Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Melaleuca on Mitchell - Darwin YHA

52 Mitchell Street, Darwin CBD, 0800 Darwin, Australia

#72 of 85 hotels in Darwin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 573 hostel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    3.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms where not really clean, there was loud music all day til midnight and I couldn't get the wifi to work several times. The kitchen didn't work properly, our food was stolen and you need a deposit to get plates, cups and cutlery.

    Location is good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Ensuite Mixed Dorm
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hostel is huge. It is a party hostel, so travelers that are not here for the party will have different experience depending on the location of the room. There is no quiet public space to work (only one small tv-room inside the building), the open common area is just too big and exposed to loud music all day. Staff is much more attentive in other hostels, here there are just too many visitors, don't expect much info from the staff. Bunk beds are shaky. Room had a smell of used sport clothes and was dark also during the day time. You have cockroaches in the bathroom, many of them! Not for faint hearted. What is worst of it all - you have to pay for wi-fi.

    Location is in the very center of everything, big supermarket just in front, many cafes and bars.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noisy everynight. Kitchen not enough for all the people in the building. No line cloths for the laundry.

    Very clean hostel and big rooms. Awesome position

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single more expensive was spartan normally double bunk room. No dresser, closet ....nothing, only two double bunks. Manager yelling and berating hard working staff was uncomfortable not only for myself but other guests.

    Staff, housekeeping and working were very nice and accommodating at every turn. Location great. Kitchen, bathrooms organized and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    plastic cover mattresses feel a bit odd, very loud and humpy music at the pool bar, would be nicer if a tad less so you can hear what others are saying..... freezer space would be nice

    great deck area with pool & bar, super central location, fridge space, friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No fridge in room. The no alcohol in room rule when this is acceptable in any other accomodation. The bed was hard and quite uncomfortable.

    The pool, the bar, the kitchen and the staff. Excellent location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doors close very loudly, some dorm beds uncomfortable (relatively to other dorms), laundry not convenient (you pay 3 times)

    Excellent location (on main st), helpful staff, very animated bar at night (until 22:00), could use the pool

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay a deposit for cutlery and plates.

    Very friendly staff at reception. Rooms and shared toilets were clean and fresh at all times. Rooms were comfortable with good beds and aircon. Bar was cheap and easy to meet people - there was something organised every night. Couldn't ask for more in a hostel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dried blood on the wall (squashed mosquitos?) Pubic hair on madress.

    Location mid i byen is fantastic. Staff bend over backwards to make your stay enjoyable. (They loaned me an Esky for 3 days when I was going camping, rather than have me buy one and throw it away when getting on the plane. That is SERVICE!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one set of power outlets per dorm on the opposite side of the room.

    Great common areas, very helpful staff, good vibes and all the facilities you’d need for your stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid wifi, only one outlet per room

    Great hostel right in the center, friendly vibe, lots of activities, pools, tv room, clean room and bathrooms, not crowded during wet season

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi came at an additional cost (ridiculous considering the hefty, overpriced amount paid for a night), very loud throughout the day and at night. Kitchen was an absolute mess. Definitely a standard hostel stay

    Air conditioning worked

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cockroaches in the kitchen and in the rooms, the internet said free wifi, i had to pay for IT and it still didn't work, staff mixed up keys and the key system is with a card to open the door. I was late because of a Sunset tour, and my card didn't work and i had to wait for 2 hours until a stafmember could give me another card.

    The location is in the middle of the centre, everything is very nearby

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A struggle with six in a room to charge phones and power banks as there was only two power points.

    Always a pleasure to come back, love Darwin and always made to feel welcome. Stayed in a dorm this time and was just as comfortable and the company was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one outlet per room by the door, which really sucks. Somebody thrown away my food bag full of groceries from the fridge, even tho it was marked. This happened on more ocassions to many people even tho we were staying and had booked for more days to come.

    Loved the stay. Very central location, friendly, social and fun atmosphere. Pool is amazing for hot days. Room, bathrooms, common areas and kitchen were cleaned daily. Tv Room with netflix and daily events. Met here many great people. Staff is friendly and helpful. Would stay here again, especially during the wet season as it is not overcrowded and not too crazy to handle. Thanks!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice clean rooms, nice bar and pool area and in the middle of a busy street with lots of bars and restaurants. Also a nice 5 minute walk from the waterfront

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were friendly and considerate. Patiently answered everything. Located at the main spot of the city with reasonable price. Had a lovely experience. Would definitely stay there again in the next visit.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers at non-moveable angle difficult for tall people, kitchen lacking any ovens as well as no plates or crockery.

    Good location and free parking, comfortable beds.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 2 plug sockets for the whole room and they were situated by the door so anyone entering walked over your items One of the duvets in our room smelt

    Staff on the front desk were very friendly and helpful - the light in our initial room kept blowing and they moved us to a new room quickly and without hassle The rooms were clean The cleaning staff were lovely The hostel is right in the centre of town next to many restaurants, cafes, pubs and a supermarket Wifi was very good (but you did have to pay) Rooms were fairly soundproof Big lockers to put your stuff in Towels provided

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I fount the bed a little uncomfortable ( but I like a firm bed.) I have never stayed in a YHA before but missed being able to make a coffee in my room!

    The staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble, food, shopping, tours and the night life.........

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    loud music in the communal kitchen/bar area. only pots and pans in the kitchen: no plates cups or cutlery

    the pool was nice relief in the heat. Lots of information at reception

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nice bar and outdoor area, pools looked good. kitchen is big enough for the guests. friendly staff at the reception, helped with travel bookings and getting a taxi

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi service

    I feel customers that purchase private rooms should be eligible for a free WiFi connection for the entire duration from check in until check out. Same connection process but nil fee

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park very small and we couldn't any vacancy.

    It's in the city center.good location.room has air conditioning and fan.Rooms,kitchen and bathrooms clean.helpful stuff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a Double for one night which was fine. The ensuite bathroom would need a good renovation and during the night there was a big cockroach coming out of the air-con.

    Staff was really friendly and helpful and the location is great!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hobs on the cookers don't get hot enough! Laundry/wifi services not included in the price of the stay.

    Great location in downtown Darwin. Boiling water on tap. 24 hour reception service. Secure, air conditioned rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked 2 rooms as a stop over before heading off for our fishing destination the next day, the location is perfect the rooms were excellent and the price terrific. Will use again!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not friendly. Air con was on 18 degrees in the room , it was forbidden to change and no blanket available ! No free wifi, cutlery available only with caution!!

    Good location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff very cold You almost feel like you bother them You need to pay the wifi The room wasn’t clean We find some cockroach The only good thing was the air conditioner

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing-loved it

    Great location for Darwin - right in the middle of the main street. Bar onsite is cheap and the wifi is good in the rooms. Staff really helpful when booking day trips and rooms cleaned daily.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Ensuite Mixed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty shared toilets near the pool area. Not enough plugs bring a power board. Only 2 power outlets for 4bdrm dorm makes no sense.

    Towels when u have private bathroom. Good bar area to hang out in not as noisy as I thought it would be rooms are pretty well insulated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shared toilets in the levels were pretty bad mainly the level 1 near pool.

    Bar and pool area are cool. Close to main area, airport and across from a supermarket.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception area was pretty tight and usually very busy.

    I loved that the staff were so welcoming and accommodating, they even let us use the lockers and facilities at no extra charge until we left for our flight late that night. The upstairs outdoor area was fantastic too!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise and room size quite small

    Quite a noisy hotel being right on Mitchell and being a backpackers you wouldn't expect otherwise though. We were upgraded to the Motel next door which was a bit better than the actual hostel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Then the catastrophe began. I reserved a double bed room with own bathroom at the reception. They told me that they don't have space but they can offer me a more expensive room in the value Inn next door with bathroom, TV and fridge and I agreed with it. Two days later I wanted to check in and they changed everything. I got a room in the Melaleuca without TV and fridge which was ok for me. The problem was that the room which had a horrible uncomfortable combination of bunk bed and double bed, a air-conditioned which didn't work properly, they forgot to put towels in the bathroom before I checked in and cockroaches in the room. I'm really disappointed from this place and can recommend everyone not to book a double bed room there.

    The first room I had (four bed dorm) was very nice and clean and the Aircon worked properly everything was perfect. Very friendly staff, free parking, nice pool, big kitchen

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really like to stay there except the noises. My room is on ground floor and near the stairs so I can hear the people talk clearly and the music from the bar.

    A very nice hostel!Everything is good for me.They get very nice bar and swimming pool. The staffs are helpful. They help me to book tour and transportation. I stay in private room and the room is very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We had a private room, shared bathroom. The bed was extremely uncomfortable. The shared showers were filthy. The staff came in to clean whilst we were still in the room and would open the door through out the day. The stoves in the kitchen barely worked. The price was completely unreasonable for the quality of hostel.

    The bar has the cheapest drinks in Darwin and the pool is nice. The only positives we found.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited space in kitchen fridges, need cleaning out lots of old food..some staff were nice other were abit rude!

    Beds were comfortable, rooms always clean..Party hostel can be loud sometimes but turn the music down so it's ok apart from weekends..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Filthy, the room had long term irish backpackers working at a local pub for two months. Their belongings were entirely over the floor, as in couldn't open the door without them moving things. It was noisy, too close to the party scene. The girl was polite, but it didn't make up for the mess. It was like a hoarder's room. The old YHA was much better located and MUCH cleaner.

    The front desk staff were quite polite. Would have been better if they had checked the room first before allowing short stay people into a long stay room. Would recommend that for the future.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately I got personal stuff stolen on the last day, when storing in luggage room. Staff was friendly, but this still doesn't fix the fact that my belonging were raided and things stolen.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You get what you pay for. Staff do their best to stay on top of the cleaning. Because of the location expect to hear the partying and your room door constantly banging shut.

    Staff are professional and helpful. Location was spot on, in the hub of the CBD with public transport and taxis at your doorstep.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other guests making a mess in the disabled access bathroom and toilets however this was stopped by having the locks fixed.

    Melaleuca on Mitchell is a fantastic hostel - the great atmosphere, the rooftop bar and pool, huge kitchen, good sized rooms, lean facilities, so close to bars, restaurants, cafes, shops, and public transport. I would definitely stay here when in Darwin. I loved my stay here. The staff are very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely intolerable for that price! NOT RECOMMENDED! (99 Aud, which already included a discount, official price would have been 120) WiFi 4Aud/day extra charge! Tiny, smelly, worn, harsh light, window cannot be opened... bathroom the same... this so called doubleroom looks like a prison. Bunkbed with the worst mattress I have ever seen, not even worth the name. The linen was very old and worn. A/C can not be controlled by the guest and makes extreme annoying noise all night, i was unable to sleep, even with earplugs, room was icecold!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a party hostel. Very noisy if you in a room that overloojs tge bar and pool area. Ok if you are under 25. Bathroons and toilets were unclean.

    Great location in the heart of tge central CBD.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second stay there and second time night staff were less than enthusiastic in their welcome. Choose to either finish conversation with friends or just 'deal' with you. Would be nice to go into a room with other one nighters if that's all you're there for.

    Hot showers

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are quite unhelpful. Almost like they wanted to just get rid of you quick smart. No free wifi as advertised.

    Good showers Nice night staff, much more welcoming than the day Cheap bar Massive kitchen with oven and microwave

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was a great place to stay.

    Central to everything - shops, great cafes and restaurants, tour pick ups, great staff and good facilities particularly the bar (happy hour all day Thursdays), and the atmosphere. It's a great place for everyone - solo travellers, families, friends, travellers, and has excellent disabled facilities. I would definitely recommend Melaleuca to travellers. One point is that it can be a little noisy at night with the loud music and bar area but just request a room at the back on the other side of the building if you want an early night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived at 11.15pm given key open door and it is occupied. Then sent next door to Value Inn to room 94 which over looked a Tavern. music and DJ blasting all night. Same again next night plus stick clicking to the beat. One bed the sheets looked like they had been slept in. In the morning there was no hot water. They fixed later that day.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue I can think off is adding more power sockets in the rooms & bathrooms. Staying in a 6 bed dorm with only 2 power sockets, I thought there would have been more (especially when the room is fully occupied, which mines wasn't, only 1night out of 7) due to the amount of electrical equipment people use/carry with them these days. Apart from this I had no other issues at all.

    This was my first time traveling to Darwin and I found the hostel very central for everything. The staff were very friendly & polite on helping me with answering my queries about the local area ect. The Flatback turtle tour is a must if you are going to Darwin! This was my best tour by far! Just remember to check out the laying season months!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The womens bathrooms (on the right end) dont have any hooks to hang the towel or anything. The doors to the rooms seem very old and i had some trouble using my card to open it.

    Location is nice if you want to be close to the bars; the common area with the nice pools and dinning area is nice and chilled, looks like a tropical resort.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You had to give a deposit in order to get plates, a bowl and cutlery. A little bit inconvenient. Also the A/C had to be on at all times, which makes is quite cold in the rooms. Also there was music on outside, starting midday, so overtime you were outside you heard their music. Something for party people for sure!

    The bathroom is quite nice and clean as well. The beds were nice and big, for bunk beds. There is an A/C in every room. Coles is right across the street.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the worst hostels I've stayed in! Poor bathroom facilities, guests doing coke & far too many intoxicated people to the point where they can no longer control their own bowels! 💩

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was perfect! Right in the middle of the good bars and restaurants so plenty of options. From up in my room I couldn't hear the noise from all the partying down in the bars so it was still easy to get a good nights sleep. Also a supermarket right across the road and cinemas & Crocosaurus Cove down the street. Good kitchen and bathroom facilities, nice bar and pool area, clean rooms. Staff were friendly and helpful. There is a luggage room to leave bags during the day if you have a later departure.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing if anything probably beds

    value for money right in the heart of the city great place to stay have stayed there on 3 occasions .every thing in walking distance of facility and there is kitchen and laundry in facility

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The place is old and could do with a bit of a spruce up and better mattresses. Also, the showers are barely adequate, but the water is hot.

    This is budget backpacker accommodation and the price/facilities reflect that. The location is excellent with bars, entertainment and restaurants in easy walk. There are also supermarket/shops across the road. The rooms are very basic, almost utilitarian in nature and the mattresses, in my room, were simple foam units which frankly need replacing. The sheets and towels were clean. The air-con & fan work well, though can be a little noisy. The staff are good and helpful. The licensed bar and kitchen facilities are sufficient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff clean everyday but it's just skimming over never cleaned properly hairs on fresh bed sheets the whole time shower curtain stunk, the laundry room only had 3 dryers that work and for such a big hostel just not acceptable people having to dry clothes on the sun deck tables. Beds are extremely uncomfortable if you don't have back problems you will after sleeping here a few nights. The only good part was the bar area

    Staff very friendly and good bar area

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room itself was very small and smelled a bit. There were only two sockets directly next to the door which made charging a daily battle between the six of us. The toilets and showers aren't cleaned often enough and quite a few are broken. Generally speaking, this hostel needs renovating. You have to pay for wifi.

    The hostel has a huge "rooftop" area with pools and a bar which is very nice to socialise. The location is great, you can walk almost everywhere and there are loads of bars and restaurants in the same street. Great to party not so great for everything else.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Ensuite Mixed Dorm
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not enough electrical sockets in Dorm. Some washing machines and dryers out of order during all of my stay. Wi-Fi hopeless considering a charge of $8 for 3 day period. Insufficient upright fridges for the amount of guests. A reasonable sized kitchen but chaotic due to guests preparing time consuming meals. It's a bit of an 18 to 30 enclave. I don't think the bottom sheet on the bunks are changed very often as guests are not required to bring their linen to reception when checking out

    Staff generally helpful. Very central and close to restaurants. Air-conditioning good but could be turned down at night(quite cold).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with some work, a lot of broken things around, bathrooms needed to be cleaned more often and powerpoints more available in rooms. For a hostel that size the kitchen is too small.

    Convenient location, lockers in every room large enough to store a small bag. Staff very helpful, 24hr reception.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Some of the staff members were not polite. It does not have secure luggage storage.

    This is a very good place for solo traveller. Bathroom were satisfactory condition but need improvements. This hostel is located in Heart of Darwin tourist center. Money paid was worthy. I stayed 5 nights and met great people from all around the world. This has very good kitchen.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only Powerpoint in the room is in the doorway.....weird! means you have to have laptop cords etc across the walkway

    I love this hostel, have stayed before and will definitely be back. It has resort facilities for a budget price right in the centre of Darwin CBD. The bar is fun and has cheap beer.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I didn't really like the air-conditioning system in the room. We can't really adjust the temperature as the setting has been "locked". This resulted in pretty cold temperature in the room especially when it's not that warm in Darwin at night.

    I really like the friendly and good service of the staff in YHA Darwin, especially Blair from the front desk. He was also a fellow backpacker and was able to share many insights regarding the city itself. He was very helpful during my stay and being very patient with the questions I asked (ranging from internet connection to tours around the region). I would highly recommend this place to all travellers. An excellent place for you to make friends! The location is a plus! Located just in the heart of the city, and opposite the supermarket-Coles.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I did not like was the lack of accessible power points to charge devices from your bed. I know it sounds sulky but leaving a $1200 near strangers isn't ideal.

    Overall, it was a great atmosphere and the staff were killing it. I will definitely be booking on my way home.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The matress in the double bed was unusable. We stayed in two different rooms with the same situation. Basically it was a piece of plastic completely worn out. We had to replace it with the matresses from the bunk beds. The pool was closed for some unknown reason. Very noisy at night. The hostel is a licensed bar but other guests still brought their own. The result was noise/fighting outside the hostel and in the corridor. Facilities need a major overhaul!

    Nice location in the center of Darwin. Well equipped kitchen.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi only in lobby, which I couldn't connect to. Kitchen a bit small during peak times, otherwise all good

    Enough space and lockers in the room, big shared bathroom with enough showers etc. Nice pool and outdoor area, located in backpacker area therefore close to everything a backpacker wants&needs

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Paid wifi seems expensive, but still cheaper than other options. The AC is on all the time (can't adjust) so bring a sweater/towel to sleep under!

    Great location at a pretty good price, helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning and fan have to be on during the whole day and night to avoid condensation. I am sure there exits better (and more environment friendly) ways to do this. Too noisy and too cold.

    Good location and nice are to chill out

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable plastic mattress on the double bed, room not clean (dead cockroach greeted us on arrival), bathrooms pretty disgusting specially the showers. Hostel urgently needs a coat of paint and renovating.. for the price you pay, not recommended.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms and bathrooms terribly durty. 2 people left my dormroom when I was there, and there bed linen were not even changed : I saw the lady who comes to clean the room : she just checked that the beds looked ok, but hasn't done anything. Kitchen is gross. I would not recommend this place, which is not a YHA quality like in Brisbane, Sydney etc...

    The pool was ok

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I've been to many hostels but dont understand why this is voted at the best hostel before.Way to big, looks likes hundreds of beds. Looks nicer at the photo's.

    Staff helped me out with some things.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was only one plug with two sockets in a door room of 6. Luckily the room was not full so this was not too much of an issue.

    friendly atmosphere, clean and good facilities.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You had to pay for wifi, and even then you could only use it in certain areas none of which were in any of the rooms. The rooms were also very cold and they only provide you with a sheet to sleep with as a blanket.

    The hostel is located right next to a mall with a supermarket, which made grocery shopping very easy.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were quite friendly, good location; close to supermarket and other stores, not too far from the esplanade and plenty of bus stops just outside the front door.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelly rooms and dirty sheets. They give you new sheets White checking in. But the pillowcase and the fitted sheets we're already on the beds. And been used by other people. The airconditioning was old and was leaking. That's probably the reason of the smelly rooms

    Location and friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Ensuite Mixed Dorm
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had cockroaches in my room. I Wasnt able to have a full refund. There was people from the streets accessing the swimming pool to have a bath. IT STINKS!

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: