Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Waterfront Lodge Motel 3.5 stars

153 Risdon Road, 7008 Hobart, Australia

#37 of 51 hotels in Hobart

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1287 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    internet not working noisy, thin walls could hear everything noisy plumbing from people above us. not enough parking on site Spa was good but the bathroom was really bright lights lacking ambience

    great location quiet and beautiful spot close to city but away from the bustle

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-bedroom with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were lovely. Room was clean and beautiful view. Walls must be very thin because you can hear people talking in other rooms. Beds are a bit hard and woke up with an aching back. Also could use much better heaters, they did not do a good job at heating the rooms or keeping them warm.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Heritage Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was freezing cold even with heater running. The mattress was about 30years old. Beautiful near the water.

    Was suitable and cheap enough for the 2 night stay over.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just one tip - dont get the room directly above the fireplace in the lobby ! The chimney goes up through your room and it doesn't only take up space but it can get very hot too!

    I travel to Hobart regularly and this has become my preferred place to stay now. Affordable, central and always clean..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Decor could be updated, nowhere to sit other than on bed.

    Although old and on the small side, place was clean, tidy and warm - good value for money. Basics were supplied.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was filthy. Hair on the spa and floor. Poo on the rim of the toilet, soap scum on shower glass and a gorbie on the side of the sink. Stains on the doona of body fluids. Housekeeping only made bed and didnot change our towels even though they were on the floor.

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long life milk instead of fresh milk. Wind whistled through window all night. Not enough parking. View of vacant lot.

    It was clean. Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough car parking spaces

    I appreciated the staff accommodating me when I had booked muliltple times separately and needed to stay in the one room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's very difficult to find a shortage.The room is clean and space is used rationally.Facilities are convenient to use and enough for demand.Heater is always powerful so that I feel warm every minute.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The lighting could have been a bit better. Lights over the bed and kitchenette area, but needed a central (non-fluoro) light. The only negative.

    Everything was great, + I had an electric blanket! It was cold in Hobart at the time. The room had cutlery, crockery, sink, toaster, kettle and microwave. Very warm and cosy. Great shower. Good value for money too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Heritage Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no electric blanket on the double bed and it was a very cold night. The mattress was lumpy.

    The room was clean and the facilities were great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Two-Bedroom - No View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were kind of hard

    The location was very convenient for us as it was close to the Highway. Rooms were spacious and it was a bonus to have a kitchenette

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a dislike or complaint but it would be very handy to have a car and the car park can become a little crowded.

    We have stayed here before and this place is excellent value for money. Everything you need is provided and everybody is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were hard

    Staff was exceptional and very helpful. Everything you need you will be provided with and it's a lovely little hotel to stay in. Was clean and had tea and coffe good conditioner for hair it's the little things that make a difference I will defintley be back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Heritage Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed and pillows were uncomfortable, and the floor (although it is a very old cottage) was sloping in several areas - the studio was up stairs which were very narrow and, being 70+, found them a little difficult to navigate.

    The studio room was in an old cottage with a lovely view of the river - it was modernised and had all conveniences that you need. Very spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Heritage Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was extrenely uncomfortable, and we found the toilet in the ensuite was a really tight squeeze to use

    The location was excellent and it was extremely quiet and central to everything we needed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Heritage Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hauled luggage up steep narrow stairs. Only a small window down a narrow passage so it felt dark and claustrophobic. The bed was very noisy.

    Didn't like the heritage cottage accommodation. Claustrophobic. It was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for an extra pillow but told that they didn’t have any. Pillows were flat. Bed was extremely uncomfortable. Rooms were clean but shower had some black mould and screw holes in the walls.

    Able to check in late and communication prior to arrival was good. Payment was made easy and no fuss. Beds were made every day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very far from the city centre so not convenient at all. Small room and small shower stall. But very clean and understandably simple for the cost. The whole corridor smelt of cooked cabbage on arrival -I guess it was due to the communal kitchen?

    It was cheap in comparison to the rest of Hobart. Very clean and the man on the front desk was very friendly. Lovely electric blanket kept it cozy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For a budget price I expected it to be a little run down/cheaper style of place but it was, clean and immaculate and very well presented all round

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking is not very suitable as there are not enough spaces on site. It was also a little noisy.

    The room suited us very well as it was only for 1 night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Heritage Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the cottage!! So clean and tidy. The bed was so comfy, and the electric blanket made it even cozier! Maybe just an extra, spare blanket would have been nice though :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Heritage Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable and squeaky. The bedding was average and the pillows were flat. The shower had no screen.

    It was clean and the staff member on reception was friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Heritage Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guests upstairs were noisy after midnight (floor boards and moving/dragging chairs along the floor)

    It was in a good location and my room was spacious and comfortable. I was in the cottage adjacent to the motel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Heritage Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 2 shipping containers that were sitting in the long grass in the spare block next to the Waterfront. Its a shame if there was a motel or home on that property the outlook would have been more pleasant.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. There was a Coles within 5 minutes drive. The road north to Launceston was only 5 minutes away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Heritage Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The spare block beside them with 2 shipping containers sitting idly in the long grass. What a shame if there was another motel or home the outlook would be a lot more pleasant.

    The motel room was clean and comfortable. They had all the necessary items in the kitchen to prepare a meal. There was a Coles shopping centre within 5 minutes drive which was very convenient. If you were heading north to Launceston you were 5 minutes to the main road.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing about the photos or information reflected the reality. The waterfront views if you were lucky enough to have any (we weren't) consisted of a vista of Hobart cemetery grave stones & what I assume was the old Zinc Factory or Petroleum tanks. The first room provided after specifying I was travelling with my teenager, was a claustrophobic shoe box only as big as a double bed. The queen room had wafer thin walls & equipment great for a youth hostel pre 2005, but not a motel in 2018. Only parking left after going out for some food was on the empty grass lot next to the motel. All this might be fine if it was advertised correctly but felt totally duped. I've deleted the booking.com app.

    When it was apparent that the double room provided was not what I requested or suitable, the only other room available (Queen room) was provided for no further charge. Not sure if the staff member was the owner, if he wasn't he would have a hell of a time answering to unhappy patrons!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The photos make this place look much better than it is. It is quite outdated. The toilet seat was dirty (so we cleaned it). The carpet is quite old and the view is nothing like the pictures on the website.

    Check in was easy and fast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have a 4wd so found parking a little on the tight side.

    Very clean comfortable room with excellent bathroom (fantastic water temp & pressure). Bed comfy and room warm. Quite small but as alone and only there one night very suitable. Staff were brilliant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the beds were slightly uncomfortable. You could feel the springs in the mattress when you were laying down. The noise control was poor as lots of rooms and hallway were loud at times, and cars entering and leaving the motel directly underneath our room was disturbing at late/early hours. Despite these negatives, it was a great place to stay if you’re out exploring Tassie all day.. I would stay here again!

    The view was great! Mount Wellington in the distance outside our window with a nice lake nearby. It was in a quiet street so felt less commercialised. The room was very clean and had all basic facilities. The electric hot blankets were a big bonus and the bathroom was clean with good shower pressure. I found the room met our travel needs for a great price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was just a fake one. It was almost the size of a bath tub, unmaintained with freezing cold water. The BBQ machine was too small & dirty + the chairs & table around it were old & full of cobwebs. We were on the ground floor and absolutely got no view of the river. The lodge was actually situated on the shabbier side of the river which was not worth a walk too.

    We liked the size of our room and the cleanliness of it + staffs were helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For people want stay in the city , it's bit away. Not interesting breakfast, only package ( cold breakfast) on order

    It's not expensive, and close to Mona

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Heritage Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi very intermittent in rooms. Sloping bed. Airless Room.

    Stayed in a Budget Heritage Room. Room was up a flight of steep stairs. Floor was sloping in all directions which is pretty normal for heritage homes, but bed needed to be propped up at head of bed as felt like you were sloping back towards the wall. Small bathroom, water hot and pressure ok. Small kitchenette which only had a microwave. Top drawer hit door of fridge when opened. Small dormer window which couldn't be opened. Had to leave door open to get air into room as didn't want to run fan all the time. No air conditioning. One armchair in room which was very old and shabby. Adequate for 2 people, 3 would be a squeeze. Close to Hobart by car.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Heritage Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing i can think off,im happy with what service we received!

    Friendly guy at the reception who accepted we booked the date week after by mistake and still got us a room to stay in at the same low cost! Great fella and give good information!! Second trip to this place from WA and have had worse at more cost! Highly recommend!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only comment is that it would have been good to have insect screen on window so it could be opened.

    We visited 8 years ago when under renovation and we were a little cramped - great improvement!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Heritage Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the cottage near to motel. What we saw, the motel itself has been renovated, so probably the cottage itself will be too soon.

    It is nice place close to Hobart. Little bit out of the city, but you can have nice quiet sleep.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very old and dirty looking we booked a spa room but it looked so dirty we wouldn’t even use it Lights out side the room was on all night and was had to get to sleep with tv had only two tv stations

    King size bed was amazing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a good size, bed comfortable, good bathroom. Handy kitchen. Insufficient space for all cars and very tight access to the lower carpark. Overall good. I will stay again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms allocated were like a dog box no room at all. The only choice given was to pay $50 more to get a bigger room for our friends travelling with us and we had to stay in the very tiny room!! The pictures are very misleading when booking!

    It was only one night

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was too hard. The car park lights outside my window were very bright and the curtains a bit short for the window so the light shone on my bed

    good location and cheap

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not enough parking on site, so adjacent paddock was used.

    Older property, yet well maintained and everything worked. Good access to highway & city, yet far enough off the highway to be quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was very quiet. Staff were very friendly and the motel is a short drive to downtown Hobart and battery point. Best of all, it is great value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Heritage Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Dirty bathroom, dirty kettle, needs a shower curtain as the wet room approach doesn't work, extreme dust under the bed, noisy. while you can see the waterfront you cant get direct access from this property, no great loss the water smells like sewerage, who doesn't open a hotel reception until 9am? inconvenient for checkout

    bed was ok, price was good had the room been cleaner

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was very small. No where to put clothes or luggage. Cushions were terrible and hard. Tea/coffee not restocked second last day. Car parking was inadequate for number of guest, over flow carpark was a grassed area next door. No air conditioning, only fan and oil heater. No fly wire screens on window so it could not be opened without letting in flies & mosquitoes into room. Door locked at all times, no option to snipe from inside. No phones or radio/alarm. Not an appealing view over to water. Property next door had empty containers, old cars/trucks.

    Close to centre of Hobart. Easy to get to from airport. Good looking poll all didn't have the chance to take a swim

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon. Wall fan but provided very little air movement. Thank goodness it wasn't hot during our stay as it would have been terrible.

    Good price. Close to city

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bed mattress was too firm making for poor sleep quality. Noisy when above room occupants are in their room Sound travels down to the room below. View was a weedy paddock.

    Friendly manager and staff. Addressed my issue promptly. Excellent proximity to Hobart, local shops and service station. You do need a car.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Am glad we got in just after 2pm, as other later arrivals had to park on the grass lot next door....not such a big hassle really. The window in our room was very "touchy"....we were scared to open it any further than a couple of inches, but during the night it must have swung wide open by itself....glad we were on the upper floor.

    Clean room. Staff were obliging....the breakfast pack was excellent for $5 for early departures...this wasn't mentioned in the brochure or online when booking. Good location...close to everything, and only a short 15 min trip into the airport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The whole building had a bad odour and was constantly stuffy. A couple of staff were unhelpful. Lost jewellery in room when advised they couldn't care less. No Air con, broken toaster ohs issue.

    The only thing I liked was the view but even that was impacted by the vacant land adjacent with old shipping containers in it and old truck.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Heritage Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of parking. The matress had some device plugged into it my guess was it is a heated matress and it was uncomfortable on my back.

    Convenient location for the price. The guy checking us in was amazing. Kept the laundry room open for an extra half hour so that we can finish the laundry.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No Complaints, it was small but very comfortable and for the price we felt it was good.

    Nice handy place to stay , convenient to the city and most things. Extremely helpful guy on the reception he explained how to get to lots of places we had booked for sight seeing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Prefer to know UP FRONT that payment is taken before arrival - that there is no refund for cancellation or if price allows cancellation any exceptions. Prefer to know that 'cheap' is a small room.

    it was pleasant and stress free based on my previous experiences

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is in Lutana, which is close enough to public transport. Ideal if you have your own transportation. We caught the bus in to Hobart and used taxi and uber to return

    Fantastic staff, we loved the room and facilities. A lot of really friendly people stay here. Beautiful view! We loved staying a touch out from the city 💕

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking - can be a little tight. Yes the overflow is there but a little disconcerting if you have to park there late at night when a person is on their own

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Heritage Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls are thin could hear noisy people opposite us and downstairs. Lighting in room was ordinary. Facilities and staff average.

    It was OK for the price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although it was billed to be only 4km from the City, getting to the City wasn't easy. You need either a private vehicle, or patience for the infrequently running buses. But even with a car it had its challenges: The spots are small and driveways very tight, even in my small rental car. I imagine a lot of people with large cars would have real trouble.

    The check-in was very friendly. A nice welcome to the state.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The inter-leading door to the room next door wasn't sound proof at all, allowing us to hear more than we cared for.

    The room was clean and comfortable, good value for money!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The junk on the block next door. Could buy a new iron they are very cheap. The current one isn't worth using on clothes. Didn't use the kitchen as utensils were very old and outdated.

    Close to everything.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room is the smallest one and really crowded, and the kitchen opens very late and closes really early, so we cannot cook after we come back the motel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cupboard or shelf in the bathroom to put any toiletries. No table or chairs the bedroom was too small to fit them in despite having a limited amount of cooking facilities. The television was on the wall and so high up it gave you a pain in the neck watching. Wasn’t serviced properly.

    The bathroom was a good size

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    beds great, loved the soap, shampoo,conditioner and lotion dispensers in bathroom, the whole room was great. the view and location. The parking. really enjoyed my stay. Thank you.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Heritage Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    2nd night booked separately from 1st night, the price was about the same, the expectation was near on the same as the first night. What a difference for the same price, double bed, needed to crab along wall to get into bed both sides desk top fan for cooling and the oil heater did not work, no sink to wash up dishes, had to have the door open due to feeling claustrophobic, no table for two, which made it difficult to use kettle, toaster or operate a laptop on a bench 400 x 400, had to put things on the floor. When I made mention of the difference, I was told it was the luck of the draw, this I found unacceptable, I checked to see if they had rooms still available that night which they did. If mine was bad I would hate to think what they were offering others at there establishment that night. Good CUSTOMER SERVICE would have been, gee this person is booking for a second time we best give her the same standard as she had the night before, she might give us a very good report on line, little did they know if the 2nd night stay was as good as the 1st I would have booked there over the weekend Friday and Saturday night at their higher price, not on your nelly I booked up the road at the premium price instead. Not happy Jan.

    able to book one night at a time, which was good was not sure how many nights stay was needed for Hobart. 1st night stayed in Cottage, room good size was able to walk freely around room small table and 2x chairs over looking the river and pool queen size bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Heritage Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The power points were in annoying places, the bathroom had a leak and there were no fly screens on the window, which made ventilation at night a little tricky.

    The room was a decent size, it was very easy coming and going.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is great value for money. Very good external facilities such as the pool, BBQ, communal kitchen and laundry are a bonus. The room is compact, but very functional. It was ideal for what we needed in Hobart.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Heritage Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were a bit thin and was slightly further away from the CBD than I thought

    Room was in a nice little cottage away from main motel. Overlooked the pool and the city skyline. Was a good size room with all amenities. Staff were very helpful for after hours check in

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, if we left window open for ventilation you could put hand through window and open the door. The room is small and a hot box. Bed was uncomfortable. Room for two only one chair for eating table.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very cramped room - no space to unpack - had to live out of suitcase. No nearby amenities, shops, restaurants etc. Had to use at least 2 taxis per day.

    Staff friendliness,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Heritage Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight issue the wi fi didn’t seem to reach our room, strength of signal issue.

    Upgraded to spa room, the cleanliness couldn’t be faulted. Helpful front desk

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rug in front of the refrigerator was damp and the room smelled on entry. It cleared up quickly, though. Not enough paved parking for all guests, but I did ok parking on the grassy knoll. Not sure how it would be in wet weather, though.

    Inexpensive and easy to find.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ironing facilities in the laundry were filthy. Not usable unless you wanted to put your clean clothes on a dirty ironing board and smear the dirty hot iron over your clothes. The fan in our room was fixed, did not swing. The single window in the room did not allow any air flow. It was hot as hell.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Heritage Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hadn’t realised how far it was from the town centre. Yes, it is on a waterfront, but so is most of Hobart. Don’t go there to be near the water, as the only access is through a private property to the waterfront.

    Go for Room 3 in the ‘cottage’. The view from our window was, I think, of Mt Wellington, though we couldn’t see it through the clouds. Though open to all rooms, We were just beside the lovely verandah just outside our room which overlooked the small swimming pool. It was only about an 8 minute drive to a supermarket and apparently a further five minutes to Elizabeth Street restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Airconditioning would be a big advantage.

    Unfortunately our stay there wasn't what we expected. We spent 8 days in Tasmania and all the accomadation we chose was from looking on the internet at the location, pictures and comments.This place definitely didn't live up to its expectations.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Heritage Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staying in the studio we were on the ground floor and disturbed by the people above us as there were wooden floors with no carpets and every footstep echoed. I could not get the WiFi to work. A staff member did offer to assist with this and gave me some tips but I still could not get it to work.

    We stayed in both the studio apartment and the motel as we booked an extra day. The studio was run down but had everything we required including plenty of room - the bathroom was pretty shabby but clean. When we moved to the motel itself, it was a lot more modern although the room was small.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Heritage Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We took the heritage studio. The studio was very old and smelt strange, we had to open the windows for a while to have fresh air. Almost all windows were cracked. We found a lot of dust. We met three people of the staff, the first one was very rude. We heard à lot of noise through the walls. If you can we advise you to not take the heritage studio but take the rooms.

    The staff (except one) The location The size of the room The free parking The pool and the garden

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms were clean but need more maintenance. Light in room not working. Views were ok in 1 room terrible the others. We booked 3 rooms. The curtains in 1 bedroom were broken.Too expensive for what it was.

    it was an expensive place to sleep for what it has on offer.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Heritage Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking at the back was small and cramped. The room itself was small and not very spacious at all, the bathroom was so low my partner had to crouch when washing his hands and going to the toilet. Bed was a bit dirty and needed to be changed, quite uncomfortable. The stairs to get up to the room was super steep and run down, could have easily had an accident. Would not recommend staying in the Heritage studio, it needs a HUGE renovation!

    Not much too be honest. Was in a location that wasn't too far from supermarkets and the CBD. Easy check in and out.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Waterfront Lodge Motel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: