Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Plus Launceston 4.5 stars

3 Earl Street, 7250 Launceston, Australia

#16 of 33 hotels in Launceston

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1533 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    Location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King and Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was our 3rd stay here and this time we found the cleaning staff very rude and pushy. We were out of the room for a couple of hours Saturday morning only coming back for half hour before heading off to the footy. The cleaner told us she was off in half an hour. So we had to leave in 15 mins. Front desk was very friendly and helpful. But I must admit the last 2 times were better than this time around.

    Location is excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed squeaked every time you turned over or got out of bed. Also the decor could do with some updating.

    Location was great, handy to everything. The staff were very pleasant and the tram restaurant was also good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location for access to the Princess Theatre.
    • Family with young children
    • King and Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no problems with the hotel. Little extras like higher quality tea and coffee available in the rooms would be a bonus.

    Perfect location for access to the Princess Theatre. Clean, comfortable and quiet. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King and Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very very average. No fan which meant steam was running dirty condensation down wall. The fixtures were dated and some were rusty.

    Staff were well presented and very helpful. Beds were very comfy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    My request for early check in due to attending a wedding was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When calling to confirm, the number of steps to get through to concierge is too many. Also I had to ring 5 times before i got through. When i got through to reception i was hung up on and then put on hold for about 3 minutes. Not a great customer experience. I understand reception gets busy but this is your first impression and it should be a good one.

    My request for early check in due to attending a wedding was accommodated. That was great experience and truly appreciated. Thank you

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.3
    The location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was not open for dinner and the room service menu was limited. The vegetable frittata was the only vaguely vegetarian option on the menu and covered in a gross plastic cheese when it arrived.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.4
    Hotel is tired and in need of some refurbishment. Carpet well worn, furniture old.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is tired and in need of some refurbishment. Carpet well worn, furniture old, maintenance trolley full of equipment left in hall for 2 days. Appears no one cares for the place

    Room service food was of a good quality

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    Excellent place to stay .
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First impressions the reception little dated with the sofas looking a little shabby and the carpets around the hotel were not the best.

    Excellent good value for money .Staff very friendly ,and the food was awesome .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    it was fantastic kids and i had a great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not great water pressure in showers,

    nothing was too much trouble. staff were friendly always smiling and very helpful. will definately stay again in the future. super child friendly place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Overall I was happy with my stay. Staff were top notch and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mingy with the toilet paper. I would expect double thickness not single. The food in the bar (the only thing open) was awful. Chips served were soggy, unsalted and not very warm...not what I expected at all. I ordered a full breakfast (room service) and while I understand that getting hot food to your room is hard this was really disappointing.

    The room was splendid. Very comfortable and clean. There was a small cobweb wafting over my bed but I'm happy to let that slide. Staff were super friendly and helpful. Good hot chocolate with room service breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Convenient, clean and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Meals were excellent and service was really good too. Room was clean and the whole experience was as good as it was last year. Love staying there. The staff will go the extra mile and dietary requirements were catered to with no problem. I will be back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.3
    Neat, clean, comfortable. Great location for work visit. Good value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King and Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large room, neat clean and comfortable with plenty of light. Really quiet and efficient air conditioning. Neat clean bathroom, good quality toiletries and big fluffy towels, shower over small bath which some people might like, I'm not a fan. Good working desk and fast WiFi. Tasty room service meal. Nice breakfast available in the 1st floor dining or room service option. Parking on site at $ 6 which is pretty reasonable for a CBD location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Great room at a good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay for parking, it really was not expensive though ($6) and the only “negative” to our stay.

    Great location (walking distance to everything in the city and very close to City Park) and great value for money. The room was bigger than we expected and had a nice big TV! Very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.4
    This hotel is adequate for a short stay, centrally located - but is hard to find off Brisbane street
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel looks tired, doesn’t smell great in the ground floor lift area and many of the carpets are stained and thread -bare. Cheaper hotels do not need to look neglected when it comes to maintenance.

    Staff were friendly, attentative and helpful and the rooms were clean and well serviced.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.5
    The staff were friendly, checking in and out were fast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were friendly, checking in and out were fast. The room was basic, beds were comfortable. We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was nice but have to wait a bit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    fabulous stay. My go to hotel in Launceston. the staff are incredibly nice and helpful. The onsite restaurant and bar are great. I require a bathroom with special access, and as a frequent traveller, I can say this room provided one of the best designed bathrooms I have experienced

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.1
    I enjoyed my stay and would recommend.
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some staff were not particularly friendly, unfortunately. Had interactions with reception and cleaners. I am used to a warmer welcome and departure. Although I engaged with the receptionist, on departure there were no pleasantries, I wasn't asked how my stay was etc.

    Great location and clean rooms. Everything you need in the room. Good to see a eco friendly approach in water use etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Situated next door to the Princess Theatre makes it the ideal place to stay when attending a show.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to pick fault it would be having to pay for parking.

    The bed was almost as comfortable as my own. The stay was worth it for this alone!! The location is central and the staff were friendly and efficient

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Such an easy walk to restaurants and shops.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to ask staff to bring up a remote as there was none fir tv. Also they only leave 2 coffee pods - not enough for one on arrival and one in the morning !!

    Such an easy walk to restaurants and shops. Comfortable bed and nice large tv

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay in great comfort in a wonderful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Leaving, we had such a good time and comfortable stay it was hard to pack and move on !!

    The hotel was so conveniently located in the heart of the city centre. The rooms were modern, clean and comfortable, the Tram lounge bar and restaurant were great and the food lovely. The staff were helpful and there was paid secure parking on site. They had the added bonus of Netflix in the rooms and changed our room for one with a lovely bath with no problem at all. 10/10

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.1
    Great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from other rooms and the street. Parking was tight but at least it was available, even if for a fee.

    Huge comfy bed! Great location. Value for money!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful place 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved staying here with our children. Very comfortable, beds are the best beds I have slept in and a nice quite place to stay. Very clean and friendly staff. We will stay here for now on when travelling to Launceston.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic location that suited our stay.
    • Family with young children
    • King and Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking wasn't always easy to access but that is the compromise for location. Small matter of housekeeping, sheer curtains were unhooked in a few spots making them a little difficult to close.

    Fantastic location that suited our stay. Room (incl bathroom) was clean and tidy and the bedding was comfy. Definitely value for money and will stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice clean room in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King and Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could clearly hear the occupants of adjoining rooms. Luckily this wasn’t an issue for us but could be a major problem if your neighbours were rowdy.

    Provision of Netflix was a bonus we appreciated. Comfortable room. Our son loved the tram restaurant on site.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slighty expensive rooms for what they are. Breakfast - there was not enough food out to cater for the amount using dining room. Have stayed here many times and always seems to be same problem.

    Great location. Bed very comfy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    Would definately return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived from a late flight, and were able to check in quickly so that we were able to go to the tram bar and eat before heading to bed. The food was amazing and the staff were willing to wait until we were finished with making us feel rushed. Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    Location was awesome, 10mins walk to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confusion over the prepayment , had already paid and needed to pay again only to have that money (apparently - hasn’t happened yet) refunded in a few days. Caused a lot of stress on the first night of our stay due to an unexpected extra $~430 out of our holiday money. Noisy at night from cars with stupid loud exhausts . Not hotels fault.

    Location was awesome, 10mins walk to everything. Very comfy bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Launceston
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was over-rated, too expensive and not enough choice for mid-range meals.

    Good location, clean, staff were super helpful and friendly. Room was modern (except the bathroom was a bit outdated). Netflix was a bonus, watched movies all night..!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    Perfect spot in town, walking distance to cafes, bars,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect spot in town, walking distance to cafes, bars, restaurants, and tourist attractions. Discounted parking fees, guest laundry and the Tramcar bar/restaurant was handy - happy hour and good food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Great place to stay, close to shopping mall. Bed was extremely comfortable! Breakfast delicious!😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just felt the bathroom needed an uplift. It felt outdated, floor tiles and tiles in shower. Plenty of room but looking a bit sad.

    The bed was very comfortable. We had everything we needed. Staff were very helpful. Breakfast was delicious. We used room service and were thoroughly satisfied.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    easy to find the hotel location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't know that we can pay parking fee at the hotel, so we pay at Parking meter outside. So we pay twice.

    easy to find the hotel location. The staffs were really nice. We really enjoy the view of our room. it was beautiful with big window (fifth floor). Value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Very comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar was too small in the evenings to cater for guests dining in and dining room was too small for guests in the morning

    The staff were very efficient. Welcoming. Helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    Launceston Stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in Launceston. Good value for money and good room size . Nice to be able to have a bath after a long hike. Onsite restaurant Tram car is also great to sit down and relax.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    We do like the centrality of Best Western Launceston and especially the lovely staff..
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet was in need of replacement on Fifth floor. Very worm and wirh some nasty stains like chewing gum on it.

    The immediate response from desk staff on being informed our room was effected by smoke (even though venue is 100% smoke free) which had caused my eyes to react badly. Thay gave us a fresh room. We realize you'll always have some smokers who disregard 'smoke free'. We also were grateful that you still have a Gideons Bible in each room. We especially liked the Espresso machine with great coffee (instead of the old instant variety) Thank you!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.7
    Only slept there so I guess it served its purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a “hair” problem when we checked in, so we were moved to another room and that toilet had previous occupants liquid over it, but lovely lady cleaned it straight away

    Location was good, walking distance to town. Staff didn’t charge us the $12 for parking because we had a room issue

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable enviroment and no hassel type accomodation
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception service was a bit lacking when we wanted to order room service. I'm still waiting for them to get back to me.

    Comfortable rooms and well appointed. Cosy bar area and a good menu in the bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Quality overnighter
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King and Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed two staff at Reception, bathrooms were due for renovation.

    Good location, top quality food at Snappers onsite restaurant and friendly staff. Good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.3
    The location was very convenient, and the room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King and Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is tired with frayed carpet, chipped painting on walls, a fairly dated bathroom and no pictures on one wall (yet two hooks for paintings to be hung). This tired State was reflected in the staff at breakfast - they lacked friendly engagement to explain what was available, although were polite.

    The location was very convenient, and the room was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.0
    The only good thing is the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was awful, the grout needs to be bleached and the tiles need a good scrub. The carpet is filthy and covered in stains. The bed was hard. The aircon doesn’t work well.

    Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Accommodation was as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding the hotel made easier with GPS. Vehicle parking could be a little congested though adjacent to hitel

    Well located, accommodation was to an expected standard and well serviced.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly hotel, well serviced and close to all facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is becoming quite dated. Cleaning could be improved and bathroom facilities need improvement.

    Staff were as always very helpful & pleasant. Service was very good and location is very good. Good to see the TV systems have been updated.I have been at this hotel many times and always happy to return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.5
    Neat tidy and good location. Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear other guests walking around the hallway and lift area-some people were chatting out the front at 7am.

    Decent accom for the price. Clean and comfortable. Good location and walking distance to most places.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Central location and great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King and Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only thing is the shower over the bath, but not really a huge issue because the water was hot and great water pressure too.

    Have stayed before - central location; friendly and welcoming front of house; rooms are spacious and beds super comfortable. Love the 11am checkout and not having to rush. Will definitely stay again and recommend to friends.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    A convenient sleep-over place when flying in and out of Launceston.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was a little bit hard to find in the dark. It would be very helpful were a clearly visible sign placed on the main road.

    Hotel is close to a pub which has great meals.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall the hotel is excellent value for money, but perhaps the bathrooms could do with a little make over.

    The hotel is in an excellent location. The buffet breakfast was quite good. The staff were very helpful. What we enjoyed the most were the beds - they were seriously the most comfortable beds we have slept in!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    A convenient spot to stop in Launceston
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lobby and entrance could do with some work - not overly inviting. The boys doing drags in the street for half the night was not ideal.

    A nice clean room, but nothing exciting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    location great, hotel need upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi was not working well on and off all the time, so we switched to mobile data instead as I remember in the pictures, some one looks like helping as porter but turned up when we get there, no porter.....great,,,,,all 4 bags/luggages pram, cot, etc we lifted our self... the entrences of the hotel should be better look....need upgrade I think

    location was great room was ok check in was fine

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    Very central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very central. Hotel staff very helpful with restaurant recommendations and accommodating with latest possible check out time. Beds comfortable. Bathrooms and carpet very dated but for the price, it is a small sacrifice. Would recommend for short stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.9
    Good location, staff and value, but dated and smelly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms smelt gross - 421 and 423 smelt like old smells covered up by other fragrances. At 5am outside they started to demolish a metal fence- metal grating on metal- until 6am. Not the fault of the hotel but ruined sleep.

    Location was good. Staff were lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.5
    Handy central location. The bed was king size and very comfortable. Would stay here again.
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiles in the bathroom were mouldy. Could do with some extra attention. Extra milk sachets would be great.....:-)

    Handy location. Room was comfortable for our needs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Our grandchildren loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One girl only at check in there was 10 people ahead of me. Hence I was waiting for 20mins to ge able to check in. I felt sorry for the lass she was totally under pressure but remaind calm & friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    It’s worthy your spending value, convenient and nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King and Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel can change a higher standard quilt cover and sheet to improve guests sleeping quality.

    The hotel is in the city center, very convenient to walk around to the surrounding restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Overall we were very happy with our stay at Best Western Plus Launceston and we would stay there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We thought the beverage costs were very high, in comparison to other locations we have utilised previously.

    Staff were excellent. Car parking right outside the door and fee of $6 per night was great value. In house restaurant and Bar, with happy hour each evening. The food was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Nice stay.
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First in first served with the parking situation. The shared carpark is not big enough for everyone so if you manage to get a park you would think twice about taking your car out somewhere to go for a look around or for a meal somewhere out of walking range.

    Great position to town and most facilities. Good food and drink options at hotel but plenty of little restaurants close by.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King and Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception had no maps of the city/local area Bathroom was pretty dated

    Great location just a stones throw from a lot of dining options and the Centre of Launceston. Room was very comfortable. Good value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    A great stay in a very convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really hate the recent practice of giving you a sheet, quilt, then another sheet. You either boil (and this quilt appeared to be rated suitable for blizzards) or freeze if you discard it. Why oh why can't they give you a BLANKET as well?! Yes, I guess we could've put the aircon on to make it cooler, but that just seemed ridiculous.

    Excellent location right in the CBD, walking distance to everywhere including the Cataract Gorge. Good, affordable in-house restaurant open over Easter. Very friendly staff willing to go the extra mile (as in the lovely young lady who brought us up a jug of milk). Very comfy mattress.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    6.7
    Stay was fine but nothing special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King and Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room needed a bit of maintenance but was still OK. It is 3.5 star standard. The restaurant is average.

    The Hotel in is in a very good location in the center of the city. The prices vary a lot during the year and I stay here or the Grand Chancellor depending on the price offered which can vary 100%. If the prices are the same I would choose the Grand Chancellor but both are in very good locations.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.2
    It was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is tucked away behind Princess theatre. It was difficult to find when we came.

    The duvet was extra warm. Staff was helpful, and checkout was easy and fast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.5
    Great except for parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was terrible - to have to park 2 blocks away in the rain was less than ideal! There was a show on next door which used parking space in the shared car park. Maybe we chose the wrong day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.9
    Launceston's amazing. Given the reputation for produce, food could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We added breakfast to our stay at the last minute for convenience. I really wish we hadn't. We're later risers and every morning upon entering the restaurant, we were met with most of the tables having 'reserved' signs on them. Staff told us to use other tables as they were setting up for dinner. It was 9am.

    Bacon was cooked well...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.1
    All the doors slamming ruined great sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good sleep until people enter the corridors and every noise filters under the generous gaps under the doors. This is exacerbated by the doors being rather well sprund and slamming with great force. Enough that the windows rattle. Three nights and mornings of that, and I will be staying at the Grand Chancellor or a unit in future.

    The bed is the highlight of this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    6.7
    Location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff in check in, were rude and unhelpful. Very noisy rooms, we could hear lots of noise from adjoining rooms, and the bed was very lumpy and uncomfortable

    Location is great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    A great location for visiting Launceston with lovely views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a great view with a wonderful view. The room was quiet (except for one night with noisy people in the adjacent room) and was modern, clean and comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    Clean and well appointed with friendly and professional staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King and Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    External noise outside of the hotels control. Yelling people, cars doing burn outs and the Church clock chiming on the hour every hour and especially in the morning for half an hour before 10! Lucky I was checking out

    A clean, well appointed room and hotel in all areas with friendly and professional staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast. So many people the food did not go around. Coffee machine did not work for the 3 days we were there. Breakfast was totally unimaginative. Definitely not worth the price!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Good spot for a short stop in Launceston.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unexpectedly having to pay for parking was a bit annoying as I thought it was included when I booked but was not too expensive.

    Was clean and comfortable and good value for money. Loved how close it was to City Park but we were unfortunately to late too see the monkeys. Had a reasonably priced dinner in the bar with our 2 children and enjoyed it. Lovely service on check in and out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location in a well positioned hotel in Launceston. Very well priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms and hotel furnishings and decor are a bit dated.

    Great hotel for one or two night's stay. Perfect location and great price. Great sized bathroom in the family room we had.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    6.7
    Ok with no bells and whistles
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Laundry facilities didn’t work properly , parking was problematic and bathroom pretty average .

    Hotel is ok , basic and a bit tired but great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    5.8
    Not very enjoyable. Would not stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room faced onto lane and Main Street, very loud music Friday night with traffic noise on each of the 3 nights we stayed. We waited over an hour for our meal with only 2 other couples in the restaurant.

    Room and bed were comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.6
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stepping out of a bathtub after a shower is dangerous! In this day and age people who want baths should pay for extra water and do it at home!

    Location was excellent, restaurant was great! Staff were lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King and Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that we had to pay for the Carpark.

    We liked that the property was right in the city centre of Launceston. Shops and restaurants were all in the walking distance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.3
    The pillows were too high, I had to remove the pillow and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King and Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows were too high, I had to remove the pillow and sleep on something out of my back pack. The height of the pillow was making it uncomfortable to sleep. Otherwise the accommodation was just fine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.8
    Very nice and comfy with exception to trying to book out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one staff member at the desk. Kept going away to check rooms when people were trying to book out leaving guests frustrated at not knowing if anyone was working.

    Very comfortable and location was excellent. Within walking distance of everything in the CBD

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.1
    Good staff, good location but ordinary / outdated in appearance, carpet-curtains- paint- tiles etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room could do with an update. The room didn't look like the advertised picture

    The location is great, late checkout option was great. soft pillow option appreciated

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.8
    I had a fabulous time. Good night sleep was key:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to pay for parking. It should have been complimentary to the guests. There were no swimming spa facilities. The place looked more like a motel than hotel

    The comfy bed and location of the hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: