Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of McLaren Hotel 3 stars

25 McLaren Street, North Sydney, 2060 Sydney, Australia

#34 of 306 hotels in Sydney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 490 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Paid WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Freezer was turned off and had defrosted, and was full of water and leaking on carpet. Staff did not seem too happy to clean it up, and threw towels in fridge and shut the door.

    Comfy bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is a bit tight in the old basement.

    Beautiful big rooms, and very comfortable bed. The Continental breakfast in the atrium is a great start to the day. Great location. Guest lounge room to relax and read the paper or a book. Nice outdoor sitting area to enjoy a glass of wine at the end of the day. Restaurants are within walking distance. Staff are very informative and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to pay for wifi. No Sydney Morning Herald available - only The Australian & the Tele.

    The bed was comfy. The reception lady was helpful. Garage was useful. Breakfast was adequate in pleasant surroundings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small mixup when checking out, but it was sorted out very quickly.

    They were great at changing our booking at the last minute to accommodate extra members of our party and meet all our needs. This was my second stay and I will be returning for any future trips in the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Get the windows fixed. ASAP

    Overall this is a charming, clean and quaint heritage building and the staff were lovely. However the main purpose of a hotel is to stay the night and get a good nights sleep ( you hope) however the window kept banging all night, without stop, in the winds that were up that night. Didnt matter when winds died off in the early am, even a mild wind made the window rattle. Open or closed it didnt matter. I spent half the night trying to wedge tissues, coasters, socks, shirt sleeves, even toilet paper at one point in the gaps between the sliding wooden shutter and the sill. No sleep. All night. Went home like a zombie next day. Lucky the girl on in the morning let me have a late breakfast with extra coffee. Big thumbs up for her

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, small and comfortable hotel. Great restaurants on walking distance. Free parking.

    The period decor gives it a stylish look. Public transport is very close too. If stairs are an issue, ask ground floor room as there is no lift.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the hotel was 110 years old with high ceilings and original features made it really appealing. The breakfast was only $9! There was plenty to eat in the buffet and a table outside in the garden.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental breakfast. Good cereals choice (!) But the rest won’t do for eggs& bacon lovers from Europe. No ham/chees. No tomatoes & cucumbers. Just toasts and jam. This for 9 dollars seem a waste for an European used to have savoury breakfast. Room 5 - very tiny. No space for loggage. Room 6 - beautiful open fire place (!) but view on the wall. ( what probably is irrelevant for tourist that spends most time outside) Hotel is quite noisy but in quiet neighbourhood. Space between the door and the door frame let’s the light from the corridor in. This might disturb someone with light sleep pattern.

    Good location in North Sydney (on one of the charming streets with villas). Many cafe’s and restaurants around. 20 min walk down the hill to the ferry that brings you across the harbour. Bus around the corner. If you want to walk to the cbd - takes you an hour. Nice walk across the bridge. The villa decor needs some renewal here and there but the rooms are charming and clean. We stayed in room 5 and 6 in the front. Comfortable beds, comfortable showers. Clean soft towels. Nice little terrace with tropical plants around the breakfast area. Tea& coffee facilities in the room and downstairs at the kitchen are a big plus. Swift check in& check out. I would stay in this hotel again. I would also recommend it to someone that loves “charm hotels.”

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reasonably close to transport train and buses. There were cafes and pubs close by and a local market on a Saturday. The venue was next to a school yet quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was comfortable, but could have had better furnishings and fittings.

    Good comfortable room and stay, without being exceptional. Good value for money with on-site secure parking included and convenient location, out of city centre, but close to good restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My pillow was lumpy and when I moved the bed to check the lamp plug it hadn't been vacuumed there for some considerable time.

    Beautiful old house comfortable relaxed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The temperature in the shower was a bit all over the place. Noisy in the early morning when people leaving or going in and out of the rooms adjacent. The toilet "whistled" for some time after flushing (we were in Room 17) which was annoying when trying to go back to sleep. Breakfast just adequate but OK for $9 each.

    The bed was comfortable and it was quiet during the night. Nice room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel had very friendly staff and a comfortable atmosphere. Beds were comfortable and the rooms clean and spacious. Bathrooms were also clean and well functioning. Easy, continental breakfast, and nice, homely guest lounge and breakfast rooms were great. The outside areas were lovely to sit and have a glass of wine (self bought or supplied by hotel). The location was great and very quiet, even though the hotel was in easy reach of restaurants and pubs. Make sure you ask for a downstairs room with balcony/deck/verandah.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit hard to open the door with the key. Had rattle the door handle. We requested the spare set and this helped.

    Close to the Mater Hospital. Clean rooms nice friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Facilities are a little dated but nothing concerning.

    Great location in North Sydney without the expensive harbour views. Good for those on a budget looking to be close to the harbour and the CBD without spending a fortune.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Short stay for me with work, unable to get to see much around the area

    Very comfortable room and close to the head office so I could walk and not move my car, Night staff member was great to have a conversation with when returning from eating out for dinner, and other staff members assisted in every way possible.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A shame no lift, but understand heritage limitations as explained. Would book a ground floor room next time.

    Great location. The eating/outdoor area looked lovely but as extremely hot, we stayed in room with air conditioning. Had a very early start and so couldn't avail ourselves of the breakfast opportunity. Liked the grandeur of a lovely old building.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking entry was challenging and with less spots than rooms by a large margin. We did get a spot there, exit was difficult due to a large Ute parked in a marked space, had to fold the mirrors in to get through the space left.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - the facilities aren’t flashy but it’s clean, comfortable and cosy.

    Charming, reasonably priced, cosy hotel, well situated with lovely relaxed breakfast facilities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was hesitant to park overnight on the street - but in reality it was perfectly safe.

    I loved the old world feel, and its close proximity to the city without the city crowds or traffic.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being an old building the sound proofing is not good and noise from adjoining rooms is a problem. The breakfast is "continental", but without the real Continental croissants and charcuterie choices.

    Quaint historic building.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overexcited electric kettle that continued to boil after boiling.

    I loved the character of the building, leafy surrounds, being woken by kookaburra song, proximity to Mater and public transport, size of the room, spacious and light common areas...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Some guests might find the location a little too isolated in the evenings, North Sydney being a business district, quite lively by day but not a vibrant area by night. Potential guests should also be aware that the hotel is a good uphill walk from the station. My room did not have a view and looked directly into another building but as I was out and about so much, it was not too much of a problem.

    I enjoyed staying in such a charming old home in a quiet location yet so close to the city and some beautiful harbourside locations. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, and my room was a good size and comfortable. The sitting room was a lovely spot to wait, glass of sherry in hand, for visitors/taxis.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower could do with an upgrade. It was clean but grout it very tired.

    Easy to locate. Close to train. Really friendly reception who even called to make sure I was ok when I didn’t make estimated arrival in time.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    parking was hit and miss but that's to be expected in most popular areas these days.

    the comfort aspect in our room was just right , the staff very helpful it felt like a lovely experience staying in a charming house , we enjoyed the surrounds and the proximity to Sydney's highlights an added bonus. We hope to come back in 2018.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well cockroach roaming on table in my roam bathroom edges have holes where they disappeared I think breakfast was complementary but I was still charged in hall spider webs in ceiling so cleaning and property is degrading

    Well it's cozy old theme place management nice to talk felt nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The price per room, but then Sydney is expensive for accommodation. The lack of free wifi is annoying, as it really should be a must when you're paying over $150 per night.

    The beds were comfortable and the rooms while having an old world look, are very clean and cosy. The entire property presents well and the location is very good, and given the popularity I'd say a lot of people agree. The staff were super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have stayed here on numerous occasions & it has never disappointed. Outstanding value for money. If you want all mod cons & enjoy waiting for hotel lifts (there ain't none) then look elsewhere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was fantastic, the staff was very nice , we arrived at about 8.40 from the airport, after a 22hour being on a plain , thinking we would have to just drop how bags off, owing to arriving early and the hotel was busy, but they had a room reddy for us. they was fantastic. and the location was fantastic.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Other noisy guests returning at night

    Very friendly and helpful staff with lot of tips on what to do and where to eat. Very conveniently located for us.Nice shared lounge area with newspapers and access to tea and coffee.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, they did not have a trundle bed for my second son, which was disappointing because I had made it clear I needed this when I booked.

    Very convenient location at a good price. Room was on the small size, but adequate. Unfortunately, they did not have a trundle bed for my second son, which was disappointing because I had made it clear I needed this when I booked. Breakfast was very simple - toast and cereal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If we were later getting there not enough off street parking.

    It was a lovely place to stay. Staff were friendly and helpful,loved the way we were shown to our room. The bed was like a big soft cloud, breakfast was offered for a extra $8, that was convenient as there is nowhere else close for breakfast. We would stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have enjoyed a cooked breakfast in our private courtyard.

    The beautiful building & the huge room compared to other accommodation. Very very clean & well kept. Would have enjoyed a cooked breakfast though or maybe room service?

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing that we didn't like, but having stayed there before in a downstairs room and having an upstairs one this time, we will definitely request a downstairs one for future bookings! Room was a little noisy as we had the window open for air and trades people started work on the street at 7.00am!

    Easy location to reach coming from Canberra and convenient to most places in Sydney. Very quiet hotel, somewhere we prefer to come rather than all the business at the larger hotels. Staff very pleasant, helpful, knowledgeable and have a good rapport with guests. The small rooms upstairs are adequate for an overnight stay, but the deluxe rooms downstairs are larger and open up to an outside verandah looking out to the garden. The parking facility is always a bonus. Breakfast is more than sufficient at a very reasonable cost. Hotel is ten minutes walk away from the Mater Hospital.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Did not have time to have a glass of complimentary Port in the lounge room!

    A lovely old building with charm and warmth -BIG room, good bathroom, huge bed and great sleep. Lovely breakfast area ! In a peaceful, leafy part of North Sydney. Restaurants close by. Short stroll to train station. Will stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was generally quite happy with the experience, not staying long enough to experience anything distasteful or uncomfortable. Perhaps the distance from city centre, but alleviated by good positioning near public transport.

    Lovely quality of rooms and nice staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it was a basic room there was plenty of space and a window surrounded with foliage (a good thing) and separate bathroom with skylight and fan and spotlessly clean & bright :) Room #21

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lucky it was a public holiday as parking was full and we were able to park in the street otherwise parking would have been a big issue.

    Value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing!

    The welcoming and very helpful staff. All put needs were met and nothing seemed to be a problem from any of the staff. Plus the excellent rating of the above questions,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would love fresh milk in the fridge for tea or coffee.... not the UHT little packages

    What croissants? Breakfast however, was great value for the money and convenient. Great to have nice biscuits provided and comfy pillows on a comfy bed. The hosts were all so friendly and helpful. Quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Information on bus, trains into the city and airport and location of nearest bus stop and train station. Information on the history of the house. All this could be included in the information pack in each room.

    The boutique style of the hotel; the quiet location; the consideration of the staff; the Italian restaurant close by.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing to dislike

    We loved our stay at The Mclaren. It was very comfortable the staff were fabulous and the room was huge. we will definately come again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing !!!!

    The bed was massive and a real size bed, not 2 singles pushed together. Reception staff lady, absolutely lovely couldn't do enough for us, very helpful.. The place is lovely the stained glass windows, the lounge area .. The location, walking distance to restaurants, very nice pub, and shopping centre.. I'll be going back next year to stay again !! 11am checkout !!!!! Brilliant!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Much. Enjoyed Stay.

    The Hotel had a old world charm and a quiet location not far from a busy city. Front Office staff where very freindly. Will use Hotel if in North Sydney, again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift for suitcase

    It was close to our office and a very charming and comfortable accomodation Not having a lift is an issue for me so moving suitcase up and down stairs is difficult even though they did carry it up the stairs for me.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Excellent location for our purposes; atmospheric, warm character; friendly, natural, helpful staff; generous with parking & any extra costs; appealing relaxation areas

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As above _+ courteous, respectful and always very helpful.

    We have been staying at the McLaren for over 20 years firstly with our children and now as a couple. Everything about the McLaren we have found to be of a very high standard. We look forward to returning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was terrific so cannot say much here.

    Excellent value especially extra ie breakfast and bar fridge was very reasonable. The staff was professional and pleasant. I would definitely stay with again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't very comfortable, and the pillows were really quite ordinary - lumpy, not soft.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The presentation of the Mclaren Hotel is very attractive. The rooms were clean and warm - important on rainy July days.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Foxtel.

    Great location, easy 10-12 min walk from North Sydney rail station. Small cosy hotel, good rooms and bathrooms, very friendly staff, and good value for money. Lovely gardens, good aircon. Quiet hotel, set back from a quiet road. Great range of restaurants and other eating options in walking distance. I'd stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we found room not very sound proof as we were disturbed by a neighbour talking very loud late at night into the early hours of the morning.

    Room comfortable, bed comfortable, facilities clean and tidy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Comfortable beds, very quiet location. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Windows that could open and let in fresh air - no stuffiness in the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for twin bed. When we arrived it was not a twin bed room(however the beds could be separated). When I asked if they could be separated I was not greeted with willingness to help, even though it was a request made prior to check in. When the house keeper came to separate the beds she was rude and kept mumbling under her breath in another language. Not great customer service considering it was due to a lack of communication between staff at the property and not us.

    Close to where I needed to be

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We chose The McLaren Hotel so we could visit our new grandson at the nearby Mater Hospital. The McLaren offers old world charm coupled with modern appointments. Our room was very clean and comfortable and there was plenty of variety at breakfast in the beautiful atrium. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed relaxing in the lovely comfortable lounge room at the front of the house. The McLaren is just a short walk from good quality restaurants and there is convenient & secure parking onsite.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No gluten free option for breakfast - the coffee was dreadful, yet there was a fantastic cafe across the road

    Bed was comfy and surprisingly enough room for two people, the bummer was if we wanted to refrigerate anything that was an extra cost.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely quaint hotel with lovely touches, such as sitting room and breakfast room which allowed socialising with work colleagues. Conveniently located short walk from North Sydney train station (but it is all up hill). Room spacious and adequately equipped for short stay and with sitting room there was space to relax away from the hotel room. The complimentary Port, Sherry and magazines added to a homely feel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked an extra shelf to put bathroom toilet bags on.

    We absolutely loved the charm of the individuality of the hotel. The rooms spacious and airy. Charming staff. Beautiful breakfast, simple but good quality. Loved having plunger coffee instead of the usual brewed coffee thats been sitting for hours. Lovely cosy sitting room which reminded me of the English country hotels.Enjoyed having nice thick bathroom towels! Very handy to transport into the city or the N shore suburbs. Good having secure parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is old fashioned and comfortable. I liked that you can open the windows and don't have to put up with air conditioning unless you want it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room had a small garden back deck and the timber flooring was mossy and slippery, the only fault with the room and not a major issue.

    our 3rd stay here and was great as usual. quiet guest house with neat, clean comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All hotels should have free wifi in 2017

    Lovely renovated historic home with much more character than nearby hotels in North Sydney.Choose superior room -25 sqm. Very quiet but still close to North Sydney offices if you're there on business

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived and began to unpack, there was an unpleasant odour in the room. We thought at first it was coming from the closet but we think we noticed it when we opened the fridge. It was a musty, damp smell like bad food or sour milk.

    We did not go to a restaurant but had a meal at "The Rag and Famish

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The central location to transport we didn't hire a car this time and everything was on the door step.Very quiet.Very private.Affordability was exceptional we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend the hotel to everyone.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit of a trek from the airport, but has good public transport links.

    Room was nice and big. Bed was comfy. Free sherry and poet nightcap was a nice touch.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed rolled away from wall whenever propped up in bed, broken soap holder in shower, being called dear and sweety repeatedly. These are small points, they were very overshadowed by the good.

    Friendly helpful reception, breakfast simple but good & coffee great, nice bright b/f room, big bedroom & TV, clean, quiet,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unpleasant dank smell in corridor leading to the stairs. Tiny shower cubicle and water in shower suddenly running very hot or cold. Small window in room didn't provide much of an airflow or outlook despite booking a King Room.

    The bed was comfortable.Liked the stained glass window in the communal lounge and the provision of port or sherry in the lounge in the evening.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked the old charm of the building. We travelled Europe last year and I could defiantly get a sense of England in this building. Such a charming place to stay and staff were very friendly. Will be back again!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No access to laundry at hotel or anywhere nearby hotel

    Comfy, welcoming, older style hotel with lots of added extras. Cheap breakfast, parking and great location. Staff were lovely too.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we first arrived I went to get a cup of tea and the cup was dirty. That made me look around at the cleanliness of the whole place. The carpets, cushions and bedspreads could have been cleaner. The sheets where clean.

    The old world style and the door going out to an out door area. Would have been good if each unit had a little out door space to themselves.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charging a fee for wifi! Not much open in North Sydney on evening or weekends.

    Lovely historic property, wonderfully helpful staff, free parking, close to transit. Common room to unwind at the end of the day with complimentary Port and Sherry!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Steps up and down to the underground parking area, a little steep.

    Perfect location for where we needed to get to in the evening. Free parking, although limited, but we managed to get a space. Cleanliness, space and quietness of the room which opened to a small verandah space outside. Breakfast excellent value, all we needed at $8.00 per person and in pleasant airy breakfast room. Obliging staff. All round value for money!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit musty due to lots of rain recently .

    Old style building with wonderful ambiance . Air conditioning worked a treat. Underground parking.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thredbear towels and too small ,common problem . Window rattle fixed with wad of paper.

    No cooked breakfast , but good continental style O.K a/con worked well. Comphy bed good size.WiFi excellent. Shower hot water ex. Big room with v.good work desk.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the rooms were extremely clean there was a strong musty odour that greeted you as you entered the room.

    The breakfast room is delightful and the breakfast provisions were simple with a good variety. Good value for money and a pleasant start to the day.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had no2 had 2 windows one opaque the other a view of a fence

    We liked the location .The CBD was easily accessible by bus and services were frequent Breakfast was adequate and well priced Room clean and comfortable Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were friendly and very helpful. Quiet location which suited where I needed to be. It was a pleasant walk to surrounding cafe's. I loved the high ceilings and the Country Manor decor. I will be staying there again.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: