Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Madison Plaza Townsville 4 stars

409 Flinders Street, 4810 Townsville, Australia

#43 of 75 hotels in Townsville

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1355 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking was a little inconvenient, across the road in another street.

    Small room but extremely comfortable no complaints whatsoever will definitely come back and stay at this great establishment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hallway smelled a little musty and being a non smoker I could initially got a smell of stale smoke smell in room. I was expecting to get secure parking at hotel but found on arrival that is $15.00 per night and located a short distance from hotel.

    Room was basic, clean and comfortable. Only staff we interacted with was at reception and they were cheerful and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no issues at all. Highly recommended.

    A modern hotel in the centre of Townsville. Large suite and everything worked well. Very helpful staff. We used the hotel car park at $15 as all the car parks on the street were taken. Just a very short walk so no problem at all. Breakfast at cafes attached was freshly cooked and very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice with a balcony or some sort of fresh air into the room.

    I loved the layout of the whole place, the style was exactly what we were looking for. Bathroom was good size too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet roll holder very hard to reach. Bathroom is very small No car park Car park off the premises around the block. Charged at $15 per day.

    price and location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was filthy, Dirty walls , the bathroom full of mould , the shower tiles had dirty spots all over . Marks on the sheet, and the chairs were stained , the windows dirty with broken blinds . Overall disgustingly dirty .

    Close to everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled dirty, almost like sewerage, absolutely every last noise from the whole floor could be heard clear as day from inside the room with the door closed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very welcoming and extra bubbly. Smiles are infectious! No better feeling than receiving and passing on positive energy in your day to day!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    offsite parking was $15 for a fenced vacant lot around the corner..or street parking...not happy

    the room was lovely. perfect for a brief stay with kids.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking extra which when booking a budget hotel maybe acceptable. Despite a no smoking policy in the rooms - the room was offensive. Discussed with reception and a smoke filter was placed in my room for a short period which improved the air quality a little but still there was a stench. Need to have smoking and non smoking rooms? Those who do not smoke are very sensitive to the odour.

    A budget hotel with comfy beds and essentials. Great location with Woolworths just around the corner for a few groceries and City Lane for an easy dining option.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Queen Room with Shower over Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It is close to all amenities and it is centrally located.The staff are pleasant and courteous and very helpful. The room was very clean and spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were good. Room just had aircon only and when turned off it was stuffy and hot. Had to sleep under the aircon whole night who h I did not enjoy.Single bed positioned directly towards the aircon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Queen Room with Shower over Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No onsite parking

    My hand bag got stolen and i called up Madison Plaza, explained my situation telling them i had no i.d or cards only cash I'd withrawn over counter at bank.. so i wouldnt be able to stay as planned. The kind voice on the end of the other end told me to come in n she would sort something out for me 🤗 angel even upgraded my room! My partner and i had an awesome weekend xx

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Queen Room with Shower over Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Honestly, for the price we paid, there's nothing to complain about.

    My partner and I loved the location of the hotel. Right in the heart of the city, close to all the shops, cafe's and restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper thin walls or doors. People in hallway could have been having their conversations in my room. It's also well worn and tired...due for a freshen up.

    Convenient location and good service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable beds, shower head would not stop dripping no matter what we tried. Noise from neighbours and street kept us awake most of the night. Parking is off site and an extra cost

    Location is great and very spacious family room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Queen Room with Shower over Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking car outside on another block and not aware of $10 dollar fee until I paid for my room then had to make another transaction to pay for it. Fair enough $10 if secure or under cover parking. How would this review read if window smashed and things stolen. TV in room should be mounted,hard to watch laying on bed. Lots of marks on wall can be removed sugar soap perhaps, bath had stains.

    The bed very comfortable and room well presented

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Queen Room with Shower over Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking can be a hassle. It's costs $10 extra for per day and is not in a covered secure lot. Street parking must be paid between the hours of 9am-5pm Monday-Friday. $1 per hour with a maximum of 2 hours...

    Great location, friendly staff that were willing to help out with questions. Only a 3min walk to cowboys leuges club and a further 5 min to the strand. Castle hill lookout is a 30min walk.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the kitchen was an unexpected bonus, the appliances are really dated.

    Family room with 2 large beds and 1 single with full kitchen for much less than the cost of a tiny hotel room elsewhere. Check in/out staff member was friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place was exceptional value for money. We were very surprised when we booked in at just how convenient everything was. The staff were very friendly and I would highly recommend this place to anyone going to Townsville for a break.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Business Queen Room with Shower over Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a terrific location right in the centre of Townsville. The room I had was a queen with the shower over the bath, which was small but very comfortable and everything I expected with a nice view of the mountain. The bed was very comfortable and quiet even though over the road. There are restaurants in an arcade right next door which is wonderful lots to choose from and breakfast at the cafe downstairs is so good and very reasonably priced.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt the bathroom and toilet area was very old style and poorly set out. I also didn’t like that I couldn’t open a window.

    The room size was great and nicely furnished.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car park is actually open-air parking lot located ~ 100 m walk away. This makes moving luggage in and out a pain. Especially Townsville nigh can feel a eerie on street ( even though the car park is next to the police station)

    Good price for spacious 2 bedroom apartment. The room is dated but OK clean. Could improve on cleanliness. Bed and sheet is comfortable and clean. Wifi speed is reasonable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ceilings needs refurbishing and pool desperately needs a make over with better ventilation.

    Close to restaurants, woolies, coffee & breaky down stairs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the pool area needs a new facelift, some greenery, just make the place a nicer spot to relax.

    Bedrooms were great, comfy beds & a great central location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely amazing!! Room was spacious and so comfortable!! Very happy family here!! We are on holidays and just came from innisfail where we paid more than $70 extra for a room there-that was half the size with 1 aircon that was overworked, filthy and we left a day early because of it!! Hence our last minute booking to Madison Plaza! The Madison Plaza was very clean, blackout curtains with 2 functional aircons! Beds were so comfy!! It was just what we needed to relax after what we previously endured!! Extremely impressed!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Business Queen Room with Shower over Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a shame that there is no car park.also there is no parking in the street in front of these hotel either only drop off. Because the workers and the hotel it's self is very good.just to be particular for the price it would be good to have a hair dryer.

    Excellent people and cleanliness

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Queen Room with Shower over Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was offsite at additional charge. This detail was included in the listing but not obvious at the time of booking.

    Friendly staff. Older hotel that is well maintained and modernized. One of the few places I have stayed in QLD with decent block out curtains.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV is small and the keys were a bit of a muck around as you need to turn them left not right and if you turn right you trip the lock and can’t open it at all.

    3 of us stayed in a family suite. It was spacious and clean and one queen bed was in a seperate room. The hotel is basic with no room service or pool but the location is great and it was excellent value for money. Staff were friendly and helpful. You need to pay extra for car parking and it is not on site but just a few hundred metres away. Overall we thought it was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Queen Room with Shower over Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The aircon didn't cool the room enough.

    The location is in the city centre, a short distance from The Strand with the restaurants, walks, parks and beaches. The room was clean and comfortable. Check-in and check-out is extremely efficient. Front desk staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our studio room was beside a family room so we were woken up early.

    In the heart of the city! Staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was huge and the shower was so nice;) Very happy with decor and facilities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no spa in the spa room and smelt of paint which was making us sick the bed is at least 25 years old and worst night sleep there is no gym on the premises the pool was yucky rusted roof above you they moved us to a nice room but so small new referb smelt of paint still we couldn’t wait to leave you had to pay for the gym 😔

    It was close to the street eats and you can walk around town

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Carpark a little walk away nothing serious or to really complain about. Couldn't connect to the wifi

    Great location to food and shopping and city centre

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool is a great asset however could be made a lot more inviting . Loved our stay

    Location is great . Breaky downstairs was terrific . Drove there in a small truck and the girl at reception still organised me secure parking. That little thing made a world of difference. Cheers Gary

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Queen Room with Shower over Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon wasn’t very cold at all we had it down to 19 over night but was still very warm.

    Isabel at the front desk was friendly, helpful and accommodating:) The Bed was lovely and comfortable. Family room was Great. Suited myself, my 2 small kids and my husband well. We booked another room for my Mum, but she could have easily fit in the family room too. It was specious and well appointed. Price was great. And great location. We will be back next time we are in Townsville.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was only free street parking, had to pay for secure parking.

    The motel rooms were very nice and the staff was pleasant. My husband and I had breakfast at the café and the food was very nice, massive latte cups. Very nice staff at the café.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You get your bang for your buck when starting here also large shopping centre besides hotel Incase you forgot something heaps of shop to choose for for dinning

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Queen Room with Shower over Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioner didn't seem to work well, room was quite warm. Hallways very stuffy, seemed like there was no air conditioning. Lifts smelled unpleasant. Loud, intoxicated guests sitting in halls chatting at early hours of the morning.

    Bed comfortable. Generous bathtub. Very clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the indoor pool

    Excellent stay ! The hotel is in a great location, with Woolworths and Flinders St just around the corner. You can walk everywhere which helps if you don't have a car, or the parking is across the street next to the police station so very safe. It would be nice if the pool was outdoor, however overall, very satisfied with my stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Queen Room with Shower over Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel very well located. It is very clean. The room has a large and comfortable bed, has a small refrigerator and a very good shower. The staff is 10 points.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no handrails in bathroom, no writing paper, no directories on the hotel, no information on how to use the tv, and what channels were available. The kettle needed replacing badly.

    The bed was very comfy, very clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from other guests. Pool area could be improved and made more appealing. Needs hand rail for use on/out of the pool.

    Great location. Comfy beds. Friendly staff. Able to extend checkout time - small charge applied after 12pm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Queen Room with Shower over Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Step down from bedroom to kitchen and bathroom 😞 my husband fell down the step during the night and very lucky to not have broken his ankle and glass on kitchen bench area

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Queen Room with Shower over Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower nozzle didnt stay up unless you rested it against the wall (screw did not tighten)

    The room was very clean/smoke free and location to every where we wanted to go was so close.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Queen Room with Shower over Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm not a big fan of the buffet breakfast. Very few places do this well. This one was about average. Parking is a bit of a pain with a remote for the gate. means you have to park then organise parking then go park your car. When you check out, you have to move your car, then go drop off the remote. Still, nice to have parking available I guess.

    Rooms are clean but small. Reception staff were helpful. Bathrooms were good size and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Queen Room with Shower over Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was terrible, hot water was limited and shower head was ridiculously small. Value for money was not there when I could have got a motel room with parking for the same price. I have stayed here before and this time the price was $40 more than just 2 months ago

    Bed was comfortable and location was handy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Queen Room with Shower over Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was spacious, bed so comfy, bathroom roomy with plenty of hot water. Room was lovely appointed with features. Stayed twice, great price, easily accessible, great location. Welcoming staff after long travels and busy days.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Queen Room with Shower over Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift needs maintenance, I got crunched by the closing door. Staff need to light the room or let you know, as there where 2 steps which I tripped on when I first entered the room in the dark.

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Queen Room with Shower over Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom in the morning

    The only issue was the bathroom. There was no way to reduce the blarring light from the windows in the morning. And I mean blarring light.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Queen Room with Shower over Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wouldn't stay for a long time, lacks atmosphere

    Good location, close to many cafes, restaurants and Castle Hill. We stayed for one night and it was perfect for a quick stopover

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They need to improve on maintenance. The shower in room 420 has a significant leak/drip, which is an extreme waste of water in our drought stricken region.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Queen Room with Shower over Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Linen was stained on bed before we had slept in it. In large cupboard where a mirror once was, was missing so there was just the glue stuck to the door. I actually found that part funny. Room just smelt like pee. Sorry to seem picky but the beds are really uncomfortable too. The hotel needs a makeover. Seriously

    On arrival the femal staff who greeted us was beautiful. However she was the only staff member who acknowledged us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really, though I may be a bit biased since this was the first place nice I'd stayed at for over four months.

    I didn't actually have breakfast at the hotel, but it was great that it was provided.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Queen Room with Shower over Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had stairs on it that were hard to see at night and my partner fell down them in the night - needs a night light next to them- very litigious risk

    Lucurious

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there was no fan in the room and windows couldn't be opened. Only choice of air con so room was stuffy. Only parking on offer was the street or we could go for secure parking at $15 per day down the street

    That the room was cost effective

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Business Queen Room with Shower over Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception girl was absolutely useless. It took her nearly 40minutrs to check a group of people into the hotel. She mucked around on the computer for ages and frustrated the people before me trying to check in. By the time she got to me, she didn't even say sorry for the extensive wait. This is not good enough because due to this I was made late to my conference to which I was in town for.

    Not much

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Queen Room with Shower over Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator was a little scary to go on, and the shower's Hot and Cold function was the wrong way around.

    The bed was really comfortable and the room was really relaxing. The hotel is also in a really convenient location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Business Queen Room with Shower over Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedside light very poor & dimmable lights sufficient for reading needed on both sides of bed - towel rails would be helpful - extra rail for getting out of bath is needed as it is very deep - is a safety issue - secure parking is available but at $15 a day

    Value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Business Queen Room with Shower over Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no recommendations or criticisms.

    The room was very clean and fresh, well appointed and comfortable. I was more than pleasantly surprised at the presentation and the price was exceptional. Perfectly sited in the centre of town for my needs. Reception staff were professional and friendly, ready to assist me with any queries. I would definitely recommend this place to others and I would stay there on any further visit to Townsville.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a somewhat impersonal business hotel, aimed a conventioneers etc. My bias is towards small, family run hotels.

    This is a business hotel situated conveniently near Townsville's tourist attractions like the ferry to Magnetic Island and museums. An added bonus for me was it is fairly close to the railway station. The price I got was good for the quality of hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Queen Room with Shower over Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No towel rails, large step to the bedroom felt uncomfortable. Stepping over the high sided bath tub

    Coffee shop was fabulous for breakfast was convenient and awesome location next to the foyer

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a parking lot that was a block away and nowhere to pull up in your car to unload your baggage on arrival. There was roadworks blocking the entrance to the building and staff not helpful.

    Location good. Close to restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like there was no parking on site and had to pay to park across the road.

    Room was nice, loved the shower head and bed was comfy. Close to everything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Queen Room with Shower over Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small cups in room..prefer a mug so we can drink a nice full cup of tea or coffee than a small cup so i dont have to make another one..

    Like the cafe on ground floor. Everything's good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Queen Room with Shower over Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were charged $25 extra per night for a separate shower. The room was extremely small and cramped.

    Because we had previously ordered a separate shower at time of booking we were allocated the shower over a bath. This doesn't suit my husband because of health issues. Very close to many shops, clubs etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Freezing cold swimming pool, expensive restaurant on-site for 'what you get", lack of parking

    Great price, great location, comfortable rooms, shower

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room did not have extra blankets other than the one thin one on the bed. After requesting more from reception only one thin extra blanket was provided. Given the time of year extras should always be on hand in the room.

    Friendly staff and cleanliness of the room and bathroom. The cleanliness was of a high standard.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking location is away from the building, When arriving- hassle to drop off luggage, go and park then walk back to plaza, then, when leaving, leave belongings in the room, collect your car and park out front, go back to room and collect luggage.

    The pillows were great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there was no table to eat at & not enough chairs for 4 people.

    The staff were very helpful & friendly, lifts were quick. It was a quiet place. Woolies just down the road for all your groceries.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Queen Room with Shower over Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are a little tired, but given the price and the location, it's hardly something to keep me from staying there again.

    I like the proximity to everything in the city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception and car parking was a shambles. Unload car in a loading zone onto the footpath , if one can get into it, carry all the bags up stairs and place on trolley, pay $15 to park offside, walk back to hotel, struggle to get trolley into lift, because it has to be turned sideways to fit, and turn it again to exit. All very investing when it rains.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room would be even better if it had a microwave. It does have a mini fridge and coffee/tea amenities though which is nice. The parking situation is a bit odd...it's located in an unsecured lot around the corner and a few streets away from the hotel. Luckily it literally backs up to the police station and only costs $15/night which is a small price to pay to eliminate the hassle of on street parking.

    We stayed here twice, one night before going to Magnetic Island and one night after. Both times the staff was EXTREMELY polite, helpful, welcoming and friendly. The comfortable, cozy beds and the quiet hum of the air conditioner was much needed after 5 days on the island with chattering birds and night visiting possums! It was a great value for the cost! It is centrally located and next door to a Wooly's supermarket which is nice and very convenient. It is also within walking distance of the intersection Denham and Flinders Street which is the strip where all the restaurants are located. It is also relatively close to where you catch the ferry to Magnetic IS (8 mins drive) or if you want to visit the Strand.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Queen Room with Shower over Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    As with all central, older hotels car parking is provided off site - in this case a modest nightly rate which allowed easy access during our stay but unfortunately the loading zone in front of the hotel was taken up by trades vehicles and other cars which meant some distance to transport out luggage on arrival (4.30 pm). Departure (7.30 am) was much easier although I still got the last available space.

    The location is great - central to the CBD of Townsville. An older style hotel that has been well renovated and provides good value for money. The staff were courteous and helpful and provided the information on local attractions that we were after. There is a great mall with excellent restaurants about 200 metres from the hotel - it also close to the water front and attractions like the art gallery and aquarium.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Queen Room with Shower over Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no parking which can be stressful if you drive a car which is not yours and parked outside in the street. Otherwise everything was really nice!

    We were there only for one night but it was definitely a nice choice. The room is small but convenient for a couple travelling. The people were kind to us and advised us. It is well located even if having a car is a plus. I recommend this place! It's worth your money!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    6am wake up each day by the rubbish trucks emptying the bins at Woolworths next door. Was very loud even with the windows shut.

    Great location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Madison Plaza Townsville traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: