Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments 3 stars

147 Paterson Street, 7250 Launceston, Australia

#19 of 28 Holiday rentals in Launceston

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2050 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    6.7
    Convenient to CBD and places to eat off site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old apartments. Lighting very poor. Having an upstairs apartment was not ideal. Restaurant not open during our stay.

    Convenient to CBD and places to eat off site.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    5.0
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Apartment located on the first floor and no lifts for heavy luggage - lugging 30 kgs up two flights not fun.

    Great location. It is rebuilt army quarters from the 1890's and has a great atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Loving Lonnie!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a bit crowded. The outside noise was a little disturbing.

    A throw back to medieval times but with modern conveniences. The staff was superb. Parking on site was a plus!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    Surprisingly roomy, and the split levels made it feel even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Surprisingly roomy, and the split levels made it feel even larger. Only a short walk to Cataract Gorge, and much closer to the Launceston CBD than it appears on the map.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    Exactly what we needed for our overnight stay in Launceston. Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My partner thought the bed was not comfortable.

    Large room, very clean. Hot showers. Close to great restaurants. One of our party thought the bed was comfy but the other did not. Close to Cataract Gorge.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.6
    Loved the surroundings and the fact that it is such a family...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Was very nice. Had no issues at all.

    Loved the surroundings and the fact that it is such a family focused environment with beautiful surroundings and self sufficient with restaurants and entertainment inclusive.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold for quite some time, waiting for the air-con to catch up with the temp.

    Old style, buildings out behind, close to cataract gorge and town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable. We have stayed at this property a few times over the last 20 years.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was fine however the lounge really needs updating. We sat on the chairs rather than very low on the lounge.

    Location to cataract gorge. Lovely feeling of building.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location right next to Cateract Gorge, nice room, lovely comfy bed, fabulous food & atmosphere in bar & restaurant. Friendly helpful staff. Great stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Get lost in history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late and the places attached to this were closed for dinner at 8.30pm

    Vintage building with awesome bar and restaurant. We had a nice brekky. The room was excellent and was heated very well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location and gorgeous little cottage
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy traffic from the highway close. Bed was really uncomfortable and the toilet smelt.

    The location was excellent - walking distance to the city and Cataract Gorge. Nice concept of little cottages with multiple floors.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.7
    Very central close to facilities and is a good spot for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy. Problem with adjoining doors. Felt that the family in next unit were almost in the room.

    Very central close to facilities and is a good spot for families.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful spot which made you feel like you were someplace...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the beds was quite hard, but complaint just a little harder than what I was used to.

    Beautiful spot which made you feel like you were someplace else in the world when you woke up. Looking out my window captured in the photo below!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.5
    A room with a kitchenette ideal and suited our needs for our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The power was outed in the morning for 3 - 4 hours due to building construction on site. Would have been nice to have been told this on arrival night before. This was most inconvenient in more ways than one, could not make a hot drink, no heater and as my husband had work to complete, had to go to reception for power.

    A room with a kitchenette ideal and suited our needs for our stay in Launceston. Our stay is in winter, the room warmed sufficiently albeit when the power was on.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    Clean,comfortable and great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Location was excellent. Room very comfortable and clean. Didn’t use other facilities but thought it was fantastic value accommodation. Just FYI : anyone with mobility issues needs to request a ground level room otherwise there are quite a few stairs

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.7
    Close proximity to most places
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The quality of the beds were below standard. Springs gone and too soft for comfort and difficult to sleep. 3 bedrooms apartment should have at least another toilet downstair

    Close proximity to most places

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    Great but ....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like carrying my heavy luggage up the stairs to my room - no lift or anyone in sight to help ( especially when weather is so cold at 2 degrees !) I also didnt like NO BATHTUB - “ your room package does not include one ! “

    Great !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.5
    The room was extremely clean and functional. .Nothing to write home about.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not particularly friendly when we checked in. Not rude but just not as friendly as other stays we had in Tasmania.

    The restaurant had an amazing seafood platter at an extremely good price. The bar staff were very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    Worth a Look
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nil

    Loved the heritage of this property, room was comfortable and had the old world charm of yesteryear. Location was fantastic for us and finding a spot for breakfast the next morning was easy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was my second stay here and the room I stayed in first had a lovely aspect, the second one did not have a window so felt a little claustrophobic.

    The Ladies at reception were fantastic! They went above and beyond to make sure an issue was resolved so I am extremely grateful!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    Leisure Inn Penny Royal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The older receptionist at the office was brusque and not at all friendly. She rattled off information quickly, eager to get rid of me upon checking in and made me feel like I was imposing on her time. There was no microwave in the room. We had 2 flights of stairs to negotiate before we could reach our room. Make sure you ask for a room near the ground floor or you could end up like us.

    Location was terrific. The place is right next to Cataract Gorge which is a must see. Room was very clean and tidy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.5
    Good family accomodation fairly central position. Handy as right next to penny royal attraction
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few minor maintenance issues. No real sponges to clean up with. Unable to seperate recycling

    Clean neat accomodation. Nice big 6 seater dining chairs and table. All bedroom upstairs.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    Character accommodation at a value price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and solid historic buildings. Comfy rooms. Great bar and restaurant on site. Bottle shop nearby too. Lovely walk over King’s Bridge and down the river.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.3
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not as clean as I would like. Phone charger from previous tenant was still in power point. Key would not open laundry which was annoying and wasted time. Traffic was easily heard from our unit. Needed more pills was in master room.

    Location was good. Staff were helpful. Our grandchildren enjoyed the activities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.6
    Overnight stay to very early morning flight!
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy checking , and check out, family friendly and very clean !

    Was a stay over for early flight ! Very convenient and a very reasonable price ! Certainly recommend!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property, resturaunt on-site 5 star quality .. lovely character & features , huge rooms , comfortable, very clean . Loved our stay there

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Relaxing and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was close to town and the adventure park!! 😄😄

    The lighting in the 3BRs apartment was low, free internet was for 250mbps only, pay extra $2 for unlimited low speed internet - barely usable, don't see a point...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Experience a night as a Knight
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All the little things that count - comfort, cleanliness, toiletries on tap, and the unique character of each room while maintaining authenticity of the heritage property.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.8
    Perfectly situated for the fabulous Tasmanian pinot tasting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rain rain rain on Sunday!

    Perfectly situated for the fabulous Tasmanian pinot tasting at The Pinot Shop and the amazing truffle breakfast at Stillwater.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.8
    Family weekend away for 60th birthday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reroofing going on but safety measures weren't in place. Lots of dust and stuff on floor around edges of upstairs rooms from roofing having been done. Difficult to get parking space during the day as the car park was also shared with the City Council.

    Large spacious area for our extended family to congregate. Large bathroom. Upsized to 4 bedroom apartment due to renovations (we'd booked 3 bedroom apartment). Close to city and grandchildren loved Penny Royal activities adjoining accommodation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    perfect location close to walks and tavern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the location is perfect, short walk to the town centre and the gorge which is beautiful. The tavern next door is perfect for a drink after a day of activity

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    6.7
    The location was great and the overall size was good for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is in dire need of updating. The kitchenette is barely that. The bathroom was falling apart and the shower sprayed so wide you barely got wet. The place was drafty and the heater in the main area was blocked by the design of the kitchen cupboards. It was a shame because if renovated it would be excellent. For the level of accommodation I thought it was also expensive.

    The location was great and the overall size was good for a family with two children

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    Good spot and price, early noise from renovations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy renovations early in the morning

    Amazing room, very oldschool/victorian and the location was brilliant. Only fault was the renovations in the room seemingly next door.... 7:30am we were woken up by drilling and jackhammers after a late night out (reason for staying the night in Launceston in the first place). Would have been nice to be warned about not getting a sleep in...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighbours upstairs were running around a lot and making a load of noise - presumably kids. Its also right near a very busy & noisy overpass. I could hear it but my partner wasn’t fussed.

    Great location. We didnt know that its part of a theme park, which wouldnt usually be something we would stay at. However the accommodation and location were great and we wouldnt have known we were at the base of a theme park anyway!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.3
    Guess that we only paid $ 105.00 for the stay but the location was absolutely brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable and tended to dip to the middle. A couple of armchairs would have been brilliant instead of having to sit on beds. Room could have been furnished better to the era.

    Love the location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    all in all it was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we didnt like was too much light coming through the blinds, it was hard to sleep. Curtains are needed .

    Awesome location to penny royal and the river/gorge. We didnt use the car at all.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Convenient location, clean apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The apartment was very cold when we arrived at night and would have appreciated if the heating had been turned on a couple of hours before our expected arrival. Only 1 bathroom (with toilet in the bathroom) in a 3 bedroom apartment is less than expected for a group of 5 people. Lounge chairs were in poor condition. Lighting in our bedroom was very poor.

    Staff before and after arrival were very helpful and appreciated their assistance. The location was great. Beds were very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.3
    Showed promise but became frustrating
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in the corner room above reception and couldn't block out all the light from the floodlight and front sign which made sleep difficult. We could clearly hear the people in the room next door talking and swearing.

    Beautiful on the outside, nice on the inside, affordable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    3.8
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds were uncomfortable, Room was smelly, Bathroom was way too small and cramped. No exhaustion fan. Hated the steps going up stairs. Dangerous when wet, when you have to try and bring you bags up. No assistance offered.

    Nothing really.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Lots of old world charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to carry suitcase up two flights of external starts, no lift.

    Convenient location, could walk to town, art gallery, botanic gardens, river cruise and chair lift over the gorge. Excellent free off street parking. Excellent onsite restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.5
    Beds were sooooo comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were sooooo comfortable. Maybe more milk in the fridge and a water jug. Room very cosy and warm great location to city of Limestone. Will definitely book again 😃

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.1
    like the more modern rooms not the old ones i stayed in this last trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was to light even with the shades drawn and had to get extra heater as it was cold with just the built in heater, TV cable had to be replaced to view,internet kept dropping out

    location--the maintenance man was very friendly as was the night staff person who gave me the extra heater

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    beautiful, clean and relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the road light is too bright and come through to the window blinder

    Decoration of property is exquisite location is perfect for Cataract George so much of fun and convenient to live there

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.1
    Family weekend get together for husband/dad's 60th ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was dirt and small chunks of wood from the ceiling around the edges of two of the bedrooms I noticed. One room had the dirt on the head of the two twin beds which I had to dust off pillows so my grand daughters could get into bed. Split systems didn't work very well. Blew more cold air out than warm air and it was 0.1° the last morning we were there! One of my sons is an electrical contractor and installs the units for a living and he couldn't get ours to put out warm air either.

    Everything else was great! We were upgraded to a four bedroom apartment as they were doing maintenance on the three bedroom apartment we had booked. As we had five of our children plus their families staying at the complex, the large spacious lounge was a great meeting place. Kitchen was used a lot by other family members as we had an oven, microwave and sink and they didn't. Close to the city and the grandkids loved rock climbing and other activities behind the apartments. Convenient parking for all of our cars as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    A stay that worth more than a penny
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs made it a bit hard to carry heavy luggages, especially for elderlies

    Excellent location. Building style and surrounding which includes fun park for kids and adults that are young at heart. Roomy apartment/villa.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    A very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could've done with a bigger TV

    A very pleasant stay. Comfortable facilities and quiet rooms. Staff very helpful and close to facilities. Our main choice to stay at in Launceston.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    Good value accommodation close to town
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure in the shower was low meaning it barely worked during peak times. Could benefit from double glazing as there was traffic noise from the busy road.

    Rooms were clean and functional. Beds were comfortable. Only 10 minutes walk to the city and right next door to the gorge. Meal at the hotel restaurant was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    5.8
    Fair pillows and mattresses need replacing
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was lumpy I could feel the springs, pillows were to hard and the shower curtain old and small the wayer from the shower went everywhere

    Spacious room walking distance to Launceston CBD

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.7
    Awesome staff and location to Cataract Gorge. Room was basic and cold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was basic and cold. No electric blankets and a shower curtain that had seen better days. Stairs are a struggle in the rain with suitcases. Only one door that leads to the outside so didn't feel over safe. Cleaner did not close our door after room service either. Compared to another place we stayed a week prior for $9 more which was awesome with a fabulous breakfast too. Would not stay again.

    Location and staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.7
    It was a lovely location and hotel
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the people upstairs were very noisy and to no fault of theirs. The room is not very sound proof and it sounded like a herd of elephants on the roof when trying to sleep.

    The room was clean and presented lovely and very spacious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Penny Royal in Attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to attractions Penny Royal theres alot going on in there do a slow boat ride around rock climbing and a flying fox plus Sarah Island ship ride plus plenty to eat.Cataract Gorge Reserve and water and shopping centre.Would recommend the stay here.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Good location particularly being next to penny royal world...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building works was annoying. Restricted view from window and there were builders outside window on scaffolding on the Monday morning before we were out of bed.

    Good location particularly being next to penny royal world as kids enjoyed themselves there

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    quite reasonable and central for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    better more modern bathroom

    bathroom was very small and had a shower curtain which kept wrapping itself around you when you were getting dry because there wasn't much room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.7
    good location, food, cold bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I feel very cold and moisture when touching bed linen and quilt. Adding electronic blankets would be helpful for cold season.

    great location, restaurant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    Clean and comfortable, good kitchen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Loved the central location, close to many fine restaurants and right beside the scenic Cataract Gorge. Our room was comfortable, clean and the kitchen was well equipped, enabling us to cook our own meals when we wished. Great stay, Thank you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    I would stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not things I disliked, but pointers for other travellers. There is no lift, so if you need assistance with taking bags upstairs you might ask for a ground floor room. There are no heavy curtains or blinds, and the light from the window is too bright.

    The bed was very comfy, I asked for low pillows and was given two. The towels were delightful, very fluffy and a good size. Food was wonderful. Worth going there just for a bite to eat. Staff were smiling and efficient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.0
    We were there for 1 night only. Overall 6/10
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being put in a room where construction works were in progress re roofing tiles, when there were other apartments elsewhere in the complex not being used!

    The entertainment area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Enjoyable and satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Activities of Contractors working on site.

    Location very good. Noise & facilities of roofing contractors invasive. Access to one single bed awkward. Heaters in bedrooms are good. Facilities provided are good. More/better milk would be good for four Adults.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing,incorrect advertising
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of stairs to get to the apartment, then lounge room downstairs and bedrooms up stairs from the toilet & bathroom. Stairs were very narrow and creaked very loudly. Not what was advertised! Apartments were off site from reception and had to drive over and roof work being done so tradies working from sunrise

    Air conditioning in most rooms for warmth.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Generally good accommodation and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately one of the three rooms we occupied was much smaller and in need of renovating.

    Two of the three rooms we occupied were very spacious with lovely views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    Old character with modern facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great shower except for the shower curtain taking up all of the space in the shower.

    The place has a beautiful character! We found that all the amenities that we needed were provided. The location is excellent. The heating was great. Parking was fine. Would recommend and return another time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    5.0
    As soon as we opened the door of the apartment it stunk of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As soon as we opened the door of the apartment it stunk of curry and even after opening all the doors and windows the smell didn’t go away. The lighting throughout the house was very poor and dark and the whole place was incredibly squeaky and loud. Also only got 500mb of WiFi for a 6 person apartment which is ridiculous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant didn't seem to have quite the ambience it had before.

    Loved the old buildings. Stayed there 12 years ago and was as we remembered it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Convenient, Clean and Great Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only stayed one night, would have been happy to stay longer.

    This was our second stay and we were once again happy. This is a great value property, walking distance into town and the Cataract Gorge. Would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Great accommodation, great staff & great food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Penny Royal was like stepping into Olde England. The cosy room we were given had double thick walls and had a few extra touches to give it an old feel. The pub attached to the Penny Royal had great atmosphere and sensational pub food - the best I've ever eaten!!! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Although only two of our party stayed at the accommodation, the staff allowed us to store all eight back packs in their office for a few hours after we had checked out but before our lift to Cradle mountain arrived.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.9
    Overall it was a pleasant stay and we would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    We asked for extra towels as we had travelled all day and wanted an evening shower but the extra towels did not arrive. Also the curtains did not open or close easily.

    It was quiet and the view from our window was very pleasant. The restaurant was onsite and of a high standard, including the food and service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    3.8
    Very disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had an unpleasant odour and reception staff were not particularly friendly. Wifi limit of 250mg/day is not really very generous. Bathroom was so poky I had to rest my feet in the shower to use the toilet (this was not shown in any of the advertised photos online). Large gaps under the door caused gusty drafts. Overall a very disappointing experience.

    Free parking on site

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.7
    Clean, well positioned hotel a short walk to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms and bathroom a bit dated. Wi-fi not reliable. Staff on check-in not overly welcoming.

    Great location, easy walking distance to everything including Stillwater, the Adventure Park and centre of town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    A perfect short stay to enjoy the Penny Royal activities and the staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bigger windows to outside!

    Separate bedroom for the boys and we each had our own bathroom. Right on site for all the Penny Royal has to offer for the family.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Excelent location, clean rooms, friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Steps to our room, it was on the top level. Challenge to carry suitcases up the stairs.

    The location was ideal, close to the city, restaurants, walkways around the Marina. Easy to walk around. Staff very helpful and informative. Gave map to city and showed how close everything was within walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No window. Had to have lights on duuring day. Very dark and dungeon like. Fridge not working. Only one chair at table. Very noisy aircons outside our door. Price went up from agreed booking amount. Generally very run down. So disappointing to see the water wheels rotting and no upkeep.

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.4
    Good location been close to everything but the rooms where not fantastic so prob wouldn’t stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had not been cleaned properly the kitchen bench was still dirty! And I was disappointed with not been offered a discount voucher for the adventure park while staying there we had to pay full prices

    I like what they have done with the adventure world park area!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    5.8
    Interesting style but limited amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not very friendly and the wifi didn’t work at all. Bathrooms were the worst part of the room, damp smelling shower and curtains.

    Rustic style of the room was a nice feature. Short walk to several nearby restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.2
    We had two nights and had a great location to the things we actually came to see.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its a bit drab

    If you only want a bed for the night and don't want anything romantic its great. Its not a place to hang about in. (we only had a room not an apartment)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable but disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside grounds were run down and stairs felt unsafe. No ramp so lugging bags up stairs was difficult. 2 days worth of Internet ran out in about 30 mins. Photographs were misleading as we thought we were staying where the apartments are. ( leisure inn is next door ) The toilet was is a very awkward position, so that you had to manoeuvre under the vanity to sit down !

    Location, comfortable, renovated room

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: