Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Macleay Lodge 2.5 stars

71 Macleay Street, Potts Point, 2011 Sydney, Australia

#179 of 306 hotels in Sydney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 450 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room I had was next to a restaurant and its aircon was loud night and day. It might be an idea to have a sign in the bathroom to remind other residents to clean up after themselves. The place was super clean but not always kept so by other visitors. i probably should have said something :)

    I thought it was great, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable, the location is great, close to cafes, bistros, restaurants and the wonderful market; as well as being walking distance to various places, including the art gallery; the price is very good. I will definitely go back, it has fast become my favourite place to stay in Sydney.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even though there's a split system AC, a thicker blanket/duvet would've made it much comfier, along with a thicker pillow / another pillow. Can be slightly noisy in the morning/night near restaurants/with other guests in the corridors. Could do with a tissue box in the room / paper towel in the bathrooms / extra hand towel.

    Macleay were able to check me in much earlier than expected, which was great! (Arrived mid-morning). Hairdryers and umbrellas available on loan. Good spot near a bus stop, and quite close to Potts' markets/train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were booked in room 8 under the stairs and other guests kept us awake when walking up and down the creaky stairs. We also didn't realise we had to share the bathrooms but at least they were clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls are very, very thin - you can hear every single thing going on in all the rooms around you, so either bring earplugs or expect to be kept awake by the activities of other guests.

    Very good value for money - you can't get much more for this price in Sydney. It's an incredible location too, right in the heart of Potts Point.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A/C wasn't working, room was way smaller than shown on pictures, room wasn't so clean (found rotten peach pip under the bed, a sock etc..)

    Location is absolutely fantastic. Check in and check out were great and staff extremely friendly (congrats to the French officer, so professional and helpful)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Balcony and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the place does not come with an elevator so that we had to carry all heavy suitcases three floors upstairs.

    We were welcomes very friendly and could directly access our room, even though we came prior to the official check-in time. The room had everything we needed, even a balcony and the beds were comfortable. Sharing a bathroom with the whole floor did not lead to any problems etc.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a lot of stairs, which we were fine with but may not suit guests with mobility issues.

    Staff were very friendly. Room met our expectations. For the price, it was well located and very comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really small, the matress and pillows where unconfortable, maybe the only thing to improve.

    Nice location in a residential prt but close to cbd. The rooms are small but nice, with all the amenities. Bathrooms are outside the room but is for one to use, you lock for privacy. The lady at reception was helpful and let us take a shower and give towels after check out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was far too soft for my personal preference and moved if I wasn’t careful when I sat on it.

    The location is amazing. It’s near shops, restaurants and bars. Also near King Cross station for easy access to all of Sydney. You can also take a lovely walk to circular quay and harbour via the botanical gardens. The property is clean and stylish. The shared bathroom was always clean and available

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top sheet had a tear in the middle. A/c was dripping on the carpet when turned on. Room smelt like it had a smoker in it previously. There should be a sign which tells foreigner that there is no smoking in the room.... who smokes in hotel rooms these days??? Reception should also warn people at check in & penalise them if they have

    Fridge, crockery & cutlery in room Love the fact that people don over service rooms & change towels all the time. We don’t do that in normal life. Maybe a little card in the room to explain this sort to green policy would be great for foreigners. Nice & quiet Great location, opportunity to walk everywhere or you can get the train or bus easily

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very small. Toilet was blocked in one of the bathrooms on my floor.

    Great location and nice modern decor. Staff were friendly. Good tea/coffee making facilities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check out is early (10am), which i did not know (it may have been in the small print). Manager in charge was kind and flexible by giving me more time once i was made aware.

    Location, location, location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A toaster would be handy, but no complaints, and I guess they could set off fire alarms in the room.

    Warm reception from reception staff, nice room, everything new and very clean. Although we shared bathrooms, there were tow nearby and we didn't have to wait for facilities. The location is very good, close to shops and supermarket, and not too far from Kings Cross Station. Also, we went to an exhibition at the Sydney Art Gallery, and it's easy to walk there, if hilly, and the views and scenery is beautiful. I was surprised it's only two stars, but I guess shared bathrooms are the reason for this. We were very pleased with McLeay Lodge.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great stylish accommodation in a great location very close to everything you will need. The lodge was very clean, tidy and the staff were friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay again when we next visit Sydney.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Balcony and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NO ELEVATOR; TOO MANY STAIRS, PARTICULARLY FOR ME WHO IS STILL RECOVERING FROM 'DOUBLE' KNEE REPLACEMENT SURGERY.

    THE CLEANLINESS OF MACLEAY LODGE WAS VERY OBVIOUS, WHILE THE BUILDING APPEARED 'OLD', IT WAS NEWLY RENOVATED AND VERY 'SATISFYING.'

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would’ve preferred an ensuite, however, the shared bathroom wasn’t too bad at all. Perhaps it wasn’t a busy time at the Lodge so we got lucky.

    Loved that the place, it’s fixtures and furnishings, felt fresh, clean and new. It was quiet and relaxing, yet so close and convenient to everywhere you want to go in the city and the Eastern suburbs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    I booked a single room for one night. The room was modern, clean and comfortable and had everything required for a short stay, and enough room for one person. Very impressed with this property.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    too small rooms, air conditioning very weak, wi-fi as well no changed the towels, was not cleaned (after 4 days!)

    Bathroom new and clean, nice location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on top floor. Milk was off Room wasn't cleaned, beds werent made. Towels not changed Communication difficult with some staff

    Glad we near the bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Size of the room might be a little too small for long travels. Shared bathroom was alright but not everyone keeps clean hence you might get some surprises.

    Great Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was surprised there was no hairdryer for use in communal bathroom

    Service was amazing, very personalised. Location was great, close to city but in leafy Green restaurant district. Rooms small but clean, had everything you need including air conditioning. Bathrooms shared but plenty around, never had to wait

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Balcony and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding out there was no toilet paper in the bathroom.... When it was too late.

    We loved having a drink on our little balcony. The beds were super comfy...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful staff especially this asian blonde lady who was yelling ( the french Guy was Nice tho ) They stole my scarf and that's inacceptable. Room is so small, we could not walk. The view: big wall

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little high in priced, just because of the room size and shared facilities in comparison to a hotel with private bathroom usually similar or less.

    The room was small but modern decor, clean and well equipped.shared bathroom also very clean and newly fitted.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were two receptionist one was very friendly but the second one wasn’t very friendly and also wasn’t helpful. The bathroom was very small and clogged.

    Room very clean and comfortable. Close to the main point of the city.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish there was available parking out front to unload and load luggage instead of walking to car park building with heavy bags

    Very helpful staff, nice clean room and facilities, great location, would definitely stay here again. Great value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Balcony and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Everything was fine, clean ,comfortable and friendly staff, lodge close to all that we needed and wanted, shared bathroom was not a problem and we did not have to wait for other guests. We really enjoyed the balcony. Thankyou Macleay lodge for a great stay. We will book again next time we are in Sydney.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi ceased on the day I booked in so by the time I got back from my concert at 11pm the wifi had ceased. Step going into the bathroom/toilet was raised and easy to trip on .....dangerous! 🤨 TV 📺 only got about 2 stations without drastic interference & no ABC.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Convenient, clean, very reasonable price for the area. I was going low budget for this trip so I was quite surprised the place was so nice. The check in lady (Tracey?) was quite delightful and helpful and all the rest of the staff were very quick to smile. Nice vibe!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is a little too small.

    Very clean and comfortable. Friendly staff The room has its own sink and mirror. There is a lot of night life around but not too disturbing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite a few stairs to climb but we knew this before booking so wasn't really a problem more an issue for high heels late at night.

    Great location, Close to the Kings cross night life but still away from the noise and craziness that comes with it. Very comfortable, Clean and the staff were lovely. We could see Sydney Tower from our room which was nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really! The closest bathroom was fairly small but it didn't bother me and there were others I could have used.

    Staff were lovely - my booking hadn't come through but they were very friendly and helpful found another room for me. The room was bigger than expected for such a good price and location andwell set out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shared bathroom the bathmat was revolting didn't look like they changed it the whole time we were there felt like you needed to wear shoes in the shower

    The staff were very nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shared bathrooms were a little small and not always super clean.

    Perfect location, spacious rooms, good value for money. Rooms had everything you needed. Nice balcony. The lady at reception was so lovely!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awkward staircases if on top floor and have luggage (3 floors)

    Easy access even with awkward arrival times, friendly/safe vibe, brilliant location to get into CBD by either walking through botanical gardens or cab

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unusually small shared bathroom toilet. Stuffy smelly room like urine. Very small and outdated.

    Friendly staff and sophisticated look of the exterior building

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff weren't really interested in helping, very loud neighbour air conditioners meant you couldn't have your windows open. No view (except for a brick wall 2 m away).

    Very quiet and clean bathrooms

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very cramped and light on usual conveniences, e.g., no useful bedside lighting, no hair dryer, no extra pillows. No lift and no porter. Overall, at the price, poor value for money.

    Location is great, building is old but cleanliness is good, bed was comfy, reception staff pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom next door to our room was so small you couldn't move in it, we didn't check out any other bathrooms though and they might of been bigger. We were only there for one night so it was fine.

    Near to kings cross station and liked the little cafe close by. Friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed keeps rolling - no stoppers. Bathroom was worn and rundown. No soap in the bedroom sink. Needed to have toilets separate to the shower. Tiny space. Needed more than one towel - at least a hand towel. Aircon smelt when turned on. Room was next to the restaurant/garbage bins - woken up when the rubbish was put out and then earthquake when the garbage truck passed at 4am.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived mid-morning after a 22hr flight. The lovely staff managed to check me in early despite being fully booked. Got my trip off to a excellent start! Great value for money in a good location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For my purposes and the cost it was excellent. Not a worry for me but there were quite a few flights of stairs (narrow) to get up with my luggage. No issue and no complaints from me but thought that I would mention as it could be an issue for some people so thought it would be helpful to mention.

    This was a very last minute booking and it was perfect for what I needed. Very. basic as I had expected but great value for the money. Had everything that I needed, it was quiet and so well located. It was a share bathroom however it was located next to my room so perfect. The staff were just excellent. Had to walk up a few stairs to my room but this was no drama.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent receptionist who was very helpful during our stay. Room was comfortable and what was expected. Location was excellent. Loved walking through the Botanical Gardens to Circular Quay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room on a whole wasn't great and the shared bathroom situation isn't the best, but I'm biased, because this was something I didn't want to give up (having my own bathroom) but had to because of my budget. Think of a standard economy hotel when booking this and you'll be fine.

    The hotel was in a great location and with a great price point considering the high cost of the city. It is a 5-10 minute walk to the metro and along the way there are restaurants and some coffee shops. The a portion of the street (not around the hotel) but more towards the metro can be seen as dodgy but it's really not a thing. A special shoutout to Tracy at the front desk for her kindness and hospitality and a thanks to Bernard (sp) for his helping us with a special request right before we left. The room itself is ok- especially if you don't plan to spend too much time in it. Some people would say it's quite small, but you must consider the city you're staying in- a big space is going to cost you a lot- and not that necessary. This is the perfect hotel for a solo traveler who wants to save some money, but not do a hostel. I'm 34 and hostels aren't my thing, but I am only a teacher on holiday so definitely must stick to a budget. I traveled with my friend and we had two beds, and it was tight, but we were never in the hotel that much, so it didn't impact us that much.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathrooms included toilets so could be a bit of a wait to go in the morning. The shower on my floor was broken and didn't get fixed in the six days we were here.

    It was a great location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The art on all the walls was atrocious. It seriously diminished the tasteful profile of the whole establishment.

    The staff were wonderful - genuine, amenable, professional abd very lovely. The ceiling in the room was splendid. Good details make all the difference.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Bathroom facilities could do with a better clean.

    The location was perfect. Great places to eat, all within walking distance. Grocery shopping opportunities close by.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My first room had fully damp carpet from a leak of some sort. The share bathrooms were the most absurd, impractical little cubicles I've ever seen. I had to squeeze past the toilet and basin to get to the shower. The air con - a major reason for booking- was somehow able to turn off after about half an hour. And it wasn't due to a thermostat because it never switched back on. Because the air con remote was attached to the wall some distance from the bed it was pretty useless overnight. The TV couldn't receive ABC stations so I was left with a reduced selection. The lady receptionist on Friday was very welcoming but the weekend guys were surly.

    Location and soft furnishings and bed were fine.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only window opened on to the balcony of another room - not ours. Didn't feel comfortable leaving the window open and if the other occupants had been noisy or smokers, it would have drifted right into our room.

    Very helpful lady in Reception. Looked after our bags and was very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't realise the 'single' room meant a single bed! My bad. And there were cockroaches in the shared bathroom.

    Staff were so friendly and helpful. Great location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a shared bathroom which we didn't realise at time of booking. Floor was slightly wet in our room at check in. House keeping very loud early morning.

    Beds were comfy, balcony was awesome as I'm a smoker, staff gave us free extra late check out which was really appreciated as our flight was at night.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was a bit weak.

    Good location, nice walk to the Opera House from the hotel through the Botanic Gardens, or just 5 minutes from Kings Cross Station. Lots of shops and restaurants nearby, small but comfortable room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lot of stairs, shared bathroom, no parking close by, very basic kitchen facilities- no bench space at all

    Close to cafes and A higher class pub as well as a great offer of $25 parking at Kings cross station for 24hours though it was a 10min walk

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clothes cupboard in bedroom in a clumsy location too close to bed and difficult to access. Rooftop access would be good.

    Great location Facilities great for price point. Nearby restaurants are fantastic, especially Yellow. Comfortable bed, clean room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Maybe more kitchen utensils ,plates etc would help ,dish washing liquid etc,for people who need to stay for longer periods .

    The staff were very friendly ,the room was very quite even though there were rooms close by .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good location, almost in the city centre. Close to many bars, restaurants and supermarket. Short walk to botanic garden, from where you will have a classic view of Opera and Harbour Bridge.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighbouring building was a bit noisy but it wasn't all the time.

    The woman on reception was such a pleasure to deal with. I think her name was Tracey. She made the place feel welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Its a lodge so bathrooms are shared with others, but I didn't mind this so much. They were clean with good shower power.

    Good location. Comfortable bed. Easy walk, like 5 min to Kings Cross train station.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was patchy, had to keep logging in which was annoying.

    Centrally located accommodation. Value for money with all the basics. Supermarket nearby, which was open till late.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Your get what your pay for at this place. Great location, very quiet rooms. As long as you remember it's shared bathroom facilities and the room is just a room, this is a great place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can be a little noisy if you are on the road

    Location - you can walk in to the city in the morning if you choose. Big rooms (this time mine had a small balcony), and the price for central sydney.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little noisier than the last time we stayed. Guests and outdoor area (at back of building) loud at 7:30am on Sat and Sun. Very little to complain about as hotel is our first choice in Sydney

    Our second stay at Macleay was just as good as our last in Dec 2015. Excellent location, staff were great (we arrived at 2am and night manager was so very helpful), room very comfortable. The price is excellent too

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wouldn't mind access to an ironing board and iron, but thats being picky - plus there are 2-3 laundromats literally next door so if I absolutely needed something cleaned and pressed, it would have been easy!

    Going in I had low expectations given some of the reviews I have seen and the low price, but I am quite happy to say we found a clean hotel with comfortable beds, acceptable shared bathrooms, and a good location in Kings Cross. It was also a nice steady temperature inside the room despite the cold outside - no need to turn the heater on! I don't make this rating based on the hotel's features, rather on the overall quality.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking was initially a little confusing but the staff were very helpful

    The room had everything you could need & was comfortable & clean. The bathroom was shared, very clean & had everything needed. For a budget price this is in a great location, staff were friendly & easy access to public transport. Loads of restaurants around, coffee shops & even the basis like woolworths & chemist. I would stay again if in Sydney

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Private bathroom and nicer window view.

    The staff was friendly, place very convenient, room was small, but had everything you need and was clean, the bed was very comfortable. Good value for money (in Sydney).

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was a little noisy at night, though this was more to do with other lodgers than traffic or city sounds.

    Room was surprisingly big and everything was super clean. Beautiful part of Sydney with great cafes and restaurants. Close to the water and within walking distance (20 minutes) to the city and NSW art gallery.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet room appropriate for quick stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved the location and the surroundings. The room was comfortable and the lady at the reception was helpful too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doona looked like it hadn't been washed

    Staff friendly, cosy room, bathrooms fairly clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great value for money- walking distance to Botanical gardens and close enough to metro station. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls thin as a paper No kitchen in the hostel

    Great location, comfy and clean room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared Bathroom, Bed is not that comfortable

    Location is good and the room is clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room facing the inside area of the building

    Room was tiny but very clean. Shared bathrooms were cleaned once a day. Staff is nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I loved the location. Easy to get to. Gr6rat value for money. Solo traveller friengly. Very Helpful, Friendly staff!

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Macleay Lodge traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: