Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa 5 stars

5 - 19 Lilianfels Avenue, 2780 Katoomba, Australia

#2 of 19 hotels in Katoomba

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 960 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    Great stay but it is critical the staff do the building justice.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not as good as normal. David concierge was fantastic. Staff at breakfast were not the best. We asked for medium poached eggs. I was in a rush for business, half an hour later we asked a staff. She said it was late because you wanted it hard.?

    Love the hotel, the position the decor etc

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable and we would go back there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was very well run, car parking at night was usually full but they valet parked our car for us if no space in car park.

    Buffet breakfast was excellent, staff were very accommodating to our needs, loved the enormous pool table and cleanliness of rooms. Staff on reception friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.0
    We went for a special celebration and were very dispappointed our stays didnt meet expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was very ordinaryin the lounge area for dinner. Had to ask for service on a couple of occasions. The lounge area and billiard rooms had dirty plates and mugs scattered around.

    Our bedroom was lovely. Our friends was unclean and the bathroom had mould in the shower and dirt behind the toilet Reported to management on checkout and no comment was made by staff. Followed up by a further email to management and no response. Very disappointing for an establishment of this reputation

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing but am hopeful it can improve with proper management
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness of the rooms specifically the bathrooms, the service in the restaurant was very slow and there was little supervision of the trainee staff. The food was average at best.

    Not as much as I had hoped, as I’ve been to the hotel prior and it has deteriorated. The trainee wait staff in the kitchen tried really hard.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Have been going to Lillianfels for years, I’ve travelled...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have been going to Lillianfels for years, I’ve travelled overseas and it just has that extra magic and what’s better it’s on my door step... I’m a local from Sydney. The overall experience is what I really enjoy every time.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Overall very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wait Staff in the Lounge and Restaurant were slow to attend but were attentive when they finally served me.

    Beautiful setting within walking distance of Echo Point. Well appointed and maintained property.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.8
    Overrated - overpriced - an okay getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the fact that we had a dilemma with our room . I booked a twin deluxe room and the stay was for 2 nights . The first night we didn’t sleep at all because there was mould on the roof of the bed heads and dust mites . I actually got an eye infection from it plus there was a lot of noise at 2am for someone running around above . We complained to reception and they upgraded us to a twin deluxe room on the next floor which was much cleaner , lighter , airy and quieter . Not sure why certain rooms are clean and in good condition and some aren’t . And because it was only 2 nights we only enjoyed the better room for one night . My recommendation is do not stay on the ground floor . I didn’t let Le the fact that you had to spend $30 to by a cocktail and the food was very expensive . We drove to near by cafes as restaurants for dinners and lunches . The places around the hotel was much more reasonable priced and tasted wonderful . We pre paid for buffet breakfast for 2 days and that cost $116 for 2 people . I wouldn’t stay there again simply because it was very overrated for the price . It was great that they upgraded our room otherwise we would of drove back home after the first night . My mum isn’t well and she can’t have those sort of conditions in a room either . I would of liked them to also give us a complimentary dinner for one night , so we didn’t have to drIve out in the rain and minus one degrees to buy dinner at a reasonable price .

    I enjoyed the atmosphere of the place . It has an old world feel and is surrounded by beautiful grounds and very close to Echo point and cafes . The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi was woefully slow, TV position in room made it hard to watch. Phone coverage poor (not hotel's fault!) But I guess you don't go to the Blue Mountains to watch TV & surf the 'Net!

    Great location, literally across the road from the Three Sisters. Good sized indoor pool, functional gym. Tennis Courts too. The Games Room was an unexpected bonus, free use of full size snooker table with other games available. Room was spacious, big bathroom with bath & separate shower (with good water pressure)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    The perfect place to relax and totally unwind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a long training session in the indoor pool which left my skin very itchy over the next 24 hours. Chemical mix a touch high perhaps?

    The staff were just amazing,they made our stay so very enjoyable and memorable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa isn’t really a spa it’s a small hot tub and sauna in the changing rooms for the pool so really not suitable for couples, staff are polite but are not overly helpful

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    A delightful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was very large and comfortable. The resort is set in very central location and has lovely lounge areas with open fires, perfect for the cold weather. Staff helpful , breakfast very good. Dinner at the 2 hatted restaurant Darleys was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.1
    We love the mountains and enjoyed the location of Lilianfels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found that the room was a little dated. Very small window in the bedroom, it was a dark room....too expensive per night for that 1 room.

    Very friendly staff, Mr Percy is amazing, professional and friendly (located at concierge). He made our stay special by providing us with information of places to visite and assisting with Valet parking. Daleys Restaurant is fabulous. We enjoyed the gardens too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Best weekend getaway for luxury and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - everything was fantastic.

    Lilianfels is my favourite weekend getaway bar none. Staff are amazing and really understand excellent service - Jess at the bar was absolutely incredible. The dinner at Darleys was exceptional and our waiter Ashe was fantastic. It was a night to remember!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    Could have been a much better experience if those two annoying points were improved on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were two main things that were disappointing for a five star property. Firstly we had drinks at the bar and the bar man was more interested in talking to the staff than to the guests there was no friendly or professional service. The second thing was we paid extra for our room to get breakfast included and upon arriving in the breakfast room we were told that normal tea and filtered coffee was included, however if we wanted specialty coffee such as espresso or a type tea we would have to pay for that. Having stayed around the world as well as in Australia in hundreds of 5 star hotels I found this extra cost for what I would call essential breakfast items picky and excessive and has really put me off returning to the property.

    I think the property is very nice and the decor is great. Darley’s restaurant which is on site is fantastic fine dining. The location is great as you can walk to the thee sisters. We went in winter so did not use the indoor or outdoor pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.0
    The room was very nice and in keeping with the historical date it started.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast deal. Very expensive. Went up the road to eat.

    Room service a bit strange. Slippers provided were taken away and not replaced. Items missing out of the bar when we got there. Attendant who restocked seemed very unhappy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Great older style of hotel with plenty of space and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had dinner in the foyer bar as it was a Monday night. My wife's meal was under cooked and sent back. They removed it from the bill.

    Lovely comfortable room and public areas.Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Great location, short walk down to Echo Point to view at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps some light background music like the piano playing in the lounge where high tea is served. It was very quiet. Minor detail but it’d add to an otherwise wonderful dining experience in such a beautifully decorated room.

    Great location, short walk down to Echo Point to view at different times of day. Tranquil surrounds with stunning gardens. Excellent facilities, indoor pool, tennis court and games room. Beautiful restaurant to have high tea. Well maintained toilets in the lobby. Wonderfully polite and helpful staff. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay from start to finish and would recommended highly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Arguably the luxurious stay at the Blue Mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The so called valley view was blocked by a row of trees and the access road

    Excellent breakfast Good restaurants in Darlys and Echos Close to Three Sisters (within walking distance)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Amazing venue with great staff and food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much to be honest. The shower doors are a strange design whereby the bathroom floor gets soaked each time but that's far from a complaint.

    The staff were absolutely fantastic and although I didn't try the 2 signature restaurants, the dinner and breakfast set ups within the main building were terrific.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    AS good as it gets - we'll be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No dislikes at all.

    What a great place to stay in the Blue Mountains! Top line Five Star resort - a range of restaurants, very very pleasant and helpful staff, lovely room - magnificent views over the Jamison Vally. WE both loved our stay and will be back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.5
    and ambience. Was first class. I would like to bring 4, others in March but worry any deals?trt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought the add on for vegetables was most off putting. The price of the wine at Darleys was ridiculous.

    We liked the friendly service,the view from our window, the comfort.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Great for a romantic getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As almost always in Australia the service was pretty indifferent but in fairness they were pretty busy as it was Mother’s Day weekend

    Room was lovely, food excellent, spa very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.0
    Average, for the money stay somewhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast average, room itself very small and very basic for such an expensive room. I just expected much more...

    Severely overpriced for what you get. Rate should be half of what it is or lower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Great stay great position surround by beautiful walks staff very friendly professional and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor a bit tired Breakfast room looking into catpark why not use Lounge Fires not authentic Parking a problem

    Staff friendly helpful lounge good space to relax rooms spacious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    fabu;lous ..relaxing and peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    delay on checkout clearing up prior payments for treatments

    room was great same one as last time Spa and treatments fabulous ..friendly staff..great lounge and music

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have stayed before and came back because we really liked it. Our visits to the restaurant for afternoon tea, dinner and breakfast left a bit to be desired. This is supposed to be a five star facility and one would therefore expect all staff to be 5 star as well. It took 3 people to finally allocate us a set seat when we wanted to have afternoon tea. The waitress wasn't able to take a simple order without having to confirm a couple of times, including our roo number. We signed the docket, only to be bailed up by another person (when leaving the restaurant area) and being told she just needs us to sign the docket, which of course we had done already. Same happened when we came for dinner. The waiter wasn't able to answer us a couple of simple questions with regards to the meals and clearly just guessed an answer. My partner ask to have a Jack Daniels withe Coke served in a tall glass, but that didn't happen either. We had breakfast the next morning and after sitting down for about 15 minutes nobody had asked us if we would like to order coffees. We went to get some breakfast, but had to then wait further 5 minutes to get a waitress to provide us with butter, which we were told should have been on the table. The very comfortable room, showed a few black webs on the ceiling. None of the above is of course the end of the world, but as stated before, not something one expects in a 5 star facility.

    Beautiful location, great facilities, very comfortable rooms, very welcoming staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    Some restaurant staff were very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We encountered a very rude front desk staff and had a discrepancy about being charged for having the sofa bed for our kids and were never told about this at all.

    Some restaurant staff were very friendly Kids loved the games room and pool

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.3
    Sadly, Lilianfels did not live up to my expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lack of a lounge area to sit and relax. The reading room was tiny and fully occupied and in the dining area you had to buy something to be allowed to sit there. On a rainy Saturday the only place left was the room. I could have been at home and much more comfortable.

    comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    beds were super comfortable and rooms a good size
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the service upon checkin and checkout was a little disappointing, as was the valet service for cars when the car park was full. Not as happy or service oriented as i have experienced there in the past

    beds were super comfortable and rooms a good size

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    A great location for a relaxing vacation in luxurious surroundings..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wireless internet connection was poor and needs to be improved.

    A beautiful location with views over the valley. The lounge area was warm and inviting. The service was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.5
    On Sunday evening we experienced difficulty securing a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On Sunday evening we experienced difficulty securing a chicken and vegetables dinner for my elderly mother who needed gluten free food. The dinner room staff were indifferent to my mother's needs. The staff at the front desk were always delightful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.1
    Good, but could have better with room with a view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room (twin size) was rather dark, with only one window and no view. For a rather 'posh' hotel it was disappointing.

    The food at the hotel & its associated restaurants was good, though on the expensive side.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    2.5
    Wouldn't recommend it..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better friendly service. Strange sized room felts like i was sleeping in an attic with no view.

    The room was dusty...small cramped room..non friendly service no welcomes or how was your stay. No free bottled water only a $6 italian water in the bar fridge..when asked at reception why no free bottled water staff response was no 5 star hotel i've worked at provides bottled water...they advertised they had foxtel but there was only 3 sports channels..very overpriced not a 5 star experience at all..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff.Comfortable bed, great views from our room. Received complimentary champagne for our 23rd Anniversary. Love the overall ambience of the place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Location, amenities, atmosphere and such friendly staff make for an amazing break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Light milk in the fridge would have been a bonus and additional pillows for the bed would help for watching the TV on a quiet night in.

    The Room and view was fantastic and the comfort of the bed amazing. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The location of the property as so close to some amazing walks you really didn't have to struggle with making decisions for something to do. The only struggle we has was having to leave.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.7
    Walls in room were dirty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls in room were dirty. Also it's annoying in this day and age when you stay in a 5 star hotel resort paying for breakfast And they charge $5.50 for a cappuccino at breakfast. Some not all do this and I can't help but feel it's mean spirited.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.7
    Pay for what you get - service in dining room was mediocre given the prices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the set up of the bathroom in the spa - couldn't have a shower in private after massage. Breakfast was expensive and extensive but really why when it all self service apart from tea/coffee

    Lovely setting and very comfortable. Had a massage in the spa which was fantastic. Didn't like the set up of the bathroom in the spa - couldn't have a shower in private after massage. Breakfast was expensive and extensive but really why when it all self service apart from tea/coffee

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable stay and Darleys Restaurant was sensational , food and staff worthy of 2 hats.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downer on our stay was the parking situation which is rather limited and meant a couple of laps of the property before managing to find a tight spot. On our next stay I would certainly be looking at valet parking

    The room was very spacious and the beds very comfortable. Buffet breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly welcome by Monique.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioning erratic changes from cold to hot in the night time despite not touching the controls.

    Very friendly welcome by Monique. Smooth check-in not like last time when you had to fill al information despite visiting the hotel for the 5th time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    5 - Star hotel. Best in Blue Mountains. Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No phone reception inside the hotel room (this is a very minor flaw, it is a result of the positioning of the hotel - being so close to the National Park). Upon walking outside the hotel room in the outdoor area, phone reception is back to normal. I cannot state any additional flaws, everything else seemed good.

    Grand room was spacious and had reasonable feng - shui. Not too cluttered with furniture. Outdoor garden area with fountain is beautiful. Lots of excellent facilities, immaculately presentable location and high vibration environment.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    5.4
    Restaurant not open No atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant not open No atmosphere Had to round up receptionist pool tiles poor state. No turn down service No atmosphere lobby could not make a Bellini no peach nectar. Paper not delivered as requested.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable but lacking in the touches of a pricey hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a pricey hotel. The hotel could at least provide complimentary water in the room and deliver a newspaper to your door . They could also fix the paving stones in the porte cochere.

    The rooms are comfy. The pool is well maintained and heated to a comfortable temperature.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Elegant luxury with one of the most beautiful locations in the world. Spoil yourself with the spa!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved sitting and enjoying the lounge during high tea in the day and for an evening nightcap and the pianist was sublime. We felt this was the only are of the resort where the service didn't feel quite as high.

    We came to visit Lilianfels to look at Escarpment group wedding venues and we have to say that the service was brilliant, the resort luxurious and our dinner at Darley's was beyond opulent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    In short, we will be coming back. Excellent weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night

    If my wife and I had one minor critique "worth mentioning" it would have to be the pillows. The bed was super comfortable but our pillows were like Concrete. Not sure if we were just "unlucky" or this is the norm for all rooms (we had the King Deluxe room). The easy fix for us is that we are in a position to bring our own next time as we are Sydney based.

    Lilianfels surpassed our expectations. We could have easily given full marks on everything relating to the questions in the survey, however that would give an indication that everything is perfect and Lilianfels therefore do not need to continue to strive to be at the top of their game. Overall an excellent facility, especially the Day Spa and Massaging.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.8
    Amazing location. Disappointed by service at restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At dinner they forgot to bring the sides, then dessert took a very long time to come.

    Room was big and clean. Staff were great and everything was very clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel in great location with very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we were out from 10am until 4pm our room wasn’t serviced during this time. It was then inconvenient for us as we were showering when they wanted to do it so consequently it wasn’t done. Not too much of a problem as only there two nights but would have been frustrating if staying longer. Problem with computer on check out.

    Staff extremely friendly and very helpful. Beds very comfortable. I didn’t want a full breakfast and they were very happy to serve me coffee in the lounge and was free to help myself to pastries from the buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    6.7
    Not worth the money you spend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was expensive. The gardens are very lack lustre. Overgrown and surprisingly unkept. The bar closes at 10pm. We did the desustation menu at darley's restaurant which was by far the worst degustation meal we have had. Absolutely underwhelming.

    Friendly staff, comfortable bed, quiet room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    First 6 days were recreational. The location was perfect; very peaceful, great facilities
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was too expensive We usually only like to have cereal, fruit & yoghurt There should be an option for continental Vs buffet

    Location was perfect. Our first 6 days were for recreation so we enjoyed the bushwalking etc. Beyond our expectations Staff were friendly & helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    looking forward to staying when weather is colder and can enjoy the open fires.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A biscuit would have been nice to have had with a cup of tea,have stayed several times over the years,also stay at fairmont when we do always a welcome back note and comp cheese plate nice touch.

    The bed wonderful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful location and overall it was an enjoyable stay but room could have been cleaner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were face cloths (scrunched in a ball) on the toilet cistern. I picked them up to see if they were cleaning cloths. I think they were. One was a cut off piece of a larger towel that had some holes; it was dry but a bit dirty. The bin in the bathroom was up on the bath. It looked as though the cleaning was done in a hurry and not inspected properly.

    We had a beautiful dinner at Darley's. The food was superb and the service was excellent. It was a relaxing and intimate dinner for our anniversary celebration.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.3
    Meals in the Lounge Restaurant were delicious and great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathrooms are dated and looking very tired. Rooms could do with some refurbishment and a freah coat of paint.

    Meals in the Lounge Restaurant were delicious and great value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.3
    The best part of our stay was the peace and quite. Room 220 delivered this.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The waiting and bar staff could be friendlier and more helpful. No refreshment service at the pool is not becoming of a five star hotel and a missed opportunity for increased revenue. Also, the lack of shower at the pool is very unhygienic.

    The Reception and Concierge staff were friendly, happy and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.1
    Can now say we have been, but could not see value for money in taking up other resort options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A conference group continued late night after dinner discussions without management intervening to think about the other guests.

    The history of the site.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Will definitely visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Awesome Indoor and outdoor pool. Loved the billiards room and the location was short stroll to majestic views. Rooms were like going back in time and very clean and well appointed with everything you need.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.1
    Good food in the restaurant next door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you book a room and they charge you extra for a view on the valley you should get a proper view. Both rooms they showed me you looked straight into a tree and did not see the valley. Save yourselve the money and book a standard room there. When I asked about it why the rooms did not have a view as paid for I got the comment that the marketing department came up with that idea. Very poor marketing for a hotel with this standard.

    Location is good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Recommended, one of the most enjoyable hotel stats I’ve had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room very loud, especially as there’s no alternative room/ area for busy groups or families with children.

    Great location, friendly staff and the Darly restaurant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.8
    We enjoyed our short stay at Lilianfels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was raining when we arrived and the most direct pathway to the entrance between the garden beds was flooded so we got wet feet entering the front door. It would be very simple to raise the pavers about 75mm over a distance of less than a metre so the pavers were above the water level.

    The ambiance, location and staff assistance

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.6
    Gorgeous heritage hotel in a beautiful location, we just adored our stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice to have espresso coffee included in the breakfast package, considering the package is quite pricey.

    The rooms were gorgeous, we loved the interior design with the heritage details and toile patterns. We had everything we needed, and the service was so intuitive that we didn't need to lift a finger our whole stay. Such a gorgeous location which is a mere 10 minute walk from the Three Sisters lookout, perfect to view at sunrise if you can bear to get up so early! The facilities at the hotel were excellent, we loved the indoor pool area, the gardens and the beautiful sitting room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful romantic getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disappointing from a vegan point of view. Hash browns would have been nice.

    Great ambiance. Relaxing comfortable lounge. Indoor pool. Outdoor pool. Romantic room. Staff were friendly and professional

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.8
    Lovely and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the restaurant did not meet expectations based on its reputation. Service and restaurant was excellent but food was possibly not worth the money it cost. Would not eat there again which was disappointing as my partner is a exec chef and my guests also work in the industry. 👎

    The bed was very comfy 👍 The pool was lovely

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.9
    Very relaxing and perfect temperature after Sydney's 45 degrees
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    View from the room was a bit disappointing. Would have liked it if the library had magazines.

    The scones were delicious. The staff were friendly. We enjoyed trying to play pool/snooker.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.6
    Came for one night, stayed for three!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited parking otherwise valet parking available at cost.

    It is a clean and comfortable very traditional hotel with modern conveniences such as (quiet) a/c.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.6
    Chilled out weekend break in stunning location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only slight disappointment was breakfast, but that was with regard to value rather than quality. I loved the option to have freshly squeezed OJ but adding an extra charge for anything other than filtered coffee irked, especially given the price.

    Fantastic location, comfortable room, extensive facilities and great ambience. We had a blast on our trip. Being so close to the 3 sisters meant that we could get up early and enjoy the view without hordes of other tourists. That made the trip really special.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.6
    We will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We thought the breakfast was a little expensive, not a fan

    The room was a great size and the restaurant was perfect. Would highly recommend a short stay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.3
    Dinner at Darley's was excellent in every aspect - food,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a buffet and the hot dishes were not.

    Dinner at Darley's was excellent in every aspect - food, drink, service, ambience. It justified the trip

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast could have more variety a bit overpriced . Outside pool area furniture old. Outdoor seating area needs replacing especially the park benches. Spa facilities better access

    Bed & cushions very comfortable, atmosphere great. Friendly staffand great service

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    7.1
    A very enjoyable stay and very polite and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of parking.

    I enjoyed using the insiide and outside pools and the other amenties, I felt it unfortunate that there was very little parking but the staff did offer Valet Parking when we could not park which was thoughtful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.9
    High end Blue Mountains experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive Reception staff stuffed up my booking for an extra night ( hadn't informed housekeeping) Breakfast was a scrum

    Fabulous location in the Blue Mountains Old school charm of the buildings and grounds Comfortable and good sized rooms Fine dining restaurant in Darleys

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.5
    Not happy so disappointed
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room so small we ask for mountain view we get it through the window of a small room in the hotel They advertised it too much and people expect what they advertise but come out all disgraceful

    We like the food in other restaurant across the hotel and the friendly staff the Echoes hotel and restaurant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.3
    pleasent and the choice of pools great, lovely rooms comfy, great staff but understaffed i feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Well telling us that there were pool towels available would have been great i wouldnt have packed them from home and looked silly when seeing others with the hotels towels and some people asked us where they could get towels after we found out, the notice is only once you get to the pool about towels on a very small sign....some of the in house food was dissapointing i had a steak overcooked full of fat so for 42 dollars i wasnt impressed! and also no bananas at breakfast really????Outside pool chairs all with mould needs attending to.

    overall everything was good the staff at times were run off their feet but handled it well on the whole.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    A perfect place for some quiet indulgence with stunning amenities and most welcoming hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. We had a little break wanting some quiet time, dinner and a little escape. The experience was perfect.

    Every aspect of Lilianfels was stunning. The intimate feel of drinks in the lounge, the gardens provide a beautiful setting, the room was perfect, as shown on the website. Beds were comfortable and breakfast was lovely in the Orange Room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    Lovely and relaxed. A wonderful way to spend time with my daughter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was from 7-10. For us, until 11 would have been better. We enjoy sleeping in when we're away but had to get up to enjoy the buffet.

    Atmosphere was inviting, not intrusive. I felt like I was at a friend's home being looked after. The music (Playing for Change) was a bonus one evening and created a wonderful atmosphere. We were not expecting this and made the night very special.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel, missing a few important features and expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For an up market, expensive hotel there are not enough sun-lounges at the pool or sunshade/umbrellas at the pool. Within the hotel, although there is a small reading room and a games room, a generous lounge space is needed. Also disappointingly, as the point of being in the blue mountains right on the echo point is to have a deck/terrace with views to sit around and enjoy a drink, there are none in this property. Views are only available, from a few very expensive rooms.

    Beds, bathroom very comfortable. A problem with the air con in room was attended immediately.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful location, elegant hotel I would definitely stay again but staff need to work on their serv
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service didn't reflect the quality and location of the hotel. Although staff were aproachable and friendly, service was slow and unresponsive and I felt that some staff were struggling to anticipate guest needs. I would have liked to have been able to use a sauna and cold plunge and the gym is to small and under equipped.

    The setting, atmosphere and decor of the hotel, staff were friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    Great, relaxing and loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet service should be complimentary and unlimited. There is no mobile service with Telstra, so hard to get a connection. I’m not sure about Voda or Optus however in this day and age with all ISPs moving to unlimited allowances internet data should be much more generous.

    Fantastic high quality property. Clearly the best in the region. Fantastic food and service

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: