Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure North Melbourne 4 stars

Corner Flemington Road & Harker Street, North Melbourne, 3051 Melbourne, Australia

#109 of 168 hotels in Melbourne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 472 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Paid WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    7.9
    Very convenient. Would stay again.
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Needs a bit of an update e.g paint coming off window sills. Tiles coming off in lift.

    Liked bed configuration of two doubles. Close enough to airport. Walking distance to our venue.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    8.3
    Really handy location, friendly, helpful staff, good cafe on site.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The aircon was a little too warm to sleep and we couldn't figure out how to adjust it. We would prefer Twinnings tea bags and real milk in the fridge rather than the UHT milk that was there. Also, more teabags were required, 6 is not enough when there are two people who only drink tea.

    Very comfortable kingsize bed. Easy WiFi access. Excellent friendly staff and was very pleased to get a little jug of real milk to take up to our room...seems like a little thing but is really important to us when away from home. Very quiet overnight.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    10
    Excellent, friendly staff, well appointed rooms. Will definately stay here again, highly recommend
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was clean, bed was comfortable decor in room was pleasant , decent size bath. Staff manning front desk at all times. Staff were very helpfull courteous and polite, Parking at property. Easy access to public transport.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable stay but the limit on wifi is very inconvenient
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restrictions on the wifi is very frustrating and the quality of the internet is poor. Very inconvenient for a working professional coming to a new city. Separately, the duvet cover is an open cover and quite annoying and uncomfortable.

    Clean room and friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.9
    Not ideal for romance but it served the purpose of a 1 night stay for a hospital visit- great price
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The traffic noise and Helicopters landing at the Hospitals over night was very loud- there was conditioner/soap on the floor in the very tired shower from a previous user.

    the staff were wonderful and it was close to the hospital district which is what we needed- Parking was fantastic

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    5.4
    Lovely friendly staff but needs a bit of a spruce up. The Larwill feels much better value.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls are paper thin. We could hear someone coughing next door. The shower could do with a good bleach. The lift looked shabby and the room is very small and the air conditioning is noisy. I was expecting a higher standard for the cost.

    The staff were lovely. Very helpful and friendly at reception. The welcome card and brownie was a nice touch. The sheets were nicely laundered.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    The location to my conference was a very short walk.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was fine but a little tired; the bathroom in particular. It was clean but not spotless. The noise from the road was a bit distracting in the afternoon but didn't disturb me at night. The TV didn't have the Foxtel channels which were listed. The rate I paid was fine but I wouldn't pay much more for it.

    The location to my conference was a very short walk. Dinner in the restaurant was great, good food and prompt service. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was nice - a fairly good range for the price.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Great location, comfortable room's with warm and welcoming staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The chair supplied at the desk looked good but wasn't very functional. Was difficult to complete work on the computer because of the backwards slant of the chair. Had to sit on the edge of chair to reach keyboard.

    Great location for attending Royal Children's Hospital. Very friendly and welcoming staff. Room clean and comfortable. Easy to set up computer and WIFI to complete work.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.3
    Convenient and comfortable, will stay again next month!
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We decided to get Room Service for dinner, had to eat of tray on the bed. Would be better if we had a little table and couple of chairs.

    The Staff were friendly. A short walk to Royal Melbourne Hospital was great for us as the Hospital Car Park is usually full. We will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.4
    I was disappointed in the level of quality of the hotel.it was in need of a renovation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was in need of renovations. Did not compare in standards to other mecures I have stayed in around the country. Very old.

    Good location near hospitals and close to city

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.3
    Great location, but poor coffee and hidden charges
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet breakfast hot food was cold to warm. Poor coffee in the room only small milk packets and when used in coffee found the milk had lumpy bits. The cost of parking was not explained when booked, when traveling for work and you have budget for accommodation and then when you get to site your told parking is extra $15 per night.. not happy

    location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.4
    Wouldn't return for the price it was or the lack of high customer service on offer. Sorry!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not value for money- paid $183 for one night plus charged for breakfast (later noticed far cheaper rate inclusive of breakfast).When I mentioned this to reception,the lady offered a smile,nothing else! Staff were polite however lacked high customer service -they didn't mention anything about the pool or how to access it or any other facility the hotel had; I had to wait and ask for a high chair at breakfast time(instead of being asked if we would like one!); rubbish under the bed in room; average but adequate 'buffet' breakfast (should be included at no extra cost to customers as a basic continental style breakfast on offer. Hot food was not very nice).

    Location was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    5.4
    It was a fine stay, acceptable for the cost but not somewhere I’m likely to rebook.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was stuffy, smelled of damp, the carpet was damp near the bathroom, and the king sized bed was just two uncomfortable single beds pushed together. Additionally the room wasn very well cleaned, most notably the bathroom had hairs all on the floor

    The parking was incredibly good value, and the staff were very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.5
    Disappointed big time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast no mushrooms, omeletees poached or fried eggs. No raison toast slow manual toaster. Full price for cappuccino etc. Danish selection, yoghurt minimal. TV size was small. Lack of power points to charge phones from both single and the double bed. No buscuits with tea making facilities or microwave. Shower was wet. Breakfast would have been cheaper to buy on arrival not as a prebooked room. Slow service at reception to book in and to be seated at breakfast. Limited seats with several waitung guests.

    Sorry I didnt like a thing about this stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Excellent staff and an extremely large king sized bed that was quite comfortable
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a connecting one and the people next door could be heard talking quite easily. They may have been speaking loudly but it was a little annoying. Fortunately they did quiten down fairly early, but were up and loud again at 6:40 the next morning.

    The excellent staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.3
    Staff were lovely and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was disappointed how i found old noodles on the chair in our room and coffee cups werent clean My mums meat in her beef bouginion stew was tough

    Staff were lovely and helpful Restaurant was also nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    Brekky had a great range of foods.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Squeaky old lift, other guests noisy outside our door at 1am.

    Brekky had a great range of foods. Room well-appointed. Staff extra helpful. Stored our bag after checkout for ages.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    6.3
    Since knowing that this hotel was being refurbished, it was a FRUSTRATING, DISAPPOINTING STAY !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ROOM 203 : sink was blocked, shower head was out of control.( common problem ) No bench to place bathroom items. TV REMOTE didn't work. We were moved to 207 : TV REMOTE didn't work, shower base wasn't clean. Very little bathroom bench space for personal items.

    Room was quiet, Restaurant meals were good and service was great. ( well done Anita ) Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.1
    Very clean.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a noise like a tap being turned on and off all night. Sounded like it was in a room nearby. Could hear other people in hall way.

    Very clean. Location is good for me.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.1
    basic accomodation with great restaurant.
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The taps to the shower were hard to access. You had to getting into the bath to reach them.

    The steak my husband had at the restaurant was excellent! And he is the son of a beef farmer!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    4.6
    We won't be back.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked for a room with disabled bathroom facilities, the shower was set up ok but the bathroom was too small for my husbands walker to fit in and turn around safely without him fearing a fall. The beds also took up so much space in the room he also had difficulty manoeuvring his walker so he was extremely restricted the whole time. The kettle was cheap and dangerous as hot water poured out or more than just the spout and you would think for the money, real milk would be possible. Even the cheapest motel on a highway gives you a small carton of real milk. The property is over 45 years old and feels like it, we know this because we stayed there the night we were married back in 73 when it was the Marco Polo.

    Location was perfect for our appointment the next morning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    I will definitely stay here again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The desk has a wobbly leg and could easily fall to the floor if not fixed. There is no grab rail in the shower other than the one low down on the bath.

    The bed was very comfortable and the linen first class. It was great to have a city view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.3
    terribly dissappointed by the unruly behaviour of a group of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    terribly dissappointed by the unruly behaviour of a group of boys who shared the floor we stayed on. I would hope that this could have been foreseen and we and other guests could have been placed on alternate levels.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.3
    Staff were friendly and welcoming, location suited our needs and the price was great value.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were friendly and welcoming, location suited our needs and the price was great value. An older style property but clean, comfortable and what we needed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.3
    It was a normal hotel stay. Clean and comfortable.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the 2nd morning the cleaners had taken the used cups n glasses but not replaced them, I had to request more. Breakfast should be the same low price even if not pre-paid,as people often don’t know if they will want it!

    The staff are extremely helpful & met our extra requests without hesitation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.7
    I liked the close proximity to the hospital which was the...
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could of been a recliner or a comfy chair in the corner to relax and sit and feed baby

    I liked the close proximity to the hospital which was the main reason we stayed here. I also liked the bed although it was two joined together it was very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    5.8
    Not child friendly
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room itself wasn't very clean. There was no bath mat for the shower which made the floor slippery for my young child. The bed was rock hard and pillows were very hard also. The TV remote had no back on it which was a hazard to small children. Lack of power points. Lift was old and hazardous.

    The location was good as we had appointments at the royal childrens hospital.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.1
    Wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom plumbing very loud when next door used the shower. Room was a little old and dirty from age. Toasters in breakfast room could do with a clean.

    Wonderful staff. Very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Value for money
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains need updating, slightly damp/mouldy

    Check out staff (young lady) was extremely friendly and did a wonderful job despite having several check outs at once.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    3.3
    Never again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road noise and poor condition of furniture and carpets and walls in room. The lift has a dangerous door that does not stop and closes too fast

    Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.1
    The exemplary staff made up for the bathroom stink.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I stayed in room 219 and there was no exhaust fan in the bathroom & toilet . I thought I had gone back to the Middle Ages. The bacon at the restaurant was as hard as boot leather and nearly impossible to eat.

    The front desk staff were extra helpful and courteous, as well as the cleaning and restaurant staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    Quick overnighter.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy. Got woken up at 6am with a loud generator sound.

    Clean room. Good room facilities. Tea, coffee etc. Great location for RCH. Was allowed to keep my car on the carpark whilst I attended an appointment at the RCH.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.5
    Mini size milk for coffee extremely expensive $4!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced mini sized milk for free coffee!! Shocking!!

    Mini size milk for coffee extremely expensive $4!! Surprise they even charge money for it!!! Shocking!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Easy location outside of CBD
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking space is very tight - we had a small car so it was okay but I have stayed with a 4WD before and it's a challenge to get it in there. The shower/bath unit is in need of refurbishment or replacement.

    Good location if you want to avoid being directly in the CBD with cheaper parking than most other motels. Rooms were comfortable and modern and traffic noise wasn't an issue even though we were facing Royal Parade. Easy access from the freeway.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    6.7
    The hotel was fine.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old and next to a busy road. If you are a light sleeper I would strongly advise requesting a room away from the main road as the walls are paper thin.

    The hotel was fine. I arrived late at night. The staff were friendly and the room was clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    5.4
    The beds are right next to the door so I could hear all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are right next to the door so I could hear all the other guests going in/out of their rooms all night - it was noisy and very hard to sleep

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.3
    Would definately stay again but bring my own pillows
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows were terrible resulting in a terrible sleep.

    Service was great = excellent parking rate = fairly good breakfast at a good price. Nice rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    5.0
    Overall we were very disappointed and will not recommend or stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were not booked into the correct room when we just arrived after a 9 hour drive to get there. The booking staff did manage to find a room with two queen beds, however the room we ended up being booked into overlooked a terrible roof with pipes (not nice) it was too expensive for the value of the room. The cleanliness of the room, the surrounding windows and walls were just appalling and not up to standard. We made a complaint over the phone about our beds not being made up properly, and the floor was not vacuumed etc and no one bothered to follow up with us. The facilities should not have the rating it does. We were made to pay to park our car there and it should have been included as the rooms are not worth the price charged.

    The Desk staff are very polite and helpful. The location is good. The beds were comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    The hotel was what I expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in room 112 which is right outside of the elevator. Unfortunately at 8am we were woken up with the sounds of the cleaning trolleys going in and out of the elevator for an hour which was a bit of a pain when trying to have a sleep in.

    The hotel was what I expected. Did the job we needed and was close enough to walk to a few places.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    4.6
    Worse 2 nights in a motel ever, only stayed 2nd night because close to hospital.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too small for 3 adults, queen bed pushed against the wall on one side so you had to crawl over to get in, not good for elderly parents. No where to sit for more than 1 person. Lift only 2 meters from door to room, clanged open and shut all night so you could not sleep at all.

    only good thing was it was close to the RMH Private hospital to visit my father.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Hotel Old Faithful
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a very minor whinge, there wasn't a spoon to stir my coffee with, but not to worry because I had a straw with me.

    The bed. It is so comfy. The location is perfect and the people are always friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    5.8
    7/10
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff in charged are all in a hurry and no time to enjoy breakfast. Paid breakfast for 2 people 3 days in a row but i only had one time breakfast.Just wasted my money.Should have atleast done a room service lol.

    location due to business purposes

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    4.6
    Well located but the rooms are very dated and the quality falls well short of the today's standards
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were as dated as they were when we last stayed at this hotel when it traded under a different banner. The only difference was that it was more expensive!

    It was conveniently located for the function we were attending

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    5.4
    Location is good for those wanting access to nearby...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room (2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are in desperate need of renovation. Rooms are very poorly lit, linen is over-starched. Bathroom is dirty and dated and the drains smell. Rooms could do with a shear curtain underneath the blockout so as to allow natural light in with privacy. Windows did not lock. Would not stay here again.

    Location is good for those wanting access to nearby hospitals. Wouldn’t stay at this hotel again though.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.2
    Location great, room clean and staff lovely but room dated and a bit disappointing for price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little worn and dipped on one side, and the view out the window was another building wall and bathroom windows which wasn't great. Also the bathtub was tiny and extremely shallow so unusable.

    The staff were great, location excellent, parking great also while the room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    3.8
    Not even close to 3 Star!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room (2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy from traffic and people staying Uncomfortable pillows Not really what I’d call a pool - tiny plunge pool with algae on walls

    Staff lovely, pleasant, efficient Great staff!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    6.3
    Was ok but could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    28 degrees in room air con not working got a fan in our room at 1am in the morning. My partners birthday got a free drink from the bar and on voucher it said any drink. Got to bar was told beer wine or softdrink and the lady behind the bar seemed bit drunk or drugged herself not normal behavior. People were laughing at her behaviour.

    Bed was comdortable and room was clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.5
    Good spot to sta
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In regards to our room, in the bathroom, the shower was overhead in the bath. We would have preferred a walk in shower with sliding glass door.

    We did not dine at the restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.5
    Location was great for the purpose of our stay, being close to the hospital. Staff were excellent.
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needed another bedside table as there was only one between the main bed and the single bed. This meant that I had nothing to rest a cup or anything on the side of the bed I occupied. Would be good to have the bar / cafe open during the afternoon and not just over the main meal times.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location was excellent for the purpose of our stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    5.8
    Good location for RCH, helpful staff, but rather bare-bones and should have been cleaner
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpet had some bald spots on it and in places was visibly never cleaned -- we could literally see the thick layer of dust in the corner near the refrigerator. The shower was rather leaky and dripped at night. The free guest wi-fi was almost impossible to connect to.

    Good location when you have an event at the Royal Children's Hospital; it was one of only two hotels within walking distance. Very close to tram stop for the city. Room was reasonably sized, with two queen beds (to accommodate 2 adults and 2 children). Beds were comfortable enough. The hotel is very lightly staffed, but staff do their best to be friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.3
    The restaurant was small but well thought out menu but food...
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower base had peeling paint - significant. There was no shelf for the suitcases we had to open them on the floor. The bed had not been returned to the head board after cleaning and a used hand towel was on the floor...a genuine mistake. The lift door shut too quickly to enter easily with luggage.

    The restaurant was small but well thought out menu but food available was served attractively and food was hot. We enjoyed the meals.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    The Hotel suited our needs and was what we expected in this price bracket.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our window in room 204 would not open or close. As the window would not close fully noise from the road was a little bit annoying.

    The Aircon in our room was lovely. I found my bed very comfortable. The view from room 204 was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location for our needs, very comfortable stay, staff friendly (a bit slow at check-in)
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't usually complain about temperature, but the restaurant was quite cold during dinner and again for breakfast

    The Bed was SO comfortable, Thanks!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    6.3
    Good location but overpriced I feel for quality of rooms and restaurant prices a little over the top
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom very tired in need of a major reno ,shower base poor condition ,paint peeling off walls,paying $15 to park your car

    Location , Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    The Mecure north Melbourne ticks all the boxes
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There nothing that i didn't like

    the motel was in a great location plenty of public transport. Also the Mecure was very clean comfortable bed great food what more do want.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable place to stay when you need.
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was close to the Peter Mac clinic and that was why we were there. We caught a taxi to the casino. Had Dinner at China town. Caught a taxi back. Easy enough.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.3
    Very nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a stain in the wall (I guess because of humidity) that could be easily repaired, so I don’t understand why it was there. The light in the bathroom automatically started the fan which was very loud and annoying.

    Very bright and spacious room with comfy bed. Super friendly staff and very convenient location, minutes away from the city center and next to gorgeous Royal Park.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    6.7
    Comfortable bed, nice bath with loads of hot water, quiet despite facing the road, opening window
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air con fairly noisy. Only minimum facilities for making hot drinks. Some more mugs, a couple of bowls, a couple of plates, maybe some cutlery etc would be nice. The carpet was not hoovered when the room was cleaned. Taking away once-used soaps and replacing once-used towels is wasteful/ unnecessary. Please give guests options to use these more than once. Towels hung back up could be a sign they are OK to use again.

    Good bed. A bath! Window which opens.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Its a great place to stay at, its close to the trams to the city and the staff are friendly, big shout out to the receptionist who works at the 11pm shift, funny guy and very helpful..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    Very Comfy
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom, although clean and tidy looked a bit worn and shabby. Bathroom tiles need a really good clean with bleach. It would be nice if they could have some more basic meals on the menu.

    How close it was to where I needed to go and the comfy bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    6.3
    Oh!
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water. No toiletries in bathroom. No chef in kitchen for breakfast. We were very disappointed. The receptionist gentleman was trying his best under difficult circumstances. He was very pleasant and apologetic.

    The close proximity to the hospital.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    3.3
    Very poor and will advise others to avoid your facility
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The over priced room they blatent exageration in advertising the room was decrepet and run down facilties need either updating or completely demolished

    Not much to like

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.3
    The bed was comfy, the staff very helpful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found my room noisy being at the front of the building next Flemington Road and it was quite hot but I eventually found the air-conditioning control. (it was unusually hot for November in Melbourne)

    The bed was comfy, the staff very helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    6.3
    I expected a little more for my money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On arrival, i asked for assistance with luggage which was met with a rather abrupt no, we don't do that here. When i got into my room, the window in my room didn't close properly and as a result, a few bugs got in. The staff were a little cold and impersonal. When i did complain about the window, they just said "ok" and didn't even offer a solution. The overpriced paid wifi was absolutely rubbish and was slower than dial-up and kept dropping out.

    Super comfy bed! room was nice and big with almost everything you could ever need. Whilst a bit tired and dusty at breakfast, the staff member was really nice and polite. Booking a taxi was a breeze.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.2
    Comfy room amazing staff and great location to accommodate our needs.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have been a little tidier as there was opened drinks left in the fridge.

    We came to stay as we were accessing the children's hospital across the road. It's located across from the hospital so location is great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable, good value for money & friendly staff.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very helpful including - free porta cot, flexible parking & offering us late checkout when they saw we had a baby. Every staff member we met was very polite & friendly. The room was very comfortable & had a lovely view of the city. The location was perfect for us, just across the road from Royal Children’s Hospital.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.6
    Convenient and comfortable stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great but needed to ask for expresso and pay extra, staff in dining area did not seem happy to be there.

    Rooms were comfortable, excellent location near trams to city.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.6
    Great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free wifi was only 500mb

    The friendliness of staff. The ability to leave my car in car park during the day of departure. Convenience to my destination.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Mercure, from the outside you don't look like much, but what a gem. All the staff were lovely!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can't come up with anything off the top of my head.

    The staff were super helpful and responsive. The hotel is just opposite a tram route into Melbourne. It is within walking distance of North Melbourne's coffee shops and restaurants. There is a large well kept open green park on the other side of the road.There was a small outside pool, which looked clean and blue. The restaurant breakfast was great, it is slightly cheaper to book it with the room or prior to the meal. I ate dinner a couple of time sand was pleasantly surprised how well presented and tasty my meals were.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.1
    Reasonably good pillows.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not enough power points - there were no free power points. I also dislike milk pots. I much prefer a 100ml carton.

    Reasonably good pillows. The shower door sealed adequately and no water leaked onto the bathroom floor. Good amount of bench space in the bathroom

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    6.3
    Glad we only stayed one night.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from room 121 was depressing, with small window. No bench space in bathroom. Only one rubbish bin in room. Bed was jammed against wall on one side which meant that person could not get out of bed .

    Nice area for breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    4.6
    Paid expensive rates for average accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple thing. The remote wouldn't even work after new batteries. Hair on the basin. House keeping slamming doors up and down the hall way before checkout

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    4.2
    Very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small, not cleaned properly, kettle dangerous as when you pour the water into your mug the boiling water pours out onto your feet and the floor. The cleaning ladies are the most noisiest I have ever come across. No tea towel or sponge for rinsing and drying your mug and teaspoon. I would never stay here again.

    Location and parking that's it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    2.5
    Worst place we has every stayed
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first night all our linen was used (they were covered in faeces), wall are paper thin can hear everything, unless ur a member you will be treated like dirt by staff not helpful at all.

    Proximity to hospital

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We're told we would have a King size bed , it was two singles pushed together, very different room to what is advertised . very OLD. Had the room across from lift that is also very old and loud. Breakfast was cold and average at best .cleaners would start with their large laundry trolleys using lift continuously from 6 am ... Laundry was transported on main trolleys outside our wall... VERY LOUD ... So lift n stair traffic woke us all night n then no chance of sleep at all after 6am. Not 5 star

    Location and parking

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: