Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Australia hotel reviews
  3. Australian Capital Territory hotel reviews
  4. Canberra hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Jamala Wildlife Lodge

Reviews of Jamala Wildlife Lodge This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

999 Lady Denman Drive, Weston Creek, 2611 Canberra, Australia

#1 of 105 hotels in Canberra

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 469 hotel reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.7

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing and certainly a bucket list experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Wild Encounter Double Room - 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    As we were one of the only rooms without a view to an animal it would have been good to be given a list of what animals might be out after 4.30pm or being fed.

    The afternoon tea that greeted us was amazing (no need to have lunch beforehand). The tours that we were taken on to meet the animals were amazing and the guides had a lot of knowledge. Food is amazing and meeting and touching 'Solo' the Cheetah was a dream encounter.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    10
    Mindblowing awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Shark Grand Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything about our stay was awesome. Staff were helpful, food was very yummy and plentiful and nothing was a problem, the animal keepers were knowledgeable and the information was intetesting. Room well appointed above average comfort beds comfortable and clean , spa was awesome. Helpful , respectful, corteous staff nothing a problem.

    Everything was wonderful. Atmosphere was perfect and the fact that everyone was included and treated the same .

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    10
    Amazing experience in the utmost comfort!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Wild Encounter Double Room - 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I don’t believe that anything should be changed!

    The facilities and the staff were second to none! Rooms were amazing and looked after by the staff at all times. Food was incredible and I would highly recommend this to everyone

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    10
    All the animal encounters.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Giraffe Tree House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    All the animal encounters. Staying overnight in a jungle bungalow with Ravi and Baru ( tiger brothers.). Particularly being so close to observe their interactions and lifestyle , literally next to both of them often lying against the glass. We also loved our overnight stay in a tree top house with Humer the giraffe. The accommodation and meals were 5star standard as was the service.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    10
    Awsome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wild Encounter Double Room - 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Jamala , the staff and service across the board was friendly enthusiastic and professional , the quality of food at afternoon tea , pre dinner drinks and dinner was delicious and of course breakfast the next day was very good . Thank you to everyone there at Jamala that made our stay so memorable.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Giraffe Tree House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom in the dining hall where we had dinner was filthy.

    Very comfortable stay, food was amazing. Feeding the giraffe was amazing too! Plus the fact the proceeds of our booking goes straight back into the Zoo’s conservation projects was very nice to know.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    9.2
    Our stay at Jamala was truly a memorable experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Giraffe Tree House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing to dislike but if we had to be really fussy and pick one thing it would probably be that checkin was just a little rushed! I.e moved quickly into waiting area.

    We loved the total experience. The animals were gorgeous: the Lodge and rooms were exquisitely decorated and the dining experience was fabulous. Compliments to the chef and all the staff. Thankyou

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    8.8
    Absolutely an amazing experience. Would 100% come back because it’s something you need to experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Giraffe Tree House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was too pricy for what it was. I feel like if you’re paying that much for your one night stay you could have expected and done more for the people staying.

    We loved the staff and how friendly they were, the food was great, and loved how we got to interact with the animals, it was the best part. Having an animal outside your room was such an amazing experience to have.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    10
    Love every minute of it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wild Encounter Double Room - 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Love it all no complaints from me

    The whole experience was amazing. The staff were so friendly and helpful. I strongly recommend this to anyone who loves animals and meeting new people.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    10
    unique and fantastic will do it again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Giraffe Tree House
    • Stayed 1 night

    While the evening short black was quite good the morning flat white could have been a little better but this is being extremely picky as it did not affect my overall experience. I would just have tea next time in the morning.

    The interaction with animals was fantastic as was the knowledge and enthusiasm of staff. The evening meal experience was unique. The food and wine were excellent and the close encounters with animals just kept giving. All the staff really ensure you have a wonderful time nothing is too much trouble for them.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    10
    I will certainly be telling ALL of South Australia about our experience loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My wife, friends and I loved the whole experience we could not point out witch one was better it was all a totally non forgetting experience and we WILL be back

    I did not know it is possible to get so many beautiful angels and gentlemen in one place at once all your staff plus management are JUST WONDERFUL the accommodation was fantastic the cleanliness was perfect.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    10
    Everything - This is the most brilliant experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wild Encounter Double Room - 1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything - This is the most brilliant experience. 5 star all the way. The accommodation, the food, the service. It was all impossible to fault. Loved it! Would go back again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    10
    A great way to celebrate our wedding anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wild Encounter Double Room - 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    Great food, friendly and knowledgeable staff, great decor in the rooms and beautiful animals. The little stuffed leopard on the bed with the hand-written note of congratulations was a really nice touch as well.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    10
    It sets and maintains a very high standard with all that it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Giraffe Tree House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were no complaints other than maybe issuing a map of the zoo

    It sets and maintains a very high standard with all that it does. A great one off experience for that special occasion

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2018

    10
    Encounters with animals and outstanding food and drink service made this an all-round stand out stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wild Encounter Double Room - 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was SUPERB!

    Decor stunning! Fantastic bed with canopy and mosquito net, beautiful leather couch with gorgeous cushions and leopard throw, spa tub and rain forest shower in gleaming bathroom. balcony with comfy and stylish furniture.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lemur King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dinner on the second night took far too long.

    The ambience within the lodge was great. Staff were friendly and attentive. Tours were very professional.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic experience, i will not forget any time soon .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Reef King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had no hot water early on in the evening, however the s taff were fantastic and resolved the situation quickly. Hat off to them all.

    The food and the hospitality were exceptional, but the wildlife and and the dedication of the staff was nothing short of perfection.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    9.6
    I'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Wild Encounter Double Room - 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Don't associate with booking.com. Communication problems are a poor representation of Jamala service.

    I used to work at DisneyWorld in Florida and I think the facilities are very close in quality. Well done to the staff and owners!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    10
    Cross this one off your wish list.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Wild Encounter Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not one thing!

    The animals! Especially the big cats! Our zoo guides Kelly and Arno were great. Their tours were informative and fun. Ryan helped us to feed a magnificent tiger. That was a highlight of our stay. His enthusiasm for the animals in his care was contagious. We will recommend a stay at Jamala to everyone.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    10
    Absolutely amazing. Interacting with and seeing the animals was such an experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Giraffe Tree House
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Everything. Words cannot describe the experience. We stayed in a Giraffe Tree house room which was amazing. We couldn't believe how close we were to Hummer. Love giraffes! I have a few food intolerances and the staff couldn't do enough to accommodate my dietary requirements. We felt totally spoilt and so well looked after. Having dinner in the cave with Mishka and Jake just feet away was one of the many highlights. Hearing all the animal sounds and the lions roaring through the night was incredible. We were in absolute awe of the whole experience.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    9.6
    A delightful experience for anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wild Encounter Double Room - 1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing comes to mind.

    Overall experience was fantastic. Staff,food,accommodation. The animals were so calming to watch and learn different things about them.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    9.6
    Can't wait to go back. Would recommend to everyone.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Lemur King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    An amazing experience. Staff were so attentive and helpful. Facilities were great and it was wonderful to get up close to so many animals. Great guides with lots of knowledge. Food was incredible and so much of it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    10
    Magical
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wild Encounter Double Room - 1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would stay another night to enjoy all aspects of the Zoo . My partner has a disability and was abit fast paced .

    The service from staff in all areas . It was magical and caring . Especially when my partner was given a plate of jeruselum artichokes at dinner from jai and the Moët kept flowing from our lovely server who I cannot remember name . The food was exceptional. I heard the lions roar which was exhilarating.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    10
    A lovely experience. This was the best and we intend coming back next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lemur King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked every moment of our stay at the Lodge so there is nothing that we did not like.

    The food was excellent. The service was excellent. The staff were very friendly, accomodating and very professional. The knowledge of the staff about the animals was really very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    9.6
    Overall this place is a must stay in your lifetime.An amazing experience and i hope to return soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wild Encounter Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit of lack of information, maybe a little bit more direct on where to go. As we arrived we were told to make our way to an enclosure on the other side, we got lost of course which could of made us late for our meet and greet.

    I loved being able to have the tours without the public in the morning/afternoon and all the information the keepers gave us about the animals. being able to touch the rhino's and we had paid to visit Solo and feed the hyena's which was a lifetime experience.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    10
    Amazing experience! Truly unique!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lemur King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have preferred a private dinner setting for 2 rather than a group table

    Everything was perfect, it felt like we were in Africa. The food was amazing and the whole experience was out of this world.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2018

    10
    love love loved it and will be back ! We will bring our grandchildren as they are old enough to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lemur King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that we had to leave we should have booked another night !

    The whole experience from arrival to departure was 10 star ! The staff the service the tours the food the room the zoo a bucket list experience!felt like we were staying with family and friends!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    10
    Loved every moment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wild Encounter Double Room - 1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Getting everyone that stayed at Jamala together for drinks and dinner was lovely, the atmosphere was fantastic. The private tours were great and our guides were very informative.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    9.6
    A very special and unique place to stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Wild Encounter Double Room - 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    Visiting in winter probably wasnt that smart , but we had a great time and the staff were unbelievable .

    Amazing experience staying in a Zoo , Enjoyed every minute

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Giraffe Tree House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Staff and facilities were excellent, you could tell that the animals were exceedingly well looked after with appropriate amounts of stimulation

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    10
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Giraffe Tree House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. It was incredible.

    Everything! Private zoo tours, dinner was beyond delicious, breakfast was fantastic! Going to come back and book another room in Summer. Totally worth the money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    5.8
    Definitely not worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lemur King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having to pay 1300 a night and sit with 20 other people for dinner would of been nice at that price to sit with just my partner for a romantic dinner for the 2 of us

    The lions and the experience of hearing the noises of the zoo at night

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    10
    AMAZING and worth the money for sure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Giraffe Tree House
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was a bit wary of the price, but WOW..... It was the most amazing experience I've had in a long time. From the moment you walk in the door, we were made to feel welcome. The atmosphere, the unbelievable decorations and furniture, WOW factors everywhere. The tours are a must, I learnt so much and the guides were amazing. The food was beautiful and plenty of it. The giraffe hanging over our balcony- AMAZING!! What room do we stay in next time??

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    10
    You felt so welcome from the moment you walked through the door and everything outweighed expectatio
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wild Encounter Double Room - 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The staff were excellent Tours of the animals were so well done. Food amazing Our close encounter with the adult Cheetah was why we booked and he was just beautiful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    10
    the group seating at mealtimes was a fabulous way to meet new people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wild Encounter Double Room - 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    food was a little spicy for me...but that's a personal choice

    the whole experience was just perfect...staff were amazing...couldn't have been nicer....helpful, friendly and very knowledgeable in regard to the zoo animals and they were very passionate about the conservation projects the zoo is involved with

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    10
    Well worth the price tag
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Giraffe Tree House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was great. If i had to find one thing then it would be that it would have been good if the giraffe was fed in the morning so we would see him from our roon

    Everything was amazing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    10
    Brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Giraffe Tree House
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps some more time with Hummer the giraffe on the second day before check out would have been great.

    This place exceeded our expectations. Very educational. Very authentic African accommodation. Staff were fantastic. It is the next best thing to travelling all the way to Africa (which I have done). We will be staying again. Thank you Jamala!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    7.5
    The Main Lodge, Zoo, Staff and Catering were all excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wild Encounter Double Room - 2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Wild Encounter Room 2 rated POOR because it adjoins the Kitchen via an interconnecting door which is not soundproof. Staff conversations and kitchen "noise" during meal times was unacceptable.

    The Main Lodge, Zoo, Staff and Catering were all excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Wild Encounter Double Room - 1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not much, found a daddy long legs spider in the bathroom and the bedside table was dusty, other than that all good

    Food was excellent, service was excellent,in fact the whole experience rated on the top of all levels

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent would recommend to others but not to book encounter room 2
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wild Encounter Double Room - 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room location was a massive disappointment. A view of traffic was not what we expected for the price paid to stay in a zoo! However our room was lovely, quiet, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean.

    The standard of food was a surprise bonus! Excellent!! The interaction with zoo animals on our private tour was fantastic! And getting to dine alongside sleeping lions was such a delight.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    9.6
    It was a wonderful experience and Maureen and I hope to have a return visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Giraffe Tree House
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only adverse comment I can make is that we had three people in our lodge and there were only four pieces of carrot allocated to us for feeding the giraffe. It would have been nice to have been told if four was the limit or the keeper could have brought a couple of spares. We shared so there was no real problem,,,,,,,,,,and please accept that I am nit picking, It was an incredible experience for the three of us,

    Firstly Restart:- Firstly, the care you took with my wife and myself. With the scooters you provided it was possible for us too enjoy all of the zoo and we did appreciate it, it was wonderful that you made it possible for us to take the bus instead of having a walk to the dining room. And the piece de resistance- the toy leopard which we are keeping for our first great grandchild which hopefully will arrive some day

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    10
    Decor was amazing, food is five-star as is accommodation...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lemur King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lions are very noisy roaring at night - but you get used to it.

    Decor was amazing, food is five-star as is accommodation staff were so enthusiastic and knowledgeable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    10
    Absolutely worth a visit. And if you cant stay overnight at least visit the Zoo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lemur King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldnt fault it

    The whole experience was fantastic and far exceeded our expectations. A great welcome followed by high tea and a visit by 2 of the zoos inhabitants. Then off on the afternoon tour. Staff were very knowledgeable and made it interesting Drinks and canapes on the terrace followed by dinner in The Cave whilst the lions sat at the other side of the glass , deciding who they fancied for dinner! We stayed in the Lemur room and were woken to lemurs bouncing off the window. Several times during the night we heard the lions Just the best experience

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    10
    Absolutely fabulous in every way! 🤗👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Giraffe Tree House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a single thing to complain about.. Best place I've ever stayed in.

    We absolutely loved staying at Jamala, we thoroughly enjoyed everything! The food was so delicious, the staff were so friendly & very knowledgeable. The animals were of course so wonderful, and it was lovely to see all of them in so much space... I can't wait to go back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    10
    So clean and beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Wild Encounter Double Room - 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I liked all the proceeds goes back to saving wildlife The staff are so friendly And loving to the animals from the moment you enter you are treated so well

    So clean and beautiful The food was amazing 5 stars all the way

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    10
    This is a world class establishment and makes me proud to have it in Australia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Lemur King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Possibly a longer stay!

    The accommodation was luxurious and spotlessly clean. The animals were obviously loved and well cared for and the food was sensational.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    10
    The friendliness of the staff plus the knowledge gained from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wild Encounter Double Room - 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the booking experience could be improved as I was not made aware that the you could not book the Jungle houses on line and were restricted to the Ushaka facilities. That said the wild encounter room we had probably suited us better more by accident than design.Brilliant

    The friendliness of the staff plus the knowledge gained from them about the animals. the food and beverage was second to none and made the experience brilliant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    9.2
    great place for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wild Encounter Double Room - 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    we requested ground floor room the room we had was down a steep incline with 4 steps flat then 4 steps then flat about four lots in total not very well lit at night and had no guide rail would have been slippery if wet the bed was to high not good for us elderly people wife had to sleep on the couch

    everything good meals we excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    10
    Thoroughly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lemur King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Being kept awake at night by lions roaring! We can't control nature.

    The stay was more of an immersive experience. It was all about the animals and I liked that. The evening dinner and the accompanying wines were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    10
    The staff were outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Shark Grand Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complaints.

    The staff were outstanding. All staff were courteous, professional, diligent, well presented, informative and efficient. By far the best experience I've ever had thanks to the guides, waiters, reception and drivers. Keepers took every opportunity to provide guests with genuinely memorable and unique introductions to some special creatures with surprise encounters with their new 5month old cheetah cub and also a viewing of the feeding of hyenas, meerkats and a massive white lion. Amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    10
    Magical so glad we made the decision to go to Jamarla.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Wild Encounter Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    What a marvellous experience you could not ask for anything better friendly staff large comfortable rooms and great food all included. Worth the value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    7.5
    The accommodation was great, the food was good and the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Giraffe Tree House
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is not very good value for money and the encounters with animals felt rushed and less than i expected. My encounter with feeding the giraffe was just two carrot sticks which took all of twenty seconds. Disappointing.

    The accommodation was great, the food was good and the staff were friendly. The animals are well looked after however the animal experiences were very brief and rushed . I felt quite disappointed and let down by this as i had expected more.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    10
    I spent a month travelling through Africa - there was a moment when I forgot I was in Australia!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No expense has been spared in comfort and the overall experience at this Zoo - and the interaction with the animals is amazing - so different from when I was a child and you just walked around and looked.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent except for the smell in our disabled room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Lemur King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only complaint we had was the odour in the disabled bathroom, it did keep me awake, on complaining we were offered another tour feeding some of the animals, which we declined because we were both feeling tired and had a 4 hour drive in front of us.

    We loved all the staff who we came in contact with, so very helpful and informative, as well as being very pleasant. The decor of the lodge and our room was fabulous. The food from afternoon tea, to pre dinner drinks [ Moët as much as you wanted) then dinner excellent food that was explained by the staff, we had White Lions for company, breakfast then another tour of the Zoo, we also had an afternoon tour, but both were different and interesting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    10
    Wonderful Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lemur King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't think of anything I would change, right down to the scent of the body wash!

    This is not a hotel room, but a total experience. Every detail is cared for and paced for the duration of your stay. Check in is seamless and we were ushered immediately into the beautiful Ushaka Lodge for afternoon tea and the first of 2 private tours of the zoo. When we arrived at our room at 4pm, luggage was delivered and we had a couple of hours to freshen up and enjoy the incredible room and terrace overlooking the lion enclosure. Dinner was 5 star, starting with Moet and canapes on the deck. Seating is at long communal tables and it was great to chat with fellow travelers. Morning started early with a delicious breakfast and another private tour. At the time I booked, I couldn't imagine staying there more than one night, but honestly, if you can swing it, book for two nights. Take in all the tours the first day and use the second day to wander at your leisure through the zoo, enjoy your room (watching the lemurs for my room) and perhaps book some of the up close animal encounters. It was a wonderful experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    10
    Wonderful experience, a must do for everyone.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Lemur King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been better, I personally would have liked more greens, like wilted baby spinach with my poached eggs. Vinegar was too strong an element with eggs, personally I do them at home without vinegar it spoils them and is unnecessary.

    Bed was extra comfy, overall the experience was much more than we anticipated, congratulations on such a wonderful venue and opportunity for the public to share in helping the welfare of these magnificent animals

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    10
    Loved Jamala and would highly recommend a stay. Put it on your bucket list!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Giraffe Tree House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. It was perfect.we will

    This is the ultimate experience. Close up encounters with the beautiful animals, lovely staff, fabulous food and comfortable and well appointed accommodation in the zoo. Having the majestic giraffe Hummer visit us while we were on the balcony was amazing. Our guides on both tours, Kelly and James, were friendly and knowledgeable and really added to the experience. We were also lucky enough to meet the new baby cheetah. All staff, from the reception, the grounds, the guides, the keepers and restaurant are to be commended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    9.6
    An extravagant wonderful experience!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wild Encounter Double Room - 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    Time goes too quickly!

    This is an extravagant place, but despite this at the end of your stay you do feel that you have had value for your money. The rooms are luxurious and very comfortable. The food is generous and delicious, but there are only 2 choices per course as they have to feed so many people at the same time. Drinks are included and the table staff are extremely attentive without being intrusive. The animal encounters are something special and the staff are so so passionate about their animals it is infectious. This seems to be a wonderful place for them to work and they show it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    9.6
    I would recommend this place to anyone who loves animals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wild Encounter Double Room - 1
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the interaction with the cheetah. He didn't mind us at all being with him while he ate. We also had 3 other keepers with us. All was good :)) Hearing the Lions roar and watch the keepers feed them was a great experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    9.2
    We had a marvellous stay for our Ruby Wedding Anniversary. Delightful in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wild Encounter Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The whole ambulance was amazing. Afternoon tea was lovely. Bed was very comfy. Liked sound proof doors,as we were in a corridor. Bathroom with his n hers sinks was nice. Loved the tub.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    10
    Beyond our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Giraffe Tree House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Brilliant two days and cannot find fault in the wildlife lodge , staff were excellent and so friendly. We stayed in the giraffe tree house and our host Hummer the Giraffe was so hospitable. Food was out of this world. We could go on, but want our guests to explore and enjoy the hidden secrets of a little touch of Africa, South America and our own back yard here down under. 6 Star anniversary weekend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    9.6
    Our Jamala Lodge and zoo experience was exceptional in every aspect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lemur King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was all to my liking. I couldn’t fault anything.

    The attention to detail in our room and the Lodge in general is commendable. I loved the comfortable bed and the fact that it was draped like a four poster. I certainly appreciated the rainforest shower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    10
    Extraordinary experience of living in a zoo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lemur King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Fabulous tours of the zoo by enthusiastic keepers. Nearness and personality of animals - all are known to the keepers. Generous and delicious catering for food and alcohol. It’s different and fun.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    8.3
    Amazing and different
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Giraffe Tree House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The menu at the restaurant was repeatative for those who stayed for more than one night. Also not much on the menu for vegetarians

    The rooms were great and the overall zoo enclosures were spectacular.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    10
    Awesome place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Wild Encounter Double Room - 2
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not much

    Everything was clean and well set out. The lodge was really comfortable and the room was really nice. Although my room didnt view any animals having access to the zoo meant i could see whatever animals i wanted at any time

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2018

    8.8
    A fantastic experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wild Encounter Double Room - 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maintenance and cleaning of the private balcony was overdue. Everything else was 10/10.

    Fantastic experience, with devine food. Excellent service and obviously passionate staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2018

    10
    Amazing experience that truly is very unquie in Australia, close to the real thing in Africa
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Giraffe Tree House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, it was perfect

    Outstanding experience that truly catered to all our needs in this amazing atmosphere surrounded by all these beautiful creatures.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2018

    10
    The stay was filled with wonderful experiences that will never be forgotten
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Giraffe Tree House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could not fault anything

    The staff were exceptional in both their knowledge about the animals and the manner in which they did everything possible to make the experience a wonderful memory for guests

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2018

    10
    A wonderful experience and will highly recommend our stay to friends and family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lemur King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The staffs detail to our every need without being asked was unbelievable. The enthusiasm and passion for their work was to be admired, not to mention the wonderful Lodge and not to be overlooked the wonderful animals.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2018

    10
    Jamala was a amazing place .A must do on your bucket list . Suits all ages . WOW
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Giraffe Tree House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There’s nothing I could fault .

    Loved the African themed lodge staff friendly and informative food 5 Star . We stayed in the giraffe treehouse ,loved it . Hard to impress my 12 year old son - Jamala did ! Thank you .we will be back

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2018

    10
    Tops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Giraffe Tree House
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two night stay would have been better than one!

    Terrific welcome and accommodation. Guided tours particularly good and should not be missed. Particularly liked Tye's initial guided tour. Excellent welcome reception and food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    10
    It was a truly unforgettable experience! Cannot recommend this enough!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Giraffe Tree House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maybe slightly more time in the room would have been lovely - but honestly that is only a very minor comment.

    The entire place was so luxurious, the staff made you feel very special and were very helpful, all of the behind the scenes tours and guides were amazing!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    7.5
    not too foul but over rated and over priced but most staff were excellent except cooks /chefs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wild Encounter Double Room - 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    food not al carte

    being disabled pensioner it was very difficult to move around and food was very ordinary either overcooked or too much not enough choices

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    9.2
    Excellant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Giraffe Tree House
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is only a suggestion but I believe you would give a initial impression if guests were met in the car park by a person who then took over their bags and advised on parking. Similarly help with bags to cars when leaving would help to leave a lasting impression of great service.

    Every thing you did for us was done expertly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2017

    10
    A new experience, an African surprise so close to home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Wild Encounter Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    No comment here.

    Food was excellent, suite was comfortable in every respect, access to the anumal displays was better than anticipated and the staff knowledgeable and entertaining.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: