and products not replenished even though used.Room very small.No hanging space or place for cases.

    Breakfast staff excellent and food cooked well.Coffee good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    3.8
    Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very small and had no wardrobe. Spa and shower was one and the same. One had to step down into the spa to have a shower. How dangerous is that and I am puzzled as to how they had that approved. A spa is a spa and should be independent and not serve as a shower area as well. Hot water was not consistent going from cold to hot etc. Overall very expensive for what it was made out to be. Never again!!

    There was only one young lady doing the lot. She was lovely and friendly. Her name is Erin and she deserves full marks for doing her best in an otherwise very ordinary place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    5.8
    Never again unless radical changes are implied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The place certainly has loads of potential. Sadly it is run down and needs bucket loads of maintenance. Owners are not committed, just want the financial rewards. Completely overpriced for what they offer right now. Don't go there if you don't love sharing your room with myriades of millipedes. Be aware there is almost no security: door locks are from last century, nobody on site after hours, in case you have an accident or get bitten by a snake you are on your own.

    The place has lots of potential to become one of the best places in the area. Service staff is friendly and willing to help. Rich bird life in beautiful garden settings.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.9
    Great for a romantic couples retreat - and good if you are there for the wineries.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Never was asked what my name was, so was weird that they just gave the keys to us. No information about checking in and out process. Also, no wifi in the rooms. And TV channel reception sucked.

    The breakfast was super delicious and fresh. Bathroom was incredible!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    6.7
    dissapointing it was our 25th wedding anniversary and saved for this as we are on pension
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room two small would have liked a lounge not much room to relax weather was wet and cold couple of things need attending to i christine used the spa it was a bit dangerous for one person had to get out walk across bathroom to switch of f spa get back in to pull plug to empty the shower is over the top of the spa i am 64yrs and fairly good i had bit of trouble in and out of bath hubby 73yrs has slight disabillities had 1 shower found it very very hard sorry would not stay here again plus did not want to drink and drive at night that far in bush and dirt road

    breaky was very good also the bed thats all

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    4.2
    Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money. For an expensive $300 off season rate per night, the room and the retreat as a whole is very dated and looking quite old. We couldn't sleep at night because the fridge was quite loud and kept buzzing on and off for some reason.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    5.8
    Overall we were disappointed with our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We weren't given instructions how to get into the locked gates.The place felt lonely not having a Manager in residence. Fresh milk and free bottled water would have been nice to go with the room as the price indicated these basic amenities should be included.Our room also had a very noisy air conditioning unit.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.8
    The bed was comfy, the grounds were very pretty and a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Retreat King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating was inadequate for the cold weather, we were very cold and the gas ran out 1 minute into the shower on a very cold morning.

    The bed was comfy, the grounds were very pretty and a great setting for a function or wedding. Close to quite a few of the local wineries and restaurants

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    Romantic setting with lovely French gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room did not have any cupboards to hang up clothing but did have hooks mounted on doors & walls.

    The location was beautiful with exceptional gardens. We even spotted a fox wandering across the lawn in the early morning. Room was lovely with a huge bed & a hot tub to soak in every afternoon. Breakfast employee suggested a lovely spot for lunch (Artisans) & helped us decide on a course of action for the day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.8
    Charming stay 20 min from anything in the Barossa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the bathroom made it very cold; a heater would be nice. While the A/C was strong, an electric blanket would have made a great plus to the comfy bed.

    The grounds are absolutely beautiful, with manicured lawns and a true cottage feel. The room was comfortable and the bathtub was seriously large.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    5.8
    Secluded property but needs some updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property was largely unstaffed - when we arrived at 5pm we had to fend for ourselves via a map left in the letterbox. There is no obvious reception. The bed had a visible divot (mattress might need replacing). The air con & alarm clock are both bright blue lights when on and completely illuminate the room at night. There is no other way to heat the room in the winter. The bar fridge was located inside an antique dresser and sound would reverberate throughout the room every time the cooling system kicked in - probably not the best design as it disturbed our sleep on both nights There were no lights outside the cabins so finding door locks (which are approx 40cm from the ground) in the evening quite difficult.

    The secluded nature of the property. Beautiful gardens to wander around. The sunken spa in the bathroom was a nice way to relax. We bought some candles in town as the bathroom lights aren't dimmable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    8.3
    A nice place to stay, despite some minor setbacks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sadly, the property seems to be understaffed, so you have a few people doing their very best. This allows details to be missed. We had no hot water on our first morning before breakfast (which was quickly rectified). We also had no bath robes (which was mentioned in the compendium that we would have). We also thought if you class yourself as a "lux" property, the amenities could have been a little more up market.

    The staff were wonderful and helpful. The bed very comfortable, and the cottage was very clean. Breakfast and coffee was delicious. The setting was idyllic, as the property is right on Jacobs Creek. The grounds kept in magnificent condition.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    8.8
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Retreat King Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattresses in the second bedroom were very soft and unsuitable for a person with a back problem. Freshly cooked eggs for breakfast would have been appreciated- rather than being held in a Bain Marie. Toiletries were skimpy and average, for the room price it should have had nicer toiletries ie Molton Brown or Aesop, definitely needs to step it up.

    Location, grounds, Wyndham and Pavillion staff were very good - helpful & cheerful. We would have liked to see the winery open Easter Sat, Sun & Monday AND the pizza oven operating on those 3 days.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    5.0
    Nice ambience, relaxing,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access gates off road locked with no code supplied. No one there to meet us. Could not get through on the phone number - using mobile phone ( NZ) Spa bath didn't power up, bathroom washbasin needs new washer. Possible electrical fault behing tV or in Modem as lights flickering. Room dark but bed comfortable. Expensive for what you get.

    A nice garden and general ambience, old style cottage rooms. Caretaker and breakfast staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    5.8
    Lovely grounds but overpriced for room quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of the loft suite isn't matched to the quality. While the bathroom has recently been renovated and is nice and clean, at $400ish AUD a night (very expensive so I had high expectations!) it was small, the ceiling angle was an issue and we constantly bumped our heads. The stairs up to the bedroom were very very narrow and the lights were very dim! Also the breakfast was only from 9-10am. There also wasn't a phone in the room for you to call for help from staff. You had to roam for help. I wouldn't recommend staying here

    The grounds are stunning , the pool is lovely and the location is convenient and central to lots of goodies in the Barossa (nice and close to Murray St Tanunda!)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    8.3
    Will be back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really enjoyed our stay, there were a few light bulbs/spots that were not working and this made certain rooms very dark.

    Amazing location and beautiful kept gardens, very quiet location to get away from it all. Perfect!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    2.9
    A totally overpriced experience, never to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entry into premises not possible as two iron gates closed had to walk into neighbouring property to gain entrance once inside had to find reception. Eventually found to find no one there, did find note to ring a number, then told by owner that he wasn't on the premises (great start)! Rooms were tiny no place to put suitcases, didn't matter as two coat hangers hanging off a knob on the wall was the extent of your wardrobe. TV tiny could hardly see it however didn't matter as reception was so appalling ended up turning off. Breakfast time beginning at 9.00 to late for interstate or overseas travellers whose flights are 2.00pm or before as not enough time to travel back to airport. Appears owners are operating this LUXURY RETREAT to their own needs - check in after three, breakfast after nine. Saw only one staff the entire time we were there, hard working as she was chef, house cleaner ,receptionist etc etc. would rate this overpriced RETREAT (in excess of $360 a night) one star above a backpackers hostel. If your wanting lunch or dinner forget it, only option is to drive 2kms down a dirt road and then 5 or 6 kms into town.

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    6.3
    Relaxed garden environment Spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Retreat King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having personal reception available during arrival or stay In Other words no staff residing on site More off the beaten track than realised from website Bathroom -spa bath cold water not operating Potential scalding. We were told owners were aware but hadn't rectified Ran out. of gas for hwc first morning. They did rectify after we had cold showers Cat in dining room and kitchen not acceptable. We are animal lovers but find this unacceptable Whilst the grounds are wonderful it was difficult to get luggage and suitcases into our room.

    Relaxed garden environment Spacious room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    5.8
    A B&B in a beautiful setting, lacking comfort and staff, but with great potential!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The loft room. Very uncomfortable and dark, with difficult stairs to the bedroom. Definitely would not recommend this particular room!

    The grounds and the pool were lovely, with a very grand breakfast conservatory! It is a beautiful location!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    7.1
    Nice, pretty place, not great customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was hard to find the reception and no one was there to greet us, the staff weren't overly friendly and made me feel very awkward when trying to check out. For the price there were no extra special touches that would justify this.

    The pool was lovely and the grounds and room was very nicely put together.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    10
    Wonderful stay would definitely go again and highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tissues provided, tv remote missing spent ages searching for it, only to be told it was gone. Small things but most annoying.

    Excellent breakfast, staff made you welcome, lovely gardens.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    5.0
    Not Amazing as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one sunbed at the pool & the pool was in need of some repair & cleaning. The room had no storage for clothes & there were no facilities for dinner or drinks.

    The grounds were very nice but needed some attention

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    10
    Relaxing, Romantic Retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only issue we had which isn't a big deal at all, just a slight nuisance is we couldn't find a TV remote anywhere.

    Sooo relaxing and serine! The gardens are absolutely stunning and the pool makes you feel like your in the Mediterranean! We stayed in the Cedar suite which is perfect for a couple. The inground huge spa tub is luxurious and really is something else! The breakfast in the morning including the coffee is Devine and of great quality. Moorooroo park vineyards located on the same property has wine tastings and good food. Highly recommend for a romantic weekend getaway!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful place, will definitely go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Retreat King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water service went cold during our stay.

    Beautiful place, perfect spot. Great advice of places in the Barossa to visit. Awesome breakfast and lovely hosts.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    10
    More than anticipated, awesome place to unwind, magnificent suroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Awesome place, gardens were magnificent and the grounds were so relaxing. We stayed in a Loft apartment and it was cozy and just the spot to relax summer or winter. The breakfast was just right and the pool was wonderful. We learnt about the history from Staff and Family and the wine cellar was great for tasting.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    7.9
    The retreat is beautiful, with lots of charm & character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchard King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 'details'... For $599 for one night, I would have thought luxury towels, linen, luxury bathroom products, high end. What was supplied was adequate but not what was expected in this price range. Our room (suite) has a great big black line/mark down the length of one wall. The cupboards/shelving inside was old and saggy, and slightly damaged. Not somewhere that you really wanted to hang your clothes. Also, the gardens were beautiful and established but needed some weeding, lawns were a little long, pool area needed to be swept of leaves. Really tiny, minor complaints but when you market high end prices, you need to follow whole way through.

    The retreat is beautiful, with lots of charm & character. A little out of the way, but nice. Lots of privacy and room was beautiful, and nice and cool, air con waiting for us. The gardens and surrounds are gorgeous and the pool is a welcome addition on a hot day.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    6.7
    The gardens and setting were so lovely and a real retreat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You could hear guests in the next door room and also there was no wardrobe or hangers to place your clothes from your suitcase.

    The gardens and setting were so lovely and a real retreat.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    6.3
    Lovely setting but very pricey
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not informed of the unusual location of the light switch for the bathroom so we thought there was a problem and had no lights. There was only a lamp on a trolley in the bathroom. Not really great

    The breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.2
    Lovely getaway spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar fridge was too noise while sleeping so had to unplug it. The water temperature in shower required precision setting to get it right. It would be extra nice if the pool was heated to take advantage of it whilst not in the middle of Summer.

    Private yet accessible to lots of wineries. Lovely and helpful staff, very attentive. Beautiful and tranquil grounds. A lovely and varied breakfast was on offer. Easy check-in and check-out process.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.3
    We loved the location and ambience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The gardens and surrounds, stonework, location close to Tanunda

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful. Would definitely go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchard King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabulous. Room was very spacious and private. Mushrooms for breakfast were devine. The lawn down by the creek is serine

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.7
    Gardens
    • Couple
    • Orchard King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been warmer, better shower and bath robes

    Gardens

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.3
    Very helpful staff, good coffee and breakfast and beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no heating in the bathroom and it was freezing!

    Very helpful staff, good coffee and breakfast and beautiful gardens.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Always a pleasure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricey in comparison to other accommodation in the area

    Great location, excellent breakfast & lovely staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    We loved the location and grounds of the Retreat - very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchard King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved the location and grounds of the Retreat - very beautiful with wonderful atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Retreat King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.5
    We were treated to beautiful breakfasts both mornings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were treated to beautiful breakfasts both mornings. The young lady looking after us was so lovely. Really went all out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Great location and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Retreat King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no coffee pods for the coffee m/c in the room

    Great location and facilities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.5
    A perfect retreat in a tranquil soothing grand old home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Locked gate on arrival. Toilet seat did not stay up!

    Tranquil sprawling grounds and soothing garden. Sumptious breakfast in decadent pavilion.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    4.2
    Very Dissapointing
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Retreat King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs repair and maintenance.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.8
    Unique one of a kind hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food so had to go back out for dinner

    Unique one of a kind hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    6.3
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Retreat King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers had mould, bathroom was not what I expected according to photos. For the price expected a brekky set up in room.

    Beds and pillows were comfy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Absolutely delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head was only ok

    Garden was lovely Room was rustic and romantic Breakfast was delightful Secluded and private

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    very comfortable, country style buildings, we stay in their loft style building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    nil

    gardens were wonderfull swimming pool was divine breakfast in the pavilon room the following morning was great too

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    5.8
    Amazing grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t clean enough

    Amazing grounds

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.5
    Charming relaxed country serenity
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful grounds! Charming country escape.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Romantic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing grounds, perfect for a romantic getaway, staff were lovely and breakfast was ample 😊

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Amazing room and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was unclear.

    Amazing room and location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    6.3
    Well maintained
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price

    Well maintained

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    We will definitely be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything !

    The rooms were comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and the grounds were amazing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.5
    Great location friendly staff restful and relaxing
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV was very small. No drinking water provided. Lighting in the bathroom was poor.

    The gardens were beautiful. Very quiet location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Absolutely great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Retreat King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable.It wss all good.

    So very relaxing and peaceful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Spa.For the elderly to step down into a spa bath is difficult.

    Nice grounds. Great breakfasts

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.1
    Body lotion would be a nice inclusion when travelling and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Body lotion would be a nice inclusion when travelling and a bath oil for the spa.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    5.8
    Jacobs Creek
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was freezing, no heating, couldn't have a spa😫 As it was too cold

    Bed cosy , room quaint

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    The spar bath and bed were amazingly​ comfy and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spar bath and bed were amazingly​ comfy and relaxing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    10
    didn't want to leave
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Retreat King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beds are incredibly comfy!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    8.3
    Barossa's gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gardens need a little more maintenance.

    Pleasant staff comfortable room nice and secluded.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.2
    Lovely relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchard King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More variety at breakfast

    The grounds, beautiful, quiet and private

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: