Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Macleay Hotel 3.5 stars

28 Macleay Street, Potts Point, Potts Point, 2011 Sydney, Australia

#85 of 306 hotels in Sydney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1649 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    For a short term stay it’s in a great spot, very clean. 24 hour front desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with District View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was beside the lifts which were at times a little noisy but the view and the morning sun outweighted the occasional noise.

    Close to transport,restaurants,supermarket for self catering.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    The Macleay was the perfect base for a busy, sightseeing trip with friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Studio with Harbour View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and modern, with beautiful views over the harbour. The location was excellent, easy to get to public transport and also easy to walk to main attractions and the city etc.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful views, great location, and great value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with District View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The kitchenette had a hot plate which was OK for a solo traveler, but a counter insert stove would have been nice. The Wifi was ok and worked fine for business needs. If you are a video streamer or have gamer kids along it might not be strong enough.

    The location was great! Staff were amazing! With a kitchenette, a full service grocery across the street, and walking distance from some of the top restaurants in Sydney this is a great value and a good place to enjoy a real Sydney experience outside the CBD. Kings Cross metro and bus service made it easy to get around and back to the airport. I did not need a car at all. I had a "district view" room and loved seeing the CBD lit up at night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Simple In Appearance
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with District View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room faced the street, which even though four stories up, still allowed a considerable amount of road noise to penetrate between 6am and 9pm. Use of their car parking is seriously an adventure in itself, associated with very limited spaces in which to park. The majority of parks available appear to be reserved for private use only, meaning you have very limited opportunities (at increased risks). Free Wi-Fi is available in the room, but the connection was both extremely slow when a connection was finally achieved, and incredibly erratic. There is even a mention of possible difficulties in the Guest Compendium, so this can only be assumed to be an ongoing problem.

    Reception on arrival was very friendly and helpful. Had a studio room which was very tastefully decorated and furnished (including a table and chairs and a large comfortable bed). Quite functional to not only meet all the usual needs, but actually serves as an apartment, although rather compact in overall size. In addition to a considearble amount of sight and travel information being available in the lobby, the room also had a very informative Guest Compendium was provided. A Hotel computer is available for use in the lobby that functions very well (if you get an opportunity to use it).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful amazing views from the room (booked room with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Bridge or Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just some minor things due to building being a bit older, needed change of lightbulb...minor things :-)

    Wonderful amazing views from the room (booked room with a view) much worth the little bit of extra money! Wonderful little sitting area and everything needed in the kitchen area including a two pit stove pot. The bed was one of those which can be flipped up into a dresser/closet but was very stable and comfi to sleep on. Renovated bathroom and comfi shower. Comfi temperature in the room. The premises are a bit older but everything is up to standard. Staff is very friendly! I had a lovely stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    We only stayed one night, and a longer stay would have been good -
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Studio with District View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy Air con and chipped sink in bathroom. All else was very good. Four adults in our room was a bit of a squeeze, tho. An exhaust fan in the bathroom?

    Service waws very good and very friendly. Staff eager to help and prompt in answering/ supplying additional needs. Very accommodating. Great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Excellent, would return again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with District View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Handle on fry pan needed to be tightened but we didn’t tell reception until last day, so really our fault.

    Cooking facilities, with supermarket across street. Walking distance from train station. Window opens. Quite. Easy access. Great wifi, with easy password. Reception helpful. Good beds. And easy too use laundry. Great desert from deli across street.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel with unhelpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with District View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor was full of cigarettes smell. The staff was not friendly and helpful at all. We were carrying a lots luggages and we need to push the hotel trolley to the entrance to place our luggages and get it up to our room ourselves! The staff saw it and just let us do it our own without offering any help! Is this the guest job to push the hotel trolley? Ridiculous!!

    The facilities in the room was good and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    It was good - clean, tidy & easily accessible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with District View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    We had the room facing district view which was not a problem - love people watching. But because its also the main road and there is no double glazing window, it is very noisy especially in the wee hours of the morning when all the empty bottles being tipped into the recycling truck. So if you're planning a sleep in after a big night out, that is not going to happen.

    Location was great to get to places. Lots of nice restaurants nearby. Easy public transport access (Bus 311 and 10 mins walk to Kings Cross Station).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    The property was delightfully located on Potts Point.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with District View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was delightfully located on Potts Point. There were plenty of restaurants and grocery/bottle shops in the area. We enjoyed our daily walk around the neighborhood and found the walk downtown to be easy and enjoyable. From our 5th floor room we had a beautiful view of the CBD and part of the Sydney Harbour Bridge.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    it was a handy room with great in room kitchenette and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Bridge or Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    booked a bridge view and did not receive that.

    it was a handy room with great in room kitchenette and a wonderful view of the harbour. With a Woolworths just across the road and the bus stop just outside the front door is was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Bridge or Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Greeting at the lobby made our whole expierance great ! The staff were exceptional and we felt taken care of , the cleaning lady’s were so nice and did a great job . The lady at the lobby took time to show us how to get around on buses and train it was great . Thankyou

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.3
    Stay here for 7 nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Studio with District View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stay here for 7 nights. Rooms size was moderate for 4 of us and clean, staffs were friendly and helpful. The small pantry was well equipped and there is a supermarket across the road. Kings Cross station is about 10 mins walk and there are many shops,cafe and reataurant nearby. We were happy to stay here and would definitely recommend “The Macleay “ to our friends.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with District View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit farther from the city by walk but can do it.approximately 40mins.

    Staffs are nice, room was clean. They did cleaning my room every day. The Location is pretty convenient. Only 2 away from CBD. Also taking Bus is a good option to get and back from the city. Supermarket and liquor store are just across the road.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    The view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Bridge or Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom not as described in photos Room was quiet dusty Found a random sock just under the bed not mine or girlfriends

    The view All in all a good room for the night

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.8
    The location was great, it’s so easy and the train station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Bridge or Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid extra for a harbour/bridge view and couldn’t see them, when we asked to move rooms they said they could put us on a lower floor and “you would slightly see the top of the bridge” beds are so hard we’re not comfy at all! The shower was terrible to navigate, and overall the cleaning wasn’t clean at my all, our glasses had lipstick stains and there was hairs in the sink ☹️

    The location was great, it’s so easy and the train station was super close & cheap to get around!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    The room was clean and the beds were comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Studio with District View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit small for 2 adults and two children

    The room was clean and the beds were comfy. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The location was great a short walk to Kings cross Station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    The view from the room was brilliant, stunning vivid...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Bridge or Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view from the room was brilliant, stunning vivid festival harbour outlook. The room was well appointed clean and comfortable for our 2 night stay. Short walk to restaurants cafes and Kings Cross railway station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Loved location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Studio with District View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to pay extra for parking. We are staying at the hotel we should not have to pay for the parking as clients of hotel.

    Loved location and staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    The location was perfect for our needs and access to different methods of transport was good. Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One bedroom comprising double bed and bunks was cramped and had no storage space. Shower was tricky to regulate.

    We had a two bedroom apartment, which was well equipped and comfortable. The beds were very cosy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.7
    Okay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with District View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location! Friendly stuff!!! Room was not clean, dirty fridge, bothroom smelt very bad, sheets/pilocases/towels had blood stains. Room in general smelt bad. I had to buy stuff to clean the toilet and air freshener. Nights were quiet, except the street noise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.2
    Great staff, great location and amenities for a reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's just a couple of things that could be improved. There were six of us staying in the apartment, but initially we were only given towels and toiletries for 3 people, so we had to ask reception to bring those up (my booking showed the room was for 6 adults). Some tile work in the bathroom had been recently repaired, but it was obvious and not done well for a 4 star hotel.

    6 of us stayed in a 2 bedroom, 1 bathroom apartment and really enjoyed our stay. The man who checked us in was extremely helpful and was a wealth of info about the location, and what was on offer. The apartment itself was roomy, with heaps of storage and lightfilled. The kitchen was excellent. The information pack in the room was well thought out and provided heaps of info on the hotel itself, and all the restaurants close by. There was only 1 bathroom but this was roomy enough, and helped make our stay very affordable in Sydney. Would definitely book again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Weekend at The Macleay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio with Bridge or Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the location, right in the middle of Potts Point near Woolworths, cafes/restaurants and the water. I would stay here again.

    We had a phenomenal view of the whole harbour. The hotel was clean, and enough for two people to stay comfortably. I will stay here again and book for the same room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable and worth the money spent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with District View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room heater could have been little better.

    The location of the hotel was at a walkable distance to the tube station. There were lots of restaurants and supermarket such as the Coles and the Metro near the hotel. As it is a studio room, we managed to make breakfast in the room, which was very convenient. The staffs were friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Sydney views
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Bridge or Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Macleay Hotel is in a prime location. Views from the Bridge or Harbour view rooms are breath-taking, especially from upper floors. Good, secure parking on site. Very convenient to eateries, and also a big supermarket just across the road.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Amazing, the staff is always present, kind and ready to help...
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with District View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing, the staff is always present, kind and ready to help you, the place is always clean, it's close to almost everything, you even have a store right in front of it! I had a great time being there and whenever I'm in Sydney again I"ll stay at this hotel for sure! Thank you for this experience!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    A Comfortable Place to Stay and a Superb Location in Sydney.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with District View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We thought the bed was very small, more like a double bed. I could not find this specific detail on my booking in order to be certain. If I booked a room with a double bed, then it was my mistake. However the studio rooms are advertised as having a queen size bed. Hence, we found the bed to be not very comfortable due to its size. The mattress and cleanliness were otherwise fine. The bathroom, while updated and very clean, is quite small, in particular the shower. Possibly an issue for tall or heavy people. As a light sleeper, I found the light on the microwave oven to be a distraction as well as light coming into the room under the door. Unfortunately I forgot to bring eye shades with me on this trip. I found the wifi to be unreliable a couple of times. As a Studio Room with District View, our view was of the apartment building next door - although a very nice one. I understand that not all rooms are going to have dynamic views, and it wasn't an issue for us. It might be a consideration for other people. Overall, I would definitely say that the positives outweigh the negatives.

    First and foremost, the location is excellent. I love Potts Point! It is a vibrant inner city area, one I consider to be "non-touristy". Everything and anything you need are at your doorstep and if not right there, very accessible either on foot or by public transport. That being said, I have previously stayed at an Air B'n B very near to the hotel, and found it to be very noisy. I didn't hear any street noise staying at The Macleay. The hotel staff is helpful, friendly and accommodating. Our room was very clean and had the amenities we required. The bathroom has clearly been updated recently, and presents very well. I liked that there were a couple of drawers and below sink cupboard. The hair dryer was a good one. The bed was also clean with crisp, white linen. I liked that there was not a bedspread. Additional pillows were in the cupboard. The mattress was reasonably firm and to our liking. There is a small kitchenette equipped with microwave oven, bar fridge, kettle, toaster, sink and an electric hotplate. I don't think I would ever "cook" in this room due to lack of ventilation. The curtains ensure the room is dark. Free wifi!!!!! I believe the room type was a Studio with District View. As such, it is not overly spacious, but was certainly comfortable for the two of us and for the amount of time we actually spent at the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Great value in a great location. Clean and good wifi.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with District View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Slight odor from fridge which went away after airing the room. Old carpet in room. Everything was very clean.

    Location great. Staff excellent and accommodating. Parking on site was a breeze. Wifi at full speed. Spotless bathroom. Facilities: microwave, kettle, fridge. You can actually have some comforts of home. Very good value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Well worth a second stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Studio with District View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothng to complain about

    Staff accommodated our needs. Very friendly. Onsite parking although expensive is a must. Bed so comfortable? Very clean, central to all our needs. Will definately rebook this one.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Most enjoyable accommodation and friendly staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with District View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no problems at all, the purpose of my visit was to see my daughter, who was over from Malta staying with friends nearby.

    Great location, everything needed in walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.5
    The Macleay Hotel was lovely and central and we would stay there again. The staff were friendly
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with District View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was near the lift shaft, so could hear the elevator sometimes. The air conditioner needed servicing, and was a little noisy when switched on

    The beds were comfortable, and having a small kitchenette was great for our purpose.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Lovely stay with experienced staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Bridge or Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We weren't aware that you had to book breakfast the night before :(

    Lovely stay with experienced staff. Fantastic, peaceful location with an amazing view!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Perfectly located in hip neighborhood, great service, comfortable and quiet rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Studio with District View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful service. We arrived at 9am after 30 hours of travel and were graciously given access to a clean, well-equipped bathroom to shower and change. Started our trip off right! Great hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.8
    Great view on the roof top to see the Opera House Harbour Bridge & Elizabeth Bay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with District View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price could have been more competitive as value for money, if it wasn't for the view, I would not book into this hotel. In terms of comfort it was okay, we booked one room with queen bed but we got twin beds instead not expecting that. I booked for a District View but all we could see was the building next door you have to be on the upper level to have a good view. There are better hotels with the same facilities with parking + breakfast for a cheaper price.

    The highlight for me was probably the roof top view. It was good that it has overnight parking. The location was close to supermarket and good places to eat. The reception was very friendly and helpful, gave us a map around the area and pointed us the locations of different restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Very nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with District View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was in very nice shape and very clean. Good bed. It was secure. It was very near a Woolworths for shopping for groceries. The room had cooking facilities which was great for us. A very nice Italian restaurant nearby. Hotel was within walking distance of the opera center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Studio with District View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was super tiny and weirdly laid out but that's the only complain

    The location, the staff, the cleaningness of the room and bathroom and we had a lovely terrace with a partial view of the water.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    I was totally satisfied with The Macleay and this contributed to a memorable stay in Sydney.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Bridge or Harbour View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nil.

    The locality. The cafe's and restaurants. Above all the staff were extremely courteous, friendly and helpful. We were made to feel very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with District View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air condition was a little too loud for my taste and it was missing adjustment control panel. You could only switch it on or off.

    Well, obviously this place location is fabulous. Close to everything pretty much, Botanic garden and Opera house is just within walking distance, so is Circular Quay. Good bargain for the money. I liked studio rooms, with kitchenette, cutlery and microwave so you could prep your own food. Grocery shop along with BWS is just across the street, but of course there are many venues in the area if cooking is not your perk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent, except for the above comment. Thankyou.
    • Group
    • Twin Studio with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found that the airconditioning was not effective enough in our room, as we notice that the humidity in Sydney can be very trying to those of us from Melbourne! I noticed that in the Lobby it was much more agreeable.

    We were both very comfortable and found that the hotel had been upgraded since our last visit some years ago. Great position, view, facilities, staff etc. Thankyou for a most enjoyable stay. Would definitely book at Macleay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    We liked this place a lot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Studio with District View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cooking section of the kitchen is alright (microwave and oven), fridge and all, but the kitchen stove was a prehistoric entity that should be modernized.

    Friendly staff was very obliging with us, top notch! We had a great view from the room, and everything was clean and in good working order. All in all great value and perfect for a series of walks through the city. Not far from a bunch of central attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    it was a no fuss, welcoming and comfortable stay with everything working as i expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Studio with District View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed was a bit soft for my back otherwise all good

    Having stayed there many times over many years i find the MacLeay is just so convenient, great price and with all amenities for a short stay or even long given there are kitchen facilities. the surrounding area is wonderful and there’s plenty of public transport and taxis etc around and the real plus is that one can park at the hotel that's worth heaps if I’ve hired a car. The staff are always very welcoming and obliging. I think its good that they are also committed to updating and keeping the rooms while maybe small ish – very neat, very clean and with everything one needs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.0
    Would not stay here again till they renovate. Disappointing and overpriced for a motel style room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Studio with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In serious need of a renovation. Haven’t seen bathroom faucets like that outside of a 60’s movie. Decor like a roadside motel in the boon docks. Stove was an old portable dual hot plate. For almost $250 a night wasn’t expecting lux but it was still very disappointing. The ‘harbour view’ was 80degs to the side. Opposite apartments could see directly into the room and vice versa. Sheets felt like an uncomfortable synthetic mix which was scratchy and unbreathable. Main electric socket (for charging phones) was nonfunctional.

    The staff were wonderful. Super friendly and helpful especially Wendy. Thanks so much. Opposite Wollies supermarket. Close to great restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice change from previous stays in CBD.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Bridge or Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some people may find the neighborhood a bit colorful, but I found it charming and perfectly safe for a solo woman to walk at night.

    The staff was great, especially Wendy. She was very helpful in a low key, but extremely efficient way. My room on the 8th floor had a lovely view of the Harbour Bridge and partial view of the Opera House. The room was spacious and very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Stylish studio , very nice , duty Manager in the morning is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with District View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Visitor allowed in the evenig as the security stop my friend and i even tell to the guy reception in the evening in 50s kinda asian he said No .

    Stylish studio , very nice , duty Manager in the morning is very Polite and compassionate also the lady name Emma very Polite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    As we come monthly to Sydney to see our daughter if the rate isn’t more discounted for parents
    • Couple
    • Studio with District View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very discouraged that the discounted rate for St Vincent college parents was $30more expensive than booking.com

    The room size 305 was fantastic. View was nice , we have a Daughter at St Vincent’s so it is very convenient.. Staff and facilities are great We didn’t order food so I cannot comment

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location, friendly accommodating staff, would highly recommend the Macleay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with District View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is fantastic in Potts Point, five minute walk to Kings Cross station, lots of great restaurants for lunch/dinner on your door step, walk into The Rocks 30-40 minutes. Having a little kitchenette in room was ideal, supermarket across the road for essentials. We arrived early morning and were able to check into our room early, huge bonus after long flight.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    6.3
    Good location, room very basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Bridge or Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shouldn't really be advertised as a studio, it was very small for the price, room was hot and air conditioning very slow to cool the room down

    Location is great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    6.7
    good value but wouldn't stay again there are better options in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    I missed the morning cleaning staff say goodmorning :( Rooms was quite old - not all dishes were clean, however I am fussy Quite surprised to see bunk bed in room with another bed shower terrible took ages to get the water the right temp

    The area was good - front desk staff fabulous and helpful -

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    It was a great choice for us, pretty area and close to everything we wanted to experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Studio with Harbour View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the number of TV stations available

    loved the location Great Thai restaurant across the road and a great coffee shop across the road too. Hotel staff were always helpful and knowledgable about transport options/ food options

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.4
    It is a good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Studio with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room is small for three adults. Price is too expensive!

    Room is very clean! Staffs are very friendly. WIFI is very conviently. We can see perfect view from the window of our room. That is wonderful!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous value, mid-range hotel in great area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with District View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are ever so slightly dated but bathrooms clean and modern. Our room smelled slightly odd and musty when window wasn't left open all day.

    Staff were welcoming helpful and friendly. Location was fantastic and the kitchen facilities in the room were so useful. There's a small pool area too. Great value for the area and loads of great restaurants and grocery shops nearby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.5
    Staff were fantastic and super accomfating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with District View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very dated and in need of upgrade or update. No actual light in the main room was absolutely amazing - I could not believe it. Air con very loud and np cool air produced (ended up pending window to get some cool air in the room). Quite expensive for what you get when comparing other locations in the area. Very expensive on that comparison.

    Staff were fantastic and super accomfating. They are first rate the room is clean also

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    4.6
    Really disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very noisy , cockroach on floor, we on bottom balcony so people from top balcony threw smoke butts down 😡 wouldn’t stay again

    Close to train stations

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice comfortable hotel with some amazing views depending on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with District View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bars and restaurants nearby, but not as convenient as for example Oxford street in terms of transport to sights and beaches.

    Nice comfortable hotel with some amazing views depending on room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.3
    Great location-Price was outstanding compared to other in area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Studio with District View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No food options in hotel--all are outside of the facility-If you need ice, you must secure key and scoop from front desk-Ice machine is in the basement car park area--Door slide on shower would not stay closed-

    Great location in Potts Point---Near rail station and Hop On Hop Off bus stop-Reasonable rate considering what you could pay in other Sydney areas

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.6
    Just right for just me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with District View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area needs a bit of help. Small and great to have at all..not sure how to improve .but maybe some lighter updated lounges? without such long to dry cushions?

    Location! across from restaurants cafes and grocery shops in the quieter part of Macleay street. Loved having my clean functional kitchenette. (My Picture is of in room kitchen not lobby). i got one of the updated rooms with new bathroom

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    Quiet hotel with everything you need for a city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with District View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a bit tired and could be improved by decoration. The bathroom needs updating and decoration but kept very clean and replenished every day with toileteries

    Quiet hotel with everything you need for a city break. Convenient Woolworths across the road open late and well stocked.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with District View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great over night stay at the Macleay hotel, it had everything we needed. Lots of light, small but spacious and the staff were really friendly. The location was great for us. Across the road is a convenience store and BWS, train station is just a short walk down the road and it was easy to get around.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.5
    A very comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with District View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. I own a larger vehicle, BT50. I parked ok. Is a bit tight for a vehicle of this size though.....A thought for other country visitors with 4wd.

    Great location. Modern and great cafes nearby. Room was clean. No view from the side room I stayed. However the front rooms to Macleay Street have views across the city. Nice and quiet in Macleay street.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic location!! Wonderful view of the harbour. Very clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Bridge or Harbour View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great view from our room over the harbour. The location was fantastic!!! Ice machine available. Passes to near by gym included. Would highly recommend

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    We were in Sydney to see the sights as a short break before our trip to South Africa .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with District View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think

    The staff were very helpful and friendly . The gentleman on reception recognised us from a previous trip and was able to change our room for one with a view of the Harbour bridge . Food was available from Woolworths opposite and made our stay more more affordable .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Studio with District View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park was very tight and we damaged our car as a result

    The proximity to so many great restaurants and the city and we had views of the Sydney Harbour Bridge

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    Overall very happy with this hotel have stayed before and will continue to be our go to Sydney hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with District View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy at night as room overlooking busy street had a choice of noisy aircon running or windows open and noisy traffic thank goodness for ear plugs Had a few mosquitoes to contend with too

    Bed comfortable room adequate size

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    4.2
    Will be much more careful when booking on line in future
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Studio with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Billed as a junior “suite” suitable for 3 adults, this room was barely large enough for 1 person. We cancelled our 5 night stay down to 1 & moved. They were very good about letting us cancel

    Not much

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.7
    The staff were pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Studio with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was riddled with bugs and cockroaches. I expected at least an apology when I notified staff but I didn’t get one. Was told it had recently been pest sprayed and that was it. We stayed for 3 days and I think it would’ve been nice to st least discount the cost of parking our car at the premises.

    The staff were pleasant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.5
    Good property , but they could have contacted me the customer to clarify my booking/s
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with District View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An argument to prove that the double booking was an unconfirmed double up and insisting on having staff call to booking.com to reverse.

    My double booking was refunded after a strong word and asking hotel to call booking.com re mix up, took 20 min of time however.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.3
    It’s a great hotel in Potts Point .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with District View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a great hotel in Potts Point ...close to the Hayes theatre, restaurants with a supermarket just across the road. Parking can be a bit tight but it is secure parking so that’s a plus you do have to pay extra for it though. The staff are always friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Great location
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with District View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable, modern rooms, friendly helpful staff. Safe and relaxing environment and great places to eat nearby. Walking distance from Circular Quay and nightlife.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.6
    Great location and great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Studio with District View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Kitchenette was very small although it did have what we needed.

    Great location, we had a lovely view over the little pool and the harbour beyond. It was easy to walk to Sydney Botanic Gardens and from there, on to the centre of the city (or to get the bus/ tube instead!). Our room was near the lifts but was very quiet despite that. It was quite small but had all the amenities we needed including little kitchenette with all the things we needed to make breakfast and allow us to eat dinner from the lovely deli opposite on a few nights.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.3
    Pleasure to stay in Macleay Hotel. Best location and excellent customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Bridge or Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Initially, we got a room on the 7th Floor which was kinda old. Washroom was not upgraded. I asked that if we could change it? And the next day we got the room on the 9th floor which was newly renovated. I believe, all rooms should be renovated. All the pictures everyone seeing on this website are of renovated rooms. So do not be surprise if you get a old style room (Bathroom)

    Staff was excellent and really helpful Location cannot be better. Close to Kings cross station and Macleay street itself is amazing. View from the room was the highlight

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.2
    Everything we needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with District View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Every one was extremely helpful room was spacious clean and comfortable. Easy access to bus routes and close to supermarket and cafes n bars n shopping

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Brilliant 👍🏼👍🏼
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Studio with District View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought it was fantastic The location was great but I think the staff made the stay even better. The Woolworths across the road was ideal especially with two children. The bus practically out front was a bonus 👍🏼

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    There was a clump of hair in the bathroom sink.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Studio with District View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a clump of hair in the bathroom sink. Also at level 5 the mosquitoes found me. Need screens on the windows so visitors can have the windows open.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    Right place, right time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with District View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The newer renovated bathrooms are of course better n ours could do with some work!

    We got an upgrade! Yay first time I've ever got an upgrade..the room was spacious and view of the harbour was awesome!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.8
    Was a good base, clean and spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was tricky for a van. There were a few small maintenance items that needed completing. Otherwise very good.

    Location, space and set up of apartment. Very clean too.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Macleay Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: