Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Marina Resort 3.5 stars

33 Magnus Street, 2315 Nelson Bay, Australia

#29 of 35 hotels in Nelson Bay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1523 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A trivial complaint, I found the pillows a bit hard.

    This is our second stay at this resort. The position is great an easy walk to the shops and foreshore. The rooms are roomy and clean. The bathroom has a separate shower and bath and a large vanity. It has views either over the pool and garden area or the waterfront.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Corner Spa Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of hot water. There was not enough hot water for 4 of us during our stay . The morning we departed there was only enough WARM water for one of us to have a quick shower. Definitely no HOT water available on the third day. Not what you expect for $300 per night.

    Central location and great views.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked all

    Loved the position, balcony had a great view over harbour, room large, king bed, great shower. Didn’t go to restaurant but they have one on top floor and it’s open for buffet breaky $16

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As there was not a footpath on the same side as the resort, and hills both side of the road, we had to be extremely careful crossing the road to return to the resort, as it was a joy to walk down to the centre. Perhaps also the second entrance to the resort could be shown by a board with a notice “entrance” as it was hard to see the actual point of entry.

    The restaurant meals were delicious and well presented. The room was large and had a great view even though we had a “garden view” we were still able to see the Harbour.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great customer service, friendly staff, comfortable and spacious, close to shops and beaches. It was easy to locate I was very impressed considering I was late to arrive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Corner Spa Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were a little small but I'm being extra picky here.

    We stayed in a spa room which was big, clean and had everything we wanted. Two huge extra comfy beds which were great plus a large balcony overlooking the water. Spa bath was amazing. Staff at reception were so friendly and helpful so a big thank you to them. Great value for money, loved it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building was a bit old including its facilities. It didn't meet my expectation with regards to location. Check out was quite early (10am) And the staff only gave us an extra 30mins when we requested for a "late checkout".

    The beds were comfy. The room was a bit old but it was large and well maintained and i liked it that there was a microwave too. the toilet and bath were clean! And the view from the resto was stunning!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not not clean - dusty, food under microwave, cups not clean. The bed was very uncomfortable - hard. Furnishings were dated. Bed was ruffled, like people had been sitting on it.

    The Restaurant was closed on the Saturday night. We had breakfast down on the waterfront on Sunday morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were only there two nights so not much to not like. But the lighting over the mirror in the room poor when getting ready when the other person is in bathroom a bit hard to see what you’re doing especially when short sighted lol

    Loved the location. Loved the view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit dated but I got the impression they were updating some of the rooms

    The people on reception were very nice the open view was really lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I rang to ask if they had tea and coffee facilities which they did. I asked if they had a toaster and I was advised that I could request one which the lovely receptionist said she would put one in my room. When we arrived we had been upgraded and when we got to our room our toaster had been upgraded as well!! Many may think this is insignificant but having to leave really early the next day it’s the small things that make the biggest difference!! Would definitely stay there agsin👍

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Spacious, well appointed room. Larger than normal bathroom, which had been recently refurbished. Easy access to room. Absolutely the best value for money we have ever experienced.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Winding road outside had dodgy footpath in the dark due to building and roadworks.

    Older property undergoing renovations. My room was refurbished with unfussy functional facilities. Lots of space in the room. Large spotless bathroom with tub and shower and comfortable beds with high quality linen and pillows. Staff lovely. As value for money it was great. All you can eat breakfast was ample start for the day a reasonable price. Lots of eateries and supermarkets 5 mins away. Good parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Out of Motel's control but it was quite windy in the evening and the windows/sliding door unit was rattling quite alot.

    The hotel has been refurbished and has new beds which was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's nothing to dislike, there is plenty of parking and a short walk to the town centre and Marina.

    The room was clean and comfortable, recently upgraded. A good view of the bay from the balcony. The buffet breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Group
    • King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bigger smile and happier person at reception!! Grounds/outside building and pool need updating.

    Breakfast,chef and maitre d. We were there for a funeral unfortunately.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom ,whilst clean , had signs of mould in shower and doors were rotting.

    location was good and room suitable for overnight stay however,showing its age. property obviously in need of major update to compete in the market of the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Spa Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    had backache in morning from matress and there was not enough teabags and no biscuits

    the room was clean and had most of what we needed. the balcony was greatand the room was large

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    nothing

    We did not attend the dining room, we made other arrangements so cannot comment on it. The bed was very comfy and the towels changed daily, sheets were changed mid week. The location was a bonus it was close to everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only criticism is that you can hear everything through the walls, but for me on this night I found it comforting.

    Booked this as an urgent place to stay overnight and I received an upgrade to the 2nd floor. Room had been refurbished and looked new. Bathroom was awesome and very spacious! Very clean, tidy, comfortable with a view to the Marina/water and had a balcony. Heidi at reception was very friendly, helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa bath in room couldn’t be used Outdoor spa was very dirty - didn’t leave a good impression at all. The lift opened directly onto reception.

    Welcoming. Room was large and beds comfortable. Lots of renovations happening which will be good. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Balcony - 3 Night Stay
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had been renovated but the smell of cigarette still loomed... worse when air conditioner was on in the middle of the night.. cheap renovations aren’t going to look good for long. Strong smell of paint in our room in the mornings with works continuing outside the property.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is quite old, and a little run down. Furnishings were not contemporary, but still adequate.

    The bed was super large and comfortable. Beautiful view overlooking the marina, and short walk to cafes and shops. The room was clean. Loved the ability to use Netflix.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Excellent overall. Breakfast at $16.00 was a nice surprise when compared to similar places. Allowed to leave our vehicle parked on the premises after we booked out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    bit expensive,looks good in the picture in your website but when you arrive to the place very shabby

    location was excellent middle of town ,our room was clean but furniture is very outdated

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building itself is a bit tired and in need of some attention.

    The staff were extremely helpful. They kindly upgraded our booking to a newly refurbished room which was very comfortable with a view over the bay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is old and looks very tired from the road, but to be honest, its age is the reason it is sitting on this prime piece of real estate with such lovely views. It probably needs to be renamed as it is not a resort (as currently defined by travellers). The photos on this site do not show any refurbished rooms.

    The view from the 4th floor was excellent - over the marina and bay. The bed was king sized and comfortable, and the breakfast was conveniently down the hall in the dining room, that also overlooked the view. The breakfast was old school, in a nice way (all you could eat; cereals, toast, eggs, baked beans, hash browns, pancakes etc - good for families with teenagers!!!) The hotel has a north orientation which made the room and balcony sunny and bright. The room had recently been refurbished with new paint, carpet and upholstery as well as a refreshed bathroom. I believe this is a current project and not all rooms have been updated to this point. The room was a homely mix of new and original vintage furniture (of which I am a fan - I find some new, minimalist properties a bit cold and history-less). The hotel is just up the road from the marina and the lovely little Nelson Bay CBD, including the end part of Magnus St that has some nice restaurants and cafes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a hail storm and the staff left glass from a broken window over night felt this to be unsafe other than this great location and good value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was cold so definitely not worth the money. There were no tour brochures in the room although they were in reception. There was no booklet in the room to keep information about facilities, just very old laminated page next to the phone. There was a used plastic cup in the room and some long hairs on the bed. The pool needs refurbishing although was clean. An extra towel or two would have been good to take down to the pool.

    The room was very comfortable, a great bed, wonderful views and great shower. The staff were friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Harbour View - 3 Night Stay
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and meals were reasonable and we ate there for convenience. We only had dinner the first night and brekky the next morning. Breakfast had everything you would expect, cereals, juice, eggs, bacon etc but it felt a bit cafeteria style. Lots of other eateries out there within walking distance.

    Great location, close to shops and to waterfront, good for walks. Room was typical of it’s age and a bit basic but what we expected, balcony and view fantastic, bed and pillows comfy, bathroom clean and functional. We had a good time and felt quite comfortable relaxing there. Welcoming informative staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very poor, and at $16 each was certainly not worth this amount!

    The room was large and comfortable, but certainly in need of an update!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I specifically asked for an upstairs room with a view of the bay the only thing I said was I do not want a view of Car park guess what I got ground floor view of Car park

    It was clean and the staff were great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Info provided by concierge was a bit vague (check out times, amenities unclear), otherwise great

    Fantastic view, large room with balcony, mini fridge, complimentary tea and coffee, within walking distance of everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    No pillow cases on spare pillows, only two small water glasses and two small cups, one teaspoon for coffee/tea no power point for bedside lamp

    The view was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn't able to stay longer ☹️

    The staff were extremely friendly to everyone and the breakfast was the best value for money in the area by far with great food and variety and just walking distance to all of the central Nelson Bay Area and short drive to other great parts of the Bay, the views were the best and especially the dinning room was so relaxing with a million dollar view. All in all a place I will talk about and recommend to all my friends and definitely stay again and again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought the room was great , the all you could eat buffet breakfast was excellent and great value for the price. Great that you could park where ever and not in a designated space. Central to everything could walk into town and the Marina. Next time we stay it will be longer and we can enjoy the pool which looked very inviting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was average. only 2 cups when four people staying in the room. 1 roll of toilet paper. no room service. pool area needed a clean.

    location was great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The resort is a little untidy and old and could do with some renovations, the pool area could do with a makeover. The restaurant has a great view but lacks atmosphere and is very outdated, even the bar area looks like it could do with some work.

    The view from the Balcony that over looked the Marina was lovely, the location was great, 5 minutes from the resort to the marina.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't get Netflix to work, but it didn't matter. We weren't there to watch TV

    The room was large, clean and tidy, with a wonderful view. The bed was comfortable and there were plenty of chairs and lounges available. The food at the restaurant simply delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was not serviced when we returned after a day out - chairs in breakfast room very dirty, grubby. very much in need of a good revamp. Very basic accommodation. Will not stay there in the future

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything to,dislike.

    Staff where welcoming and friendly. Room clean with excellent view. Easy walk to town and resturants. We will be back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    felt breakfast on a sunday should be open a little later closed at 9.30

    The Marina was a bit tired but we could see they are working on that the staff were very accommodating and we had pleasant stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was great.

    Everything! Heidi is so welcoming and knows the local area well. We had a great view and the room was clean, quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked on. phone at time of booking for top floor room with a bathtub. Got bottom floor room.. no view.. no bathtub.. and no lock on bathroom door. When I asked why,, lady said thats all we have. So what was the point of asking for what I wanted? 😢

    Beds were comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt I was given an inferior room because I booked thru Booking.com My friend who booked direct was told by the receptionist he got a room on a higher floor as he booked directly.

    The location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aside from the hotel being a little dated it was lovely. Cutlery and a couple of plates etc would be useful. Hoping the pond is fixed up soon! The goldfish had no filtration running and looked pretty miserable. Would be a lovely feature if cleaned up and running

    Large clean room, super comfy bed. Lovely bathroom, view and location was fantastic

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Spa Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Micro wave was a little difficult to figure.No wine or reasonable sized drink glasses

    Good beds TV good picture on uptodate model. liked having a micro wave. Good aircon. Epic view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't bother me but the rooms are just very old school decor. For what you pay, overall good value when you factor in the outstanding bay views. I would stay here again...

    The View is absolutely sensational. Top of the hill overlooking the bay. Yes, the rooms are a bit old school, but ours was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were 2 cockroaches found in room 110 - one large one on the headboard and one small one on the bed. My poor mother slept in the bed with her head at the other end as she was worried about the roach on the headboard (it got away and we couldn’t find it)

    Amazing location, spacious rooms, excellent staff!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing that we did not like

    location was great ,service even though we did not require much was as good as anywhere. The breakfast was very nice and the cook was a really good friendly guy,nothing was a problem for him.We have actually booked in for two nights in May.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony - 3 Night Stay
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit run down and common areas dirty. Lack of facilities in the room like only one teaspoon. No wine glasess etc. and only free to air tv.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Could not fault the lovely lady at the desk. Always had a smile and warm welcome as we were coming and going. The view from the room was beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went to Nelson bay for a friends birthday. We stayed only one night. The room and the facilities were excellent. The location very good close to everything just park th3 car and walk. We would stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little unclean - there was hair on the floor and in the shower but that could just be due to the cleaner on the day ...overall the room felt clean to stay in

    Huge, comfortable bed. Lovely view . A good size room Exceptional , friendly staff at the front desk and restaurant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked with three single beds on the ground floor - when we booked in we were apparently ‘upgraded’ to a room with two beds and a sofa bed! Not happy! And when we complained we were told sorry no other rooms available and basically the attitude was we were upgraded so why were we complaining! Also advised by reception not to use booking.com and call hotel directly - they are the worst website to use!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doesn't qualify as a resort. Very small pool with very little furniture (three lounges, one broken). Some renovating but too much junk everywhere outside and in the corridor in front of the restaurant. Countless cigarette butts on the grass, some broken tiles etc. Not a good look. Definitely only a budget motel.

    Spacious, clean, newly-painted room. Very close to shops and beach.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gardens and pool area could do with more attention. I did however notice that someone was always working on different area at the resort.

    Clean and neat

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a little TLC but otherwise all good

    Having looked at the reviews on this property i was worried but having now stayed there I would recommend it. Very comfortable comfortable beds large rooms heaps of parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The best things include the location, air conditioner, clean bathroom, view from our balcony, comfortable bed, and huge room! It looks old outside, but the room is nice with hair dryer, microwave oven, and a small fridge. We will recommend it to our friends and will come back again next time. BTW, Woolworth is only 500 meters away.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole complex is in need of renovation. First impressions were not encouraging. Didn't like the pile of old mattresses in the carpark. Furniture in the room is very outdated.

    Room clean, friendly staff, plenty of parking and great location. The view was outstanding!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wine glasses in the room

    The staff went out of their way to help, the chef even brought my dinner the room because I was so tired, doesn’t get kinder than that!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have a very experienced chef but restaurant decor needs updating. Restaurant windows need cleaning..it's a lovely view. Not enough crockery and cutlery in room. Their free Wi-Fi is unusable.

    Large room, nice view, lovely staff. It's an easy walk to fly Point where there is nice easy snorkelling and safe swimming.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet breakfast was disgusting. Cereal was stale and couldn’t eat it due to having moths and larvae in it. Complained to a staff member and they said we weren’t the first ones to complain. A poor mother was feeding it to her small child and had the same problem. Pretty disappointed that we were charged for it and not compensated.

    Comfortable bed and new aircon

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were excellent, comfortable bedding, restaurants food was magnificent and service 5 star. A bit older arcade but the rooms and comfort was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the garden and surrounds could do with a bit of scrub up. Would make arriving a more pleasant experience.

    The rooms were spotless and the reception staff delightful. The views just beautiful. Don’t expect flash modern, expect homely and late 80’s style motel but the value for money makes it a ripper!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were exceptionally comfortable The bathroom was so clean it practically sparkled I was on the second floor and the view was lovely Next time I would stay on a higher floor to get a better look at the view

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    No soap in the bathroom for showers. They have a liquid soap dispenser instead. I would have liked wine glasses in the room.

    Clean, well appointed budget hotel with comfortable bed. Great ocean views from our 2nd floor room with balcony. Older building with lift but our room was renovated. Plenty of onsite parking and short walk to town centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pictures on website and booking.com were deceiving and differed from real life. The resort is old and smelly. The spa did not work. The carpet had a disgusting stained smell. There were 2 cups provided and 1 teaspoon. No cutlery and no wine glasses. Very poor and old resort.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no toaster provided in the room. The kettle in the room was broken and the shower leaked more water out of the wall fitting than the shower head. The place appears to be undergoing renovation, however this needs to be done as a full scale project.

    The room was quite clean but in major need of some new furniture.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Facility is a little outdated but extremely comfortable and welcoming.

    Very comfortable bed, excellent sized room, bathroom recently updated. Bath and shower appreciated. Hot water in good supply. Included breakfast was quite good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from other rooms upstairs. Could hear children running. Housekeeper having loud conversation outside our room when we were trying to sleep. Hotel was under renovation which we didn’t realise til we got there.

    Staff were wonderful! So friendly! Excellent location. So close to everything. Pool was great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The general building and lift 3rd was very tired, but it didn't effect the stay. The pool was difficult to get in and out of with no hand rails so wouldn't be good for anyone with mobility issues.

    Decent breakfast although you had to repeatedly ask for items as they kept running out. Location good. Room was spacious clean and modern.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very cold reception when we checked-in. No real greeting as such. Had to come down to reception to ask for a cake of soap to wash hands. The fly screen continuously came off the rails and this was a nuisance as time and again we had to spend time fixing this. There was a noise coming from the toilet after the toilet was flushed. This was not happening all the time but would happen every second or third time you flushed the toilet. This would stop only when you flushed the toilet again. The location was great but a little attention to the compound especially the gold fish ponds will make it a more attractive place.

    The location is very ideal as it is walking distance to the marina as well as the town. The place had ample parking facility.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too soft for us and being light sleepers the trains going past a number of times throughout the night drowned out the sound of the surf and resulted in a very disrupted sleep.

    The view was lovely. Even one from your bath if you so desired. good size room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Corner Spa Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Harbour view wasn’t that great on the spa room for 4 as half the view was blocked by the trees. It looks massive on the photos but is only 4 storeys so do not get your expectations high. Toiletries provided was very less when it was booked for 4 pax.

    Good location and access to aminities. Clean and tidy rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Corner Spa Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities are obviously a bit dated and tired. The pool spa wasn’t working during our stay.

    The room was particularly clean and presented well. I enjoyed the shower being separate to the spa bath. (Simple pleasures make the difference when you’re a family of 4 on a beach holiday!)

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Marina Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: