Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Matthew Flinders Motor Inn 3.5 stars

Newell Highway, 2357 Coonabarabran, Australia

#5 of 12 hotels in Coonabarabran

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 783 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    5.8
    OK for a quick overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't find the bed comfortable - too firm for me. The motel is situated on the main highway so I was expecting road noise and carried ear plugs with me which helped with the noise. Motel is very dated and shower needs a revamp and clean.

    Convenient location to stop en route to my destination. Had the basics needed for an overnight stay. Easy to find and no extra miles to get back on route. Like most country motels all the walls are brick so noise from the rooms next door weren't an issue.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.6
    A quick overnight stay, but well worth the booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    We actually liked everything. It was a little retro, which was a nice touch. :)

    After four chock-full days, the bed was blissful! The shower was hot. The puppies loved it!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    5.8
    Reception lady was very lovely and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had dinner in the attached restaurant, we ordered pizza and garlic bread and we were not given any plates with our meal, not everyone likes to eat with their fingers. There was food on the floor under our table and on the chairs.

    Reception lady was very lovely and accommodating.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    5.4
    Probably would not stay again despite the moderate tariff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated decor. The carpet was badly worn and shabby. Traffic on the Newell Highway disturbed our sleep. The worst thing was the smell of cigarette smoke from the guests in the adjoining room who sat outside chain smoking for hours that night and again in the morning. We also thought it a little tough to have to book into the dining room as overnight guests.

    Friendly manager and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.6
    Spaciours room which was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spaciours room which was very clean. We opted not to dine in the resturant ( but the aroma was tempting. Instead the staff delivered a hot and very tasty pizza to a pretty spot alongside the pool. Very impressed with our stay.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    7.1
    Stop over on travels North
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room - Pet Friendly
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When booking room, said pet friendly which I assumed meant the motor inn was pet friendly. Found out when I checked in that the room was where your pet could stay with you. Reception tried very hard to change my room for me but as the motor inn was booked out it couldn’t be done. Room was clean but it did have a pet smell especially when you put the air con on. Not the fault of the motor inn. Poor of booking.com not to explain the room fully when booking.

    Easy to find, right on the highway. Meals in the restaurant were very nice. Comfortable beds

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    7.5
    Good for a stopover after driving a long distance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located on the southern edge of town. Although on the highway the noise was acceptable as the motel was located off the road. The bed was comfortable and the shower was hot.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.2
    We only stayed one night and it was adequate for our needs. Good to have a face washer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a restaurant on site (not mentioned by Booking.com) but we chose to find a takeaway nearby. Bed was comfy, and heater worked well. There was an breakfast option delivered to room but we didn't partake. The secured wi-fi was good but the public one not so.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.6
    Staff is always amazing .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I understand it was only 1 nights stay but would have really appreciated a few plates and some cutlery for any takeaway meals.

    Staff is always amazing . The prep for our arrival with the air-conditioned room and fridge on is always helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Excellent value for money accomodation and meal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though the motel is old the room was exceptionally clean and has been painted and has good bed and furnishings. Very good meal at very reasonable price. Best value for money motel on the newel highway, run by very friendly owners.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    Loved the place.
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little dated would be the only thing I could say but every effort was made to over look it.

    All of it. The cleanliness, comfort, hospitality and food. And of course pet friendly. We only stopped for the night but will definitely be going back.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Great value and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy heater / aircon unit. The noise from this unit made sleeping a problem / if not impossible.!

    Extra attention and service from the staff was excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.3
    Overpriced for the disabled room. Bathrooms are chilly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet was stained in the disabled room. My room had poor shower pressure. The whole place was dated and really needs to be revamped to be worth the price.

    Bed was comfy. Good to have electric blanket. I was also was able to get an equipped disabled room for mum.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.5
    We stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cold air in the bathroom when the light was turned on, froze our butts off lol!

    Loved the pizza you made as the restaurant is closed until another chef can be found.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable nights sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Signage and website advertised a restaurant however unfortunately it was not operating during our stay

    Comfortable beds, which is always the most important thing. We were not travelling with a pet on this occasion but good to know that they are accepted at this motel. Friendly guys running this joint that are doing all they can to maintain this property throughout severe drought in the area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Quite enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The grounds outside were poorly lit making it slower to reverse out of your parking spot when I went to get tea . More lighting would have been better but not a critical problem

    Closeness to town

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.1
    It was advertised as having a restaurant so we stayed here...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was advertised as having a restaurant so we stayed here because of that reason as it is not that close to town. And were told after we checked in that restaurant was closed. We were told we could order pizza to the room but that was not suitable for us. So after a long trip to get there we then had to drive into town for dinner

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.5
    Basic room,warm,comfy with friendly staff. Pet friendly which you don't see very often.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints.

    Units old but clean,comfy,warm and nice breakfast, We were disappointed the Restaurant was closed(Monday Night) so we had dinner at the RSL (would recommend)great choice menu and meal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    Very pleasant, helpful staff and a good nights sleep in a cosy room
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room - Pet Friendly
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a little bit of updating

    Pet friendly motels are hard to find and sometimes charge an arm and a leg. We were pleasantly surprised to find this motel welcomed us and our pet no problems and at a reasonable price

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.3
    Quiet.
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door didn't have internal lock, guess it locked from outside ' tho.

    Quiet. Comfy bed, crisp comfortable sheets. Ample parking. Easy road access. Perfect to recharge from long drive. Facilties for a hot cuppa.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    6.3
    Very quite location, good service and guests quite when...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had booked because of the restaurant but it had no chef so was closed. Had to drive into town after a long days drive for dinner and could not drink with dinner. Not a relaxing dinner as planned.

    Very quite location, good service and guests quite when leaving in the morning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    Most comfy beds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds and pillows were so so comfy and the lights outside went off at 9pm so the room was totally dark for sleeping. The cooked breakfast was very nice and the shower was awesome.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Great value, perfect for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be a good idea to put a microwave in the room.

    This property is great value for money. Bed was comfortable and the room had enough room to spread out. It was great to have a restaurant on-site - the food was reasonably priced and was extremely tasty. When booking it is best to ask for a room away from the road (all accommodation in Coona seems to be close to the highway).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    We had a minor plumbing problem, but was sorted out by the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mentioned pizza did take nearly 50min to be ready - note this was a "take back to room" order and not sit in the restaurant order.

    We had a minor plumbing problem, but was sorted out by the time we returned from out day out. We also ordered pizza from the on-site restaurant which was quite good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    was average
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was charged $1.35 extra by using my DEBIT card. I did complain re this as never been charged this way before. I used my card twice during June for which I used Booking .com Its not the money but got no warning that this would happen. When I complained told it was a standard charge.

    every thing was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very comfortable, tidy and clean.

    The staff was amazing friendly and helpful. With a small mix up from booking.com the gentlemen at the front counter had no issues or hesitations in making sure my children and I were looked after and changed rooms on the spot. Could not have more praise or ask for a better experience. Thankyou Matthew flinders motor inn 😁

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Value for money motel
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very cold...not unusual for mid winter...but a bathroom heater/ heat lamps would have been nice. Sadly the restaurant was closed. Room service meals were nice but a bit cold on arrival. No microwave in the room on arrival.

    The nice white luxury bath sheets in the bathroom! We self catered for breakfast...our host happily provided a microwave to heat our cereal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Would stay there again
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing the people of Coonabarabran could sure use some rain, very friendly place

    Very convenient to the Showground where we had a 3 day even, last minute request for a bed for our grandson, staff very obliging, towels were lovely , the room was clean and comfortable, would stay there again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    A great motel apart from the heating situation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heater in the room was close to useless which made for a very cold stay.

    Staff were friendly and welcoming. Dinner from the restaurant was delicious, delivered on time and very filling!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.5
    Comfortable and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water not hot for shower. Noise between rooms was quite noticeable, especially the shower.

    So clean. Great extra touches. Included continental breakfast, also toaster, water in fridge etc.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Convenient position with fuel and take away food within...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little dated with the decor and the restaurant was closed at time of visit.

    Convenient position with fuel and take away food within about 300 metres.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Good location, comfy room
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Warm and comfy room and our dog was made to feel welcome, nice fenced in back garden bit just for dogs. When we checked in I was told that I had not chosen a pet room, so just be aware when you are booking to check for that as the room will be more expensive. The person checking us in was very nice about it as I was worried we wouldn't have somewhere to stay !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Very happy with accomodation and staff were very helpful but would not order meals again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were disappointed in the quality of the food from room service. Restaurant was closed due to staff shortages but were offered room service. For the money that we paid, the serving of the fish was very small.

    We rated this as excellent. The rooms very very clean and very comfortable with everything that we required.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff great beds and food excellent 😊
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door kept jamming the phone didn’t work. The internet only can be used by 2 people. My sons electric blanket couldn’t be used the electrical wires were showing. We were offered another room but it was to cold to move into another.

    Beds are amazing. Clean and comfy. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food excellent and the shower has great pressure.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointed makes Faulty Towers look like a 5 star mote l!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    This property is over-rated on the internet, we did not get the required amenities stated on their website. The air conditioner did not work, (we had to request a heater). The telephone was not working and hanging from the wall by a long lead. We booked what was suppose to be a superior suite, but it was just a basic room, very old and the taps were very hard to turn on. Basically we were not impressed with this Motel. and someone needs to check out what they say you are entitled to. We would not stay at this Motel again.

    Bed was very comfortable, and there was plenty of hot water. Everything else was not to our standard of accommodation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.3
    The bed was very comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though the shower was good the bathroom could do with an update. The restaurant food was not the greatest and we waited a long time to be served.

    The bed was very comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.2
    I stayed 2 nights and it was v comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure limited. Shower screen hard to slide. Room not serviced after 1st day.

    Great value for money. Long bench in the room provided good desk and table for my needs. Bed comfortable, room heating worked well(and was needed).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Everything you need: cosy bed, hot shower,great heaters and electric blankets for cold winter stays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room - Pet Friendly
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having a pet-friendly room was a huge bonus!! Thank you for accommodating our little Jack Russell dog who is the happiest little creature alive and makes everyone happy too :) :) :) and great pizzas from the restaurant too thanks!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    6.7
    The motel was quite run down,everything looked tired but the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just not very appealing. Needs a good makeover.

    The motel was quite run down,everything looked tired but the bed was comfortable the room warm even though very dated. Not enough soap provide.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    5.4
    Alright for family
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not for us as a couple who are not fussy but would prefer something a bit better. Old and needs work

    Not much. One double, 2 single beds all lumpy, plenty of room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.8
    Pretty average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old mattress on the bed. Aircon didn’t heat the room real well and very noisy. Toilet was broken had to turn tap off at the wall after each flush. Bar fridge in the room was noisy. Highway noise terrible. Food in the restaurant was average

    Staff were ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    5.0
    Average
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge was switched off at wall and I had to crawl on hands and knees to switch it on. Bed light over double bed is broken and hanging down. One dining chair had no springs. And the worst thing was the shower -leaking out onto floor, broken tile on top row hanging off wall and around bottom of shower recess there was mound and sludge. Disgusting!!

    Restaurant staff were efficient and meal was very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Friendly staff and restaurant was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Patrons can sit outside their and your room and smoke. Had to close the window and not enjoy the nice breeze.

    Friendly staff and restaurant was very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    A very pleasant experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    King size bed with top mattress in large room. Good disability facilities. Fish meal good & rib eye steak meal surpassed my high expectations. (9/10). Prices for meals very reasonable. Margaret & John Davies

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    4.6
    Overall uncomfortable and inconvenient!
    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was the hardest most uneven bed I've ever (not) slept on. Outside the rooms was not lite, we had to use our phone torches to try and pack our stuff back in the car at 5:30am - very difficult! Free wifi was advertised everywhere, but wasn't working apparently!

    The restaurant food was ok. The young girl working in the restaurant was super lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent. I would not hesitate to recommend this motel and I will definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only criticism would be restaurant. Although the food came out in great time and looked amazing, some of our meals were not the best. The flavours were a little bland, but in saying that, the super supreme pizza we bought for lunch the next day was amazing, yum.

    The staff were very happy and accommodating. Room had all the facilities needed and then some. Bed was really comfy, room was clean and tidy. The breakfast room service was excellent in every way.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Have stayed here numerous times always good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you could order the take away pizzas earlier, as the restaurant doesn’t open until 6 and when you have been traveling all day you want an early tea and bed before another early start and long drive

    The bed was comfy, clean and the room was cool and quiet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.5
    Ok for one or two night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did hear the trucks on the highway during the night. Wi Fi was just about non existent.

    Ok for one or two night stay. Apparently motel is being renovated so would be nice to see what it is like in the future. Convenient location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.1
    Room was very clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although clean it's a bit outdated and could do with bit of a makeover. A freshen up would brighten up the rooms and bathroom.

    Room was very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    A motel with better service then a 5 star hotel. Definitely needs to be your stop!
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was served by a guy with his left ear pierced - he was extremely friendly and did everything to make sure our night stay was as comfy and just right. He gave us a room upgrade as we had an extra person stay and his service was better then what i got at any 4-5star hotel! Definitely recommend them! Thankyou! The blankets where soft and comfy. Very generous with their towels and i even forgot that it was just a motel - definitely did not feel like any other motel i have stayed in! We were traveling from Melbourne to Brisbane and after a 11hr drive we needed a nights rest somewhere. So happy we chose this place! Located right on the highway so very convenient location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Very restful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing.

    we loved the room and great night sleep. Good to have table and chairs outside room to use. The restaurant was open and we enjoyed a lovely meal. Staff all friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, convenient, good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A microwave would have been handy, but I suppose as there was a restaurant there, they would not be encouraging having food in your room.

    There was a pool, and a restaurant. Also fresh milk, not long life, for coffee in your room. Clean facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.6
    Overall the stay at the motor inn was very pleasant.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an unusual smell coming from bathroom or from the bathroom window in number 5 where we stayed.

    The cleanliness and presentation of the room were very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a large room with a nice pool close by. The restaurant was just a few metres away and served good fish(Hoki) .I wouldn't have blinked if the price had been $20 more!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Great place for an overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcoming place to stay after a long day travelling. It was great to relax after a long drive to have dinner at the onsite restaurant. It was an added bonus to be treated to listening to a harp musician while dining. Staff on the whole property were very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    We had a ovely weekend and caught up with family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Inconsiderate people talking outside our door at 6am... Also discussion when booked in and gave my Amex card and man said he didn't forward the bank fee. Checked out and it was included in charge!!!

    Location excellent for what we needed as very close to our relations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.5
    Convenient, very adequate stop over motel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike, we knew it was not a six star establishment.

    Convenience, little or no highway noise. It was a good,adequate motel for us to stay overnight after driving over 900 km.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    3.8
    Would never stay here again - nothing nice about the place
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The advertised restaurant wasn’t open - for no particular reason Aircon chucked out moist smelly air and made it hard to breathe - room was stinking hot Fridge didn’t work Shower screen broken - cane apart when I tried to use it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    5.8
    Ok for an overnight but I wouldn’t book it again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place smells of old carpet, everything is old and worn, no table just a bench, the bathroom needs updating

    Not much really, the bed was comfortable and there was a small settee which is always handy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.2
    good overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When you order a meal, it should be delivered, kitchen staff refunded money and provided the meal reopened the kitchen after they had closed the kitchen. This was exceptional and we thank them for the service. Need to review the system of ordering from the counter.

    good overnight stop

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.2
    Could have been good but third party wi fi was limited and non functioning TV meant not pleased.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was very limited . left me high and dry half way through a online chat. TV was not functioning. With no internet and no TV used my own phone.. Not acceptable.

    Room was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff and comfortable overnight stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water presure in the shower was quite poor with the hot water tacking a bit long to work.

    Over all i was very happy with my stay. Clean room great service and freindly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    Pleasant,friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The four of us were all happy with the motel and returned for a second stay.

    The relaxed setting,plenty of tables outside and staff willing to serve us there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    5.8
    Gone downhill since last visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very dated & the whole property could do with some TLC. Breakfast was poor - over cooked and cold. Bacon and mushrooms were like leather, the rest was pretty tasteless.

    Staff were friendly, good parking, good dinner in on-site restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.1
    We were a bit dis appointed in the pool, it was a bit...
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were a bit dis appointed in the pool, it was a bit neglected and also the top step into the pool was too long and it was hard for my wife who has leg problems to get in and out. I am glad I didnt have any children with a the spa was not fenced, otherwise the place was ok, hopefully once it rains they will be able to water and green the grass or lawn up a bit to make it a little more attractive. But we enjoyed our stay otherwise

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    The aircon was on and icy cool when I arrived, as was the...
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sliding door in the bathroom was not ideal; three sliding sections which came apart, and caused me to worry that they'd fall off the rail. This was minor, though, and I'd happily stay there again.

    The aircon was on and icy cool when I arrived, as was the fridge; very welcoming in 35C. The pool was clean and the perfect temperature. Friendly staff, crisp white sheets, everything perfectly clean. No traffic noise; excellent sleep.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.5
    A good place to rest and recuperate between Quuensland and Victoria
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is a little dated but was still clean and functional.

    The room was very well presented and was also very quiet. It was great for getting a good night's rest during a long drive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    Room was exceptionally clean and fresh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was exceptionally clean and fresh. Even the AC was on to welcome us on a very long and warm day. We thought the Restuarant was fantastic and our meal was a 10for both of us. Service from staff was also a 10.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.3
    I'll happily stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minor - no table in the room, only a long bench, and air-conditioner blew straight on to where I was working.

    Friendly helpful staff; good room, great swimming pool

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant and comfortable, and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside presentation off the motor inn is lovely but the interiors are showing their age. However all was clean and comfortable, with plenty of fresh milk for coffee as well as those welcome little packets of biscuits that seem to have disappeared from many motels.

    The motel rooms are set around a pool courtyard where we sat with a coffee, talking with friends as the sun went down. After a long drive, it was good to be able to walk across to dinner in the motel restaurant and then relax around the pleasant pool area. All staff had been friendly and obliging.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.6
    Loved the pool and room service from the restaurant.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The free wifi selling point is almost false. We booked in as a family of 4. The free wifi is limited to just 2 devices with just 250mb. How are 4 people with 4 devices supposed to use that? It’s really a trap to make you buy more which isn’t cheap.

    Loved the pool and room service from the restaurant. Was nice to have a hot shower that was hot quickly too!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.1
    Overall good value for money but go somewhere else for dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was very poor. The food included powdered potatoes and the lemon dressing for the Salmon was the lemon curd relish you would put on toast for breakfast. I will not eat in the restaurant again.

    The room was nice despite the bathroom being a bit dated. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location was nice and quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    Great stop over site
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As an extra bonus, the air-conditioner was on when I checked in. Thank you very much. Plus having the restaurant on site helped too. The room was neat and tidy and clean. The bathroom was a blast from the past with a seventies decor. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    5.4
    Good location for overnight stop when travelling from MEL to QLD, hotel a bit tired & needs love
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room - Pet Friendly
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from barking dogs a street away (not within the Motor Inn's control) echoed through our room for hours. Could hear all outside noise and other guests kept coming down to where we were with their dogs to use the grass. Fridge and tv were off at the main switch to 'help with their carbon footprint' yet the air-conditioner was on. Given it was a 30 degree day, having to turn the fridge on and get it to cool down wasn't great. In this day and age, one would expect that if you had a tv in a room, which you could only watch from the bed, it would be a reasonable size. Facilities were dated but ok. Considering there is hardly anywhere to eat, especially during Xmas & New Year, I would recommend the hotel offering small microwaves as the room service menu, referred to in the book, was not there and the restaurant within the hotel closed at 8pm. If I was running the hotel, being that it's in the middle of nowhere, I'd set up the rooms to make the stay a little more comfortable for guests, especially if you had children, given there's a pool etc and put a little crockery and cutlery in the room and a kettle which could boil more than one cup of water at a time. Side note to the owners, when we were leaving and dropping off our keys, we could have easily grabbed at least half a dozen keys and accessed those rooms. Not that there was anything to steal but making sure these were secure might afford you the ability to spend a night's fee on the rooms at Kmart in order to update them to be more functional for travelling guests.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    6.7
    Lovely staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and the restaurant were both highly overpriced for what I got. The air conditioner in the room was terrible, and noisy. The walls were so thin, I was disturbed by every single noise made in the surrounding rooms. I got no sleep at all. I had a terrible night.

    Lovely staff. The waitresses were working very hard, and doing their best on a busy night. Guest laundry was greatly appreciated.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: