Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kirketon Hotel Sydney 4 stars

229 Darlinghurst Road, Darlinghurst, 2010 Sydney, Australia

#183 of 316 hotels in Sydney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 985 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    6.3
    In an excellent location for access to the city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s no restaurant and it is a bit tired. Don’t expect a view of any kind from your room either.

    In an excellent location for access to the city! We walked to Harbour Bridge and Opera House, Botanical Gardens and Cockle Bay Wharf

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    9.2
    Everything was really good. Would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only issue I had was that the room was quite a bit smaller than I expected from the photos.

    The bed was really comfy. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Good shower. Location was good, walking distance to Circular Quay.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    5.4
    Small, noisy and uncomfortable room for a week long stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was small and very uncomfortable. The room was very small. The rooms were definitely not soundproofed as advertised, one of the noisiest rooms I have ever stayed in. There were cups and glasses in the room but if they were used they were not cleaned or replaced with fresh ones. I was told at reception that the cleaners would not wash or replace them.

    Location was fairly good. Shower was good although tiles were dirty looking.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    9.6
    Perfect bolt hole for a weekend escape
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Power source beside the beds would be useful.

    The beds were comfortable and soft. I love a good shower and the stream was consistent and very therapeutic.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    4.6
    good location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very small, dark, not particularly clean and noisy room with only a queen bed which was booked for three people (2 adults + a child). We could not ask for any extra bed or sofa bed, however, we were charged for three people. The gym is offsite, not too far, but the pass did not work while our stay (4 nights).

    good location and friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    8.3
    Close to where I needed to be. Staff amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room service was average. Tea bags not topped up, no tissues in the bathroom but overall good. No room to move in the hotel room, only a small aisle behind the bed.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.5
    Nice standard room for a quick over night stay. Close to shops
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom needs an upgrade. Shower water pressure is below average and quite dated.

    Nice and clean standard room, bed was comfy for a quick overnight stay. Staff were accommodating and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    10
    Cosy, stylish for the price, and not generic.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It seems a small thing but there were no facecloths in the bathroom.. and a girl needs to wash her face after taking her makeup off!

    Cosy, stylish for the price, and not generic. Soundproof and great location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    6.0
    Just ok probably look at another motel to stay at in the future
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lifts stairs with heavy suitcase walls very marked an pstched up everywhere in hallways bit of a turn off lsck of power points in room for phone charges not good Shower had work done to shower head an plaster around shower head not painted patched or water proofed wasnt inpressrd with with been told my room wasnt ready but for an extra ,,$20 there is an identical room ready that i could have straight away bit of a scan not impressed would like feed back

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.6
    Great location, amazing cocktail bar and one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leavinh the cocktail bar

    Great location, amazing cocktail bar and one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. An affordable hotel with all the right luxuries.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    8.3
    We had a great stay. Hotel is walk distance from main down town attractions.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Huge closet taking up too much of the room. Only rain shower available makes it virtually impossible to wash children without getting their hair wet.

    Friendly staff, huge bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    6.7
    No lift - made access difficult with a baby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift - made access difficult with a baby. Fridge was more of a cool box, not a proper fridge. Was ok for a short stay but not ideal for longer than two days (baby food and milk take up a lot of room). Parking was not as close to the hotel as expected.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.8
    Very central clean and modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a lot smaller that looked on the pictures. The end of the bed nearly hit the other wall, it wasn't a major issue just bit surprised at how small it was

    Very central clean and modern.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    5.8
    We needed to be close to a hospital.
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property advertised a restaurant on your web site, this restaurant moved on 6 months ago. Property had no lifts, lucky for us we only had hand luggage but we are seniors.

    We needed to be close to a hospital. Hotel did have an excellent whisky/cocktail bar.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    6.3
    Great staff- but bulldoze the building and start again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No elevator either which was surprising. The rooms and decor are falling down, cracked, worn out, stained and very old. Wardrobes were cheap Bunnings kits shoved in the corner. Windows have green slime on them. Hallways smelled of fish sauce (no restaurants however). Once upon a time..... no doubt the bathroom and room were good, but a long, long way from that today. The bar is NOT part of the hotel- you cannot charge to your room. No food nor coffee outlets in the hotel.

    The staff were great.. phoning them was made difficult as it just rang and rang for many attempts at getting through, then just cuts off- no message. I had a problem with getting there and they were very obliging. The only positive of the hotel, its people.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    4.2
    Personally not happy with the service and property. Not recommended as botique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My expectations of the room is not as the same advertise on the website... Rooms are not well groomed.. beddings are not change, coffee cups are not cleaned and i end up washing by my self. The worse is i saw 2 dried cockroach on the floor. Its not worth the money and the experience is worse. Not to recommend to my family and friends.

    Information and communication is very poor. Staff needs to be educated when it comes to the property and services as alot of my questions and request are not addressed. The front office staff is very rude and zero knowledge of direction, they are not friendly at all.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Excellent quirky and cosy hotel well positioned near the heart of Sydney.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel does not have an elevator. I was traveling light and it was not a bother. People with heavy or enormous bags might find this a problem. Outside signage is discreet and might be missed, however, the Aboriginal art gallery two doors down helped point me in the right direction.

    It's quiet inside despite being in a busy location. The red central carpet in the hallways along with the floor-to-ceiling mirrors made the walk in and out feel a bit exotic. The room was clean. Importantly, the hot water reached the first floor shower quickly and did not run out. The hotel is very close to Kings Cross Station so the trip from the airport via the Airtrain, then taking a connecting train to Kings Cross from Central Station was very easy and cheap. It cost under $20 and I doubt you could do the trip in a taxi or uber for that price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.5
    Great location and staff were awesome but facilities were very poor for the price you pay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was subpar, scolding hot or freezing cold. For what we payed we were disappointed in the facilities of the room, the shower head had been installed into the ceiling and looked unfinished

    Comfy beds and great location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.3
    Easily accessable,, great front of house staff .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minor irritants really eg Room lighting - unable to read in bed Tea etc was not restocked daily Room wasn't made up daily

    Easily accessable,, great front of house staff . A value for money hotel near the Sydney CBD

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.8
    just OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    So many things that I didn't like - there was no lift in the building - to carry the heavy luggage you have to struggle going up 2 flights of stairs. I was in a standard room which was tucked away on the 2nd-floor corridor. the TV in the room is right in your head hanging up from the ceiling - you need to be in a very odd position to watch anything. Food selection on the menu was awful and yes very very expensive. Thin walls between the rooms and the corridor, you can easily hear anything and everything happening on the other side of the wall.

    The reception staff was really nice and friendly. The bed was comfy with so many pillows - the hallway decor was nice - the mirrors all around the corridors keep it nice and lit. If you're looking to get a shuttle service from the airport to the hotel or vice versa - I would highly recommend you contact the hotel directly to arrange to pick and drop that will surely fit into your budget - UBER is really expensive for transfers if you are new to the city and thinking of taking that option.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.4
    Wouldn’t book to stay again...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy, uncomfortable bed, cramped space, bathroom fixtures broken, couldn’t open windows (except for small vents in bathroom)

    Good location, not much else going for it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    The location is fantastic! Lovely staff too. BUT expect small rooms and to hear your neighbours.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is zero sound-proofing. So you can hear music from the bar until 1:00am and you can hear everything in the room above you, next to you, and in the hallway. Also, there is very little room to swing that proverbial cat inside your double room.

    The location, the front desk staff, the shower, the bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.5
    paying almost $40 extra for car parking which was circa 400...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    paying almost $40 extra for car parking which was circa 400 metres away. Very difficult to drop off or pick up passengers at the entrance to the motel. Also road works outside the hotel was a bother.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    Good service, clean room - hotel for a city-tour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We could not open the window in our room, we are not used to that, but since the view would have been a wall of another house it is still ok. Fresh air could get in the room via the bathroom window. It's just something that we noticed, but it's not a big deal.

    We really liked the room, it was clean and the coffee/tea was good. Other than that the staff was really friendly and helpful. One night the air-condition did not work as it is supposed to do, so we went to talk to the reception and when we came back to the hotel all was fixed. The bar that is within the hotel is just very very good. One of the best bars we have been to. Big recommendation!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    5.8
    Not good enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a hole in the bathroom door, the shower had mould and ceiling flaking around it. The cleaners did not do a good job abc the public restrooms obviously had a damp issue. I have emailed the manager several times to discuss my points and have had no response. A shame because the hotel had potential.

    The front of house staff were lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.1
    Ok if you don't mind hearing everything in hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms weren't soundproof, you could hear everything. We were kept awake by snoring from room next door and woken to them going to the toilet. Parking is pretty average in Sydney, but their third party provider was waaaaay too expensive considering it's only one entry and exit per 24hrs!

    Location and value was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.3
    Good value for quick overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room sizes were very small and the pics didn't show that, there was about a foot around the bed between the walls. Pretty noisy from outside as well as people walking up and down hallway.

    For an overnight stay it is good value for money and the here are incredibly comfortable. The bathroom was big and clean and the toiletries were lovely!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.3
    First timers in a boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that there is no lift, limited power points, we did find 2 power points before we left but they were above the door my husband is 6 ft 2 and needed a chair to reach them, we also felt there was way too much furniture in such a small space making it hard to move around

    It was inexpensive and also the decor was lovely

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    Kirketon in Sydney tidy, comfortable and excellent customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing to say it s : they don't have a bar to have a coffee for breakfast time but around the area there is a very small coffee shop so nice to grab a good coffee.

    The staff it was amazing Samir and the driver of shuttle bus the bestes !! I recommend this hotel and the bed it was very comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel, hot-spot for junkies though
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couple on the same floor having what sounded like a drug induced psychosis argument. From 3-5am. The screaming was so loud and shrill you would've thought she was being murdered. She was running up and down the halls shouting things that didn't make sense. At this point I was too scared to leave my room. Minibar could have more selection though

    Beds are sooo comfy. Rooms are clean and the hotel has a beautiful boutique feel to it. Front desk is welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.1
    Okay for a short stay, with easy access to the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise levels (floor above and adjacent rooms) can ruin a night's sleep. Layout of the smaller rooms quite uncomfortable. Big walk-in "closet" but with i) no shelves and ii) no hangers! :(

    Perfect location - 5m walk to King's Cross, many restaurants, gym and other amenities close by. For small rooms, bit better than most of its competitors in the neighbourhood.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no safe in the room.

    Location was excellent. Very clean and large room! The staff was extremely friendly and allowed me to stow my luggage both at arrival and departure (I had a late flight).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.9
    The location, friendly staff, comfortable beds.
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bathrobes as listed in description, tv remote batteries may have been going flat because it was difficult to turn the tv on and off but the switch on the side of the tv was difficult to turn on and off as well so maybe tv is faulty. We stayed for 3 nights no coffee and tea refills after first day, and you get charged if you use the small milk from mini bar. There is no restaurant next door now either as it has moved.

    The location, friendly staff, comfortable beds. Shuttle service to airport (only on depature) $16.99 per person. Lots of restaurants, cafes and pub meals within easy walking distance, St Vincents private hospital is within easy walking distance if needing to stay for that purpose (walk through St johns church across the road from hotel it takes you through to victoria street its a great shortcut) Darlinghurst is a nice area to stay in, its easy to get to the city, circular quay and bondi on the buses from location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needs more accessible power points. I had no hot water in the morning - it was lukewarm. We could hear the guests walking around above as - but it is an older building. I would really prefer fresh milk instead of UHT.

    Very nice little hotel, a bit on the quirky side. rooms very adequate and comfortable, Reception staff lovely and happy to assist us. The location is great - easy walking distance to restaurants and cafes.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Classy well-maintained art deco boutique close to good eating and great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is well maintained and has a lovely art deco boutique feel. It is very close to great coffee shops and really good cheap eats. The bed was very comfortable and the room has a good work table. Very pleasant and grat value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    The bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was freaked out when I found out someone entered my room even if I put the Do Not Disturb card. When I came back to my room, I found that pillows were rearranged and someone moved my luggage. I think you need to respect the guest's privacy request.

    The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was chilly and poor lighting in the shower area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.3
    I was VERY disappointed with booking.
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was VERY disappointed with booking.Com 1) because I booked based on the price $108 per night for 2 adults and one child. It then turned in $159 per night, cos we had to add a bed for our child. When we arrived we were told children under 12 were expected to sleep in one double bed with their parents. That's just bloody ridiculous in ANY adults opinion. The Kirkton hotel was clean and staff helpful, but booking.Com gets 0/10 for how they handle pricing and bookings...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.9
    Very well located for a reasonable price. Good for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Once was funky and cool, now a bit dated. Not a super comfortable room, dark, poorly lit bathroom that was chilly (it was winter) with only louver windows.

    The staff were pleasant and helpful on arrival and the hotel is in a terrific spot.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Perfect last minute retreat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This didn’t phase me personally but a caution to those with bad backs/knees; the rooms are one 1st & 2nd floors & there’s no lifts.

    Check in was a breeze & the room was quite cosy. Front desk staff friendly, full length mirrors, value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Central to everything ABSOLUTE WINNER!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in the bathroom? You have to get close to the mirror to properly see your face but thats really not much of an issue.

    The bed was like a CLOUD, the bathroom lighting while not great for applying make up - honestly, the rain head shower makes up for it and the gorgeous Manuka honey body products! Such a great little room for coming back after a day doing ALL THE THINGS to kick back on the bed and RELAX! Definitely staying there again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    4.2
    Will never return
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tiny bathroom. No hot water for second person as it was warm. Had to boil the kettle on the floor due to lack of power points. No lift to first floor. Restaurant was closed. Walls were thin with risque noise coming from other guests room.

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.7
    Great location, great service, no elevator and small rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator! We were with a person who was disabled and didn't realise that there were no elevators. Room size was tiny - had to turn sideways to get from the door to the bathroom. Air con wasn't too good, on 30C and still not warm. Reception tried to reset it but it still wasn't warm enough.

    Location was great - quiet despite being in the city on a busy road. Service was excellent and friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    Bed comfort was on another level !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was alittle "worn", the lighting in both rooms for the shower was poor. The heater/ac didnt seem to want to work, and the bed side lamps flickered alot.

    The bed was just on another planet in terms of the comfort, it was amazing to the point of not wanting to get up in a morning. Room 335, would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.4
    Disaster
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had some problems with the key, I couldn’t enter in the room for 20 minutes (was 4am) and in the morning no one apologized. Beds really short.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very small and dark, unable to open window. Minimum lighting.

    Good value for money for a hotel in the heart of the city. Very small and dark room, bit claustrophobic. Bed was comfortable but small. (just a double, no queen) Room was clean and had everything you needed. Good hotel i you just want a bed at a very convenient location. Would not choose this hotel if you're planning on spending long periods of time in your room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Kirkton provided us with a comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Late check-in time , (as advertised) 3.00pm was difficult for us. We had taken the red-eye flight from WA, and were very tired. We were allowed to leave our luggage at the hotel and luckily we found some sunshine and benches down by the river to have a nap on. There was poor ABC TV channel reception in our room on the 3rd floor.

    Kirkton provided us with a comfortable stay. Proximity to Kings Cross, lots of cafes, the railway and Fitzroy markets was a bonus.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.0
    It was OK.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was less than happy about having to haul my luggage up the two flights of stairs - the fact that there is no elevator should be clearer when making the booking. There is also a dangerous step at the bottom of the stairs. Check-in isn't until 3.00pm, which I thought was very late, or you can pay an extra $20 to get into the room two hours earlier. It would have been really nice if I had come back at 3.00pm and found my luggage already in my room. Also, I didn't end up having the breakfast because it was way too expensive. I am a light eater in the morning and almost $20.00 would be really poor value for me. Perhaps offer a light breakfast for half the price?

    The staff were friendly. It is in a charming old building. The bed was nice and I slept well despite the traffic outside.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    I was happy with the place.the
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The safe didn't work. The light in the shower didn't work. Corridor noise was at times irritating

    Being close to my work. Rooms were adequate

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Convenient and comfortable. Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be perfect if the rooms were updated. Comfortable. But tired. Bedside lights confusing and inoperable. Minibar inside a wardrobe that opens into the side of the bed!? No pope point for kettle!! Housekeeper’s should know not to chat in corridore. Definitely not soundproof to hall. I did like the place. Just saying

    Shower and bathroom are great. 321 has windows. Fresh air! 24!hr check in

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.0
    Worst hotel for a family I’ve ever stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to lug family of 4 suit cases up flights of stairs no assistance from staff 4 family member 3 adults one child had a king bed and a single sofa , child had to sleep with parents. Single sofa was like sleeping on a brick Had booked for 4 nights following week cancelled booking Would never book here again

    Friendliness of staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.1
    Great location. Could use some updates.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could have been cleaner i.e. grout needs a good clean, shower curtain needs to be replaced. Water pressure in shower is weak. Beds are super soft and sinky, which may suit some but not me. Overall, could do with an update to linens and general furbishments.

    Great location. Reduced price parking available nearby. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    Staff were friendly, the rooms are great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionists weren’t too helpful when it came to finding different places, and couldn’t recommend any good places to eat or find your way around. But that’s really minor & would be fine if you’re one for doing your own research!

    Staff were friendly, the rooms are great value for money. Provides everything you’d need for a comfy stay. It was clean & I’d come back for sure! Close to everything (including a Coles Supermarket)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.0
    The location was excellent so if you want to stay somewhere...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cleanliness of the hotel was quite poor - make up marks were on the door of the bathroom and it looked as if the room had been forgotten about for some time. Staff on check-in were direct and uninterested. Not exactly a welcoming arrival so I would advise customer service training for staff.

    The location was excellent so if you want to stay somewhere with ease of access to the CBD and surrounding inner city suburbs, this is great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.8
    Good location, but tiny rooms with no natural light
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are tiny, basically a shoe box. The TV is on the roof which makes it only possible to watch if you're lying down on the bed. Not very comfortable. And no natural light in the room

    Good location and close to some great cafes and restaurants

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    All great except for noise
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The creaking floorboards above which woke me up each day of my stay when the guests above woke up (earlier than me on both days). I was on level 3 near the fire escape stairs. The last morning I really needed my sleep (alarm was set for 6:40am so hardly very late) and I got woken up at 5am by the people above walking around. I had a full on day of work ahead and it made it very hard not having enough sleep. I put in headphones to try to go back to sleep and it didn’t work. Could also hear noise like throat clearing. I unfortunately would not stay here again because of the noise, as rest when on a work trip is critical, which is disappointing as otherwise it was a great place. 😕

    Clean, tidy, great location, food at cafe for brekkie yum, good staff, well presented.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Very welcoming
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to dislike; perhaps one criticism would be where to boil the kettle, as there was no power point in a convenient position

    Comfy bed, quiet and clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.7
    Great for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark shower, shower curtain, not screen, water pressure very poor and hard to set a water temp in shower,

    Modern inclusions, small room, but fine for short stay. Room was nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    Staff was friendly and helpful, room was clean and good value for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was fine but at our age it's unlikely we'll get another opportunity to take a trip like this again. By the time we get home we will be gone nearly 2 months.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Short but romantic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When booking the website promises an I pod dock and luxurious bath robes which unfortunately weren't delivered.

    I enjoyed the extra comfy bed and how spacious the room was. Although I had to upgrade it from a standard one as it appeared quite small in pictures.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    Average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ensuite needs a renovation. The basin doesn’t drain so water pools. Toilet seat does not fold down like it should. Creaking floorboards from guest room above. Recently installed wall lights that needs painting around the wiring. Light switches that are missing, and kettles with leads that are too short for any of the GPOs.

    Well located with comfortable beds. My room had an ironing board with a decent iron.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Great little boutique hotel for a short weekend stay in Sydney. Perfect for a couple on a budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room had a view of a brick wall, but for the price and location you can't have too many complaints.

    Close to everything and good value for the money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Very Comfortable, everything you need supplied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Room was clean and tidy , excellent hairdryer available , Iron and ironing board in room T2 teas x 4 and biscults, Double size shower, comfortable bed and TV Breakfast was supplied by a lovely trendy cafe a couple of doors down with beautiful arched windows and climbing plants ,and are offered a selection of items to choose for breakfast. Down stairs is also a trendy bar/ coocktail lounge (seperate from hotel) very well stocked bar and a lovely mood to it , reminded me of a 1920s feel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the fact it was a 3 min walk to the King’s cross train station, we also loved the fact we had plenty of options for places to eat.Also had free Wi-Fi that was quick and were able to watch HD on the iPad from Netflix when we were chilling

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.8
    It was very close to where i had to be
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eveything was fine except for the bathroom the toilet had not been cleaned. There were feces on the out side of the toilet.for the price i paid for the room i expect a clean bathroom

    It was very close to where i had to be

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.9
    Completely acceptable for a one night stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buildings exhaust fan was right outside my window so with the door closed and the tv on that was not a problem, but was tough to fall asleep. Small room but not really an issue for a single person stay.

    Completely acceptable for a one night stay. Could park conveniently. Many services right around the corner. Staff friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location for where we wanted to be and very easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There wasn't a lift which was fine with us but for elderly could pose a problem.

    Perfect location for where we wanted to be and very easy access into Darling Harbour etc. Lovely clean rooms with good facilities. I knew the room would be small from previous reviews but for us that didn't matter. Very good value for the money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    5.4
    Location is good, it’s close the metro station.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift or elevator in the hotel so it’s not suitable for aged people at all. My room was on the second floor so once again it’s not good to go up the stairs again and again. The exhaust fan never worked in the bathroom so had to leave the bathroom window open and it was cold as. A few lights in my room didn’t work as well😭

    Location is good, it’s close the metro station. Less than 5 minutes walk. Close to darling harbour as well just walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Shower from the movies
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had some poor quality services. The bedroom was on the smaller side and the lighting was a little too moody.

    It was clean, stylish and in a great location. The cocktail bar was great. The staff were super nice. The bed was so comfy and the shower was like out of a movie.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.4
    Great location & good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have noticed that the hotel is a little aged. The paint is peeling off in the bathroom. The carpet is looking a bit old. Could do with a little face lift (especially the bathroom). But overall good value for money in Sydney and I would stay again.

    We have stayed at this hotel three times now. I love the location and bar in the hotel. Generally prices are quite good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    Good transport links
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift (however were offered assistance)

    Good transport links Clean and friendly staff Cute cocktail bar Luggage storage Close to food and drinks establishments

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.9
    Not bad for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner leeked and had issues with the TV. After 2 remotes they still didnt work.

    Good location to what we needed. Comfortable bed and great bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.5
    Great location, what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathrooms however are in dire need of an upgrade... tiles missing from the floor, the entire shower ceiling was peeling off (seemed like severe water damage, desperately needs attention). Otherwise, everything else was great.

    The bed was super comfy and the location of this place is top notch. It's good value for money and the staff are very willing to help with anything, making check in a breeze. Loved the addition of a walk in robe and reasonably price minibar!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.0
    Not great value for $$$
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no lift, had to drag luggage upstairs. The room is dated and the toilet and vanity were broken. Very noisy with others coming in early hours drunk. Not for families.

    Easy access to the city

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing in the extreme.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has no lift so lugging heavy luggage up the stairs was quite challenging. Our room was small, with very little space to hang/put away clothes and with nothing on which to rest our cases, we were falling over our bags! The room looked out onto a brick wall which explained why the curtains were drawn when we walked in. Our final complaint is that we had a towel with a large hole in it! We accept that the room we booked was a standard room and described as 21m square but the photo alongside the room description bears no resemblance and is very misleading. We cannot recommend this hotel. We have travelled for 8 weeks, stayed in 25 different hotels and motels and this is the first we have felt compelled to check out of early. Stayed just the one night not 4 as booked. It was interesting that we weren’t asked why we wished to move on, or offered a better room. Suggest people do some serious background reading before booking.

    The young man at reception on our arrival was charming and extremely helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Check in was a bit slow at about 10 mins per guest, no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in was a bit slow at about 10 mins per guest, no problem unless you are pressed for time. No lifts, so not ideal for elderly. But rooms were very quiet and clean and location and price are excellent, so top marks for value for money. Parking about 400m away in Bayswater Road.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: