Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Madison Tower Mill Hotel (formerly Metro Hotel Tower Mill) 3.5 stars

239 Wickham Terrace, Spring Hill, 4000 Brisbane, Australia

#107 of 148 hotels in Brisbane

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 486 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.3
    Happy Hospital Visitor
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good but bathroom tap in basin was VERY wobbly. Hot water in shower was very poor pressure

    Perfect position for attending Brisbane Private Hospital next door !! And Reasonable parking cost for undercover parking

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.3
    Good spot
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower taps set-up outside the shower cubicle is weird, as water gets everywhere, but minor. Down Lights in bathroom missing, too. Room could do with a Spring Clean. Top up tea/coffee supply too.

    We loved the old-school 'curved' room and style. A bit dusty and worn but super cosy, easy balcony access (be mindful of bottom gap with infants!) and spacious enough. And parking for high 4WDs which was welcomed!! Stayed here twice now and both times staff were so friendly, happy and accommodating. And there's Fox Sport channels! (but no AFL😡!!) Proximity to Bris CBD and medical appointment (next door!) is fantastic and overall, was great accommodation for the price.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    3.8
    Can I give - 10 as a rating. AVOID!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Being lied to about getting an "upgrade" - The fact that we slept in a cupboard bed and upon questioning it when checking out being told "oh we never put anyone in that room" - given a double bed when we paid for a queen - being given a studio room when it isn't even a booking option - it was filthy. Lint, dirt and unidentifiable stuff on all floors - that I've emailed the manager for a refund and my email has been ignored

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    Central, Old-School, Historic and Value-For-Money Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) The shower door was out of alignment and hence the bathroom floor was wet after every shower. 2) Perhaps a general maintenance and upkeep of facilities need to be carried out more often.

    1) Central location that could go anywhere on foot or a short bus ride. 2) Covered parking behind the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    5.4
    We got there after 230 pm to find our room still wasn't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got there after 230 pm to find our room still wasn't ready. We also had to pay extra to park our car not happy this should be included in the price.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant, peaceful and convenient
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower taps are positioned outside the shower and the fridge was very noisy.

    The location is very convenient to Roma St station and the staff extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.9
    Great. Value for money.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very dated and cleaning standard perhaps not up to scratch. However, you get what you pay for.

    The staff was lovely and helpful. The location next to Brisbane Private Hospital was perfect. Parking was a bonus.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    6.7
    Basic accommodation in a very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet is threadbare, curtain had become partially detached from curtain-rail, handle on shower screen was broken, etc. The place has seen better days. The beds, however, were clean.

    The property is very well located for touring Brisbane's central business district and the Roma Street Parkland (which I highly recommend).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.3
    A welcome comfortable stay. Thanks to the team.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expected a mini bar or at least a microwave for quick snack access. Meagre supply of tea bags for a two night booking. No room service or any info for food delivery to Hotel - Odd that, but not over surmountable.

    Brisbane Private Hospital is right next door/cab rank also for quick trip to city. Excellent for out of town patients. Have rebooked for early September. Staff really lovely. Had a 6:30 am RMI appointment ( 3 minute walk. To the appointment-can’t beat that for location if you need it)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    We all enjoyed our stay. Love the location. Great value for money and staff was very kind and helpfu
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sink in the bathroom kept filling up. The staff apologised and told us they would get a plumber to check.

    Everything was really good, especially the staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.2
    I loved the location!
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I loved the location! My Husband was having major surgery at the Brisbane Private Hospital next door, so it was very convenient for me to be close to him during his stay. Both the Council and the Hospital run complimentary bus services called "The Loop" which you can jump on and go downtown throughout the day. Although it is only a short picturesque walk and you're smack bang in the centre of Brisbane. Shops, cinemas, restaurants, everything you need at your fingertips.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Great location, comfortable beds and great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our view was not that good on the side of the building, but the ones in the front looked like they had a great view. however we were not there to look at the view so did not distract from overall experience.

    The location was great rooms comfortable, showers were good and hot.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.3
    An outdated hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very out dated, furnishings are well aged. Bathroom shows clear signs of its use over the years with cracked tiles or shower basin showed dirt/mould. The hotel is equipped with the bare essentials but is badly in need of a complete renovation!

    Good location to the CBD.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.8
    A nice room, with balcony and views over the Old Windmill.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A nice room, with balcony and views over the Old Windmill. The room was clean and effective - nothing exciting but did exactly what we needed it too. Same with the bathroom - A little tired looking but clean and a great shower. The location and cost are second-to-none.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Tower mill on Wickham st.
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit tired and there is currently no attached restaurant.

    Great location right beside Brisbane private hospital. Rooms are a good size and clean. Not flashy but reasonable. Well priced.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    3.8
    Rude unprofessional staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff we rude from the initial phone call before checking in.. to check in, while we were there and checkout and then following up after we were charged a massive cleaning fee for a small spill on the carpet .. they could not help us every time we called and emailed ..never called back and did not respond to emails... were not understanding and just plain rude .... do not stay here .. the lady on reception is the rudest person ive ever met.. and management are so unprofessional

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.0
    A little bit quirky and a great location - all with a view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The washing machine was out of order during my stay.

    This is not a luxury hotel but I found it excellent. I had a great view from the balcony of the old mill and park across the road. The hotel is located on the edge of the CBD - a 5 minute walk to the fabulous Roma Street Parklands and about 15 minutes or less to the Queen Street Mall in the city centre. The staff were friendly. There's a good little cafe next door.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    3.8
    Reletively dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sheets and blankets were thin and not enough of them were provided. The balcony was barely enough to sit on or even call a balcony. The room was far smaller than expected. The staff were unfriendly and seemed to be annoyed at purely having to check us in and out. The whole place feels dirty and is somewhat hard to find using google maps and were unable to find clearer instructions anywhere online. Even at the cheap price we expected better.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    We came in around 1.
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came in around 1.30pm on Sat 21/3/18 and waited at the front desk for 5 mins before anyone came out. We said hello and knocked. Perhaps a bell 🛎 might help.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    3.8
    Not worth the stay! Wouldn't recommend nor would come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole accommodation needs a revamp. Arrived onto our floor to a builder doing some work a few doors down, noise of tools could be heard even with door closed. Balcony door was broken, fridge smelt bad, room looked dirty and the windows weren't clean. Lucky the bed was the only good thing in the room.

    Nothing!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    central location, great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The café is under renovation we were told but there are others around. Bathroom was nice and clean, but just a little tired.

    Very good value, nice central location, excellent for a weekend or overnight stay. Room was a good size. Staff were friendly and pleasant. it's always nice to have tea and coffee with a room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    I would stay again if I was offered a significant discount as way of apology for the disturbed night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room next door to ours had a large party going on and was extremely noisy until the early hours of the morning - 2 am. We had to contact staff 3 times during the night requesting the noisy clients be asked to respect others. The noise included very loud music, slamming and knocking on doors [including our door], yelling and laughing. It was very unpleasant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    In need of updating, but fine for a night for the budget conscious- clean room and friendly staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building was quite run down- in much need of some exterior work. Although very clean, the bathroom was in need of some updating.

    The room was very clean and nicely furnished.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.3
    Liked the hotel its self, room decore’ selection of tea & coffee and location
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to pay $15 for parking & the receptionist stated thw parking was a non issue- i had a friend visit & was unable to provide parking for my guest either & resturant closes early so could get dinner after work!! The respeptionist in the morning shift was not understanding ir just didnt get it!! I was told I would have parking provided

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.8
    Good value for the great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking at hotel is limited and difficult with larger vehicles. Currently no meals offered at hotel, however plenty of choice for meals at nearby hotels or take a short walk into the city.

    Location is wonderful with easy walk into city or to Roma Street parklands and rail station. Not so modern rooms, but comfortable and there is a balcony for fresh air.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Clean, comfortable, close to cbd and cheap.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine.

    Very clean. For a 100 bucks the bed had crisp sheets, bathroom clean, no dodgy smells. Was only there a few hours but no complaints. Would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Everything you need for a comfortable, affordable and convenient stay right next to the CBD
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower taps take time to set as they are very precise. A smidgen off, and you can go from too hot to not hot enough. It took me a few tries and now it’s not a problem.

    Location excellent, room size good, atmosphere of room calm and comfortable, balcony good size, nice aspect, let fresh air into room. Location next to CBD and Spring Hill has private hospitals, if you have medical needs. All in all excellent value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, onsite parking, great price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Spring Hill location was very handy to city and hospitals. I only needed a room for evenings as I was visiting my father in hospital. Comfortable bed, lovely hot shower, basic toiletries, old style small room, very clean with balcony overlooking the park. Secure car park with lift to all floors. Guest laundry on site. Friendly staff. Great rate. Tip #1: the car park is very tight if you have a large vehicle. Tip #2: onsite restaurant is currently being refurbished - plenty of cafes and restaurants within walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Easy, comfortable and convenient next to the hospital.
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - shower doors didn’t work properly and shower taps were outside the shower. - great location next to the hospital but not close to restaurants and shopping as I couldn’t walk far. Was difficult to find a cafe close that was open on the weekend.

    Comfy bed, clean, perfect location next to the hospital for my procedure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.7
    Not as good as it used to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Last time I stayed here the restaurant/bar was open, it’s now been closed for months, so we had to dine out. Bed was not too comfy. Shower taps are on the outside of the shower screen! Not very user friendly.

    Less than 15 mins walk from central station. Access to balcony.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Convenience plus for me
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that I could pick wrong with the property was the parking left available or not reserved was difficult for our big vehicle. I'm clutching at straws trying to find a negative at all.

    The location in relation to the hospital where my husband is a patient is fantastic. Beds were super comfy and the shower was warm perfect for what I needed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    3.8
    Horrible - never again
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overall state and cleanliness were disgusting - nothing like the photos or reviews... very disappointing

    Should state on the ad that the restaurant and bar are not open!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was a mouldy smell in the hallway was ok in the room but hallway looks and feel a bit like the hotel from the shining. everything in the toilette was like a public toilette features including dispenser of little pieces of toilette paper

    Love the location and having a massive balcony. clean room clean bed easy access walking distance to cbd

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    6.7
    It was a place to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needs renovation. Shower recess was claustrophobic and taps were on outside of the screen. What used to be a nice restaurant/bar is now closed so there was nowhere to get a drink at the end of a busy day. Was very disappointing.

    Beds were comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.5
    Great value for money & close to the hospital.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I more modern bathroom.

    The room was adequate but a bit dated and the bathroom was a little tired looking but it was only $106 for the night so it was excellent value and in a great location for us, right next door the Brisbane Private Hospital.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    5.8
    Average good location for where I was going
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the pub and tab where no longer open next door

    Location and staff where nice . It just showed a pub and restaurant with a tab that’s no longer open

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.5
    staff and service terrible, advertised items not available, room clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    australian staff very rude, couldnt even manage a smile, foxtel advertised , was told dont have it anymore, bar and resturant advertised , it has closed down. have stayed at the hotel several times and it has been great, except for last time, wont stay there again

    clean room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location but food of some sorce would be of benifit
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needed painting & there was mould on frame of sliding door, outside chairs& table needed wipeing to clean them. No smoking policy would be great.

    Loved the view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    3.3
    Very Very unhappy
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Spend money on the place to make it comfortable for guests

    Unfortunately there was nothing to like . From the smell of the room as mould to the room not being serviced, nothing really working

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    very pleasant surprise, close to food places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When there was a problem with our room, they immediately upgrade us to a bigger and better room.

    The folks at the front desk were great they went above and beyond the call of duty.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.9
    The proximity to the hospital next door, easy to find in...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointed the restaurant was closed. Air Con smelt mouldy and was noisy. I could not use it but had the door open even thought I was concerned about security. Would be nice to have security screens and the air con fixed.

    The proximity to the hospital next door, easy to find in Wickham Terrace and the carpark was handy. The girl on reception was wonderful and welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    6.3
    Apart from the smell and the restaurant being closed it is what I paid for- a bed to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was obvious that the motel has had water damage as you could smell a musty smell all through the motel

    The restaurant was closed until further notice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    4.6
    Dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All of the above and needs updating. So old style. Actually had dispensers for shampoo etc. Even the tv was old.

    The Hotel smelt musty, cockroach in our curtains, fridge full of water, no cold water in fridge, shower didn't run properly just dribbled, very old air con system. bed was ok, broken iron board, Restaurant closed, Only good thing was walking distance to Brisbane and transport.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.3
    Sufficient for my needs of somewhere to spend the night studying between university exams.
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower had the taps on the outside of the cubicle and water went over the floor when trying to set the right temperature.

    It was 200m as the crow flies from my university campus. I also needed access to the internet to study for exams. The speed and access for multiple connections was the best I have ever had at a hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location for family/friends of hospital guests, 70 steps from door to door
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very unfortunate that the pub/restaurant downstairs has closed indefinitely, luckily there are other options a door down the road

    Perfect location for hospital stays, clean and tidy, small but well accommodated rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable and suited to our purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It could do with a facelift. Very sad that the restaurant and bar were closed.

    Rooms were clean, everything worked well and bed and pillows were really comfy. Excellent location to both Roma St and Central train stations and the city.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    6.7
    They could have a great motel if they did it up
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was terrible taps on the outside of the shower and no water pressure. Air conditioner was old and loud bed uncomfortable.

    Location next to hospital was perfect

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.8
    We enjoyed the location in a clean comfortable room that was very good value.
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked 2 arm chairs instead of one in the room. More milk for the hot drinks. Mattress was a bit hard. Restaurant was not available but good coffee shop 3 doors down for breakfast and conveniece store very close by.

    View over the park. Proximity to parks, rail station and city shopping. Quiet location. Every thing in the room was in excellent working order. Could also open doors onto the balcony and have a choice of fresh air or air conditioning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    6.3
    It meet a couple of needs i.e. safety and location.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself needs an urgent update especially if wanting to charge at the rate they do. Both interior and exterior needs refurbishing. Including soundproofing rooms.

    Location is excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    3.3
    very disappointed hotel needs upgrade facilities where...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything realy

    very disappointed hotel needs upgrade facilities where closed no breakfast availlable nothing did not tell us restaurant and bar closed when whe booked hotel but still advertise on website , witch is falls advertising .cockeroaches running on balconys, not happy attall

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    6.7
    Disappointed at the condition of the accommodation and the almost complete lack of parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel/Motel is very dated in terms of room fittings and décor however it was clean. Vehicle parking ...they only have 6 car parks for their paying guests. I arrived at 2pm and had to park in Wilsons Parking, at the rear of the Hotel/Motel, and by 6 am my parking bill was $32.00.

    The location was perfect for our specific requirements.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2/3 of the reception staff were very sharp almost short tempered in their manner More than likely due to being short of staff to do back room admin as well as keeping an eye on servicing front desk needs.

    Second visit to this hotel great value for money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    5.0
    Passable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. Outdated bathroom, shower taps on outside(!!) of shower cubicle 2. Poor standard of cleaning with obvious layers of dust around television/table areas 3. Minimal daily housekeeping 4. Loud TV from adjacent 4th floor room until after midnight. Complained to reception staff, marginally better other nights but couldn't move us because the hotel was full so still made for a disturbed sleep. 5. Expensive and limited breakfast offering 6. Lack of power points

    Circa ten minute walk to Central Station

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    6.3
    Very convenient location for an overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing in particular, but if you're arriving on foot with a wheelie bag, be aware that the hotel is up a small hill, and the short-cut through the park has steps. Also, as a solo female traveller, I didn't feel very comfortable in the bistro.

    The retro appearance; comfortable bed; also the fact that you can open the window (noisy Acs keep me awake).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    4.2
    Receptionist from hell! Beware! 注意!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Brisbane is my hometown and I booked a party of Japanese tourists into this hotel. Never again! When we arrived the receptionist slouched out from a back room and mumbled "Hello, how can I help you?" while looking at her computer monitor. No smile, no eye contact - but that's fine, as we all have bad days. I quietly said hello and as I turned to get my reservation she repeated: "HELLO! How... Can... I... Help... YOU..." in a loud, irritated and exaggeratedly slow voice. Surprised, I said "I beg your pardon?" and she replied: "WHAT... Do... You... WANT...?" Needless to say, it went downhill from there. While she wanted to argue over whether she had been rude or not, I told her to just do her job and check us into the rooms we had paid for - so she threatened to call the police because we were being "aggressive". I spoke on the phone to the hotel manager, who seemed like a genuinely decent guy - he told the receptionist to check us in, and he assured me that he had never had trouble with her before. The many reviews on this and other sites complaining about his hotel's "rude receptionist" say otherwise. This employee is killing your business.

    Nothing could have made up for the behavior of the receptionist.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    6.7
    A reasonable stay for 2 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lot of construction noise during the night that keep waking both of us up and then it took time to get back to sleep. The wifi we used to keep in touch with our families keep dropping out Ne they were unable to tell us why.

    The closeness to transport.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    3.3
    A hotel I will tell my company not to use again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car Park totally inadequate. Absolute nightmare to park a car. Too small and spaces laid out terribly. Member of staff (likely to be maintenance man) scratched our hire care while parked in a bay that was one of very few available park spaces, hotel receptionist (middle aged blonde lady) incredibly rude and not helpful. Didn't take any accountability for the fact hotel staff 100% damaged our car. Room very loud all the time and only one light in bedroom.

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.3
    The overall stay was good
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had all my details for the booking wrong the only thing that was right was my name

    Convenient to the private hospital within walking distance to Southbank clean and tidy staff good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    6.3
    This accommodation is rated at 3.
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carport very poker. Fridge didn' work effectively and leaked into cupboard. Room phone didn't work. Shower very pokey.

    This accommodation is rated at 3.5 stars and that is what it is. The best attribute is the position of the hotel next to the Brisbane Private Hospital, which was the reason for our visit. Also the free Council Cbd bus service outside the front door.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable place to stay after hospital procedure
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Last time i stayed there i didnt get charged an extra 15 dollars to use the car park that was unexpected.have stayed there many times when i was working and it has alway been a good experience good value

    Comfortable place to stay after hospital procedure

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.5
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Water pressure in shower terrible. Plenty of pressure to wash basin, so not because hotel was full. Booked early so would have expected a room facing the city not overlooking the loading bay of a hospital.

    Room size, bed size all good. With this hotel you get what you pay for. Tired but clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    5.8
    just a room for 2 night!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room pokie-non refundable even though on booking .com says different.no microwave or toaster. chair on balcony cane coming undone. people smoking outside so you could no leave door open to balcony.

    food and restaurant good, close to doctors surgery,eye specialist, coffee shops town CBD, train station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay for value. Would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom is on the smaller side but is still good. Elevator is also small, but there are two sets of stairs. Downstairs restaurant is not open for Sunday breakfast. Some parking spaces are small and a bit awkward.

    The bar/restaurant downstairs has a nice range of great food. All 6 of us had a great meal. Great location, close to the city. Very quiet. Furniture was beautiful and beds were comfortable. Balconies had a nice cool breeze.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Won't stay anywhere else due to the convenience of everything I need in one place.
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing wrong with any of it. Have stayed a couple times and will continue to stay there for future trips.

    The convenience being so close to the hospital, park, the tavern and coffee shop.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    It was amazing and we really enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is very small and it is really hard to get a parking.

    The restaurant very accessible from the room and the food was delicious and reasonable prices.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.3
    Not disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was nice but needs redecorating and modernising. The restaurant is a separate business apparently but it looks old and neglected though the breakfast we had was very good.

    I've always wanted to stay at the Tower mill. The staff were wonderful. Very accommodating. The room was clean. Plenty of wifi. Free shampoo, conditioner and body wash.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    Really great location for visiting the hospital, ease of getting 3 good meals a day also good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    You have to be patient waiting for the small lift, but I have struck a lot worse in bigger hotels.

    The location next to the private hospital was the big attraction, but the old hotel did manage to impress. Not too often you get a balcony on your room anymore and the rooms are sizeable and well kept by the friendly housekeepers. The hotel as part of the accommodation was also a surprise, again the bar staff were helpful and friendly and whilst I didn't plan to eat there as often, it was far better to make many repeat visits to eat in. Also noted reception greeting repeat guests, so they must be doing it right for others too!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    Good room, some of the service staff could be improved
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Most of the staff were lovely and helpful, but I was travelling with colleagues, some who were foreign and didn't speak English, and there was one staff member who did not receive them very well. They were actually senior government officials and it would have been nice for the main lady on reception to be a bit more helpful and friendly. The night staff were super lovely and helpful. The construction noise (clearly informed about this), was a bit annoying.

    The room was very pleasant, comfortable beds, nice and clean, lots of light and very convenient access to the Novotel where our conference was located.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Great position, so close to Brisbane Private Hospital
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great room 701!! When I mentioned to several friends I was staying there prior to carpel tunnel surgery at Brisbane Private Hospital 2 doors up they all said what happy memories they had of the place from years ago

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    We had a very enjoyable and relaxing stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    cant say we disliked anything but then it was a short visit.

    We did not order break'y so can't comment. Bed comfortable, room clean, glass around shower could be looked at for sliding purposes. Easy reach central district. Restaurant below very accommodating and friendly with excellent food and choice. Have re-booked to stay again early August for one night. Thanks for a great stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    4.6
    Price gouging due to limited availability in the city (State...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price gouging due to limited availability in the city (State of Origin). The property is tired at best. 3 days on the $100 credit isn't back in my account. Would not recommend this property.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    Love the location, while it's right in the city it's...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While we love the hotel and realise the parking area is small, it still always loses points with us. So pokey and very little parks. Big cars always parking across 2.

    Love the location, while it's right in the city it's far enough from the bumper to bumper hustle and bustle. While we're country people we loved how close we were to the parks. Great location and great having a restaurant right below our room too! Have always stayed here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.5
    Very convenient and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel badly needs a revamp to bring it up to a higher rating. Rooms are pretty small and showers and sink are very dated.

    Primarily the location - we did not eat at this location as it is so close to an outstanding coffee house next door, which opened before the hotel's restaurant was ready for an early breakfast at 0630 and we had a long way to go. The location of this hotel and its older decor are attractive especially its outlook on a magnificent park ideal for an early morning run or walk and very close to the valley and many good restaurants. In addition, its immediate vicinity to Queensland Private Hospital and easy walking distance to St Andrews Hospital as well as very near to outstanding medical specialist underlines its convenience. Also the uniqueness of this iconic building appeals. The staff were accommodating and very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.1
    July 2017
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Construction noise starting at 6am on Monday morning however you are warned about this at the hotel description

    Convenient location - 10minute walk to Brisbane CBD and 5minute walk to Central station Room/bathroom is dated but served its purpose for our weekend trip

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, very close to hospital, train station , walking distance to city, nice park across the road for a walk. Bistro down stairs was very convenient , good food at a great price. Would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: