Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside 4 stars

209-217 The Esplanade, 4870 Cairns, Australia

#11 of 73 hotels in Cairns

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1927 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Paid WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.9
    Left each morning well rested & well fed. A good base to explore the area from.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Hotel room was a little dated, but spacious, good value for money & bed comfortable.

    Staff were very knowledgeable and friendly. They went out of their way to assist us and advise on tours and sighseeing in the area. They provided a free shuttle bus on the hour , but we walked as the CBD was a lovely stroll along the esplanade. Breakfast and dinners were very good. I loved the banana porridge & fresh fruit , while my Husband enjoyed the cooked breakfast & pastries. Great cocktails beautifully made, entrees and main meals very good. Best spinach salad I have ever tasted, incredibly fresh & delicate flavours. Very good calamari entree. Room was quiet and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    Great value, good surroundings and right on the Esplanade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to change TV settings (too dark) due restrictive remote (TV or movies and sound only), requires staff with normal remote to adjust tv

    Great price and standard in this location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    All staff very friendly, will definetly book again
    • Group
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, I was happy with all aspects of our stay.

    Checkin was quick and easy front desk team very helpfull,beds and pillows very comfy would definetly book again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Great customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated hotel No secure parking

    Great customer service Awesome breakfast, great variety. Hashbrowns were the best!! Good location Great value for money

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.9
    Close to airport, friendly staff with free shuttle to city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa was cold and although we booked this property for the gym facilities, upon arrival we found out they were not on site. There was also no heated spa or a sauna. For the money we paid we expected these facilities.

    We loved the staff and the free shuttle bus. The bed was also super comfy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Almost everything is great except for the location it’s a...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost everything is great except for the location it’s a lil bit far from the city center. However the place has a forest inside!! The beach is less than 30 sec walk. Moreover, the staff are great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.5
    Good motel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in staff member It was a little over priced Taking 5 business days to return a $50 extra deposit on top of room charge is absolutely ridiculous

    Good location and comfortable motel. Clean. Great bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    the tv remote and how to work the tv for us older people a little confusing nothing else is there to tell everything else was excellent

    The evening meal in the restuarent was fabulous I had fish my husband had crocodile and cooked to perfection - great chef - reception staff very helpful and helped organize a tour to the sky rail and a taxi to the airport the next day

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.8
    Overall enjoyed my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Ocean View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was very cold. Chairs in room werent very comfortable. A toaster would have been great. Menu could have had more variety eg. More seafood. Ran out of gluten free bread x 2 days.

    Staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.6
    It was really great staying at Holiday Inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was really great staying at Holiday Inn. Friendly staffs, in a good location with fabulous view, and shuttle bus as well which hotel staffs drop off and pick up in the middle of the city. Had a fantastic holiday during staying at Holiday Inn. Thank you!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    5.4
    There was only 1 chair for the table when the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was only 1 chair for the table when the room was booked for two people. Unfortunately at about 1am in the morning, a major leak occurred in the ceiling near the door and through the air conditioning vent followed by torturous dripping all night. This prevented me from sleeping at all. In the morning the carpet at the entrance to the unit was completely saturated. Property needs to ensure that the air conditioning is on a regular maintenance schedule.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    6.3
    Ordinary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom was small and dated, and the room lacked imagination. The balcony was small and whilst there were chairs on the balcony there was no table to encourage you to sit, have a cup of tea, and enjoy the view. The restaurant was very noisy, and the breakfast was ordinary. For example, given we were in the tropics the fresh fruit could have been interesting, but it was just the usual watermelon, cantelope and chopped pineapple.

    Beds were comfortable. The view to the sea was very nice, and enjoyed the sunrise into the room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    4.2
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building has mould through it. Bathroom and toilet was old. Cost was to high for the room and the amenities. Consistent sound of the hot water heater.

    Offered discount for buffet breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.6
    Rooms very comfortable, pillows excellent, restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very comfortable, pillows excellent, restaurant beautifully appointed and food was delicious we had a lovely evening , bar service was friendly and the cocktails were great, pool area was welcoming and relaxing. The hotel is a way out of the main area of cairns but hotel offers a free hourly shuttle bus into the cbd.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Holiday Inn Cairns
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No on-site gymnasium, although the Hotel has an arrangement with a nearby gym (0.5 km). Otherwise - all really good.

    Super helpful staff (Clint) on arrival went out of his way to chat and offer advice on restaurants, places to visit, laundry facilities etc, and presented us with a complimentary drinks voucher. Could not have been more charming or accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    The view was amazing and the beds were super comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Ocean View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The television reception was terrible in our room.

    The view was amazing and the beds were super comfortable. The breakfast had an amazing selection and the staff were fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.1
    The place is OK, large room, OK breakfast.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could use an upgrade. A bottle of water in the fridge could be a ‘minimum’ to expect for the price charged, but nothing like that in the room.

    The place is OK, large room, OK breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.7
    Okay but will not stay there again!!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The booking process through to payment was appalling. Following up later was received with animosity and I was told that I was "taking up team member's time"... If booking through booking.com, MAKE SURE you contact the hotel too as they don't seem to communicate when it comes to paying the bill!!

    The Restaurant Manager went the extra mile for a very early breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    Bar and restaurant , pool and music food was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room has not been renovated it needs new curtains , floorboards, proper shower with handles. the shower was in bath water went all over floor. needs a good paint job.

    Bar and restaurant , pool and music food was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    5.0
    Good buffet breakfast, but poor value for money, location, staff, and hospitality from desk staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff mixed up my sister and i’s room, and couldn’t rectify this. When moved to another room it was poorer condition than the first, small, out of the way, old, in need of a clean and refurbish, and not to the standards for which we had paid and booked. We were to have a minibar- which lacked everything bar a mug and milk for tea, no seating area, and one bed instead of the two booked. The female staff member was rude and abrupt about the change. For what we paid, there was a lot of trouble and effort; and not a great deal of resolution.

    Great buffet breakfast, clean gardens and pool, cleaners attentive to room requests of a day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.9
    Everything was good but needs renovation and a new set of furniture specially mattresses
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s kinda old and need a renovation and the beds are not comfy at all.

    The staff was so helpful and super nice and ofcourse location is perfect, the view as well. Breakfast was fresh and delicious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    Overall good, the breakfast spoilt it a bit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was extremely overpriced. This came as a shock when I got the bill. $108 for two people for two mornings. The cost should be made more apparent beforehand

    Good location, friendly, respectful staff. Clean and professional.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, this should be rated at most a 6-7. You can book nicer hotels closer to the city at the same rate.Was scheduled for a 3 night stay and checked out after the first night, was suppose to be refunded my other 2 nights but the hotel never issued the refund on my credit card.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Holiday Inn Harbor Side is wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were 10/10. Beds comfy and the view spectacular. Highly recommend the Holiday Inn Harbor Side. It is a bit further out from the hub of Cairns but the walk is a very relaxing stroll along the Esplanade.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Although set away from the CBD, it was a very nice walk along the waterfront to all the good restaurants. The breakfast was extremely good and fantastic value for money. The staff were very helpful and accommodating and the room that we were in was huge :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Comfortable, clean and amazing staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was there was no room service menue in my room but that was easily fixed.

    I stayed with my 3 year old. It was so easy to access the room. There was lots of parking. The room service was fast and the beds were soooo nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    I liked it :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was exhausted! needs some maintenance and renovation! A bit mess for payment, as we paid at check out but they withdrew the whole cost again and reimbursed the previous payments without letting us know!!!

    Breakfast was great. I ordered calamary for dinner and the taste was amazing. The location was good, a bit far away from the city center, like 30 minutes walking but caused me to walk more and burn some beer calories!...haha

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.1
    Not flash but good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was a fair way from the main part of town and parking was a problem with most of the bays already gone when we checked in so this meant we had to park on the roadside and walk down with our suitcases. The view from the balcony during the day consisted of looking at the mangroves which was just like looking at mud.

    The rooms were large and the beds were comfortable and we had a nice balcony with a nice view at night and a nice park across the road to go for a walk. Breakfast was fine but not a huge variety and the juice was just from a carton not fresh. But it was value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice breakfast. A bit far from the city center, but it's actually a nice walk a long the Esplanade or you can take the free shuttle bus (departs once per hour). They also over free beach towels.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.9
    Holiday Inn is a good place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    I love the service. The staff are so helpful, the room is clean good breakfast. I definitely stay here again. Thank you Dickie for your excellent service at the reception well done.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Value for money paid. Accommodation perfect for us, all staff encountered were friendly & smiling!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Beds were comfortable, staff very accommodating & friendly, location was perfect for us (close to airport & easy walk into city centre); would definitely stay there again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    The staff were very friendly and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really don’t like having a king sized bed made up of two beds stuck together. It’s very uncomfortable in the middle.

    The staff were very friendly and very helpful. The door lock failed and it was fixed instantly by the front office staff. Breakfast was great, we really enjoyed sitting outside watching the sun come up while we were eating.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice location and reasonably priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could have been a little more comfortable but otherwise a good room.

    Proximity to the beach and town centre, bbq facilities, pools and free laundry facilities. The service provided by staff has been excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Excellent. Will stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Everything was wonderful.

    Everything was great. From the time I checked in to the time I checked out. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was great and had a view of the bay. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. Breakfast was included and had a fantastic spread of food and drink. Loved everything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Comfortable bed, spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Comfortable bed, spacious room. The best thing was the staff, so accommodating, friendly and helpful. Also the restaurant, a wonderful menu, delicious food, great service. I will be back:)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast sausages very bland perhaps eggs smashed avo style would be better also many asian guests so why not viet pho or chinese soup would be very up to the times

    Room beds good and peacful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Make sure you book a sea view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room was in need of refurbishment.

    After a poor start in a shabby and tired room they upgraded us to a better room. The remaining stay was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    We had a very comfortable stay, everyone was wonderful to us and we will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    loved everything

    The staff were amazing and really made you feel welcome right from the start. The room were nice and the beds were so comfortable. Our room came with breakfast which was sooooo good :). I asked for a fan for my room and it was no trouble at all

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Clean, comfy standard hotel, with very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little bit expensive...

    Wonderful breakfast, you would like to never stop eating :-) Rooms are huge, well kept, clean, bed was just a little too soft, but still very comfortable, with the softes linen. House maids and breakfast guys were really friendly and helpful! Also the front desk

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.5
    Eat elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty ceiling air vents. The carpet felt damp and dirty. Low quality foods at hotel restaurant.

    Staff was helpful and friendly. The hotel has an hourly shuttle bus service to the Esplanade area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    5.0
    Wasn't a bad place nice breakfast but don't know why they insist on collecting $50 bond
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They took a fifty dollar bond even though I paid for it on card so I gave them cash because they said it would take a few weeks to get back to my bank but never got the cash back ripped off I was

    It's close to the esplanade

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    We will be staying with you again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, excellent accomodation and location, very clean. Loved having the convenience of breakfast and diner on the premises. The location of the dining room over looking the pool and Great Barrier Reef was so nice to wake up to every morning and in the evenings it was so very relaxing. Thankyou so much 😃

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good value for money. Buffet breakfast was good. Liked the outdoor area overlooking the pool and sea. Reasonably close to the main area.Reception staff were friendly.Would stay here again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    Will book again next visit to Cairns.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I had not found the place before now.

    Loads of space in the room And a great view of the mountains The staff were very attentive. Breakfast was superbly abundant and fresh. Would recommend Holiday Inn Harbourview highly without hesitation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.8
    The location is right on the water and a 10 minute walk...
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room that we had was looking a little tired and in need of a little TLC.

    The location is right on the water and a 10 minute walk from the city and restaurant areas,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    The hotel location is close to the Carins Airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel location is close to the Carins Airport. It only took us a few minutes to get there by driving. The Hotel staffs are helpful and friendly overall. We had a balcony in the room with a wide angle to be able to see the lovely beach view. Although the hotel is closed to the Airport but hardly to hear any noise at all. The room and the bed was tidy, clean, very comfortable with choses of pillows. They provided shuttle bus to the town and pick up as well although we don't mind walking down town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Excellent value, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plumbing is very noisy.

    Fantastic staff! The facilities were great, particularly the restaurant and bar. Lovely to see such thought go into the menus and the execution and service were excellent. Special thanks to our bartender/waiter (Giovanni??) who looked after us so well. Good power shower in the room, comfy beds, really close to the airport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed. I found that too soft and needed support for my back... looks the beds need a refurbish. I had to multiple times request for change of linen.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    You get what you pay for with a little extra on the side, (bill wise)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Checking my credit card the next day to find extra charges that I have no idea about. Got my invoice at check out time & later billed an extra amount. Too bright in the breakfast area, needs blinds.

    Close to city with sea views along esplanade. Room was dated but clean & comfortable. Breakfast was satisfying but a bit too bright (sunny), for an early morning awakening. Curtains or blinds an advantage.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    very happy with this lovely good value hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dinner at the restaurant could have been better.

    Loved the fact that there were some facilities to have breakfast in the room , kettle / fridge/ table/ cuttlery etc. Also the room was very spacious. The staff were very kind and the pool is tranquil and charming. Dicky at front desk was a great guy!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Not stay again for high quality price, as per medium services
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Too many things ; No particular comments;

    Expected better room facilities, (Breakfast or diner room, not table or chairs for dine !) room to old; confort bed; Bathroom to old, lots of moulding around bath tub, very old style for the quality price required; very nice local with ocean view, very attractive public areas, restaurant and bar; Very high staff quality

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Loved the room & acknowledgements of our anniversary, check out & loss of our deposit dampened our e
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to smoke on the balcony when everyone else was!

    If it’s a non smoking property, perhaps you should put more viable signs in the room and on the balcony as we lost our $50 deposit for smoking on the balcony 😢

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.3
    Good enough for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our romm was near the lifts and te noise from the lifts was annoying especially at night

    The bed was comfy Was great they had a return courtesy bus that went to the city centre on the hour evety hour

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    3.3
    Would never stay at a Holiday Inn again after this experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was awful. We did not check in until 1am (checked in by a very unprofessional and unhelpful staff member) and we came to a King room which was 2 x very worn and sunken single beds joined together. The bed sheet had a big yellow stain on it and the carpet was not clean. We would not stay at any Holiday Inn again after this experience. The room was also very over priced, considering for an extra $60 we spent the next night an enormous pent house spa suite in a luxury 5 star resort in Port Douglas with an emmaculate buffet breakfast the following morning.

    Checking out. The bed was awful. We did not check in until 1am (checked in by a very unprofessional and unhelpful staff member) and we came to a King room which was 2 x very worn and sunken single beds joined together. The bed sheet had a big yellow stain on it and the carpet was not clean. We would not stay at any Holiday Inn again after this experience. The room was also very over priced, considering for an extra $60 we spent the next night an enormous pent house spa suite in a luxury 5 star resort in Port Douglas with an emmaculate buffet breakfast the following morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant and very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    On site parking is limited and very tight. The bathroom is small, but adequate.

    The bed was comfortable. The room was spacious with a lovely view over the Esplanade and the Inlet. Breakfast was plentiful in variety and included in the room rate. Very good value for money for Cairns

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Great comfy bed and nice pillows!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately fish at dinner was not cooked... and breakfast the cut up fruit had turned to wine in the bowl and there was a bit of mould on the bread for toast... not the best really!

    Great comfy bed and nice pillows!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable and everything you need for a nice night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Checking Out. Fair enough that they need to check the room before giving back your $50 deposit but then to be accused of smoking in the room with the no smoking policy when my partner and I have never smoked was a bit of a setback. Apparently there was ash outside on the balcony which he told me about but that was definitely not us. He then said that it may have come from upstairs. It left a bad taste after having such a nice stay there. Otherwise all good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    It was clean & comfortable & in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dissappointed in the food. Service was excellent in the restuarant, but food was very underwhelming & overpriced for what you got.

    It was clean & comfortable & in a good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    3.8
    Over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very aged,service at from desk was terrible,things didn't work in the room,over priced, view was terrible looking over ruins of a deserted house, over priced unless they gave you a free breakfast it would of been reasonable.

    The location was good for kids being across the road from park but a little bit to far from city centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Overall a comfortable and relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Under cover parking was very limited, however didn't affect our stay as the weather was fine.

    Location was great. The view from the balcony, looking over the Esplanade and harbour was a delight to wake up to each morning. Free WiFi was a bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.9
    A surprise in a good way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, it is not close to the city centre

    This was a surprise. Given the excellent rate my expectations were not high. It was a pleasant experience

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.8
    A place to crash overnight in a pinch.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Onsite restaurant was grossly overpriced for the meal provided and took 45 mins between my finishing main course to serve the desert (ordered at the same time as the main). I wouldn't object if it was, say, a fresh baked cake or something but for pears in caramel sauce that's a bit much. No option for early leavers to get breakfast (had to get away at 4.30am to catch a flight). Fortunately the airport outlets have the early morning traveller covered for breakfast.

    Relatively close to airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.8
    Unfortunate Stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Request for a high floor put me on level 1. Mini Bar was non-existent even though advertised on the booking. Late night room service menu choices were poor. Ie. Nothing nutritious available. Bed was made poorly. With the turn down, the entire set of sheets and duvet unfolded together. The mattress needed to be thrown out. Ie. Soft and Saggy.

    Conveniently close to the airport

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    The room was very nice , bed very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was terrible.the hot dishes were cold even when brought out of the kitchen.not big variety and staff in the dining area were Luke warm to say the least.won't go back as breakfast is important to us ,and it was not cheap.

    The room was very nice , bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.9
    Great value for the money, very good location and a very comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little worn out and the chairs on the balcony are very worn out.

    The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the room was spacious. The room was very quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Change of staff.. all new.. looked scruffy and pre occupied,normally we would be welcomed back at reception and rest/bar , no upgrade to beachfront room, new menu in bar and staff member did not his products or what was in them ? No where to park and underground was cut off to just 5 spaces?

    Price! Quietness of room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.2
    Best Holiday Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Worth noting that the hotel is on the flight path but this only affects you for 30 seconds every once in a while. Ear plugs could be needed if very sensitive to this sort of thing.

    Truly excellent customer service. Always felt very well looked after like nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Great location - lovely staff at reception and great staff at Teshis restaurant too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was bigger than we expected and the views were good too. Very comfortable stay. We liked the shuttle bus too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Very very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we couldn’t stay longer. We had a flight out in the early morning. The option to do a room charge at both the bar and restaurant would be a nice addittion.

    It was very easy to get to and right on the ocean. Booking was very easy and the staff was friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Loved the location near the water & in a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved our spacious room over the pool & view!! Very comfortable, clean & very nice amenities!

    Loved the location near the water & in a great neighborhood!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    Good for overnight stay but improvements needed in bar offerings
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows in room too high and not comfortable. No others in wardrobe. Bar served flat sparkling wine (disappointing as only 1 offered by the glass), so staff swapped for still wine. New bar menu offering chicken poke bowl dry and tasteless.

    Upgrade to waterview spacious room, good pool/bar/dining areas

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    more than my expectations....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing - all great

    i had the most wonderful time of my life - Megan went out of her way to help me with where i should go and how She was extremely polite and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.6
    Good location away from main busy part of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water scalding hot, had to be careful using shower and sink. Breakfast extra cost but not so bad if prebook, full buffet cold and hot food

    Good location away from main busy part of town. All staff very polite and friendly. Courtesy bus to main part of city if required. Great views of the beach and sea.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Great value for money in a lovely, quiet hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super comfy bed and good shower. Staff were really nice and helpful. Far exceeded my expectations for the price. Had a swim in the pool and lunch at the cafe - food was great and poolside very relaxing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.5
    I enjoyed my stay however to make my stay better next time please refer to my earlier comments
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been bit better if more options or say more varieties of meal was available, much better if a Gym facilities were on site

    Location and value for money average size room

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: