Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Maze Backpackers - Sydney

417 Pitt Street, Sydney CBD, 2000 Sydney, Australia

#244 of 306 hotels in Sydney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3241 hostel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.2

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Paid WiFi

    4.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    3.8
    The linens were clean;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's winter and there is no indoor heating! The first hostel where I have had to pay for wifi service. Luggage storage is not secured; everyone has access to the storage area which is kept unlocked. If you want to secure your luggage, that will be an additional cost. This place feels like and is run like a barn house...overrun with people. Staff are nice until you have checked out; they've got your money and the fake service is now over. bye.

    The linens were clean; thank goodness as the carpet in the room and even the chair in the room were filthy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.4
    Great value for money but the rooms were a bit dingy.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some staff were pretty rude and forced me to sleep outside when I could not pay for another key deposit temporarily as I had lost my wallet. I feel that was a serious breach of contract and duty of care. Appalling!

    Great value for money but the rooms were a bit dingy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.3
    Good, clean but don’t expect visitors
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No visitors rule was pretty ridiculous. We had an hour to kill before heading out to our event and one friend who wasn’t staying the night but needed somewhere to hang for this hour. He was forced to sit alone in the lobby. I would understand if it was a pack if people we were hoarding into the room, but this was one person for an hour. In future I probably wouldn’t book again for this reason.

    Room, beds and toilets very clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    5.8
    Location is good & convenience. But it is noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too thin, I can feel the spring while I slept on the bed. The guests were drinking, chit-chating, and playing games in Level 2 sharing area even it was midnight around 3-5a.m.

    The location is good, it is near to the Central Station, World Square, and ChinaTown.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    Overall very good. Great value place to stay in central area of Sydney CBD.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Front rooms do get some late weekend street noise from below.

    Great central position. Large kitchen & cooking utensils etc really good. Overall very clean, well run & organised with good security.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.9
    Free food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room carpet is dirty, hot water in shower are not consistently (suffer for me especially in winter)

    Lowest price for twin room in town, Free food every night! (Almost)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.1
    Nice Position to go any scenic spots in Sydney.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really noisy surrounding, bathroom/toilet are not clean. Facility is old, bed frame seems going to break down at anytime.

    Nice Position to go any scenic spots in Sydney.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.3
    It’s a backpackers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared showers were a bit aged but clean.

    It’s a backpackers. And a good one. I was going out for dinner but the nightly a activity was a social meal. A clean single room with a window and a high ceiling. And security in the centre of town. What more do you need?

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    loved the value, location and comfort plus free foood... just gota be early.. =)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the free food was based on first come first serve basis, both days we reached about 7.45pm and they were all out.

    The bed was super comfy, the blanket was warm and cosy for winter.! *thumbsup

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    4.2
    Terrible hostel - noisy, very expensive regarding the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible hostel - noisy, very expensive regarding the service quality and the rooms. Dirty bathrooms, no free WiFi - so to add to the price accommodation. During the weekend, a club around the hostel is playing music till 7am, we can hear the loud bass even with ear plugs. We paid 64AUD/night for a 7,5m2 private room with a bunk bed 😡

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    A Perfect location in Sydney
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Na

    Great location with freindly staff. Check in was easy and the rooms are basic, but perfect for a couple of days. 24 hour shop next door was great for late night munchies.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    4.6
    Acceptable hostel if in Sydney for partying. Stay away if you actually want to sleep at any point.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel is quite old and dingy and not very clean. Unfortunately the purpose of our stay was to have somewhere to sleep and it was nearly impossible. On the first night, we were in a room above a nightclub and the level of noise was absolutely ridiculous, the vibrations moved our bed. When we complained, we were provided with ear plugs that were on hand suggesting they clearly have a lot of complaints. There’s also conveniently a no refund policy. It was that bad I was looking for other hotels to move to at 1am in the morning. The next evening we were allowed to move rooms which was really helpful. However, this side of the hostel was just as noisy with road traffic and loud drunks screaming outside. This hostel is fine for travellers who want to drink and stay up late. It’s not so great for anyone who is in Sydney for any other purpose.

    The facilities were okay in that there was a big kitchen and the toilets/showers were clean. Although I didn’t personally use them, i imagine the events offered on a nightly basis make it easy to meet people and make friends.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    very strategic place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very strategic place..easy to get the transport, near shopping mall, a lot of restaurant. the price also cheap. Very good for backpackers to save money when going holiday.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    Great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hostel does not have luggage storage in the room. The hostel is three level building with no elevator which make it becomes inconvenient for us to bring our luggage all the way up to the room.

    I love the kitchen! It's really clean and has many events with free food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    5.4
    Awful experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible place. Freezing cold, no free wifi, tiny room, looks like a converted prison. Windows old, didn't close properly so noisy and draughty. The place lets you hire blankets if you're too cold! The only good thing was free food some evenings. But definitely not good value for money and would never stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.3
    The spring coil bed was fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place really needs a deep clean and its time to replace the douna covers.. they shouldn't have stains

    Really really secure to get in... guests only, always a guard

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.5
    Decent but not amazing, needs cleaning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room, fan was incredibly loud, room wasn’t particularly clean and shower block wasn’t either and that was the main issue.

    Cheap for Sydney, good location to get in from airport, free food nights and breakfasts are decent, staff were good all round

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.8
    Not entirely what I hoped to find
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no free wifi and no free airport shuttle (unless you stay longer than 3 nights)..

    The kitchen was always clean and everything is in walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    2.9
    Absolute rip off the whole place is dingy smelly full of people who look at you funny .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything !! It was noisy unbearably uncomfortable ! It was a joke !! Every one in there compete to cook the best food look at you funny when u wanna cook a quick pot noodle and vegans staring at you while u eat meat lol

    absolutely nothing unfortunately

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.0
    Never returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet was the most disgusting thing I've ever seen. Wouldn't walk on it without shoes and it was everywhere in the entire hostel. We also lived next to a brothel and there were stains all over the blanket we got. Absolutely disgusting facilities. Would never go back. The transport from the airport attempted to con is into paying but the hostel reimbursed us for it at least.

    Staff was pleasant. Decent location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Good Central hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, easy to walk to most places in Sydney, staff are helpful and hostel is comfy and friendly, would recommend staying here. They do free food and the restaurants nearby are pretty cheap for Sydney

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Best value in Sydney
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The place can be noisy, but if you ask for a quiet location, they try to be accommodating.

    If you can disregard the slightly Salvation Army look of the place - it's pretty institutional-looking - the location and price are unbeatable. And importantly, there is an army of people employed to clean up the mess that is inevitably left by its youthful clientele - dirty dishes, unwashed clothes, litter, etc, so that it's always clean. Super-friendly and helpful staff. And free food on many nights - hot dog night, burger night - how is that not great?

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Very good hostel, lots of free food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay for wifi. Sometimes it was hard to adjust the shower to a good temperature - was either boiling hot or rather cold.

    Room was basic but nice enough. Bedside table and chair in room. Toilets and showers were usually very clean. Free food 3 nights a week and on a Sunday morning and it wasn't like a shitty portion - you could pretty much have as much as you wanted which was really good (as long as you were quick enough to get seconds so there was still stuff left). Wifi was really good most of the time. Really good location right in the middle of CBD; lots of bars, food outlets, shops nearby. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.8
    Good location in need of repair.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room windows did not close all the way, cold and noisey. The showers had low water pressure and windows that were open to the outside and broken. Storage for baggage was in the basement and we were on the 2nd floor with only a stair case to move luggage from one place to the other. Entire facility was in need of repair.

    The location and the price were very good. The free pancake breakfast on Sunday morning was very good!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.3
    Friendly staff, the holstel is close to the center and also...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not really what we have expected from the pictures.

    Friendly staff, the holstel is close to the center and also not too far from the airport. Discounted breakfast near to the hostel and free dinner 2-3 times a week.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    Cheap city backpackers, prefect for a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    CONS: not much really apart from music from reception rising up at 7am slightly annoying

    We where here for one night as a stop over and the room was exactly what we needed cheap bunk room, we where surprised we received towels and the showers where also cleaned a few times in the short time we where there,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    great place to stay for short period, close to everything i needed and affordable. Lovely staff also
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the only thing i didnt like was that food wasnt allowed in the rooms

    i like the location in general but the thing i was mostly happy about was the mattress and pillow were much more comfortable then i was expecting. i aslo loved the lobby decor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Location and price were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Space is old and a little dirty/worn but that is to be expected to some extent for the price. Also, the walls were thin enough that the music in the bar next door was audible every night until it shut down.

    Location and price were great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.7
    It was the cheapest private room I could find for last minute emergency 👌
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single room was literally the very bare necessities- a single sized bed which was squeeky and screamed with every move. Room was decent sized. Plenty of showers. Not tidy but not messy. The main gripe I had was the bloody euro backpackers next door pumping their infuriating Swedish rap music and screaming in the hallway all afternoon like they are the only residents in the area.

    It wasn’t terrible but I don’t can’t really think of anything particular I genuinely liked about my stay besides the reception is open 24 hrs which is good for last minute or late bookings. It was good enough for something like emergency accommodation

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.5
    Tidy and clean but could use new mattress
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable. Can feel every spring in mattress. Loud music from pub below- though it didnt go on overly late. People came in loudly jn eerly hours of morning. Very loor nights sleep.

    It was clean and tidy. Free food offered on some evenings had I been therr at time. Single room was a goos size.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.1
    Good value for money but not the best I have stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The entire building is actually in need of renovating. Also, if you are trying to sleep on aan weekend, tough luck. The club beneath goes on till 3 in the morning.

    The staff was really nice and helpful. Showers were amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.3
    Great hostel for a week stay in Sydney
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Old bathroom facilities and spring was popped out in the mattress

    Very good hostel, lots of cleaners so the kitchen was always tidy and so were the bathrooms. We had an issue with our mixed room, I don't think they particularly group people like most hostels do. Like usually they make sure theres an even amount of boys and girls or put boys in with boys and girls in with girls. So we are a couple and I was in there with 2 other boys which i didn't feel comfortable with due to my boyfriend working in the night. The staff on the front desk were amazing and straight away offered us a private twin room upgrade for free. They were very helpful and always greeting us when leaving or entering the hostel. Recommend highly if you're wanting a clean hostel thats in a great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    3.3
    Don't bother.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right next door to or above a club/bar that pumps out bass till the early hours, people getting drunk in common areas and banging on tables and chanting, staff not really welcoming, nor easily identifiable as there is no badge or uniform or anything. Wouldn't want to stay here alone, quite intimidating. Shocking to see what you get for your money. Where does it all go? Not in upkeep of the property or facilities or rooms. WiFi not included it's chargeable.

    If you aren't bothered about sleeping then a positive is it's close to the centre of things.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Good and cheap hostel with the best location .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the bathrooms should be renovated.

    The location is perfect. You get what you pay for. They clean the facilities every day and the atmosphere is very nice. Many toilets and a cozy tv-room. Nice hostel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    3.3
    Not using them again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, crowded, noisy, filthy. The day of check out they didn't allow me to stay in the common area (it was raining outside, 7h before my flight, I had two luggage pieces). They said I could go to any Starbuks or a Library. This is a first in a hostel. Absolutely not recommended! Choose any other cheap option, it can not be worse!

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Perfect, everything I needed and much more.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn’t fault it

    Very friendly staff so helpful they give you a fantastic map and explain everything from trios to events to getting around, The Location was excellent just a train ride to central station from the airport they also have a shuttle bus you can catch if you are flying out in early hours of the morning. Pitt street is so central you can walk to circular quay , china town, darling Harbour and Botanical gardens all are in a 15 to 20 minute walk. Pitt street has great little restaurants with cheap food. The building is old but extremely clean so you don’t have to worry you are going to a dump. I stayed in a single room it was basic but nice and clean again. Low noise and everything you need in hostel you get a towel there are also trips you can go that they organize so if you are alone you can join in and have fun. I highly recommend this hostel to anyone no matter what age you couldn’t find a better place to stay, Also free food you get as many pancakes as you can eat hotdogs, burgers and chicken curry on certain nights of the week. 711 across street and coles not to far for food. The restaurants all have very cheap deals on so the nights there is no free food you can find something cheap to eat. Thank you Maze Lisa Rivas

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    2.5
    Passports required for dorm bed for local residents! If none upgrade to single room for $40 extra
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked a bed in a mixed 4-bed dorm room here via Booking.com for $25, a bargain. I live in Western Sydney, the only reason to stay overnight here was that I had a late event finishing in the CBD and need to be in CBD again the next morning. When I arrived they required my passport. Being an Australian citizen and not 'traveling', I wasn't carrying my passport. I offered my NSW Drivers License, they wouldn't accept. They said I had to upgrade to a Single Room for an additional $40, as they are imposing a policy of 'Passport Required for Shared Accommodation'. When I made the reservation via Booking.com the 'important notes' only said: 'Please note that a valid Photo ID is required at check-in (drivers license, passport or a government-issued proof of age card) You must show a valid credit card upon check-in. This credit card must be in the same name as the guest's name on the booking confirmation.' This was ignored. If this hostel has this special dorm bed policy different from all other hostels in Sydney, they should flag it on the booking page before making guests accept the reservation and supply credit card details. If this was emphasized I wouldn't have bothered booking a dorm bed with them, as there are plenty of other hostels in the CBD which don't require passports. I complained to Booking.com but they wouldn't help, even though it's their website which caused this to happen. Useless Booking.com customer service!

    CBD Location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Suppose to have free shuttle service. Well we missed it cause we came after 6pm on the way on and apparently no free shuttle on the way out since your leaving anyway they don't care. So now free shuttle at all for us. Place looks and feel very run-down. The room if you can call it that was so small that we could even open our suitcases on the floor.

    Free pancakes on Monday's and good location is all the positives I experienced.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    2.9
    horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the staff is disrespectful, they cheat people, they offer you bonuses or promotions and then they excuse themselves to not give you the discounts. In addition to offering illegal work.

    nothing !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.4
    Worst hostel with good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival, the staff was very rude. The room was ok, but the bathroom needs some cleaning. There is a club right under the hostel, so we couldn't sleep until 3am. It was shaking our bed and the music felt like it was played in the room. The bed also squeaks every time someone turns in their sleep. It is definitely not worth staying here even for just one night.

    Only good thing is the location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.7
    Nice atmosphere and friendly people
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place had no free wifi which made it frustrating to go out to placez to get free wifi, it did get noisy in some places at night, free food only some nights and room cleaning was only avalible on request.

    It has a nice atmosphere, fun activities to do, and the organiser there called Emily is a nice girl and made everyone fell welcome. She did her best to organise events and get as much people involved. Got to meet some other people from all over the world

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Good value for its price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator and it is quite noisy sometimes, and the room is really small

    The bed is fine and there is free food nearly everyday Check in and check out is quick and smooth, nice staff The blanket is warm enough

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Is a nice place to stay. Location is very important.
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I stayed in a lot of hostels and this is de only one that I had problems with the chargers. Like is too far away from the bed. It is the only thing that I can complain about. The rest is all good. I recommend it.

    Is my fourth time there and I like it because of the great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    If you're looking for basic, cheap and convenient, Maze is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It can be quite loud if your room is near the kitchen / common area and the rooms are clean but not supersuperclean

    If you're looking for a basic, cheap and convenient place to stay, Maze Backpackers is perfect. It's in a central location, usually has friendly staff on, the rooms are basic but tidy, you can opt for a private room option if wanted.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    If you're looking for basic, cheap and convenient, Maze is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It can be quite loud if your room is near the kitchen / common area and the rooms are clean but not supersuperclean.

    If you're looking for a basic, cheap and convenient place to stay, Maze Backpackers is perfect. It's in a central location, usually has friendly staff on, the rooms are basic but tidy, you can opt for a private room option if wanted.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    Big kitchen with everything you need to make a good meal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big kitchen with everything you need to make a good meal. Good location, only 20 min walk to botanic gardens. Showers and toilet were clean. Staff was friendly and helpfull.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.7
    Great location, near supermarkets and shopping centres and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, alot of noise coming for the alleys. What you expect for a cheat hostel

    Great location, near supermarkets and shopping centres and a 8 minute walk from the station. Clean kitchen for a hostel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    Was good. Would recommend if you're trying to do sydney on the cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fan was incredibly noisy but needed to be used as there was little air movement otherwise.

    It was cheap, staff were good and property is in a good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.5
    Okay, if you can handle very budget hostel accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms were always wet, you could never lean against the counter without getting soaked. Rooms very rundown: paint cracking, old carpet. Having to pay for WiFi in this day and age also not okay.

    Good price for a private room. Very central area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.0
    Good place to stay and make friends.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The place needs more toilets and showers in every coloured area. I lived in green area and had to go to yellow area for shower and toilet. Free Wifi could be a plus. Please allow eating in the rooms as well, as some people want to eat alone.

    Good place to stay and make friends.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.9
    Big rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free WiFi! Bathrooms sometimes quite hard to find Toilets sometimes clogged and dirty but were then cleaned really fast

    Big rooms Nice people Big kitchen + lots of fridges Nice chill out area (“cinema”)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.1
    Good place to stay for a short visit to Sydney.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room is rather small.

    It's a safe and good place to stay in the centre of Sydney for a short stay. International backpackers, very near main streets and interesting places to see. The staff are very friendly and helpful. International backpackers there are nice and friendly, too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    Great place to stay while I was at a conference in Sydney.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small, but that didn't matter as I wasn't in there often

    Loved the location. staff were friendly and helpful. Great value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    It is close to the Central Station and a big grocery store.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad smell is in the reception room. Airport shuttle is not available after 1:30pm.

    It is close to the Central Station and a big grocery store. Bed was comfortable, washroom was clean, staffs were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    5.8
    It is clean hostel and they are organizing some activities...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no socket close to your bed, i think it was the worst thing in hostel, and if you extend your accomodation from booking.com, you have to leave from your room, do checkout-checkin again. I think it is bad thing as well because take all your luggage to luggage room and waiting 4 hours without you have a room is a kind of waste of time. No locker in the room.

    It is clean hostel and they are organizing some activities for everyday. Kitchen is big and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location, small and stuffy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was so small and too hot. The fan didn’t circulate enough to reach the bottom bunk. Also literally a maze, easy to get lost, loads of people and long way to the bathrooms. WiFi isn’t free. Fine for one or two nights wouldn’t have wanted to stay much longer.

    Location was excellent and although we only spent one night there, there seemed to be lots of activities and free meals. A great backpacker vibe.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    5.0
    quite convinient location that's it.
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    whole area looks like maze so many tiny rooms and rooms. I nearly lost my way. also I used double room it's quite small and very noisy in the night coz room was near the street. no elevator, no air conditioning

    the shower booth was clean. bath towel was provided.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    5.4
    We would not liked to have stayed there for too much longer, but did sleep well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above. No table or shelves, nor coat hangers for bits to go on. However, after we complained, a bedside table was found for us. What a difference that made after having everything on the floor!

    Everyone was friendly and helpful .THE ROOM WAS VERY BASIC and a long way from the toilets, which were always awash with water from leaking showers. There was a distinct smell when one went into the room, and it was not from us, or the clean bedding. I suspect the carpet could do with a deep steam clean. However the location was good and we did everything that we wanted to do.Near shops and the central station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.3
    Very Central and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi connection is extremely bad.

    Although it is very central and close to all the sightseeing sites and public transportation, the room was a bit of smelly and I did not like that we have to pay for the wifi. One of the most important for me for the accommodations I booked is the wifi connection and also the hot water. Having said that, the reception and staff, were nice and very approachable. The kitchen and bathroom were always clean and tidy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.1
    Convenient hostel at great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facilities are a bit old and could be renewed. Room was really noisy from outside noise.

    Huge hostel, great location and plenty of shared facilities in the kitchen. Good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.3
    Lovely and easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom smelled like cleaning chemicals and didn't have ventilation - great that they keep it clean but I found it hard to breath a few times.

    It was clean, friendly staff, clean bedding and nice free food events!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.9
    good location, value the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was hot because it is difficult for the air to come through. there was no elevator, so it would be difficult for those who bring big luggage. the bed makes noise with even a slight move

    good location, value the price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    Worth the value. Coud not ask for more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes it it very noisy outside if you stay at the room in the corner of Pitt street, but understandable since this street is busy and crowded.

    The hostel is near everything. I enjoyed the Thai food and Korean BBQ around the hostel very much. Also walking distance to Darling Harbour, Sydney Eye Towel and only a very short ride to Circular Quay. Toilet and bathroom were always clean. There is a big kitchen but I did not use it, also the shuttle bus service that run every 30 minutes before 1.30 PM.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    Fun but wasn't really what I expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ovens in the kitchen. Facilities look a bit neglected and uncared for, little dirty at times. Rooms are quite small.

    Kitchen had enough cutlery and cooking stoves for everyone in this rather big hostel. Spacious tv room with a/c.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smell like mould. When we turn on the sealing fun, all the dast and dirty staff start falling on top of the bed. Who knows when was the last time they clean that fan. They never walk into our room to change the rubbish container. Spend a couple of extra dollars and stay somewhere else

    Location Only 3 minutes down the road from central station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.1
    Very happy for the price !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our window was in the middle of the building on the first floor as Friday/Saturday night we could hear the live music from the pub down below until 1230/1am. I also didn’t like how it didn’t have airconditionig in the rooms as the first night was very warm and our can if on high made a clicking noise.

    I like how it was a fantastic price! It was what we needed and it did it’s job. It was busy but you never heard other guests while in your room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Great hostel!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! It was our 2nd stay and we had a great time, you get what you pay for and meet awesome people along the way

    Maze is a great backpacking hostel! Great location, great staff and as long as you remember it is a very busy hostel and not a 5 star hotel it is perfect and you’ll have a great time! It can be loud but most music/general loud noise is cut off by 11pm and you can still get a great night sleep. Bathrooms are mostly clean but unless they were to be cleaned after each person using them they are never going to be immaculate every time, it’s just one of those things!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    Location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilets where a little bit dirty. Kitchen close to early at night. Only one plug in each room, stayed in a 6 share. How do they expect people to charge their phone with only one plug for the entire room? They mention that each room has lookers, mine didn't have any.

    Location. They provide towels upon check in.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    2.5
    Stinking. Smelly. Horrible quilts & covers. No mattress covers. Very rundown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stinking smelly carpets throughout the building & the rooms. Quilts that would not be good enough for a dog or down & out person to sleep on. Broken spring on one of the mattresses, no mattress covers. Walls need painted in rooms. Loud fan attached to room ceiling that you cannot sleep without. Back of bedroom door badly marked with graffiti. Do not stay in this place, pay a little extra & go somewhere else. Is in urgent need of renovation, obviously the owners do not want to spend anything on it

    the Worst Hostel I have ever stayed in. Staff were the only good thing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.3
    great cheap digs
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor is tired and needs a refurb which makes it look unloved even though it is very clean. I also missed the free dinner due to a meeting

    Location is fantastic with travel by foot or public transport

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    2.5
    Wouldn't wish a night there on my worst enemy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt so bad, there was questionable stains on the in cleaned carpet. We heard scared screams in the middle of the night, the window didn't lock and was easily accessable from the outside, and as 2 young women staying alone, we were very scared and only ended up staying one of the nights we booked and going to a different hotel just to feel safe. We were not aloud a refund.

    Literally nothing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.5
    Location is quite good, several minutes' walk to train...
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eating and drinking are not allowed in the room but can eat in the kitchen.

    Location is quite good, several minutes' walk to train station, shopping centre. Nice restaurants just downstairs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.9
    Sweet and short just right time to spend there needed more activities for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room as I first arrived wasn’t a smell I was expecting. Also feel that while I had no issues with the other guest a lot of them where in there own clicks already so made it hard to meet new people with just being in the hostel for a short while.

    The staff where helpful with questions I asked and some nights out were organised so was good for that.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.4
    Just location maybe.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was really noisy someone screaming, slapping the wall couldn't sleep midnight. The bed was wobbly, felt like an earthquake on the bottom bed.

    Just location maybe. Single room on 2nd floor was cleaner than sharing room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.1
    Relatively cheap stay in the heart of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air-conditioning. Rooms and corridors were dirty and stinky.

    Can't beat the location on Pitt Street, though noisy during Fridays and Saturdays. Bathrooms were clean. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Maze Backpackers - Sydney traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: