Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Travelodge Hotel Hobart 4 stars

167 Macquarie Street, 7000 Hobart, Australia

#39 of 52 hotels in Hobart

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1406 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    5.8
    Very Very small extra small room ...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Compact
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was so small ... you can hardly fit 2 singe beds in to the room and one is basically next to the bathroom door.

    Location and friendly staff at the reception

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.9
    enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room and bathroom was too small, and the pillows were too flat. I had a hard time working the air conditioner. A toaster would have been handy.

    The staff were helpful and tried to accommodate our needs. It was in a good position to walk into town and to the information centre for our tours.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    7.1
    Great hotel for a budget stay, with good location - walking distance to shops and food.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Ask for an extra pillow, you only get one and they are VERY thin. Rooms aren't very sound proof, it was a little noisy next door.

    Close to city centre, great location for shopping. Rooms were clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.6
    It was my first visit to Hobart but definitely not my last. Would stay at the Travelodge again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was clean, the beds were very comfortable. Room was cleaned each day and all the facilities we could need. It was situated close to the markets and shops in the city. Plenty of places to eat in every direction.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.8
    Overal stay was okay it suited our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Compact
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was much smaller than I thought I had booked. Not much room for two cases and two people or room between the single beds. I also wasn't aware I had to pay $12 per day for parking

    Hotel was located close to things Staff were friendly and fixed the key card up straight away when we had a problem

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    8.3
    Staff were lovely and helpful.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although I liked my room, I have never slept in such a hard bed in all my life. In fact I got very little sleep because I kept waking up because I was uncomfortable.

    Staff were lovely and helpful. Room was nice. Good location too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Book here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park was small and awkward

    Excellent location. Close to shops and Salamanca Wharf. Staff were extremely welcoming and went above and beyond. Excellent value for money. Great view from the room we stayed in.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.5
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given the key to the wrong room and the keys very rarely worked, we had to keep asking for new ones. The bathroom sink didn’t drain well. There were only two glasses / towels in a room for three people.

    Location, comfortable room and bed, cleanliness

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    6.3
    Too small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Compact
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very very small. Hard to shut the door in the bathroom. Could not park at the hotel, had to park away from the hotel. We weren’t told about breakfast and booking it prior, costing more 😞

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    Great location, average sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Take your own pillow. The pillows were below average and didn't offer much support. Even with extra pillows they were still flat and we were uncomfortable. Room was tidy but dusty and had a slightly musty smell. Was very grateful for the window to let some fresh air in.

    Great location. Perfect for visiting Hobart with most points of interest within walking distance. Shower was small but great water pressure and plenty of hot water. Parking is part of the complex but can be tight getting in and out when the car park is full.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    Convenient and friendly accommodation for business
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds slightly too hard for my liking, but room was cleaned and made up every day

    Efficient and friendly staff and ease of checking out when we were running late.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.3
    Good value for a basic hotel
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Having said that the croissants were lovely, the scrambled eggs, on the other hand, were like foam rubber...dreadful.

    Room was very clean If you book in for breakfast ahead of time, it costs $10, which is good value. The croissants were lovely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.8
    The location is great - it's within easy walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Compact
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We originally selected through booking.com that we would need a parking space but that wasn't communicated to the hotel and on arrival we found it was allocated on a first serve basis. The complact room is very small and lacks basic amenities like a shower cap. The cleanliness was not great - our "fresh" towels had someone else's hair on them. The bathtub was stained and the enamel was chipped.

    The location is great - it's within easy walking distance to Salamanca and the city.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Considering i spent two weeks there ($1,400) i would have expected to be put in an amazing room to reap the benefits of an immaculate view. I got a view of the city on the lowest floor. Plus, my laptop mysteriously was damaged, and the Staffs idea of friendly service is looking away and ignoring You, and the "make my room clean' sign is pointless, when the cleaning staff merely tidy. I believe i was treated unfairly considering my length and cost of stay. I will certainly go elsewhere when i am in the area.

    The one staff Member that was friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    Friendly helpful staff and good central location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Compact
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The foyer and dining room decor needs an update. It is dated and does not give a good first impression. By contrast The bedroom decor is lovely and calm and reflects the good standard of the hotel.

    The excellent service and friendliness of the staff from reception to dining room to cleaning staff made my stay enjoyable in Hobart Travelodge. The room was comfy and quiet and clean. Breakfast - good selection of cereals and fruits.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    I loved it !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Compact
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old conditioner and the hotel itself is a bit old

    Well isolated rooms, you don’t hear any noise Every room is equipped with an iron and a hair dryer Room service made our beds every day Diversified breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Good location to the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room was on the fourth floor and was very noisy.

    The room had a microwave and was quiet on the 9th floor. Mae sure you are away from the lifts as they are noisy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    6.7
    Close walk to all Hobart has to offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Compact
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is very small. The shower was too small for my husband who is 6'6 to fit in. The air con is too cold for us soft tourists.

    Great location close walk to all the sights.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    The staff were more than helpfull.
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like to have seen MORE fresh fruit for breakfast.

    The staff were more than helpfull. Service was done with a smile. Breakfast had a good selection. Thank you

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    6.3
    It is ok for a short stay, very close to everything you need
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought parking was included but it was not and was an additional charge (I didn't mind just a heads up), but inconveniently the parking location was down the street. The room was ok however the bathroom was mould stained and the elevators were incredibly slow and you couldn't use the stairs to go up the levels and most times there was big groups of people waiting to use these.

    The location is good, the room was comfortable enough for 1 night, probably wouldn't want to stay there much longer or you'd want to upgrade to a better room for better comfort.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Memorable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff! Brooke on reception was very welcoming. She also organised a gift for us after we told her we were celebrating our 30 th Wedding Anniversary!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Definitely worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner wasn't working at its best.

    The room was clean and cleaned daily, the towels and the bed sheets were changed every day and were all clean too. The staff was helpful about our car parking space problem. The location is also good, walking distance to the city centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom extremely small

    Good value for money.Easy access. Staff very polite professional & helpful. Great value for money full breakfast. Good parking. Within easy walking distance of main sites and shopping

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    2.5
    appealing rates but it is a rip off. Hidden charges that make U pay as if you stayed at Ritz Carlton
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Avoid this property. Be aware of the extra charges when you pay with credit card. My stay cost US$138 and I was charged an extra US15 for using credit card. Where are they located? In an underdeveloped country that doesn’t have hight technology and requires people to carry cash for all transactions? Really Travelodge hotels? This is Australia people, and you are a worldwide company! C’mon!!,

    Staff is friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.5
    Staff were friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Compact
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need a bit of an update, mine was very small but comfortable. Unfortunately you can hear your neighbours very clearly too. Wifi was capped but kept dropping out.

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.9
    Clean room, comfortable bed and nice location, however I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Compact
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra charge for parking being a guest.

    Clean room, comfortable bed and nice location, however I think the room was a bit stretched with the furniture. Extra charge for parking not being mentioned in the booking is quite disappointing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have a 14 year old who asked if there would be a pool," first world problem really", when there is an awesome aquatic centre 500m up the road, I personally didn't like paying for parking it was only $12 overnight and the rooms were cheap $120 each for the centre of the city when everything is within walking distance another "first word problem"

    excellent location and very helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Lovely short stay, perfect location, helpful and friendly staff. Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom toilet roll holder fell off and wasn’t mended. Had to pay for parking.

    Comfy rooms, nice and warm, lovely view and very polite and helpful staff!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    Great last minute booking
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't replace milk each day (with a new one). Parking options are limited.

    I stay in Hobart frequently for work. I try to change hotel each time, looking for places that are convenient, quiet, warm/cool depending on the time of years and most of all comfortable. The Travelodge ticked nearly all of these boxes. I will e returning to this hotel in the future.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.9
    It's not the hotel I'd want to spend any time in. Overnight in a central position is good.
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Compact
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have liked a wardrobe not full of utensils - some shelving, even open shelving, so I didn't have to block the way with the suitcase - my breakfast to still be hot by the time I reached my table - it was cold and cold bacon and eggs? - shampoo, conditioner, etc to be in big, refillable containers, instead of single portion plastic packaging

    - The service was impeccable - The location is convenient

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Good stay in central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Compact
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Was a bit cold at night. - The elevator is quite slow

    - Hotel parking available for $12 a night was useful. - comfortable stay -good location - nice staff - clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was very close to Salamanca making it a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very close to Salamanca making it a very convenient place to get on the piss with the boyz. I would definitely recommend it to anyone else looking to have a lit night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    A great alternative.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi did not work unfortunately.

    The Travelodge provided us with a last minute stay when our Air BnB fell through. It was a bit pricey but the facilities were clean and it was centrally located, which was handy when attending the Dark Feast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Good location with well appointed rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Like many Hobart hotels the parking arrangements are off site and I don't like this. I parked on the street. Not really a negative but a little funny. Checked in and went to room to find suitcases already in there! Somehow they had stuffed up room allocation!

    Good location with well appointed rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Over all great location close walking distance to the city and the water front :-)
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs a shower door as the water goes everywhere and the floor is very wet when you get out and it needs a fan to extract the steam out.

    The staff are very nice and also helpful, beds very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.9
    Very comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bathroom rather small. No electric blanket - minor point but would have been a nice touch in a Hobart winter!

    Very comfortable room. Easy walking distance to the CBD centre and waterfront.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Basic rooms but you’re paying for convenient location and friendly service.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small, two people in a twin room felt a bit cramped at times. Bathroom is also small, not really anywhere for you to put clothes or other belongings in there. No easy access to power points next to beds. It was a little pricey given the quality of the rooms but everywhere in the city was expensive due to Dark Mofo. There are nice touches with service but your expectation should be for a budget hotel and you’ll have a good time.

    Stayed here for Dark Mofo and felt like we were only a short walk from all of the major venues. Staff were super friendly and willing to assist any time. We were given umbrellas to borrow, hot popcorn, had taxis ordered for us, they were even happy to chat at 3am to give their advice on where to grab a late night snack! If you’re in Hobart for an event such as Dark Mofo, you won’t be spending much time in your rooms anyway... we had no major issues and everything worked out fine. Would probably return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.5
    I had a nice, short stay and liked that the city was only 2 short blocks away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Compact
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Eventhough location was good for the city etc it was difficult climbing up and down the hill each day to get to the Wharf area. The foyer and breakfast area really looked outdated and need a revamp, especially the curtains which reminded me of the 1970s. (However if this will make the price go up, then leave as is). A covered area for smokers would be good.

    Value for money, good location, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed mattress obviously old and worn on one side. A communal lounge area apart from foyer would be good as the room was micro

    central location, perfect for Dark Mofo. Microwave in room was great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.5
    great place to stay as family or with friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Compact
    • Stayed 1 night

    that you have to pay for parking

    the location was central to everything you could walk everywhere. helpful staff will stay there again we had great rates

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Compact
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room. But not too bad as we were out most of the time.

    Excellent location, there is a Catholic Church across where we attended mass in a Sunday.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.8
    For the room to be called an executive room was greatly over stretching the facilities on offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite often left wothout hand towels and with little toilet paper. We were continally asking for basics from the staff.

    The motel was very close to Hobart's main sites and was in a great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.8
    Good Budget Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Look this is a budget hotel so you can't expect anything too flash, but customer service doesn't cost much and this was definitely lacking. At the time of checking in, one staff member just ignored us and kept typing an email on his computer. When we were served the staff member failed to provide any information about wifi nor informed us we would be charged $12 per night for parking. A heads up would have been appreciated. But the worst part about this hotel is by far the very small bathroom. It is literally the size of a small pantry. Showering is a horrible experience of banging your elbows on every wall of the tiny shower. booking.com doesn't show any pictures of the bathrooms, so I guess that was a sign I missed.

    As mentioned this is a budget hotel and the price was on par for what we got. Besides the bathroom, it was a comfortable stay and location is good. You get what you pay for with this venue, so as long as you get it at a good price, it's worth the stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    Simple, convenient and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was rather disappointed with the size of the bathroom. It was a very cramped space.

    The Hotel was very conveniently located just off the centre of the city. Everything was just a short walk away.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    1 averge ok if you dont want to spend time in the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Compact
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed was not clean in one of the 4 rooms that was booked, Also different charges for 1 of the rooms and free upgrades offered to all other room except the smallest room whom was the person whom booked all 4 rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    A good basic establishment.
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    see above

    A good basic establishment. Bathroom way too small, almost dangerous in size. Location excellent, breakfast wholesome but predictable each day, to the point of boredom. Beds comfy and rooms clean. Wardrobe space also very small and badly located right at the front door. Staff helpful but vague and not always as well informed about local attractions and there location/availability as one would like.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    EXCELLENT AND CONFORTABLE FRIENDLY
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Compact
    • Stayed 1 night

    all good thanks

    I cannot say how nice this stay was, the staff were excellent , great customer service, friendly and very kind. could not fault the stay at all, will stay again no problems. Thank you for making our nights stay great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was cramped, parking was cramped, not enough facilities in room, room literature listed room service with a full menu, however THERE WAS NO ROOM SERVICE one room key was broken

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.1
    THE ROOM WAS VERY SMALL AND EVEN LACKED SOMEWHERE TO PLACE...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Compact
    • Stayed 5 nights

    THE ROOM WAS VERY SMALL AND EVEN LACKED SOMEWHERE TO PLACE CASES. fOR SOME REASON THE HOTEL FOUND IT DIFFICULT TO PROVIDE (without asking) TWO FACE WASHERS EACH DAY.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    Adequate for a one night stay, especially if travelling with minimal luggage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Compact
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was very small, also bathroom. With two occupants there was insufficient room for two suitcases without blocking the door.

    Breakfast was good value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and would recommend the Travelodge to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Compact
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The WiFi was rather inconsistent and irritating having to re-apply for the free guest WiFi repeatedly.

    The accommodation was comfortable and the staff very helpful. The air conditioning was most effective and easy to adjust. We found the position of the hotel most convenient. We could access restaurants, movies, waterfront and tourist info centre easily.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Travelodge was comfortable and close to city.
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Compact
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only dislike was the hot water was taking to long to reach the rooms, a lot of cold water was wasted before arriving to the room.

    My experience with the Travelodge was the pleasant staff, each of them were very helpful in assisting in any questions asked.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.9
    Handy location, good price and had shuttle bus pick up outside the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No real issues as only there for one night. The hand basin tap was stiff to use but we brought the staffs attention to that.

    The price for a one night stay was good and the location is very handy to things to see in Hobart.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    5.8
    We had a great time in Hobart but wouldnt stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was incredibly small and there was no shower screen so the entire bathroom got wet when you had a shower. Overall the room was comfortable but very small.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Compact
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location was excellent. 5-10 minute walk to shopping hub, Salamanca area. If travelling with a vehicle, easy location to get in and out of Hobart. Parking was available on the premises or alternatively the next block down in a secure parking garage. Nearby restaurants within a 10 minute walk very good value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.3
    Needs improvement
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds need replacing and the restaurant staff need to learn to make coffee. Eggs were very dry, chipolatas were cold and the bacon was barely heated.

    It was clean though the halls etc need a paint.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.3
    Definitely value for money but would get bigger room. Loved Hobart so much to see
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Compact
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom too small for 3 night stay; the entrance looked I inviting esp drinks counter in front of desk; coffee not nice;

    The bed staff location and breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    4.6
    It smelt bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly the car parking was off site which made it slightly inconvenient. It was fine for able bodied but guests but it might otherwise be a struggle. The room itself was basic and what you’d expect for the price with two major gripes. The toilet was jammed next to the shower and in a very tight space which made using the toilet more difficult than it should be. The second major issue is the fact the shower water smelt like sewage. I turned the shower on and went to grab a towel and by time I got back into the bathroom, it smelt like a sewer. I turned the water off but the smell lingered until we left the next day. I know it’s a basic hotel but I still expect to be able to do my three S’s with ease. If you can’t sh*t, shave and shower what’s the point?

    The location was good and the staff were friendly at check in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    The reception staff were all really helpful, efficient and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The reception staff were all really helpful, efficient and genuinely friendly. My room was cleaned immaculately. This hotel got all the essentials of a hotel stay right and given that I was staying at a peak time (Friday-Monday) was great $ value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    Brilliant view from the 9th floor outlooking multiple...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the bathroom too small with little room to move. It seemed like a low budget / backpackers bathroom compared to the overall room itself

    Brilliant view from the 9th floor outlooking multiple streets - maquarie/sandy bay road. The sink area was nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Excellent accommodation close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Compact
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited view from lower level balconies.

    Very comfortable room with great amenities. Close to everything including the waterfront. Hot showers. Good location for pickup and drop off by taxi or tour bus. Wished I could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.8
    It was convenient for the centre of Hobart
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room - Compact
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room I had was very noisy from traffic and a down pipe from the rooms above. I was told it was an up grade on my original booking. Had to down grade to get a better nights sleep

    It was convenient for the centre of Hobart

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable and conveniently located as everything in the cbd was within walking distance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Compact
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn’t set the water temperature on the shower to my preference. Probably user error. Not familiar with the tap fixture.

    Flexible checkin so I had a room even though I arrived earlier. Happy to pay the small additional fee for this service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.1
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Evacuated twice in one day for fire emergencies!!!!!!!!!! Terrible Wi Fi - dropped out 17 times in one hour whilst trying to work Very noisy, every time someone flushes the toilet it sounds like a bucket of water is being tipped on your head - this goes on all night long!!

    Location, comfortable bed, microwave

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.3
    Outdated accommodation with very few of the comforts I had elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Compact
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy room - no soundproofing Room next to fire escape - cleaners banging the door in and out of fire escape - and opposite lift = noisy people I could hear voices from other rooms and movement of furniture and doors banging Ineffective room heating No electric blanket Thin blanket on bed Scant welcome information in room - no instructions on how to use heater, where to eat, local attractions No remote for heater Hot water for shower took 3 mins to come through - contradicts claims of being a ‘green’ hotel We had to evacuate the hotel, fire department arrived - steam from someone’s shower set off alarm No extractor fan in bathroom Having to pay $12 to park hire car in basement- should be complimentary

    7 minute walk to Battery Point Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.7
    disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was not the one I booked. Room 219 was very small with a large pillar in the middle of the room which prevented the second bed from seeing the tv. The bathroom was for the handicapped with only a tiny sink and nowhere to put toiletries.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.3
    It was average and it was not to the value of money spent to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking was restricted for vehicles to a height of 1.8metres as I had a 4wd Ute so I parked in the street for the night Street parking was metered to 6 pm It had a small bathroom congested I booked through a booking agency and booked into the bottom floor but it was not available when I arrived to check in

    It was Clean Very central to the CBD

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.9
    Very good stay overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been perfect if there was a coffee shop, or bar lounge.

    Great area close to where I needed to be , room good size clean comfortable, after doing red-eye flight delighted to get into my room early a bonus for sure.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and convenient location within an easy walking distance to the CBD of Hobart and the RHH
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower. The shower head was immovable so I couldn’t control the direction of the water!

    The bed was comfortable and the staff tv reception was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.1
    Ok for $100 but wouldn’t pay more
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like that parking cost $12 The rooms were not sound proof so could here every single person coming and going on my folly Rooms dated Tv ancient

    I liked the location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    5.0
    Staff great, room really bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Compact
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When I got to my room it was sooo small, I had to move the bed just to get into the bathroom, the shower head was so small you hardly got any water. The accomodation was very poor. Would not stay there again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    Nice and easy walking access to markets and Mall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single bed removed only needed double bed could have had small table and chairs rather than just desk and chair.

    Staff friendly. Needed extra night from what was booked was not an issue.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.8
    Great easy access to workplace
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better toileties Not having breakfast included in price. A bit expensive for room.

    Staff friendly. Room clean Over priced for what you get would be great to have breakfast included in price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.3
    We would stay again as good rates, clean, comfortable and good proximity.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Compact
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The orange colour schemes in the entrance foyer and dining room seemed dated. No real hanging space in wardrobe because of extra bedding and ironing board.

    Very friendly and obliging staff. The location was good and handy to city centre and easy walk to Salamanca and waterfront. Our room was compact but very clean. Breakfast provided was good value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    6.7
    Clean, basic hotel within close walking of Salamanca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Compact
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms tiny. Alot of rooms are directly on a busy road so alot of noise. Very basic facilities, alot of wear and tare. An upgrade is definitley needed of the rooms - definitley not a 4 star hotel as advertised.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: