Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Metro Hotel Ipswich International 4.5 stars

43 South Street, 4305 Ipswich, Australia

#5 of 10 hotels in Ipswich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 454 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for breakfast but there wasn’t any food , it did turn up later but we had run out of time, which made for a very expensive breakfast

    Being able to book 3 rooms, generally very clean, very convenient parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    With one of two lifts out of service it made it difficult accessing the 6th floor, especially as the venue was at full capacity. Restaurant ran out of sweets. Tinned fruit and ice cream/custard would have been an appropriate standby. Seem short on serving staff at a busy time.

    A breakfast expected of such a place. Rooms had plenty of room and were comfortable with a pleasant view. Undercover parking. Staff seemed happy in their work and tried to assist.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the elevators broke down which delayed access to and from the room

    The room was spacious and clean. The check in experience was outstanding - staff were welcoming and friendly; all questions were answered. Basement parking with lift access to the hotel foyer was a bonus. Close to cafes and shops.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was full due to a conference in town and one lift was out of order. It did not get fixed, so waiting for the lift was an issue, and the staff wouldn't let us use the stairs.

    Free and easy parking. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sadly one lift broke down when there were a lot of conference delegates in the hotel. placement of toilet paper holders in the bathroom for our room required you to be a contortionist!

    Location for a conference being held in the Civic Centre. Friendly staff, helpful when we had to check out but needed parking for the last day of the conference.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was literally like standing in the rain and having someone occasionally splash water in your face. There were a few small cockroaches in the room, and when I complained I was provided with a can of insect spray. The air conditioner was useless, and when I mentioned it I was told that it had to stay on 24 degrees, & that Brisbane is a humid climate (I am a Brisbane native and am well aware of this!), regardless the room was humid and stuffy (it was cooler in the hall way). Windows opened, but no fly screens.

    The staff were lovely, the restaurant wasn't too bad. Location was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath shower Poor lighting Only 1 life was working and it was a large hotel.

    Shower nowhere near strong enough. Would have preferred a stand-up shower not a high bath shower. If the bedroom curtain was opened it was too public.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was disappointing. Very few television channels. Went for breakfast and had to wait 10 minutes as EVERY table in dining room was dirty!!!

    The reception staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was more than I expected very comfortable ,one thing I would appreciate mugs in the rooms as we find those small cups too small. But I was impressed and would highly recommend others to stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the room was very clean, I noticed the air conditioner vents and shower vents very dirty and dusty.

    Great having a bath in the queen superior room. Good views, easy car parking facilities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Both double beds were very comfy, the room well appointed and the hotel close to a number of restaurants and shops. Parking was good and easily accessed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a hotel I thought the rooms would have been bigger. I have stayed in cheaper motels on the coast with bigger room and more seat. One seat for a room that sleep 3. Air con wasn't the best so had to open windows. Bathroom is very small. The steak was the worst I have ever tasted. Burnt and mine was over cooked my partner's was under. Was ment to be a great kid free night with dinner and a show. We should have grabbed Macca's on the way and just driven the 45mins home and saved $250.

    The staff are very friendly and helpful. Bed was comfy. Buffet breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thursday night there was lots of local traffic noise in the Main Street. Recommend south facing room. Friday night was ok. No bar facilities open.

    Friendly staff especially Glenda. Local restaurant easy walk also Cluse to Coles.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom was a little dated here and there, and the fridge made a bit of a racket (so much so switched off in middle of night). But the bed was comfortable, the room was quiet, bathroom clean (shower pressure a little on the low side). Aircon was a god send! Overall the hotel is clean, comfortable, good value for money and recommended, nice view from the 4th floor. Special mention for Glenda on reception, very helpful and friendly and a credit to the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we walked into the room, no one mentioned that to turn on the lights the card needed to be inserted into the slot on the wall.

    The bath was great. The bed was comfortable. We had no trouble finding our room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Opening hours of the restaurants could be extended. Closing at 8.30pm restrict people from being able to dine in especially when Room Service wasn't available as advertised. Noise from the corridor was an issue.

    Having a restaurant to eat and a bar for a drink after a busy day of engagements is wonderful. Staff were very accommodating. Great parking facility and accessible to local shops and town centre. Check in was awesome.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom tiles were moulding also the toilet paper holder had severe corrosion.

    Early check in. Nice and quiet, the scenery with all the beautiful birds flying around the trees close to the hotel. Was amazing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    see above

    Location was good. Convenient for my meeting in Civic Centre. Handy to Brisbane St and Brewery Centre. Breakfast was "OK" but no choices of eggs (We don't eat scrambled eggs, preferring poached---no cooking offered (nor asked for) bacon was not cooked, but warmed up bacon. Room comfortable and bed OK. Towel rail fell apart and a bedside lamp not working. We would stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking for hotel guest was terrible no elevator to the 2nd level and no help with our luggage! Shame to the male staff who was just hanging around without helping the guest and making them feel at home! Poor attitude I guess it was Saturday they don't care. Didn't even bother to smile or greet guest waiting on the reception for their turn to check in. Bad

    Good country hotel accessible to almost all. The front desk personnel were very good and accomodating especially Kim! great personality and helpful! Value for money it was great just right! Kudos to Kim!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed there and attended a wedding reception in the function space. Reception staff uncoordinated, promised much and under-delivered, contradictory information given to guests about availability of rooms; function food was appalling - quail was bleeding raw and cool in centre; clearly kitchen needs major kick in butt. Embarrassed the hosts in front of guests, and it was sad for bride and groom to watch dish after dish go back to the kitchen for re-cooking. Ultimate insult was that a group of guests had to visit McDonald's after the function because they were still hungry after three course meal!!! Next morning, housekeeping staff were waiting outside our rooms at 9.40am and asking every 5 minutes when we were checking out!

    Cleanliness standard high; Function front-of-house staff very helpful (but totally overwhelmed by lack of staffing and kitchen problems)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps the basement carpark was insufficient for all guests? I managed to get the last parking space when I arrived late at night. However, there was no space for the car behind me.

    The room was clean and modern-looking. WiFi was strong and fast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was a bit of noise from other guests in the room above.

    Very easy check in and parking. Room was modern with a view of ipswich. Very clean room and excellent bed Good breakfast buffet offered. excellent location in city

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not anything I could find fault with except maybe the bath was a bit narrow!

    The staff were kind, friendly and helpful. The food both from room service and breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - all good.

    Great location. Lovely linen and bed. New fittings and fixtures. Comfortable. Very clean. Friendly staff. Quiet. Like staying in a fancy hotel in a regional town - better than expected.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quieter people in room above would have been nice. We ate at the restaurant once, the duck meal was very tasty but way too small for the price.

    Nice large room, good bed. Easy walk to railway station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unhelpful receptionist on graveyard shift.

    We stayed in 1 bedroom apartment. I liked how the bedroom was separate from bathroom and toilet. Kitchen was great. Heaps of towels. Room was spacious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that there was only a single towel rail, when 2 of us stayed in a double room, we didn't have anywhere to hang a second wet towel. Due to no second towel rail I had to replace my towel daily instead of reusing it. Toilet roll holder on the wall is positioned way to far back. My Husband with a bad back could not reach the toilet paper, I also found the toilet roller holder to far back and uncomfortably hard to reach.

    We had a great stay, and overall we were happy with our experience. The staff were lovely & helpful. Our room was cleaned very nicely, and daily.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel car park seemed to be used by local people as it was always full until around 6pm then spaces became vacant.

    Excellent room with a full size fridge and two double beds. Shower over the bath in a small bathroom. Underground car park with direct access to the hotel but regularly full. Second car park next door but without direct access to the hotel always had spaces. Nice restaurant and bar area in the hotel with plenty of other places to eat nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We are a bit spoilt in that we like a King Bed. Metro appears to only offer a Queen size Bed

    Staff were friendly and welcoming. We didn't get to use the facilities as it was a quick trip in and out for a friends birthday, so unable to comment on that. The Hotel is central to all Ipswich has to offer and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    But the aircon hasn't been clean or serviced as layer of dirt is on it. This is very critical for me as the air quality is very important due to my sensitive nose.

    Beds are comfy. The bathroom is nice too with a long bath. Breakfast is good and Coffee machine is really good. Good value breakfast. Car park is free too!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bathroom smelt like sewer, even after running taps for some time to get rid of the smell. also the air conditioning wasn't working properly we did advise reception, not really helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower or more to the point the position of the shower.I start the day off with a shower and finish the day with a shower,it's one of lifes little leisures however who in their right mind puts a shower inside of a bath tub.it's bloody dangerous.

    Well prepared and excellent service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, everything was fine.

    Really friendly staff at Reception. Close to Pump Yard which was great for dinner. Easy street parking, but there is also parking under the hotel (which is a bit tight for a bigger car). Rooms are spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In room information regarding local attractions, restaurants, shopping etc would be appreciated

    Located an easy walk from railway station. Staff were cheerful and happy to help with any questions about the local area. Rooms clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Experienced the best customer service in a long time! Thank you Glenda at front desk for turning my frown upside down! Also housekeeping team should be thanked also! Room was great!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only down side was there was no parking available as there was functions on and the car park was full. We had to park out on the street and if we wanted a car park we had to go back downstairs and check if there was any available at about 10 or 11 o'clock at night. We did find a park but I feel if we pay for a room for the night we should have access to a car space.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    above

    very clean, happy staff, close too everything we needed for the event, but the freezer did not work. SPorting event was our purpose and freezer packs and first aid was vital. *Coffee cups are better than tea cups in my view. *forget the bathroom creams and shampoos really everyone can and should bring their own unless they request otherwise. *HATE the folded sheets over the blanket on the bed.....feels like being trapped in an unanchored sheet....AWFUL. GIve me a cheap doona. or a decent blanket and sheet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The person who checked me in was very helpful. The wait staff in the restaurant gave excellent service and the food was really good. The room was large and very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    We had a meal in the Hotel restaurant and it was excellent . Good parking under the Hotel. Very good size room for three people.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need microwaves. They only have one luggage trolley which broke while we were there so we had to carry everything down. They need more car parks. When the hotel is full there are not enough and then I'm not game to leave in case I can't get another park when I return.

    Great location for Civic Centre activities. Rooms are comfortable, good size and clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a little damage in the room that had received been attended to.

    The staff were accommodating and pleasant. The restaurant food was the surprise and quite pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't find anything much to fault at this property.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Great location and within easy walking distance of shops and parks. Restaurant was good and rooms were clean and tidy. Parking was easy to access and car was safe and secure. Would recommend this property and will return again when next in Ipswich

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rates were very high due to CMC Rocks weekend which made the value for money very poor.

    The room was lovely, clean and quiet. Hotel is close to the train station and it was a great place to stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was great . Nothing could have been better.

    I didn't have breakfast at the hotel as I have family in Ipswich and had my meals with them. The staff was extremely helpful and WiFi easily accessible.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In all my years in hotel accommodation this was the first hotel that has refused to grant my request for a late check out. There was a charge of $30 if I needed it. It did inconvenience a little as we decided to eat out for diner and breakfast elsewhere and not use the hotel dining. I will more than likely choose another hotel the next time I go for a romantic weekend.

    Very comfortable bed

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little hard for me but that's personal preference. Not much water pressure in shower and fry pan for stove top bowed so a little hard to cook. But still an awesome place and great value for money. Have re booked for June!

    Hotel was clean and had plenty of room. Aircon worked great. Great location. Close to coles.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of service. Had to check free breakfast still applied and drink offer for genius status, then at breakfast no one around to serve and toaster not turned on. Overall the place is looking very tired and the reception and bedroom had an unpleasant odour. Tea cups in room stained,

    Location and free parking.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot on the floors (ground floor fine but floor 3 was like a sauna) and the air conditioning in both rooms were not very efficient ie did not cool the room well.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was not up to the standard of previous visits - croissants were dry and over cooked, eggs rubbery. Only a minor glitch in an otherwise great stay

    Dinner was great - kids enjoyed room service! Proximity to station made travel into Brisbane easy.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    An "international" hotel in one of the hottest states in Australia, not near a beach, does not have a pool. I found this astounding, and detracted from the whole experience.

    Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good size rooms Great restaurant and bar Right in the middle of town but very quiet Nice little park right next door Under cover parking....

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of advertised pool. The board under the lounge for support. Very very off putting. Springs poking you in the back and a saggy mattress.

    Location and smile layout. Always clean

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not happy had to pay $15 for fold up cot when a room for 2 adults and a 2 year old was booked. Wasnt advised of cost until checking out.

    Hotel and room was clean. Not far to shops.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    dinner plates left in hall 2 1/2 days i think the drains smell i put a bit of water over waste outlet in the floor appears to have helped

    convenient to hospital

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in the restaurant was the worst I ever have had. I have an allergy and was after 3 attempts to get a meal I could eat, still served food that I am allergic to.

    The staff were very good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My first time to the hotel for a 1 night business stay on a weeknight. I was very impressed from the moment I was warmly greeted by Glenda at Reception upon check-in at approx 7pm. The rest of the staff I came into contact with were also professional, courteous, attentive & friendly. I was in a Superior Queen Room (booked online via 'booking.com') which was very comfortable, clean, "homely" & good value at about $125. With a late check-in and an early morning ahead, I opted to eat dinner in the hotel restaurant - I ordered the Chicken Breast which I suspected would come out "looking" pretty fancy, but hoping it tasted as good as it may have looked.....well sure enough it did come out looking the goods, but importantly to me & thankfully, it was simply sensational!! I'd describe this dish as being just like a hearty home cooked meal. I was so impressed that I asked the waiting staff if I could see the Chef & personally thank him/her on my way out, which I did. And I've never done that before in a hotel. I elected to have a simple Continental breakfast in the hotel restaurant the next morning, with very good variety & standard of food on offer and again good value. The only gripe I had about my room was a slightly noisy bar fridge when it "kicked in" sporadically throughout the night (I probably could have just turned the fridge thermostat down?) - I advised Reception staff upon checkout & to their credit, they took the feedback onboard and made a point of having maintenance check it out. The hotel was clearly on a Customer Service "drive" at the time & kudos to them for being upfront about it!! I would happily stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Used ear plugs left in bathroom ,dirty cup still in room, booked room for three adults, bed arrangements not confirmed, lucky my son was willing to sleep in the queen bed with his dad, 3 men would have appreciated three single beds.

    very acceptable for a short stay ,beds comfortable, staff very friendly and breakfast buffet good value

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A nice comfy armchair in the room would have been appreciated . I had to sit around & wait on appointments , & there wasn't a comfy chair to sit in .

    The bed was very comfy . I found the location nice & quiet , & my room service meal was delicious

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    2nd morning breakfast took over an hour to arrive as no buffet. maybe a lack of staff was an issue and no forethought to put on the full buffet, a bit disappointing.

    Day 1 Breakfast was good, muffins fresh and tasty and certainly ample. Room was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't get a chance to use the restaurant, but next time I will!

    Room was made up while I was out without requesting. Absolutely lovely staff and great hotel overall.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After hour food was terrible and cold(microwaved) and expensive, no minibar as stated, two single beds do not make a queen, bar fridge rattled all night, soap dispenser to high if having a bath.

    Location was great, room a good size, after hours security man was excellent in helping us.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attitude of one staff member due to lack of satisfactory customer service. Person was not keen to resolve minor issue. Unable to get a later checkout than 10.30am on a Sunday

    Location, bar, surroundings

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water saver, low pressure shower heads, but that's everywhere now days so I accept it..

    Clean, comfy modern rooms. Excellent meals, dinner & breakfast. Friendly professional staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Cleanliness of hotel & room,comfort of bed absolute best I've ever experienced,great breakfast,nice efficient staff when booking in/out.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived and there were food trays outside our room. Still there 4 hours later when we came back. Bathroom layout poor. Have to teach behind for toilet rolls. Carpet very untidy and dirty at breakfast service (approx 9.30). Not a good looks.

    Breakfast option. Friendly reception. Central location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit stuffy, sealed Windows but has air con that control that wouldn't work properly.

    The location is good, beds comfortable , undercover parking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool please Under5's activity area More food self serve in room

    Loved the welcome & service on arrival Comfortable rooms - 1 x Queen - 1 x Queen & single

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I went & bought things I wanted ... 1) mugs (rather than the 2 cups provided) 2) plates (none provided) 3) cutlery I had to pay for clothes cleaning & buy detergent the internet was slow on my (very old-out of date) laptop ... I was locked out of my room, by cleaning staff, who had assumed that I had left (I suppose) ...

    I liked the layout of my room & bathroom I liked the décor of my room ... I liked having free internet ... I liked being very close to the library ... there is a Coles supermarket nearby ... I liked the staff (in general) ...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inclusion of (bircher or plain) muslie in the buffet breaky would have been nice.

    Genuinely nice staff. Clean and tidy hotel. Good parking. Generous dinner portions in the restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Glenda at reception was very rude every time I dealt with her. Certainly not suited for a customer service position. No welcome to the international, no offer of assistance re info on the area, transport etc. made feel like we were being a problem anytime we spoke with her. The fact we are here due to a death in the family, her rudeness was totally unneeded.

    Room great. Clean nice and roomy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hard bed, couldn't get the room warm, breakfast not appealing and was cold. Restaurant closed to early, and told staff had already left so couldn't get any bar snacks either. Told there was a McDonalds down the road. WHAT are you kidding!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    THEREWAS ONLY ONE COMFORTABLE CHAIR, FOR TWO PEOPLE. AND TO BE COMFORTABLE YOU HAD TO LIE ON THE BED TO WATCH TELEVISION.

    THE ROOM WAS WELL APPOINTED. AND VERY CLEAN.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed there was no room service breakfast which is what i look forward to every time i go to a motel. The hot breakfast and coffee in the restaurant was cold.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked this room with a breakfast included as we had a long day of driving ahead of us. We were very disappointed with the breakfast which was supposed to start at 7am, but did not open until 7.15, but the cooked food did not come out until approx. 7.30 and when we got the cooked food it was cold, which made it impossible to eat and also very dangerous if it was to be reheated (which we noticed was happening). Totally unacceptable and for this reason we will never stay here again nor will we recommend this place to anyone.

    The Room and bed were good, as was the location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thought the credit card was just being used to hold the booking but was charged before we arrived.

    Cheap buffet breakfast. Walking distance to the Ipswich Civic centre.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Metro Hotel Ipswich International traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: