Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central 3.5 stars

431 - 439 Pitt Street, Sydney CBD, 2000 Sydney, Australia

#165 of 306 hotels in Sydney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4077 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Central Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a double room but arrived to find two twin beds, that were not particularly comfortable. Manageable for a one night stay.

    I have stayed in the CBD quite frequently and this is one of the better hotels. It is in a central location, close to Central station and only a short walk to George Street, QVB and Darling Harbour.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location for an overnight city stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Listing says parking but the parking is up the rd in the main shopping centre. I wish I’d known this before booking. I much rather stay in a hotel with they’re own parking for convenience.

    Perfect location for an overnight city stay. Capitol theatre across the rd.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.3
    An excellent location spoiled by sub-standard accommodation for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Even though I had requested firm mattresses, my husband had one that was too soft; as a result he had an aching back which made walking painful. The room with twin beds was too small for two adults. There was only one chair and one luggage-rack. The shared night-table between the beds had a chunky phone and a radio on it; this left very little room for personal items. Both the room and the bath-room showed signs of poor maintenance: taps over the bath were impossible to turn off properly. The edging on the 'desk' had peeled off leaving an unsightly, raw edge on which clothing would catch. Bath-towels were children's size. House-keeping was erratic. There was one day when it was good. On other days, surfaces were not cleaned properly, glasses were not washed. Beds looked unmade. Rubbish-bins were not emptied.

    Excellent location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.8
    I wouldn’t stay here again. Next time I will pay more money to get a better hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I was given was obviously once an interconnecting room and the joint in the wall has not been properly sealed. I had light coming from under the door and I could hear everything and I mean everything that was going on next door for two nights.On the third night I was going to request another room but nobody had booked into that room on the third night so I stayed there. The photos shown on the website Of the room did not match the room that I was given.The Bathroom in particular was very dated. The breakfast was quite good,had a good variety. I had breakfast three days in a row and the croissant’s and pastries were there for those three days as the custard on the danishes we are starting to go hard. I found the hotel noisy. When I told the hotel reception staff about the noise coming from next door and asked if anyone was staying in at night they were polite but they didn’t seem to be very concerned.

    The location but there are many hotels in the area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    3.8
    It was horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff, the bed, the hotels general ambiance

    The staff were horrible, not helpful and misinforming... the room was oddly laid out. The bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    The location and cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel doesn't have correct/updated information about the parking charge. I was told that it costs 40 dollars for 24 hours for public parking nearby. I parked my car on the night of 2nd July and took it out in the morning of 5th July and it cost me 295 dollars. Besides, breakfast should have been free.

    The location and cleanliness.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.9
    Friendly staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room 718 again faced onto back lane. Awful. Room service needs a few western dishes (eg: club sandwich). Breakfast set-up needs benchtop oven warmer rather than microwave for pastries. No hot water 9 pm Friday was unpleasant surprise and bathtub needs resurfacing or replacing..

    Friendly staff. Excellent location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.7
    Location is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon heater is not working. I had asked the technician to fix the problem but doesn’t help. The bed has rollers. So when I lean on the wall, the bed will move The bathroom is worn out

    Location is good Nice restaurants nearby

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location, comfortable, clean and affordable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are tall you may need to sit sideways on the toilet.....but you don’t spend much time on the toilet so this is being super picky!!

    My room was comfortable, quiet and was walking distance to everywhere. It was also affordable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    4.2
    A disapointing hotel stay experience. :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was given a so called superior room (617), it was less than superior, the room was small, the view out of the window looked onto a building/laneway, the bathroom shower recess had mould growing in numerous areas of same, the television had limited commercial channels, under the main bed was dusty and old tissues could be found. I realise I didnt pay a premium price for the room as it was reduced on Hotels.com however as previously stated if it was a superior room, I would hate to stay in a regular room.

    Proximity to Central Railway Station and

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Expectations met! Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love the entire experience. Convenient location and close to several estavlishments. It's the only decent hotel I could see around the area.

    The staff are friendly. They upgraded our room hence my son and I had a wonderful stay. It was clean and a good value for money. Can't complain.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    Adequate - aim for a newer room!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have stayed here once before and liked it, but this time around I got an old room that was in a bit of a state. The chair was falling apart, lots of cracks in the bathroom- made it feel dirty. The staff always seemed confused, the breakfast was pretty ordinary and every night I got woken up by other noisy guests. Not the hotels fault I know, but the walls were very thin I think l!

    Great location, clean room and comfy bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.1
    The room was dated but comfortable, good value ( which I got...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I looked to book I was looking for a Hotel with a pool ( expecting it to be indoor but alas on the top floor outside not heated- would be excellent for Summer).

    The room was dated but comfortable, good value ( which I got through Booking.com as the direct price through the Hotel was more). Very convenient for Transport particularly Airport Train.... Arrived at Airport Terminal 25 minutes after leaving the Hotel Foyer. Close to good food , with Chinatown and the Spanish Quarter close by.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.8
    Happy with it all except bathroom & space, but good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower over bath unexpected & had to move rooms as older guest couldn’t use it safely Bathroom needs renovation Need fans in bathroom When in twin double nowhere to put large suitcase

    Clean Comfy beds Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.7
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms that look at a concrete wall, okay for short stay but not pleasant for long stay. As with many hotel rooms an extra chair - a tub chair at least to relax in would be nice.

    The rooms I have stayed in are always clean (Lvl 11) and most of the staff are pleasant to deal with. Easy access to the city centre and city transport. Walking distance to city area is good. Usually good value for money if room booked ahead of time or even last minute specials.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    I would recommend anyone to stay there every time i go to sydney thats where we stay
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasnt anything i didnt like

    I like the fact it isnt far from central station and not far from the capitol if you are seeing a show you can catch a tram which is not far from hotel the rooms are comfy breakfast is good staff wonderful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.4
    very disappointing
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was dirty, there we're hair in the bath, in the toilet, even in the towels and it was also very small and old.

    I can tell for sure that the staff at the front office was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.1
    It was clean, beds were spacious and the staff were friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was unable to sleep, the property is in such a busy street and the windows were too thin I was kept up till 3am from both the traffic and the club going on down the street.

    It was clean, beds were spacious and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Very nice, recommended to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathroom little worn, but clean.

    Location was perfect,15 minute walk to Darling Harbor, next to China Town an lots of shopping, Also a 10minute walk to Central Train Station. Staff very nice, gave me a early check in after a 15 hour flight.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.7
    hotel was used for sleeping only and this was what I expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    however you can hear traffic, hotel (opposite) music, screaming youth at night. TV shocking impossible to watch, old and bad signal, so no news during the stay, enjoyed Sydney instead.

    Great location and price

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.5
    Might stay there again, although there are other hotels 1-2 blocks further from Central Station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom needs some upgrading, a little tacky in places. The guests in the room adjoining ours were talking most of the night - the noise came through the common door.

    The bed was very comfortable. The position to Central Station was excellent. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    Overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairdryer wasn't working Pillow very flat, but just my own preference

    The room was very clean and well presented. Convenience was a plus as well in the area, plenty of restaurants and convenience stores. Staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.5
    Good but....
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit dated and small but did the job. Unfortunately we were next to the elevator shaft which was a little noisy.

    great location. Pleasant staff. Clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    Quiet room, very comfortable bed, staff very friendly, pool...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The layout of the bathroom shelving over the sink. Very cluttered. Attempting to get the lift to the roof top pool.

    Quiet room, very comfortable bed, staff very friendly, pool good to go, breakfast- plenty of options, delivery of dry cleaning direct to my room,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.3
    Let down - bathroom - picture use on booking site misleading .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom NOT like photo- annoying - impt reason to book . You Count on what is being offered for the price & it’s totally different ! Needs renovating . Bath badly stained - grout old therefore looked unclean even though cleaners come daily . No hot water at night on weekend . Left complaint with staff - just said sorry. . Like they hear it all the time . they have a form in the room on arrival to fill out to let them know what’s not working during your stay - shouldn’t they know ?

    Price - location- room size good / clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.7
    Good location just a bit noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a considerable amount of street noise which woke up my partner and baby (sirens and music from the bar across the road). Could do with double glazing to block out that noise.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location close to railway and to Capitol Theatre,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were not as comfortable as we would have liked

    Great location close to railway and to Capitol Theatre, China Town & Paddy’s Market. Good variety of food at breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent value for a a 1 night stay in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath was worn and stained.

    Very helpful and friendly staff. All necessary amenities and very clean for a 1 night stay. Dated bathroom but the room price for the city was great. Close to Central Railway station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.7
    Overall the accommodation was easy to access and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found leftover food in drawer and old underpants under baggage shelf. Not a lot of space between toilet and hand basin.

    Staff were friendly. Location close to central station was convenient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.7
    OK for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is very dated and still only has double and single size beds, shower over bath and is in need of upgrading.

    The place was very clean and well located.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Old stained bath & shower curtain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old stained bath & shower curtain. Water damaged bathroom door & carpet. Water in bathroom sink would not empty. Pillows need updating. No microwave in rooms!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Location was best for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 1212...a few things wrong in bathroom...vanity in very poor condition...shower curtain rail too low or curtain too long...was standing on curtain while showering trip slip hazard...paint peeling off bath...nail sticking out of skirting board outside bathroom door in entrance ..possible rubber door stopper missing....bed uncomfortable. .

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    5.8
    I enjoyed the breakfast , it’s was close to darling harbour...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was really small, not clean and needed a bit of a refurb. The room it’s self was okay bare minimal of what you need! The safe wasn’t actually attached to the wall you could move it/ pick it up. The fire alarm went off 3 times in one day with 2 minutes intervals they said they found the problem but didn’t resolve it! As it kept going off!

    I enjoyed the breakfast , it’s was close to darling harbour and loads of restraunts. The location was brilliant for the money paid!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    The facility was so very clean from reception, lifts , and the room.
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For our expectations it was perfect.

    This hotel was in an excellent location and the checkin was polite and quick. The lifts, the room and amenities were perfect for our needs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    It is a nice place, friendly staff, clean rooms, nice buffet breakfast, very close to the Capitol T
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pub across the road was really noisey you could hear the music and people all night till they closed.

    It was a clean and friendly place to stay, very close to the Capitol theatre. Would recommend 😀

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.9
    Wind in the willows
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were given a room on the 12th floor. The weather over the two nights that we stayed was very windy and the wind smashed into the building making a terrible noise that interrupted our sleep on both nights. We are not sure whether this would have been a problem on lower floors but our stay was uncomfortable because of this.

    The rooms were well fitted out and clean. We like to location as it is close to our transport arrangements. It is easy to get around from that point into Darling Harbour and other tourist areas.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.7
    Very well located 5mn away from Central station to go to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and equipments were a bit old and not very clean.

    Very well located 5mn away from Central station to go to the airport. Nice & professional staff at the check in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    Good accommodation for a night or two.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower over the very old bath was difficult for me to get into. The shelf over the sink was positioned in a very bad position making face washing, mouth rinsing difficult.

    TThe room was clean, beds comfortable and water hot. It is well positioned.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable, safe and clean. Made my business trip okay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some aspects of the upholstery and amenities within are just looking a little tired and old. The hotel and rooms are comfortable and clean though.

    Comfortable central location, accessible to many amenities and outlets.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    The property is well situated being within walking distance...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband didn’t like the shower, because the shower head was too low for him.

    The property is well situated being within walking distance of Central Station. The room was basic but a good price and all we needed for the night. You can also walk about 15 minutes to the Chinese Garden and Darling Harbour. Darling Harbour was a disappointment as they are doing so much construction work at the moment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    The bed was clean and comfortable the shower was hot and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property said there was a bar and restraunt which is always something I look for. There was none just a buffet breakfast from 630am -1030am.

    The bed was clean and comfortable the shower was hot and plenty of cleaning essentials. Location great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Convenient location, comfy rooms, below par breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Buffet Breakfast was very poor. Dry bacon and eggs and they were cold. I stayed for 3 nights I only had the breakfast once.

    Location was perfect close to Central Station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    My stay was comfortable, staff were helpful but the room was a bit shabby
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom quite shabby: door splintering, shower curtain mouldy, no block out curtain only see through my stay

    The service was good and staff were friendly. Appreciated being able to store luggage safely after checking out while I went shopping. The bed was comfortable. The A/C could be controlled from the room. Often A/V is centrally controlled.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    great staff and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was extremely comfortable. The staff were very friendly. I have stayed there before and the location is wonderful for me. I highly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.4
    Great location, tired hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was not very clean & felt grungy. There was drip marks down the tv, vent in bathroom full of dust, shower grungy and various stains/marks on walls, drink coasters etc. By far most unclean hotel room I have stayed in.

    Booked a superior room with queen bed. Bed was comfy, pillows ok. Room, last in hall, rather small with only shower. Those rooms ending in 17 are all same. Toilet tight squeeze so for mobility challenged might have issues. Wifi is flaky worked well 1st night then downhill for last 3. Response when asked - response “it’s free”. Upside close to central station, tram and walking distance to many sites. Note difference between deluxe & superior is lower floors = deluxe, higher = superior.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    4.2
    I would not recommend his hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dirty and unsanitary. The bed sheets were stained with blood and other stains. The bathroom had hair all over the walls and in the bath tub when we first walked in. I felt dirty and uncomfortable while I stayed there.

    Good location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    5.0
    The photos posted on website isn’t a true reflection on...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A shower in the bath The sink was so small you could barely get your hands in there Room was old and tired and needs a clean Alarm clock was so old and crackley

    The photos posted on website isn’t a true reflection on presentation and cleanliness of room The rooms feel old and well used in parts

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Excellent Location and value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    There was some place on the same street, open at night, with a live music. Creating very loud noise.

    Very good location. Close to the Central Station. Close to the City.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Not bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV service was terrible. Not enough channels and TV kept cutting out all the time. It was very hard to watch what channels we had.

    How they cleaned the room every day

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    6.7
    Disappointed with our room for the cost but it’s location is excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom dirty in places bath well worn and no where to put clothes in there. Could do with an upgrade. Cracked screen on tv. For a deluxe room was not any better then a standard room

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    4.6
    Deceiving photos and not great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property looked nothing like the photos was just a over priced backpackers hostel, the beds where cheap and honest I I have slept on couches more comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Close walking distance to public transport, alot of food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heater didn’t work in my room.

    Close walking distance to public transport, alot of food places to eat and a shopping centre just up the road. Bout a 20min walk to Pitt St mall.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location close to facilities
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not that comfy needs to be more firm

    Ease of check in, friendly and helpful staff, location to restaurants, theatre, cinema, ChinaTown and public transport wonderful, clean room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    4.2
    not the best would prefer to pay full price rather than stay there
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A wall and grout were mouldy, the room service was crap, got it wrong, but also was only take away from a local food outlet or something. the sheet was marked. the staff on the phone were not very nice or helpful. what was the problem with booking a shuttle to the airport. then the shuttle bloke was rude, impatient the rough with my bag

    The bed was comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location and easy. Price good and beds in room 710 very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV's in the hotel seem old and do not work very well. First room 503 the TV did not work at all and we wasted 1 hour trying to fix and get fixed, sadly hotel did not move us until then. Also the TV in the 2nd room was average but worked ok. The internet strength was terrible and slow. It did work but not well.

    The check-in process was very good. The beds in our 2nd room (room 710) had really nice big (and comfortable) beds in it. The location in Sydney city is very good, especially related to Central Station and close by Darling Harbour. Many Thai and Chinese places close by and some nice old pubs. They nicely looked after our bags after check-out when we went out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.4
    Basic, and needed a good clean. Luckily we were out of the hotel apart from to sleep.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift didn’t take our room cards half the time, the shower curtain was pink and mouldy, the beds had rubbish underneath, the hallways smelled like cigarettes most mornings, we booked as a same-sex couple and they automatically gave us two beds as opposed to one. The wifi was terrible, and the reception staff were proceeding to put a hold on funds on our card (standard) but without telling us how much it was for, or the process or terms of return etc. there’s a difference between a budget hotel and an unclean hotel - this was just an unclean hotel.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.1
    Overall our stay was enjoyable and the hotel was in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was for 2 nights and our room was not made up during our stay. The bathroom was not cleaned, bins were not emptied and our beds were not made up.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.9
    Good. Would definitely consuder this place for an overnight again if required
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Things broken in room. Tiles coming off in the bathroom. Tap drpped a little. And noisybthrough adjoining room door at night.

    Very clean rooms. Friendly and helpful reception staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.0
    Great location but overpriced and very dated!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pictures in the advertising make the rooms look amazing - they are not. The toilet is two inches from the wall and you have to sit on it sort of sideways! The carpets are worn and threadbare in places, the paintjob is second rate at best and the shower "drape" was terrible - very 1980's. The view was to a dirty alley out the back and the overall feel was very much in need of an overhaul. Kind of like an old P&O Cruise ship really.

    The buffet breakfast was very good, with a good variety. The coffee was excellent as was the cleanliness and set out of the breakfast area. Noodles at breakfast is an interesting and tasty surprise, but avoid the sausages - very greasy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.1
    Good location, but not great for sleeping due to excessive noise.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy. I got in late and had an early start the next morning and was placed in a room right by the busy pedestrian street, and the elevators. You can hear every little noise from the hallway and from the road outside. The rooms are clean but cramped. Breakfast is terrible, staff at breakfast disinterested and rude.

    Comfortable beds, clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.4
    Wont be staying there ever again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was good, but money was stolen from my room and returned after I reported it. Staff didn’t seem too concerned. Also, I paid for dry cleaning and had to iron my shirt 5 minutes before my meeting becAuse the dry cleaners at the hotel did a very lazy job.

    Location was good, but money was stolen from my room and returned after I reported it. Staff didn’t seem too concerned. Also, I paid for dry cleaning and had to iron my shirt 5 minutes before my meeting becAuse the dry cleaners at the hotel did a very lazy job.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Good for spending the night after going to see a show at the Capitol.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was a little outdated and small, my knee hit the wall sitting on the toilet, shower head in bath and had to crouch to get under. No free wifi for the price your paying. Most hotels no days provide free wifi.

    Close to Capitol theatre, central station and restaurants. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Excellent location, good size room comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not use the restaurant but the room was excellent. Very comfortable and in a perfect location for what we needed. The staff were all friendly and easy to deal with

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.8
    Hotel obviously set up for Asians.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was tidy and made up well 2nd day. Fantastic location , close to rail and where we wanted to go. Room service very asian no english/ australian choices.

    Staff had very poor english had trouble telling them my room number. Asked for a twin room for me and my grandson got a triple which made it very tight to move around. Hotel bathroom very low shower so grandson couldn't fit under it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.8
    It was a short three days made easier by all the staff and the facilities were all good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The problem with getting into the bath to take shower as I am an older person but the handrail was useful.

    The room service for meals was excellent and very quick service. Everything was spotlessly clean, full marks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    5.8
    location was near to central station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the batroom was not clean, the bath tub was colored with yellow stains. the bathroom had a small space the rooms were small

    location was near to central station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.5
    Good place for an overnight stay.
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room's toilet seat was inadequate for a male user. This was not major, nonetheless an irritation to contend with.

    Overall the allocated room met our needs. The breakfast facilities were well laid out with a wide selection of foods. The staff were helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    3.3
    The location is in China town but easy to get around from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was dirty, the bathroom was horrible. Changed rooms but the second room was not better. Couldn't sit on the toilet bc there is a wall where one's knees would be (I'm only 6"2'). The shower curtain was dirty, the caulking in the bathroom was chipping away, walls were dirty, very small. In desperate need of renovation.

    The location is in China town but easy to get around from there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Good value for money and is our preferred hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some rooms that we have been given in the past are a little cramped due to their configuration.

    Staff as usual were professional, polite and friendly. Location excellent but particularly handy to Central Station. Had a wonderful room this time. Really clean. Also loved the room service. Thai food was reasonably priced and delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.3
    Disappointed in most respects.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath/shower. No restaurant on site for lunch/dinner. Aircon/heating. No fee return for cancellation of fifth night requested three days prior.

    Location to transport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    The staff were helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was very reasonably priced, and so we weren't surprised our view from the window was of a concrete wall. The bathroom was in need of a renovation, and the linen was in need of being replaced. And the only place to park our car was a car park two blocks away, so lucky for us it wasn't raining.

    The staff were helpful and friendly. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    It would have been perfect with more information prearrival on parking
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been great if we had received information on the parking at world square prior to arrival as it took a while to find s parking station then when we did it was the wrong one which incurred more expense

    Loved the ease of the position

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    6.3
    Great for the price in the CBD, non luxurious
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned look inside room very early 2000s looking, fridge was left open hot inside it but didn’t use it, very odd a hot fridge! The cleaner came in before I checked out and that was awkward. At least she was sorry.

    Very basic hotel, wasn’t expensive at all, wasn’t expecting luxury, handy location close to everything in Sydney CBD and station, front desk night staff were very nice. Every basic need provided and suitable for a one night stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.1
    swipe credit cards not acceptable, they need you to enter...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    swipe credit cards not acceptable, they need you to enter PIN. but card was accepted online for payment without a prepayment option being checked. wifi signal gets lost when u move to bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a safety rail getting out of the bath/shower.

    Location was great. Bathroom needs renovating but it was still ok. Staff were nice and it was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: